Skip to main content

Full text of "A history of Johnson County, Illinois"

See other formats








: m 






Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 



Page 67. "Coverlets of wool and rag rugs" should read Coverlets, 
wool and rag rugs. 

Page 78. The election held at John Bradshaw's was for the pur 
pose of electing Territorial Representatives. 

Page 82. In the tenth line of the first paragraph "or" should be 
omitted between oven and near. 

Page 132. "Douglas Rose" should read Mr. and Mrs. Douglas 

Page 163. The names of H. M. Ridenhower and T. J. Murry were 
omitted from the list of lawyers. 

Page 258. Adrespodendum should be adrespondendum. 

Page 279. H. M. Ridenhower was omitted from the list of State's 
Attorneys and J. W. Damron from the list of Assessor and Treasurers. 

Page 304. The name Helter should be Hetler. 

Page 313. U. .C Simpson should be W. C. Simpson in the list of 
Vienna Woman's club members. 

Page 363. The third line from the top of the page should be 

Page 393. The seventh line from the top of page is omitted and 
should read "question. He lived to be eighty eight years old. J. C. 
B. Heaton." 







Copyrighted 1925 



Press of The Herrin News 

This book is dedicated to my hus- 
band, Pleasant Thomas Chapman, who 
has spent his life in the community of 
his birth and has never faltered in his 
loyalty to its interest. 




We will never realize what it meant to the men and 
women of a hundred years ago to leave their homes and all 
that was dear to them and lay the foundation of a new 
civilization in the unbroken forest. The heart aches, the 
deprivations, the longings for old friendships and home we 
will, it is hoped, never experience. Most of us have a tend- 
ency to smile at the rude hut, primitive customs, and lack 
of comforts of the pioneer, but rather let us reverence their 
determined course in founding a civilization from which 
you and I are reaping the results. The North West, think 
of her wealth, population and power, and to whom it is due. 

Several years ago I was asked to prepare a paper on 
the early history of Johnson County to be read at a 
Teachers Institute. In looking up material for this I found 
what seemed to me, some very interesting documents; also 
in writing to Mr. G. B. Gillespie, then as now, a resident 
of Springfield but a native of this county, for some data he 
suggested that this county should have a history and that I 
should write it. 

Having been a housekeeper for years and with no ex- 
perience in writing for publication, I began, perhaps fool- 
ishly, to gather material for this work. The times I have 
censured my friend for his suggestion, I could not number, 
but/l'itfit" rrjjy hand to the plow" I did not have the courage 
to turn back. I have met with discouragements and hind- 
rances, yet most people have been exceptionally willing to 
help me. 

Heretofore this county has had no history except some 
biographies appearing in the Tri-County History of Massac, 
Pope and Johnson, and since there is but one other county 
in the state without a published history and ours being so 
rich in interesting events and records of pioneer days, not 
common to other localities, I felt that I should like to try 
to perpetuate at least some of them. 


This book is not perfect. I have tried to be accurate 
with circumstances and dates but in the biography I fear 
there are many mistakes owing to the manner in which I 
was obliged to gather much of the information, sometimes 
over the telephone, through letters not clearly written, and 
from older people whose memory was inaccurate as to 

Please do not say "I could have told her correctly." No 
doubt you could, but I did not know it. And if inclined to 
be too critical all I ask is that you undertake to trace a 
large family from the first to the sixth generation. Per- 
haps some would say biography isn't history, but it appears 
to me, that the history of a place is the history of its people. 

I appreciate the many kindnesses shown me in my 
work and feel deeply grateful to each one who has contri- 
buted in the least to this self imposed task of mine. Hoping 
it may interest the older ones, assist the younger ones, and 
that this imperfect effort will not be entirely fruitless, 1 
present to you, kind reader, the result. 

Mrs. P. T. C. 

January 1925. 



The first civilized government that was extended over 
Johnson County was, no doubt, the authority of England. 
When, in 1609, King James granted to the London Company 
"All those lands, countries, and territories called Virginia, 
from the cape or point of land called Comfort, all along the 
seacoast, to the northward two hundred miles, and from 
the said point on the coast southward two hundred miles, 
and all that space and circuit of land lying from the sea- 
coast of the precinct afore said, up into the land throughout, 
from sea to sea, west and northwest." Johnson county be- 
came theoretically, at least, part of the possession of Eng- 
land. Although the charter of the London company was 
renewed and then annulled, Virginia always insisted on her 
from "sea to sea" grant and thereby included in her domain 
this tiny speck of mother earth called Johnson County, with 
all the other vast, unexplored territory. 

But for Gain and the Gospel, we might still be undis- 
covered. France had no claim in the new country by right 
of discovery, but she set about securing her portion by 
other means. As early as 1504 French fishermen had visited 
the region of New Foundland. In 1609 Champlain, a 
Frenchman, discovered the lake which bears his name. He 
went back to France, and in 1615, returned to America with 
four priests. He established missions in Canada, and with 
the Missions opened trade with the Indians. He was un- 
fortunate with his warfare on some of the tribes and so 
caused strife among the Indians, and the fur trade was 
paralyzed, for twenty years. Finally a truce was made and 
trade was resumed. The French trader who recognized 
the vast wealth in the fur trade, the soldier of fortune who 
longed to plant the Lilies of France on every available spot, 
and the humble Jesuit whose consuming desire was to plant 
the Gospel in every human heart, encroched step by step 
into the Northwest Territory. 

In 1678, Joliet, in the interest of the French Govern- 
ment and Marquette in the interest of the church, explored 
the Mississippi as far as the mouth of the Ohio. This ex- 


pedition had carried the authority of France far to the south 
and almost around the English settlements. The advantage 
to France of completing the circuit can easily be discerned. 
In fact LaSalle, in 1667 had seen the advantage to be gained 
for his country by discovering the mouth of the Mississippi. 
He pursued this idea with relentless vigor and when in 1682 
he descended this father of waters to its mouth, he took 
possession of this wonderful valley in the name of the sover- 
eign of France, calling it Louisiana in honor of Louis the 
XIV, and we became, figuratively speaking, Frenchmen or 
citizens under the French Government. But all these heroic 
efforts to make the Mississippi valley French by coloniza- 
tion, to secure wealth from her vast store-house, and make 
us all good French Catholics, came to an end. The Treaty 
of Paris, 1763, made us again an English possession. 

We were not destined to remain English for any great 
length of time. The restless people of the Atlantic coast 
were pushing out irito the great Northwest. Tennessee, 
Kentucky, and the southern part of Illinois were being set- 
tled, even though still menaced by the Indians. Then by 
declaring themselves "free and independent," in 1776 the 
Colonies made us for a short time Virginians. In 1779 the 
"County of Illinois" was established. Captain John Todd was 
appointed "County Lieutenant Commandant" but the gov- 
ernment was never effective and soon ceased altogether. 

Virginia, however, soon ceded us to the United States 
and in 1784 we became a part of that Great Northwest 

These changes in government disturbed the citizens of 
this county very little. Certain it is, nevertheless, that there 
were people living in Johnson County, in the latter part of 
the 18th century. 'Boggs says there were 650 families living 
along the Ohio .river in 1801 and this river washed the 
shores of the first Johnson County for many miles. Victor 
Collet also states there were seven or eight families living 
near Ft. Massac in 1796. This fort was in Johnson when 
the county was organized. Reynolds tells us the Flanneries 
settled in Alexander County in 1777 which was also John- 
son County territory at that time. The seat of government 
being so far away and the means of communication so very 
difficult, the people of this section, like all other frontier 
communities were a law unto themselves. 



Johnson County is in Southern Illinois, in that part of 
this great commonwealth that lies south of the Ohio and 
Mississippi railroad running from Vincennes across the 
state to St. Louis, excepting St. Clair County. This section 
is not designated on the school geographies as 'Egypt,' but 
by common usuage and politically it has been known in the 
state for many years by that name. Different reasons have 
been given for this appellation, and whether of odium or 
honor, depends on the point of view. 

The most obvious reason for such a name having been 
attached to this region is that many of the towns in the sec- 
tion bear the names of those in the older Egypt of the 
African Continent: Cairo, at the junction of the Ohio and 
Mississippi, Thebes, on the Mississippi, and Karnak, on the 
Big Four railroad. Alexander is the name of the most 
southern county in this section and is the masculine for 
Alexandria, another ancient city of Egypt. Some are un- 
kind enough to say the name comes from lack of education 
and progress in this section. That Egypt where Joseph fled 
from Herod with Mary and the Babe and from which we 
take our name, was noted as the home of ancient civilization, 
learning, marvelous public improvements, and historic cities. 
Our modern 'Egypt' may not boast of all the attributes of 
that country but she is proud of her pioneer families, native 
population, and patriotic record. Others say that the name 
came from the following incident : In the summer of 1821 
there was not a bushel of corn raised in Central Illinois. 
The old settlers of the southern part of the state had plenty 
and the farmers of the central section, like the brethern of 
Joseph, had to go down into Southern Illinois to get corn. 

Johnson County was once very proud of her area. At 
its organization it included all the land between the Missis- 
sippi and Ohio rivers and from 70 to 80 miles north of the 
Ohio. As early as 1837, J. M. Peck, an historian, of Illi- 
nois, said of Johnson County, "It was organized from Ran- 
dolph in 1812 and is situated in the southern part of the 
state. It is bounded on the north by Franklin, east by Pope, 
south by the Ohio river, and west by Union and Alexander 
counties. It is from 25 to 30 miles long and eighteen miles 
wide. Its area is about 486 square miles. This territory is 
watered by Cache and Big Bay Creeks. Between these 


streams, and ten or twelve miles from the Ohio, which 
makes its southern boundary, is a line of ponds interspersed 
with ridges and islands of rich land." This was written be- 
fore Massac and Pulask were organized. 

At present the county is bounded on the north by 
Williamson, on the east by Pope, by Massac and Pulaski on 
the south and Union on the west. The most southern line 
of the county is, at its nearest point, four or five miles from 
the Ohio river, and the western line in some places is as 
near as twenty miles to the Mississippi river. It is situated 
between 88 degrees, 44 minutes and 89 degress, 4 minutes 
west longitude ; 37 degrees, 20 minutes, 37 degrees, 38 min- 
utes north latitude, about the same latitude as the city of 
Richmond, Virginia. 


Up to 1790 the settlers who had braved the wilderness 
and Indians and located in southern Illinois knew little of 
laws and government, but in that year St. Clair came as 
Governor of the Northwest Territory, and began to bring 
order out of chaos. He organized ft county and named it 
after himself, the eastern boundary running through the 
eastern part of the present Johnson County and terminating 
at or just above Ft. Massac, on the Ohio River. Cahokia was 
the county seat. The little strip of Johnson county beyond 
the eastern boundary of St. Clair was in what was then 
known as Knox County. Randolph County was organized in 
1795 from St. Clair, with Kaskaskia as the county seat, but 
a small strip of Johnson still remained in Knox till 1801 
when Randolph's boundaries were changed. 

Johnson was wholly within the bounds of Randolph 
county until 1812, when Governor Edwards with Alexander 
Stewart, Jesse B. Thomas, and Stanley Griswold, Territorial 
Judges, acting as a Legislature, defined and named John- 
son county as follows: "Beginning at the mouth of Lusk 
Creek (which is in what is now Pope County on the Ohio 
River) thence with a line of Gallatin to Big Muddy thence 
down Big Muddy and the Misissippi to the Ohio River, and 
up the Ohio to the beginning, I do appoint the house of John 
Bradshaw to be the seat of justice for Johnson County. Done 
at Kaskaskia, 14th of September, 1812, by the Governor, 
Ninian Edwards." These boundaries included what is now 


Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, Johnson, Union and parts of 
Pope, Williamson, Saline and Jackson Counties. 

Madison and Gallatin were organized at the same time, 
these three being the third counties set out in the state. In 
1816 Jackson and Pope were organized, making a direct 
line almost across the state from Big Muddy on the west to 
Saline river on the east. All below this line from the Missis- 
sippi to the Ohio was Johnson and Pope, the eastern line of 
Johnson being a little west of its present location and ex- 
tending to the Ohio river. Again in 1818, there was an 
attack by the organizers and Union was taken wholly from 
Johnson county territory. Alexander was defined the fol- 
lowing year, including part of Pulaski. In 1843 Johnson 
county was encroached upon once more by the formation of 
Massac and Pulaski and the consequent reduction of John- 
son to its present limits of 340 square miles. It thus became 
one of the smallest counties in the state. It comprises a 
little over nine townships, and is almost square in shape. 
About eight miles of the southern boundary is formed by 
Cache river. Along this section the county extends about 
two miles further south than the rest of the southern bound- 

The division of the county into townships was begun 
early in the county's history. On January 15, 1813, when 
the first court was held at the house of John Bradshaw in 
Elvira with Hamlet Furguson and Jesse Griggs as judges, 
under the Territorial law which empowered them to trans- 
act the business of the county, the townships known as Big'- 
Bay, Muddy, Center, Clear Creek, Cache and Massac were 
laid off. These were the militia districts which had been 
created by the Governor for the defense of the settlers 
against hostile Indians. These townships were described as 
follows: "The district that lies on the eastern corners of 
this county on the Big-Bay waters and at present known 
by the name of Captain Whiteside's company and agreeably 
to the boundaries of said company, as laid off by a board of 
officers, shall be created into one township and called the 
township of Big-Bay, and the militia company of Captain 
Griffith's on Muddy, (described) in like manner, shall be 
called the township of Muddy." This township was located 
in the northwest part of the county, on what is now called 
Big Muddy river. Captain Bradshaw's company bounds 


formed Center township and was in the center of the county. 

Captain Green's company bounds was named Clear 
creek township, which was located in the southwestern part 
of the county on the Mississippi river. Captain Lamb's Com- 
pany on the northeast side was called Cache ; Captain Fox's 
company made Massac township. 

One can readily see these townships were immense at 
the time they were laid off. Big-Bay township, being the 
southeastern corner, included portions of what is now Pope 
and Massac counties. The township of Muddy included 
parts of the present counties of Williamson, Jackson and 
Union. The township of Center included, no doubt, sections 
of the present Johnson and Union, possibly Alexander. 
Clear Creek township was the counties of Alexander, Pul- 
aski, and perhaps parts of Johnson and Union. Cache town- 
ship when first established was in the northeastern part of 
the first bounds of Johnson county including possibly some 
of Saline, Pope and Williamson. Massac township included 
Massac county in its present form, with possibly a little of 
Johnson and Pope. These militia districts had been laid 
off according to Territorial law and while they were called 
townships, they were not the size and shape of the present 
township and might more properly be called districts. 

In 1814, the court divided the township of Center and 
the bounds of Captain William Thornton's Company, being 
a militia company, was formed into a new township to be 
known as Elvira. At the March term the court created 
some new townships and changed the boundaries of some 
of the old ones as follows : "All that part of the county that 
lies between what is called the ponds and the Ohio river be 
created into a new township to be known by the name of 
Massac, and all west of the center line dividing range three 
shall form a township by the name of Elvira and all east of 
the aforesaid line as far as the county line of Pope shall be 
known by the name of Cache." At the September court, 
1819, held at Vienna, the name of Cache township was 
changed to Bloomfield and that of Elvira to Vienna town- 
ship. These boundaries "and names were changed from 
time to time. In 1871 the names of the townships are given 
as follows: Saline, Sulpher Springs, Bluff, Elvira, Bun- 
combe, Cache, Flat Lick, Simpson and Vienna. That same 
year the question of the county taking on the township 


form of government was submitted to the people and carried 
at the November election. Issac Wise, Bluett Bain and 
John C. Albright were appointed to divide the county into 
townships. Their report was given in December term 1872. 
The new townships were Burnside, Tunnel Hill, Goreville, 
Elvira, Bloomfield, Simpson, Grantsburg, Vienna and Cache, 
these names and divisions have continued till the present. 


Johnson county was named in honor of Col. Richard 
M. Johnson, a native of Kentucky and a friend of Governor 
Ninian Edwards, who was also from that state. He was 
'born at Bryants Station in 1781 ; was educated at the Uni- 
versity of Transylvania Lexington, Kentucky. He selected 
the profession of law and began his career at the age of 
nineteen. He served in the war of 1812 as Colonel of Volun- 
teers. Colonel Johnson has been given the credit of killing 
Tecumseh at the battle on the Thames river, but this fact 
has been disputed by some who say that Tecumseh was not 
killed until later. But Johnson did kill in this battle a 
famous Indian warrior who might have been Tecumseh. He 
was wounded himself during the engagement. President 
Madison in his message to Congress, December 7, 1813, re- 
ferring to the results of the Campign in the North West, 
speaks of him in the following manner: "Colonel Johnson 
and his mounted volunteers, whose impetuous onset gave a 
decisive blow to the ranks of the enemy, with others (referr- 
ing to General Harrison) forced a general action, which 
quickly terminated in the capture of the British and the dis- 
persion of the Indians." 

Colonel Johnson represented first his district in the 
Legislature of Kentucy, was next elected as a Jackson demo- 
crat to the United States Congress when not quite 25 years 
of age. He then served two terms as United States Senator ; 
was elected to the Vice-Presidency with Van B'uren in 1836. 
He was defeated for that office in 1840 but later elected to 
the State Legislature of Kentucky and died in Frankfort, 
November 19, 1850. 


In writing of southern Illinois, Lewis C. Beck says, 
"That part of Illinois that lies south of the great and little 


Wabash to the Ohio river is about as hilly as Hertford- 
shire, England. It is intersected with streams and inter- 
spersed with natural meadows ; these are very irregular and 
are dotted with clumps of trees like English Parks." Such 
a description gives a fairly animate general picture of John- 
son County. It is one of the most hilly and broken counties 
in Illinois. It is crossed from west to east in the northern 
part by an elevated ridge, known as the Ozark Uplift, which 
is in reality the foothills of the Ozark Mountains. This ridge 
enters the state from Missouri and extends across the entire 
northern part. The highest points of this ridge in the coun- 
ty rise to an elevation of 800 feet above sea level. The low- 
est part of the county lies along Cache River where the 
elevation decreases to about 300 feet. The Ozark Ridge 
forms the watershed or divide between the streams which 
flow toward the north and those which flow south. The 
fall of the streams on the northern slope is slight and the 
erosion is, therefore, not great. On the southern slope the 
streams have a very rapid fall; erosion has been active so 
that the most broken part of the county lies in the central 
and southern section. The small streams have cut out can- 
yon-like gorges, sometimes as much as 200 feet in depth; 
the sides of these gorges are often formed by almost per- 
pendicular cliffs that wind through the uplands so unnotice- 
ably that one does not suspect their presence until very 
near them. 

A broken and irregular line of cliffs cross the county 
parallel to the Ozark Ridge and two or three miles south 
of it. Although these cliffs and rocky gorges are most fre- 
quent in the part of the county south of the Ozark Ridge, 
they occur also in other sections, especially in New Burn- 
side and Grantsburg townships. Between the ravines are 
broad rolling ridges. The surface in general may be char- 
acterized as rolling and hilly. The rocks of this area are 
sand stone, limestone and shale. This is not our only asset 
from stony lands. They are things of beauty, have been, 
and will be a joy forever. No one can look on the towering 
cliffs without being thrilled with their grandeur and made 
to wonder at the mighty force that must have been in action 
to make them as they are. Some are gray, some red, some 
brown, and yellow, covered with lichens, moss and flowers ; 
the myriads of long fronded ferns, the drooping branch, the 
secluded cave, the ever green of the cedar, the trickling 


stream, all combine to draw you to their inviting nooks. 
They are not so monstrous they awe you, so bare they repel 
you, but seem to say, "Come bring your baskets, we have 
cool shade, quiet, rest and protection for you. 

It can well be imagined that this topography creates 
all kinds of attractive nooks and corners, particularly 
adapted to that well loved recreation, a picnic. Ferndale, 
a beautiful spot with its rocks, shady dells, ferns, and 
streams, situated a short distance south from Tunnell Hill, 
directly on the Big Four railroad, has long been a favorite 
picnic grounds. People may reach it from points on the 
railroad both north and south. Benson's Bluff, five or six 
miles north of Vienna on the old Marion Road, is another 
ideal place for the basket lunch but it can be reached only 
by local conveyance. Near Simpson is some very beautiful 
scenery of the type described above; also some mineral 
springs said to be very fine in a medicinal way. This is a 
lovely spot to camp. Fern Cliff is a most attractive place 
of natural beauty and a resort quite widely known. It is 
situated in Goreville township and about a mile and a half 
from the Chicago and Eastern Illinois railroad. Several 
years ago a company of Marion citizens bought 20 acres in 
the heart of the scenery and built a club house and used it 
as a resort. Leon Dennison was the moving spirit of the 
corporation and after his removal from Southern Illinois, 
Miss Emma Rebman, of this county bought it and occupies 
it as a home. It is hoped that some time it will be a county 
park through her generosity. It is now known as "Redman- 
Park Fern Cliff," Redman Park, in honor of Miss Redman's 
brother, Thomas, who was associated with her in her office 
of County Superntendent of Schools. This spot must be 
seen to be appreciated, huge walls of stone, bowlders, caves 
streams, trees, wildflowers, ferns, all contribute to make up 
an ideal place in which to spend a day, a week, a month, 
shut in with nature and your companions. 

Johnson County has its largest area covered with what 
is known by soil experts as Memphis silt loam. This sur- 
face soil is an important and extensive type ; its color varies 
from pale yellow to reddish yellow and it runs to an average 
depth of ten inches. When dry, this soil is loose and non- 
adhesive. Its looseness is partly due to the small percentage 
of clay. It is called "clay land" although it does not show 


the heavy, sticky qualities of clay. This soil is very porous, 
very absorbent, and retentive of moisture. With the excep- 
tion of the rough, stony land, the entire surface of the up- 
land is covered with Memphis silt loam. This loam also 
occurs as low ridges along lower Cache and is often called 
"second bottom" being considered in these sections of great 
agriculture value. A variety of crops may be grown upon 
this type of soil : corn, wheat, oats, Irish and sweet potatoes, 
clover, alfalfa, cowpeas, timothy, and fruits of most every 
variety. The fruits grown in this county are, however, on 
the ridges on high ground where the climatic conditions 
make them less liable to the late frosts. 

Waverly silt loam covers the next largest area of the 
county and ranges from whitish yelldw to a light brown 
color. When dry it is loose and floury ; but is slightly sticky 
when wet. It absorbs rain readily. It is an alluvial soil, 
being made by material washed off the hills, brought down 
by the streams, restored and deposited by the overflow of the 
streams. Leaves, twigs, and other forms of organic matter 
have been covered by these deposits, making this soil very 
productive in such crops as corn, hay and alfalfa. There is 
still a great deal of timber in the section where this soil is 
found. These wooded tracts are very valuable as pasture 
land. This soil is found only along the streams or in places 
where streams have been. The principal acreage of this 
soil is found along Cache River, in the South West part of 
the county, some also along Lick, Dutchman, Little Cache, 
and Big Bay creeks, while smaller tracts are found along 
the lesser streams. Elvira, Cache, Vienna, Grantsburg and 
Simpson townships are the only localities in which any con- 
siderable area of this soil lies. 

Lewis C. Beck in 1823 says : "This county of Johnson has 
a large proportion of level land, which is generally well 
wooded. Its soil is sandy, as yet, it is but thinly populated, 
owing perhaps to the unhealthiness caused by the overflow- 
ing of the Ohio River and the marshes which abound near 
the southern boundary. When these shall be drained and 
the inhabitants turn their attention to the cultivation of 
tobacco, cotton, and the grape, all of which would yield pro- 
fitable crops, it will no doubt, become flourishing and 

The smallest portion of the county's surface is covered 


with the "Yazoo Clay." Its color is a dark brown, caused 
by the large amount of organic matter it contains. It is a 
heavy silty loam or clay, quite granular and rather sticky. 
This type of soil is found only along the Cache River and 
in the southwestern part of the county. It is just coming 
under cultivation, since the days of drainage and gives a 
very high yield of corn and hay. 

Rough stony land may be found in Johnson County, 
also, in which the soil is so broken and the underlying rocks 
rise to the surface so frequently that the land is of little 
agriculture value. In some cases there are cliffs that are 
more than 150 feet high. At the foot of these cliffs are found 
large bowlders, weighing many tons, which have broken 
off from the rocks above. Between these bowlders are 
patches of soil which support a heavy growth of timber, 
giant ferns and wild flowers of every kind and color. The 
sections of rough, stony land are usually found in narrow 
strips, winding through the country or forming bluffs along 
the streams. They are most frequent along the southern 
slope of the Ozark Ridge, but they are also scattered over 
the entire county. These stony areas are by no means com- 
plete waste lands. Inexhaustible springs of water, always 
found among the cliffs, greatly enhance their value as pas- 
ture lands and they have become an everlasting supply of 
stone. One of the principle railroads in the state works a 
quarry from which it has ballasted hundreds of miles of 


The average rainfall for this county is 43.72 inches. 
The heaviest rainfall comes generally in March, May and 
June; August, September and November show the least. 
But with the possible exception of August or September 
there is seldom a month in the year that has not some rain. 
In the occasional deviation from this general rule the clim- 
ate resembles that of California as being "unusual." One 
conspicuous variation came in the year 1854 when no rain 
fell from June until December. Crops were short and many 
people had to haul water from neighboring wells and 
springs for family use and for their stock to drink. How- 
ever, in general, the foot hills of the Ozark Mountains which 
cross the northern part of the county have an appreciable 


influence upon the amount of rainfall as compared with the 
counties lying to the north. 

The temperature varies somewhat, rarely going below 
zero and then for not more than a few hours at a time. In 
the hotest months, June, July and August the theremometer 
hovers between 75 and 85, on the warmest days rarely going 
as high as above 90. Ordinarily the winters are not extreme 
and while there is always some snow and ice, it is for short 
periods only. The winter of 1917-18 will long be remem- 
bered as the one of the deep snow. The snow began to fall 
about December 8, 1917 and continued to fall at intervals 
for three or four weeks. The ground was not visible for 
almost two months and the drifts were so deep in many 
places as to make the roads impassable. While our poor 
boys were digging trenches before the Germans, many peo- 
ple in the county were digging roadway trenches in the 
snow to get from house to barn, to the neighbors or to the 
nearby market. 

Winds are, of course, prevalent during March and April 
though they are not strong enough to be called storms. The 
strongest winds come with the rain which is almost always 
accompanied by heavy thunder and vivid lightning in the 
spring and hot months. 

During the spring of 1866 Johnson county was visited 
by a terrible cyclone. It entered the county near what is 
now the present site of West Vienna and crossed the county 
to the northeast. It seemed to rise and fall in its course 
and where it touched, it swept houses, barns and fences 
from their foundation. It also took its toll of human life. 
Two members of the family of Jesse Davis who lived where 
Newton Murrie now lives were badly injured. In the fam- 
ily of Hirman Worley, who lived on what is now known as 
the Coleman place, one boy was killed outright, two other 
members died from injuries, and one son was left a cripple 
for life. This was in Blomfield Township. The cyclone lifted 
here for a few miles, then struck the homes of Joseph Har- 
per and John Jones who lived in Ozark township. It killed 
a babe and injured others of Mr. Jones' family and seriously 
injured some members of Mr. Harper's family. It not only 
took lives and laid waste homes, but giant forest trees were 
taken up by the roots ; articles were carried for miles in its 


whirling fury. Although its path was not wide, it left 
death and desolation in its wake. 

Frosts come with a good deal of regularity. The aver- 
age date of the last killing frost in the spring is the middle 
of April, the latest one occuring not later than the middle 
of May. For fall the average date is about the middle of 
October. The Ozark Ridge renders fruits less liable to 
killing frosts than in the lower parts of the county. Slight 
frosts sufficient to tinge the leaves on the trees often come 
earlier. With the first turning of the leaves there is pre- 
sented a scene of almost surpassing beauty. First there is 
a tinge of yellow, then the reds appear. One tree will be 
an immense bouquet of green, yellow, and red of every con- 
ceivable shade. Looking out from some elevation of our 
winding roads to a forest of these trees all painted by the 
hand of nature forming a back ground for a green meadow, 
one will have a picture never to be forgotten. 


For some time in the early history of the county, the 
health of the inhabitants was menaced by a mild form of 
malarial fever. The heavy growth of timber which con- 
stantly decayed on the swamp land and the pools of stagnant 
water were the breeding places for myriads of mosquitoes 
that transmitted the malaria to all adjoining districts. In 
fact, it seemed for many years that Johnson County was 
the home of malaria as well as the wine-sap apple. Every 
fall the ague "chills" was the local name, appeared in due 
time with their "shakes" and fever. The ague though very 
annoying was not necessarily a fatal disease. But the drain- 
ing of the swamps and the consequent elimination of rotting 
timber have made this section as healthy a place as will be 
found in the state. 

The winter of 1918-19 is more indelibly fixed on our 
minds than the deep snow through the terrible ravages of 
the Spanish Influenza. This peculiar and unfamiliar dis- 
ease began its drive on the United States about October, 
1918. At first it was thought it only thrived in the cities 
and towns where people came together in crowds. It was 
a little late reaching Johnson County and we thought, from 
our isolation we might be exempt, but in November it fell 
upon us in all its fury and seemed to grow more fatal in its 


progress. The situation in this county was desperate, in 
many places a whole family was all in bed at the same time. 
The fact that many thought it contagious kept those who 
were well from giving their attention to their neighbors. In 
some cases there were none able to care for the dead. In 
one known case the sick and the dead were in the same 
'bed, and there were many cases in which nurses could not 
be had. In some families as many as four would die in a 
day or two of each other. It seemed to be particularly fatal 
to those appearing to be the most healthful and strong look- 
ing. It took many of our best, physically speaking, and 
many old people. This terrible scourge has returned each 
winter for three years but has not proved so fatal. 


Johnson County is not a county of wealth, yet there 
are many farmers that are well to do, really prosperous. 
Most all of them live well and the majority of them live in 
a frame or brick dwelling, have fine barns, the best breed 
of stock, good driving horses, buggy, surrey, or automobile ; 
many have heat, light, and modern plumbing in their homes. 
Of course, every farmer does not have all these conveniences 
but he can have them if he wants them. In fact, any of the 
modern improvements are ours at will, except the good 
roads and we see them coming. Some farmers do not want 
anything modern, not even hard roads. One farmer gave 
as an excuse for being against the $60,000,000 bond issue, 
that it would make his farm worth so much more and his 
taxes would be higher. But on the whole, this class of 
farmers is small, most of them are progressive, anxious to 
know the best methods and have the best equipment in all 
lines. The value of the farm buildings in the county accord- 
ing to the last census was $1,869,960. The value of the land 
and improvements excluding building from the same source 
was $6,263,009. Implements, machines, $325,545 ; live stock 
$1,698,224; average price of land per acre, $32.44. The 
average size of a farm in this county in 1840 was 15 acres, 
in 1900, 92 acres. It has now increased to 110.8 in 1920. 
The number of farms in county, 1920, 1742, land in farms, 
193,077 acres. Of course, much of this land is not improved. 
There is a large acreage of land in the county not under 
cultivation and very few farms that do not have their acre- 
age of wooded land for pasture and fire wood. One writer 


said of Southern Illinois in 1883, "If by magic Southern 
Illinois could be transfered just as it is to the northern or 
central part of the state the land that now sells for $10.00 
and $15.00 per acre could not be bought for $500.00 an 
acre." He further says the reason land is cheap here is 
because its value is not known as people do not travel across 
this section of the state as they do in Central and Northern 
Illinois. County farm lands sold in county in 1896 for $25.00 
per acre. 

This is a community in which the farmers own and 
cultivate their own land, at least 75 per cent of the farms 
are run by the owners. They have learned to rotate and 
plant the crops most suited to the soils and by fertilizing, 
keep their farms up to the highest state of productiveness. 
An experiment station has been maintained in this county 
by the Agricultural Department of the University of Illinois 
for many years which has been a great advantage to our 
farmers. There are only 16 farms operated by managers 
and 363 operated by tenants as against 7 by managers and 
506 by tenants in 1900. There is practically one system of 
renting here, the share system; very few farms are rented 
for cash. 

Farming was at first confined almost entirely to the 
ridges and high lands. What is now the most productive 
land we have, since it has been cleared, ditched and drained, 
was till after the sixties, swamps and pools of stagnant 
water during the spring and early summer. This trans 
formation has been accomplished through the drainage 
system which is explained under drainage. Dennis Dwyer, 
who came to this county from Ohio in 1857 was the first 
to ditch, the bottom land on a small scale, and bring it under 
cultivation for grasses which would thrive in low places. 
He also introduced the raising of Timothy hay in this sec- 
tion. His wife, Aunt Eliza, as she was known and who 
was for many years a resident here, brought the seed from 
their home state, when she made a visit to her mother. 

The principal products of the county are corn, wheat, 
oats, hay, fruit, and vegetables. The upland is not well 
adapted to corn and the yield is not very high. Corn does 
much better on the bottoms and as more of this section is 
being brought under cultivation, the corn yield increases. 
Some land will grow as much as ninety bushels to the acre 


while the upland would not yield 25, and in a dry season 
much less. Wheat is grown less than in former years, but 
a great deal more is grown than is used in the county. The 
average yield is about 15 to 18 bushels to the acre. Timothy 
and clover are the main hay crops ; alfalfa is grown to seme 
extent ; cowpeas are cut for home use as hay ; oats are pro- 
duced for home use only. The principal agricultural ex- 
ports from the county are wheat, corn, hay, vegetables, and 

Being entirely an agricultural county and our resources 
all coming from agricultural pursuits, cattle raising is na- 
turally a business. Hereford, Angus and Shorthorn are 
raised for beef. N. J. Mozley was a pioneer in the raising of 
Heref ords ; his herd having been the best in this section of 
country for many years. It has furnished the beginning of 
many herds, over all the west and south ; has always brought 
a fancy price because of their care and breeding. He has 
probably taken more blue ribbons at county fairs, with his 
herd than any one in Southern Illinois. J. K. Elkins, D. W. 
Whittenberg, Elijah Ragsdale, Geo. Mozley, Chas. Trulove, 
and Chas. Nobles also have raised this breed. Henry Cover 
who lived at Tunnel Hill owned about the first herd of Angus 
cattle in this county. J. M. Brown, A. M. Webb, and Dr. 
A. E. McKenzie also raise the Angus. The late D. F. Beau- 
man, also of Tunnel Hill Township introduced the breed of 
Shorthorn cattle and this was likely the first herd of good 
cattle in the county. Holstein and Jersey are dairy breeds 
of this locality. Wra. Moore, J. C. Chapman, A. Veach and 
numbers of other dairy farmers have one or the other of 
these kinds of cattle. Many car loads of beef cattle are col- 
lected and sent into market from this county each year. 
In fact this has been a paying enterprise until the decline 
in the price of cattle and other farm products which has 
caused many to slacken their efforts along this line. The 
raising of hogs is, one might say, necessarily a part of 
cattle raising. The principal breeds are Chester Whites, 
Berkshires, Hampshires. Duroc Jersey and Poland China. 
From 200 to 300 car loads of hogs, possibly more, are 
shipped to market from this county in a year. The raising, 
buying, and feeding of mules for sale to the southern cotton 
planter has been a paying business in this section for several 
years till within the last few years when the price of mules 
suddenly dropped, likewise the castles of the mule dealer. 


There is not any thing that will grow in a temperate 
climate that can not be grown in Johnson County. Our 
soils are, of course, better adapted to some crops than others 
and will produce them in more paying quantities. Flax was 
raised in small quantities in our very earliest history. Cotton 
and tobacco were grown extensively for some years before 
and after the Civil War. The price of these commodities 
during the war made them a very profitable crop. In 1875 
there were 3,000,000 pounds of tobacco grown in this county 
and this was after the decline in price which finally resulted 
in the exclusion of tobacco and cotton from our crops. A 
very small quantity of tobacco is still grown for market and 
a little for home use. From an old contract between Bridges 
& Chapman D. Y. Bridges, father of the late Mrs. Bratton, 
and F. J. Chapman, son of S. J. Chapman, the pioneer of 
Vienna, dated 1852-53, and J. H. Russell, who was buying 
tobacco for Hendenburg of St. Louis, Russell agreed to pay 
Bridges & Chapman $4.50 per hundred for all tobacco prized 
by them and $4.37% per hundred for what he took without 
prizing. He agreed to take 75,000 pounds more or less. 
This gives an idea of the value of this weed as a crop and 
shows that it was a staple product of the county. Some 
good cotton was grown here in 1923 as an experiment. 
There are prospects for it to be again a staple crop of this 

There is quite an industry which has grown up among 
us in the last fifteen years, especially along the Chicago and 
Eastern Illinois railroad, called truck farming. This in- 
cludes the growing and the shipping of such vegetables as 
tomatoes, asparagus, rhubarb, sweet potatoes, cucumbers 
and cantaloupes. Another comparatively new resource in 
this section during the last ten years, is the keeping of dairy 
cattle and the shipping of their products. A number of 
cows of the Holstein breed have been brought from Wiscon- 
sin and New York states and with the Jerseys already well 
established here, there is sent out about 5,000 pounds of 
butter fat per week, even at the present price which is not 
nearly so high as during the world war, makes this a profit- 
able business in more ways than one. It brings a weekly or 
monthly income of cash to the farmer, enriches the pastures, 
and is adapted to lands that would not produce grain. The 
total receipes from sale of dairy products for 1920 were 
$156,653. Strawberries, blackberries, raspberries, and a 


few cherries are grown here. The first named are among 
the by-products of the county and are produced quite ex- 
tensively. Our berry crops follow those just south of us and 
ripen before the northern berry, making it a very profitable 
crop which seldom fails. The markets for the vegetables 
and small fruit crops are Chicago, Cleveland and Indian- 
apolis. In 1897, there were 1234 cases of strawberries 
snipped from Vienna, although this was not the main ship- 
ping station for that crop. As much as $500,00 has been 
realized in one season from three acres of ground planted 
in strawberries. 

The raising of poultry for the production of eggs is 
also rather a new industry for this community. While all 
farmers have always kept chickens for home use and to 
produce enough eggs to buy the sugar and coffee, no one 
has heretofore made a specialty of it. But now during the 
winter when the farmer does not have so many duties in 
the field and the price of eggs is high he devotes his time 
to the care of "biddy" which usually pays him well. The 
value of chickens and eggs in 1920 was $1,240,981. Receipts 
from sale of these two products $130,359. The leading 
strains are Plymouth Rock, Rhode Island Red, Leghorn, 
Buff, Orphington and Langsham. 

Many people do not appreciate the 'bird family and look 
on them as pests, instead of an asset, although some of 
them do as much harm as good, others are very helpful to 
farmers and horticulturists as insect destroyers. We are 
very fortunate in this county in having so many kinds. Some 
are prized for their beauty, others for their music. Aside 
from their economic value, the esthetic phase of the bird 
family must not be overlooked. Most everyone enjoys 
watching birds as they typify life in its most active state and 
the songs and calls of many of them are a source of pleasure. 
Their presence in great number means an increase of these 
forms of enjoyment. 

When the first settlers came here, they found the entire 
surface of the country covered with a heavy growth of tim- 
ber, the finest in the Mississippi valley. Black walnut, hick- 
ory, white oak, poplar and maple, now so rare and highly 
prized, were used for fence rails and fire wood. Beside those 
mentioned there was found in abundance elm, locust, syca- 
more, mulberry, cottonwood, pecan, sassafras, persimmon, 


gum, cedar, black oak and along the low swampy areas the 
tall straight cypress abounded. As fine logs of walnut, ash, 
oak and poplar as ever grew were rolled into huge heaps 
and burned. In fact, the farmer looked upon the timber as 
an incumbrance where he wanted a field. That it would 
be valuable later on never occurred to him. Of course, in 
later years much fine timber of this county was made into 
lumber. The cutting and floating of these logs down the 
streams to mills situated near the Illinois Central railroad 
was a very lucrative business for many years. Only within 
the last ten years has the timber 'become so scarce as to 
make this source of revenue prohibitive. 

We have no factories or mines like some of our 
neighboring counties. While there is surface coal in many 
sections of the county which is worked for local use, there 
has never been any mined for commercial purposes except 
at Burnside. There has been a number of attempts since 
1910 to discover oil in this county but the wells sunk never 
reached the fountain; although experts contend there is 
oil here. Near the village of Belknap there are some tile 
ovens as the clay in that locality is suitable for this business. 
The ovens are operated only part of the year. Charcoal is 
also manufactured in shipping quantities at this plant. 

Goreville, a prosperous village in the northern part of 
our county, has a cannery. It is owned and operated by 
John Terry and while it does not boast of its capacity, it 
is said to store up in tin the very best quality of tomatoes 
and beans that can be found. The Charles Stone Quarry is 
situated in the southwest part of the county on the farm 
orginally owned by Pleasant Axley at the village of White 
Hill. This community is made up of the employees of the 
Quarry which is owned by the Charles Stone Company, most 
of whom live in Marion, Illinois. This industry was estab- 
lished in 1913 and has a capacity of 7,000 tons a day. They 
manufacture lime stone, for farms, chat for road dressing 
and railroad ballast. This plant has been recently sold for 
$225,000 to the Robert Youtzsee Sand Company, of Chester, 

The largest farm of the county in one body is owned 
'by Charles Marshall of Belknap township and contains 
2,810 acres. Mrs. Charles Mason of the same township has 
a farm of 1,400 acres. The late A. M. Webb of Tunnell Hill 


owned about 1,500 acres; Chestnut Hill farm, four miles 
west of Vienna, was developed by James Brown. It con- 
tains 1,050 acres, is owned by P. T. Chapman and operated 
by E. Mathis. 

Twenty-five cents a day was considered a good price 
for a farm hand in the early history of this section, but 
when it gradually increased to 75 cents before the Civil War, 
the farmer thought it was extortion, almost as much so as 
the income tax in this year of 1925. Wages for farm hands 
in 1900 were $15.00 a month, for a single man, including 
board. A man with a family was paid $20.00 and furnished 
a house ; during the World War wages reached the height of 
$2.50 a day and board, from that to $5.00 during harvest. 
These prices have receded till the present farm hands 
receive on an average of $1.00 per day and board. 

The first organization that was instituted for the bene- 
fit of the farmer was the Grange. For some reason it did 
not accomplish the purpose for which is was organized and 
soon was a thing of the past. The F. M. B. A., organized 
1888, took up the cause of the farmer and flourished here 
for ten years or more. Some prominent in the order were 
T. J. Muray, J. W. Damron, G. N. Thacker, T. H. Verhines, 
R. R. Ridenhower, S. B. Robertson and Henry Anderson. 
There were about 20 lodges in the county and it appeared on 
the surface to be fulfilling its mission to the farmer but sud- 
denly it terminated in a political institution and thus ended 
its usefulness. There have been other and various associa- 
tions in our midst for the benefit of the farmer: "Fruit 
Growers,'' "Dairy," "Horticulture," "Shippers and Grow- 
ers," "Breeder," and perhaps others. The one that has 
lived the longest and accomplished the most for the farmer 
is the "Farmers Institute," organized in 1900 with J. F. 
Buckner as president and William Grissom, secretary. The 
next important step was to organize a Farm Bureau. This 
was done in 1918 with J. C. B. Heaton, president; J. C. Chap- 
man, vice-president; J. V. Carter, secretary; J. L. Veach, 
treasurer. L. M. Smith was special on fruit; Guy Beau- 
man on soils; Charles Marshal, live stock; William Moore, 
dairy; Charles Truelove, crops. O. M. McGee was 
secured as Farm Adviser for the county and the main in- 
dustries of our county have been on the up grade ever since 
its organization. James McCall, a native of this county, 


graduate of Oklahoma Agricultural and Medical College, 
Stillwater, Oklahoma, was our second Farm Advisor, em- 
ployed 1921. Our county also boasts one unit of the "Home 
Bureau" under Williamson County supervision. This is 
known as the "Ozark Unit" and is made up of women prin- 
cipally from Burnside Township. 

Cache River is the most important stream in Johnson 
County. It enters near the center of the western boundary, 
flows southeast, to the northern part of Sec. 30, S. range 3, 
east in Vienna Township, where it turns almost directly 
south, then southeast again, making a large bend by again 
turning southwest and forming the southern boundary of 
that portion of the county. Its principal tributaries are Lick, 
Dutchman, and Little Cache, or Town Creek, the first of 
which rises in Union County and runs into Cache in the 
western part of Elvira Township. Dutchman rises in Gore- 
ville Township, running in a southeast direction and re- 
ceives Little Cache, or Town Creek, in section seventeen, 
township thirteen and empties into Cache in section thirty 
of the same township. It is interesting to note that the 
description of the east fork of Cache given by J. M. Peck in 
1837 is practically correct for today. "This stream rises in 
Tunnel Hill Township, flows south and a little west by 
Vienna and into Dutchman in section seventeen." 

Big Bay Creek rises in Johnson County, receives Cedar, 
which with the other tributaries, drains the eastern sec- 
tions. The northern portion is drained by the tributaries 
of Saline and the northwestern section, by the streams that 
flow into Big Muddy River. The streams that flow to the 
north have narrow valleys with little low land along them. 
Cache is naturally a slow and sluggish stream. It has carv- 
ed out a valley varying from a quarter to two miles in 
width. Along its feeding streams, also those of Big Bay, 
lie large tracts of bottom land, which are subjected to over- 
flow and have been for many years since the Ohio River re- 
ceded from them. 

But in recent years there have been organized several 
drainage systems which have for their object the straight- 
ening of the main streams and the reclaimation of large and 
valuable tracts of land. Such improvements make these 
localities much more healthful. The first intimation of 


drainage in this county is a record of the appointment of 
Thomas Jones as "Drainage Commissioner" for the county 
1852 or 1854, and of his giving a bond of $10,000 with Wes- 
ley Reynolds, Nathan Rushing, Jefferson Jobe, William 
Mounce, D. Y. Bridges and B. F. Hayward as security. This 
appointment, however, was not made with the view of or- 
ganizing a drainage system. When in 1850, the U. S. grant- 
ed to the several states all the swamp land lying within 
their limits and in 1852 the states in turn granted this land 
to the counties and there were, consequently 23,087.24 acres 
of such land in this county, there was evident need for a 
drainage commissioner in title at least. The law said 
"counties shall not dispose of more than is necessary to com- 
plete the drainage except they may apply the remainder to 
roads and bridges. The counties land to be under the con- 
trol of the commissioner." 

As late as the fifties, swamp land sold in this county as 
low as 25 cents an acre; between 1870 and 1880 some Chi- 
cago capitalist became interested in swamp land in the 
vicinity of Belknap and Post Creek, but for some reason 
the scheme to drain it failed. Members of the State Legis- 
lature tried for several sessions to get aid from the state in 
making a survey to determine the practicability of a drain- 
age system for Cache River. Trousdale, of Massac, P. 
T. Chapman, of Johnson, in the Senate and George Martin, 
of Pulaski tried in the House at different sessions to secure 
this legislation. It failed of passage until the 43rd General 
Assembly when Senator Helm, of Massac and C. M. Gaunt, 
of Pulaski were successful. An appropriation of $10,000 for 
a survey of this territory was then made. A. H. Beli, 
of Bloomington, was employed as chief engineer and Wil- 
liam Moyer, of Pulaski County, as Assistant. 

Belknap Drainage District was organized about 1903. 
It lies wholly within Johnson County and extends from near 
Old Foreman, southwest to Rago. It was, in fact, a levee 
system and protected about 6,000 acres of land. It was 
financed by issuing bonds, and cost $40,000. The first Board 
of Commissioners was S. D. Peeler, Charles Mason and W. 
P. Brown. The present members are Charles Marshall, D. 
C. Casper and T. M. Bean (1922). The system was com- 
pleted in about two years but the commissioners have since, 
in conjunction with Cache River Drainage System, con- 


structed Foreman Flood Way and other ditches which have 
proved more satisfactory for their purposes than the levees. 

The "Cache River" drainage system is by far the most 
important undertaking of its kind in this section of the 
country. Its territory includes portions of five counties, 
Pope, Massac, Johnson, Pulaski and Union. The commission 
for the Cache River drainage system was organized in the 
spring of 1911, after a very pointed argument for the need 
of a drainage system had been furnished by the high water 
of 1910. The loss to Johnson County from this high water 
in crops, roads, bridges and farm improvements amounted 
to some $100,000. The head of this system begins a little 
more than a quarter of a mile east from the Big Four R. R. 
in Township 12, Sec. 6, S. Range 3 east, of Johnson County, 
running through sections six and seven in a slightly south- 
east direction to Township 14, Sec. 13, S. Range 2 east about 
2% miles and is known as the Foreman Flood way, serving 
both Belknap and Cache River systems. The main ditch, 
or "Cache River Cut off" begins in Pulaski County at the 
mouth of Post Creek, and the course of Post Creek is 
changed by it in an exact opposite direction so that it flows 
out of Cache instead of into it and empties into the Ohio 
River several miles above the original mouth of Cache. 
Cache is, thus stortened about 60 miles. This ditch is a 
little less than five miles long, sixty seven feet deep at 
different places and 350 feet wide at some points. 

S. D. Peeler, of this county, was a member of the 
Drainage Board for nine years and was chairman of it for 
seven. He gave much time and energy to this project, the 
value of which can not yet be estimated. This drainage pro- 
ject has been financed in the usual way at a total cost of 
$330,000. When completed over 80,000 acres of land will 
be drained. The main ditch was begun in 1912 and finished 
in 1916, but the entire system is not yet finished, (1924). 

Vienna Drainage District was organized about 1911. 
The commissioners were D. W. Whittenberg, J. C. Chap- 
man, O. H. Rhodes, C. J. Huffman, secretary and treasurer. 
This system has two divisions, the eastern one, beginning on 
Town Creek at the bridge on the Bloomfield road near the 
Big Four Station, running in a southwestern direction and 
meeting the western section. The latter section begins on 
Dutchman, just below where the bridge crosses that stream 


on the West Vienna and Vienna Road and runs in a south- 
east direction. On J. C. Chapman's farm, in section 7, the 
east and west branches, become one ditch to Ballow Bridge, 
in Section 17 on the Belknap and Vienna Road, where it 
meets the main stream of Dutchman. The work of digging 
this ditch was not begun till 1915. It was completed in 1916 
at a cost of $25,000. It drains almost 6,000 acres and is 
being paid for in the usual manner, the taxes meeting the 
interest and a portion of the bonds each year. 


Although the farmers of Johnson County since early 
settlement have generally had small orchards to supply fruit 
for home use, the growing of fruit on a commercial scale 
was begun about twenty-five years ago. The adaptability of 
the Memphis silt loam to the production of fruit has made 
this one of the most, if not the most, important industry of 
this county. The most extensive orchards are in Burnside 
Township, but fruit growing is not confined to this locality 
entirely. The orchard area is spreading to all parts of 
the Ozark Ridge lying in the county. A. G. Benson, living 
in Tunnel Hill Township had, in 1918, twenty-six acres in 
bearing trees, from which he realized in cash $3,300. An- 
other fruit grower in the same township, Guy Beauman, 
made on his eighty acres of trees, $15,000. The large 
orchards are well cared for, pruned and sprayed. The ap- 
ples are usually sold on the trees, the buyer picking, barrel- 
ing and shipping. Other orchard growers are F. B. Hines, 
R. F. Taylor, Mrs. Mary McAvory, Dr. W. R. Mizell, Dr. 
LaRue, John Underwood, Gingrich Bros., Norman Casper, 
Hugh and P. G. McMahan and the Centralia Fruit Farm. 

The most extensive fruit growers we have in the coun- 
ty are Heaton Brothers of New Burnside. They are known 
in all parts of the United States as apple growers, and have 
blue ribbons and medals from all kinds of fairs and exposi- 
tions. They have been in the business for about thirty-five 
years and have four hundred acres in trees. The early var- 
ieties they raise are Transparent and Duchess; the winter 
or keeping varieties are Winesap, Ingram and Kennard's 
Choice. The average yield from an acre of orchard is 
$100. The following is quoted from the pioneer orchardist 
of the county : 

"The first commerical orchard was planted in the spring 


of 1888 by J. C. B. Heaton. Southern Illinois was then a 
dumping ground for tree peddlers with left over nursery 
stock. Mr. Heaton went into the nursery business for a 
time that he might get trees true to name, and with a hope 
that he might be able to direct an industry that would raise 
his neighbors from a state of semi-poverty to affluence and 
independence. Seeing that nursery men and orchardists 
were everywhere giving their efforts to growing fall and 
winter apples and that there was an increasing demand for 
early apples, which no section was yet making an effort to 
supply, he began growing and planting early varieties. 
While he was considered visionary at the time by many peo- 
ple, there were a few who were willing to risk his judgment 
and followed his example in planting early varieties. Those 
who gave attention to their orchards and brought them into 
bearing, reaped such a valuable harvest as to cause their 
neighbors to sit up and take notice. It was not long until 
everybody wanted an orchard of early apples, and went at 
it in earnest." 

From a few local shipments in 1895 the industry grew 
to more than 150 car loads in 1920. During all this period 
there has been no year that a well cared-for orchard has 
failed to pay expenses. There has been no such thing as 
a total failure and probably never will be. It is admitted 
by our State Horticultural Department that no section of 
the state gives better care to the orchards than the New 
Burnside section. The United States apple census in the 
June report of 1918 says that Johnson and Union Counties 
have the largest early apple industry in the United States. 
Mr. Heaton also says, "The New Burnside vicinity will 
double its output within five years, trebble it in eight years, 
and quadruple it in twelve years at the present rate of 
planting. Good orchard land easily accessible to New Burn- 
side, the shipping point, can be bought for $30.00 to $60.00 
an acre. But good orchards in bearing, readily sell for $300 
to $400 an acre. These prices are not based on estimates, 
but actual sales. Apples grown near New Burnside captur- 
ed a gold medal at Louisiana Purchase exposition; also at 
St. Louis in 1903, a silver loving cup at the State Horticul- 
tural Show, and many minor premiums. In fact, Heaton 
Bros.' apples exhibited anywhere have never failed to get 
their portion of premiums. While this is one of the small- 
est counties in population, it is a pleasure to note that two 


thirds of all her land is as well suited to the production of 
early apples as the section of New Burnside. There is no 
place in the United States that offers better opportunities 
for a young family to grow themselves into a fat living than 
Johnson County. The current expression "Go West and 
grow up with the country" might well be applied here to 
read "Go to Johnson County and grow up with an orchard 
of early apples and live on the fat of the land." 

A former resident of New Burnside Township writes 
a little history of a farm he knew in his boyhood days which 
he says, could not be given away, but which really would 
have sold high at $20 per acre owing to the rocks and pov- 
erty of the soil. This farm has been planted in orchard and 
sold in 1922 for $500 an acre. This fact substantiates the 
assertions of Mr. Heaton in his contribution to this subject. 
Ozark has recently built a packing house for the benefit of 
the Cooperative Fruit Growers of that section which is the 
first of its kind in the county. There are few peaches grown 
in this county for market although they are a most profit- 
able crop when they withstand the late frosts. This crop is 
so frequently destroyed that there are no large orchards 
planted in this section. Chapman & Hooker took a first 
prize on Elberta peaches at the Buffalo Exposition, New 
York, 1901, which proves that the best peaches can be pro- 
duced in this locality. The number of acres of commercial 
orchard in this county in 1922 was at least 6,000. 



Parish, an early historian of Illinois says, "In 1792 M. 
Juchereau with 30 Canadians and Father Jean Mermet left 
Kaskaskia to form a French settlement and to build a fort 
on the Ohio River. He erected a palisade, a cabin or two, 
and a store house. His purpose was ostensibly trading. 
Mermet established a mission nearby and called it Assump- 
tion. This place was deserted a few years after on account 
of trouble with the Indians and if it was named, all records 
have been lost." Other historians tell us it was occupied by 
traders in 1710 and 1711, but remained unimportant till 
1756. During the French and Indian War the French in 
retreat under Aubrey landed here, threw up earth works 
and erected a stockade with four bastions furnished with 
eight cannons and quarters for a hundred men. From that 
date it has been known as Fort Massac. The origin of its 
name is no more certain than its other early history. It 
was ceded to the British in 1783, but they never occupied it 
with troops, which made it easy for Clark to enter the Illi- 
nois country. 

Fort Massac is not now in Johnson County, but it was 
at one time and the history of any place in Southern Illinois 
can scarcely be written without mentioning this old land- 
mark. This fort was built by the French sometime in 1700, 
as a trading post and mission. Later a fort was construct- 
ed here forming one of the chain built by the French to be 
used in the defence of their claim to this part of the country 
known as the Northwest Territory. It was occupied by the 
French at different times and garrisoned by the U. S. in 
1794. Victor Collet, a Frenchman tells us in his notes "On 
a Journey in North America," that Captain Pike was com- 
mandant of Fort Massac in 1796. His garrison consisted 
of one hundred men and the batteries were mounted with 
twelve pieces. Near the fort were seven or eight houses or 
huts inhabited by Canadians. From its isolation Fort Mas- 
sac was sometimes the rendezvous of conspirators; here 
Genet, Powers, Wilkinson, the famous Aaron Burr with 
Blenerhasset, plotted wild schemes against this government, 


just what was never known. Here, no doubt floated the 
first American flag in this state which the valiant General 
George Rogers Clark brought with him on his journey of 
conquest, if he possessed one, if not, he carried the salute in 
his loyal heart. At least here he touched soil, camped and 
began his victorious march across Illinois. There has been 
some contention as to which route or trail General Clark 
took from this ancient fort to Kaskaskia. There seems to 
have been three known routes between these two places in 
1778; number one lead from Fort Massac east and north 
to avoid the swamps, into Pope County; then turned west- 
ward past what is now Allen Springs entering Johnson 
County about two or three miles from Double Bridges and 
north of the site of Simpson, passed through Moccasin Gap, 
Sec. 3 township 12, range 4 east, Reynoldsburg, Sec. 33, 
township 11, range 4 E, Ezekiel Choat's, Sec. 30, township 
11, range 4 east, Charles Burton's place near Parker, Salem 
Church then to Sulphur Springs about a mile southwest of 
Creal Springs and on into Williamson County, through old 
Bainbridge and out into the prairie country. 

The second route circled Massac Lakes to the westward 
cutting in between them and the canyons of Cache River, 
entering Johnson County near what is known as Indian 
Point, then running north of northwest crossing Dutchman 
Creek a short distance above Forman then up the east side 
of Cache crossing the Ozarks through the Buffalo Gap. 
Johnson County on into Williamson meeting the upper trail 
at old Bainbridge. It is not necessary to describe the third 
route because it could be used only in the dry weather. 

Since Clark's expedition was in the early summer it is 
hardly probable that he would have taken the third route. 

The evidence gathered from Clark's correspondence is 
in favor of the second route ; he says "on the third day out 
we reached prairie." This would have been impossible 
owing to the distance on the first route. He further says 
they were very much afraid of being discovered, another 
reason why they would take the least traveled or second 
route. He ordered his guide to find Kaskaskia trace when 
they thought they were lost, which would not have happen- 
ed had they been on the original trace or the one known as 
route one. It had been marked by the French and was, no 
doubt, easily followed. A U. S. Survey notes an Indian trail 


which is described in "Roads." This central route was 
probably the same as this survey and shorter by seventy- 
five miles, another reason Clark would select it. The Daniel 
Chapman Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 
of V ienna were so thoroughly convinced from these reasons 
and Draper's manuscripts of Clark's Memoirs, 1791 in the 
State Historical Society of Wisconsin, also from authority 
of Hurlburt in his history of this route, that this was the 
route Clark traveled on his historic journey, that they 
marked it with four markers of stone set in concrete bases 
with suitable inscriptions in 1913. One of these is located 
at Indian Point on the right of way of the Chicago, Burling- 
ton and Quincy Railroad, just inside the Johnson County 
line, and where the state hard road crosses into Massac 
County. This was Clark's first camp out of Fort Massac. 
These trails always followed the ridges and passed near 
water, consequently they placed one on the West Vienna 
road near a spring two and one-half miles west of Vienna 
about where the trail would naturally cross the present 
road. Clark's men, no doubt, tramped on up the ridge to- 
ward Goreville through Buffalo Gap where there is a break 
in the range of hills. The third marker was placed here 
by the permission of the Chicago and Eastern Illinois Rail- 
road, this being an old crossing used by the native buffalo, 
and made by nature. The fourth was placed on the Vienna 
and Marion road at the Pink Thornton Farm as the spring 
where they most likely camped the second night out of Fort 
Massac is just off the road, about three-fourth of a mile, 
near the present site of Pully's Mill and only a short dis- 
tance from where the stone is located. The Egyptian Press, 
a local paper of Marion, Illinois, describes the marker as 
follows : "On his second night out from Fort Massac, Gen- 
eral Clark and his men camped at a spring which is located 
near the Thornton home, two miles north of Goreville on 
the Marion and Goreville road. Here is now to be seen one 
of the monuments but recently located by the Daughters of 
the American Revolution. This monument is a granite 
marker standing above its heavy solid concrete base about 
two feet. It has a beveled and polished face measuring 
about 18 by 24 inches and bears the following inscription : 
'Second Camp of General George Rogers Clark, on his 
March from Fort Massac to Fort Kaskaskia, 1778. Erect- 
ed 1913 by Daniel Chapman, Chapter D. A. R.' " 



Our first roads were trails made by the Indians. Rey- 
nolds tells us that in 1800 the old road leading from Ft. Mas- 
sac to Kaskaskia was plainly marked, the number of miles 
having been cut or burned on trees and painted red. Just 
how long this road or trail has been in existence, we have 
no way of telling. We know, however, that it was laid out 
when Fort Massac and Assumption were built, which time 
varies from 1702 to 1711. Thus our first road was con- 
structed early in the 18th century as Fort Massac had been 
a depot for emigrants from almost the beginning. Rey- 
nolds says, "from time immemorial." These emigrants had 
floated down the Ohio River on rafts and settled in southern 
Illinois. This road after leaving Fort Massac made a great 
curve to the north into Pope County to avoid the swamps 
of Cache and Big Bay, entering Johnson County about sec- 
tion 13, township 12, range 4 east, thence through Moccasin 
Gap, section 3, township 12, range 4 east, thence through 
Reynoldsburg, section 33, township 11, range 4 east, on to 
the northwest by or near Parker City leaving the county 
about a mile southwest of Creal Springs at or near Sulphur 
Springs going into Williamson County, passing Ward's Mill, 
Old Bainbridge and on into Jackson County. This was, 
without doubt, our first road though possibly not much 
more than a trace in 1800 as most of the travel was by foot 
or horseback. Reynolds says there was not a single house 
on the road from Hull's landing, a few miles above Fort 
Massac, on the Ohio to Kaskaskia in 1800. Good roads 
were just as necessary to civilization in the early day as 
now and among the first things that the county court did 
after its organization was to begin laying out roads. Sep- 
tember 13, 1813, the court having taken into consideration 
the necessity, ordered Issac D. Wilcox to open a road from 
Massac the nearest and best way to William Style's in 
Center Township, and to make or cause the same to be 
made passable for carriages; that Moses Evans, Joseph 
Eubanks and Wm. Styles be appointed to view the road. 
Joseph Eubank's estate was settled in Massac Township in- 
dicating he lived in what is now that county. No doubt, 
some part of this road is in use as the road from Vienna to 
Metropolis at the present time. The second highway we 
have a record of is where Ezekiel Wells, Thomas Green and 
Solamon Penrod were appointed to view a road from Earth- 


man's ferry, which was on the Mississippi River. The 
terminus of this road is not given, but doubtless was Elvira 
in which case it would cross the present Union County. 
This order was made sometime in the year 1813. January 
1814, the court ordered that all the inhabitants for eight 
miles on either side of this road from Earthman's ferry 
should work this road. January 12, 1814, a petition was 
presented to the court for a road from "Col. Furguson's 
opposite the mouth of Cumberland River, in what is now 
Pope County, to Cape Girardeau; the present mail route." 
This was a long route extending from one river to the other 
and, no doubt, left Vienna to the north. "Green's old ferry 
road passed through Vienna. Reynolds says there was an 
old road from Massac to Cape Girardeau." Tradition call- 
ed it a military road. Levi Graham, William Lawrence 
and Abraham Price were to have charge of the road from 
Cache to Cape Girardeau and John Pritchard, James Tits- 
worth and John P. Givens were to have charge from Col. 
Furguson's to Cache. Wm. Lawrence had a mill and a 
still on Cache and from the best evidence to. be obtained 
he lived in the extreme southeast corner of the present 
Union County or perhaps, just over in Pulaski. W. N. 
Moyers, County Superintendent of Highways of Pulaski 
County describes the two crossings or trails from one river 
to the other made first, by the Indians and later used by the 
new settlers as follows : One of the trails from Fort Mas- 
sac west, followed down the Ohio River beyond old Fort 
Wilkinson and the head of the Grand Chain, thence west to 
the present site of Levings, thence north by west to Cache 
River about the corner of Sec. 16, 17, 20 and 21, Township 
14, S., R. I. East. This is the first point at which the high 
lands reach the bank of that stream after leaving the Strat- 
ton Bridge site. The other route reached Cache about where 
the Black Slough empties into it. If Cache was high, the 
traveler went up the slough a short distance where it could 
be forded and skirted the scatters of Cache to Indian Point 
where the trail followed the ridge in a northwest direction 
and the one, no doubt, used by Gen. George Rogers Clark. 
An old United States Survey says that an old trail skirted 
the north banks of Cache basin near the east end. The 
Vienna and Metropolis road crosses it in Township 14, 
range 4 east near the center of the range. Grand Chain 
and Belknap road crosses it in R. 2 east, township 14. These 
old trails were, no doubt, referred to as roads in the early 


days of Johnson County's organization. At the May term 
of court in the year 1815 the people petitioned for a road 
from Elvira to intersect the road from Furguson's to Cape 
Girardeau at Cache Post Office (The United States Post 
Master General's Office says, "there was never a post office 
by that name until recent years there was one established 
in Alexander County"). The above road order was taken 
from the county records. In 1815, the court ordered that 
Robert Lott and William Thornton be appointed to view a 
road the nearest and best route from Johnson Court House 
to William Lawrence's mill. At the same session, 1815, 
George Smiley, Joseph Palmer, and Henry Earthman were 
ordered to lay out a road from Elvira to Earthman's ferry 
on the Mississippi to be governed as far as possible by the 
township line between townships 11 and 12. About this 
time William Simpson and John Robinson are allowed to 
establish a ferry on the Mississippi, below the mouth of 
Apple Creek, and to it they must have a road. Giles Pal- 
merly, Jacob Craft, Thomas C. Patterson and Andrew 
Cochran were appointed to lay out said road. Joshua Davis, 
William Simpson, Thomas C. Patterson and John Byers 
were given the task of laying out a road from Johnson Court 
House (Elvira) to Big Muddy so as to meet the road from 
Kaskaskia to Muddy. A petition was presented in 1815 by 
the inhabitants to have the road leading from Johnson 
Court House to Furguson's ferry viewed and opened. John 
Reed, who served as commissioner in Pope County in 1825 
and must have lived near the present Johnson County line, 
judging from another road ordered, Jacob Littleton and 
James Whiteside were viewers of this road. This was lat- 
er known as the old Golconda and Jonesboro road. It ran 
through Bloomfield Township across the farms of Joseph 
Plater, Mrs. Davis, John Veach and Gus Casper and cross- 
ed Dutchman where the second site for a county seat was 
selected. This road also passed through Simpson, by Pleas- 
ant Ridge church house, crossed the old Marion road near 
the John Veach place and merged with the present Bun- 
combe road near the Soper farm. At a court held in 181(5 
Levi Graham, Absalom Lankston were appointed to view 
a road from Smith's ferry on the Mississippi to Wm. Law- 
rence's mill on Cache. John Bowman was to open a road 
from Johnson Court House toward Furguson's ferry as 
far as McFatridges. In 1817 Peter Clark, Henry Sams and 


Benjamin F. Clark were appointed to view a road already 
established to Hay's ferry from Elvira till it intersected 
the road leading from Dutchman settlement, which was 
about two miles southwest of Jonesboro and at that time in 
Johnson County, to Brownsville, a town on the north bank 
of Big Muddy River and the first county seat of Jackson 
County, by way of Patterson's, who lived in what was 
afterward Rich Precinct, Union County, "Peter Clark is 
made supervisor of that part of the road, from Elvira to 
Brownsville, from his home to where the road intersects 
the road leading from the Dutch settlement. "The same 
year John Weldon, John Robinson and John Tweedy were 
ordered to lay out a road from Earthman's ferry on the 
Mississippi to intersect Greens road, near Tweedy's Mill." 
Another road built about this time was from Johnson Court 
House to Gallaher's old place on the Mississippi, below 
Green's ferry, John Bradshaw, John Grammar and Joseph 
Palmer, all were residents of Union at its organization, are 
viewers of this road. The description of the road is as 
follows: "Beginning at the court house and running by 
William Townsen's farm thence near to John Bradshaw's, 
leaving his house to the left, crossing Big Creek at the 
mouth of Wallace's branch, thence passing along between 
the plantations of John Grammar, and Sophronus Standles, 
thence by John Whitekers and thence to Gallaher's old place 
on the Mississippi, all of which we have marked," signed 
John Grammar, John Bradshaw, David Vance, David 
Arnold." Report on road leading to Robinson and Simp- 
son's ferry on the Mississippi. "To-wit : Beginning at the 
court house thence agreeably to the way newly marked out 
to Thomas C. Patterson's and through his land, thence to 
Tripp's thence to the old Indian trail, where it crosses 
Drury's Creek thence to Palmer's, thence passing the widow 
Craft's and leaving her home to the right from there to 
Earthman's ferry." (Formerly Robinson and Simpson's 
ferry) . This report was given in 1815 and Giles Parmerly 
was appointed supervisor at this same court. The commis- 
sion appointed to lay out the road to Muddy, having failed 
to act T. C. Patterson, William Simpson, William H. and 
Josuha Davis were appointed instead. 

The roads up to this time most all seemed to be in the 
direction of the Mississippi River, but when Union was 
organized and the county seat changed, the roads began 


their trend in other direction. At the July court, 1818, 
William McNorton, John Copeland and John W. Gore were 
appointed viewers of a road the nearest and best route, from 
the new seat of justice toward Jonesboro, as far as the 
county line." This is, in part at least, the present Anna 
ana Vienna road having been laid out a little more than a 
hundred years ago. imagine, if you can, the work and 
money that has been spent on this road in the past one 
hundred years. If they had built less than one quarter of 
a mile each year we would now have a good road to our 
neighboring city. Perhaps these pioneers were excusable, 
although the Appian way had been constiucted before the 
Christian era, but the present day citizens are not excusable 
as they know all about hard roads, how to build them and 
have plenty of material at hand in this county. Yet the 
process of wasting money on roads continues in this sec- 
tion. "Adam Harvick, Joel Johnson and John Grisham are 
appointed at this same court, 1818, to view a road from the 
new seat of justice to Golconda, as far as the county line 
of Pope." All persons living north of the road to within 
one half mile of the old Elvira and Jonesboro road and all 
living south within five miles of said road shall work this 
road." September, 1819, the court ordered that Richard 
McGinnin, who lived at Pleasant Grove, the present home 
of Willis Elkins, Millington Smith, whose home was on 
the present farm of Stanley Beggs, and James Jones, who 
lived on the farm now divided and owned by Fred Shetler 
and John M. Brown, be appointed to view the nearest and 
best practicable route for a road from John Gore's planta- 
tion, so as to meet the road lately laid out from Vienna to 
Jonesboro at the county line. "This road began at John 
W. Gore's thence by George Brazell's mill to Jane Lizenby's, 
thence along the ridge leading down Cache River to the 
same, thence on a ridge to William Russell's farm leav- 
ing the same on the left, thence the safest and best route 
to meet said road from Vienna to Jonesboro. The mean- 
ing is a little obscure as there had been a commission the 
year before to lay out a road from Vienna to Jonesboro, but 
it is possible they did not complete it farther than John 
W. Gore's, another theory is that the first Vienna and 
Jonesboro road led south and then west instead of the pres- 
ent direction owing to the high water directly west of us. 
The road leading from Vienna south to Caledonia, Mound 


City and Cairo and passing Indian Point was laid out in 
1821. In 1824, John Copeland and John S. Cooper reported 
on a road to Wilcox's warehouse, which was on the Ohio 
River in section 7, township 15, range 3 east. A Mrs. 
Riley owns the farm on which this warehouse and landing 
was located. It was first called Copeland's landing. James 
Copeland operated a ferry there about 1824. It was later 
called Mabery landing. Tradition says most of the roads 
leading from the north came to this landing. It was on 
what is now the county line between Massac and Pulaski 
Counties, almost directly south of Vienna and doubtless 
the port from where our imports came and our exports 
were shipped. At this time Johnson County had a road 
leading out in every direction to the neighboring towns 
and, no doubt, many settlement roads. In 1819, David 
Elms was appointed supervisor of the old Golconda and 
Jonesboro road, from the corner of his farm, this farm now 
owned by J. H. Taylor and J. R. Hill, to Pope County line; 
Squire Choat from the same corner east to Bloomfielcl 
Township line; Alexander McGowan from there to Dutch- 
man Lick (No knowledge of Dutchman Lick possibly it is 
what is now Lick Creek.) from Dutchman Lick to Union 
County line. William Gothard was appointed. These 
supervisors must have lived on or near the sections of road 
to which they were assigned. Stanton Simpson was ap- 
pointed supervisor, for the new road, from Vienna toward 
Golconda as far as the Pope County line 1824. In 1820 
it was ordered that : "James Bain, Lewis Simpson and Levi 
Casey be appointed to view a route from Vienna to Saline 
Lick and that Milton Ladd be appointed to survey it." The 
following men were designated to work this road that ran 
toward Saline Lick, passing Lewis D. Simpson's which 
was the present Simpson road, William Simpson, Sr., Levi 
Casey, Jacob Cannady, Ishmael Veach, Joseph McCorcle, 
William Hendry, Robert Little, James Copeland, Ivy Rey- 
nolds, Benj. Carroll, G. Morris, Irvin Morris, William 
Huckam, Francis Geehen, James Bain, Henry Adams, Mar- 
tin Harvick, David Elms, Reuben Wright, William S. 
Cooley, George Giles, Squire Choat, Benjamin Bowman, 
William Abraham and Noah Shelby, Willis Simpson, and 
John Fisher. The supervisors were allowed $1.00 per day 
for summoning hands to work the road, in 1823. For 
December, 1821, Joseph McCorcle, James Jones and Mathew 


Mathis were appointed by the court to view and mark out 
the nearest and best route for a road from Vienna toward 
the Saline so as to intersect the road leading past Lewis 

Hezekiah West, Thomas Standard and Moses Cochran 
were appointed to view the nearest and best practicable 
route for a road from Vienna to Wilcox's ferry on the Ohio 
River, so as to intersect the county line between Johnson 
and Union Counties near Concord meeting- house. 1821 
Joel Johnson, Levi Casey and Lewis Simpson were appoint- 
ed to view a road from Vienna to meet the road from Elvira 
to Saline Lick. In 1821, Abraham Hendry, Jesse Canady 
and Martin Harvick were designated to view a road from 
Vienna to cross the creek below Joseph McCorcle's tan 
yard, which was about where Joseph McDaniel's house 
stands at present, on east main street, proceeding from 
there so as to intersect the Massac road at or near a place 
called Indian Mounts, this side of the bridge on what is 
called Black Slough. Indian Mounts, was, no doubt, the 
same as Indian Point. "Ordered that Robert Axley, Thomas 
Standard and Richard Mercer be appointed to view a road 
the nearest and best route for a road to be laid out from 
Concord meeting house to some point on the Ohio River 
near Wilcox's ware house." Concord meeting house must 
have been near the cemetery of that name which is near 
the line of Union and Johnson and one half mile due north 
of the old William Yearly Davis place. At September 
court, 1823, Isaac D. Wilcox, John L. Cooper and John Cope- 
land were appointed to view a route for a road from Vienna 
to Wilcox's ware house on the Ohio River. They reported 
on this road in 1824 and were appointed supervisors of 
same ; all living within three miles of the road to the bridge 
must work this road and all within seven miles must work 
it beyond the bridge to the ware house." It evidently took 
a great deal of work and time of the citizens to make roads 
at that time; one can scarcely decide which the greater 
burden to work and open up new roads as they did in those 
days or to keep them up at the present. Three notches on 
a tree indicated a public road, a blaze on a tree marked a 
neighborhood road. The following men were appointed to 
supervise certain sections of these roads, 1823. "The road 
from Golconda to Jonesboro," that part of said road that 
lies between the bridge on Cache and the county line of 


Pope." John Peterson to superintend that part between the 
afore said bridge and the town of Vienna. " Ivy Reynolds 
from Vienna to Simpson and Samuel Stanton Simpson from 
his house to the county line of Pope." "On the old road 
from Golconda to Jonesboro; Joshua Elkins to superintend 
that part of said road which lies between Dutchman Lick 
and the county line of Union." "Samuel McGowan from 
said Lick eastward as far as the line that divided Vienna 
and Bloomneld Townships." William Shelby from the north 
east corner of his land to the county line of Pope." The 
road from Golconda to Jonesboro passing through Vienna 
was divided into two districts, known as eastern which ex- 
tended from the county line of Pope to Vienna, and western 
district which extended from Vienna to the county line of 
Union. Ivy Reynolds was appointed supervisor for the 
eastern district for the year, 1826 and William Elkins for 
the western district for the same year. The old road run- 
ning through Bloomfield was divided the same way, the 
same year with Washington McFatridge in charge from 
Pope County line to Bloomneld and Henry Mangum was 
supervisor from Bloomfield west to Union County line." 
To the honorable judges of the court of Johnson County, 
Greeting — In pursuance of an act of the General Assembly, 
approved January 15, 1825. "We, your petitioners pray that 
you would lay out a road beginning at the county line, be- 
tween Johnson and Pope Counties, near Thomas Reeds on 
Big Bay, thence through the settlement of Mark Rentfro 
thence the nearest and best -route to Hardy Johnson's on 
the old road, from thence to intersect the old Kaskaskia road 
at or near Ezekiel Choats on the little Saline, as we believe 
it will be a road of great utility and that yon appoint suit- 
able persons to review it. Signers — (the only names legible 
were) : Hardy and Joel Johnson." J. H. G. Wilcox pre- 
sented a petition to the May court, 1827, praying for a 
road from Vienna, by Reuben Wilson's on Georges Creek, 
to his ferry on the Ohio River. It was granted and Ander- 
son Douglas, Martin Harvick and John Shearer were ap 
pointed viewers of the road. (Reuben Wilson entered land, 
1836, which is now owned by J. L. Broadway.) In 1828, a 
number of citizens petitioned for a road beginning at Pope 
County line near Thomas Reed's on Big Bay thence through 
the settlement of Mark Rentfro thence to Hardy Johnson's 
on the old road, from thence to intersect the old Kaskaskia 
road at or near Ezkiel Choats on little Saline. In 1856, the 


following road was ordered : "Beginning at H. Carson's and 
running in a northwest direction to Williamson County 
line passing 0. Francis, F. Boyt's, D. C. Chapman, E. F. 
Francis, H. M. Ridenhower, James Parish and the widow 
Ollis, L. W. Fern and D. C. Chapman were reviewers." This 
is a later date than others but is used to complete the middle 
Marion road. 

The county was well supplied with roads which had 
been laid out in a comparatively short time. The lack of 
good roads has long been a menace to our county as well as 
to the rest of the state. Our citizens began to take an 
interest in the hard road question only a few years ago. 
Our commissioners began putting in permanent bridges and 
culverts about 1900. An enthusiastic meeting was held in 
Vienna in the fall of 1913, especially planned in the interest 
of the "Logan and Lee" highway. A number from ad- 
joining counties and Kentucky attended and it looked like, 
the road was almost here. The result of this convention 
remains in the red, white and blue stripes on the telephone 
poles through the county, marking the proposed great high- 
way. This, of course, is something but not what was ex- 
pected. This remaining sign and the successful meeting 
was due mostly to the efforts of Noel Whitehead, who was 
at that time mayor of Vienna. The state road which is 
being built from the $60,000,000 bond issue was surveyed in 
1921. It enters the county from the northeast, just south 
of Stone Fort, passes through Burnside Township to the 
southwest, passes through Tunnel Hill Township, a little 
east of the railroad and directly through Guy Beauman's 
farm and Bloomfield in the same general direction. It 
crosses the Big Four railroad above the little village of 
Bloomfield, cutting directly through the farm of T. J. Clay- 
ton and entering the limits of Vienna on the northeast 
corner thence through the eastern section of the town. It 
crosses the Big Four rail road two miles directly south of 
Vienna. This road is a part of route one and connects 
Chicago and Metropolis. It is called the "Wonder Land 
Route." In 1918, 1730 votes were cast in this county for the 
$60-000,000 bond issue to build state roads and only 260 
against. The public roads of the county are much better 
than ten years ago and, no doubt will improve continuously. 
Fourteen miles of the above road is now open to traffic, 



One would think ferries a rather queer subject for the 
history of a county so far inland as Johnson County is at 
present, but it must not be forgotten that in our former 
greatness as a territorial county, we bordered on two rivers. 

All families coming here from the south had to cross 
the river to reach the desired haven which necessitated a 
ferry, and many coming from the east floated down the 
Ohio on rafts. They might be taken into the farther side 
by the current and needed a ferry to land them on the right 
side. Perhaps it would be interesting to know how many of 
our later settlers reached this section by way of the rivers. 
They built rafts which were logs pinned together, put 
the lumber they wanted to use in building their houses on 
them, and shoved them into the river; loaded the family, 
the stock, and all their belongings onto them and floated 
away. There was usually a small inclosure in the center to 
shelter the family. The cow was staked out to one side, 
the chickens, pigs and other domestic animals were coralled 
in an inclosure; they cooked, ate, milked and churned, fed 
the stock and lived at home on this mininature farm with- 
out soil until they reached their destination. The father 
guided this frail bark into Hull's or Mile's Landing, Fort 
Massac or Mound City. 

Many people emigrating to Kaskaskia, Cahokia, and 
other parts of the state further north and west came to 
the Kentucky shore and crossed at Lusks Ferry. Fort 
Massac was a favorite landing place for emigrants since 
the first one came. And the Mississippi River must have 
been almost lined with ferries judging from the number 
given in our first courts as applying for permission to estab- 
lish them. 

At the second term of Johnson County court, held in 
1813, "on motion of Henry Earthman to have his ferry on 
the Mississippi, formerly known by the name of Waller's 
Ferry established." It was so ordered by the court. This 
is the first mention of a ferry on our records and the fol- 
lowing rates were established for the government of this 
ferry, to-wit: for crossing a wagon and team, $3.00; a 
carriage of pleasure with four wheels, $4.00; two wheels 
of the same description, $2.00; a cart $1.00; a man and 


horse 62V2C, pack horse 62%, single man or horse 25c, neat 
cattle 20c, sheep, hogs or goats 10c, for all kinds of pack 
mules, oxen and horses, the same rate as a horse. 

At the September court, 1814, William Simpson and 
John Robinson were given leave to establish a ferry on the 
Mississippi below the mouth of Apple Creek. Later, in 
1815 Charles Bradley entered a ferry on the Mississippi 
opposite Cape Girardeau and the same rates were to govern 
as had been allowed for the others. In 1816 Smiley had a 
warehouse and ferry on the Mississippi. Green operated 
a ferry on the same river in 1814. In 1815 John Earthman 
had leave to operate the ferry established by Simpson and 
Robinson the year before in the name of John Hay, John 
and Henry Earthman and William Garner. The ferries on 
the Mississippi in 1816 were Tweesday's, William Smith's, 
Thomas Green's, Samuel Penrod's Charles Bradley's, Reu- 
ben Glover's, Lewis Crane's, Power's and Smiley's. Obidiah 
Russell had a ferry on Cache. All these ferries paid taxes 
into the Johnson County treasury for 1816. 

Furguson's ferry was on the Ohio opposite the mouth 
of the Cumberland River. Mile's Trace began at Elizabeth- 
town, and Mile's ferry must have been located there. Rey- 
nold's says it was a few miles above Hull's landing. Lusk's 
ferry was on the Ohio, opposite the present site of Golconda. 
Established 1799. Hull's landing was a few miles above 
Golconda 1780. 

In 1821 Issac D. Wilcox was given leave to establish 
a ferry on his land on the Ohio River at his warehouse now 
being erected in section 7, township 15, range 3 east of the 
third principal meridan. The following rates were charged, 
being much less than those established in 1813 ; wagon arid 
team of four horses, $1.50; a carriage, two wheels and team, 
75c; a single man and horse 37% ; at high water for horned 
cattle 12 V2 ; for low water 18% ; at high water hogs, sheep 
or goats 6c each ; at low water 8c each. He was also licensed 
to keep tavern at this place. This ferry was later operated 
by James Copeland, and was called Copeland's landing, 
His widow married Captain Williamson. It was then 
known as Wiliamson's landing, and later as Sharp's land- 
ing. It lies between the old John Copeland place, now 
owned by Mrs. Riley, and the old Sharp farm, and not far 
from the present Massac and Pulaski line. 


Samuel Copeland owned a ferry where Joppa is now 
located, after the civil war, which was operated by his sons, 
Perry, Richard, James and Clinton. 

In March 1824, James H. G. Wilcox, having made ap- 
plication to establish a ferry on his land about one mile be- 
low Massac, section 11, township 16, range 4 east; the court 
ordered his petition granted and the same rates were allow- 
ed that had been established for lssac D. Wilcox' ferry in 
1821. This was in the present limits of the city of Metropolis 
which was laid laid out about eighteen or twenty years 
later, and the ferry was located about where the present 
Metropolis ferry now operates. 

In 1816 the Territorial Legislature passed a law grant- 
ing free ferriage to ministers of the gospel but repealed it in 
December 1817. Imagine, if you can, the number of 
preacher crossing the river while this law was in force. 

The taxes on these ferries were $8 and $3. The capac- 
ity of the craft had, no doubt, something to do with the 
difference in the rate of tax. When the counties bordering 
on the rivers were organized, our control of and the revenue 
from these ferries ceased. 


The first mills of this county were doubtless hollowed 
out stones or stumps with pestles for the grinding and 
muscle for the power. Wheat was not produced to a very 
great extent in the very first years of the county's history. 

The water mill succeeded these primitive mills and were 
of necessity located on streams. The horse mill followed 

The first mill we have any knowledge of in this county 
was owned by John Whiteker and located somewhere be- 
tween Elvira and the Mississippi river. This is not very 
definite, but we know that he paid taxes on this mill in the 
year 1816. 

Brazel had a mill somewhere west of Vienna sometime 
in the 20's. Price had one on McCorcle Creek in 1823. 
Huse operated a mill on Cache on the new road from Vienna 
to Jonesboro in 1828. William Lawrence had a mill on 
Cache in 1816 and was taxed 60 cents on it that year. 


Samuel J. Chapman had a mill on Cache near the James 
Arnett farm, now owned by Marvin Smith, in 1845. Laugh- 
lin, father of R. W., worked a mill on Big Bay in 1839, 
which was first run by water power. This mill was sold 
to Whiteside, and later to Adair who added an engine. 
Many people from Vienna went to this mill for their bread 
stuff. Major A. J. Kuykendall, future congressman from 
this district, was often seen there as a patron when a small 
boy. A mill begun by William Price about where the Gol- 
conda road crosses the McCorcle Creek, was finished by 
Walter Scott in 1857. This was among the first steam 
mills of the county. 

These are some of the primitive mills of the county, 
the larger mills will be listed among the assests of the 
town in which they are located. Boggs says, "Minute 
regulations were established by the territorial laws for 
mills as well as ferries. Mills were required to use a pre- 
scribed measure and to grind for prescribed toll. The toll 
for a horse mill being higher than a water mill, unless the 
owner of the grain furnished the horse." An act of 1799 
made the toll for grinding and bolting wheat and rye into 
flour one eighth of the quantity, if only ground, one tenth. 
Penalties were imposed for excessive tolls and millers were 
made accountable for all grain received. It required two 
hours to grind one bushel of corn on a horse mill. The 
early settlers had to go miles to mill and sometimes wait 
all day for their grinding, as the rule of "first come first 
served" prevailed. "In the southern settlements the people 
procured their grinding at New Design, Leven's or Kaskas- 
kia." (Reynolds) 


The first post office established in the county was at 
Fort Massac, 1803. It was given as 870 miles from Wash- 
ington. Fort Massac has not belonged to this county since 
1843, but no doubt, many who lived in our present limits 
have gone there to hear from their old Virginia, N. Carolina 
or Tennessee relatives and friends. Johnson Court House 
was the post office at Elvira established in 1817 with James 
Finny as postmaster. It was the first one established in 
our present boundaries and is given as 888 miles from 
Washington. There was a post office at Big Bay established 


1815 and kept by James Whiteside which became a part of 
Pope County when it was organized. Bloomfield post office 
is given on the Postmaster General's report in 1819 with S. 
J. Chapman as Postmaster. There is a tradition that 
Samuel J. Chapman tried to make Bloomfield the county 
seat instead of Vienna when the county capitol was moved 
from Elvira. The fact that he was postmaster there at the 
above date would make the story very plausible. Cache 
Clap Post Office was kept by J. B. Murry, 1819 to 1821. The 
exact location is not known. Many people do not know 
what a country post office was like. The mail was carried 
on horse back from the river towns or landings across the 
country to the post office which was kept in a private house 
or a country store. The mail was delivered once a week, 
sometimes twice, and when the people wanted their mail 
they were obliged to go to the office for it. The old mail 
route leading from Vienna to Shawneetown passed through 
what is now New Burnside, Reynoldsburg and by William 
Mounce's and the Dr. LaRue farm. When the mail carrier 
arrived in hearing distance of the house where he was to 
have his noon meal he blew a horn so that dinner might be 
on the table and the horses fed and ready to travel in order 
that no time would be lost. This was the fast mail of that 
day and time. 

"Stace McDonough had the contract for carrying the 
mail from St. Louis and Kaskaskia across country to Shaw- 
neetown, in 1812." (Reynolds) 

The first mail route in Johnson County was from Kas- 
kaskia to Johnson Court House at Elvira in 1817. Levi 
Hughes carried the mail twice a month from Cape Girar- 
deau to Elvira later routes as advertised. "The mail from 
Vienna to Golconda via Wool, leaves Monday and Wednes- 
day, arrives Tuesdays and Thursdays. Vienna to Golconda 
via Rock, leaves Friday arrives Saturday/' Another of the 
early routes was from Golconda to Vienna then on to 
Dongola. Samuel Copeland had the contract for this route 
in the 50's. Samuel Jackson, Sr., was one of the early mail 
riders, as they were called, and Fred Burnett was another. 
S. D. Poor rode the mail from Vienna to Caledonia for $6 a 
month. The man taking the contract usually employed 
boys to ride the mail. Milton Ladd is given as the post- 
master at Vienna in 1821, and S. J. Chapman in 1825. Rey- 


noldsburg Post Office, Johnson County was established July 
6, 1860. Wesley Reynolds was the first postmaster. Cedar 
Bluff was established April 25, 1856, David H. Mead was 
the first postmaster. Gray's Mill was established January 
6, 1857, Nathan 0. Gray was the postmaster. Cedar Bluff 
was a country post office near Goreville. Gray's Mill was 
situated between Cypress and Belknap. 

When the population would justify the mail routes 
were shortened and the mail was delivered oftener. When 
the roads would permit the mail was carried by stage, 
which also carried passengers. This was a great conven- 
ience before the days of railroads. These routes have been 
shortened till they only include the county and lengthened 
till they reach every citizen's door. Rural delivery was 
established in this county in 1904 and every farmer of the 
county has his mail put in his special box once each day. 
We are not only able to have the morning paper delivered 
at our door but we may call up by telephone any one in the 
county any day and as many times a day as we like, if the 
line is not busy, and talk about the current events of the 
neighborhood and family affairs to the delight of all the 
other people on the toll line. A business man can sit in his 
office and transact business in Chicago, St. Louis or New 
York. It is a stride from the country post office to the daily 
mail, the telegraph, telephone and radio. 

The first telephone in our county was a private one in- 
stalled by P. T. Chapman, in 1890. It extended from his 
office in the First National Bank to the Big Four Railroad 
station and later to the Blomfield stock farm. J. B. Kuy- 
kendall had the second line extending from his mill to his 
residence. In 1898 Robert Thacker, Charles Gray, Ed Boyt, 
D. W. Whittenberg and L. 0. Whitnel as incorporators put 
in the county the Interior telephone system. It was patron- 
ized liberally and was a most decided convenience. Private 
phones were installed for the small sum of $1.00 per month. 
This system was extended into several adjoining counties. 
After the death of Mr. Thacker the stock changed hands at 
different times and the system was finally sold in 1915 to 
the Murphysboro Telephone System for $50,000.00 which 
exemplifies its necessity. A Mutual Telephone System was 
established in the county in 1909, A. J. Kuykendall and 
William George being the promoters. This system was also 


sold to the Murphysboro Corporation in 1920 and they now 
control all the lines in the county except the Terry lines of 
Goreville Township which are owned and operated by W. 
A. Terry and the Simpson System which is owned by J. W. 


The Cairo and Viencennes Railroad Company, whose 
president was General Burnside of Civil War fame, began 
the plans to construct a road through our county in 1867. 
The county realizing the great need of this facility was 
ready to assist in getting this enterprise started as hereto- 
fore we had no means of transportation other than coach, 
wagon, or horseback. The people readily agreed to take 
$100,000.00 worth of stock in this company to help finance 
the construction and equip the road. The company sold 
this stock to the county for $95,000.00 in bonds. The bonds 
were issued in 1872 and were due in 1892, drawing 8 per 
cent interest. For some reason the county undertook to 
fight the payment of these bonds and failed to pay the 
interest on them for several years. By 1885, $40,000 inter- 
est had accured and the county was threatened with a suit 
for this amount. The county commissioners employed Judge 
Duff, of Carbondale, 111., to look into the case and paid him 
$1,000.00 for his opinion, which was that the bonds were 
legal. In order to be more certain the county then employed 
Judge Duff, A. G. Damron, and P. T. Chapman to bring a 
test case, which they did for a fee of $500.00. The court 
also decided the bonds were legal and that the county would 
have to pay them, with the accrued interest. After being 
sued for the interest and incurring the above extra expense, 
the commissioners finally levied a tax to meet the interest 
and a part of the bonds each year. P. T. Chapman was 
made financial agent and bought up the bonds as fast as 
the money accrued. The last of these bonds was paid about 

This railroad enters the county in the northeast corner 
and runs almost diagonally across the county to the south- 
west. The construction was begun in 1871 and finished in 
1872. The following is a part of a letter published in the 
Vienna Artery, August 2, 1871. "Harrisburg, Illinois, 
July 31, 1871. Mr. N. Pearce, Vienna, 111., Dear Sir: 
While I was in New York on Thursday last, Gen. Burnside 


directed Dodge, Lord & Co., to commerce work on the Cario 
and Vincennes Railroad, in the counties of White and Saline, 
which they did last week. It is the expectation to commence 
work in the other counties without unnecessary delay." The 
remainder of the letter is in regard to procuring the right 
of way by gift, if possible- and signed by Green B. Raum. 

Green R. Casey says the first railroad iron that was laid 
in the county was hauled to Tunnel Hill in a wagon, twelve 
in number, February 14, 1872, and late in the fall of this 
same year the first freight was hauled into the county over 
the Big Four, consisting of bailed hay. It was unloaded 
one mile north of Tunnel Hill and hauled on wagons to that 
place to feed the teams of William Douglas, a railroad con- 

While this road has given us poor shipping facilities 
and the shabbiest rolling stock possible, yet we were com- 
pelled to be loyal to it for it was all we had for several 
years. It was later merged into the Big Four system and is 
known by that name, which is a part of the New York 
Central lines. 

The St. Louis, Alton and Terre Haute was chartered 
in 1887 and built through our county in 1888 and 1889. 
George W. Parker was president of the company. Its be- 
ginning is St. Louis and it runs across the eastern part of 
the county from north to south, bearing slightly to the east 
crossing the Big Four at Parker and running into Metro- 
polis, Massac County, and then on to Paduch. The nearest 
station on this road to Vienna is Grantsburg, about eight 
miles away. This road was later extended from Reeveville, 
this county to Golconda, Pope County. It was some years 
afterwards acquired by the Illinois Central System, and 
they extended the line into Hardin County as far as Rosa 

This still left one section of the county without a rail- 
road till 1899, when the route of the Chicago and Eastern 
Illinois was surveyed on the western side running from 
north to south almost parallel with the western county line. 
Work on this division was begun in April 1900, and was 
pushed through to completion extending the road from 
Marion, Williamson County, to Thebes in Alexander Coun- 
ty and giving the western portion of our county a direct 


and quick service to Chicago. It passes Vienna about four 
miles to the west at West Vienna. 

The Burlington, which uses the Chicago and Eastern 
Illinois lines, through the county to West Vienna and leaves 
them just below the station, crosses the county a short dis- 
tance in an easterly direction. It also crosses the Big Four 
railroad at Foreman and leaves the county just beyond this 
crossing. The Burlington was begun in 1907 and the first 
train was sent over it in 1910. This makes four railroads 
in the county. 


The first court for Johnson County was held in the 
dwelling house of John Bradshaw at or near Elvira, it hav- 
ing been appointed by the Governor. The next knowledge of 
a court house is that James P^inny is ordered to procure the 
following repairs to be made on the house now used as a 
court house. This order was made in ^September 1813. 
They evidently had used some other building than Brad- 
shaw's dwelling during the summer, but now that winter 
was coming on they must repair it as follows towit: "A 
floor laid in the same with puncheons, a chimney of wood, 
a common door of boards and the house to be chincked and 
daubed (puncheons were logs split and hewed off as smooth- 
ly as possible, a chimney of wood was built up something 
like a pen with small sticks and lined with clay, boards were 
riven from length of logs three and four feet long ; chincked 
and daubed meant that small sticks were placed in the 
cracks between the logs in the wall of the house and mud 
made from clay and water, was filled in over these sticks 
and when it dried it made a pretty solid wall) seats for 
the jurors, a small half cabin to be built adjoining the 
same to be chincked and daubed, with a partition of logs for 
the purpose of a jury room; provided the repair must not 
exceed $18.00." Januray 1814, the court proceeded to let 
the contract for the building of a court house to the lowest 
bidder. The sheriff reported that William Simpson was 
the lowest bidder and had bid it off at $260. To be paid 
in three installments. The first on the 15th day of Novem- 
ber, 1814 and yearly afterwards. "The court house is to 
be built agreeably to a plan now on exhibit and will be more 
fully set forth in the bond to be given." To complete this 
contract William Simpson gave a bond of $525.00 with 


Daniel and Lewis Simpson as bondsmen. After the com- 
pletion of the Court House its acceptance was left to the 
following committe: Hezekiah West, Andrew Cochran and 
George Evans. William Simpson received only $175.75 for 
the building. It was a large hewed log house, thirty or 
forty feet long, with a fire place in each end. It stood one 
quarter of a mile from the present road, north of the home 
of Charles Robertson. The exact location is on a little rise 
and can be determined by the foundation of rocks of the 
chimneys which are now slightly covered as the field has 
been cultivated for years. The old road bed that ran by 
the court house can be plainly seen and the spring under 
the hill is still in use. One of these old stone chimneys 
is partially standing in another place on the farm where it 
later served another building. Daniel Chapman, Chapter 
D. A. R. has the plans complete to mark the site of our 
first court house. (1924) 

The following is not a story of a building but of a pro- 
posed seat of justice which would have contained our sec- 
ond court house had it ever materialized. The territorial 
law called for the court house to be located in the center of 
the county. It is probable that Elvira was not the exact 
geographical center but the nearest settlement to the center 
when designated as the county seat, so that on January 14, 
1814, Owen Evans, James A. Whiteside, and Jonas Hibbs 
were ordered to fix a seat of justice and this is their report, 
"We the undersigned appointed by the general assembly of 
this territory for the purpose of fixing the seat of justice 
in the county of Johnson having met on Monday the 19th 
day of January, 1814, at the house of John Bradshaw, with- 
in the said county did then and there proceed to ascertain 
the center of said county agreeably to the several laws of 
the Territory, enacted by the General Assembly thereof for 
fixing the place of holding the court in the several counties 
and after mature deliberation have finally fixed and deter- 
mined on the following place as the most proper, conven- 
ient and desirable for the same towit : at on near a certain 
spring on Lick Creek about a mile above the wagon ford, 
on said creek, where the road leading to Furguson's ferry 
crosses the said creek and which said spring is within fifth 
section of township 12, range 2 east of the meridian line 
and in the southwest corner of said section. ,, Given under 
our hand and seal this 21st day of January, 1814. John B. 


Murry, Owen Evans, Jonah Hibbs (Seal). This was about 
where the farms of R. L. Robertson, George Mozley and 
Anniel T. Mozley corner. 

This report was not approved till December, 1816, the 
judges then agreed to meet in March, 1817, to lay off the 
town and the surveyor, John Hargrave was ordered to meet 
them at that time. At the October court, 1817, John Har- 
grave was allowed $79.25 for surveying and laying off the 
50 acre donation for the use as a seat of justice to be known 
as Lanesville, there being 681 lots. At this same court there 
was an order as follows: "The court adjourn to meet at 
Lanesville, the seat of justice lately fixed upon for this 
county, that the clerk and sheriff do move their several 
offices to that place by then." This is the only record of 

The commissioners met the fourth Monday in May, 
1818, and one order of the court was to let the building of a 
court house at the new seat of justice (later known as 
Vienna) to the lowest bidder. "To be built of logs of good 
size to be hewn down outside and in, 24 feet in length and 
18 inches in width, with two doors and three windows. The 
sheriff is further authorized to let the building of a log 
house 24 by 14 feet with a partition for the purpose of 
jury rooms both to be paid for by installments in whatever 
way may be agreed upon by the trustees for the sale of lots 
in said town. These buildings were to be paid for from 
this sale. At the July court, 1818, the sheriff reported that 
he had let the building of the court house and the one for 
the use of the jurors to the lowest bidder, George Brazel. 
The sale of lots was ordered advertised in the "Emigrant" 
which was published at Shawneetown. The sale to take 
place the third Monday in September, 1818. The sheriff 
was to offer for sale beginning with lot number 1 leaving 
out every other one except number 37, 38, 55 and 56. 

The naming of the county seat is given under Vienna. 
At a special term of court, held August 15, 1818, with James 
Bain, Andrew Cochran, T. C. Patterson and John Copeland 
justices, the report was made that the court house and 
buildings for the use of the jurors were complete. They 
were received by the court, and the officers of the county 
were ordered to move their offices to the new buildings in 
the town of Vienna. From the best information that can 


be obtained these buildings stood in the northwest corner 
of the court square. At a court held June 1819, a payment 
was ordered to be made to George Brazel for the building 
of the court house and jury rooms. Irvin Morris as sheriff 
was ordered "to have some fit person to lay a floor with 
plank to be nailed or pinned down." Randolph Casey was 
allowed $18.00 for flooring the court house, 1819. Caleb 
Irwin repaired the court house in 1821 at a cost to the 
county of $48.70. An order was issued by the court, July, 
1823 forbidding anyone to occupy the court house or any 
of the jury rooms as a dwelling, from that time they were 
to be kept by the sheriff as the law directs. In 1827, Samuel 
Copeland as sheriff was ordered to let the building of a 
court house. Possibly the courts had out grown the build- 
ings since the circuit court had been ordered held in the 
house of Ivy Reynolds, formerly occupied by Joseph Mc- 
Corcle, September, 1827. This new court house might have 
been especially for the circuit court as Vienna was one of 
the three places for holding the district courts for this 
section of the state. 

There are no other records regarding the building of 
a court house until 1839 when there was an order by the 
court similar to the one of 1827 but where, by whom or if 
built at all is not known. There was however a two story 
brick court house here in 1848. standing about where the 
present one stands. The offices were on the first floor with 
the court room above, just when it was built or its cost is not 
left on record. It was repaired in 1853 by Frank Hayward. 
Some of the bricks, after it was razed, were used in the con- 
struction of the Christian Church which stands on N. Sixth 
street in Vienna. The contract for building the present 
court house was let the 5th of August, 1868, between Joseph 
K. Frick, of Cairo, party of the first part, and Jason B. 
Smith, county judge of Johnson County with Mark White- 
aker associate justice, party of the second part. A. J. 
Henry of Vienna was superintendent of the work and the 
contract called for $38,000 to be paid for the building. The 
bonds drew 10 per cent interest. In September, 1869 Frick 
sold his contract to Charles J. Ham and Issac N. Pearce 
through A. J. Kuykendall, Frick's attorney. The contract 
was bought for one dollar paid to Frick, but the contract 
with the court remained the same. The final payments were 
made on this building in 1881, it costing, with interest over 


$80,000.00. The officers of the county were assigned their 
respective offices in the building January 19, 1871. This 
is a brick building of a good style of architecture and por- 
portion, well built and in the original plan the court room 
was one of the most attractive ones in any of the neighbor- 
ing counties. It was well lighted and ventilated. A beauti- 
ful Walnut stairway that could not be replaced, at this time, 
except at an enormous cost led up to this room, a jury 
room was also on this second floor while the officers were 
all located on the first floor. In 1908 or about then the 
county commisioners rearranged the interior of the building 
built fire proof vaults a much needed improvement, put in 
a heating plant and added a local water supply system 
which improved the convenience of building, but destroyed 
the comfort and beauty of the court room. 

A bronze tablet was replaced in the corridor of the 
court house by the county board, J. C. Carter, John L. 
Thornton and H. O. Cavitt in 1919 at an expense of $700.00 
in honor of the World War soldiers of this county, which 
contains the names of every man who served from this 

The court house grounds have been a menace to the pub- 
lic eye since they were first laid off as the building of a stray 
pound of heavy oak timber was one of the first ornaments 
located in it. It was originally full of gullies and for years 
had no shade or grass. Charles Burnett, father of Fred, 
did the first filling in this yard using his own teams, M. 
T. VanCleve did quite a bit more when he built the Central 
Hotel on the south side of the square. In October, 1916, the 
Daniel Chapman Chapter Daughters of the American 
Revolution set a day for work on the court house yard. 
They had previously solicited teams and the help of men 
and school boys to whom they furnished dinner. Their re- 
quest was generously accedded to and quite a little more 
filling was done. Trees were set out a good many years 
ago, the first ones by John Harvick, a son of Mrs. James 
Harvick Slack, (better known as aunt Mary Slack) and a 
grandson of Jacob Harvick the pioneer. Bain & Jackson, 
Dr. G. W. Elkins, J. B. Kuykendall, Chapman & Wiley, C. 
B. Hester and others contributed to the setting out of more 
trees and the beautiful trees and pleasant shade that we 
now enjoy in our court square is the result of others' plant- 
ing." During the year 1916 the Daniel Chapman Chapter 


D. A. R. of Vienna tried to interest the schols of the county 
in building a wall or coping around the court square; sev- 
eral schools responded ana the name of the school together 
with the name of the teacher for that term can be found 
on the concrete wall. The prophecy has been made that if 
the history of these teachers was followed, they will be 
found among the progressive citizens of the community in 
which they live. B. F. McGee, a business man of New 
York City, who is a native of this county also contributed 
generously. With these amounts and the promise of the 
county board, which was composed at that time of J. C. 
Carter, John L. Thornton and H. 0. Cavit that they would 
meet the remaining cost for a wall on the east half of the 
yard,* the chapter made a contract and thought that the 
wall was to be built immediately but for some reason the 
contractor delayed from time to time until the World War 
came on; labor and material went skyward and the work 
was obliged to wait a season or two. Finally in 1918 this 
part of the wall was built and in 1920 the entire work of 
inclosing the court yard, was completed by the county com- 
missioners, to the satisfaction of every progressive and 
loyal citizen of Johnson County. The fall of 1921. William 
Nobles, N. J. Mozley, J. W. Rushing as commissioners had 
the cement walks laid in the yard. With a little planting 
the court square will be a very atractive spot. The posts 
and chain around the court square had been a veritable 
annoyance for many years. The hitching of horses around 
the square was unsanitary, creating dirt and flies ; on a hot 
damp day the stench was almost unbearable, not to mention 
the health of the people that had to work near it every day. 
The excuse offered for not creating better conditions 
was always that the farmers had to have a hitching place 
which was most true and the business men of the town 
should have provided a suitable one long ago. The farmers 
did not want the people to put up with this condition all 
the time that they might have a hitching place a few hours 
at a time once or twice a week. Dave Whitnell as care 
taker of the court house and grounds did much toward 
making and keeping the court yard fit. Mr. Estes the pres- 
ent one is very efficient. 

The cannon in the northwest corner of the court yard 
was one used during the Civil War and was secured from 
the government about 1906 by P. T. Chapman, during his 


term of office as Congressman from this district. The 
boulder and tablet in the northeast corner was placed by the 
Daniel Chapman Chapter D. A. R. of Vienna as their con- 
tribution to the Centennial celebration of the admission of 
Illinois as a state into the Union. It should have been 
erected in 1918, but on account of unavoidable delay it was 
not unveiled till July 4, 1919. Those raising the flag at 
this exercise were children, most of the sixth generation, 
who decended from the Revolutionary soldiers buried in 
this county and in whose honor this tablet was erected. 
They were Harrison M. Harvick, Evelyn and Gladys Beggs, 
Lois and Beatrice Veach, Pauline Duncan and Frances 

The contract for building the first jail was let some 
time in 1814 to Marvin Fuller; the jail to cost $500.00 and 
the bond fixed at $1,000.00 with Jacob Jones as security. At 
the December court, 16 lbs of iron and $5.00 were ordered 
delivered to Hezekiah West to have the jail repaired at 
Elvira. The sheriff was ordered to sell the old jail at 
Elvira, April, 1823. The sheriff was ordered to let the con- 
tract for building a jail at Vienna, September, 1819, also 
to ascertain the plans of the jails at Golconda, County Seat 
of Pope; Jonesboro, County Seat of Union and Browns- 
ville, at that time County Seat of Jackson. The following 
order is found on the record, dated October 9, 1819: 
"Ordered that a stray pound be built on the public square, 
32 feet square, of good oak timber." There must have been 
much need of these Estray pounds as there was another 
ordered built in 1827 at a cost of $11.00. This was more 
than a hundred years ago and we had not grown entirely 
away from the desecration of the public square in 1922, but 
there has been much improvement as above stated in the 
last two years. The contract for the building of a jail was 
let in 1819 to John S. Graves, with Irvin Morris, Milton 
Ladd, Alfred Bridges and James Crunk as bondsmen; the 
amount of the bond was $1,000.00. The jail was to be of 
logs, two stories, with an outside stairway and platform. 
For some reason the jail was not built until 1820, and Ivy 
Reynolds was the contractor with Irvin Morris, Milton Ladd 
Squire Choat and William Hendry as security at a cost to 
the county of $849.00. It can not be stated whether this is 
the same jail or not, but there was a log jail that stood in a 
low place, between where the library stands and the court 



house, in 1851. It was still standing some years later as 
.Mrs. Fanny Jackson as a little girl remembers a man by the 
name of Tice, who was a prisoner, setting it on fire. The 
jail that did duty for the county before the present one was 
built, stood near the corner of fourth and Locust streets 
.and not a great distance from the site of the present one. 
It was built of logs, had two stories and an outside stair- 
way, similar, no doubt, to the first one. This county was 
without a jail for some time and prisoners were kept in ad- 
joining county jails. The present brick jail was erected in 
1887, at a cost of $5,000.00. There is also a dwelling ad- 
joining it in which the jailor lives. 




When civilized or semi-civilized man set foot in a new 
country, he brought with him ax, dog and gun. These 
weapons meant food, and safety. In the early day when 
one entered a home, somewhere he saw a gun rack, usually 
over the door, and there were just as many guns as male 
members of the family who were large enough to handle 
them. In those pioneer days hotels were few and far be- 
tween, and many times the traveler was forced to take 
shelter in an isolated farmhouse. The story is told of a 
traveler stopping at a farm house for the night ; about dusk 
a stalwart young man came into the room and stacked his 
gun. Soon another and another came until there were five 
or six. The traveler was paralyzed with fright thinking he 
had fallen among a den of murders, but knew not how to 
escape. When bedtime came the father took up the Book 
read a chapter and all kneeled in prayer. The travelers 
fears vanished and he slept as peacefully as if in his 
mother's trundle bed. This incident may not have happen- 
ed in Johnson County but it could have. 

Just as the head of the house brought his tools of war- 
fare to a new country the housewife brought hers. The 
spinning wheel, the cards, and loom. The looms were 
larger and more cumbersome than those now in use, but 
were very much on the same order. Home manufacture 
of cloths has long since been discarded, but coverlets of 
wool and rag rugs are still woven in the county. Everyone 
does not know the process of putting in cloth in a hand-loom 
but if they should be obliged to separate warp a thread at a 
time and hand it to someone on the other side of the gear of 
a loom, they would possibly appreciate more fully the debt 
we owe the pioneer. Please don't think that the cards the 
frontier mother brought, were the little pasteboards decor- 
ated with colored spots that are now so necesary to the 
overworked housewife to divert her mind from the cares 
of her large family. The cards the pioneer woman had were 
thin pieces of wood about six by twelve inches with small 
steel pins on one side and were used for carding wool and 


cotton. They had a flat handle about the middle of the card 
so that one could hold a card in each hand. The cotton or 
wool was put on these little sharp pins one held firmly while 
the other was rubbed across until the material was all 
smoothed out. Then it was gently folded together into a 
lovely soft roll. This was attached to the spindle of the 
spinning wheel and was pulled out into a thread with one 
hand while the other one buzzed the big wheel and twisted 
the thread. This process was continued and soon a large 
broach of fine or coarse thread for kniting or weaving was 
ready. The spinning wheel had a body, a large and small 
wheel, a head, a gear, and a spindle. 

The body was raised on legs to a height convenient 
for one to walk on the floor since it required a great 
deal of walking turning the big wheel and pulling out the 
roll, all at the same time, and strict attention to your work, 
to make the thread the size one desired. There was no button 
to press or lever to raise to regulate the hand manufacture. 
The coloring and dyeing were also done at home and in some 
instances the indigo for coloring the blues was raised in 
the garden. Indigo blue, madder, cochineal red, and cop- 
peras were the principal colors. The following incident 
related by an elderly lady of the county will corroborate the 
statement about, at least one of the home dyes. She said 
she was married the summer of 1853 and moved into a new 
neighborhood. The following Sunday, she and her husband 
went to church. The services were held in a brush arbor, 
made by putting leafy branches of trees on a large frame 
of forked poles for supports, and straight poles laid across 
them. This shielded the people from the sun and used be- 
cause there were no church houses. The minister this day 
wore trousers made from home woven cotton cloth, colored 
with copperas and was barefoot. 

The thrifty housewife was not content to bring the 
mere necessities to the new country, but brought seed, both 
garden and flower, also scions of roses, fruits and herbs, 
which she divided with her neighbors. Instead of looking 
over the multitude of catalogues that flood the farm house 
in early spring and late winter at the present, the women 
folks visited each other and took home plants, seeds and 
shrubs for the early planting. Mrs. Harrell who came here 
with her family from Kentucky about 1820, was one of 


these pioneer mothers who brought supplies from her yard 
and garden of her native state. She was the mother of the 
late Mrs. Minnie Bain, long a resident of this county and 
she is the authority for this story of thrift. The old fashion 
garden and its walk through the middle with marigold, 
larkspur, flowering almond, and fortune grass, camomile, 
bachelor buttons, garden pinks and all the old fashion 
flowers on either side, and the long weedless rows of veget- 
ables beyond the flowers was the pride of the home maker 
of that time, and no neighborly visit was complete during 
the growing season till one had been down the garden walk, 
admired the many varieties of kind and color, and carried 
away a huge bouquet. 

While these pioneer mothers were adepts in the textile 
art, they not only made the cloth but designed and built 
their own gowns, tailored their husband's and sons' 
dress suits, and had ever at hand snowy linens for the tables 
and beds which were the fruits of their labor. Quilts, blan- 
kets, linens and feather beds for the daughter's wedding 
dower which was in lieu of the hope chest of the present. 
The following will ilustrate the resourcefulness of the pio- 
neer women of this county. An early historian of this state 
says, "John Grammar was elected to the first Legislature 
of the Territory from Johnson County. It is said after his 
election he and family gathered a large quantity of hickory 
nuts, took them to the salt mines and traded them for blue 
strouding, like the Indians wore for breech cloths. The 
neighbor women gathered in to make up the cloth. It was 
discovered that he had not purchased quite enough cloth 
to make a full suit, and after measuring and counseling for 
a time, they decided to make a bob-tail coat and a long pair 
of leggings. Dressed in these he appeared at the seat of 
government, continuing to wear his primitive suit during 
the greater part of the session." 

Other trades beside the manufacture of cloth were re- 
quired of the pioneers. The first settler tanned the leather, 
made their own shoes, saddles, bridles and harness. 
Joseph McCorcle owned a tan yard on the east side of town 
in 1821. A description of an old road says that it was 
where the road crossed the street leading south from town. 
The remains of this old yard could be seen there as late as 
1875. It was operated in later years by Duke Smith. G. 


N. Thacker had a tannery in this county as late as 1890, 
near Pond on the Simpson road. 

The law allowing imprisonment for debt was practically 
abolished in the United States by the beginning of the nin- 
teenth century, but Johnson County kept up the practice 
much later. If one should visit Edinburg, Scotland, he 
would be shown the debtor's line, which Sir Walter Scott 
raced, many times, madly to cioss to escape the debtor's 
prison, while he was writing the Waverly Novels. Johnson 
County had no such line, but we find Peter Prow and Cath- 
erine Crice confined for debt as late as 1816. The following 
is a description of the plot of the prison grounds as they 
stood in old Elvira at that time, "Beginning at a large pop- 
lar in Judge Finney's lot, running north 46 degrees, east 20 
poles, to a high black gum stump, in Issac Worley's lot, 
north 38 degrees, west 80 poles to a large sweet gum just be- 
low the spring, then south 50 degrees and west 22 poles to a 
large white oak, then 342 degrees east 81 poles to the be- 
ginning. Elvira, Johnson County. Illinois, 1816." Judging 
from papers served in the court proceedings, Prow was im- 
prisoned at the suit of Weir and Campbell. Catherine 
Crice's suit was brought by parties from Kentucky. 

This was not the only law enforced in this county for 
the benefit of the merchant. The estate of J. W. Gore paid 
two dollars interest on nine dollars and seventy cents to W. 
E. Morris for merchandise as late as 1853. There is no 
especial spite harbored against our ancestors that their mis- 
takes should be arrayed in print, but one would scarcely 
think that they trafficked in human flesh. Such, however, is 
the case. We have only to turn to the records made in the 
courts to find our early residents bought and sold slaves up 
to 1814, although Congress in 1784 passed a law saying, 
"There shall be no more slavery nor involuntary servitude 
in any of the states made from the Northwest Territory." 

As has been stated, this county, at its early settlement 
abounded in game and wild animals. In fact, all kinds of 
animals found in the Temperate Zone were here. The wolf 
was an enemy to the early settlers and a bounty for wolf 
scalps was paid by the county at the rate of fifty cents to 
two dollars. Since the gun was so necessary at that time, 
there must be amunition and powder must be made and one 
could not go out and buy shells ready to put in his gun. 


Sometimes the ingredients for the powder was hard to get. 
Salt peter was necessary for the making of powder and 
great was the joy of the neighborhoods when a Mr. Mercer 
discovered salt peter in a cave in Cedar Bluff. This is the 
bluff where the Charles stone quarry is located. Salt 
peter was found in several other places in the county in 
small quantities. These first settlers manufactured their 
own bullets as well. Running bullets, as the process was 
called. Lead was melted and poured into molds made some- 
thing like a nut cracker, that opened and shut on a hinge. 
The melted lead was let cool a minute- the molds were 
opened, the neck of the bullet cut off, and "there you are." 
Each one meant a vension steak, a baked turkey or some 
other delicious game for the coming meal. 

The first merchants, possibly storekeepers would be a 
better name, as that was what they were called in those 
days, handled very little dry goods or shoes, as everyone 
made these things for themselves. Their stock consisted, 
principally of sugar, coffee, tea and liquor, some of the 
necessary articles not raised on the farm or manufactured 
in the home. One can scarcely realize how few things 
were necessities, when money was scarce and there were no 
markets for products. Real money w r as not always at hand, 
in fact, salt, salt peter, cattle, hogs, furs, deer pelts, corn 
and other things of this kind were used in trade instead of 
money. In one instance, an early resident relates, he used 
pumpkins in trade with the Indians, getting two pounds of 
coffee for one Pumpkin, the coffee had been issued to the 
Indians by the government. Coon skins were also legal 
tender, for some time after our organization, as the follow- 
ing story will illustrate. The custom of selling whiskey, as 
has been mentioned, was engaged in by a great many of 
our citizens. One of our county officers had stocked up and 
was retailing at a quart for a coon skin. His store was the 
room in which he slept, and when he bought a skin, he threw 
it under the bed. There was a large crack between the logs 
of the outside wall and some practical joker brought in a 
coon skin and bought a quart of whiskey. Some one went 
outside, slipped the skin from under the bed and sold it to 
the officer again, not only once but a good many times dur- 
ing the day. He finally decided he had quite a number of 
skins and went to count them, much to his surprise there 
was only one skin. 


The early stores were located at cross roads or some 
farmer would keep a stock of goods in a small house in the 
yard near his home, if the nearby settlers would justify. In 
time the peddler made his appearance. He would take his 
wares in a wagon or cart, travel through the country and 
exchange them for such things as the settlers had to trade 
and take the produce to some town or settlement on the 
river. The merchant with his pack on his back also invaded 
the country and tempted the house wife with his dress 
goods, laces and bright colored ribbons. Giles Stewart 
was the first person to take out retail license to vend mer 
chandise in this county in 1813, and Joshua Gross- the sec 
ond receiving his license in 1814. 

This county was rather a long time in getting access 
to markets. Mrs. Mary E. Chapman who began housekeep 
ing in the early fifties, said she sold eggs at five cents per 
dozen and hens for two dollars per dozen regardless of 
weight. This was before railroads had reached us, but al- 
most unbelievable, since the high prices which were paid 
for such things during the World War. Eggs sold for 
eighty-five cents per dozen and hens at thirty cents a pound 
in our home markets. 

Tavern rates in 1828, which were regulated by law, 
were, meals twenty-five cents, lodging twelve and a half 
cents, half pint whiskey, six and a half cents, half pint 
brandy, twelve and a half cents, keeping a horse with feed, 
corn, hay or fodder, twenty-five cents, single feed for a 
horse, twelve and a half cents. These prices as against two 
and one half dollars for one half pint whiskey, from fifty to 
seventy-five cents per meal in the county, in 1924, show how 
prices have increased. 

Much of our revenue was gained from the manufacture 
of liquor. All merchants and tavern keepers dealt in it, and 
home-brew was not unknown, as the court records will 
show. One William Conway is convicted of stealing two 
dollars worth of methiglon. This was an entirely new com- 
modity and whether dry goods or groceries, was difficult to 
determine. Finally a person was found who explained that 
it was a beer made from persimmons. The name of the 
maker of the beer could not be deciphered. The penalty 
was to pay the owner four dollars and a four dollar fine to 
the court. From this it appears that the makers of hon e 


brew at the present have nothing on the pioneers, except 
the present manufacturer would pay a fine instead of the 
one taking the beer. 

A law of that time which is not now in force, and 
doubtless, made life hard for many orphans was the binding 
out of such children as had no parents, by the court. At a 
court held in September, 1816, Cyrus Butler, an orphan bcv 
about nine years old was bound to Thomas C. Paterson. lr» 
a court held the same year Cynthia Davis, a minor daughter 
of George Davis- deceased, was bound to Jacob Hunsaker 
Jr., until she arrives at the age of eighteen years, and the 
said Jacob gave bond and security in the sum of one hundred 
dollars. At the December session, the application of Mathew 
Sparks to have an orphan girl by the name of Nancy Col- 
lins bound to him, was granted, on condition that the said 
Sparks file a bond with security to be approved by the court, 
in the sum of one hundred dollars, to have the said Nancy, 
well and carefully treated, clothed and given one year's 
schooling. When she arrives at the age of eighteen years, 
to give her a bed worth thirty dollars, a good suit of clothes 
or a full dress fit to wear on Sunday or holidays, over and 
above her common wearing apparel. The said Nancy is 
supposed to be about eight years old. Another order is 
that Jeremiah Collins, an orphan boy of about 12 years old. 
be bound unto Giles Parmerly, until he arrives at the age 
of 21, and that the said Parmerly execute a bond of one 
hundred dollars for his well treating, clothing, and taking 
care of the said Jeremiah until he is of age, and that he 
will cause him within that time to be learned to read, write 
and cipher, as far as the rule of three. And when free that 
he will give him a good horse, saddle and bridle of a com- 
mon good quality, which together with the horse shall be 
worth eighty dollars. The security for the performance of 
same to be approved by the court. 

Such are a few of the obsolete laws and customs which 
governed our forebears. 

The first animal that was used to till the soil or save 
man from long tramps of distant journeys was the ox which 
served our pioneers in this as well as all other frontier 
countries. The wagons in which many of the first settlers 
came to this county were drawn by oxen. These wagons 
had long beds which scooped up at each end and were called 


schooners. They had long 1 hoops fastened on the side board 
and extending over the top, which were covered with cloth. 
This protected the lamily and its possessions from the 
weather while traveling. Many immigrants to this new 
country did not even nave wagons but transpoited their 
housenold goods on their own oacks or that 01 a norse or 
cow or often in a two wheeled cart drawn by the family 
cow. Oxen were used to draw wagons, carts and plows but 
not often to lide. J. J. Simpson, a native of this county and 
nearing eighty-six yeais old tells the story of riding an ox. 
when a small boy irom his father's farm near Simpson to 
De Soto, Illinois, a aistance oi fifty miles. After the ox 
as a domestic animal, the horse came into use. He was 
more fleet of loot and lessened distances, when roads 
came into use the ox wagons and carts were succeeded by 
two horse wagons, hacks and buggies. Mr. George Elkins, 
born in this county in 1825, says he was twenty-one years 
old before he saw a wagon and team of horses. This team 
was owned by Stephen Hendricks, and the second one he 
remembeis was owned by Henry Mathis. Mathis hauled a 
load of shelled corn to Vienna for Mr. Elkins which he sold 
for ten cents per bushel. 

One wonders in this time of rapid transit how people of 
that period made a journey of any length. The automobile 
enables one to go from place to piace in a few hours which 
formerly took a whole day or two. This machine has dis- 
placed most all other modes of local travel; also the horse 
for plowing and hauling to a great extent. One would 
scarcely think an ox would evolve into an automobile, but 
such appears to be the case. J. F. Farris, an implement 
dealer of Vienna owned the first automobile in the county, 
about 1907. It was an auto carriage and some what differ- 
ent from the models of 1924. The number of machines in- 
creased rapidly in the county till now, 1924, there are 666. 

In this day of railroads, automobiles, and flying 
machines, one can scarcely realize the inconvenience and 
infrequency of travel to any distant point. Mrs. Fannie 
Jackson, daughter of John Bain, tells the story that on one 
occasion her father was going to Louisville* Kentucky, to 
buy goods and her mother was going along for the trip. All 
the neighbors came in to tell her good-bye, and the children 
from a nearby select school came. It was considered a 


wonderful journey at that time and many accidents might 
befall Mrs. Bain, while on the journey. Hence the solicita- 
tion of her friends. Another incident was related by an old 
citizen regarding one of our early merchants in connection 
with Louisville, which was, that this merchant went as 
usual to purchase his season's stock of goods. A salesman 
waiting on him asked him what per cent he calculated to 
make on his sales. He replied, he knew nothing about per 
cent but when he bought an article for one dollar, he sold 
it at home for two. Some of his decendants must have been 
doing business during the World War. 

Farming in a primitive way, of course, was the occupa- 
tion of the early settler. Corn was tne most generally 
grown grain in the beginning as it was cultivated with a 
hoe. The grains were dropped in hills or crosses made with 
a plow. The wheat was sown broadcast and cut with a 
sickle. One of the first wheat cradles used in this county 
was made by Ishmael Veach. He brought the scythe or cut- 
ting part from Kentusky and made the framework himself 
in 1825. This more easy method spread and continued to 
develop until the reaper was invented. Now the larmer 
hitches up his tractor to his wheat machine, drives around 
the field a few times and the thing is done. Originally the 
wheat was tramped or flailed out, but as population in- 
creased and markets became accessible the modern inven- 
tions were brought in. The Axley Brothers, Jack and Jim, 
as they were familiarly called, owned and operated one of 
the first threshing machines in the county, in the neighbor- 
hood of West Eden. These threshers were called ground 
hogs and the power was furnished by horses. The man 
who could "holler" the loudest was elected to drive, and one 
could tell where the thresher was located by the noise of the 
driver then, as you may now know by the whistle of the 

The raising of grain for his own use was all the early 
farmer undertook. There were no markets near and no 
transportation for any products. A few hogs and cattle, for 
home consumption, and to supply the local market, were all 
he needed, and the range was sufficient for the raising of 
these. The farmer fenced in his field then, to keep the 
stock out, and not his entire farm, as now, to keep the 
stock in, consequently not so much fencing was needed, 


which was fortunate as all fences were made of rails like 
Abraham Lincoln split and rail making was a very labor- 
ious job. The cattle and hogs ranged at will and had cuts 
on the ears, called marks. Each farmer had his own pe- 
culiar way of marking his stock. These were recorded in 
the County Clerk's office so as to make it easy to settle any 
dispute regarding ownership of live stock. The mark of 
S. J. Chapman recorded in 1820 was ''under half crop off of 
right ear and a slit in the left." In 1814, Benjamin Peters' 
mark, a half crop out of each ear and underneath a bit out 
of the corner of the right ear. 

The making of sorghum for home use has been an in- 
dustry of this county since long before the Civil War. To 
illustrate how customs and good things spread from com- 
munity to community the story of the introduction of sorg- 
hum making in this county, will not, it is hoped, be amiss. 
Miss Mary Smith, a young lady of West Eden, made a visit 
to Judge Hugh McGee's in Pulaski County, from where she 
brought some stalks of sorghum cane, wnich she exhibited 
at a gathering in the neighborhood. Pleasant Axley of the 
same locality went over to the Judges the following spring, 
and secured some cane seed. That was before the halcyon 
days of government distribution of seed. That year he 
raised some cane but having no machinery, one of his neigh- 
bors, J. P. West, made a crusher to extract the juice from 
the cane and Uncle Pleas., as he was called by his neighbors* 
borrowed all the wash kettles in reach to boil it down. The 
molasses was not very satisfactory, being black from the 
iron kettles. He later procured the proper machinery and 
thus began the manufacture of the famous Johnson County 

Salt, although needed in small quantities, is a very 
necessary article in household economy. The salt mines at 
Equality was the nearest point where that article could be 
obtained by the residents of Southern Illinois. Since there 
was no other means of transportation, settlers had to go on 
horse back, in wagons or cart, and many times one person 
would bring enough for himself and other neighbors to last 
a year. Before wagons and wagon roads had come into use 
the salt was often carried in bags on horse back. 

Randolph Casey, whose father settled here in 1808, said 
when a young man he went as far as Equality to work by 


the day for fifty cents per day at the salt works, or at other 
times he would go to the river with other men and cut cord 
wood, which was used for fuel on boats at fifty cents a cord. 
They had to pay at that time, fifty cents per yard for calico 
and factory which is known now as domestic. He further 
says that when his father first settled here, they had to 
house their pigs, sheep and young calves to keep the wolves 
from killing them. 

While the men were learning in the school of experience 
the women were not idle. Our first mothers manufactured 
their own light. The most primitive light was a lamp made 
by twisting soft cotton rags or thread into a wick, immers- 
ing it in a vessel filled with grease and leaving one end of 
this wick sticking up over the edge of the vessel, so that it 
would burn. Next the tallow candle was introduced as a 
much more convenient light. A candle mold was a part of 
the furnishings of every household. These molds were 
made of tin and large enough to hold six or a dozen candles. 
The wicks, like the grease lamps were of soft cotton, and 
were pulled through the molds and made tight at each end. 
Then, oh what a feat ! If mother would let you pour in the 
melted tallow, fill them full, let them stand till cool, clip 
the knots and out slips some firm, smooth candles, by which 
the family could read, sew or study. The candle was fol- 
lowed by the oil lamp, but now the Delco has out-classed 
them all, and with a little engine, hidden around somewhere 
and puffing a short time each day, the house, barn, and 
outhouses are made almost as light as day. 

For many years all cooking was done by the open fire, 
often only one fireplace to a home, to heat the room and 
cook the meals. The families who could afford it had the 
cranes or pieces of iron, both long and short, with a hook 
on either end, one to hook over, the long iron rod, extending 
across the fireplace from jam to jam; the other to hang the 
pot or kettle on. The bread was cooked on a rock by the fire, 
in a skillet or oven, if these utensils could be had. The 
skillets and ovens were made of iron and had short legs, 
which raised them high enough to put hot coals under them. 
A heavy iron lid fitted over them which was also covered 
with hot coals. Sometimes the handy father would build 
a Dutch oven where bread and pastry were baked in large 
quantities. The cook stove finally made its appearance even 
in Johnson County, though not in its present form. In the 


first ones the back part was higher than the front and was 
called a step stove, others had the oven on the back part, 
with a door on one end and looked very much like an old 
fashioned wood heating stove set on the back of the cook 
stove. Owen Peterson, father-in-law of F. B. Thacker, liv- 
ing then in the southwest section of the county, owned, if 
not the first, at least one of the first cook stoves in the 
county. It was a great curosity and people came for miles 
to see it work. 


The most early social gatherings were doubtless, Mus- 
ter days. An old lady born in North Carolina, 1809, and 
reared in Georgia has described these gatherings. She said 
Muster days were occasions of great gayety and good times, 
in the mother states. The people dressed in their best, 
turned out enmasse pleasure bent to the Militia drills. It 
was a holiday for the public almost as much as the "hang- 
ings" of that period. Instead of lemonade and peanut 
venders, ginger bread and cider were sold on the grounds. 
Since we had the Militia before we had county organization, 
this custom likely came with the settlers and they observed 
it in their usual manner. In 1827 the elections were ordered 
to be held, if no other place had been specified, at the places 
appointed for the Militia Musters. The first election held 
in the county was at the house of John Bradshaw in Elvira, 
October 8, 9 and 10, 1813, for the purpose of going into the 
second grade of territory. At a glance one would think 
three days was a long time to hold an election for so limited 
a population, but when one considers that the voters had to 
come from the Ohio River on the east, the Mississippi on 
the west, Cairo and Thebes on the south, the borders of 
Jackson, Williamson and Saline on the north, the time 
allotted was short enough. One would not consider ordi- 
narily an election in the light of a social gathering, but 
imagine if you can. men meeting here perhaps for the first 
time, how eager they would be to gather all the news from 
each other's little sphere, as each settlement was almost 
a world within itself, with no roads, mails, railroads, news- 
papers, telegraph, or radio. 

Public sales were also a common place for the scattered 
population to meet. Household utensils and farming imple- 
ments were scarce in a new country and people came from 


far and near to buy anything that could be had of these 
conveniences. There was always plenty of free whisky 
furnished by the estate of the deceased, which may have 
had something to do with the number attending and the so- 
cialibility. Really it doesn't seem fair to make a man pay tor 
the treats after he is dead, however, we only have to look 
at the bills of the admmstrator to realize that such was the 
case in early times. The larger the sale, the more liquor 

When the farms of the county were being cleared and 
the new comers were establishing their homes in the forests 
it called forth many gatherings. The neighbors not only 
lent their help in this warfare, but participated in the 
pleasures and pastimes of the period as well. A farmer 
would spend his time during the winter months cutting 
down trees, where he wanted." a .'field, making the smaller 
trees and large branches into firewood. - The boys of the 
family (and most of the people had boys in those days) 
would pile the small branches into heaps called brush piles 
to be burned. There would still be great giants .of the 
forest scattered thickly on the ground, which must be 
rolled into heaps, also to be burned. What a waste this 
seems to us at the present time, when the lack of timber is 
so keenly felt. The idea of conservation had not entered 
into the economic plan of the government at that time, not 
to mention those of the Johnson County farmer. The fol- 
lowing is a part of an article copied from the Johnson Coun- 
ty Journal of August 5, 1878: 'The writer came to this 
county in 1843. He says, "the first log rolling I ever had 
there were twenty or thirty hands, they came with out 
special invitation. From ten to fifteen acres was the average 
size of farms. The range, the dog and gun furnished the 
living. There were a few good farmers who had all necessi- 
ties and some luxuries, but they were the exception and not 
the rule. Thirty-five years later the county is one continuous 
stretch of land under cultivation." He described a Sunday 
School Convention which he attended in earlier times, and 
estimated the crowd at two thousand. He also commented 
on the improvement in the conduct and morals of the citi- 
zens since those earlier times. 

When planting time came near the neighbors all came 
in, the wives to help with the cooking and quilting, the 
men to roll the logs, and raise the new house or barn. Each 


man vied with the other to show his strength. It meant 
much in those days to be considered the strongest man of 
the neighborhood, as much so, as being on Walter Camp's 
All American football team does now. At meal time the 
table would groan with good things to eat, and after the 
work was done and the shades of evening began to gather, 
some one present, handy with the fiddle and the bow would 
'tune up/ Turkey in the Straw, Arkansaw Traveler, or 
Money Musk would cause the feet to shuffle and partners 
for a quadrille would follow; circle all, grand trail back, 
everybody dance* right hand to partner, grand right and 
left. There was no bunny hug, Boston Dip, or shimmy; 
but clean wholesome dances marked that period. 

Latter came the apple cuttings which was before the in- 
vention of the evaporator and apple peeler. The apples 
must be peeled, cut and dried by hand for market, and this 
must be done while the sun was hot, consequently all the 
young folks were asked in; the apples peeled and cut and 
the pies and cakes passed, then came the social hour, spent 
in playing snap, drop the handkerchief, blind mans buff, 
Rhoda Beck a Lina and other games. At present the apples 
are sold on the trees before they are well grown and we buy 
them back already dried. 

In those olden days when a young man courted a girl 
he usually went horseback, when he took her to an apple 
cutting, quilting or to church she rode behind her suitor 
on his horse. Now a young man must have a Packard or 
a Rolls Royce, for the young ladies will not even deign to 
ride in a "tin Lizzie." The husking bee must not be for- 
gotten, the main feature of which was, that each young 
man who found a red ear of corn was entitled to kiss the 
prettiest girl present and strange to say, the same girl did 
not receive all the kisses. In the social gatherings of the 
olden times the entertainment took the form of some favor 
or help to the hostess. The young man took his girl be- 
hind him on his prancing steed and galloped away to the 
neighbors where all the belles and beaus were gathered, 
not just "our crowd" but all the respectable, rich and poor 
of the community. Some other games beside those men- 
tioned, were thimble, stagecoach, going to Jerusalem, and 
selling the forfeits, sometimes cider and gingerbread were 
served instead of the pie and cake, but the young people 


dispersed not knowing they had not had a perfectly splendid 
time. Now the hostess must furnish some form of enter- 
tainment, such as bridge, rook, rummy or Mah Jong, and 
she would not dare serve refreshments other than expensive 
cakes, creams, drinks and ices that cost a days hard work 
of preparation and a sum of money. Only our bunch is 
invited and the transportation is by auto. Such were 
some of the amusements of our ancestors and who shall 
say they were not just as interesting and refined as the 
present ones. 

The infair was an old time custom now obsolete, a 
couple was usually married at home, a number of guests in- 
vited. A dinner was served and the couple spent the first 
night at the bride's, home. The next day was called the in- 
fair; the bride and groom went to the home of the groom's 
parents where all the neighbors were invited to spend the 
day, sometimes this was even a more elaborate affair than 
the wedding. Neighbors and friends accompanied the 
couple on the second day journey, usually on horseback, 
and sometimes it was a long procession which followed the 
newlyweds. No doubt, the popularity of the "wedding 
party" had much to do with its length. The bride usually 
wore gray, no matter whether it was becoming or not. The 
charivari, a barbarous custom of that time as well as this, 
was indulged in by the young folks of the neighborhood. 
In early times it was usually conducted by those not bid to 
the celebration. They went with horns, tin pans, and all 
the instruments for making a noise, that they could gather 
and kept up the "hullabaloo" till the groom came out and 
"treated." Now the bride and groom go away immediately 
after the ceremony, that is if they have not slipped away 
and been married a year or six months before the announce- 
ment. Their friends follow them to the station, pelt them 
with rice, placard their baggage and play all kinds of jokes 
on them. The young folks still reserve the right to chari- 
vari them, even if they should stay away a month. "A 
runaway" match as it was called, often occurred. The 
story of one is told in these words, copied from an old 
letter, written years latter (in 1901) "I stole my wife 
from the wash place, in 1875, dressed in her everyday 
clothes, when we got to Mr. D. C. Chapman's, Brother 
Hiram went in and asked Mrs. Chapman to dress my wife 
in her clothes, which she did, we went on to Missouri and 


were married, and I am sending you this present in remem- 
brance of your kindness." Signed H. Wise. 

The church and Sunday School did not become factors 
in the newly settled Johnson County as early as the still 
and the jaiL but followed more slowly, and we trust with 
a more lasting influence. People would drive for miles to 
church and the families living near the church had the 
most company, if they were hospitably inclined. They in- 
vited those who lived at a distance until sometimes there 
were as many as fifty guests. The tables were laden with 
cold ham, baked or fried chicken, dressing, and huge slices 
of light bread baked the day before in the oven or near the 
fireplace, pies, cakes, jelly, preserves; well you can't imagine 
unless you have sometime been invited just how much and 
how good everything was. Old Johnson County residents 
and former ones know, and no one else will believe, there- 
fore further description is unnecessary. Along this line are 
gatherings or homecomings observed at the close of so 
many of our rural schools, which, of course, have come about 
since the days of free schools. It is a delightful custom 
where all the former pupils are invited. The patrons fur- 
nish the dinner and the pupils the entertainment. 

One great social with our people, perhaps not with the 
very first settlers, but a custom begun early and followed 
religiously until a few years ago, was the free barbecue. 
The cattle, sheep and hogs were furnished by the neighbors. 
These animals were dressed the day before. On the morn- 
ing of the day of the feast, men versed in the art, began 
their work long before the dawn of day. The animals were 
roasted whole or in halves over a hot fire which was built 
in a vat or hole dug out in the ground. The animals were 
turned and basted with a dressing until by noon they were 
a delicious viand fit for a king. One very famous barbecue 
was held at Simpson, 1892. There were said to have been 
10,000 people present. Long tables had been spread, under 
the heavy leaved branches in the grove, with bread, salad, 
pickles, cakes, pies, coffee and all the necessities for a good 
dinner, including an abundance of barbecued meat. 

The most wonderful part of the story is that, this was 
all free. After these dinners and sometimes before the 
crowd was entertained by a good speaker, a minster, a can- 
didate, or some friend of the candidate. Every body visited 


with every body else, meeting those who lived at a distance 
and making new friends. On the whole these were pleasant 
days. The last old time barbecue that was held in Vienna 
was during the Farmers Institute, 1903> when more than 
1000 people were present. 

At an old settlers reunion held in Vienna, 1905, more 
than two thousand were present. The oldest married couple 
was Mr. and Mrs. Robert Hood, who had been married fifty- 
six years. The oldest man was J. M. Benson, 82 years old. 
The oldest woman, Sarah Butler, 99 years, the oldest min- 
ister was A. W. Carlton, 72 years. The oldest citizen native 
of the county was George Elkins, born in 1825. The couple 
with the largest family was Mr. and Mrs. George Jennings 
who had twelve children. 

The populace of this county were naturally a "social 
set," perhaps too much so to be a financial success. A picnic 
was at one time a favorite way of celebrating our nation's 
birthday. Large handbills, naming the place which was 
usually the county seat, advertising free ice water and good 
speakers, were sent out weeks before. On the morning of 
the Fourth, wagons, buggies, hacks and horse back riders 
would begin to gather from all parts of the county, at the 
place designated with well filled baskets and a disposition to 
enjoy themselves. They came to spend the day; visited and 
discussed the political situation as well as the current 
events. Many times games of different kinds, such as a sack 
race, a fat man's race, climbing a greasy pole, and other 
amusing sports were entered into, but there was always a 
good speaker and the declaration of independence was read 
The citizens felt it a duty they owed to the rising genera- 
tion to show their patriotism and appreciation of what the 
spirit of '76 had accomplished for us. At the present time 
if we attempt to celebrate our national holiday, which is 
seldom done, the address is in the afternon and a few peo- 
ple come in their cars, spend a short time and rush back 
home missing the spirit of the occasion. 

Sometimes, it seems, the reverence that was formerly 
given patriotic and memorial days is waning, but let us 
hope this is imagination. We still have what is known as 
picnics but they are small parties of people who take their 
sandwiches, salads and thermos bottles to some shady nook 
in the evening, eat their meal and return. They do not stay 


long enough to get a chigre bite, much less a good stock of 
wood ticks. 

One occasion that meant so much to our people in 
former times was the political campaign, especially in a 
presidential year. In various parts of the county the people 
had "Rallies" for their candidates and every one interested 
in this man would come out on the appointed day. They 
would form long processions, some horse back, in wagons 
and others in buggies which were decorated in the national 
colors, carrying banners with appropriate slogans. The 
year that President Harrison was the nominee of the repub- 
lican party, George H. Huffman, who lived at Simpson ten 
miles away had a float in the procession consisting of a log 
cabin on an ox wagon with a real coon in the door way. At 
one demonstration the young men of the county who were 
to cast their first vote at the coming election dressed in blue 
trousers and red blouses and carried brooms. They formed 
one section of the parade and the idea was to make a "clean 
sweep" for their candidate. The glee club went from place 
to place wherever there was a political meeting of their 
party in a wagon built especially for them. During one 
campaign the ladies of the glee club wore blue dresses trim- 
med in gold braid, which added nothing to their music but 
much to their appearance. At night all the men and boys 
would march to band and song, carrying torchlights, having 
what was called a "torch-light procession." Then the other 
side would have a demonstration and thus the interest was 
kept up. A campaign of this sort would seem odd now and 
perhaps the quiet campaign is better but it is a question 
whether it is less expensive to the candidate, one could 
at least find out which side the voters were on, as they 
would rarely have the nerve to ride in both processions and 
could not bleed both candidates so easily. 

The automobile makes it easy to compass distance and 
every body eats at home. In former times when there was 
an extra occasion in town all ones relation drove in to stay 
till after dinner. One, two, three and sometimes more 
wagons would arrive, some coming as late as eleven o'clock ; 
they did not telephone they were coming, either. You may 
have hurried around a little and did not serve the dinner in 
courses, but no one went away hungry and if the day had 
been a little strenuous for the housewife; it had been an 
outing and a pleasant day for the visitors. 


The farm bureau picnic has come to be an annual 
affair of recent origin* which is very enjoyable and tends 
to instruction as well. The singing conventions were begun 
in 1915, are very popular, and are held at different places 
in the county through the spring and summer months. The 
Vaughn Quartette of Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, are very 
beautiful singers, they never fail to attend and attract a 
crowd. There are several quartettes and singers of our 
own county, the Cypress Quartette, the Lauderdales' of New 
Burnside, the Underwoods of Ozark, the Lavender family, 
near Vienna, the Rushing Trio of Simpson, and the Bun- 
combe Quartette of Buncombe are all faithful to attend and 
help the community singing. 

A social custom prevails in this county in recent years 
of celebrating birthdays, especially those of the older peo- 
ple, which is a very pleasant thing to do. All neighbors 
bring baskets of cooked foods, and come in to spend the day 
in honor of the birthday of some person of the community. 
This brings everyone together and makes an occasion for 
a social gathering. 

Saturday July 28, 1923, was a day to be remembered 
by Mrs. John Harper of Bloomfield and many of her friends. 
This being the seventy-seventh anniversary of her birth her 
good husband, children and neighbors had planned a won- 
derful dinner in her honor. The table was set in the yard 
under a wide spreading mulberry tree planted by Mr. Har- 
per when they first settled there. There was food of all 
kinds and those fortunate enough to be guests can 
testify to its quality. Mr. and Mrs. Harper began house 
keeping at this place and have lived there all their married 
lives (fifty -three years) There were about seventy-five 
present. Mrs. Fanny Jackson, a cousin of Mrs. Harpers, 
Mrs. William Corbitt a granddaughter and Mr. and Mrs. 
P. T. Chapman, of Vienna. All her children and grand- 
children, except one daughter and son and their families, 
who live at Centralia, Illinois. The children present were: 
Mr. and Mrs. Frank Taylor, Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Taylor, 
Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Taylor and Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Clay- 
ton. This was a happy occasion for all present and the good 
wishes of every guest for many pleasant birth days for Mrs. 
Harper were heartily expressed. 

The following are some miscellaneous organizations 


and clubs: The Columbian Exposition held in Chicago 
called into being the Columbian Woman's Club, Miss Anna 
Dwyer was president and Mrs. Sarah Poor was secretary. 
The object was to collect the products of woman's labor of 
this county for display in the Woman's Building, at this 
exposition. The only things sent for exhibit from here, 
were jellies canned and preseved fruit. This wonderful 
celebration to honor our discovery and exhibit to the world 
the nation's progress was a Mecca for all the ends of the 
earth, and of course, Johnson County kept pace. Our first 
visitors were D. L. Chapman and W. B. Bain. There were 
all together from five to six hundred visitors from the little 
county of Johnson, some of them going several times. 

The state of Illinois was admitted to the Union, 1818» 
1918 being the anniversary of that event, each county of 
the state was supposed to celebrate it, sometime and in 
some way suitable to themselves. The citizens of this 
county prepared a program and set aside one day during 
the County Fair for one part of their celebration, also pre- 
miums were offered for displays of old pictures, relics, and 
exhibitions of occupations and customs of earlier times. 
Some very creditable displays were made in the Art hall. 
Miss Emma Rebman, county superintendent of schools at 
that time, appointed a committee of teachers to arrange a 
display from our county for the Centennial Exhibition at 
the state fair at Springfield. 

The eighteenth federal amendment certainly has 
wrought a change in this county. The foundation was laid 
for it years ago. There was a Prohibition Club here in the 
seventies of which John Clymer, James Slack, M. A. Smith, 
Green Thacker and others were members. Mrs. Oglesby of 
Belknap organized Christian Temperance Union Societies in 
different parts of the county. She organized one in Vienna 
in 1890. The officers were Mrs. W. I. Dill president, Mrs. 
George Blanchfill, vice-president; Miss Nora Covington, 
secretary; Mrs. Betty Burnett, treasurer; Mrs. Emma 
Smith, corresponding secretary. 

But one of the main things that helped to educate the 
people of this county along this line was the ardent support 
given the prohibition cause by M. A. Smith, editor of the 
Johnson County Journal for more than twenty years. The 
county was cleared of saloons in 1881. The last ones being 


at Simpson and Cypress, but their lives were short as we 
had as helpers at the time officers who were uncompro- 
mising in their enforcement of the law. Although we have 
had prohibition in the county for so many years, we have 
been continually menaced by the boot legger and the illicit 
salesman, but a drunken man on the streets is seldom seen 
in our community at the present time. 


Most agricultural counties hold a Fair in the late sum- 
mer or fall of the year. This usually includes racing as 
well as exhibits and necessitates grounds with a track, 
stalls, booths and pens for horses and stock together with 
a large inclosure for eating stands, side shows, merry-go- 
rounds and various little money making devices. Also much 
space is used for the wagons, buggies and automobiles of 
the visitors. There is an ampitheater for the convenience 
of those who want to see the races, riding and displays of 
stock. There are suitable buildings for Art exhibits, poul- 
try, farm and garden products. The object of this annual 
gathering is quite well understood and the fairs held in this 
county have, without doubt, been most advantageous in im- 
proving the grade of live stock, poultry and farm products. 
It is not known just when the first fair held in this county 
was organized but it was some time before or about 1861. 
The grounds included the present site of the Big Four 
station and the field on the left hand side of the road leading 
to the station. The promoters were, no doubt, the promi- 
nent business men and farmers of that time who likely were 
John Bain, Samuel Jackson, Hon. A. J. Kuykendall, Samuel 
J. Hess, Samuel S. Copeland, Josiah Throgmorton, S. J. 
Chapman, D. C. Chapman, Hiram Carson, John Wright, B. 
S. Smith, William Perkins, James Oliver , S. M. Glassford, 
Thos. Farris and others. Little is known of the result of this 
fair or how long it lasted as there are no records to be found 
at the present time. It is known for certain that A. J. Gray 
was the most graceful horseback rider at these fairs and 
that the grounds were used for a camping ground for the 
soldiers, who were entering the Federal army. They 
camped there from August until October. Another fact is 
from the "Vienna Artery" June 1871, "The Old Fair 
Grounds will be sold at sheriff's sale on the first day of July 
under excution in favor of Mesrs Sexton and Wright. 


The second Fair Association was organized in 1883 or 
1884. The promoters were W. C. Simpson, J. B. Kuyken- 
dall, T. B. Powell, J. N. Poor, P. T. and J. C. Chapman, 
Samuel M. Glassford and others. The officers for the year 
1888 were S. M. Glassford, president; Thomas B. Powell, 
secretary; J. N. Poor, treasurer. The financial exhibit for 
that year was gate and entrance fees, $2,212.00, rents and 
permits, $310.70; sale of shares of stock, $2,475.00, other 
resources, $178.70. paid in premiums, $1,626.11 paid for 
real estate buildings and improvements, $3,519.84, balance 
in treasury, $31.15. The grounds where this exhibit was 
held were just across the drainage ditch south and east of 
Vienna on the left of the road leading to Belknap in what 
is now P. T. Chapman's field. Some of the men securing 
premiums for graceful horseback riding at this fair were 
J. K. Elkins, M. A. Hankins and Alfred Oliver, some of the 
ladies were Lenna Oliver, Fanny Throgmorton and Julia 
Bridges. This asociation soon fell so far behind financially 
that it was abandoned. 

The third fair corporation was completed in 1905 with 
William More, J. B. Kuykendall, P. T. Chapman, N. J. Moz- 
ley, D. W. Whittenberg, W. M. Grisson, J. C. Carter Charles 
Marshall, C. H. Mason, M. L. Hight, Harry Beauman, J. K. 
and I. N. Elkins and others as stock holders. The grounds 
for holding this fair were leased from J. H. Carter, Jr., and 
lay on the left of the road leading from Vienna, north past 
the Fraternal Cemetery. They are conveniently located 
and well arranged with a good track, buildings, and booths. 
Annual exhibits and races have been held since its organ- 
ization. It is not a money making institution, so far in its 
history, but the losses are small and they "carry on." The 
fair is a paying proposition even though it should not be a 
financial success. It undoubtedly, has inspired a desire for 
better live stock, finer fruit and the best in farm products. 
The year, 1907 was made memorable by the "Home Com- 
ing" which was held during the fair. It was a decided 
success and many former citizens coming from all parts of 
the United States met here, who had not seen each other 
for many years. The fair adds much to the social activities 
of the county, acquaintances and friends from this and 
neighboring counties meet and visit together at the fair 
that possibly do not meet at any other time. 

Each year the managers have had some special feature 


for entertainment. In 1912 they brought the first flying 
machine here that had ever landed in the county. It was 
an aeroplane. In 1920 a byplane did a good business during 
fair week taking parties for flights at $10.00 per trip. J. 
B. Hankins of Vienna has always taken the prize for the 
best horseback rider at this fair when he would enter. He 
also always has some fine saddlers on exhibition, if he does 
does not enter the competition, everyone knows he would 
have been entitled to the blue ribbon as the best rider and 
as having the best saddle horse. Very few ladies ride 
horseback in this county since the days of automobiles. Miss 
Gertrude Powell took the blue ribbon for the best lady 
rider at the fair several years ago. The fair association 
was reorganized last year (1923) with J. M. Brown, E. F. 
Throgmorton, P. T. Powell, George Gray, J. N. Mozley, 
Lloyd Farris and T. C. Taylor as stockholders. The state 
assists all agricultural fairs. 


The rod and gun have furnished sports and diversion 
since the days of Nimrod, perhaps before, as well as being 
the principal means of furnishing sustenance for oneself 
and family before the days of plenty. There has always been 
an abundance of game in Johnson County on account of the 
timber and secluded places for their propagation. Trapping 
is now and has been a lucrative business in this county 
many years. We have many fur bearing animals, coon, 
mink, otter and fox. Fox hunting is a favorite diversion 
with many of our sportsmen. They take their dogs to the 
bluffs and caves which are the haunts of the fox, and get 
one started running. The sport is in listening to the dogs 
as they run and send up their peculiar wail. The hunters 
enjoy their music and are able to tell whose dog is in the 
lead in the race. It is not the intent of the sportsman to 
catch the fox as the English do, but merely to have the 
chase. It is a picture to see the hunters going out about 
sundown, several in a group, with their automobiles filled 
with hounds and many following. 

Fishing is another pastime indulged in by some of our 
citizens. The larger streams abound in cat and grinnell. 
The smaller creeks have perch and we have a few game 
fish, none native. The State Commission have stocked pri- 


vate ponds so that some of our farmers, who have taken 
the trouble, have good fishing. 

Much of the wild game has been exterminated, but 
thanks to our state game law, we still have some wild game 
such as the quail and squirrel, but in later years, our home 
game has been too tame for some of our sportsmen and a 
hunting club was organized in 1892. L. A. Knowles was 
captain and always led the van, never permitting anything 
to hinder him from the hunting trip to Mississippi, Louisi 
ana, or Colorado, which always occurred in the fall. Other 
members were Judge A. K. Vickers> Cass Oliver, M. A. 
Smith, W. L. Williams, Judge W. W. Duncan, of Marion, 
Judge Wm. Butler of Cairo, Daniel Clymer, John Thornton,, 
John Mowery, Dick Redden, H. V. Carter, W. G. Jackson, 
L. L. Sanders and Henry Curtis. These men went annually 
and spent a month or six weeks' killing deer, and what 
ever small game they would deign to notice, and no doubt 
forgot all their worries, if they had any, and giving way to 
the aboriginal in them for a time. Judge A. K. Vickers, 
M. A. Smith, Henry Curtis, L. A. Knowles and Judge But- 
ler have passed on. It remains to be seen if the hunting 
club survives. 

Quail hunting is, and no doubt, has always been one 
of the most widely followed sports of this county. These 
beautiful and useful little birds abound on every farm, and 
following an open winter, one will see coveys of them on 
the road side every few rods. During the season when 
the quail law is off or on, whichever way one looks at it, 
one can see the hunters with guns and dogs going out early 
and late. Many farmers now post their farm and hunting 
is allowed only by permission. In former times, when 
this was not a rule, crowds of hunters came from the 
cities and neighboring towns to this county for bird shoot- 

The squirrel season is rather short, the hunters think, 
but killing squirrel is not considered as fine a sport as 
quail shooting, and many farmers are glad to have the 
pretty little gray pests killed, as they destroy a great deal 
of corn in the fields. In the winter season when the snow 
is on, many enjoy rabbit hunting, especially the boys. It 
furnishes sport for Saturdays, if they have a good dog, 
and also a little pocket change, as rabbits are shipped to 
city markets from here during the winter season. 



As in all other frontier countries the opportunity in 
this county for an education was very meager. The few 
schools, were taught in residences, churches, or improvised 
school houses. They were private or subscription, the par- 
ent or guardian paying so much per month or term for 
each scholar subscribed. The teacher boarded round with 
each pupil as part of his salary. . These terms were irregu- 
lar and the teachers were all men. Teaching was not held 
in very high esteem these first years for it was usually 
considered a "lazy man's job." The reason for this mis- 
conception, no doubt, was that many men without families 
who were not qualified mentally or morally fell onto the 
plan of teaching as a means of getting a living. Since in 
the new country, there were no fixed standards of qualifi- 
cation this was an easy matter. This was not the rule but 
there was enough of this class to discredit the profession. 

The first free school law was framed and passed in 
this state in 1825. 

Under this law the first school district was laid off in 
this county, May. 1825, as follows: Beginning at John 
Copeland's (the farm where Alfred Hook now lives,1922) 
and running northwest with the road leading toward 
George Brazell's so as to include John Finny and Charles 
Fain, (who lived west of Vienna about where the Huster 
settlement is now) from there so as to include John Gore, 
the farm just this side of the rocky hill on the West Vienna 
road known as the Dicky Carlton farm, from there east so 
as to include James Jones, whose farm is now included in 
the Fred Shelter and J. M. Brown farms and Mathew 
Mathis, (the Looney farm,) James Bain, (Levi Smith's 
also known as the Vickers farm) to Joel Johnson's who 
lived at that time where Lloyd Farris now lives, so as to in- 
clude Johnson, thence in a southwest direction to include 
Dave Shearer, (this farm is now owned by James Beach 
and John Dunn) then to John Copeland's, the place of 
beginning. All this was to be known as the School dis- 
trict of Vienna. From this description of the bounds 
of the first district, it is not hard to conclude that the guid- 
ing principle in shaping its boundaries was to include cer- 
tain families regardless of the resulting size and shape. 

The court also ordered the following boundaries. 


Recognizing the petition of the citizens under the free 
school law of 1825 To-wit: "Beginning at James Jones, Sr., 
thence a south course to the school district line of Vienna, 
thence east along so as to include Elias Harrell thence 
north to include W. J. Wise and Samuel McGown, thence 
west so as to include Joseph Kuykendall, thence to the be- 
ginning and the said district be known as the Bloomfield 

And that a school district be established and called 
the Cache district commencing at George Brazel's, thence 
north so as to include William McGinnis, thence west so 
as to include Robert Lott, thence southwest to the county- 
line so as to include John Standard, thence east to Cache, 
thence to the beginning," both ordered June term court. 

June, 1825, ordered that a school district be establish- 
ed within the following boundaries, To-wit: "Beginning 
at Sec. 16, Township 13, Range 2, east running westward 
so as to include Thomas Standard, Lewis Worrell, William 
Jones and the widow Standard, thence to the county line, 
thence south along the county line to Cache River, thence 
up the same to the range line between 2 and 3 thence up 
said line north to a point due east from the 16th Sec, thence 
west to the place of beginning." This was West Eden dis- 

The fact that those early settlers took advantage so 
quickly of this free school law indicated their tendency to- 
ward progress. There was no compulsory school law as yet. 
A great many parents, having no education themselves, did 
not believe in it for their children, and did not take ad- 
vantage of the opportunity offered by the free school law. 
The benefits of educations were not, therefore, reaching 
the masses as had been hoped. Realizing that the educa- 
tional system then in operation was not doing for the people 
what it should, the legislature enacted into law in 1855, 
the foundation of the present state system. Townships 
were laid off into school districts, three and four to a 
township. An attempt was made to provide that no pupil 
be obliged to walk more than two miles to school and 
school boards were compelled to maintain school not less 
than six months in each year and to authorize a sufficient 
levy to support them. Older people have said that this law 


met with a great deal of bitter opposition in this county. 
This new uniform program raised the standard of quali- 
fications of the teacher and added thereby dignity to the 

The earliest teacher that we have a record of in this 
county was Daniel T. Coleman. It is not certain, even, 
that he taught in the present limits of the county. The 
evidence to establish him as the first teacher is found in 
the estate of Nathaniel Green. 

From Major A. J. Kuykendall we glean the following 
interesting information concerning the first school, in the 
present limits of Johnson County. The school was taught 
in 1819 by Hiram Chapman, a native of N. Y. and a great 
uncle of Judge P. T. Chapman. It was taught near the 
present site of Bloomfield. The most advanced pupil in 
the school was James Kuykendall, a brother of the Major 
and five years older. The nearest school to this was Equal- 
ity in Saline. That school was conducted by an eastern 
man, as they were then called, and the most advanced 
pupil in that school was Choisser. an uncle of W. V. Chois- 
ser of Harrisburg. During the school term, Chapman re- 
ceived a challenge from the teacher of Equality in which 
the most advanced pupil in each school was to be matched 
against the other in "saying pieces." The challenge was 
accepted and the contest at the Bloomfield school resulted in 
victory for the Bloomfield pupil. This was a notable event 
in those days and well it may have been, when we consider 
the distance and mode of travel at that time. 

From the statement of his grandson, James P. Cope- 
land, John Copeland, the pioneer, helped to build the first 
school house in his neighborhood and taught the first 
school in it. This school may have been the first free 
school in 1825. It is clear that the last two teachers 
named taught in the present county limits. Some other 
early teachers were Hezekiah West, Nesbit Allen, 1818, 
father of W. C, Isaac Stalcup, James Pattilla, a Scotch- 
man, William Peebles, Herrelstone, Samuel Hambleton, 
Joseph Carmichael, Russel, J. W. Terrell, A. A. Mather, C. 
W. Bliss, Dr. J. B. Ray, Hiram Wise, Minnicks, A. J. Kuy- 
kendall David Bayles, Barney Smith, L. L. Madden, H. M. 
Ridenhower, Sr., Asahel Burnett, J. S. Whittenberg, L. W. 
Fern, Dr. W. A. Looney, Joseph Warder, A. M. Marschalk, 


B. F. Lewis, Col. Toler, D. C, Lee and Tamerlane Chapman, 
Barney Smith, C. N. Dawson. Standard, W. A. Spann, 
Jasper Johnson, Franklin Thomas, Samuel and James Cope- 
land, L. F. Jacobs, Joshua and James Simpson. Most of 
these antedate the Civil War ; some were about war times ; 
and the following a little later: I. A. J. Parker, B. F. Olden, 
O. A. Harker, Charles W. Bliss, P. G. McAvoy, A. B. 
Garrett, M. A. Smith, A. G. and C. N. Damron, Dr. John 
Keesee, P. T. Chapman, A. G. Benson, J. S. Francis, W. S. 
Curtis, R. M. Fisher. Some of these men have gone into 
other professions and made a name for themselves. 

The first woman teacher recorded was Miss Emma 
Driver, a young English girl from New York. She prob- 
ably came to Johnson County some time before 1855. She 
taught a private school in Vienna. Mrs. Joseph Warder 
and Mrs. Isabell Marschalk were teachers here about 1854 
or 1855. There were also Mrs. Chase, wife of an architect, 
Mrs. Mariah Benson, Miss Ann Stewart. In 1878 there 
were only four women teachers in the county; by 1881 
there were thirty-five. The number of women teachers 
employed in the schools at the present time is 55. The 
average wage paid men in the grades is $678.26. The av- 
erage wage paid teachers of the county for the year 1858 
was $151.00; in 1860 there was no report; in 1870, $180.00 
in 1880, $185.00; in 1890. $183.00; in 1900,$226.00; in 
1910, $271.00 ; in 1920, $495.00. It can be seen that the pay 
for teachers has doubled in the last twenty years. 
In 1884 there were 5,268 children of school age in the 
county; seventy-five teachers were employed with an aver- 
age wage for men of $39.15 per month, and for women, 
$34.17 per month. In 1908 there were 7,588 children in 
the county, with 4,792 enrolled in the schools; the average 
monthly wage paid men for that year was $47.10, women 

In 1914, under the superintendency of Miss Emma 
Rebman the county was given a large flag, 13x30 feet. The 
state presented this flag as a prize to the county because 
it had the best average attendance in proportion to the 
number of pupils enrolled. It may be interesting to men- 
tion at this point some personal records of attendance. 
Mr. and Mrs. N. C. Harris, living in school district 57, Berea 
neighborhood had six children in school during the term 
of 1908-09. Not one of these children was absent or tardy 


during the entire term. Another record of strict attend- 
ance to business which deserves mention, is that of Miss 
May Hankins of Vienna who finished the Vienna Town- 
ship High School, June, 1921. She had not been absent 
from schol an entire day since she entered the first grade. 
How much it would mean to teachers and pupils if this 
were the rule instead of the exception. 

In 1819 the county commisioners court was given gen- 
eral powers over school land as well as establishing dis- 
tricts; by an act of 1825 the office of school trustee was 
created. The name of this board was changed to "school 
directors" by an act of the legislature of 1841. 1827 an 
act was passed whereby the county commissioners should 
appoint township trustees. Later the office of trustees as 
well as school director was made elective. The township 
trustees had about the same duties they now have except 
for a short time, they were given power to examine 
teachers. The following is an extract from an old trustee's 
record of 1864-68. In 1864 John McCorcle, Thomas A. 
Gillespie, and J. F. Holt were the trustees for township 13, 
S. Range 3 east; A. M. Marschalk taught in district 1, 
1864-65. His schedule amounted to $200.00 for the term; 
Mrs. I. Marschalk taught at the same time in the same dis- 
trict, for the same amount. T. Chapman taught in district 
2, in 1864-65 his salary was $270.00. C. W. Hutchinson 
and D. R. Watson were teachers of 1863-64. In 1864, 
$10.15 was allowed district No. 1 from district No. 5 for 
tuition for William, Sarah, Dicy. Susan and Frank Morris. 
Other teachers of 1864 were Samuel E. Bancornis, John N. 
Johnson. In 1865 they were Mariah Benson, J. W. Jen- 
kins; 1866, Joseph Warder, O. L. Ridenhower, W. L. 
Blackwell, M. L. Kuyler. Trustees for 1866 were B. F. 
Bellemy, James W. Bales, Samuel Jackson. John S. Crum, 
Treasurer. The list of teachers from 66-68 is, Aschel 
Burnett, Nancy E. Williford, Richard Thatcher, C. S. 
Norris, W. H. Thomas, W. W. Boyt, N. J. Slack, O. A. 
Harker, W. S. Curtis. The number of children in the 
Vienna district in 1873 was 236. 

The office of school commissioner was established in 
1831; in 1841 such commissioners were given authority to 
examine teachers. This office was changed to county super- 
intendent in 1855. The name of W. J. Wise is given as 


school commissioner in 1836, also as late as 1850. The 
power of passing on the qualification of teachers was exer- 
cised by the county superintendent until 1913, when it was 
delegated to the State Examining Board. W. H. Culver 
was elected county superintendent in 1855 and served in 
that office till 1865. He signed as commisioner through 
common usage. 

The following is a receipt which was given to D. C. 
Chapman as Sheriff and there were several other similar 
ones that ran up as far as 1863 : "Received of D. C. Chap- 
man of fine money assessed in the circuit court against A. 
H. Hill in five cases. $10.00 each, fifty dollars of which this 
is a duplicate, (date not known), this 6th day of June, 
1857. W. H. Culver, School Commissioner," which should 
have been County Superintendent. The fact that these 
receipts cover a period of seven years indicates that he 
held the office two terms and that Culver was the only 
one holding the office of County Superintendent under the 
1855 law, till 1865 from which time we have a complete 

Under the office of school commissioner they were 
allowed to appoint examiners who issued certificates. J. B. 
Chapman was an examiner at one time, having issued a 
certificate to W. A. Spann in 1861. H. M. Ridenhower, 
Asahel Burnett, Newton Pearce, Dr. Bratton and Dr. J. 
M. C. Damron are names which have been given orally as 
examiners at different times, but there is no record of these 
and there were, no doubt, many other examiners whose 
names have not been obtained. J. S. Whittenberg is the 
first name recorded in the county as superintendent of 
schools and the following is a report sent in by him to the 
State Superintendent in 1865. It is evident from the 
phrasing that this is not his first report indicating that he 
probably followed Culver in the office of County Super- 
intendent. "Since my last report of the public schools in 
this county, the cause of education has steadily advanced, 
and a position is now gained from which we may antici- 
pate greater results in the future. A more intimate ac- 
quaintance with the workings of the free school system 
has dissipated, in a great measure, the prejudice of its 
opponents, and secured for it a surer place. in the confidence 
of the masses. Among the hopeful indications of the year 
just closed are, an increased interest shown by the people 


in regard to their schools, a more careful selection of men 
to fill the offices of trustees and directors, and a gi owing 
demand for a better class of teachers. These encouraging 
facts inspire the hope that the day is not far distant when 
our public schools shall receive the attention their import- 
ance demands. The last returns of township treasurers to 
this office, though not entirely free from error and incon- 
sistency, are much more full and reliable than formerly. 
During the last year I have visited all the schools in the 
county and in most of the districts have met the citizens 
at night, and given them a lecture on questions of educa- 
tional interest. As a result of my visits, I have seen the 
necessity that exists for thorough supervision. Teachers 
and school officers need to consult freely with some one 
intimately acquainted with the conditions and wants of 
each particular school and district, and at the same time 
familiar with the improvements in school discipline, text 
books, school architecture, etc., which are continually being 
made. I am fully satisfied that an efficient man in each 
county, with sufficient salary to enable him to devote all 
his time and energy to the work, would render the money 
annually expended for the support of schools more than 
doubly efficacious than it now is. 

As to amendments to the school law, I have none to 
submit, except to provide for a more perfect supervision 
of school. This may be done by allowing the superinten- 
dents a reasonable per diem in cash, in the place of the per 
diem in county orders, which generally fall one-third be- 
low par, thereby making the superintendent's pay merely 

The school law of our state has been improved from 
time to time since 1855 by lengthening the term and in 
making attendance compulsory. The first law of this kind 
was passed in 1883, compelling parents or guardians to 
send children under 14 to school a certain number of days 
in each year. In this same law such varied subjects as 
physical training and proper care of the teeth were made 
obligatory and as early as 1897 the effect of alcohol and 
narcotics became a required subject. 

These pupils who were the objects of so much legis- 
lation must have a home so that one of the first provisions 
necessary was a school house. In this county, school 


houses and furnishings were at first very primitive. Set- 
tlers were few; property was scarce; and as usual taxes 
were the great burden. But surely our forebears could 
not complain of the kind of school buildings they had. 
They were made of logs with a dirt floor and a hole in the 
middle of the roof or at one end for the smoke to go out 
as the fire was built on a dirt floor. The windows were 
spaces where logs were left out for light and incidentally 
although they were not so planned, for ventilation as there 
was no glass in them. The seats were logs split, the flat 
side up, with legs made by boring holes on the underside 
of the log and putting heavy wooden sticks in them. 
Sometimes the logs were laid across other logs for seats. 
The only desk was a wide puncheon, also made from a log 
and smoothed off and placed on wooden pins stuck in the 
wall and called the "writing desk." Only those pupils who 
took writing could sit at this desk and they only at "writing 

In these early schools the pupils were allowed to "study 
out," that is every one said over his lesson so every one 
else could hear. While some studied spelling, others were 
reading, still others were adding a "sum." Every few min- 
utes a pupil snapped his fingers, the teacher nooded assent, 
the boy or girl then placed a finger under a word on the 
page, went up to the teacher and held it up for pronuncia- 
tion. This custom obtained long after the quiet work was 
required in the school room. To get a head mark was a 
great incentive to memorize one's spelling lesson. Spelling 
was recited orally and if the one above failed to spell a 
word and you spelled it, you "turned him down" and went 
above him. One might turn down a half dozen at one time 
or even a whole class. The pupils securing the most head 
marks in a certain length of time was usually rewarded 
with a prize from the teacher. Another obsolete custom is 
that of compelling the teacher to "treat" at Christmas time, 
that is, provide candy or fruit for the school. In some 
cases they were real rough if they were not treated, the 
pupils might lock him out in the cold until he decided to 

The first school house the author remembers was a 
frame building, a long box wood stove in the center, the 
inevitable writing desk now made of a smooth plank, ink 


stained and barlow carved, still reserved for "writing 
time." The seats were made of plank with backs that 
struck you about half way up ; lucky, indeed, you were if 
you reached school early on a zero morning and could get 
on a bench next to the stove. Nails were driven in the wall 
for hats and coats and a bench placed abainst the wall for 
the lunch buckets. Across the end of the room the floor 
was raised about two feet, with steps the entire length, 
making a dias or stage; the wall which was across the 
back of the stage was all black board, simply painted black 
and on the stage sat a huge desk made of lumber with a 
lid that raised. This was the teacher's desk where pupil's 
books were put at night provided there were any beside 
the old blue back spelling book. The room was really 
well lighted. 

But the main piece of furniture must not be forgotten 
— the water bucket. "Teacher can Lizzie and I bring some 
water?" was the oft repeated question. Delighted they were 
when the affirmative answer was forthcoming. The spring 
was a pleasant journey; they did not hurry and they al- 
ways passed the water on their return letting each pupil 
dip out a drink, and return the dipper to the bucket. 

The number of school houses in the county in 1878 was 
52 ; 25 of them were log. In 1884, of the 62 school build- 
ings then erected, 2 were brick, 52 frame and 8 still re- 
mained of log. In less than 50 years from the beginning 
of the present system, 1855, all log buildings were elimi- 
nated. At the present time, there are in the county, 7 
brick, 65 frame school buildings, all meeting the standard 
of construction and sanitation required by the act of 1915. 

Up to the year 1890, women had little or no active part 
in this county as school officers. But in 1891, Mrs. Viola 
(Smith) Brown was elected on the school board of district 
No. 9. She served as clerk for several years and as the 
first woman in the county to serve in that capacity, made 
an excellent member of the board. Mrs. Sarah Poor and 
Mrs. R. M. Fisher were made members of the school board 
for Vienna in 1892, having the honor of being the first 
women of the town advanced to that position. Since then, 
it is not uncommon in Vienna to elect women to the school 
board. They take fully as much, if not more, interest 
than the men in matters of education. Miss Sarah J. 


Whittenberg, now Mrs. D. Cover was elected county super- 
intendent of schools in 1894. She was the daughter of J. 
S. Whittenberg who had served in the same office 30 years 
before. She filled her position admirably, in fact, she set 
such an excellent example that Miss Emma Rebman was 
elected to the same position soon after. The quality of the 
service rendered by these women is of as high standard 
as that given by men. 

The custom of an annual graduating exercise for the 
pupils of the county who had finished the eighth grade was 
begun in 1891 under the supervision of M. T. Vancleve, 
County Superintendent. These exercises are always held 
at the county seat some time after the close of the school 
term with appropriate program and are a stimulus to the 
students to finish the course, especially those who intend 
to take a higher education. These county certificates en- 
title the holder to entrance in any accredited high school 
without an examination. 

The number of pupils for all graduating classes could 
not be definitely obtained. The following are the figures 
available: 1892, 16 or 18; 1894, 20; 1896, 32; 1900, 23; 
1901, 13; 1903, 29; 1904, 64; 1905, 35; 1906, 59; 1907, 
55; 1908, 100; 1909, 30; 1910, 13; 1911, 40; 1912, 47; 1913, 
109; 1914, 126; 1917, 63; 1918, 237; 1919, 208; 1920, 165; 
1921, 176; 1922, 203; 1923, 101; 1924, 110. The very 
appropriate ceremony of planting a county class tree was 
begun under Miss Rebman in 1913. In addition to the 
graduation there are state scholarships in the form of 
four years free tuition in any normal or university in the 
state given to the pupil making the highest grade in the 
township. The students securing the scholarships for 1918 
were G. E. Chamness, Goreville; Allen Cavitt, Tunnel 
Hill; Velma Harper, New Burnside; Nora Smoot, Simp- 
son; Laura Soper, Bloomfield; Evert Elkins, Elvira; Opal 
Brown, Grantsburg; Violet Avery, Vienna; Edith Bishop, 

The State Fair School of Domestic Science was organ- 
ized in 1896 under the supervision of the State Agricul- 
tural Association. Any county having an agricultural 
association may send one representative to this school and 
under certain conditions two. Miss Jennett Heaton was 
given honorable mention for grades made during the term 


of 1919. The State Fair School for boys was organized in 
1910 under the same association as the Domestic Science. 
Each county is entitled to two delegates. Johnson County 
has usually taken advantage of this opportunity and profit- 
ed therefrom. F. M. Simpson, a Johnson County boy, 
had charge of this State Fair School as instructor in 1911. 
The instructors are from the University of Illinois. William 
M. Grisson did much during his term of office as county 
superintendent of schools, to interest the farmer boys; he 
organized a "Farmers Boys' Club" which reached a mem 
bership of 400. He offered prizes for the best corn and 
pigs and created a lively interest among the young agricul- 
turists. This stimulation of interest was much needed as 
there had been a tendency for many years to get away from 
the farm. 

The first teachers meeting or institute that was held 
in the county was under the supervision of H. M. Riden- 
hower, Sr., who began teaching in this county, 1855, and 
J. F. McCartney, of Massac County, father of M. N. who 
is now principal of the V. T. H. S.»in 1859 or 60. The 
Civil War interfered somewhat with education and al- 
though the meetings may have been continued in some form 
the first regular institute with program and teachers was 
held at the old C. P. or Union Church in Vienna, September 
12 and 13, 1878 with P. T. Chapman as County Superin- 
tendent of Public Instruction. From that time, teachers 
institutes have been annual events in the county. They 
have added prestige to the school teacher and meant much 
to them in many ways, especially before attendance at the 
Southern Illinois Normal became so general. During the 
summer term, 1885, Dr. D. B. Parkinson now deceased, of 
the Southern Illinois Normal University, came to Johnson 
County as an instructor for the county institute for teach- 
ers, and was recalled regularly in that capacity for ten 
years. This may explain the large number of Johnson 
County teachers at Southern Normal. 

This story of education so far has dealt mainly with 
elementary education : there is still a good deal to be said 
concerning higher education in the county. The city of 
Vienna realizing the need of and having a suitable build- 
ing which had just been finished, opened a high school at 
its own expense in 1894, with Professor M. N. McCartney 


as Superintendent. Other teachers for the first year were 
Miss Letha Simmons, (McFatridge), Miss Kate Gray, Miss 
Lute Fisher, Miss Etta Craig (deceased). This school 
filled a long needed want in the community and was a suc- 
cess from the very beginning. The first commencement 
was held May 10, 1895, at the M. E. Church with the fol- 
lowing as members of the class: Misses Essie Beal, Ila 
Covington, Belle Trammell, Anna B. Hook, Ada B. McCali, 
Ida E. Spann; Messers Walter Jackson, George L. Elkins, 
James Polk Simpson, Eugene McCali. Dr. Bratton as 
president of the board presented the diplomas. And the 
citizens of the little community felt justly proud of the 
high school. Professor McCartney continued as principal 
for years. He was succeeded in this capacity by Profes- 
sors Rubelt, Harry O'Brine, M. T. Van Cleve, Ray Springer 
Smith, A. L. Whittenberg and A. C. Lentz. The exercises 
for the final year were also held at the M. E. Church, May 
15, 1914. Four girls constituted the class, Francis Simp- 
son, Harris Ridenhower, Mary Hooker, and Mae Arnold, 
Mrs. P. T. Chapman presented the diplomas as president 
of the board ; and L. 0. Whitnell, of East St. Louis, form- 
erly of Vienna, made the class address. Thus ended our 
once high hopes but the need for a high school was greater 
than ever and while the burden of supporting one was 
heavier than the small town could bear it was thought 
there must be some way to provide one. 

There had been some agitation for a township high 
school for some time and in 1911 the question of equiping 
and supporting one was presented to the people. The peti- 
tion was lost by a vote of two to one, but the necessity 
was so great and the promoters were so determined that 
the matter was presented again in 1913. It carried by a 
majority of 18 votes. Because of the time it took to issue 
and place the bonds; the school did not open till the fall of 
1914. M. T. Van Cleve was chosen first principal with 
Mr. Myer, of Clinton, Miss Pritchard, of Lagrange, Mo., 
as teacher. The residence of James Carter was rented for 
the term. This was a large house built many years ago by 
Colonel Samuel Hess and occupied by him as a residence. 
Although it was a commodious and elegant residence it 
was not suitable for a school. Notwithstanding the opposi- 
tion and the inadequacy of the building and equipment, 


it was a most successful year with an enrollment of ninety- 
five and a graduating class of six. 

A petition was circulated and an election held to dis- 
continue the high school, June, 1915. This election was 
contested, but the objections were up-held. As soon as pos- 
sible another petition asking for a high school was circu- 
lated and presented to the County Superintendent. She 
ordered an election September 4th, 1915, and the proposi- 
tion carried by the small margin of two votes. This de- 
cision insured a high school and the work went on. A site 
was decided by ballot. The following year, February, 
1916, the matter of voting bonds for a building was carried 
by sixty-six majority. This vote demonstrated the change 
in sentiment in favor of higher education. 

The township high school building was begun in the 
summer of 1918 at a most expensive and inconvenient time. 
Labor and material were both high and hard to get. The 
cost was perhaps one-half more than it would have been 
if the project had not been opposed so vigorously in the 
beginning and the building had been erected two years be- 

The term of 1919-1920 was taught in the second story 
of Chapman's brick building which faces the square and 
runs along North Fifth street to Vine. Prof. M. N. Mc- 
Cartney was again at the helm as principal. The graduat- 
ing exercises of 1920 were held in the high school building. 
The wisdom of the majority was confirmed that year in the 
large enrollment of one hundred and seventy five pupils. 
The present high school is housed in a large two story 
brick building supplied with auditorium, class rooms, recep- 
tion room, domestic science room, all equipped for use. 
There is an excellent heating plant, a lighting system, and 
a private acetyline gas plant for the household science room. 
It is, in other words, in every way an up-to-date and mod- 
ern school building. It was finished in 1920 at a total cost 
of $70,000.00. 

The following statement of the financial condition of 
the V. T. H. in 1922 will go a long ways to affirm the wis- 
dom of establishing the high school. Tuition from Johnson 
County non-high school districts $5,902.36, from Pulaski 
County $264.00, from Pope County $88.00, individual 
$19.32. For the year 1923, tuition from non-high school 


district $5,844.27, from Pulaski County $86.70, from Pope 
County $120.00, total $6,050.97. 

During the time of our city high school, 1904, the 
Southwestern League was formed including several schools 
in this section of the state. The object of this league was 
to test the intellectual, physical, and artistic capacity of the 
several schools. In 1905 Vienna won the Intellectual and 
Athletic banner. At different times they won several points 
in other contests, but not a sufficient number to secure the 
banner. S. J. Hess, now a student at the Ann Arbor Law 
School, represented the Vienna township high school, at the 
Interscholastic Meet in Urbana, in 1916, and won five points 
for the school. 

Archie Mathis, another Johnson County son made the 
wrestling team at University of Illinois, 1924. This team 
won the championship of the Big Ten Conference that year. 
He has a medal for individual work as a wrestler, welter 
weight, 145 pounds, and was selected by Walter Eckersal 
for his all All Western Wrestling Team, 1924. Each year 
the V. T. H. S. has maintained a good foot ball team ready 
to meet at all times any challenge offered. Ralph Chapman, 
a Johnson County boy was selected as captain of the Univer- 
sity of Illinois foot ball team 1913. This team defeated Chi- 
cago University team of 1914 which had not happened 
many times before. This team also won the championship 
of the Six Conference Gridiron Teams the same year. Chap- 
man was unanimous choice as All Western Guard and was 
selected by Walter Camp on his honorary "All American 
Team" as the greatest guard of the year." 

Encouragement has been given on different occasions 
to the students of the county in a small way offering prizes 
for papers of their own composition. Daniel Chapman 
Chapter D. A. R. offered a prize in 1912 to any student in 
the county who would write the best essay on "The Ameri- 
can Flag." Ray Ford of Robinson district, received the 
first prize and Joseph W. Looney of Oliver district the sec- 
ond. The same society offered another prize the following 
year on the subject of "Good Roads." Miss Sara J. Aus- 
broks, of Vienna, secured first prize, Orin Nobles, of Bun- 
combe, the second and Marie Stanley of Vienna high school, 
received honorable mention. In 1921 a prize was offered 
to the high school girls for the best paper on "Why should 


I become a nurse." This topic was suggested by the Red 
Cross to stimulate interest in the duty of nursing. Thy 
prize of money was donated by citizens; Mrs. Maggie Hill 
taking the trouble to collect it and put the proposition be- 
fore the superintendent. The first prize went to Miss Essye 
Watson, second to Miss Francis Harvick, third to Miss May 
Hankins. In 1920 a study of the ability of seniors in the 
accredited high schools of the state to write English was 
made. A subject was assigned and themes were written 
simultaneously by seniors in accredited high schools. These 
themes were submitted to the University of Illinois and 
were there scored by the Hilaegas method. Of the three 
hundred and twenty-one public high schools submitting, 
V. T. H. S. ranked first. It was third of all the schools. 
Two private high schools ; Mckendrie, of Lebanon, was first ; 
and Villa De' Chantel, an academy in Rock Island was sec- 

Another fact showing the lasting influence of the high 
school is the life of the Alumni Association. This society 
was organized the second year of the city high school, 1896, 
and has been a part of each years' school events since then. 
It is now twenty-eight years old. 


The first newspaper published in Johnson County be- 
gan it's existence some time in the year 1858, possibly in the 
later part of 1857, the exact date is not known, but the 
delinquent tax list for the county was printed in "The Jones- 
boro Gazette" of Union County, May 1857, which is proof 
there was no paper published in our county at that time. 
J. D. Moody was the owner and publisher of this initial 
journal. It was known as "The Johnson County Enquirer." 
It was a small sheet about one fourth the size of the ordi- 
nary county paper of today and was issued weekly. Moody 
must have continued as editor two or three years. Mrs. 
Eliza Dwyer says he left here about the time of the break- 
ing out of the Civil War and that his wife issued the paper a 
short while after he left. We find Jasper Johnson pub- 
lished, presumably, the same paper in 1861 under the name 
of "The Advertiser." Johnson enlisted in the Union army 
1862, and Andrew Roberts took charge, changing the nam*, 
to "The Union Courier," Roberts gave a receipt to the 
sheriff, for advertising land sales, August, 1862, showing 
he still had charge of the paper at that time. 


The political tendency of the paper must have been 
republican, judging from the name and an editorial pub- 
lished in the "Courier" in 1864, of which the following is 
a part: "It is an undisputed fact, so far as we can learn, 
that Hon. A. J. Kuykendall is able to more fully concen- 
trate the strength of the Union element of the thirteenth 
Congressional district than any other one man." This shows 
which side of the great question this paper was on at that 
time. There is also a communication from Captain John 
T. Mozley of the 120th Illinois Volunteer Infantry in the 
same issue, as follows : "Casualties resulting from the trip 
through Mississippi, Private John Wood killed instantly and 
left on the field; wounded, Johnathan B. Green; missing, 
Lieut. W. A. Francis, James H. Read, Sergts., Charles A. 
Bain, Absalom English, Henry C. Mullinax; Privates, John 
B. Cline, James F. Farris, John Jones, Aron T. Fain, John 
Sereds and John D. Young." Jasper Johnson was again 
editor in 1864 as a receipt to the sheriff for printing con- 
firms this fact and it may have been he was editor when 
the above was published. The paper was sold to Crum & 
Hogg, who published it for a short time, as we find T. A. 
Stewart succeeded them in 1866. 

The authentic history of the paper at this time is that 
0. A. Harker and Charles W. Bliss, two young men em- 
ployed in our schools as teachers, bought the paper in 1867 
and issued it as a side line with their teaching. 0. A. Har- 
ker's history is well known to our citizens, and Bliss be- 
came well known as an editor. He edited "The Montgom- 
ery News" and gained nation wide fame through his hum- 
orous "weather prognostications." 

Bliss, years afterwards, told his first experience as a 
journalist at a press meeting, as follows : "Harker and I 
bought this paper at Vienna, and tried publishing it for 
awhile, when a man came along wanting to buy a paper. 
This man felt that he was not financially able to buy the 
entire plant but made a contract to take over a half interest. 
He had but one eye. Harker and I were so anxious to be 
rid of this paper that we got the whole thing off on him be- 
cause of the defect in his sight." The man referred to in 
Bliss' story was the Rev. A. Wright. He took charge of 
the paper in 1868 and changed the name to "The Vienna 
Artery." He, with his sons as associates, forming A. 


Wright & Co., continued its publication till 1872. It was 
at this time a seven column paper, with one side printed 
away from home, and was issued weekly at $1.50 per year. 

A. Wright & Co. sold the paper to T. A. Stewart, who 
published it about two years under the name of "The Her- 
ald." In 1874, A. J. Alden bought this paper and another 
small paper, published here by George Johnson, called "The 
Vienna News" which he consolidated into "The Journal" 
and thus were brought together the two papers represent- 
ing the two different factions which had existed in the 

Later Alden moved to Anna and J. J. Penny succeeded 
him as editor and publisher for a year or two. "The Jour- 
nal" fell into the hands of T. Chapman and was edited by 
J. B. Chapman for a short time, when the plant with its 
good will was sold to M. A. Smith in 1876. The paper 
had been issued as the exponent of republican principles, 
at least since 1864, and for twelve years, Smith having re- 
christened it "The Johnson County Journal," continued its 
publication along these same lines. In 1888, he decided to 
dedicate one page of the paper to the Prohibition cause and 
issued it as a Prohibition paper under the name of "The 
Journal" till 1892. 

J. F. Hight and W. D. Deans bought the paper from. 
Smith, changed its name to "The Reformer" and again 
turned its interest to the Republican cause. After a short 
time they sold it to T. J. Murray, 1894, who devoted it en- 
tirely to the interests of the "Peoples Party. In 1895 the 
plant and office was burned. Thus ended the life of this 
struggling press, which had existed almost forty years in 
our midst. We realize now the necessity of the local paper, 
but it was not appreciated nor so well supported in its 
early existence as at the present time. "The Journal" was 
issued weekly for $1.00 a year until 1886 when the price 
was raised to $1.25. 

"The Johnson County Yoeman" was established here 
in 1874, by F. W. Shuckers of Cairo, and was first issued in 
the interest of the Farmers Club campaign. This paper 
was later devoted to the propagation of democratic prin- 
ciples, Shuckers was followed as editor by John T. Keith, 
who had charge for about two years, when T. G. Farris, Jr. 


took it over and continued its publication on this line till his 
death, in 1879, when the paper was discontinued and the 
press was moved to Metropolis. 

Dr. C. A. Parker established a Democratic paper 
here in June, 1888, calling it "The Egyptian Democrat." 
He sold it the following September to his brother, Lucas, 
who continued its publication for twenty-two years. This 
was a long time for a Democratic paper to survive in such 
a decidedly Republican community, demonstrating the pop- 
ularity of the editor. 

"The Burnside Bugler" was published semi-monthly 
at New Burnside by George Harris of that village, 1893, 
for a short time. R. A. Hundley bought the "Vienna Her- 
ald," a Republican paper published here, 1897, and moved 
it to Tunnel Hill where it was issued as "The Johnson 
County Republican." It lived less than a year. 

For a short while, from 1878 to 1880, there was only 
one Republican paper in Johnson County. In 1897 there 
were two Republican papers published here, "The Johnson 
County Herald" and "The Vienna Times," also one Demo- 
cratic paper "The Vienna Democrat." 

"The Goreville News" was a weekly paper founded in 
Goreville about 1901 by Isaac Cooper; its policy was inde- 
pendent. It was issued successively by John Cremeans, 
Cooper Stout, Ebert Thulen and finally sold to T. H. Sheri- 
dan in 1905. He brought it to Vienna and published it as 
"The Vienna News" till 1910. Sheridan engaged in a con- 
test, publishing scurrilous articles against the county 
officers and others which created a great deal of bad feel- 
ing. It engendered bitterness between some of the citizens 
of the county which took many years to overcome, and fin- 
ally resulted in Sheridan's killing of Harry Thacker, be- 
cause of an attack he had made on Harry's father, F. B. 
Thacker, as a county commissioner. In September, 1905, 
T. M. Jones, a citizen of Goreville Township, began publish- 
ing "The Goreville Record," W. H. Hardesty, a Mr. Bramble 
and J. U. S. Terry were editors of this paper at different 
times. It was suspended in 1913, having been issued as an 
independent journal. 

"The Commercial Enterprise" was a weekly paper 
edited and published in Cypress by J. S. Moffit. It began 


life in 1915 and was suspended some time in 1917. E. R. 
Estes also tried the experiment of issuing a paper in Cy- 
press beginning in 1920. It was called the "County Re- 
view" and was suspended after a short existence. Publish- 
ing a newspaper has been a very expensive business for the 
last few years on account of the high cost of labor and ma- 
terial and one must be well established to be able to make a 

In 1879 A. K. and M. W. Vickers began the publishing 
of a Democratic paper in Vienna, called "The Vienna 
Weekly Times," bringing the press from Metropolis. They 
remained in the journalistic field about a year. G. L. Stout 
followed as editor for a short while, when the paper was 
put in charge of T. J. Parker, 1882, and was issued in the 
interest of the Republican party. It was sold to George W. 
Ballance and Ed. F. Morton, 1883. There was quite a war 
of words between the "Johnson County Journal" and "The 
Vienna Times" under the regimes of Vickers and also of 
Morton but not of serious nature and only seemed to create 
a little amusement for the public. 

In 1885 W. H. Gilliam bought a half interest in "The 
Times" and the following year became sole owner and pub- 
lisher. He continued in this capacity till his death which 
occurred in 1919. Under his management the paper in- 
creased in circulation and influence; one could always de- 
pend on what they saw in "The Times." It is an established 
fact that no editor ever enjoyed the confidence of his read- 
ers more than did W. H. Gilliam, always loyal to his party, 
and scrupulously vigorous for the truth and right as he saw 
it. C. J. Huffman and H. T. Bridges bought the paper in 
1920. The following year Huffman sold to Bridges, who is 
now editor and proprietor. "The Vienna Times" has been 
a constant exponent of Republican doctrine and a weekly 
visitor in many homes for more than forty years. Its cir- 
culation is reaching out to every part of the United States 
where a loyal native born Johnson County son or daughter 
resides. This is the only paper published in the county and 
has a circulation of 2,200 (1924). 

The Vienna Public Library owes its origin to a dis- 
cussion held in the directors' room of the First National 


Bank of Vienna sometime during the year 1894. The con- 
versation was introduced by M. N. McCartney, Principal 
of the high school for the reason that he was striving to 
have the new high school meet the requirements of the 
State University, and the school district was not able finan- 
cially to furnish a high school library to meet the de- 
mands. Those present at this conference were P. T. Chap- 
man, A. K. Vickers, W. E. Beal, G. B. Gillespie, M. N. Mc- 
Cartney and John B. Jackson, each of whom expressed 
themselves as being in favor of a public library. It was 
advised that J. B. Jackson, M. N. McCartney, and Mrs. 
May Chapman circulate a subscription asking for donations 
of money, books, magazines and furniture to equip the 
room and pay for a few books and magazine subscriptions. 
The committee followed out the plan. P. T. Chapman was 
the largest cash subscriber, J. B. Jackson, Charles Cunning- 
ham, Sr., and M. N. McCartney were the second, each of 
the last named giving like amounts. Messrs. W. Y. Smith 
and W. C. Simpson gave a collection of books equal in value 
to Mr. Chapman's donation. Mrs. Winnie Bain subscribed 
cash and gave a large table to be used in the reading room, 
M. T. Van Cleve, Superintendent of Schools, donated a large 
office stove, business men and young people gave from five 
to twenty dollars each, high school students from twenty- 
five cents to one dollar each, all members of the city council 
ordered their salary for that year credited to the library 

John B. Jackson and M. N. McCartney wrote the ordin- 
ance authorizing the library as a city institution under the 
Illinois statutes known as the "two mill tax." The mem- 
bers of the council were Dr. A. H. Hooker, Julius Parker, 
and William Moore. The city attorney, George W. English, 
revised the ordinance. J. B. Jackson presented it for adop- 
tion. W. C. Simpson was mayor, and D. L. Chapman, as 
a member of the council moved to adopt the ordinance. 
Passage was thus effected at once. W. C. Simpson, as 
mayor, appointed as the first public library board, January 
2, 1895, W. Y. Smith, Reverend J. H. Ford, M. N. McCart- 
ney, J. B. Jackson, J. H. Carter, Sr., Elder G. Lay Wolfe, 
Mrs. May Chapman, Mrs. Sarah Poor, and Miss Sarah 
Whittenberg. The city council immediately tendered the 
use of the council chamber to be used as a library room. 
Miss Delia McKenzie was elected first librarian. J. B. 


Jackson visited the public library of Cairo, Illinois, and pro- 
cured copies of their rules, regulations and cards as a model 
for our modest beginning, thus the library was opened to 
the public, February 16, 1895 with the reading tables as the 
chief feature. The first subscriptions in money and material 
aggregated $400.00. The next tax levy amounted to $200.00. 
Almost every citizen of the town had some part in this en- 
terprise. Two women, Mrs. May Chapman and Mrs. Sarah 
Poor rendered very active service in establishing this 

The first meeting was held January 5, 1895 and the 
members present were McCartney, Ford, Smith, Poor, Whit- 
tenberg, Chapman and Jackson. M. N. McCartney was 
elected president and J. B. Jackson, secretary. Other com- 
mittees necessary for the maintaining of the work were 
appointed and things moved along well. The first location 
was a room in the Bratton and Ridenhower building, which 
stood about where Dave Roseberg's Clothing Store now 
stands. In March, 1896, the library was moved to what 
was then known as the Jobe building, where the hardware 
store of J. F. Farris is now located on Vine Street, paying 
twenty-five dollars per year and occupying it with the city 
council. The Vienna Womans Club furnished a room and 
held their meetings there, thus adding a room without extra 
expense to the library. We had three very good rooms here 
and had added quite a collection of books. In March, 1900, 
the books were damaged by fire from an adjoining build- 
ing, but the library continued in this building until July 7, 
1908, when the building including the library, was entirely 
destroyed by fire. The five hundred dollars insurance on 
the library was paid in full. Rooms were secured with the 
Womans Club in the Chapman Building, and the library re- 
opened in September, 1909, with a limited number of books, 
where it remained till our present commodious quarters, so 
graciously made possible by Andrew Carnegie, were ready. 

The secretary of the library board made application co 
Mr. Carnegie in 1901, but failed to secure a donation. In 
1907, Mrs. May Chapman as a member of the library board 
wrote Mr. Bertarm, Secretary to Mr. Carnegie, asking a 
donation for a building for the Vienna Public Library. A 
blank was received by W. C. Simpson, our mayor, setting 
forth the requirements which were that we furnish a suit- 
able lot and a yearly levy of ten per cent of the amount 


given for the building. A lot was purchased from O. E. 
Harvick at the consideration of $1,000. W. C. Simpson, T. 
E. Boyd, A. J. Kuykendall, as members of the board, were 
appointed to solicit the money. Mr. Harvick donated 
$250.00 on the price of the lot, and the next on the list was 
a cash subscription of $200.00 from P. T. Chapman. The 
remainder being immediately subscribed by the progressive 
and interested citizens of our town. After some delay about 
the plans the corner stone was laid January 18, 1911. The 
Masonic Fraternity performed the ceremony. Mr. T. E. 
Gillespie acted as Grand Master and Prof. A. L. Whitten- 
berg made the address. The original donation of Mr. Car- 
negie was $5,000 for the erection of the building. D. W. 
Whittenberg, Noel Whitehead, W. M. Grissom, Jr., formed 
the building committee. After the building had been begun, 
it was found more cash was needed to finish it. Mr. Car- 
negie quickly responded and the building was finished at a 
cost of $6,323.00, for which the citizens of Vienna feel very 
grateful to our benefactor. 

Vienna has a permanent improvement that not only 
adds beauty to the little city, but has laid for its future 
citizens a lasting foundation for improvement and culture. 
This building was dedicated with appropriate ceremonies 
October 12, 1911. The principal address was given by Hon. 
L. O. Whitnell, of East St. Louis, a former townsman. It 
was originally only open to residents of the city of Vienna, 
but since the building of the Vienna Township High School 
the privileges of the library have been extended to all within 
the high school limits. 

The following have served as members of the library 
board : J. H. Carter, Rev. G. Lay Wolfe, Rev. J. H. Ford, 
Mrs. May Chapman, Mrs. Sarah Poor, W. Y. Smith, Sarah 
P. Whittenberg, M. N. McCartney, John B. Jackson, G. B. 
Gillespie, Mrs. Delia Head, Mrs. Letha McFatridge, T. B. 
Powell, Mrs. Alice Damron, Rev. A. J. LeTell, A. J. Kuy- 
kendall, Ed. Boyt, W. C. Simpson, Mrs. O. R. Morgan, Mrs. 
N. J. Benson, T. H. Sheridan, Mrs. C. H. Gray, Lucas 
Parker, Mrs. Minnie Dwyer, G. W. English, W. M. Grissom, 
Noel Whitehead, Dr. R. A. McCall, C. J. Huffman, D. W. 
Whittenberg, F. R. Woelfle. The presidents of the board 
have been Prof. M. N. McCartney, J. H. Carter, Sr., Hon. 
G. W. English, and F. R. Woelfle, who is still serving. Our 


secretaries have been J. B. Jackson, W. Y. Smith, T. B. 
Powell, A. J. Kuykendall, Lucas Parker, D. W. Whittenberg, 
and C. J. Huffman. The following have been librarians: 
Miss Delia McKenzie, Mrs. Ada Gough, Miss Maggie Cole, 
Miss Bertie Bratton, Miss Winifred Jackson, Miss Bessie 
Chapman, Miss Fay Vander Plum and Miss Kate Gray, who 
is the present incumbent. For much of this history we are 
indebted to our first president, Prof. M. N. McCartney, who 
did invaluable work in the establishing of this needed in- 
stitution. He says that "After twenty-nine years of ex- 
perience this is the most harmonious and profitable enter- 
prise I have ever known to be organized in any struggling 
town, it has been a large factor in bringing the Vienna 
citizen body to the best read village population within my 


Religion and churches have gradually spread their 
civilizing influence over our county till one cannot help but 
realize how much these things have to do with the moral 
conditions of a community. The census of 1850 gives the 
churches of Johnson County as follows: Presbyterian 1, 
Baptist 3, Christian 1, Methodists 4. The first churches 
were held in the homes and school houses. One of the oldest 
churches in this county is Gillead, situated near Double 
Bridges, about two miles above Simpson. It is Presbyter- 
ian in denomination and was organized by James Alexander 
November 7, 1842. William Simpson, William Barnwell 
and Willis Simpson were the first elders; there were thir- 
teen other charter members, the families of these men, a 
Mrs. Brills and perhaps other names not known. The first 
building was erected in 1856. David H. Birch donated the 
land for the church. Some later members of this congrega- 
tion were B. M. Howell, John F. and J. L. Thomas, a Mrs. 
Trigg, George Hudson, Charles Bailey, Mary A. Thomas 
Eliza Perkins, and J. J. Simpson, now living at Creal 
Springs, was a member there sixty-five years ago. Lewis 
Simpson went out from this church as a minister. It is a 
live church today and a home coming held there in 1923 
gave evidence of its influence. 

Liberty Presbyterian church was first held in a school 
house northeast of Buncombe, near Latham Springs ; it was 
organized as early as 1850. This building was burned and 


a house was built near the present home of William Nobles 
on the farm of John Elkins. The church was dormant 
several years but was reorganized in 1886 by R. M. Pryor 
and the building was moved on the public road near che 
residence of Charles Peterson. The church house was fin- 
ally moved to Buncombe in 1908, and designated the First 
Presbyterian Church of Buncombe. They have had no pas- 
tor since 1917. Some of the first members of this church 
were William Barnett, Edward Dooley, Henry Mangum, 
John Elkins, Dee and Daniel Simpson, and their ramihes, 
Mrs. Mary E. Chapman, and Mr. Brills. Much of this data 
was obtained from old people and does not include all the 
members. The character members at the re-organization 
1886, were Gilbert and Mary Barnett, Jacob and M. A. 
Rebman, T. B. and Sarah J. Steward, Charles Jb°tts and 
Regina Mangum. In 1895 this church had thirty-three 
members. Some ministers of this church from 1859 were 
E. M. Brooks, G. W. May, T. B. Holloway, J. A. Hill, G. M. 
Abney, J. A. Whiteside, J. H. Morphis, B. G. Mangum, J. 
C. Thompson, Louis J. Simpson, and John Webb. 

Concord Society of the Presbyterian Church, which is 
situated near the home of P. W. Rose, east of Vienna about 
five miles, was organized by the Rev. William Standard, 
October 15, 1854. The first ruling elders were G. B. Veach, 
A. B. Jones, F. M. Stalcup, S. D. Poor, and Pleasant Rose. 
Other members were the families of these men, Jackson 
Murrie, Martha Veach, Barney Shelton, Artimissa Prim. 
The present building was erected in 1876, the architect was 
John M. Jones. Some other members at that time were, 
James Rose, James W. Damron, P. W. Rose, their families 
and Parthena and Elizabeth Veach, Wiley and Lucinda 
Holt. The baptism of two infant children of the last named 
family, Lucinda and Parnesia Holt, is recorded in this 
church, also the baptism of Charles L. and Emma D. Hogg, 
children of Rev. James and Rebecca Hogg. 

Goreville Presbyterian Church is also an old one, but 
there could be little definite data of the first organization 
found. Its home was the lower story of what is known as 
the Hall which stands between the old and new towns of 
Goreville. Some of the first members were Mrs. Mary J. 
Gore-Collins, Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Taylor, Mr. and Mrs. Bass, 
Mr. and Mrs. George Gibson. The church was dormant 


several years but was re-organized about 1890. Mrs. Mattie 
Jones, (who gave the data) says she remembers a minister 
by the name of Shadowens, who preached at this place. He 
never used a bible and the first thing he would say when he 
entered the pulpit was that, "he could not read a word to 
save ten thousand souls." but his sermons even in this day 
and age would be wonderful. 

Vienna had at one time a flourishing Presbyterian 
Church, which no doubt, was the strongest church here, at 
the time of the building of the Union Church on the hill, 
where the Baptist Church now stands, as the deed to the 
church house was made to the Presbyterians, while the 
Methodists and Baptists were given the privilege of using 
it. This was the first church built in the town. The Pres- 
byterian organization was formed sometime before 1854. 
Samuel Copeland and family, Henry and Mary Bridges, 
James H. Carter and family, James Hogg and family, atid 
no doubt other families were members of this first church. 
It has been dissolved for many years, the members having 
gone into other churches. 

Some of the early ministers of the Presbyterian Church 
were William Standard, James Hogg, T. P. Wells, William 
Mangum, and W. M. Hamilton, the first mentioned was pos- 
sibly the first minister of this denomination in this section. 

There were two Presbyterian Churches organized in 
the county after 1883, one at Latham Springs, north and 
the other southwest of Vienna, called Bethal; both have 
been abandoned. (This information was given by J. T. 
Davidson.) No doubt the reason for so many of the Pres- 
byterian churches being dormant in this section is that the 
Cumberland Presbyterian and Presbyterian Churches were 
united in 1906 into the "Presbyterian Church of the United 
States." Many of the members of the Cumberland Presby- 
terian rebelled against this action and refused to go with 
the main body of the church. 

Pleasant Ridge Presbyterian Church near Bloomfield 
was organized 1868 by Louis J. Simpson. Some of the 
first elders were J. V. and Henry Waters, George Cooper, 
John Whiteside, John Cooper, John Harper, and their fam- 
ilies and others whose names could not be obtained. Some 
of the ministers have been Rev. Wykoff, Charles Hutchison, 


and Rev. Rumsey, Rev. J. H. Morphis entered the ministry 
from this county 1875, and has been a wonderful inspiration 
to the Presbyterians here. He has been called to labor else- 
where, but says he hopes to spend his last days among the 
people of this county. 

There are eleven Missionary Baptist Churches in the 
county at the present time. There could be no data had 
from Cypress, Ozark or Cedar Creek. This church was 
organized in 1836, and is, no doubt, the oldest Baptist 
church in the county. The church directory gives W. K. 
Brunson, as pastor, and G. B. Shaffer as clerk of Cypress 
Church, W. L. Motsinger and 0. E. Stout, as clerk of Ozark 
Church, A. N. Jones of Ewing is given as pastor and E. E. 
Rushing as clerk of Cedar Creek Church. The death of 
Mr. Rushing last year is, no doubt, the reason no data could 
be obtained from that society. 

Friendship Baptist Church is an old church of the 
county. It was organized in July 1841, at the house of 
Elijah Stalcup, who lived on the farm where Charles Deans 
now resides, with nine members as follows : Richard Char- 
les and Elizabeth Walker, Issac Worley, Mary and Elizabeth 
Simmons, Elizabeth Nichols, Edith and Elizabeth Johnson. 
The church is located east of Vienna on the Vienna and 
Golconda Road. The pastor in 1922 was B. J. Murrie, the 
clerk was W. P. Walker. 

Mt. Zion Church is located near Buncombe and was 
organized in 1850. The charter members were George Cal- 
houn, William Evans, Mrs. Mariah Looney, Thomas and 
Betty Scott, Jackson Worley, and William Pearce. The last 
named serving as first pastor, Carol Morris, David Culp and 
George Johnson were other early pastors. As to salary they 
received anything from a hog's jaw to $10 per year. There 
is a cemetery near this church in which two soldiers of the 
Civil War were the first to be buried. Their names were 
Bole Lovelace and Harrison Scott. H. C. Croslin was pas- 
tor and Mrs. Mary Stewart was clerk, 1922. 

County Line Church was organized in 1854. Some of 
the first members were Peter and Cynthia Simmons, James 
M. and Jersey Triplett, Daniel M. and Ruth M. Kerley, J. 
R. and Sarah Tucker, William and Brilla Ann, Louisa, 
Mary, Delila, and Mary E. Nichlos, Ezekiel Bowman, W. H. 


and Elizabeth Hunt, Jane and Aaron Corn, Sarah Allen and 
Mary Dixon, the Ragians, Morris and Burns, families were 
also members. David Ragins was ordained to preach from 
this society many years ago. The clerk, states the records 
do not go farther back than 1870. George Smothers was 
pastor and Wayne Morris the clerk, 1922. 

Goreville Baptist Church had its beginning in 1870. 
The society was first organized about two miles north of 
Goreville and called Cana Baptist Church. The following 
were charter members : James P. Henry, Harriet and Eliza- 
beth Burns, Simpson and Jane Rawhuff, Hannah Hubbard, 
R. Y. Gurley, and Reuben Henderson, Elder William D. 
Pearce was the first pastor. In August, 1920 this church 
was moved to Goreville and assumed the name of Goreville 
Baptist Church. Homer Martin was the pastor and Dr. I. 
N. Graves the clerk, 1922. Elder Martin went out as a 
minister of this congregation. 

Pleasant Grove Baptist Church was organized August 
7, 1890. The charter members were W. C. and Catherine 
Wilson, James Belle and Mary E. Mathis, Lavia Ann John- 
son, and Elizabeth Hogg. This church is situated east of 
Vienna, near the road leading to Metropolis. The pastor 
for 1922 was H. C. Croslin, and Mrs. Ida Beach, was clerk. 

The First Baptist Church of Simpson was begun by 
Elder A. R. Tucker in 1876 at the McKee Schoolhouse, but 
an organization was not effected till 1886, when seven 
members were secured and through the efforts of J. A. 
Kerley, B. A. McNeely, and J. R. Tucker, the work was 
completed, and the church was known as the Pleasant Hill 
Baptist Church. In 1891 this church was moved to Simp- 
son and services were held in the schoolhouse till 1898, 
when the present home was built. Pastor for 1922, J. D. 
Vaughn, clerk J. A. Smoot. 

The Vienna Baptist Church was organized sometime 
before 1850, but the records have been burned and the ex- 
act date and early members cannot be obtained. Mrs. D. 
Y. Bridgs, Samuel and Ursula Hess, J. H. and Lucy Card, 
were a few of the original members. The society was dor- 
mant for some time but re-organized in 1886. Some of the 
members at that time were J. S. Bridges, H. Ragins and 
their families, Mrs. Addie Morgan and Mrs. Elizabeth Brat- 
ton. H. C. Croslin was pastor and H. Ragain clerk, 1922. 


The Grantsburg Baptist Church located at Grantsburg 
was organized in 1896. Some of the first members were 
India, Elizabeth, George Ella and Delia Modglin, J. P. and 
Amanda Trovillion, A. D., Edith and Sarah Howell, Murlie 
Evans, Elizabeth and Mayme Bowman, Minnie Trovillion, 
F. M. and Ella Simmons, Grace Bivins, Lilly Farauah, Flora 
Stout, Maude Grisham, Medora Hazel, Mary Champhire, 
Olaf Ragsdale, Pearl Slankard, T. B. Shelton, Frank Will- 
iams, Fannie Reed, Cambell Allard, P. G. Burris, Alma and 
Anna Howell, Mrs. Gerturude Huffman Allard was clerk in 

Some ministers of the Missionary Baptist Church who 
have served the churches and have been influential in build- 
ing up this organization in the county (given by Elder L. L. 
Smoot) are as follows: Carol Morris, was an uneducated 
man, but his success was due to his great faith in God and 
power in prayer. David Ragains was born in North Caro- 
lina in 1812; began his ministry from County Line Church 
in 1853. He accomplished a great deal of good in this coun- 
ty with very little renumeration, continuing his work until 
1887. Elders Wilifred, William and Hekiah Ferell were 
among the pioneer preachers here as early as 1842. W. F. 
Van Cleve was a native of Kentucky, born in 1813, came to 
this county in 1850. He was pastor of Cedar Creek Baptist 
Church seventeen years, a useful and well informed man. 
Elder W. B. Pearce was born in Illinois, came to this county 
in 1842, was ordained in 1849. He made many sacrifices 
for the cause of The Kingdom. W. P. Throgmorton was 
born in Tennessee, began preaching in 1871. In 1877 he 
became editor of the "Baptist Banner," and is now editor 
of the Illinois Baptist, published at Marion, Illinois. W. S. 
Blackman, served in the Union Army, entered the ministry 
in 1872. He was a man of very strong personality and did 
much good work among the people of this county. J. K. 
Trovillion belonged in Pope County and has also been 
valuable to the churches here. Elder J. L. Morton was 
born in Virginia in 1809 and came to Johnson County, in 
1862. He was ordained to preach in 1839 and probably 
preached as long as any man in this section. He delivered 
a sermon at New Burnside the day he was ninety-four years 
old, with zeal and earnestness. He had baptized one thous- 
and converts. His ministry extended over sixty years. Joel 
Johnson was a member of Friendship Church and did much 


valuable work for his church. G. W. Smith and T. F. 
Pullen of Massac County did ministry work in this county 
as pastors and evangelists. E. R. Steagal was for many 
years a missionary here also a pastor of much success. W. 
A. Spence who served as State Senator from this district in 
1922 is one of the most able ministers of this state, and is 
a man among men, blazing his way through his own efforts 
from obscurity to an honored position. He has served 
several churches here as pastor. John Adams was another 
minister of this county. W. W. Woodside is another who 
served as a minister here. E. H. Caldwell, lived many 
years among the people, and devoted his life to the promo- 
tion of Christianity and the uplift of this community. Elder 
A. W. Carlton, a native of Kentucky, came here in 1850, 
was a member of the Baptist Church seventy years and 
preached over forty. Elder L. L. Smoot is a native of John- 
son County and was ordained to preach in 1890. He has 
served many churches as pastor and held many successful 
revivals. He is now a state evangelist of the Baptist Asso- 
ciation. Other names of Baptist ministers are G. W. Pal- 
meiiee, W. C. Cox, J. P. Trovillion, A. L. McNeeley, 0. J. 
Taylor, James and Bert Baker. Elder L. L. Smoot, esti- 
mates the number of members of the Baptist Church of 
this county as about one thousand three hundred. 

There are two Primitive Baptist churches in the coun- 
ty, one called Little Flock, situated about two miles south 
east of Ozark. It was organized about 1859, in William 
Frizzell's barn. The charter members were William Friz- 
zell and wife, Abe Miller and Wife, William Simpson and 
wife, John Chester and wife, Elijah Reeves and wife, Mrs. 
Catherine Rushing, Mrs. A. Nickols. Mrs. Jane Rushing, 
who is now eighty-four years old is the only living charter 
member. They built a church house later and are still 
carrying on their work. Mrs. N. L. Chester is a member 
of this church at present and G. W. Rushing is the clerk. 
Some of their pastors have been Richard Fulkerson, William 
Gouge and Lemuel Potter. Rock Springs is another church. 
of this faith located near Simpson. 

There are two General Baptist churches in this county. 
They belong to the Ohio Association, which was organized 
in 1854. Bethal is the name of one church. It is situated in 
the northern part of the county and was organized in 1864. 


Friendship church, of this denomination, was organized the 
same year and is located three miles northwest of Goreville. 
No names of ministers or members can be obtained except 
that of Isiah Lowery, a prominent farmer, of Tunnell Hill 
Township, who kindly gave the above information. 

There are four Christian Churches, sometimes called 
the Disciples of Christ in this county at the present time. 
There was one church of this denomination in 1850. The 
following data is from N. S. Haynes' History of this church, 
Miss Lilly Parker and J. F. Hight. Bethlehem church was 
organized in 1847 by Minister Wooten. It is thought to 
be the oldest church of the county. Their first meetings 
were held in a brush arbor. A log house was built and 
later a frame was erected. Norman Mozley, Sr., was the 
leading spirit and associated with him were other faithful 
men and women, the Carltons, Helms, and Hights. There 
has been little increase in this church in the last twenty 
years. Elder J. F. Hight went into the ministry from 
this congregation. Marshall Starks, Matthew Willson and 
Rev. Heap were some of the first ministers. 

Berea church of this faith is located about five miles 
southeast from Vienna, organized a few years after Bethle- 
hem by Matthew Wilson. Its history is very similiar. The 
families of Pickens, Starks, Gage, and Albritten were prom- 
inent in the work at Berea. Beverly Albritton was a local 
preacher who came from the south and settled in this 
neighborhood. He and his son, George served the church 
as elders almost continuously since its origin. Wiley F. 
and Daniel M. Mathis were two ministers who went out 
from this church. 

New Burnside church, another of the Christian denom- 
ination, was organized in 1875 and a house of worship 
built. Some of the first members were James Hester and 
wife, Frank Graham and wife, John Clymer and wife, Dave 
Shearer and wife, and Mrs. Asher. Some of the first min- 
isters were Stanton Fields, R. B. Trimble, Jesse Higby and 
Rev. Curfees. 

There was a church of this denomination at or near 
West Vienna as early as 1860, called Gum Springs. They 
had built a log house and an evanglist John Lemon, as 
well as Dr. Bundy, and Matthew Wilson visited them and 


held meetings about the year 1865. Some of the members 
at that time were Mr. and Mrs. Dick Venable, Mr. and 
Mrs. Henry Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Jackson Anderson, Mr. 
and Mrs. Samuel M. Glassford, Mr. and Mrs. John Racy 
and Mrs. Ann Calhoun Lemon and his son Josephus came 
as refugees from the south. They were the leading mem- 
bers of the Gum Springs church. Many of the other mem- 
bers were refugees and after the close of the Civil War 
many of them returned to their homes and the church was 
dormant for sometime. The remaining members, however, 
formed a nucleus for the founding of a church at Vienna. 
The first meetings at Vienna were held in the C. P. Church, 
later in the hall in the Chapman and Hess building. Some 
of the charter members of this church were Felix Boyt and 
wife, Benjamin Bellemy and wife, B. Jones and wife, Ber- 
ton Sexton and wife, Duke Smith and wife, beside the mem- 
bers from Gum Spring. Two of the early ministers were 
Rev. Banteau and Duke Smith. Rev. R. R. McCall, who 
came here in 1860, and Rev. I. A. J. Parker who came a 
little later were helpful in building up the church at Vienna. 
In 1871 the present brick building was erected. S. M. 
Glassford and wife were most liberal givers, also Mrs. 
Mary (Frances) Mackey. November, 1884, I. A. J. Parker 
was ordained by R. R. Trimble and preached for this con- 
gregation eight years. J. T. Alsup, Willis A. and B. E. 
Parker have gone out from this church as preachers of the 

Belknap Christian church was organized in 1895 by 
Elder G. Lay Wolf. Some of the charter members were W. 
H. Gibbons, A. M. Kean, J. B. McDowell, W. C. Wyatt and 
A. M. Wilson. They have had as ministers, Elders I. A. J. 
Parker, Sheak, Karker and Freeman. They worshiped in 
a rented building for some time. Later they built a beauti- 
ful little frame church home, which was dedicated by Fred 
Jones, Illinois State Secretary for Christian Missionary 

Grantsburg Christian church was organized in 1902 
by John U. Cowan, with the help of W. B. Bivins. 

There was a small congregation of this belief in Elvira 
in 1879. When minister Shelton moved away the congre- 
gation scattered. There was also a small band at Union 
Hill in 1900, but it continued only a short time. In the 


seventies J. W. Bradley of Clay County, Stanton Fields and 
J. W. Radclilf did good work in the county as revivalists. 

In 1869 Clark Braden a Christian minister, and G. W. 
Hughey of the Methodist Episcopal church debated at 
Vienna on Baptism, the work of the Holy Spirit and the 
Methodist discipline. If any kindlier feeling was created or 
any Christians made from this discussion it has not been 

The Catholic church, a small frame building was dedi- 
cated at Vienna in 1896. There is also a Catholic church 
at New Burnside. The membership of these churches is 
very limited in this county. For a short time there was a 
resident priest in Vienna who also held services at New 
Burnisde, but at present the priest resides at Stone Fort, 
coming here every two weeks. He also holds services at 
New Burnside. 

A Congregational Society was organized at Vienna in 
1893 and the cornerstone of their building was laid the same 
year, and it was dedicated in 1899. Some of the charter 
members of this church were Mr. and Mrs. G. H. Bridges, 
Mr. and Mrs. L. A. Williams, Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Slan- 
kard, Mr. and Mrs. Robert Thacker and family, Mesdames 
Edith Smith, Delia Head, Matilda Mahl, Margaret Ballow, 
and Ann Jones. Some of the ministers serving in this 
church were Revs. Mosslander, Perdue, J. H. Lippard. C. 
L. Westman, Murry, Knighten Bloom and Evan Wiggle. The 
church became inactive several years ago and the building 
which stood on the corner of Second and Green streets was 
razed in 1920. 

, The Pentacostal church was organized in Vienna in 
1908 by Mrs. Humphrey, with forty members. They have 
a frame church but seldom have services. Some of their 
first members were Mr. and Mrs. Henen Russell, Aldred 
Hooker, Mrs. Stewart Sutliff and the Furguson families. 

There is a church of this denomination at Belknap. 
William Sutliff is the pastor, with about twenty members, 
some of whom are Mrs. Mercher, Mrs. Payne, Dick Smith 
and family, and Mrs. Evers. There is also a small group 
of this faith in Goreville. Rev. Sutliff estimates the whole 
number of Pentacostal members in the county as one hun- 


There were at one time a few United Brethern 
churches in the county. Fairview, Ballow, and Number 
9; they were established about 1903. These churches seem 
to have gone down, and there is not, at present, a pastor 
of this denomination in the county. 

Southern Methodist churches were organized at one or 
two points in the county about 1912, but there are no living 
churches at present unless there is one at Foreman. 

The Church of Latter-Day Saints 
The church in Johnson County is in strict harmony 
with the church as re-organized, April 6, 1860, by Joseph 
Smith, the son of the prophet. After the death of Joseph 
Smith, the prophet, at Carthage, Illinois, a band of saints 
went to Utah under the leadership of Brigham Young, and 
here in the desert land they founded the Church of Jesus 
Christ as they styled it, and introduced the plurality of 
wives or polygamy in this country. 

The re-organized church has never been connected in 
any way with any of the movements or practices of the 
Utah church. It may be well to state here that separate 
headquarters for each church are maintained, and that 
neither organization is responsible to the other for any pub- 
lications or appointments made. The re-organized church 
has its headquarters at Independence, Missouri. 

The initial movement of the church in Johnson County 
began about 1861 and 1862, when William H. Kelley, son 
of Richard Y. Kelley, came to Illinois on a mission, and 
while here, baptised a number of people. Later in the six- 
ties, Bejamin H. Ballowe did ministerial work in this coun- 
ty and added some names to the list of members of the 

But the beginning of the work, properly speaking, be- 
gan in the summer of 1874, when Joseph C. Clapp came 
into the county and established objectives at Tunnel Hill 
and what was known as the Webb school house. 

This movement was followed in December of the same 
year by Geo. H. Hilliard and Issac A. Morris, both of Wayne 
County, Illinois. A number were baptised at this time. 
The next year, in August, 1875, the church was organized 
by Geo. H. Hilliard and some others at the Webb school 


house in Tunnell Hill Township. Leander H. Kelley was 
chosen presiding elder of the organization, Elisha Webb, 
presiding priest, and Issac M. Smith, teacher. 

A movement was started to erect a church, and the 
building was completed in the autumn of 1879. Some of 
the first members of the church were: Richard Y. Smith 
and wife; Leander H. Kelley and Rhoda Kelley, his wife; 
Elisha Webb and Nancy C. Webb, his wife; Daniel Webb 
Sr,. and Rebecca Webb, his wife ; Caroline Burklow ; Joseph 
Smith, Sr., and Samuel H. Simmons. 

There is only one congregation of this church in the 
county. It has a membership, local and scattered, of about 
two hundred persons. Among the ministers going out from 
this church are Elders Issac M. Smith, associate editor 
Zion's Ensign, Independence, Missouri; Elders Thos. N. 
and William R. Smith, Knobnoster, Missouri, Elder Thos. 
C. Kelley, Independence, Missouri; Elder Peter G. Mc- 
Mahan, Tunnel Hill, Illinois; Elder Lloyd C. Moore, Mt. 
Carmel, Ilinois and E. W. Sutton, Vienna, Illinois. 

This church functions in the different departments of 
church work. It maintains a Sunday School, and Zion's 
Religio-Literary Society for the benefit of, not only its own 
members, but for all who will assist in these activities. 
The church is also supported by a ladies' aid whose mem- 
bership is representative of the leading women of the 
church and community. 

(Contributed by Rev. E. W. Sutton. ) 

In 1805 there was only one M. E. Church Conference 
in the Mississippi Valley. It was called the Western Con- 
ference. It had four circuits, Holstine, Cumberland, Ken- 
tucky and Ohio. This county was in Western Conference 
territory, but whether we had any M. E. Church here at 
that time or a church of any denomination is not known. 
Joseph Lillard is given as the first M. E. preacher in the 
state, coming to New Design, in Monroe County, in 1793, 
but there is no record of his having visited this section. The 
Western Conference was divided into the Tennessee and 
Ohio Conferences in 1816. Johnson County became a part 
of the Tennessee Conference. We remained with this 
division until 1824. We were then placed in the Illinois 
Conference where we held our membership until 1851, when 


Southern Illinois was set apart and we naturally fell into 
their territory and are still a part of this division. 

J. M. Peck, an Illinois Historian says that Josiah Pat- 
erson, an M. E. minister, preached in settlements near the 
Ohio River in 1814 and 1815. There were four circuits in 
1815, namely, Illinois, Okaw, Massac and Wabash. From 
the history of the Methodist Conference, we find that Jesse 
Walker was presiding elder of the Illinois Circuit in 1806, 
and John Clyman was pastor of the same circuit in 1807. 
Amos Abrahams was pastor of this circuit in 1809 and 
Samuel Parker was Presiding Elder. The M. E. Notes de- 
scribes the Illinois Circuits as follows, "To the east of New 
Design, which was in Monroe County, at various points on 
Big Bay and Cache River, Illinois." Jacob Whiteside, of 
Western Conference served on Cache River and Big Bay 
from 1815 to 1818. In 1817, W. R. Jones served with Jacob 
Whiteside. Thomas Davis was assigned to Big Bay in 1815, 
and Francis Moon was pastor of Cache River Circuit in 
1820. Joseph Paterson in 1824, Asa D. West in 1825.— M. 
E. Church Notes. 

Peter Cartwight says Mt. Carmel, Wabash, Carmi, Mt. 
Vernon and Cache River circuits were known as Wabash 
district in 1826, and Charles Holiday was the presiding 

The first M. E. Church mentioned in history that 
could have been in this county is Massac church, which was 
formed in 1810 with fifteen members, and was attached to 
Kaskaskia Circuit. The location of this church is not 
known, but it must have been within the bounds of the first 
Johnson County. Cache Creek Circuit was formed in 1810, 
with Thomas Kirkham given as pastor. — (M. E. Church 

From the census of 1850 there were four M. E. 
Churches in this county but their names and locations are 
not given. Tradition points strongly to West Eden as one. 
The founder of the West family was a Methodist minister, 
who probably thought after the founding of a home the next 
duty he owed his family was to establish a church. Heze- 
kiah West's house was the home of the church until it was 
possible to build a place of worship. They first erected a 
large log house and called the church Eden. It was 


located where the West Eden School house now stands and 
was the gathering place for all the settlers for many miles 
around. This church and neighborhood was so vitally 
associated with the West family that it was finally called 
West Eden. The exact date of organization is not known, 
but must have been before 1813. The names of the pastors 
will be found in the conference list. The first members 
were the West, Carter, Axley, Peterson, Mercer and Martin 
families. A little later came the Deans, Peelers, Caspers 
and others. Many of the descendants of these families are 
still connected with this church. A neat frame building has 
long since replaced the log one. This church has an un- 
broken record of activity for more than a century and is 
still filling the purpose for which it was organized. 

Mt. Pisgah is another old church, a little farther west 
and near the county line of Union. Rix Carter, a son-in-law 
of Hezekiah West raised a large family in that neighbor- 
hood and was one of its founders. Two of his sons, Revs. 
Moulton and William Carter were M. E. ministers. The 
Mulkey Brown, Joel Dubois, John and Linsfield Shadrick 
families and Mrs. Robert Hood were some of the members 
of this early church. It was organized before 1860 and 
the first house was built during the Civil War. A second 
one was built in 1892 and they are now erecting a third, 
(1923). Exemplifying the interest that is alive in this 
church; some of the later members are John and Samuel 
Brown, James Enos, W. Y. Davis, Frank Wilkinson, their 
families and others. 

Cedar Grove was also an M. E. Church of that section, 
which must have been organized before 1860. There can 
be no definite data secured except that in 1900, Mr. J. C. 
Carter had been a member of this church thirty-five years. 
Some of the leading members who with others formed 
Cypress church that year were W. J. Hartman, J. C. Carter, 
J. W. Hunter, T. M. Bean, and their families. Two of the 
pastors of Cedar Grove church were Dr. 0. H. Clark and 
Rev. Root. Some serving Cypress have been Revs. C. E. 
Connett, Davidson, S. S. Smith, Bernieking, and Todd. 
This is one of the live churches of the county. 

Reynoldsburg church was organized in 1833 at the 
home of William Harper and must have been another one 
of the M. E. churches given in 1850. It was first called 


Cross Roads and a log house was erected the year of its 
beginning, and in 1853 a frame church was built. The 
builder was a Mr. Epperson, who was an adept carpenter. 
The frame work was hewed out instead of sawed. 

The Presbyterians worshipped with the Methodist in 
this building for some time with Lewis Simpson as pastor, 
after his death the Methodists bought out the Presbyterians. 
In 1891 the present building was erected Lewis Epperson, 
a son of the first Mr. Epperson was the builder. Hon. L. 
0. Whitnel, who was raised in the neighborhood donated 
the bell. Some of the first members of this church were 
William and James Harper, T. J. Cook and their wives, 
some later ones were Wesley Reynolds, F. M. McGee, 
Thomas Reynolds and their families and Mrs. Mary (Gray) 
Peterson with her family, Dr. Josiah Whitnel lent his 
influence. This church is not far from the century mark 
and still doing good work. It was at one time the head of 
a circuit, has been on the Vienna circuit and is now on the 
Burnside circuit. 

The Vienna class was formed in 1842 under the leader- 
ship of Dr. Stewart, who was a local preacher. It is first 
given on the conference records as the head of a circuit in 
1852. Some of the first members found were John Bain, A.J. 
Kuykendall and their families. The old church records 
have been lost and only names found in the Quarterly meet- 
ings and Conference records could be obtained. Dr. J. N. 
Giay and wife are found on early records, Dr. W. A. Looney 
and Dr. J. H. Norris are found faithful attendants at the 
business meetings and among the financial supporters. John 
and Winnie Bain were members of this church from its 
beginning and were faithful in attendance and support 
throughout their lives. A memorial window was placed in 
the church after their death as a most appropriate 
tribute. It was destroyed in the recent fire (1924). The 
first pastor of this church was R. E. Chase with C. R. Mc- 
lntire, as Presiding Elder. The list which follows is as 
near correct as could be obtained and those up to the time 
of Reverend J. G. Dee, also served the circuit. Reverends 
R. E. Chase, S. W. McGinnis, P. C. Lopas, J. L. 
Thomas, E. Joyce, J. W. Love, V. D. Lingenfelter, J. G. 
Hardy, L. Walker, H. Chapman, W. Williams, 0. Bruner, 
J. P. Rutherford, John Thacker, U. C. Dickerson, F. M. 


Van Treece, I. E. Driver, J. B. F. Hill, H. Delicate, W. B. 
Foster, I. D. Peterson, A. L. Downy, J. H. Garret, J. W. 
Fields, J. H. McGriff, P. L. Hooker, R. P. Hammons, N. 
Crow, W. M. Powis, E. Barnes, J. G. Dee, J. W. Jackson, J. 
R. Royce, J. H. Ford, A. J. Littell, W. D. Margrave, 0. H. 
Clark, L. S. McKowan, J. G. Harmon, C. S. Tritt, W. W. 
Kemper, J. B. Jones. 

Up to 1886 the M. E. church had worshipped in the 
old Union church. A building committee was appointed 
that year composed of W. A. Looney, M. A. Smith, Mrs. 
May Chapman, F. M. Simpson, and Mrs. Emma Benson. 
In 1887 the building committee was changed to W. A. 
Looney, A. K. Vickers, F. M. Simpson and P. T. Chapman. 
The building was begun under the pastorate of W. M. 
Powis and finished under the regime of J. G. Dee who 
rendered most valuable aid, and it was dedicated by Bishop 
Bowman in 1889. About this time Mrs. A. K. Vickers and 
Mrs. P. T. Chapman circulated a petition and secured 
enough subscribers to make Vienna a station. The first 
Epworth League was organized during the pastorate of 
J. G. Dee in 1888, with Mrs. Ruth Chapman First Vice- 
President, J. H. Carter, Jr., Second Vice-President, Mrs. 
May Jackson, Secretary and Will F. Perkins, Treasurer. 
The Ladies' Aid Society of the M. E. Church was organized 
at the home of Mrs. Lide Kuykendall in 1885. 

There have been a great many revivals in different 
churches in the town, but the most far reaching ones were 
those held by Reverend Oscar Lowery, who was born and 
raised near Cypress, this county. He was assisted by a 
Mr. Moody and wife, who lead the singing. There were 
three hundred conversions. This meeting was held in 1909. 
Reverend Roy Mitchell assisted by a Mr. Preston and wife 
held the second one in 1916, with one hundred seventy- 
seven conversions. 

The M. E. churches were placed on different circuits 
from time to time and they were not always all in this 
county. The first circuit (given in the conference records) 
was Vienna as a mission circuit in 1853, at the first South- 
ern Illinois Conference which was held at Belleville that 
year. The following appointments were given on Vienna 
circuit about ten yeais later at a quarterly meeting held 
at Cummins schoolhouse, March 14, 1863; Vienna, Harrells. 


Cedar Bluff, Zion, Cross Roads, Finley, County Line, 
Hooker, Sutliff, Mt. Pleasant and Cave Creek, Union Hill, 
Casey Springs and Central Schoolhouse, although classes 
were not formed at all these places. Vienna is given first 
and recorded as giving two dollars for the support of the 
Gospel for that Quarter, the amount was turned over to 
the pastor's wife, Mrs. Williams. 

Cedar Bluff M. E. Class was first held at the residence 
of J. M. Benson, but later held in the Cedar Bluff school 
house in Tunnel Hill Township, which was located just be- 
yond the present home of Frank Carson. J. M. and I. M. 
Benson and C. C. Damron, John Albright, Daniel Rendle- 
man, John Carson and their families early Methodists of 
that section, were the founders. A little later A. E. Francis, 
Lee Chapman, and their families, together with some mem- 
bers of W. H. Whittenburg's and D. C. Chapman's families 
had joined this class. There was a church class at the 
Miller school house a few miles south of Cedar Bluff. 
Wesley Miller was one of the main members. The two 
classes combined and built a church in 1872 naming it 
Wesley Chapel. In 1886 there were nine Bensons belonging 
to this church out of a membership of twenty-one. This 
was for many years a flourishing church, but the members 
have died or moved away, until A. G. Benson's family is all 
that is left of this once influential organization, and the 
pretty little white chapel, now deserted sits quietly beside 
the road, among the beautiful forest trees and silently waits 
the dawning of a new day for country churches, or final de- 
cay. This building was sold to F. C. Thomas to be em- 
bodied in a dwelling, 1924. 

Finley M. E. Church was organized about 1855. 
William Finley and J. S. Whittenberg were the moving 
spirits in this church for many years. A log church was 
built in 1866, about two miles west of Parker, in Burniside 
Township and called Finley Chapel. This was quite a large 
congregation for many years.. Elihu Vaughn and wife 
were also among the first members. Rev. L. L. Vaughn, a 
local preacher of that community was ordained from this 
church, and still holds his membership there. In 1900 under 
the leadership of Rev. W. G. Hale, they raised the money 
to build a small chapel, which is located about one mile 
west of Parker. The church has lost many of its members 


-by death and removals and consequently much of its old 
time vigor. It is still an appointment on the Burnside 
circuit (1924). 

Central M. E. Church is situated in the southeast part 
of the county. A class was formed about 1850, perhaps 
earlier. Jason B. Smith was one of the founders and church 
meetings were held at his house until the free school law 
was passed, when it was continued to be held in the Central 
school hoiise, till 1870, when a building was erected. It was 
dedicated by the Reverend Peter Cartwright. Zackariah 
W. Calhoun was associated with J. B. Smith in this early 
church work and was an earnest and faithful member, un- 
til his death, about 1865. Some other members were, C. A. 
Bain, J. J. Pierce, William Helm, Charles T. and W. L. 
Reed, William T. Cagle, J. A. Smith and W. H. Horner with 
members of their families. This is still a live church. 

Benton M. E. Church was organized about the same 
time as the Central class and located in the same section of 
the county. The Marberrys, Fishers, Cummins, Culvers, 
Moses Comer, W. M. Helm and their families were some of 
the members forming this church, and many of the descen- 
dants of these families are carrying on the work at present. 
This church is known as "the home of the Cummins." A 
home coming was held in this church in 1917, under the 
management of Reverend C. A. Campbell, which lasted a 
week. It was a unique and pleasant gathering. This 
church has sent out seventeen ministers in thirty years and 
fourteen are still in the work. Johnson County has sent 
out more ministers than any other county of its population, 
in the United States. Mrs. A. E. Cummins, daughter of 
Jason B. Smith, was a member of this church and has five 
sons who are M. E. ministers. In 1886 there were thirty 
Cummins and nine Marberrys belonging to this church. 

Mt. Pleasant M. E. Church is situated about five miles 
northeast of Vienna at the Taylor Cemetery. It was 
organized sometime before 1863. James Peterson was one 
of the first members. The Peterson, Taylor and Simpson 
families formed the larger quota of the membership there. 
It is a live church at the present and belongs to the Burn- 
side circuit. 

Casey Springs is another M. E. Church bordering on 


three quarters of a century in age. It is situated four and 
a half miles east of Vienna. Some of the first official mem- 
bers were M. B. Bain, J. M. Williams, P. W. McFatridge, 
William Thompson, William Murrie, and Louis Siebman. 
Regular services are not held here at the present time but 
it belongs to the Burnside circuit. 

Chism was an appointment on record in 1865. The 
meetings were held in the Chism school house which took 
its name from William Chism, an old resident of the 
northern part of Tunnell Hill Township. Some of his de- 
scendants still reside there. This church has been aban- 
doned for more than fifty years. 

Grantsburg is another appointment given about the 
same time as Chism. The services were held in the school 
house of that locality, and J. L. Thomas, A. Franklin, J. 
and W. L. Young were given as official members. There 
is no record of a church building having been erected and 
this class has long since ceased to be. 

Union Hill is given as an appointment on the Quarterly 
conference records, 1865, but no knowledge of its location 
or members can be found. Stewart school house appoint- 
ment three miles north of Vienna was taken in 1868, also 
Whiteside school house appointment, the same year. Mor- 
gan school house was an appointment in 1869. No further 
knowledge of these classes could be obtained. 

Some of the presiding elders for the early period of 
the M. E. Church were Reverends J. H. Hill, J. W. Lowe, 
G. W. Hughy, A. B. Morrison, W. J. Grant, C. D. Lingen- 
felter, James Harris, J. L. Wallar, J. W. Van Cleve and J. 
B. Ravenscroft. 

Cross Roads does not appear later than 1865, as its 
name was changed to Reynoldsburg. Zion was just across 
the county line in Union and near Moscow. County Line 
was in the northen part of the county near the present site 
of Creal Springs. Richie Oliver was a local preacher be- 
longing there. His family, John Oliver and family, and the 
McMahans were among the members of this church, which 
has been dormant many years. Hooker's appointment was 
located on what is known as Chestnut Hill Farm. It 
was discontinued in 1867. Sutliff, an M. E. appointment 
was located at or near the residence of H. B. Stuliff. He 


was a faithful and active member of this denomination 
throughout his life. Cave Creek M. E. Church must have 
been a short distance east of Vienna. All the definite infor- 
mation in regard to it is that Christopher T. Ellis and 
Issac Perry were two active members about 1863 to 1865. 
There has been no Methodist organization there for years 
and it was doubtless absorbed by the Cave Creek Baptist 
church, which is now an active society in that section. 

Sugar Grove M. E. Church was somewhere in Elvira 
Township, and R. W. Brown and J. C. Bottom were the 
moving spirits in its beginning. This church asked per- 
mission to sell their building in 1871. This appointment 
was possibly transferred from Saratoga circuit in Union 
County. A new church house was erected a little south of 
the present site of Buncombe. R. W. and Reuben Brown, 
Oliver Ragsdale, Garner Pearce, John Nobles, J. B. Gilles- 
pie, J. W. Hacker, and George Boomer and their families, 
with possibly some others, constituted the membership of 
this church. It was called Salem, and did service for this 
congregation until the Chicago and Eastern Illinois. Rail- 
road was built and the town of Buncombe began to grow. 
It was then moved to that village and became the Methodist 
Episcopal church of Buncombe. J. J. Robertson was a 
strong supporter and a faithful member of this church 
during his life. Some of the present members are Mrs. J. J. 
Robertson, C. C. and C. J. Walker, Douglas Rose, Mrs. 
Martha McCall, their families and Miss Lou Smith, and 
others just as faithful and earnest, whose names were not 
obtained. Buncombe belongs on the Cypress Circuit. 

Bloomfield M. E. Church was organized 1874, and held 
in the school house. Dr. William Thompson was the 
founder. J. Williams and wife, James and Lucinda Powell 
are among the first members. The present church house 
was built about 1882. The best list of members to be ob- 
tained since 1886, are Casper Goddard, Nathan Westbrooks, 
F. S. Thompson, Samuel Williams, Adeline Bridges, Ma- 
linda Bain, Martha J. Waters, Flora Goddard, Alice Dunn, 
James and Betty A. Hood, A. S. and M. C. Dill, S. T. and 
F. Williams, John Crowder, Lida and Ella Davis, Charles 
and Martha Thacker, W. H. and Nancy Jobe, Susan Melton, 
Still later members are Mrs. George Mathis, Gussie and 
Mabel Mathis, Clarice (Pfleuger) Dunn, Viva Corbett, 
Newton Davis, Dr. R. A. and Mrs. Maude Hale, Alonzo 


and Sadie Mathis. There is no pastor at this church at the 
present, although there is a neat little parsonage. 

Sanburn M. E. Church was organized about 1870. E. 
M. Miller and family were among the first members, also 
W. H. Nipper and wife and W. E. Galeener and wife and 
Abraham Cover's family. Tunnel Hill church was organ- 
ized about 1878, taking in the Sanburn organization. Some 
of the present members are Mr. and Mrs. T. H. Taylor, 
Mrs. Ada Fern, Mrs. Nora Gilliam, Mrs. Kate Cruse, Mrs. 
Niecy Cover and family and Misses Maybelle and Eva 

Gorville M. E. Church was organized about 1900 by 
Reverend McCammon, and the church house was built with 
only five members, four of whom were ladies. Mesdames 
Lily McCormick, Mattie Gore, Jones and Bradley were 
charter members. Some of the present members are Mrs. 
Syble Williams, H. M. and Add Foster's families. Miss 
Gertrude Williams, Charles A. Walker and family, Mrs. 
William Hubbard, Mrs. Nola Maze, Mr. and Mrs. J. L. 
Wiggins and Mrs. Essie Jobe and others making a member- 
ship of about fifty. Reverends Connett, Hammons, More- 
head, and Bernieking are some of the ministers serving this 
charge in recent years. 

Burnside M. E. Church — Reverend Charles Botarf 
came to Burnside, in 1872, and held a revival meeting. 
An M. E. class was formed of twelve person as 
follows: Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Cook, Mr. and Mrs. Jasper 
Cross, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Bradford, Mr. and Mrs. J. C. 
Caldwell, Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Ballance, Mrs. Alvira and 
Miss Anna Whiteaker. Most of these members belonged to 
a church north of New Burnside, known as Walnut Hill. 
All of these charter members are dead except T. J. Cook 
who is in his ninetieth year. They later built a church 
house which is still in use. Lewis Epperson and Samuel 
McNeil were the builders. John Dupont, a business man 
of Burnside donated as much as any other one person for 
its construction. Charles Bradford, T. J. Cook, J. H. 
Ballance, the three Whiteaker brothers and many others 
gave liberally. The pastors have been Rev. Charles Botarf, 
Charles Young, J. R. Reed, E. Root, A. Wright, Leech, J. 
S. Whittenberg, W. P. Hammons, A. B. and M. B. Holloway, 
W. J. Peterson, C. E. Parker, H. Hutchcraft, W. J. Hopper, 


C. T. Douthill, C. E. Sale, L. C. Wilkins, J. B. Cummins, T. 
Cates, C. B. and J. B. Whiteside, J. H. McGriff, J. E. Jones, 
E .B. Timmons, W. G. Hale, A. C. Margrave, J. L. Rentfro, 
0. E. Connett, W. A. Sharp, J. N. Presley, W. C. Bruce, T. 
C. Stokes, J. L. Miller, W. E. Shaffer, C. J. Strubeing, I. G. 
Flick and G. B. Ramsey. This church has had much to do 
with the moral and spiritual life of the town. 

(Information given by H. C. Laybon.) 

The Belknap M. E. Church was organized about 1875, 
most of its members coming from West Eden church. They 
were Mr. and Mrs. R. A. Martin, Mr. and Mrs. George Ax- 
ley, Mr. and Mrs. John Shadrick, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Kuy- 
kendall. After the founding of the church a new circuit 
was formed including Belknap, also West Eden, Cedar 
Grove, Mt. Pisgah, on the west side of Cache and Tucker's 
Chapel and Salem in Massac County. Reverend Bowers 
was appointed on this circuit with headquarters at Belknap, 
which was also the name of the circuit. For two years 
church services were held in a large cooper shop belonging 
to George Axley. Seats were made of rough lumber, a 
large box heating stove occupied the center of the room, 
and smoky coal oil lamps hung from brackets on the wall. 
The congregation usually filled the room, especially at the 
evening service. Many men from the logging camps and 
saw mills, (for this was a wooded section) attended the 
meetings, and all seemed to appreciate these services. 
Later W. L. Williams moved to Belknap and built a large 
flour mill. As soon as it was enclosed religious services 
were held in the second story of this building until the 
machinery was installed. The following year a new school 
house was built in Belknap and the church proceeded to 
occupy it for services. In the meantime a parsonage had 
been purchased and the membership had grown until they 
were able to erect a church house, which they did in 1883 
under the pastorate of Reverend William Hammond. This 
is a neat and well arranged frame church, lighted from 
the private Delco plant of Mrs. 0. P. Martin and at her 
expense. She and the late Dr. Martin have been among the 
most interested members of this church for many years. 
Belknap and Karnak are served by the same pastor. 

This youngest organization of the M. E. faith is the 
West Vienna church, which was formed, 1910 or 1912. 


Two of the charter members were William Martin, Hazel 
(Brown) Edmonson. They have a neat frame church 
which was dedicated by Dr. John Harmon. Some of the 
present members are Samuel Horsely and family, Mrs. 
Willis Ragsdale, Mrs. Lowery, Mrs. Avis Brown, Jacob Mc- 
Coy and other faithful ones that go to make up a fine work- 
ing church. They belong to Cypress circuit and maintain 
regular services. 

There was a church house known as Old Concord Meet- 
ing house, situated on the west side of the county, near 
the line of Union, as early as 1814, and possibly earlier. 
The petition for a road designates the locality of the house, 
but nothing is known as to what denomination worshipped 
there. It is probable it was Methodist as Hezekiah West 
lived on that side of the county and was a pioneer minister 
of that faith. There is a cemetery called Concord about 
where the location of this meeting house was described, 
but whether it is the same place and took its name from 
the old church is not positively known. "Aunt" Nancy Mad- 
den, as she was known during her later years, was a native 
of Union County, born in 1818. She married Joshua Peter- 
son and moved to Cypress at the age of fifteen years. She 
said the first church she ever attended was at Concord at 
or near Concord Cemetery. This was in 1833 and before 
Mt. Pisgah was built (from her daughter.) 

H. C. Laybourn published in 1923 some information 
regarding the Sunday Schools of the county. He thinks 
the Reynoldsburg Sunday School dates back eighty-five 
years. There are several Sunday Schools more than fifty 
years old. Cedar Creek and Friendship, Baptist; Gillead 
and Concord, Presbyterians; Benton, Central, Casey 
Springs, West Eden and Vienna, Methodist. There are fifty 
three schools in the county at the present time. The de- 
nominations are divided about as follows: Methodist, 24; 
Baptist, 22; Presbyterian, 5; Christian, 5; Pentacostal, 2; 
Latter Day Saints, 1 ; Catholic, 2 ; colored Baptist, 1 ; total 
162. Johnson County had a Sunday School organization as 
early as 1869. There were twelve living Sunday Schools 
in the county that year, with an average attendance of six 
hundred. There were six Methodist Sunday Schools in the 
county in 1868. The officers of the County Sunday School 
Association for 1881, were president, G. B. Bomer; Bun- 


combe; secretary, Louisa Copeland, Vienna; treasurer, P. 
T. Chapman, Vienna. The township presidents were 
Vienna, M. A. Smith, Grantsburg, W. L. Smith; Cache, 0. 
P. Hodges, Elvira, G. B. Gillespie ; Goreville, B. G. Mangum ; 
Burnside, F. M. McGee; Simpson, J. H. Morphis; Tunnel 
Hill, J. M. Benson; Bloomfield, W. A. Looney. 


Some Methodist Episcopal Ministers serving that de- 
nomination in this county were : Peter Cartwright who was 
a well known character visited Southern Illinois on at least 
two occasions ; one writer says of him, "there is no better 
type of pioneer preacher." He christened Nancy Spence 
(Madden) who was born in 1818. He again visited here in 
1870 and was a guest of Mr. and Mrs. John Bain of Vienna. 
He dedicated the New Columbia church, and also Central 
church of this county. 

T. C. Lopaz was an itinerant preacher in this section 
in 1830, continuing his work for the Master for more than 
forty years. He was an eccentric character, was very de- 
vout and did much valuable service in building up Metho- 
dism. He never married and had no home, but carried his 
wordly possessions in his saddle bags, also umbrella 
strapped behind his saddle. He always rode a good horse 
and saw that it was well treated. 

William Standard and John Rentfro were two early 
local preachers. Moulton Carter, J. S. Whittenberg, James 
Harper, J. G. Hardy, D. Williams, J. L. Gillespie, James 
Scoot, R. Oliver, William Finley, Micajah Rose, James 
Burk, David Stewart, William Thompson and J. L. Thomas 
were ministers here before 1865. M. W. Russell, Richard 
Thatcher, Fred L. Thompson, C. T. Ellis, A. Jones, Ambrose 
Seay, H. S. Ausbrooks, Ed Brown and Joseph Edmonson in 
1870. John W. Wright of Vienna and Issac D. Peterson of 
West Eden were licensed to preach in 1870. 

J. K. Rose and Robert Smith were ministers of a later 

The following were prominent laymen in the Methodist 
Episcopal Church between 1860-70; J. N. Benson and 
Charles Damron were among the early Methodist of the 
county and both were exhorters. They lived their religion 


and no neighbor ever wanted for attention when sick or in 
need if they knew it. If a man was sick and unable to 
harvest his crop, with the help of the neighbors they did it 
for him. Others were A. Franklin, Elijah Hood, G. H. Har- 
wood, J. Oliver, William Harper, William Hoker, William 
Helm, Wesley White, Chas. N. Gutley, M. Bain, P. W. Mc- 
Fatridge and William Murray were appointed as a building 
committee for Cosey Springs, 1870. Jessie Hunter, Daniel 
Morris, Thos. J. Cook, C. W. McCoy, H. C. Frazier, Lewis 
Siebman, W. L. and D. T. Keid, C. W. Miller, H. B. Sutliff, 
Dr. N. M. Gray were prominent laymen. In 1866, a com- 
mittee was appointed to look after a site for a church in 
Vienna, the committee was Dr. W. A. Lonney, Dr. D. T. 
Whitnel and Samuel Jackson, N. Jones, L. W. Marberry, 
J. J. Pearce, B. L. Phelps, William and B. L. Reid, William 
Chisom, W. 0. Stevenson, Frances Elkins, W. L. Young, 
J. M. Williams, B. S. Rude, John Caldwell, S. A. Cummins, 
O. L. Ridenhower, James M. Holt, Issac Perry, W. H. Cul- 
ver, F A. Fisher, J. B. Smith, W. T. Cagle, J. D. Helm, C. 
T. Reid, H. Mercer, Linsfield Shadrick, F. M. McGee, J. P. 
West, W. K. Harvel, P. W. Axley, W. D. Deans, Joel 
DuBois, A. W. Carter, G. B. Hood, 0. G. Peterson, James 
McNealy, T. Chapman, W. E. Galeener, James A. Smith, 
Pleasant and Green Thacker, J. C. Green, James Daniels, 
J. B. Kuykendall, James Hacker, A. J. Kuykendall, James 
Slack, Wiliam and T. G. Peterson, H. R. Ragsdale, A. E. 
Francis, D. H. Rendleman, J. M. Ridenhower, M. A. Smith, 
J. R. Reaf, Hiram Chapman, I. N. Benson and many others 
did good church work in this county. 


This county has had its share of crime and much to 
our shame one man executed by the law. Harrihon Burk- 
low, a man belonging to an old respected family, while 
under the influence of liquor, shot and killed a man by the 
name of Wagner. Wagner tried to persuade him not to 
kill him, as Burklow had gone with that intent, to where 
Wagner was working, but crazed with liquor he would not 
listen to the pleadings and shot him outright. Burklow 
had served in the Civil War, and had many friends and 
relatives in the community, who would have assisted him, 
but the case was so aggravated, the death penalty was in- 
voked, and he was hanged in the old jail yard just a little 


above where the present jail now stands ; in spite of the fact, 
that the hanging was private, as the gallows had been built 
in a large inclosure people filled the town to its limits. J. 
H. Carter was the sheriff and W. R. Wiley was the deputy 
who carried out the sentence of the law about 1877. An- 
other crime occurring here before the Civil War, which 
was as useless as heinous, was the whipping of a negro to 
death on the streets of Vienna. Dr. Gerry kept a hotel on 
Third and East Main streets, where Issac Hook now lives. 
A traveler on horseback came to the hotel to spend the 
night. Some time while there he had three hundred dol- 
lars taken from his saddle bags. A colored boy who did the 
chores around the hotel, was accused of the theft. A com- 
pany of citizens took him out, drove him from place to 
place, beating him with switches, hanging him up by the 
thumbs at intervals to make him tell where the money was. 
Although he would tell them the money was in different 
places to get a respite from the punishment, he stoutly 
denied it in the beginning. This continued until the negro 
finally dropped dead on the street, just south of where the 
library now stands. It is said the wife of Doctor Gerry 
later confessed to taking the money, establishing the inno- 
cence of the negro. 

Franklin J. Chapman, son of Samuel the pioneer, was 
shot and killed at Old Foreman, while he was asleep in his 
room. The perpetrator of this deed or the reason for it 
was never known. 

James Arnett, who lived west of Vienna, about four 
miles, near Cache River was tried three times in our courts 
for murder, but never convicted. He was shot from ambush 
about a mile west of Vienna, on his way home from the 
town by Burbe Stanley, a neighbor, who was convicted of 
insanity and committed to the Southern Illinois Hospital at 
Anna for a short time. William Arnett, a brother of James, 
also living on the west side of the county, while hauling a 
load of wheat to market was shot from ambush on the road 
near the present home of Roy Shelter. This murder 
occurred about 1876 and was committed by Powell Short, 
who was never apprehended. 

Another crime of the same nature was the killing of 
John Murrie near his home, now the home of John Farris, 


about four miles east of Vienna, on the Metropolis Road. 
This murder was supposed to have been done by a man 
named Holt, but no certainty is attached to this and no 
arrest was ever made. 

The killing of Young Elkins was a much talked of 
incident, and occurred sometime in the fifties in Vienna. 
There was a "clock-tinker," as they called them in those 
days, who came here with his wife from Jonesboro. His 
name was Merriman. John Bridge's young boys had been 
in the habit of going to his house and throwing rocks 
through the windows. One day he caught one of the boys 
and gave him a whipping. Young Elkins, was an uncle of 
these boys, and it seems, prided himself on his physical 
prowess, being full of liquor, went down in company with 
Ross Sanders, with rocks for weapons to give the old man 
a "licking," as he called it. Merriman ordered Elkins not 
to come in, but Elkins paid no attention to the old man's 
order. He shot Elkins with a gun which he had made 
some time before by cutting off a rifle. The old man had 
used this improvised shot gun in the peaceful occupation 
of killing birds. It is supposed that he had expected trouble 
after he whipped the boy, and had loaded the gun with 
buck shot to defend himself. The sheriff put the old man 
in jail to keep Elkin's friends from mobbing him, and after- 
wards turned him out and ordered him to leave the com- 
munity, which he did. 

John Maupin was killed near the Johnson Cemetery, 
three miles east of Vienna, about twenty-five years ago. 
His body was carried to the home of Charles Farris and 
left in front of his gate. Marcus Burnett, a brother-in-law 
of Maupin, was convicted of the crime. The cause was 
some family feud. 

A. Franklin was a captain in the Civil War, serving 
from this county. He was a farmer and lived near Grants- 
burg. Some two or three years after the war, two strangers 
came along by Captain Franklin's about the noon hour, and 
wanted the Captain to trade horses with them. Franklin 
discussed the matter with them, but would not trade. The 
two men went on their way, as the Franklins thought, but 
shortly after the meal they found the stranger's horse in 
the barnyard and the horse belonging to Franklin gone. 
He immediately set out to find the man and horse, over- 


taking them a short distance beyond his home, and on de- 
manding his horse the stranger shot and killed him. The 
community was soon aroused and went in search of the 
murderer, surrounded and captured him, not far from the 
present residence of Pleasant Rose, on the farm of James 
Rose. They took him to old Grantsburg, now Wartrace, 
and placed him under guard, in the office of Dr. W. J. Fern, 
a young physican, practising there at that time, while some 
one went to summon the sheriff. During the night a mob 
of fifty men or more gathered and overpowered the guards 
took the prisoner to a large group of walnut trees, 
about two hundred yards west of Wartrace, at the bend 
of the road and hung him. The tree on which he was hung 
was pointed out to the youth and strangers for many years, 
but has since died or been cut away. The prisoner gave 
the name of Patilo and his home as Kentucky. 

Captain Franklin was a very popular man, especially 
among men who had served under him in the war, and it 
has been remarked that some of his men were instrumental 
in raising the mob but no trouble was ever taken to find 
out who they were. 

J. W. Bayles was a bachelor and lived alone on his 
farm about three miles east of town. He was a native of 
Baltimore, Md., was well educated and must have belonged 
to a good family. He was supposed to have money, which 
was without doubt, the cause of his murder. Some parties 
went to his house at night, murdered him and left their 
masks. It is not known whether they secured any money or 
not. There were arrests made, but no one could be con- 
victed of the crime. 

Daniel Gage a peaceful and inoffensive citizen was shot 
by David Avery, apparently without any reason, and none 
was ever found, except it was thought Avery mistook him 
for another man. There was no jail in the county at this 
time and Avery, under arrest was being taken to the Cairo 
jail. He was sitting near a window in the Big Four station 
waiting for a train, when he was shot from the outside. It 
has never been known who committed the deed. 

Charles Farris drove up in front of his sister's home, 
Mrs. Joshua Howell, who lives about a quarter of a mile 
east of Wartrace. Mr. Farris stopped and the family came 
out to visit with him, when his nephew, Duff Howell, raised 


his gun. It was discharged accidently and shot his uncle 
through the head, killing him instantly. No motive could 
be found as no unpleasantness existed between the parties. 
This accident occurred about 1910, and was no doubt a sud- 
den and unrealized action of the moment. 


About the year 1845 there was a gang of horse thieves 
and counterfeiters carrying on business in the outlying 
district of Massac County bordering Johnson. The citizens 
of Massac had been annoyed by this lawlessness until they 
felt compelled to protect themselves, officers of the law 
were unable to cope with the situation. They divided into 
two factions, one called Flatheads the other Regulators. 
While the majority of the crimes were committed in Massac 
and the headquarters were in that county the lawless war- 
fare extended into our borders to the extent that some of 
our best citizens living near the boundary line arrayed 
themselves on the side of the Regulators and went out to 
help their neighbors rid themselves of the undesirables. 
The following is a letter by Dr. W. J. Gibbs, who was a 
resident of Vienna and had served in the Legislature in 

Head Quarters, Norvoo, 111., Nov. 3, 1846. 
Dr. W. J. Gibbs : 

Sir: It has been represented to me, that a number of 
the people of the counties of Massac, Johnson and Pope, in 
this State; and of the adjoining county in Kentucky, have 
united themselves into a band of regulators to drive off a 
band of horse theives and counterfeiters, alledged to exist 
in the County of Massac, that a number of other good citi- 
zens deeming such a course to be unlawful and unnecessary, 
have opposed the regulators; that the regulators now 
threaten to drive them off with the horse theives, and have 
ordered several of them to leave the county, under pen- 
alty of death. It is also represented that the Grand Jury 
of Massac County, have found indictments against several 
of the regulators, for violent conduct that the regulators 
refuse to be arrested or tried by law ; and threaten to drive 
off or kill members of the grand jury, and the witnesses, 
upon whose evidence the indictments were found; and 
threaten to drive off or kill the sheriff and several other 
persons, and civil officers of the county, who have shown 


a disposition to aid the Sheriff in keeping the peace in mak- 
ing arrests, and in preventing violence. 

I therefore, hereby authorize you, to inquire into the 
truth of the above representations and others that may be 
made to you ; and if in your opinion a Militia force shall be 
necessary in said county, you are hereby authorized to call 
in the Colonels commanding the Militia in the Counties of 
Gallatin, Johnson, Pulaski, Alexander and Union, who, are 
hereby commanded to call out such force as may be de- 
manded; and they will then act according to the following 

1st. It is not my design that such Militia force should 
be used for the protection of horse thieves, counterfeiters 
or other notorous rogues, whose presence for a long time 
past in that part of the country has enraged the minds of 
a great many honest people. 

Such Militia force will be used, to protect the Sheriff 
and his deputies, and all Magistrates and Constables to- 
gether with the members of the grand jury and the wit- 
nesses before them, unless such witnesses be rouges, and 
also such Militia force will be used for the protection of 
all honest, well meaning people, who have merely disappro- 
ed of the conduct of the regulators; who lecture that they 
have carried matters too far; and have opposed them on 
that account, and who are, or may be threatened therefore. 

The Militia force hereby ordered, will not be required 
to aid in driving off anyone, nor to prevent any notorious 
rogue from being driven off. 

Governor and Com. in Chief. 

There were some rough men in this county in its 
early settlement and even many years afterward. They 
did not respect the law and many cared little for human 
life. Horse stealing was a common occurrence and some 
times the thieves were dealt with severly out side the law 
but this form of dishonesty is about extinct in this county. 
In former times a few hogs and cattle would occasionally, 
somehow, get the other man's mark when stock ran at 
Large on the range, but since the days of barbed wire and 
stock law, men have become more honest. The most noted 
piece of burglary ever committed in this county was the 



theft of a saw mill, said to be by one William Lizenbeck. The 
mill was taken up, moved a considerable distance and 
operated for some time without the knowledge of the owner. 

The noted Carterville trial was brought here from 
Williamson County in 1899. It was a long drawn out affair 
and involved much time and money. A part of a company 
of National Guards was kept at Vienna during the trial 
which grew out of the shooting into a railroad coach at Law- 
ler, Williamson County and killing at least one colored 
woman. The trouble arose from the objection of the 
miners to the employment of negro labor in the mines. 
There were fifteen men on trial and resulted in the acquital 
of the defendants. Some very prominent legal talent was 
employed in the case; Ex-Governor Charles P. Johnston, 
of Missouri, R. R. Fowler, W. W. Clemens, Edward Spiller, 
W. W. Duncan and Geo.' W. Pillow of Marion, 111. F. M. 
Youngblood and W. W. Barr, of Carbondale 111., S. H. Reed, 
of DuQuoin, 111., G. H. Henshaw, J. L. Gallimore, R. B. 
Morton, Carterville, 111., W. A. Spann, P. T. Chapman, G. 
B. Gillespie, and L. 0. Whitnel of Vienna. 







Long ago, so long ago no man knows when, a colony of 
stone grave people came into Southern Illinois, they prob- 
ably came from the valley of the Cumberland and spread 
over the county between the rivers as far north as Monroe 
County, where they crossed into Missouri. They left be- 
hind their unmistakable sign of burying their dead in 
graves lined and covered with rough flag stone. Where 
they vanished no one knows. There can be no doubt but 
that Indians inhabited Johnson County long before the ad- 
vent of the white settlers. They have left their trails in 
the forests. Older people have told those now living 
about the Indians here when they came and the roving 
bands of them passing through the county for years after- 
ward; one story is told of the wife of an early resident of 
Vienna Samuel J. Chapman who came to the county about 
1816, how she baked bread under a brush arbor and 
sold it to the Indians. Uncle George Elkins, born in 1825, 
still living, says he sold pumpkins to them when they were 
passing through the county. However, there seems 
to be no tradition or history naming the tribes, except Rey- 
nolds, an early historian of Illinois speaks frequently of the 
Kickapoos being around Kaskaskia and Goshen, but that 
they lived just here one can not definitely say. 

There is no dispute about the Shawnees living around 
Shawneetown, but it is not certain that they came as far 
west as Johnson. Some historians claim they lived here in 
the eighteenth century. Their signs were coffin shaped 
graves formed of flat stones without cement ; pottery, finely 
wrought shell and copper ornaments are found in them. 
Blanchard's maps locate the Pinkeshaws and Miamis in 
this county in 1765. He also locates Kickapoos here in 1812. 
The Indians ceded all lands in this section to the United 
States by a treaty signed at Edwardsville, 111., 1819. 

The remains of a race before ours and probably before 
the tribe of Indians of which George, who lived on Georges 
Creek in the eastern part of the county, was the chief, has 
been found. In this county there is a picture of a buffalo 
painted on the rocks of a bluff near Ozark, which is sup- 
posed to have been done by Indians or some other former 


inhabitants. There is no history or legend of its origin re- 
maining with the present settlers. Many Indian graves 
have been found in the county. Stone implements, such as 
Tomahawks, arrow heads, and pottery have been found in 
various parts of the county, a collection of which may be 
seen in the Carneigie Library in the exhibit of the Daniel 
Chapman Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution. 
There is also some fossil foot-prints in the sand stone for- 
mation in the community of Berea in the southeast section 
of the county. The foot is twelve inches long, has but four 
toes and shaped something like a man's foot. 

The early settlers who did not come direct from Vir- 
ginia or the Carolinas, came from Kentucky and Tennessee. 
Emigrated from some of the colonies, lived awhile in the 
latter states and pressed on farther west. 

Virginia was, for many years in the seventeenth cen- 
tury, the refuge of those who were in turn prominent, im- 
poverished, endangered, or exiled in the civil wars of Crom- 
well's time. According as Puritan or Cavalier triumphed 
at home, so changed the complexion of the emigration of 
the old Dominion. The Carolinas were peopled by the 
Cavaliers, who expected to find sudden wealth in the new 
country, to set up the customs of the court and propigate 
the gay and chivalrous blood of the Knight. Between these 
and the French Huguenots who sought to find here religious 
liberty, there could but be sharp lines of social distinction. 
Those who came for adventure and gain were soon unde- 
ceived; those who sought freedom were made to feel the 
heavy hand of law and unjust taxes. 

Then came the great leveler war. From the descen- 
dants of this people who were tried, tested, melted and re- 
molded in the fires of the struggle for independence, came 
the purified Anglo Saxon; that sturdy pioneer to whom 
civilization owes an undischargeable debt. Of this stock 
were our ancestors and thus began our early settlements. 
A few families at a time, occasionally a New Yorker, a 
New Englander or a Canadian, would sift into this steady 
stream of searchers for a new home. All the colors blended 
make "Lablanc," what else could follow but that Pilgrim. 
Cavalier, Huguenot and Yankee blended should make the 
most perfect type of citizen. 


A great many of our pioneers had lost their possessions 
in the Revolution and sought to rebuild their fortunes on 
new soil. Some of them brought slaves, old silver, pewter 
plate, native shrubs and flowers but each brought the char- 
acteristics peculiar to their section of the country. The 
hospitable, easy-going, genial traits of the southerner have 
prevailed in this county, 

Fordham, an early historian of our state, divides the 
inhabitants of Southern Illinois into four classes, as fol- 
lows: "First Hunters; second, first settlers; third, doctors, 
lawyers, store-kepers, furriers, mechanics, those who trade 
and speculate in land, who found towns, those who put too 
much reliance in physical prowess; fourth, old settlers, rich, 
independent, well informed. Johnson County must have 
had some residents belonging to some of these classes but 
whether she could aspire to having any in the fourth class 
or not, one could not undertake to say. 

The first settler in the original Johnson County, that 
we have a real knowledge of, was Daniel Flannery, who 
came to this section of the country in 1777 and took up a 
claim twenty-five or thirty miles above the mouth of the 
Ohio River and on or near the Mississippi. " Flannerys 
and McElmunnys erected a station or block-house in Alex- 
ander County about 1783 in township sixteen oposite island 
number twenty-tw r o in the Mississippi River. These set- 
tlers left the country and none of them were here in 1800." 
— Reynolds. He also says, "The Indians seemed to be 
especially hostile toward the American settlers from 1783 
to 1789 ; but they did not molest the French." "It was the 
policy of the French, to conciliate the natives, whom they 
invariably treated with kindness and consideration never 
<*hown to that unhappy race by other Europeans with 
whom they preserved a faith unbroken on either side." — 

Reynolds states that James Flannery was killed by the 
Indians in 1783, which would explain the Flannerys 
leaving the country for a time. They later returned, at 
least, Daniel Flannery did, and established his claim as a 
settler before the land office commission in 1809 at Kas- 
kaskia. Issac and Jacob Flannery entered land in Randolph 
County in 1811, most likely in the same locality where 
Daniel lived. The name of Flannery continues to appear 


on our court records as late as 1841. Other given names 
of this family were Samuel, Elijah, Jacob, Abram and 
Thomas. Reynolds says, "There was not a settler on the 
trace from Hull's landing, on the Ohio River to Kaskaskia 
in 1800." Boggs states there were 650 settlers along the 
Ohio River in 1801, from the census taken by Congress. 
Many of these families, no doubt, settled in the original 
bounds of this county, and while our present territory did 
not lie directly on the river some reckless adventurer, no 
doubt, found good game farther in the interior, set his 
stakes and built his little cabin in the present limits of 
Johnson County. 

John and Joseph Worley are given as residents of Illi- 
nois in 1785. Joseph Worley is given as an American resi- 
dent of Cahokia in 1789, and James Finny's name also ap- 
pears as an American citizen of Illinois in 1780. This was 
taken from the Cahokia records. That these are the men 
whose names appear on Johnson County's early records, 
there can be little if any doubt. 

The Ray family settled in the northeast part of the 
county in 1803 in the vicinity of Stonefort, but they are not 
further indentified with our history through records. 

William Lawrence lived somewhere in the county 
originally set off in 1812 and called Johnson, but just where 
or how early has not been revealed. He was licensed to 
keep tavern," where he now lives in 1813." A road was 
ordered built by his house in 1814. He paid taxes on a 
still in 1816 and lived on Cache. Old receipts in his estate 
papers show he paid bills in Mulenberg, Kentucky, which 
would indicate he came from that state. Another old paper 
of his would lead one to believe he may have lived here as 
early as 1803. (See old Papers.) 

Samuel Worthington was another pioneer of that time 
and connected with the Lawrences by marriage. There are 
some decendants of Worthingtons living in Pulaski County, 
but it is not known if they are of this family. 

The next resident is William Simpson, who lived in 
Johnson County proper. While it is certain there were 
settlers here before him, there is no record of them. Tra- 
dition says he came here in 1805 from Kentucky by way of 
Shawneetown, making his own road part of the way. His 


name appears on the Randolph County records as early as 
1808, and he must have lived here some time before as he 
brought suit against Hampton Pankey for $300 damage in 
the above year. He settled near what is known as Double 
Bridges in Simpson Township, built a double log house and 
opened as far as is known the first tavern in the county. 
There is a school house and cemetery located at the present 
time where his original house and farm building stood. It 
is about two miles north of Simpson and three from the 
county line of Pope. 

James Finney was a resident of Randolph, tradition 
says coming from Virginia, in 1806, as he was appointed 
judge of the court of Common Pleas for that county that 
year. If his residence was in this section of the county at 
that time he was also an early settler, since it is certain 
that he lived in the present limits of Johnson County later. 
He would have had to live here at least a short time before 
his appointment. The fact that Reynolds does not speak of 
him as a first resident of Kaskaskia would make it plausible 
that he lived in this section. James Bain moved here from 
Kentucky in 1807, or the early part of the following year, 
as there is a record of a child of Mr. Bain's being born 
here in 1808. He settled what is known as the Vickers 
Farm, now owned by Levi J. Smith. The house stood about 
one half mile north of the present limits of Vienna. Mrs. 
Eliza Dwyer who came to this county from Ohio in 1857 
and is now ninety-four years old says she knew Mr. and 
Mrs. James Bain quite well, and they were very old when 
she made their acquaintance. They told her they lived here 
a long time before they had any neighbors, but the Indians, 
who occupied the hills south of town where the farms of 
John B. Jackson, Joshua Arnold, and Ed. Harvick are now 
located. Mrs. Dwyer also says evidence such as arrow 
heads, stone implements, and graves, of the Indians having 
lived here were still found after she came to Vienna. 

The second settler who came to Vienna neighborhood 
was Mathew Mathis, who opened the Loeney Farm. It is 
quite plain he lived in the neighborhood as he and his son 
carried the chain when the town of Vienna was laid off, 
although his land was not entered until 1832. The next 
neighbor that can be traced directly is Francis Jordan who 
entered his land December 1814, the first land entered at 


Shawneetown land office, that lays in this county proper. 
This is known as the Oliver Farm, about two miles west 
of Vienna, just off the West Vienna road and is now owned 
by J. C. Chapman and G. B. Gillespie. John Oliver another 
first settler occupied part of this farm. Henry Beggs was 
another early neighbor in this county. He entered the Aus- 
brooks farm just north west of Vienna, now owned by F. 
R. Johnston, 1831. Land entries, tradition from Steward 
Sutliff, grand son of James Bain; and the statements of 
Mrs. Dwyer are the authority for these early settlers. 

Peter Clark, Thos. C. Paterson and Henry Sams lived 
on the west side of the county in 1816. George Evans set- 
tled here as early as 1806. 

Isaac Wilcox was another very early resident here. 
His name appears on the Randolph County records in 1802. 
He was a merchant or trader and the court records show 
he had many cases on the docket. 

"A family of Quarkers of North Carolina named 
Stokes settled several miles east of Jonesboro in 1808." — 
Reynolds. This was the founding of the Stokes family liv- 
ing in Union County and the western part of our county 
at the present time. 

John Bradshaw and John Phelps lived on the west side 
of the county at or near Elvira, but it was Randolph when 
they were appointed Justices of the Peace in 1809. 

Jesse Griggs, who was one of the first judges for John- 
son County and Nathan Davis whose name also appears on 
our early court records lived in that part of the county that 
was cut off to make Jackson, at least, they with James Hall 
were the Commissioners of that county when Brownsville 
was established as the county seat. 

"Henry Noble and Jesse Griggs settled on Big Muddy 
1804."— Reynolds. 

Reynolds makes the statement that the families of Chil- 
ton, Brazel Lorton, More, Downing, Lemom, Copeland, Lacy 
Vanhoozer, Rattent, Stublefield, Hewitt, and Jones were at- 
tached to the eastern Goshen settlement, which was 
in Madison County, southeast of Edwardsville. It is 
not known whether Reynolds considered this section of 


country in Goshen settlement or whether some of these 
families settled there and moved here later, but the names 
of Brazel Copeland, Lacy, Hewitt, Stublefield and Jones are 
names of early settlers of this section. 

Reynolds is also authority for the following: "White- 
sides and their numerous connections were from North 
Carolina, (family tradition says, Virginia.) They first came 
to Kentucky, then to Illinois in 1793. The patriarch and 
head of the family was William Whiteside. He erected a 
fort or blockhouse on the road from Cahokia to Kaskaskia, 
which became famous as Whiteside's Station. He was 
prominent as an Indian fighter, had a large family of sons 
who were also prominent in the warfare against the Indians 
and in the War of 1812/' The Whitesides of this and Pope 
Counties are a branch of this pioneer family. The founder 
in this section settled on Big Bay about 1804 or 1805. 

John Elkins who also came from North Carolina in 
1809 settled on the west side of the county. He later moved 
to Arkansas but left four children who have descendants 
living in this county, especially in the western part. 

Hamlet Furguson was a resident of this county in 1810 
and was among the first judges holding court here. Ham- 
letsburg, in Pope County, was named in his honor. 

William Stiles lived in Center Township in 1813. 

Levi Casey settled in Bloomfield Township, 1808. Hez- 
kiah West came to this county from South Carolina between 
1808 and 1810, and settled in the southwest part in the sec- 
tion known as West Eden. The locality took its name from 
him. His descendants are numerous and hosts of them still 
reside in the county. Jacob Harvick was another pioneer. 
The year of his coming is not definite but his son was a 
militia officer here in 1812. William McFatridge was the 
founder of the large family of that name coming here from 
North Carolina about 1810. His son John was also the 
head of a family here very early in the county history. 
They settled on Mack Creek which was named in their 
honor. Samuel Westbrooks came to this county in 1812, but 
moved to Equality in 1826. John and Isaac Worley lived 
at Elvira 1814, ancestors of the Worley family of this 
county. William Shelby lived on the east side of the county. 
William Parker lived near the Ohio River in 1827. William 


McKee father to Green B. and a large family of that name 
settled in what is now Simpson Township in 1819. Samuel 
McGowan entered land here in 1818, now owned by Ernest 
Cooper near Walter Sharps. The Beggs Wiggs and Gur- 
ley families were very early residents on the western side 
of the county and in Union. Marvin Fuller was a resident 
of Randolph County in 1810. He is connected with the 
very earliest courts and no doubt, lived in this section at 
that date. Elias Harrell, was a settler in 1819, and Joel 
Thacker settled here about 1820. Green B. Veach, 
a pioneer, from North Carolina, came here very 
early. He settled in the eastern section of th county but 
the date is not known. He served in the Black Hawk War 
from this county. I. Weaver lived in Center Township in 
1813. Some of his descendants live in Pulaski at the pres- 
ent time. The Borin family also lived in that section of 
Johnson in 1812, coming from Tennessee. John Byers who 
was appointed to take the census of 1820 lived in the north- 
west section of Johnson, that made Jackson, in 1812. 
Thomas Furguson lived on the eastern side of the county 
near Big Bay in 1812. He operated a ferry in 1814 at Gol- 
conda, paying taxes into the county treasury for that year. 
Vance Lusk and James Whiteside resided on the eastern 
side of the county in 1816. Their neighborhood later be- 
came Pope County. 

John Whitiker located in the western section of the 
county that was made into Union or Alexander when they 
were organized. He paid taxes on his still in this county 
in 1816. Joseph McCorcle was a settler of 1818. William 
Fisher came across the border from Indiana to this county 
in 1810. John S. Graves was another early settler. John 
Copeland came in 1815 or 1816. Samuel J. Chapman came 
from New York state about 1816, settling first in what is 
now Bloomfield. His father, Daniel, came from the same 
state two or three years later, settling on a farm, near the 
present Bloomfield and Simpson Township line. Now oc- 
cupied by W. P. Emmerson. 

Milton Ladd, Ivy Reynolds, Jesse Canady, Alfred and 
D. Y. Bridges, and many others whose names appear on the 
court records are fully identified with the first settling of 
the county. Mrs. Sarah Howerton a pioneer mother of 
Johnson County deserves mention. She was the daughter 


of Randolph Casey and was born in this county in 1823. 
She was married and moved to the Howerton Farm near 
what is now New Burnside, in 1842, where she spent the 
remainder of her life, seventy-three years, as wife and 
mother. The dwelling was a double log house so familiar 
in the early days of this county. Many Indians passed her 
home and dangerous wild animals were numerous. Often 
when her husband was called away from home and she 
was left alone over night with the little ones she would 
build a fire outside the house to frighten the wild beasts 
away. She married at the age of 19 and raised eight chil- 
dren. Although a pioneer of a later day she was a founder 
just as truly as those coming from other states. 

People who settled on land without entering it were 
called squatters; most of the people were squatters in this 
county, as there was no land office nearer that Kaskaskia, 
and it was not established till 1804. Shawneetown land 
office was established in 1812. Captain Cunningham, 
father of Mrs. Mary A. Logan was the agent there about 
the fifties. It was considered a sort of crime to enter land 
from under a squatter. In 1856 there was a special rate 
of twelve and one-half cents per acre, made to the settlers. 
This was called the Bit Act. There was a great scramble 
to get to the land office at this time. Men rode horse back, 
walked, pooled their horses and wagons to make a con- 
veyance, in fact, any way to get to Shawneetown. Some- 
times it would take ten days to make the journey, and wait 
your turn, since they stood in line as one would at a 
White House reception. Many people who had the money 
entered all the land they could for speculation. 

The people of this section had to go to the old capitol, 
Kaskaskia, to enter land or for any legal business, to 
serve on juries or appear before them. The first deed re- 
corded in Johnson County was not, of course, within the 
present limits, but appears on our records; it is from 
Robert Reynolds to Charles Davis, made in 1805 witnessed 
by Moses Oliver. This land is on the Mississippi River. 
Another deed was from John McElmuny to David McEl- 
muny also on the Mississippi. It was made July 3, 1810. 
Frequent mention is made of McElmuny's Station in the 
description of land in the old Kaskaskia records. A station 
was a block house with a second story extending out over 


the lower one. The upper one was used as the living quart- 
ers so that the approach of the enemy could be easily seen, 
while the lower one was used to corral the live stock of the 

The following is a list and the date of entry of those 
first entering land at Shawneetown in Johnson county pro- 
per or as it is now outlined; William McFatridge, May 23, 
1815; John Elkins, Nov. 13, 1815; James Bain, Feb. 13, 
1816; Hardy Johnson, June 26, 1817; Squire Choat, March 
1818; Walton Gore, Oct. 5. 1818; John W. Gore, Oct. 10, 
1818; Jacob Harvick, Nov. 15, 1818; Richard Marcer, July 
10, 1818; Hezekiah West, Jan. 2, 1818; Andrew McGowan, 
Jan, 2, 1818; Elias Harrell, Sept. 25, 1820; Henry Beggs, 
1831 ; Joel Thacker, 1839; Adam Harvick, 1818; James 
Finny, 1817; Martin Harvick, 1818; Joel Johnson, 1818; 
David Shearer, 1818; Thomas Dunsworth, 1819; David 
Elms, 1817; Abram Hendry, 1818; Benjamin McGinnis, 
1817; Richard McGinnis, 1815; Emmet Elkins, 1818; Jere- 
miah Lissenby, 1818; John Plumer, 1819; (John Plummer 
entered quite a lot of land no doubt for speculation) ; E. J. 
J. Freeman, 1818; Daniel Delaney, 1818; Sidwell, Paxton 
and Chambers, 1818; (they also entered several tracks,) 
Henry Croswait and Richard Murry, 1818; Samuel Lang- 
don, 1817; John McFatridge, 1832; Sallie Finney, 1837; 
Mathew Mathis, 1832; Richard Elliot, 1818; Joel S. Thac- 
ker, 1839 ; Francis Gehon, 1819 ; Adam and Martin Harvick ; 
1818; Louis J. Simpson and Millington Smith, 1817; J. O. 
Russell, 1816; Rix Carter and Pleasant Axley, 1818; N. 
Longworth, 1818; (ancestor of the present Nicholas 
Longworth, Republican leader in Congress from Ohio, and 
the son-in-law of the world famous Theodore Roosevelt.) 

John Worley, heir of Samuel Worley granted 100 acres 
of land for military duty by authority of Congress, 1791 — 
Kaskaskia records. Deed; Shaffer to Lawrence N. W. 
Quarter Sec. 32 township 13, S. Range 1 east, 1815. An 
early transfer in this county proper was Mathew Mathis 
sold to William Mathis S. W. quarter of S. E. quarter of 
section 30, township 12, S. range 3 east; another early 
transfer Thomas Gore ownership of property to John Gore, 
recorded in 1816. John Bain bought land here 1830, E. 
half of N. E. quarter, Sec. 4 township 12 S. range 3 east; 
Benjamin McGee sold to John S. Copeland W. half of the 


north W. quarter, Sec. 30, township 14 S. range 2 east, 
recorded August, 1837. 

Peck's Gazzeteer published in 1837 states the following 
in regard to Johnson County as it was at that time. "Cache 
River empties into the Ohio River about six miles above 
its mouth at Trinity, a town of one hotel and one store, 
founded about 1817 and was at one time a rival of Cairo. 
Elvira settlement on Lick Creek, branch, of Cache, contains 
about 35 or 40 families. George's Creek empties into 
Cache, a settlement by this name of about 25 or 30 families." 
"Tradition says this creek was named for an Indian Chief, 
George, whose home was on this stream and who was a 
resident here long after the white settlers came. "West 
Settlement in Johnson County on the west side of Cache, 
fine fertile tracks of land, 30 families. The McFatridge 
settlement eight miles northeast of Vienna, on old road 
from Golconda to Kaskaskia, on Cedar Creek, 60 or 70 
families. Bridges settlement ten miles west of Vienna, good 
land, 60 families." 


There must have been negroes here very early in the 
settlement of this county, since there are records of their 
sale and lawsuits concerning them found in the very first 
of our history. There were colored people brought by 
Renault to work mines in this section 1719. Some histor- 
ians say there were remains of these mines found in John- 
son county but if in the present territory no one living 
now has any knowledge or tradition concerning them. The 
following is an extract from the court record of 1813. "On 
motion of Thomas Green one of the executors of the estate 
of Nathanial Green, it is ordered that the said Thomas and 
Parrish Green executors as aforesaid do hire out to the 
highest bidder a certain negro girl named Hannah left as 
a special legacy to Nancy Green, the daughter of Nathanial 
Green for the term of one year from the time of hiring and 
no longer and to take security for the return of said girl 
at the expiration of the term and payment of hire." Some 
of the families owning slaves were Greens, Wilcox, Eu- 
banks, Copeland, Borin, Whiteside and Cox. There were 
no doubt others but no record is found of them. Several 
colored slaves were taken up by the authorities, served out 
their terms by the law were advertised and freed. This 


being so near the South there may have been an under 
ground station in this county. If there was there were 
so many sympathisers with slavery in this section that it 
was never known who kept them. The following shows the 
course pursued to recapture a runaway slave, "$150 RE- 
WARD! RAN AWAY from the subscriber a negro man 
named Patrick. He left on the 21 of July last, a dark cop- 
per color and will weight a hundred eighty or one hundred 
ninety pounds, about thirty-four or thirty-five years old, five 
feet and seven inches tall, round shoulders and heavy made. 
He has a few marks on his right side near the shoulder, 
caused by a whip from patroles. He has a down look when 
spoken to, a high forehead and a small bald place on his 
head, very. polite, he is extremely fond of liquor and can 
read print a little, make coarse shoes and can cooper very 
well, a good basket maker and can bottom chairs very well. 
Also a handy fellow with tools about a farm. He was 
raised in Bedford County, Tennessee by Robert Elison and 
was sold to me by Little and Thompson in February last. 
He and his wife. He has very short hair and close to his 
head and had on heavy whiskers when he left home. Since 
he left home I learned that he has been an old runaway and 
no doubt but what he will be hard to get hold of. When 
last heard from he was in the state of Illinois, Saline Coun- 
ty inquiring for a free negro by the name of Jackson. He 
was in four miles of Jackson's. The settlement is called 
South America in consequence of the free negroes in it. If 
taken and well ironed in jail so that I can get hold of him 
I will pay the above reward and all necessary expenses by 
addressing me at Bahalie office, Marshall County, Missis- 
sippi, November 23, 1850, D. B. Linsey." The above notice 
which was printed in poster form on November 23, 1850, 
and sent to sheriffs over the country, has been kept in the 
Gray family for seventy-four years. It was received by B. 
S. Gray who was sheriff of Johnson County at that time and 
the father of our fellow townsman, A. J. Gray. James 
Gray, a grandson loaned the above article. 

An old lady long since passed on told this story of one 
of the early slaves of this county named Nathe. His master 
regularly gave him to each of his children, when married 
as a wedding present, but he was so incorrigible except by 
his old master that they were glad to return him to the 


father in a short while, so that he was always ready to be 
the present for the next wedding in the family. 

The negroes took their masters name. There are de- 
scendants of these early slaves named Copeland, living near 
Belleville and in Mound City. There are also some of the 
colored Whiteside family who live in Pope County. There 
are several colored families living in the county at the 
present time, some of them very good farmers. 

We have only a few colored people who were born in 
slavery, none natives of this county, and while they are all 
getting on in years, they are independent and self-support- 
ing. These few are Lee, and Aunt Dolly Smith, Jennie 
Hessee, Tobe, Richard and Julia Thomas, Aunt Huldy Cole, 
and Aunt Ann Worrells. As a whole the colored popula- 
tion of this county is above the average. The Aliens who 
live on the west side of the county, S. T. Oliver, William 
Lathem, R. Thomas and a number of others have proved 
themselves substantial citizens. 

The Wheeler family, colored, came here from the south 
soon after the Civil War. The father was born in slavery, 
and was said to have sold at one time for $1,000, owing to 
his strength and reliability as a man. He raised a family 
that any father could be proud of. One son, Green Wheeler 
is a minister living in Vienna, a reliable and well respected 
citizen. Another son, John, graduated from a medical col- 
lege at Nashville, Tennessee and is now a successful phy- 
sician in Chester, Tennessee. Another son, Henry, is prin- 
cipal of the colored school of Fredertown, Missouri and 
Winnie, the only daughter is married and living in May- 
field, Kentucky. 

The Murrell family, colored, came here from the south 
several years after the war. The mother and father were 
born in slavery, and possibly two of the older children. 
Aunt Ann Murrell, as every one knew her was kind hearted 
as any woman that ever lived in this neighborhood. There 
was no case of poverty or sickness where Aunt Ann would 
not assist to the very best of her ability, and in many cases 
she would go to their relief when others hesitated on ac- 
count of conditions. Aunt Ann and Uncle Pen raised a 
respectable family all of whom are doing well. One son 
deserves special mention as he has educated himself, com- 


pleting the High School in Vienna, taking a course at the 
University of Illinois, and finishing at a Theological School. 
He is now a prominent minister of the colored Baptist 
Church and located at Quincy. He served several months in 
France as a Y. M. C. A. worker during the World War. 

The Summer family coming here from Pope County 
were another very reliable colored family, but they have 
left the county. 

There were twenty-four slaves and free born colored 
people in this county when the state was admitted to the 
Union. Bogg's says, "slavery was not entirely eradicated 
from Illinois till 1848." When the vote was taken in 1824 
as to whether Illinois should be free or slave Johnson Coun- 
ty was a tie vote, 74 for and 74 against. Buck, a historian 
of Illinois, speaking of the first constitutional convention, 
1818, says, "In Johnson County the only known candidate 
who was not elected was a slave holder and an active advo- 
cate of slavery in Illinois. He was said to have been beaten 
by only a few votes. His name was John Copeland." 

We have had very few colored people in the county for 
a number of years until 1923, when many have come from 
the south to assist in the new industry of cotton raising. 


There have been so many prominent lawyers of South- 
ern Illinois who practiced in our courts, that it seems fit 
that their names and residence be given as far as possible. 
Under the first judiciary system, territorial judges held 
courts throughout the Illinois territory. The prosecuting 
attorneys for the people were appointed and traveled the 
circuits just as the judges did until 1872 when the new con- 
stitution was adopted and the office of States Attorney 
established. Kaskaskia, Cahokia, and Belleville seem a long 
way to come to practice in the courts of Johnson County, 
especially when the fees in some cases were only two dollars 
and a half, but Vienna was one of the principal courts of 
the territory. 

The first lawyer on record was William Russell, who 
began to practice here in 1813 and continued until 1833. His 
residence is not known, but he probably lived in Kentucky. 
Russell E. Heacock began about the same time, Moses, an 


historian of Illinois says he came to St. Clair County in 
1800. He later moved to Jonesboro, married in that vicin- 
ity and practiced law in that section for several years. He 
moved then to New York City and later to Chicago. An- 
other historian says, Heacock had a law office in the village 
of Chicago in 1833. 

Elias K. Kane whose name appears frequently in the 
first courts was a resident of Kaskaskia. He served as 
Secretary of State, Member of the General Assembly, was 
twice elected to the United States Senate and died in Wash- 
ington, D. C, during his last term of office. 

Benjamin T. Hall, Adolphus T. Hubbard and Robert 
McLaughlin frequented this court as lawyers from 1813 
till 1817. William Mears was our District Attorney in 
1813. He continued to practice here till 1839 and resided 
at Cahokia, moving to Belleville when the county seat was 
changed to that place in 1814. Davis, McHenry and 
Delaney were lawyers here as early as 1814 and 1815. 

Thomas C. Brown settled in Shawneetown in 1812. He 
held our court in 1813, served in the Territorial Legislature 
also as District Attorney. "He was allowed ten dollars for 
his services as prosecuting attorney for the year 1816, 
agreeable to law/' for Johnson County. He was elected 
one of the first associate judges and served in that capacity 
thirty years. Joseph Conway was another who attended 
the courts here at that time; he resided in Kaskaskia in 
1812 and served in that State Legislature as a senator. 
About 1819 the name of Henry Eddy of Shawneetown is 
first found on our records. His name continues until 1848. 
He edited "The Illinois Emmigrant," published at Shawnee- 
town, the second paper published in the state. He served 
in the war of 1812, also in the State Legislature, was made 
circuit judge in 1835 and was a Whig in politics. A. P. 
Field lived at Jonesboro and practiced in Vienna courts in 
1823. He served three terms in the General Assembly, also 
as Secretary of State in 1828. Thomas Reynolds was an- 
other attorney of this time, as was also Nathaniel Pope. He 
was the first Secretary of the Territory and acted as gov- 
ernor until the arrival of Ninian Edwards. He also repre- 
sented the territory in Congress and was appointed United 
States Judge for Illinois after her admission as a state. 
Pope County was named in his honor. 


Browner and Jason Chamberlain were contemporaries 
of Daniel P. Cook, who served as judge of the western cir- 
cuit of Illinois, also as Attorney General of the state, and 
was elected to Congress several times, practiced here about 
1825-26. Cook County took its name from Daniel P. Cook. 
Samuel McRoberts and Johnathan Ramsey of Hardin Coun- 
ty, procured licenses to practice law in our courts in 1818. 
William Sprigg among the first territorial judges, held 
court here in 1815 and many times afterwards. Richard 
M. Young was a resident of Kaskaskia who held this court 
in 1825 and was also a district attorney. Jeptha Hardin 
was an early resident of Shawneetown and was made a 
circuit judge. He held our courts and attended them as an 
attorney about twenty years, beginning in 1819. John Mc- 
Lean was another of Shawneetown's famous citizens. He 
began practice here in 1821. McLean was elected to Con- 
gress one term and served many years in the State Legis- 
lature, most always as Speaker in the General Assembly. 
Dunn's name appears in 1823 and continues on the records 
about twelve years. James Hall, who served in the legis- 
lature was a jurist and author. He began the practice of 
law at Shawneetown in 1820 and moved later to Vandalia. 
He had cases here in 1823-24. David J. Baker, who lived 
at Alton, began practicing in our courts in 1824 and was 
present at almost every term for about twenty-five years. 
He was the father of Judge David J. Baker, Jr., of Cairo, 
who practiced in and held our courts as circuit judge until 
1878, when he was elected to the Supreme bench. 

Sidney Breese's name first appears on the court 
records here in 1825. He began his work as a lawyer with 
Elias K. Kane at Kaskaskia, and reached a very high place 
in the annals of our state. Thomas Hoyne, his biographer, 
says that he compiled the first volume of law reports for 
the state and this was the first book printed in the state. 
He filled the office of circuit attorney for the third judicial 
district, was a member of the General Assembly, United 
States Senator, Circuit Judge, Supreme Judge and twice 
Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Illinois. His "Early 
History of Illinois" is considered one of the most valuable 
of its period. He was a frequenter of our courts as late 
as 1840, holding court at that time. 

Thomas Reynolds and W. J. Gatewood who were resi- 
dents of Shawneetown, began in our courts in 1827. Gate- 


wood continued for fifteen or twenty years. Richard Ham- 
ilton attended the courts in 1830. Alexander F. Grant 
resided in Shawneetown, practiced in Johnson County 
courts from 1831 until his election as judge of the third 
judicial district, 1835. He also served in the legislature. 
Walter B. Scates conducted cases in this court the same 
year. He was circuit judge, held our court several years 
and was later elected to the Supreme bench. John Dough- 
erty of Jonesboro, came as an attorney in 1832. He repre- 
sented his district in the legislature, served as lieutenant 
governor and was later elected circuit judge. He was con- 
nected with our courts almost fifty years. H. R. Jones 
lived at Jonesboro, practiced here in 1820. Sander, James 
Evans and Morrison were attorneys here about 1833. S. 
D. Marshall, of McLeansboro was also of this period. 

John M. McClernand was a resident of Shawneetown 
and frequented our courts for several years. He became a 
very conspicuous figure in Southern Illinois, representing 
his dictrict several times in the State Legislature, served 
in Congress and reached the grade of Lieutenant Colonel 
of the forty-eighth regiment in the Civil War. A. J. Kuy- 
kendall, a native of Johnson County began his practice in 
1840, he served in the State Senate and also in Congress. 
W. H. Stickney, who lived in Shawneetown, Whitehead, 
Husbands, W. J. Sloan of Golconda, and J. M. Davidge of 
Pulaski County began attending this court about 1834; 
Richard S. Nelson, H. W. Clement in 1832. The name of 
Allen first appears on the attorney list in 1841. One would 
think immediately of W. J. Allen, but this was Willis, 
father of W. J. Willis continued attendance on our courts 
many years, frequently having cases with his son, W. J., 
who continued his practice here long after the Civil War. 
They lived at Marion where W. J. Allen was elected to 
Congress. He moved to Carbondale, was later appointed 
Federal Judge, served in Springfield in that capacity until 
his death. H. W. Billings, of Cairo, Caldwell and Cato 
were others practicing here about the forties. Nelson T. 
Hays, Soloman Waytt and Barlow came the following year 
with Demming of Marion as circuit judge. LeRoy, John- 
son and Pierce were of 1846, W. H. Hacker of Jonesboro 
and L. W. Fern, of this county began here about the same 
time. R. P. Corder of Marion, M. W. Casey, of Mt. Vernon 
were also attorneys during this period. 


Jeddiah Jack was a resident and practiced law in the 
courts of Vienna in the forties. He later moved to Metro- 
polis and was appointed to defend Decatur Campbell, a 
negro living in that county in 1850, and the defendant in 
the famous Decatur Campbell case, of Massac. In this 
trial before the Supreme Court of the state, the principle 
was first established in Illinois that a person is justified in 
defending himself in cases of apparent, as well as real 
danger, also that the law makes no distinction as to color 
in a trial for murder, found in Vol. XVI, Illinois reports, 
page sixteen. 

W. K. Parrish, who lived at Benton and later at Du- 
Quoin began his visits here as an attorney 1851 and con- 
tinued throughout his business life. William Vaughn, 
Murry and Wallen appear as lawyers here in the same year. 
John A. Logan's name is first found in our records 1852, 
this was before he became the General of Civil War fame, 
Member of Congress, United States Senator from Illinois 
and candidate for Vice-President. He had cases in almost 
all circuit courts here until the Civil War. W. J. Allen came 
a little earlier perhaps, but they were law partners many 
years, residing in Marion, Illinois. W. W. Clement and 
George W. Young were also Marion lawyers of that time. 
B. 0. Jones and T. H. Smith of Metropolis, who was another 
Civil War hero, reaching the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. 
Montgomery and McElvain were contemporaries with 
Logan and Allen. James Pearson and Delevan are names 
appearing about this time. The latter part of the fifties 
we find the names of McKay, W. J. Gibbs of Vienna ; S. D. 
Parks, who later located in DuQuoin; Monroe C. Crawford, 
of Benton, who later moved to Jonesboro and was district 
attorney; A. D. Duff, Circuit Judge, later of Carbondale; 
W. H. Green of Metropolis, who afterwards moved to Cairo ; 
H. M. Smith, of Caledonia, Pulaski County and H. R. Wise 
of this county as attorneys. 

John A. Thompson, and S. G. Simmons of Jonesboro, 
practiced here in the sixties, also John R. Thomas, who 
was a resident of Metropolis, and later served as Congress- 
man from this district for ten years. 

The following are lawyers practicing here after the 
Civil War and up until the present time: Marion Young- 
blood of Benton and later of Carbondale, John C. Mulkey, 


of Benton, later of Metropolis, who was elected to the Su- 
preme bench from there; S. P. Wheeler and D. T. Linegar 
were also of Cairo. T. G. C. Davis was an earlier attorney 
(latter part of the forties) who lived at Metropolis, and 
was said to be one of the finest looking men of his time and 
a wonderful orator. M. J. Inseore of Anna, C. K. Davis, 
James Gregg, of Harrisburg, William Parrish and his 
son, John, also of Harrisburg, were frequenters of our 
courts. Some members of our own bar were C. N. and A. 
G. Damron, R. M. Fisher, W. A. and H. A. Spann, T. Chap- 
man, 0. A. Harker, B. F. Olden, John T. Allison, T. A. 
Stewart, John T. Keith, P. T. Chapman, A. K. Vickers, L. 
0. Whitnel, G. B. Gillespie, D. J. and J. 0. Cowan, 0. R. 
Morgan, C. J. Huffman, George W. English, George W. 
Ballance, T. H. Sheridan, W. Y. Smith, John B. Bain and G. 
A. Vunkirk. 


The first physican that is found on record in Johnson 
County is a Dr. Holt, 1815. He may not have been a resi- 
dent of this county, but a bill of his is found filed against 
an estate as a physican that was settled that year. Dr. J. D. 
Martin is another of that period. Dr. Brooks, who lived 
in Union County, also practiced here in 1827. Dr. W. J. 
Gibbs came here in 1831. Dr. A. B. Moore, 1851. Dr. A. 
P. Stewart practiced here as early as 1845, perhaps earlier 
and for many years afterwards. He had children, Ann, 
who married Washington Boyt, Thomas, who was a farmer 
of this county for several years, Green, who was a printer 
and another son, Smith. 

Dr. Johnathan Mulkey came to this county from 
Williamson sometime in the fifties. He was the father of 
Dr. Phillip D., who married Angeline Brown, settled in the 
western part of the county in 1870, followed his profession 
throughout his life in the neighborhood of Cypress and Mt. 
Pisgah. Other children of Dr. Johnathan were, Melissa, 
who married first Asa (see Carter) , second Andrew Martin ; 
Martha, married Deam West; Malinda, married Alexander 
McClain; Malvina, married Dr. Thomas Burris; Margery, 
married Frank Bently; Mary, married John Beggs; Alice, 
married Mr. Sailor ; Monta, married Mr. Williams ; the two 
latter live in Colorado. One son Robert died soon after the 
Civil War from injuries sustained in service Samuel C, 
married Emma Stone and removed to Union County. 


Dr. T. R. Burris was a son of Hiram Burris, a farmer 
who came to this county in 1851 ; other children of Hiram 
Burris were John (2), Martha (2), who married John 
Graves; Stephen (2) married Jane Grissom, had children, 
Thomas (3), and Pleasant (3). He married second Mildred 
Stockdale and had children Edith (3), who married Robert 
Lough; Mary (3), married Adolphus Mathis, both of this 
county; Albert (3), married Eunice Veach; Fanny (3), 
married Alva Pickens, children, Magdaline, Josephine and 
Marion; married second, Edward Mathis, and has Daniel 
D; Ethel (3), married Dolphus Alexander, and has Orval, 
Ruth, Jane; Arthur (3), married Meta Miller; Walter (2), 
married Martha Pringle and had Carrie, who married 
Basil (See Simpson.) He married second Mary Dooley and 
had three children. Mary (2), married William (see Chap- 
man) ; Amanda (2), married Adam Harvick; Elizabeth (2) 
married Mr. Biddle; Dr. Elias H. (2) , married Sarah Camp- 
bell of Kentucky, and had Columbia (3), Don (3) and 
Daws (3). He practiced here about ten years, when he re- 
moved to Kentucky where his family now reside. Dr. T. 
R. (2), married Malivna Mulkey, practiced. in and around 
Vienna about twenty-five years and spent his last days on a 
farm one mile north of Vienna. His children were Frank 
J. (3), married Ella Lovlace and had Frances (4) and 
others. Dr. Hiram H. (3), married Julia Bridges, they had 
Nellie (4), Ward (4) and removed to Union County. Cle- 
tus G. (3), married Mamie Hershbealer; Maude (3), mar- 
ried Richard Hoague and had Rubby (4), Thomas (3), mar- 
ried Edith Glassford; Bert (3) was accidently killed by an 
exposed telephone wire about ten years ago; Elizabeth (3), 
married Ernest Cates and has Ernest (4), Glenda (4), and 
Howard (4), Mabel (3), married Joe Price (see Price); 
Myrtle (3), married Ed. Veach and has Imy (4), Amy (4), 
Graduate physicans practising in Johnson County in 1878 
were; G. W. Elkins, W. A. Looney, L. F. Walker, J. M. C. 
Damron, N. J. Benson, George Bratton, W. R. Mizell, R. M. 
McCall, C. N. Whitnel, Josiah Whitnel, R. M. Whitnel, 0. 
P. Martin, J. J. Walker, L. W. Carlton, and W. J. Fern. 
Those practicing under the ten year law ; L. L. Shadrick, A. 
T. Mobley. 

Dr. Lewis Mehlear was a native of Germany, acquiring 
his profession in that country. He located in Flatwoods, 
Simpson Township, about 1850 and practiced there many 


years. All that is known of his family is that he had a 
son who studied medicine and located in Arkansas. The son 
returned to Simpson in 1923 where he soon died, being 
approximately 75 years old. 

Dr. J. H. Norris was a phsician living in Vienna and 
practicing there in the 60's, if not earlier. He was a faith- 
ful member of the Methodist church, always attending the 
quarterly conferences. 

Dr. Dill came to this county during the Civil War, 
settled and practiced in Goreville Township, married Mary 
(Burris) Chapman. 

Dr. James Sullivan was a native of this county who 
resided in Goreville and practiced in that vicinity. 

Dr. Cole was a physician of Reynoldsburg neighbor- 
hood, coming there soon after the Civil War. 

Dr. Edward Scarsdale was a student under Dr. C. N. 
Whitnel and practiced a short time with him. in Goreville. 

Dr. Ballenger came to this county about 1865, he re- 
sided and practiced in the Drake neighborhood in Elvira 

Dr. L. L. Shadrick was a native of and practiced in 
this county more than sixty years ago in the neighborhood 
of Mt. Pisgah. He married Elizabeth Fisher who after his 
death married W. I. Joiner, a Civil War veteran and a busi- 
ness man of Vienna many years. "Aunt Betty" as she is 
familiarly known, now eighty-four years old is still a resi- 
dent of Vienna. 

Dr. W .R. Mizell was the first doctor to locate in New 
Burnside, which must have been about 1873. He built the 
second residence there and has practiced continuously for 
more than fifty years. He married Miss Thompson and 
has one son, Adolph, who is a physician of Shelbyville, 111. 

Dr. N. M. Hudson owned a drug store and practiced 
medicine in Tunnel Hill for a short time in the early seven- 
ties, but later removed to Harrisburg, Illinois. 

Dr. J. F. Blanchard came from Pope County to New 
Burnside when it was a thriving town and followed his 
profession there for several years, but later removed to 
Creal Springs, Illinois, where he still resides. He married 


Mary Frizzel, sister to Lewis, of this county and had 
Bertha, Vernell, Norve and Verne. 

Dr. H. D. LaRue was a native of Kentucky. He came 
to New Burnside and practiced medicine about' twenty-five 
years but removed from the county several years ago. He 
married Bonnie Trovillion, of Pope County and has a son, 
Dr. Claude, who practices in Boulder, Colo., and one daugh- 
ter, Robbie, who married Mr. Robbs, and they reside in Mt. 
Carmel, Illinois. 

Dr. M. J. Kerley was a physican in Flatwood neigh- 
borhood near Simpson, beginning his work about 1886. He 
was the ninth son of Thomas Kerley and the Uncle of Dr. 
T. B. Kerley of Simpson. 

Dr. Albert McConnell came to Simpson neighborhood 
as a physican about 1886, where he continued his practice 
for many years. His son, C. A. is a leading physican of 
Hot Springs, Arkansas. 

Dr. J. T. Loney is a native of this county, and a son 
of Dr. W. A. He acquired his education in the public 
schools and Southern Illinois Normal and also graduated 
from Rush Medical College, Chicago. He was appointed 
assistant physican at Chester prison, but later settled at 
Simpson where he practiced for some time when he re- 
moved to Vienna continuing his work there for several 
years. He removed to Tishomingo, Oklahoma, where he 
follows his profession. (For family see Simpson.) 

Dr. Asher was a physician of New Burnside for a few 

Dr. J. H. Simmons was a son of Peter Simmons who 
came from North Carolina and was a native of Simpson 
Township, practicing there several years about 1888. He 
removed to Vienna and with Dr. Joseph Walker engaged in 
the drug business for a short time when he removed to 
Missouri where he still follows his profession. He married 
Nancy Kerley of this county. 

Dr. I. N. Graves is a native of this county, a son of 
Joshua and Katherine (Stewart), born in 1849. His an- 
cestors were among the first settlers of the county, coming 
from North Carolina. He graduated from the College of 
Physicans and Surgeons in 1889; he married Maude Rich- 


ardson, they had Rollo, who married and removed from the 
county; Cora, married Charles Stanley; Zora, married Ray 
Bradley and has Vivian and Gale and resides in Goreville; 
Mabel, married Frank Stevens and has one child; James, 
married Helen Coleman ; Hazel is a teacher in the Goreville 
schools. Dr. Graves has been a resident of Gorville for 
many years ; and a physician for fifty-five. 

Dr. J. J. Fly came to Goreville about 1904 practicing 
there about fifteen years, when he moved to Herrin, Illinois. 
He maried Elmiranda Mcintosh and had children, Nettie, 
who married Newton Lentz, Carrie, married Zach Hudgens, 
Bert, married J. B. Hudgens and had Arbie, Valjean, Wii- 
helma, Emma, Jack and Kay ; Emma married Roe Hubbard, 
Whilhelma married Earl Thornton, has Robert T. Eva mar- 
ried Pat Kelley; Ethel married (first) Tine Huggins and 
had two sons, second Mr. Lentz; Ralph, married Mary 
Grissom, lives in Franklin County; Afton, married Mr. 
Johnson and lives in Herrin. 

Dr. R. A. Cavitt is a native of Tunnel Hill and a son 
of Jackson Cavitt. He graduated from the College of 
Physicans and Surgeons, St. Louis, Mo., and practiced in 
his home community a few years, but later removed to 
Morrison, Oklahoma, where he is continuing in his pro- 

Dr. A. D. Thornton is a resident physician of Gore- 
ville and a native of that community. He is a son of 
William P. and Alice (Calhoun) Thornton, and married 
Fanie Boles. He was educated in the public schools of 
Goreville and acquired his profesional education at the 
Chicago College of Medical Surgery, graduating in 1913. 
He has extensive farming interests and is a fancier of 
thoroughbred horses and registered cattle. 

Dr. Whittaker and Dr. Hurst owned a drug store in 
Goreville and practiced there several years. Dr. Whit- 
taker married Miss Hurst, a sister of Dr. Hurst. Dr. 
Hurst married Ursula daughter of Charles Calhoun. 

Dr. G. K. Farris was born in this county and received 
his elementary education here and later graduated from 
the Medical Department of St. Louis University. He be- 
gan practice in Vienna in 1906 and has developed extensive 
practice. (For family see Farris.) 


Dr. Earl Veach is a native of this county and received 
his education in its public schools. He selected medicine as 
his profession and graduated from the St. Louis University 
School of Medicine in 1915. He opened an office in Vienna 
where he enjoys a lucrative practice. 

Dr. William Thompson came to this county from Ten- 
nessee in 1862. He was an M. E. minister and a physican. 
He settled on a farm east of Vienna, now owned by Frank- 
lin Marberry, living there till about 1874 when he moved 
to the villiage of Bloomfield, continuing his work as a phy- 
sician and minister fifteen or twenty years. Rev. Fred L. 
Thompson (2), was his son and had been licensed to preach 
in the M. E. church before his father came to this county. 
He married Mary Bruner of Metropolis. Later in life he 
became quite prominent as a minister of the Southern Illi- 
nois M. E. Conference. The other children of Dr. Thomp- 
son were Elizabeth (2), who married James Williams, they 
lived for a while in Bloomfield, later moved to Missouri. 
Robert (2), married Cynthia Thomas, of this county and 
they had children Effie (3), Mary (3), Theodocia (3). 
J. H. (3), lived in Simpson Township. He married first 
Mary Cornish and they had William (4), (see Physicans) 
J. H. (3), married second (Mary McKee) Wormack and 
had Robert (4), Cletus (4) ; Virginia (3), married Jasper 
Mount, they had Ella (4), Fred (4), Frank (4), Elizabeth 
(4), Lily (4), Laura (4), Mable (4), Ella (4), married 
John H. Whiteside, Frank (4) married Nellie Short, Fred 
(4) married Luella Rushing, Elizabeth (4) married J. W. 
(see Reynolds), Lily (4) married J. S. Galoway, of Herrin, 
Illinois, Sophia (4) married George Williams, Mable mar- 
ried Mr. St. John, of Fort Worth, Texas. 

Dr. William Thompson, a son of J. H., and a native 
of this county is a graduate of the Barnes Medical College, 
St. Louis, Mo., finishing in the class of 1909. Dr. William 
began practice in Belknap immediately after his gradua- 
tion, continuing there till 1918, when he enlisted in the 
World War, going as a captain to France in 1918, and serv- 
ing till the close of the war. In 1922 he removed to Cypress 
where he enjoys a large and lucrative practice. He married 
Bertha, (see Marberry.) 



In 1775 a law was passed by the delegates of the coun- 
ties of Virgina as follows, "Each company of infantry 
shall consist of fifty-eight riflmen, one captain, two lieuten- 
ants, one ensign, four sergants, four corporals and a 
drummer." As Illinois was a part of Virgina, a little later 
the law prevailed in this section. "A battallion of militia 
was formed in that part of Randolph County lying on the 
Ohio River in 1809/' E. J. James Territorial Laws. (This 
section later became Johnson County) "An order was issued 
by the Governor, June 2, 1809, to hold elections in these 
respective companies to elect persons to command these 
companies." Ihe reason for organizing these companies 
of militia, no doubt, lay in the fact that the Indians 
in Indiana, Ohio and Illinois had become troublesome 
and frequent depredations were inflicted on the pioneer 
settlers. Major John Worebeck petitioned congress 
in 1812, to raise four companies of mounted trops in Illinois 
to be used in defense of the frontier settlements against the 
Indians. In 1810 and 1812 there were a series of massacres 
by Indians in Illinois territory. In 1811 settlers on the 
Ohio and Mississippi Rivers manned a fort which had been 
built in 1804 on Muddy River near where old Fort Massac 
trace crosses that stream. This section was considered an 
exposed position- and many people moved away on account 
of fear of the Indians. In 1813, two families were killed on 
Cache River about where Mound City is now located. The 
following was the territorial law under which the militia 
companies were formed for protection against Indian at- 
tacks. "All free white inhabitants, residents of the state 
of the age of 18 years and under 45, except as herein after 
excepted, shall be enrolled in the militia by the commanding 
officer of the company within whose bounds such persons 
shall reside, within ten days after he sjiall be informed of 
such residence and at all times, therein after, in like manner 
shall be enrolled, those who may from time to time arrive 
at the age of eighteen or come to reside in the district, be- 
ing of that age and under forty-five." This was copied 
from the early laws passed at Vincennes for the defense of 
the territory. "The governor shall provide for raising com- 
panies of grenadiers, light infantry, riflemen and artillery 
agreeable to the laws of the United States at his discretion 
and when such companies are raised and officered shall be 


subject to the laws and rules of the United States and of 
the territory as any other militia." June 26, 1811. "All 
officers shall reside in the respective commands. " The 
third and fourth regiments of militia were formed along 
the Ohio and Wabash Rivers and located in Johnson and 
Gallatin Counties. The following are some of the appoint- 
ments in the militia in this part of the state later known as 
Johnson County: January 10, 1810, Hamlet Furguson, 
William Simpson, Phillip Trammell, James Ford, William 
Alexander, and Absalom Cox were appointed captains of 
militia by Goyernor Edwards, August 2, 1810, Thomas 
Griffith was appointed captain in the third regiment of the 
militia; January 20, 1812, the governor appointed John 
Bradshaw, captain, Louis McMillian, John Patterson and 
Daniel T. Coleman, lietutenants, John Tweedy, Stephen 
Kuykendall, Irvil Borin, ensigns in the third regiment; 
January 2, 1810 David Anderson was appointed adjutant 
of the militia of Randolph County; July 9, 1810 the gover- 
nor appointed William Simpson, Jr., ensign in the third 
regiment; September 24, 1814 John F. Smith, Daniel Cole- 
man, James B. Bailey, and William Thornton were appoint- 
ed captains; John Harris, Ebenzer Kealough, John 
Tweedy, Stephen Smith, William Huckam, lietuenants, 
Nathan Langston, William Johnson, John Whitiker, Issac 
Borin, William Tripp, John Schultz, ensigns in the third 
militia of Johnson County. Joseph Kuykendall was ap- 
pointed lieutenant, George Weir, John Ruft, ensigns and 
D. T. Coleman Captain in the third regiment; January 20, 
1812, Owen Evans and William Simpson were appointed 
majors in the third regiment, April 2, 1812, James Fox and 
Rice Sams were appointed captains, Martin Harvick and 
Vincent Larkin, lieutenants, James Simpson and William 
McFatridge, ensigns in the third regiment; June 15, 1815 
Thomas Griffith wa,s appointed major and Martin Harvick 
a captain in the third regiment; August 4, 1815 William 
Richy, James Fisher, James Johnston were appointed lieu- 
tenants, John Fisher, Robert Miller, ensigns in the third 
regiment; January 10, 1816 William Hickman was ap- 
pointed captain, William Lindsey, John Whitiker and Will- 
iam McNorton lieutenants, R. Davis, Joseph Perrin, en- 
signs of the third regiment; June the 3, 1818 Benjamin 
Means was appointed captain, Daniel Coleman, Vice captain 
Allen McKenzie captain and vice captain J. C. Smith, John 


C. Smith promoted to major, Thomas Cox and John Graves 
were appointed captains, Joseph Kuykendall, William Mc- 
Ginnis and William Shelton, lieutenants. 

All the officers were first elected by the militia and 
then appointed by the Governor. These appointments have 
been compiled from the territorial records by E. J. James 
from 1809 to 1818. William Russell was allowed one dollar 
for acting as clerk of the election for militia officers in 1825. 
The men serving in the militia were given land by the 
government. John White states he was a private in Cap- 
tain Joseph Phillips Company, enlisted May 6, 1814, dis- 
charged August 21, 1815. He gave George Brazel power 
of attorney for him. His deed is recorded in Johnson. 


Johnson County was so far away and so new that 
there w r ere none here to enlist to fight for the freedom of 
our country from the English. But a number who had 
served from different states came here afterward and we 
have many descendants of Revolutionary soldiers now liv- 
ing among us. Alexander Beggs was a Revolutionary 
soldier and at one time a resident of Union County and he 
drew a pension as such. His widow, Elizabeth Beggs, held 
certificate No. 13,389, dated at the war office Washington, 

D. C, July 1833 ; signed by John Rabb, acting as Secretary 
of War. Alexander Beggs died in 1837. The court of 
Johnson County ordered the clerk to certify the same to 
August for paying pension at Carmi, State of Illinois. 

Mary McMahan was certified to as being the widow of 
John McMahan, a revolutionary pensioner. It was recom- 
mended by the court of Johnson County that she be allowed 
a pension from December 1823, the date of his death, till 
October, 1837. The court certified to her application to the 
war department. Hezekiah West stated that he served in 
1780 as a private in Captain Frost's company of Mounted 
Rangers, in Col. W T inn's regiment, for one month in 1781, 
in Captain Robert Frost's company of foot, three months; 
in 1782 in Captain John McNeal's company of Mounted 
Rangers, in Colonel Davis Hopkin's regiment three months. 
He was allowed a pension December 3, 1832, at which time 
he resided in Johnson County, Illinois. 


Jacob Harvick — From sur. File No. 32, 289 Revolu- 
tionary War Pension office, we find Jacob Harvick was a 
resident of Surry Co., North Carolina and volunteered as 
a private, early in 1781, under Captain Hulet or Hewitt, in 
Colonel Phillip's regiment and served three months. In 
the fall of 1781, he again entered the service as private in 
the North Carolina line, under Captain Charles Gorden 
and served one year. He was allowed a pension on applica- 
tion executed July 3rd, 1833 while a resident of Johnson 
County. William Wiggs or Weggs, from the papers in the 
claim Sur. File No. 32,608 ; it appears that Wm. Wiggs was 
born in Wayne County, North Carolina, about 1758. He 
served as private 1775 for thirty-five days in Captain 
William Fellows' Company; in 1779 for five months under 
Captain John Canada, and in 1781 three months under 
Captain Joseph Sessions and was in the battle of Guilford. 
He was allowed a pension on his application executed April 
26, 1833 while residing in Johnson County, Illinois. Ran- 
dolph Lawson — In the rejected claim R. 6, 205; it appears 
that Randolph Lawson was born in Cumberland County, 
North Carolina, in the fall or winter of 1752, and while liv- 
ing there, volunteered in the summer of 1780, under Cap- 
tain Cox or Gholson and guarded baggage during the battle 
of Camden, also he again volunteered in 1781 under Cap- 
tain Duck or Cox and guarded baggage during the battle of 
Guilford, and that he did not actually engage in either 
battle. He applied for pension, executed April, 1835, while 
living in Johnson County, Illinois, but his claim was re- 
jected as he did not furnish sufficient proof of six months 
military service as required by the act of June 7th, 1832, 
under which he applied. His children are referred to but 
their names are not given and that of his wife is not stated. 

Daniel Chapman — In the Spring of 1775, he volun- 
teered in West Chester County, New York for the nine 
months under Captain Sackett, who joined the regiment of 
Colonel Thomas. The population of the county had an un- 
usual proportion of tories, who in the latter part of 1775. 
as well as during the following winter, were very active 
and aggressive in plundering and burning the buildings 
occupied by the patriots, to prevent these depredations he 
was involved in a number of skirmishes, one of them oc- 
curring at New Castle, Westchester County, where his cap- 
tain was taken prisoner. After his term had expired he was 


detained two months longer before he received his dis- 
charge. In the spring of 1776 he again volunteered for 
nine months under the same officer, Captain Sackett having 
been exchanged and was employed in the same partisan war 
fare as no regular British troops were stationed above New 
York City until after it was occupied by the enemy Sep- 
tember 15, 1776. A Colonel Holmes, who had lived in Bed- 
ford had joined the British and with a body of Tory horse- 
men destroyed the buildings in that town except his own 

A deserter brought the information that Col. Holmes 
was coming to destroy them. To prevent this, Chapman, 
with a party of forty-five or fifty others volunteered under 
Lieutenant Mosier. His party was surrounded by four 
times its number of Tory horsemen, yet by forming a 
hollow square they received the attack at the point of their 
bayonets, with a great slaughter, of men and horses, killing 
the horse of Colonel Holmes and badly wounding him. The 
enemy was repulsed by the patriots without the loss of a 

Early in 1777 Chapman, being well acquainted with 
the country, volunteered as a scout and received the ap- 
pointment of 2nd Sergeant under Colonel Weisenfelt in 
which capacity he served one year ; having occasional fights 
with parties of the enemy. He continued with Colonel 
Weisenfelt until the main army, late in August, 1781, 
marched south to meet Cornwallis, in Virginia. He was 
in conflicts at Dobbs Ferry where there was a small fort, 
which to some extent prevented the enemy's vessels from 
passing up the river. 

William Copeland — Adjutant General's office, Wash- 
ington, D. C. It is shown by the records of this office that 
Wm. Copeland of Virginia served as a private in Captain 
William Smith's company 11th. Virginia Regiment, com- 
manded successively by Colonel Daniel Morgan, Major 
Thomas Snead, Captain William Blackwell, Captain Charles 
Porterfield and Lieutenant Colonel John Cropper, Revolu- 
tionary war. He enlisted November 23, 1776, to serve dur- 
ing the war, was promoted to Corporal, in December, 1776, 
transferred about November 1878 to Captain Charles 
Porterfield's Company, 7th Virginia Regiment, commanded 
by Colonel Daniel Morgan transferred about May 7, 1779 


to Captain John Marshall's company, same regiment, and 
he is reported on the company muster roll for November, 
1779, dated at Camp Morristown, December 9, 1779 as dis- 

The service of Copeland and Lawson had not been 
established at the time the Tablet was placed in the Court 
Yard at Vienna in 1919. William Copeland is buried in 
this county, tradition says, on the Alfred Hook farm. 

John Damron, maternal grandfather of Captain Mark 
Whiteaker was a pioneer of New Burnside Township, this 
county and has many descendants here. Benj. Gill was also 
a Revolutionary soldier and resided in Johnson County. 
They are buried in Williamson County at the Drake Ceme- 
tery, just across the line of Johnson. Their graves were 
marked by the government as Revolutionary Soldiers 
through their descendants several years ago. Daniel Chap- 
man's grave was marked as a Revolutionary Solider by his 
family. Jacob Harvick and Hezekiah West's graves were 
marked by the Daniel Chapman Chapter D. A. R. of Vienna. 

They have not yet been able to locate the graves of the 
other men whose revolutionary services have been estab- 

WAR OF 1812 

The roster of 1812 does not give the address of the 
soldiers enrolled. It only states what county they were 
from and in most cases the county in which they enlisted. 
The following names have been selected as men probably 
serving from Johnson County as the names also appear on 
record here: James N. Fox commanded a detachment of 
rangers on the frontier of Johnson County from February 
13, 1813 till March 1, 1813. James Fox was sergeant in 
this company. The privates were William Edwards, James 
Flannery, Buckner Harris, James Buchen, George Deason, 
Daniel Griffith, Moas Blain, John F. Norton, Shadrock 
Rawlinson, William Rawlinson and John Davis. William 
Simpson, father of J. J. Simpson served in the war of 1812 
under Captain James Whiteside. James Bradshaw served 
in Captain John Scotts Company. John Worley in Captain 
Alexander's company. There is no way of knowing posi- 
tively, but the following were more than likely men who 
served in this war from this county : Joseph and John Fur- 


guson, Captain Craig's Company; Jeremiah Lissenbee, 
Captain Henry Cook's Company, Joshua Talbot, J. B. 
Moore's Company ; William Cravens and Elisha Ladd, Cap- 
tain Dudley William's Company; Andrew Roberts and 
William Brazel, Captain William Jones' Company; Nathan 
Langston, Captain Nathan Chamber's Company. 


There is no roster of Johnson County men in the Adjut- 
ant General's report of those who served in the Black 
Hawk War and no address except the county in which they 
enlisted. It is a little difficult therefore to decide just who 
were Johnson County men. There are three old residents 
of this county whom it is certain were soldiers in this war; 
Jason B. Smith, Green B. Veach, both from Pope County 
and Locklin L. Madden given in an independent regiment. 
There are several other names that belong to early families 
of this county as follows : Barton Scroggins, John J. Dean, 
Joseph Harper, Pleasant Rose, James B. Kerley, Milton 
Ladd, George Vancil, Nathan D. Walker and George W. 


In the Adjutant General's report the names of the 
soldiers who served from this county in the Mexican War 
were recorded but their address is not given, only the place 
of enlistment, consequently it is only possible to gather 
these names from accidental lists and old people and many 
may be unintentionally omitted. 

Mexican Soldiers and widows living in Goreville Town- 
ship 1887 : Daniel Lingle, E. F. Francis, George Black, 
Mathew Bradley, Mrs. G. W. Gillespie, Mrs. James Stone. 
Other names given are George Pendergrass, R. C. Miller, 
A. Cover, Mr. Washer, Joe Thomas, Jack Smith, Jason, B. 
Smith, Colonel Samuel Hess, D. C. Chapman, Blewitt Bain, 
Joshua Simpson, James Jackson, John Oliver, Isaac Bain, 
G. W. Chapman, Green B. Veach, James B. Murray, Samuel 
Whitemore, Elisha Ladd, B. F. Hayward, Elisha Axley, 
Larkin and Daniel Simpson, widows Mrs. Pack and Mrs. 


The names found of those serving from this county in 
the Spanish War of 1897 and 1898 were: R. F. Thornsberry 


Elder W. Cline, W. R. Simpson, Thomas Clymer, William 
Rebman, Frank Milligan, A. C. Karaker, Harry Perkins, 
Moses Halcomb, Olus Bailsen, D. Edward Jones, Carroll 
Webb, William Tiller, Benjamin H. Shanklin; Dempsy 
Summer, Kit Brayboy, colored. John Beauman of this coun- 
ty served in the Signal Corps of the regular army in this 
war, and died of yellow fever. He is buried in Arlington 
Cemetery, Va., Adolphus Worley, a Johnson County boy 
also served in this war, enlisting from Texas. William 
Donaghy another native son was a volunteer in this war. 
His place of enlistment is not known. 

D. J. Cowan, former cadet of Southern Illinois Normal 
raised a company here to serve under Colonel J. P. Robarts, 
of Mound City. D. J. Cowan was captain, Charles M. 
Ferris, 1st Lieutenant, W. Y. Davis, 2nd Lieutenant, but 
the services of the Colonel or the company were not needed 
in this war. 

CIVIL WAR, 1861-65 

It is not an easy task to search out the names of the 
soldiers of this war, but the task was done willingly since 
our obligation to those old and now fast passing veterans 
can never be discharged. We want to revere their memory 
and honor those who are still among us. The only regret 
is, that by mistake some of the names may be omitted in 
this list. There were 1,678 men subject to duty in Johnson 
County in 1861. They were scattered in different regi- 
ments of Infantry in the following companies 8th, 9th, 11th, 
18th, 20th, 29th, 31st, 48th, 56th, 60th, 65th. 72nd, 81st, 
88th, 90th, 91st, 109th, 110th, 120th, 123rd, 127th, 128th, 
136th, and 145th; Cavalry 1st, 5th, 6th, 9th, 13th, 14th, 
15th, and Battery K Light Artillery. Those containing the 
largest number of men were the 31st Regiment, organized 
by John A. Logan and composed mostly of men from South- 
ern Illinois except companies I and K. They were mustered 
into service September 8, 1861. Their first major engage- 
ment was at Belmont ; some other battles were Ft. Donelson, 
Thompson's Hill, Champion Hill, many skirmishes and 
other duties falling to the lot of the soldier whose term of 
service was as long as theirs. They participated in the 
siege of Vicksburgh, receiving the place of honor at its 


The 60th was organized at Anna, February 17, 1862, 
engaged in the Sieges of Corinth and Nashville, battles of 
Murfreesboro, Chattanooga, Buzzard Roost, Kennesaw 
Mountain, Peachtree Creek, and many smaller battles and 
skirmishes. They participated in the Grand Review at 
Washington, D. C. The 120th contained more men than 
any other regiment from this county and was organized by 
Colonel John G. Hardy of Vienna. It was composed of 
companies A, B, C, E, G, I, and K. They went into camp 
at Vienna August 13, 1862 and were mustered into service 
the following October. This company lost many men dur- 
ing the fall and winter with Small Pox, Measles and Pneu- 
monia. Their campaign was waged mainly in Tennessee 
and Mississippi. They did guard duty in many sections of 
the south, also taking part in many minor battles and 
skirmishes. Many of their men served long terms in rebel 
prisons. There principal battle was Guntown, Miss. 

The 145th was mustered in at Camp Butler and be- 
longed to what was known as the 100 day men. Illinois 
with Ohio, Indiana and Iowa tendered the Government a 
volunteer force of 85,000 men to relieve the veteran soldiers 
of guard duty at Forts, Arsenals and elsewhere which was 
so necessary now that the government had control of so 
much territory. Illinois furnished thirteen regiments and 
two battalions. Governor Yates, among other things, said 
of these men "Our regiments under this call performed in- 
dispensible and invaluable services in Kentucky, Tennessee 
and Missouri; relieving veteran troops, taking part in the 
Atlanta campaign and contributing to our success in Vir- 
ginia, and Georgia. To the timely organization and effici- 
ent service of the 100 day men we owe a debt of gratitude." 

The 14th Cavalry was recruited and organized in the 
fall of 1862 with head quarters at Peoria, equipped in 
March, 1863 and entered active service in the following 
April at Celind, Ky. They pursued Morgan on his raid of 
2100 miles until he was captured, taking part in many bat- 
tles and skirmishes on this flying campaign. They partici- 
pated in the battle of Cumberland Gap, routed the enemy 
in many places, capturing men and supplies in the east 
Tennessee campaign. The Siege of Knoxville, Bean Sta- 
tion, Dandridge, the famous Macon raid were also part of 
their duties. After the surrender of Stoneman at the bat- 



tie of Sunshine Church, the cavalry undertook to cut their 
way out of the enemy's country. They were surprised by 
the enemy after seven days and nights in the saddle, many 
were captured and the command was badly demoralized. 
They were re-equiped at Waynesboro, Ky., in time to take 
part in the battle of Nashville and assist in crushing Hood's 


8th Reg., Co. I 

Hardy, Thomas G. 
Lucas, John E. 

8th Reg., Co. G 
Gamiel, Samuel 

9th Reg., Co. G 
Beggs, James A. 
Beggs, David 
Curcton, James 
Cariker, Daniel A. (k-62) 
Dubois, W. B. 
Edwards, Allen 
Goie, Joseph P. 
Gore, William 
Hartsell, Simon P. 
Jones, William (d-62) 
Lefler, Geo. F. (d-61) 
McCord, Wm. F. (d_61) 
Morgan, Irwin M. 
Pippins, Wiley H. 
Richardson, David J. 
Slavins, Daniel F. 
Stripling, Amos B. 
Tyler, Daniel (d-61) 
White, Simeon F. 
Wilhelm, Jacob (d-62) 
Wilhelm, James (k-62) 
Wise, Lewis Jr., 
Wise, Granville M. (d-61) 

9th Reg., Co. K 
Cover, Samuel Q. M. 
Emery, John (k-62) 

11th Reg. Co. G. 
Axley, George W. 
Axley, Uriah 

File, Wm. R. (d-62) 

File, Whitsen B. 

File Thos. J. (d-62) 

Martin, Alexander 

Martin, Washington (d-62) 

Pool, Jacob 

Martin, Robert 

Smith, James G. 

West, James (d-61) 

Hardy, Thos. G. (trsf. 8th Reg.) 

12th Reg., Co. G. 
Wilson, Wm. N. 

18th Reg., Co. H 
Wilmoth, Thomas 

18th Reg., Co. B 
Thompson, Nathaniel 
Taylor, William 

18th Reg., Co. C 
Ramey, James T. 

18th Reg., Co. G 
Babb, David W. (d-62) 

18th Reg., Co. H 
Williams, Jacob H. 

20th Reg., Co. A 
Johnson, Wm. R. 
Holland. James 
Mangin, James 
McNeal, Thomas 
Reno, John 
Tool, Michael 
Tool, John 
Lambert, William (21st Reg un_ 

Lawson, James (d-63) 

29th Reg., Co. H 



Smith, Wm. T., 1st Sergt. (k-63) 
Collins, B. K. ; promoted to Capt. 
Cowan, James A. 
Perry, Joseph B. 
See, Francis M. 
Wells, Henry W. 

29th Reg., Co. I 
Brown, G. W. 
Climer, John H. 
Climer, David (k-62) 
Johnson, Jackson 
Mosley, A. W. 
Manners, John H. 
Pippins, Gilford 

Perrigan, J. H. 
Pickens, B. F. 
Roberts, Albien 
Roberts, T. L. 
Roberts, James M. (d-61) 
Mozley, Alfred W. 
Cambell, Rufus K. 
Hardison, Wm. 
Helm J. D. 
Pippins, Henry 
Throgmorton, W. P. 

29th Reg., Co. K., Unassigned 
Foster, Erastus D. 

Field and Staff Officers 31st Reg. 111. Volunteer Infantry 

Kuykendall, A. J., Major 
Kuykendall, J. B. 1st Lieut., Co. 

B Adjt. 
Thacker, Francis B., 1st Lieut., 

Co. Adjt. 
Whitnel, David T., Surgeon 
Mount, Newton, Sergt. Major 
Johnson, Jasper, Com. Sergt. 

31st Inf., Co. D 
Casey, Lvi B., Capt. (k-63) 
Sanders, George W., Capt. 
Mangum, Howel Y., 1st Lieut. 
Bridges, James J., 2nd. Lieut. 
Mount, William W., 2nd Lieut. 
Bridges, James M., 2nd Lieut. 
Coleman, Thomas F., Corp. 
Stone, Robert G., Corp. (d-61) 
Sander, Gideon M., Corp. (d-61) 
Dunsworth, Joseph, Music 
Wagoner, Fredrick Wise 
Bain, Isaac, Sergt. (d-62) 
Wiley, Abernaty 
Adams, Joel K. 
Burns, Mathew J. 
Crum, John S. 
Chapman, William (k-65) 
Barnett, Casuell 

Chapman, Lafayett 
Crum, Aron C. 
Cheek, James 
Davis, Jasper N. (k-63) 
Fisher, John R. 
Farmer, James (d-61) 
Harpending, Hiram G. 
Hester, S. W. 
Hamilton, Hiram 
Harrel, James E. (d_62) 
Hill, Keenen J. (d-62) 
House, Allen 
House, Wm. J. 
Honner, Wm. H. 
Irvin, Geo. (d-62) 
Ireland, Milton 
Jackson, Colby (d-62) 
Kinslow, Robert N 
Kinslow, John A. 
Kinslow, Wm. J. (k-61) 
Lovelace, Bolen (d-62) 
Lasley, James M. (d-62) 
Mabury, Robert (d-62) 
Mangun, Robert F. 
Mangum, Andrew J. 
Mangum, Thos. S. (d-62) 
McDonald, Henry S. 



Murray, Thomas J. (k-61) 
McGowau, James 
Newton, Jesse 
Newton, Barney 
Niblock, W. C. 
Pate, Joseph N. (d-61) 
Perkins, Henry S. 
Pearce, Cullen T. 
Stone, John 
Walker, Francis M. 
Wise, Isaac 
Bellemy, David W. 
Brummitt, Tho s . J. (d-64) 
Gurley, Hiram 
Ragan, Richard 
Scarlet, Abraham (k-64) 
Siebman, Isaac D. 
Towler, John W. 
Cambell, Nathan 
Elkins, Alvey, H. 
Elkins, Neezbert 
Hill, James K. P. 
House, Elcana 
Hays, William 
Lasley, Frances M. 
Mead, David H. 
McGee, John 
Oliver, Johu 
Ragan, Samuel 
Riddle, James 
Simpson, James A. 
Shamburg Fredrick 
Sanders, Ross 
Turley, Wm. S. 
Waters, John H. (d-64) 

31st Reg., Co. F 
Richardson, James F., Sergt. 
Burton, Wm. L., Sergt. 
Meadows, James, Corp. (m) 
Lambert, Wm. 
Burch, Joseph (d-62) 
Burton, Andrew J. 
Burton, James G. (d-62) 

Bowyer, Wm. R. 
Brown, James W. 
Cambell, Martin V. (d-62) 
Cambell, James T. 
Doughtery, Stephen 
Dupoister, Hiram (d-63) 
Francis, Joel W. 
Gray, Fielden M. (m) 
Horsely, Roland (d-63) 
Hobbs, James H. 
Hobbs, Burgess J. 
Hutson, Geo. W. 
Jenkins, Nathan 
Lawrence, Wm. (k-61) 
Lawlis, Benj. H. (d-62) 
Lawlis, Archie B. 
Melahan, Joseph J. 
McGowan, W. J. 
May, Bryant 
May, Geo. W., Sergt. 
May, Andrew J. 
May, John 
Newton, Isaac J. 
O'Donnell, Aron 
Oliver, John 
Pierce, David G. 
Price, Joshua 
Renner, Joseph A. 
Snider, Bentom 
Simpson, Lewis G. 
Simpson, James (d-62) 
Simpson, Stephen J. 
Simmons, Wiley (d-62) 
Satterfield, Jesse (d-63) 
Thomas, Josiah A. (d-62) 
Thomas, Henry H. 
Underwood, Moses L. 
Vanclave, Wm. R. 
Webb, Isaac M. 
Willhelm, Daniel 
Weaver, Jasper 
Weaver, John 
Bowyer, William R. 



Calhoun, Joseph J. 
Francis, Joel W., Corp. 
Fuston, Geo. W., Sergt. 
Branscombe, Edmund (d-63) 
Calhoun, Joseph J. 
Gariott, Thomas N. 
Clemson, Aron B. 
Holmes, John 
Lemmens, Chas. H. 
Simmons, James W. 
Thomas, Joseph H. (k-64) 
Veach, John K. 

31st. Reg., Co. G 
Jarvis, James M. 

31st Reg., Co. H 
McCormack, Thos. J. 
Adams, Geo. W. 
Foster, Wm. 
Jones, Wm. (d-64) 
Lamison, Peter L. (d-62) 
Wormack, Jesse 
Black, Geo. W. 
Tayler, John V., unassigned 
Rose, Wiley A., Rejected 
Newton, Issac 

48th Reg., Co. F 
Starks, Reuben C. 
All, John (d-62) 
Cariker, Julius 
Dunn, Wm. S. 
Groves, Ephriam G. 
Mathews, James (d-61) 
Sexton, Henry (d-62) 
Sperry, John A. 
Sperry, Hiram 
Starks, Robert M. 
Starks, Hamilton C. 
Sexton, James C. 
Thompson, Wm. M. 
Veach, Pleasant 
Veach, Allen (k-62) 

53rd Reg., Co. A 
Yarnell, John F. 

54th Reg., Co. C 
Carter, Marcus 
Ramsey, Joshua 

56th Reg., Co. D 
Hallowell, Dr. A. (d-64) 
Hallowell, C. B. 

McGee, Christopher C, 1st Lieut 
Axley, Terry, 1st Sergt. 
Peeler, Jacob C, Corp. 
Botts, Alfred D. (d-64) 
Boyd, Robert J. 
Bradford, Leroy 
Cariker, Israel 
Hunter, Geo. W. 
Kannup, Caleb (d-64) 
Norval, Saml. H. 
Penrod, Wm. 
Skelton, Alfred 
Strange, Archilus A., Corp. 
Richeson, John L. 
Smith, Wm. J. 
Cariker, Daniel A., Sergt. 
Adams, Wesley, Sergt. 
Corzine, Robinson C. 
Madden, Lockwood L. 
Ragsdale, Elijah L. 
Ragsdale, Crawford A. 
Rice, Thos. G. 
Butler, Thomas A. 
Gibson, Wm. A. 
Jennett, John C. 

56th Reg., Co. H 
Day, Martin 

56th Reg., Co. K 
Meredith, James B. 

60th Reg. Officers 
George W. Evans, Colonel 
Samuel Hess, Lieut. Colonel 
Toler John W. Q. M. Sergt. 

60th III. Co. C. 
Green, Richmond F., Hosp. Stew 
Browning, James W. 
Reynolds, Elisha E. 



Robertson, Stephen W. 
Vaughn, James H. 
Vaughn, David 
Vaughn, Wm. R. 
Vaughn, Henry, J. 

60th Reg., Co. E 
Boyt, Elisha T. 

Copeland, James P., 2nd. Lieut. 
Coleman, Wm. M. 
Claxton, Jeremiah 
Craig, Leander W. (d-62) 
Davis, Martin 
Davis, James 
Dun, Boswell 
Eads, John P. 
Fisher, Obadiah 
Goddard, Ruel 
Fogarity, Stephen 
Hutson, L. D. 
Lawrence, Belfield 
Minton, William 
Shanks, James W. 
Smith, Thos. J. Musician 
Smith, Samuel B. (d-62) 
Lee, John J. 
Smiley, Benj. F. (d-62) 
Shoemaker, John D. 
Blake, John H. (k-64) 
Dunn, Roswell 
Dunn, W. J. (d-64) 
Henson, Fredrick E. 
Boswell, Geo. W. 

60th Reg., Co. G 
Penrod, Rayford 
Evans, Thos., Corp. 

60th Reg., Co. H 
McKee, Joseph F. 
Green, Richard F. 
Vancleve, Volney 
Allen, James H. 
Bost, John (d-62) 
Canady, Wm. M. 
Caraker, Abraham 
Carter, Wm. T. 

Dunn, Shadock 

Evans, Thomas 

Evans, Wilson 

Hazel, Samuel 

Jones, Perry 

Johnson, Charles (d-62) 

Lee, John J. 

Mathis, Henry, (d-62) 

Toombs, James W. 

Vandusen, James E. (d_62) 

Wilkey, John W. 

W T harton, James 

Workman, James M. (d-62) 

Worrell, William 

Jones, A. B. 

Stewart, Thos. A. 

Ussery, John J. 

Gaskell, Daniel W. 

McFarland, Henry C. 

McWilliams, David C. 

Wharton, Jasper 

Modglin, Wm. M. 

60th Reg., Co. I 
Gore, John F. 
Utley, James, H. 
Blackshaw, Robert 
Clayton, Hamilton M. 
Coleman, Charles 
Deans, John (d-62) 
Darck, John F. 
Nally, Geo. E. 
Peterson, W. H. 

60th Reg., Co. K 
Goddard, Wm. C, Capt. 
Miller, Lyman A., Capt. 
Benson, James M., 1st Lieut. 
Bridges, John S., 1st Lieut. 
Hardy, Henry B., 1st Lieut 
Collins, F. M., 2nd Lieut. 
Carter, John M., Sergt. 
Richards, John, Sergt. 
Cole, James M. Sergt. (k-64) 
Simpson, Wm., Sergt. 
Webb, Wm. R., Corp. 



Buzard, John, Corp. 
Stewart, Thos. A. 
Whitehead, John, Corp. 
Boyt, Felix A. Corp. 
Cryder, Thos., Music 
Johnson, John C. 
Anderson, John 
Bridges, Joseph 
Bowman, William 
Harris, Jesse F. (d-61) 
Bellemy, Jesse E. 
Carter, Wm. T. (d-62) 
Carter, Asa W. 
Carter, Amos M. 
Casey, Hiram 
Carter, James H. 
Crabtree, W. N. 
Criedr, Alton P. 
Carter, Edmond D. 
Carr, David N. 
Caraker, Israel 
Dixon, Joseph F. 
Davis, W. W. 
Evans, Wm. (d-6.) 
Evans, Geo. W. 
Evans, Thos. 
Erwin, James M. 
Francis, Wm. F. 
Fairless, Richard 
Gore, John L. 
Gore, Jefferson J. 
Gold, Geo. W. (d-62) 
Gore, Duncan L. (d-62) 
Goddard, John L. 
Hogg, James, H. (d-62) 
Hamilton, Henry 
Henly, Hezekiah 
Hartshell, John V 
Huggins, W. N. 
Hacker, James W. 
Henry, Isaac 
Ivy, Wm. H. 
Joy, Wm. H. 
Chapman, Leonidas 

Jordan, Wm. D. (d-64) 
Jobe, Samuel (d_64) 
Jobe, Mathew J. 
Jones, Peter 
McMahan, Peter 
McMahan, Franklin (k-64) 
McWherter, Wm. N. (d-62) 
McCarver, James 
Moore, Granville 
Neely, George 
Pearce, Isaac N. 
Peterson, Wm. W. 
Pearce, James 
Perry, Gaston F. 
Ryle, Joseph G. 
Russell, Joseph 
Richardson, Davis J. 
Simmons, Samuel H # 
Simmons, Daniel C. 
Sutliff, John B. 
Sutliff, Abel 
Stewart, Richard 
Stone, Barton W. (d-62) 
Spradley, Jesse B. 
Taylor, Wm. H. 
Vaughn, James 
Webb, James (d-62) 
Webb, A. N. 
Woodward, James 
Wright, Wm. H. 
Wright, Charles 
Wiley, H. B. 
Walton, Ira B. 
Huggins, Wm. N # 
Anderson, Geo. W. 
Anderson, John 
Ausbourn, John M. 
Bridges, Joseph 
Bridges, Alfred 
Cowden, Geo. W. (d-65) 
Davis, William W. 
Huggins, Wm. H. 
Huggins, Ephriam (d-64) 
Hacker, Joseph F. (d-64) 



Moran, Wm. B. 
Hull, Nimrod H. 
Goodall, Wm. H. 
Nickols, Frank 
Nickols, John W. 
Smith, Wm. H. 
Carter, James R. 

65th Reg., Co. G 
Haywood, Geo., Corp. 

Co. D Consolidated 
Cayler, Chas. C. 
Freeman, Lesley A. 
Ingram, Pitts 
Moraitt, Aaron, unassigned 

72nd Reg., Co. D 
Renne, Geo. C, Musican 
Broderick, James 
Curran, Wm # G. 
Hinchman, Daniel 
Hines, Harmon (k-63) 
Kane, Edwin 
McMurry, James W. 
Grant, Theodore B. 
Newport, David M. 
Williamson, Geo. S. 
Watson, Joseph 

81st Reg., Co. H 
Westbrooks, Nathan 
Westbrooks, Richard 

88th Reg., Co. D 
Hinchman, David 
Jones, Ellis 

90th Reg., Co. D 
Renne, Horace 

91st Reg., Co. D 
Sharp, Wallace 

109th Reg., Co. D 
Hubbard, W. J. 
Farmer, Hiram 
Perry, Newton J., Corp. 
Gordon, W. C, Corp. 
Barnes, Samuel E. 
Bryant, John W. 
Buchanan, David 

Buchanan, Wm. 
Brown, Hezekiah 
Bailey, Andrew J. 
Crane, Benj. 
Cox, Luther B. 
Cathey, Robert 
Durham, John W. 
Durham, Wm. T. 
Demsey, James M. (d-63) 
Edmonds, Daniel L. 
Frazier, Wm. G. 
Griffin, Aron 
Gordon, James W. 
Hileman, Thomas 
Hileman, Christian M. 
Hunsaker, Samuel T # (d-63) 
Hubbard, Samuel 
Humphreys, Henry B. 
Hanna, Wm. S. 
Harwood, Elias C. 
Johnson, Joseph H. 
Modglin, James B. 
Malier, John 
Morris, Elihu 
Pender, John C. 
Perry, Crezie 
Rigges, Nelson 
Ragan, John 
Scoggin, R. F. 
Smith, James C. W. 
Smith, Thomas 
Smith, James P. 
Smith, Albert H. 
Sullivan, Geo. W. 
Tackett, Wm. L. (d-63) 
Treese, Wash. 
Wilmouth, Lucien 
Wilmouth, Joseph 
Willford, Jesse 
Rose, M. 

109th Reg., Co. H. 
Jones, Amos Y. 
Klutts, Davis 



109th Reg., Co. I 
Clark, Joseph H. 
Hartman, Jesse 
Klutts, Henry 
Klutts, Daniel 
Miller, Fountain 
Mason, Nathan H. 
Still, Wm. 
Still, Green B. 
Wilhelm, George L. 
Beggs, Wm. W. 
Culver, Franklin H. 
Casper, Monroe G. 
Jackson, John 
Keistler, Jacob W. 
Mise, John R. (d-63) 
Peeler, Jacob E. 
Peterson, John M. 
Strieker, John 
Strieker, George 
Wilhelm, George 
Wilhelm, Moses 

110th Reg., Co. A 
Williams, Marion 

110th Reg., Co. C 
Kennedy, James A. 
Lee Richard 
Lamaster, Geo. W. 
Mandrel, Geo. W. 
Mandrel, Nathaniel 
Mandrel, Wm < 
Madrel, Soleman 
Morow, Geo. W. 
Morow, Joseph 
McElroy, Wm. 
Moak, Geo. W. 
Murphy, John 
Molifield, Geo. W. 
Mathias, Archibald 
Norman, Jasper N. 
Parks, Wm. A. 
Payne, Daniel 
Peeples, James D. (d-63) 
Pritchett, David M. 

120th Reg., Officers 
Field and Staff 

Hardy, John G., Lieut. Col. 

Simpson, Lewis J., Chaplain 

Grant, Geo. W., Sergt. 

Hawk, Andrew J., Sergt. (d-63) 

Garden, Samuel, Sergt. 

120th Reg., Co. A 

Modglin, James, W. E. 

Modglin, Joseph E. 

Modglin, Wm. T\ 

120th Reg., Co. B. 

Sexton, Burton, Capt. 

Mozley, John F., Capt. 

Scroggins, Samuel W., 2nd Lieut 

Reid, James B., 2nd Lieut. 

Bain, Henry W., Sergt. 

English, Abasalom, Sergt. 

Pendell, Manuel, Sergt. (d-63) 

Wilson, James R. Corp. 

Bain, Chas. A., Lieut. 

Scroggins, Oliver, Corp. 

Mullinax, Henry, Corp. 

Guinn, Geo. W., Corp. 

Hedges, Wm., Corp. (d-63) 

Davidson, Josiah F., Corp. 
Dunn, James H. 
Beaver, Samuel 
Crider, Franklin H. 
Crider, Daniel E. (d-62) 
Campbell, Wm. P. (d-63) 
Casper, John F. 
Carrington, Geo. W. 
Cline, John B. 
Downing, Cullen (d-63) 
Davidson, Newton M. (d-64) 
Roundtree. W. M. 
Robert, Lewis J. 
Reed, James H. 
Rentfro, Wm. M. (d-63) 
Starks, Reuben J. 
Stanton, James F. 
Stanton, John W. 
Smith, Reuben J. (d-63) 



Serrells, John 
Sexton, Wiley 
Tripp, John (d-63) 
Throgmorton, Robert R. 
Vickers, Pleasant 
Wilson, Wm. S. 
Watson, Thos. 
Wood, John (k-64) 
Walker, Wm. F. 
Wymore, James A. 
Woods, John S. 
Young, John D. 

Arnold, Sidney 
Bracken, Robert W. 
Bracken, Geo. R. 
Black Quincy A. 
Cross, Allen J. 
Clendenen, Benj. (d-63) 
Davidson, Chas. T. 
Davis, James 
Denny, Wm. S. 
Decker, Jackson 
Davidson, Samuel T. 
English, Manuel C. 
Farris, James F. 
Fry, Benj. 
Francis, Michael 
Gallant, Michael 
Golden, Eugene S. 
Gorden, Wm. B. 
Goodsen, Wm. S. 
Green, Johnathan B. 
Haynie, Geo. W. 
Hickman, John L. 
Hurt, James 
Hume, Joel G. 
Helm, Marion W. 
Kelly, Thornton A. 
Karr, Morris B. 
Ludhem, Geo. G. 
McHenry, James H. 
Morgan, Benj. P. 
Rentfro, Rufus J. 

Robertson, Geo. O. 
Strode, Geo. W # 
Smith, Joseph 
Swearingen, J. W. 
Sedge, Wm. 

Throgmorton, James W. 
Thompson, James 
Trent, John B. 
Treadway, Daniel G. 
Treadway, Marion 
Uriston, Stephen L. 
Wynes, Alexander 
Wynes, Geo. W. (d-65) 
Wynes, Henry 
Wilson, Rufus G. 
Youngman, Martin L. 

120th Reg., Co. C 
Axley, Uriah, Capt. 
Clark, Owen H., Capt. 
Dubois, Joel, 1st Lieut. 
West, Joshua P., 1st Lieut. 
Hahs, Wm.i 2nd. Lieut. 
Cambell, James T., Sergt. 
Adams, John W. 
Dunsworth, Harrison E., Sergt. 
West, Asa, Corp. (d-63) 
Shadrack, John, Corp. 
Munnell, Parson, Corp 
Axley, James, Corp. (d-63) 
Newton, Joseph N. (d_63) 
Mercer, Wm., Corp. 
Hunter, John, Corp. 
Bridges, John S., Corp. 
Hamilton, John 
Peterson, Owen G. 
Tharp, John P. 
Axley, Andre J. 
Allen, Wm. C. 
Adams, Jesse T. 
Bean, Thomas 
Bradshaw, Rix C. (d-64) 
Baldwin, Thomas 
Bishop, Benj. T. 
Beggs, Alfred (d-63) 



Boast, Caleb 
Caraker, Wm. M. 
Caraker, Chas. (m-64) 
Carter, Wm. L. (d-63) 
Carter, James 
Carter, Thomas (d-63) 
Edwards, Hugh H. 
Ellis, Rueben I. (d-63) 
Ellis, Jesse L. 
Fain, Jesse M. 
Green, James C. (d-63) 
Gillespie, Felix H. (d-62) 
Hunter, Alexander (d-63) 
Nubert, Chas. 
Hogg, Thos. H. 
Hahas, Joseph (d-64) 
Huston, Wm. W. 
Jones, John L. 
Jones, Wm. J. 
Jones, Calvin 
Klutts, David (d-63) 
Kerr, Henry 
Latham, Wm. 
Mercer, Hezekiah W. 
Mercer, Francis M. 
Morehead, Wm. L. 
Martin, Wm. (d-63) 
Martin, Andrew J. 
Wartin, Wm. J. 
Nickens, James W. 
Pruett, Allen (d-63) 
Paine, James J. 
Pickler, John (k-64) 
Pickens, John (k-64) 
Stokes, Wm. 
Spinks, Geo. W. (d-63) 
Smith, Wm. H. H. 
Smith, James A. 
Spicer, Chas. 
Xyler, James T. 
Tyler, Geo. A. 
Tyler, Henry 
Turner, Geo. W. 
Turner, Lewis (d-63) 

Ussery, Wm. 
Weaver, Andrew J. 
Whitehead, A. J. 
Whitemore, Samuel M. (d-63) 
Warrick, Lazarus, W. 
Tubbs, Henry W. 
Ellis, Thos. H. 

120 Reg., Co. E 
Bagley, Henry C. 
Reagen, Eli 

120th Reg., Co. F. 
Escue, Wm. (d-63) 

120th Reg., Co. G. 
Whiteaker, Mark, Capt. 
Ballance, James H., 2nd Lieut. 
Fairless, Wiley K. 
Whiteaker, John A., 2nd Lieut. 
Choat, Nicholas, 1st Lieut. 
Lambert, James E., Corp. 
Gill, John C, Corp. 
Williams, John W. 
Bundren, James L. (d-63) 
Bundren, Wm. W. (d-63) 
Bowles, Elijah P. (d-63) 
Culbertson, John T. (d-63) 
Colbroth, Jackson 
Fairless, Wiley R. 
Foster, Christropher 
Gill, Stephen (d-62) 
Hewit, John 
Lundy, Richard P. 
Larrison, James B. 
Lambard, John (d-63) 
McDaniel, David W # 
McFarland, J. (d-62) 
Newton, Job S. 
Parton, Geo. W. (d-63) 
Parton, Joseph B. (d-63; 
Parton, James C. 
Russell, Francis M. 
Upchurch, David C. 
Vaughn, David H. (d-63) 
Wise, Mathew F. 
Wheeler, Thos. 



Powell, Wm. R. 
Riggs, James 
Rogers, James 
Russell, Benj. 
Smith, John I. 
Smith, John Q. 
Smith, Joseph 
Struble, Chauncy J. 

120th Reg., Co. I 
Bridges, James J., Capt. 
Gillespie, James B., Capt. 
Gibbs, John A. M., Capt. 
Rose, James E., 1st Lieut. 
Hendry, James M., 1st Lieut. 
Henry, A. J., 2nd. Lieut. 
Utley, James M., 2nd Lieut. 
Hogg, Wm. A., Sergt. (d-63) 
Grissom, P. G., Sergt. 
Burris, Stephen B., Sergt. 
Arnett, James H., Sergt. 
Mathias, John, Corp., (d-63) 
Barnett, Gilbert, Corp. 
Scott, Jefferson J., Corp. 
Chapman, Wm. H., Corp. (d-64) 
Bridges, John D., Corp. 
Utley, Thos. J., Corp. 
Simpson, Lewis D., Corp. (d-63) 
Hunter, Wm. H., Musician 
Mize, Joseph G. 
Holt, Lycurgus C. 
Anderson, Green H. 
Barnett, John L. (d-64) 
Brumett, Jesse L. 
Brown, Peter 
Baucum, H. Wm. 
Benson, Chas. B. (d-65) 
Bowles, Daniel R. 
Bowman, John S. 
Boaz, Elisha P. 
Burgess, Henry (d-62) 
Caraker, Jacob (d-63) 
Davis, Alexander M. 
Darter, Nicholas (d-63) 
Edmonds, James H., Corp (d-63) 

Eubanks, Geo. W. 
Fisher, James J. 
Fairless, Henry L. 
Fairless, Wm. R. (d-63) 
Francis, Edmund L. (d-63) 
Francis, Benj. F. 
Francis, James T. 
Goddard, Jourdan 
Grissom, Wm. H. (d-63) 
Gordon, John W. 
Groves, John A. 
Gordon, Samuel 
Henry, Chas. M. (d-63) 
Hunter, Issac 
Houcher, Robert (d-64) 
Henner, Preston 
Honner, Daniel A. (k_64) 
Hogg, John L. 
Howell, Thomas 
Howell, Henry C. 
Howell, Samuel W. 
Hahs, Robert 
Hill, Joseph B. 
Hawk, Andrew J. C. 
Johnson, Thomas J. (d-63) 
Jobe, Alexander G. 
Jennett, Wm. A. 
Kirly, Woodson B. (d-64) 
Kerr, Israel 
Lasley, Wm. H. (d-63( 
Lavender, Chas. H. 
Martin, Joel H. 
McDaniel, Wm. M. 
MU11, Jacob (d-63) 
Morris, James F. 
Morris, John F. 
Mount, Jasper 
Newton, Doarse B. 
Oakley, John 
Oakly, Henry 
Priston, Wm. 
Pickel, Wm. H. (d-63) 
Rebman, Jacob 
Rebman, Andrew (d-63) 



Shearer, James M. 
Slack, Norman J. 
Simpson, Daniel 
Venable, John 
Warren, Wm. M. 
Wilson, Admore (d-62) 
Warner, James W. (d-63) 
Brown, Wm. G. (d-62) 
Warren, Wm. M. 
Wilson, Admire (d-62) 
Warner, James N. (d-63) 
Brown, W. G. (d-62) 
Buskerk, John W. 
Burnier, Joseph 
Fagen, William A. 
Hogg, Thos. H. 
Hickory, Michael 
Hooker, Henry 
Hubbard, Chas. 
Larison, James B. 
Lemery, David L. 
Moore, William C. 
Manley, James 
Nichols, Reuben 
Pettis, Martin 
Pearce, Marion 
Pullen, George W # 
Page, Willard 
Stinegen, Fredrick 
Thrisher, Geo. W. 
Veyvett, Benj. 
Whitney, Wm. C. 
Wilson, Samuel A. 
Wiley, Pembroke (d-63) 

120th Reg., Co. K 
Parks, Samuel G., Capt. 
Benson, John F., 1st Lieut. 

Jones, Francies M., 1st Lieut. 
Damron, Chas. N., 2nd Lieut. 
Gray, Ivy R., 2nd Lieut. 
Carter, James H., 2nd Lieut. 
Thompson, James P., Sergt. 
McDaniel, Lewis E , Sergt. 

Wilson, Thos. J., Corp. 

Jones, Daniel 

Jones, John J., Corp. (d-63) 

Saddler, Wm. J., Corp. 

Sullens, Martin V., Corp. (d.65) 

Yandell, Joseph H., Corp. 

Boozer, Henry M., Corp. 

Hatfield, Moses, Corp. 

Hardy, John 

Kincy, Henry Y. 

Rodgers, Wm. 

Boozer, John 

Boozer, Hillery J. 

Beggs, Moses W. (d-62) 

Barnwell, John C. 

Carter, John 

Carter, Samuel M. 

Cambell, Wm. (d-62) 

Cambell, Eli (d-63) 

Cook, Christropher H. 

Cagle, James H. 

Cranfil, Chas. A. 

Canedy, Arnold 

Choat, Benj. (d-63) 

Dyson, Thomas (d-63) 

Durham, Thos. (d-64) 

Edmonson, Isaac G. 

Ford, John 

Grant, Geo. W. 

House, Peyton S. 

Harrell, Geo. W. (d-64) 

Hines, John W. 

Hines, Samuel 

Hood, John W. 

Harper, Lincoln 

Jenkins, Wm. P. C. 

Jones, David 

Jones, Leroy 

Kerley, Mites A. (d-62) 

Lasley, Geo. W. 

Leslie, Geo. 

Long, Jasper 

May, Bryant 

May, Joseph 



Mitchell, John T. (d-63) 
McCuan, Jacob 
McCuan, Woodson S. 
Moore, John A # 
Odum, James A. W. (d-63) 
Odum, Henry 
O'Neal, Wm. 
Osborn, Wm. P. (d.62) 
Penrod, Wm. 
Pea, Wm. 
Rushing, Wm. M. 
Rushing, Ephriam B. 
Rushing, Wm. L. (d-63) 
Rodgers, John W. 
Rainbolt, James C. 
Rainbolt, Jacob M. 
Sutliff, Hugh 
Simmons, John C # 
Simpson, Lewis J. 
Sharp, James F. 
Showin, Joseph (d-63) 
Stennett, Edward 
Silleven, Franklin 
Shelton, Wm. L. 
Snider, Samuel P. 
Turner, Barney S. 
Turner, Wm. C. (d-63) 
Veach, Abijah J. (d-63) 
Veal, Newton J. (d-63) 
Wadkins, Wm. A. (d-63) 
Wadkins, David J. 
Whelis, Turner (d-63) 
West, Henry D. (d-64) 
West, James A. (d-63) 
Wilburn, Archer (d-62) 
Yandell, Nathan J # , Corp. 
Adir, Wm. S. 
Bull, Asa 
Burns, Edward 
Baker, James C. 
Belenford, C. M. 
Caraker, David S. (d-64) 

127th Reg. Officers, Co. D 
Lindsy, Wm. J., Sergt. Maj. 

Barber, Robert C, Capt. (d-63) 

Finch, Wm., Corp. 

Atwood, Royal E. 

Barber, Samuel J. 

Barner, Samuel N. 

Denman, John M. 

Fellingham, Geo., Jr. 

Denman, John 

Harrison, Lyman T. 

Hines, Wm. F. 

Lindsey, Wm., Jr. 

Lindsy, Wm. D. (d-63) 

Phillips, Sheldon S. (d_63) 

McCuann, Hugh 

Siflet, Geo. T. 

Smith, Joseph E. H. 

Tildon, Lucius H. 

Weldon, Thomas 

Willis, James E. 

128th Reg. Co. C 
Robinson, Marcus L., Sergt. 
Binum, Wm. Y. 
Baty, Benj. 
Camden, Marble D. 
Henderson, James 
Peterman, Benj. 
Peterman, George 
Peterman, Wm. 
Roberts, Samuel 
Rushing, Nathan J. 

128th Reg., Co. E 
Enos, James, Musician 
Reese, Barnett B. 
Trammell, Millo 
Watson, James 

128th Reg., Co. F 
Akers, Joseph 
Burns, Harry L. 
Burris, H. D. 
Bayles, David 
Birdwell, John H. 
Camden, Wm. M. 
Camden, Geo. W. 
McBride, Jesse 



Mercle, F. T. 
McCaba, James 
Nichols, Coleman 
Wise, Robert H. 
Rushing, Malcom 
Rushing, Coleman 

128th Reg., Co. G 
Adams, G. W. 
Adams, Hugh 
Jackson, A. M. 
Malaer, Wm. 
Monk, Josiah 
Stephens, Milton 

128th Reg., Co. H 
Doughtery, E. M., Musician 

128th Reg., Co. I 
Hall, Wiley M., 2nd Lieut. 
Sullivan, Geo. P., Sergt. 
Stephens, W. J., Corp. 
Edmonson, T. A., Corp. 
Fonda, G. W., Corp. 
Birdwell, Moses F. 
Burns, T. G. 
Cagle, B. F. 
Crowell, Wm. T. 
Jack, John A. 
Koonce, W. R. 
Kelly, Alfred 
McCurtney, Brison 
Parish, B. F. 
Stephens, Francis, M. 
Stroud, John P. 
Stephens, Columbus J. 
Sullivan, James J. 
Sullivan, John W. 
Stroud, J. C. 
Taylor, Issac G. 
Williams, John 
Washburn, F. M. 
Wilson, Joseph 
Wise, Curtis P. 
Thwde, Geo. H. 

128th Reg., Co. K 
Carson, Carroll 

136th Reg., Co. B 
Bramale, Robert A. 
Cheek, Elijah T. 
Eastwood, Wm. P. 
Gorden, W. D. 
Hill, Thos. 
Tripp, Wm. 
Jones, James M., 1st Sergt. 

145th Reg., Co. A 
Daniels, Martin V., 1st Lieut. 
Watson, John D., Sergt. 
Worley, Wm. W., Sergt. 
Slack, Wilford, Sergt. 
Hendry, Benj. B., Sergt. 
Mathis, John B., Corp. 
Eadler, Wm. J., Corp. 
Crumb, Wm., Corp. 
Burris, D. L., Corp. 
Ridenhour, Otto L., Corp. 
Granthum, Uriah, Corp. 
Howell, Daniel M., Corp. 
McCarver, James H. 
Austin, Levi 
Anderson, Uriah I. 
Anderson, Thos. J. 
Austin, Wm. J. 
Ambern, Henry M. 
Bynum, Geo. 
Bowen, Green 
Bridges, Alva N. M. 
Burns, Joseph N. 
Burges, Joseph 

145th Reg., Co. A 
Brown, Henry B. 
Bradley, John H. 
Bradshaw, James M. 
Clay, James 
Cagal, James H. 
Craig, Carroll C. 
Carter, John B. 
Coleman, George D. 
Charocter, Paul 
Carler, Thos. J. 
Daughtery, Elijah E. 



Dunn, John D. 
Dunn, Hugh R. 
Eccles, David 
Farris, Wm. H. 
Fisher, Obidiah 
Curley, Wm. 
Gray, Pinckney 
Gray, Samuel M. 
Gillespie, Samuel 
Hoftman, John J. 
Howell, Joseph M. 
Hall, Frank H. 
Hester, John C. 
Hill, George M. 
Henderson, Giles V. 
Hill, Kage T. 
Jackson, Wm. H. 
Jeffery, Elmore D. 
Johnson, Green 
Jones, Stansbury C. E. 
Keith, Thos. E. 
Kerr, John 
Kendle, George H. 
Lovelace, George 
Logan, Preston 
McGowan, Samuel 
Moore, Chas. M. 
Malaer, Thos. 
Mathis, Henry V. 
Mathis, Geo. W. 
Morris, Edward W. 
Peterson, Wm. E. 
Russell, James 
Richard, James M. 
Rhodes, Anson 
Smith, Joseph A. 
Sanders, John D. 
Smith, Thos. W. 
Starks, Anderson J. 
Southerland, Joseph 
Sullivan, Marcellus 
Smith, Anderson J. 
Stewart, Smith W. 
Staton, Joseph 

Smith, Elbert L. 
Skaggs, Jordon O. 
Taylor, Joseph H. 
Taylor, Samuel M. 
Venable, John L. 
Venable, Franklin 
Veach, Pleasant G. 
Wymore, Milton 
Wise, Thomas J. 
Wise, Lewis 
Wyatte, Franklin M. 
Walker, George 

1st Cavalry, Co. H 
Chapman, Henry Q. M., Serge. 
Albert, Wm. C. 
Betts, Thomas A. 
Brown, Sanders B. 
Benson, John F. 
Carter, James H. 
Claybourn, Wm. D. 
Claybourn, James H. 
Edwards, Hugh H. 
Granthem, Uriah 
Molman, Andrew 
Hutchins, Thos. W. 
Huston, James J. 
Hardy, Thos. C. 
Hardy, John G. 
Lisle, Robert E. 
Mathis, Wm. M. 
Mathis, James F. 
McLean, Alex 
Padgett, Geo. W. 
Ralls, John 
Sanders, Wm. 
Slack, Gilson 
Whitehead, Chas. F. 
Wilson, Thos. J. 
Axley, Terry 
Axley, Spencer 
Amasom, Eliel 
Covington, Garland 
Capot, John 
Casey, Ira V. 



Copeland, John M. 
Peters, James 

5th Cavalary 
Sexton, Henry W., unassigned 

6th Cavalry, Co. A 
Cambell, John D. 
Smith, George L. 

6th Cavalry, Co. B 
Morray, James B., Capt. 
Peterson, Wm. B., Capt. 
Fite, John C, 1st Lieut. 
Lawrence, Lemuel L., 2nd Lieut. 
Lawrence, Benj. F., 1st Sergt. 
Fountain, Lay, Q. M. Sergt. 
Wise, Hiram H., Sergt. 
Bratton, Isaac, Sergt. 
Clark, James M., Sergt. 
Robinson, Hugh P., Sergt (d-64) 
Jackson, Ivy, Corp. 
Wormack, John W. D., Corp. 
Latta, John, Corp. 
Simpson, Joshua, Corp. 
Maeders, Charles S., Corp. 
Reagen, Hiram, Corp. 
Murphy, Mathew J. 
Ramey, Joshua H., Corp- (d-64) 
Chapman, Geo. W. 
Shaw, Cornelius 
Angel, James H. 
Boozer, Geo. W. 
Bratten, Henry 
Bonner, Robert H. 
Clenden, James C. (k-64) 
Clendenen, Thos. J. (d-64) 
Choat, George W. 
Choat, Wm. C. (d-64) 
Choat, Andrew J. 
Colbaugh, Carrell H. (d-64) 
Dotson, Robert, B. (d-64) 
Handley, Richard A. 
Grant, Thos. J. 
Harris, Robert J. 
Jones, James G. J. 
Jones, David L. 

Lay, Levi A. 
Mounce, Wm. R. (d_64) 
Mabary, Wm. 
O'Neal, George 
Perry, George (d-63) 
Robinson, John 
Reagan, John 
Reagon, Josiah F. 
Soloman, Thos. J. 
Smith, James H. 
Smith, John W. 
Tapley, Wm. H. 
Warren, Starling L. 
Laney, Joseph, Bugler 
Ross, John C. 
Sullivan, Madison L. 
Snyder, James R. 
Colbaugh, James F. 
Handley, Samuel E. 
Ice, James W. 
Lawrence, Thos. M. 
Murphy, James F. 
Smith, David J. (d-64) 
Albert, Wm. 
Bixbie, Wm. R. 
Johnson, John A. 
Jackson, James K. P. 
Leroy, Abraham 
Lambert, James 
Lay,.F. M. 
Maberry, Wm. 
Mangham, Geo. W. (d-64) 
Maberry, Fredrick (d-65) 
McCoy, John 
McGowan, Francis M. 
Sullivan, Geo. W. 
Morray, Joseph B. 
Veach, John K. 
Williams, Geo. W. 
Wooten, Edward E. 

6th Cavalry, Co. F 
Clifton, John W. 

6th Cavalry, Co. G 
Glass, Andrew 



6th Cavalry, Co. K 
Darnell, Allen 
Gray, A. J. 
Holmes, Cyrus E. 

6th Cavalry, Co. M 
Chapman, Joseph 
Dorris, Thos 
Davis, Wm. 
Dorrell, James 
Henderson, Elijah 
Henderson, Gillis V. 
Craner, Andrew 
Clark, Wm. (d-65) 
Gold, Wm. W. 
Jenkins, James 
Mozley, James 
Russell, Robert P. 
Farrar, John H. 
Foster, Elijah 
Henson, Henry 
Tulaert, Samuel 
Veach, Abijh 

9th Cavalry, Co. B 
Rebman, John A. 
Wright, Squire 

9th Cavalry, Co. F 
Bevard, Robert 
Endsby, Henry 
Kelvery, Daniel 
Pulley, Reuben 
Warner, Judson R. 

13th Cavalry, Co. F 
Dempsy, Arthur 

Henshaw Battery 
Glenn, James 
Whybron, John (d-62) 

13th Cavalry, Co. M 
Brown, John (d-64) 
Anderson, James M., Corp. 
Anderson, Francis M. (d-64) 
Grissom, Elbert W. 
Holcomb, Stephen 

Perrigan, Wm. M. 
Anderson, James M., Corp. 
Anderson, Francis M. 
Brown, John (d-64) 
Grissom, Elbert W. 
Halcomb, Stephen 
Perrigam, W. M. 

1st Army Corps, Co. 2 
Huff, Henry 

Recruits for Regular Army 
Ehrenstine, Robert 

14th Cavalry, Co. C 
Norris, Cains S., Sergt. 
Able, Seth C. 
Hamilton, Claud B. 
Sumner, Geo. A. 

14th Cavalry, Co E 
Elkins, Eli 
Gather, James M. 
Hamilton, Thos. 
Hall, John 
Klutz, Michael 
Owens, James 
Stone, Jeremiah 
Smith, Barney L. 
Whitnell, Robert N. 
Wilmet, Walker (d-65) 
Hartman, Chas. 
Hester, Jacob 
Holland, Thos. 
Hooker, Henderson C. 
Kenneda, Patrick V. 
Hahs, John, 2nd Lieut. 
Jones, George 
Reed, Wm. R. 
Reagan, Josiah F. (d-64) 
Richards, Thomas (k-64) 
Reagan, Charlton 
Reed, John 
Short, John 
Thompson, Franklin 
Peeler, W. D. 
Tapp, Lewis 



Watson, James 
Warren, Robert 

14th Cavalry, Co. G 

Perkins, Wm, Capt. 

Garland, Covington, 1st Sergt. 

Thomas, John F., 1st Lieut. 

Lenox, David W., Corp. 

Hutchins, Thomas W., Corp. 

Sanders, John W., 1st Lieut. 

Dunn, Shadrack (d-62) 

Epperhamir, Henry 

Fairless, James A. 

Freer, Jos. B. 

Fisher, John R. 

Fisher, Milo 

Fisher, David B. 

Gray, Nathan M. 

Graden, W. C. 

Graden, Joseph G. 

Hunt, James W. (m) 

Hamilton, Thos. W. 

Jones, Allen B. 

Jones, David L. 

Jones, Wm. D. 

Mathis, William 

Parker, James (m) 

Scarlett, John B. 

Sooter, John 

Smith, John E. 

Thomas, William 

Turner, Thomas 

Travelsted, Jefferson A. 

Wilson, Wm. 

Argo, John W. 

Belcher, Wm. C. 

Crider, Wm. F. 

Cannon, Hezekiah 

Cheek, James C. 

Davis, James M. 

Harris, John W. 

Huffman, Geo. H. 

Johnson, Hiram 

Morgan, Daniel C. 

Moore, Wm. H. 

Mulkey, Robert F. 
McNew, Josiah 
McKee, Joel R. 
May, Wm. H. 
Martin, W. G. 
Robinson, Taylor 
Robison, Samuel 
Seay, John W. 
Sharp, Samuel S. 
Simpson, James H. 
Sanders, John W. 
Warden, Asa Far. 
Simpson, John B. 
Smith, Barney S. 
Smoot, Warren O. 
Sharp, James W. 
Smith, Lewis W. 
Smith, Wm. H. H. 
Simpson, Andrew J. 
Thomas, Wm. H. 

14th Cavalry, Co. I 
Brown, Sanders 

14th Cavalry, Co. K 
Bird, James 
Cox, Richard S. 
Blatner, Jacob F. 
Cox, Thos. J. 
Edwards, Chas. V. 
Grant, Edmond (d-64) 
Hall, Isaac 

Houston, Samuel J. (d-64) 
Houston, Pleasant (d-65) 
Harrel, Wm. A. (d-64) 
Harman, Wm. 
Johnson, Henry, J. 
Largeant, Moses B. (d-64) 
Monroe, Geo. W. 
Murphy, Patrick 
Moore, Stephen M. (d-64) 
O'Neal, W. M. 
Smith, John 
Short, Lynn B. 
Willis, Wm. S. 
Walker, Winfield S. 



Whitehead, Andrew J. 
Zimmerman, Chas. F. 

14th Cavalry, Unassigned 
Lane, Wm. T., rejected 
McCartney, Geo. R. 
Mattens, G. W. 
Pierson, James D. 
Ramsey, John, rejected 
Rose, John 
Thomas, Wm. H. 

15th Cavalry, Co. B 
Cooper, James C. 
Hartman, Tobias 
McGee, C. E. 
Nulty, Albert 
Peterson, James (d-62) 
Beham, Joseph 
Jones, Moses 
Stanton, Griffon A. 
House, Wm. R. 
Martin, Henry, unassigned 

Officers Light Art., Bat. K 
Andrean, Franklin, Capt. 
Smith, Jason B., Capt. 
Shelton, Joseph P., 1st Lieut. 
Stephenson, William, 2nd Lieut. 
Franklin, Joseph W., Q.M. Sergt. 
Cummins, Samuel, Sergt. 
Leach, Geo. W., Corp. 
Whittenberg, Wm. P. 
Cummins, Jeremiah 
Helm, Robert A. 
Richerson, Wm. Harry 
Cross, Jasper, N., Bugler 
Marberry, Wm. L. 

Smith, Ambrose H. 
Bynum, Samuel M. 
Busby, James H. 
Bynum, Martin V. 
Bridges, Benj. F. 
Bass, James H. 
Cummins, Martin A. 
Comer, John K. 
Carr, Wm. G. 
Cox, Alfred H. 
Cross, Jasper 
Davidson, John S. 
Day, Geo. W. 
Farmer, Harrison 
Goddard, Casper 
Curley, James 
Johnson, James H. 
Lacy, John W. 
Morris, John C. 
Rentfro, Samuel C. 
Rentfro, Francis, M. 
Scott, James 
Smith, Jasper F. 
Smith, Hiram 
Skelton, Joseph P. 
White, John F. 
Williams, James 
Williams, Wm. 
Walker, Wesley, A. 
Walker, Nathan G. 
Williams, Abraham D. 
Williams, Thomas 
Hard, Jacob 
Irby, John H. 
Jackson, J. W. 
Walker, J. L. 


War having been declared by the United States, April 
6, 1917, Johnson County had no part in it till June of that 
year, except to send some of her sons as volunteers. 

The following people were given authority from cen- 
tral headquarters of the Red Cross to form a chapter in 


Johnson County. Mrs. P. T. Chapman, Chairman; Mr. E. 
C. Benson, Secretary; Rev. C. S. Tritt, Mrs. Mary E. Chap- 
man, Mr. and Mrs. Lucas Parker, Mr. W. H. Gilliam, Mrs. 
J. Spieldoch, Mrs. Jennie Rosenburg and Mrs. George E. 
Galeener. Conforming to this authority the committee met 
June 18, 1917. The following officers were elected : Chair- 
man, Rev. C. S. Tritt; Vice-Chairman, J. Spieldoch, Trea- 
surer, E. C. Benson, Sec, Lucas Parker. The following 
elected on the executive board: George E. Galeener, F. R. 
Wolfle, W. H. Gilliam, Mesdames P. T. Chapman, 0. R. 
Morgan, W. E. Beal, Vienna; Miss Gussie Mathis, Bloom- 
field ; Frank Leary, Foreman, P. C. McMahan, Tunnel Hill ; 
Edward Cummins, Reevesville; Dr. H. W. Walker, Grants- 
burgh; J. W. Reynolds, Simpson; J. R. Barker, Ozark; Ray 
Lawrence and Mrs. Arthur Williams, New Burnside; 
Everet McMahan and Mrs. N. J. Benson, Goreville; Dr. 
Chas. Nobles, and Mrs. F. S. Kuykendall, Buncombe ; H. A. 
Brown, Boles ; Rev. J. R. Slaton and Blain Pearce, Cypress ; 
Mrs. 0. P. Martin, and Joseph Crawford, Belknap. Ex- 
ecutive committee: C. S. Tritt, J. Spieldoch, E. C. Ben- 
son, F. R. Woelfle, Mrs. P. T. Chapman and Mrs. 0. R. 
Morgan; Campaign committee, J. A. Spieldoch, H. V. 
Carter, J. E. Cunningham, Mrs. P. T. Chapman; Mr. J. E. 
Cunningham was elected secretary and the following com- 
mittees were appointed August 14, 1917: Military Relief: 
Hon. P. T. Chapman, Dr. T. E. McCall, H. M. Jackson, 
Charles J. Huffman, H. A. Spann, J. E. Cunningham, and 
T E. Boyt; Civil Relief, T. C. Penrod, C. M. Pickens, I. H. 
Hook, W. H. Gilliam, F. R. Woelfle, Mesdames W. E. Beal, 
T. E. McCall; Auditing: E. F. Throgmorton, W. T. Jobe, 
Miss Lava Ridenhower; Nominating Committee: H. V. 
Carter, Dr. R. A. McCall, and C. M. Dorris; Committee 
on supplies: Mesdames P. T. Chapman, Delia Parker, T. E. 
McCall, Alice Beal and D. W. Whittenberg. 

August 14, 1917, meeting for annual election held at 
the court house, the following were elected as trustees of the 
Johnson County Red Cross Chapter: Goreville, Mrs. Henry 
Terry, 2 years, Miss Lilly Foster, 2 years. Elvira : Dr. C. D. 
Nobles, 1 year, Mrs. Eva Kuykendall, 1 year. Cypress : Mrs. 
Nellie Wolf, 2 years, Mrs. P. S. Smith, 3 years. Belknap : 
Mrs. W. N. Gibbons, 3 years, Mrs. Sadie West 2 years, Mrs. 
Chas. Marshall, 1 year. New Burnside: Mrs. A. Williams 
1 year, Ray Lawrence, 2 years. Grantsburg: J. T. Wor- 


mack, 2 years, E. S. Cummins 3 years. Bloomfield : Gee. 
Mathis 3 years, Thomas Travis 2 years. Simpson: Miss 
Laura Mount 3 years, Mrs. W. G. Taylor 1 year. Vienna: 
Mrs. Henry Mahl 1 year, F. R. Woelfle 1 year, Mrs. P. T. 
Chapman 2 years, Mrs. Alice Beal 3 years, Mrs. Lucas 
Parker 1 year, J. Spieldoch 2 years, J. E. Cunningham 3 
years, C. M. Pickens, 3 years, E. C. Benson 2 years, Mrs. 
May McCall 1 year. Johnson County Red Cross meeting Oct. 
26, 1917 the following officers were elected: Chairman, C. 
M. Pickens, Secretary, J. E. Cunningham, Treasurer, E. C. 
Benson. Executive Committee, Mrs. P. T. Chapman, Mrs. 
Delia Parker, J. Spieldoch ; Civilian Committee : W. H. Gil- 
lian, Lucas Parker, John 0. Cowan, F. R. Woelfle, Mrs. 
Alice Beal, Mrs. Emma Gibbons and Dr. C. D. Nobles. 

November 20, 1918, being the day appointed by the 
National Red Cross for annual election, the following 
directors were elected to serve for the year 1919. Vienna 
Chapter: Mesdames Delia Parker, R. R. Ridenhower, P. T. 
Chapman, Maggie Hill, Mattie Cantwell, H. W. Walker, 
Rev. C. H. Croslin, Rev. C. S. Tritt, John M. Brown, T. E. 
Boyt, J. E. Cunningham, Lucas Parker, C. M. Pickens, J. 
Spieldoch, H. M. Jackson, F. R. Woelfle. Goreville: Lily 
Foster, Siegle Hubbard; Belknap: Emma Gibbons, | E. 
Sabine West; Grantsburg: Ella Modglin, John Griffin; 
Bloomfield: Lewis Taylor, Delia Fitzgerald; Burnside: Nell 
Williams, W. T. Edmonson; Buncombe; Mable Kuykendall, 
Dr. C. D. Nobles. Reeseville: C. C. Whitworth, Mrs. Frank 
Marberry. Tunnel Hill: Mrs. Guy Beauman, Mrs. Will 
Fern. Cypress: Mrs. P. W. Rose, Cora Casper; Ozark: 
Mrs. L. M. Smith, Mrs. James Barker. West Vienna : John 
Racy, Sarah Horsely. 

November 20, 1918 the Board of Directors of Johnson 
County Red Cross elected the following officers : Rev. C. S. 
Tritt, Chairman; Mrs. Delia Parker, Vice; T. E. Boyt, 
Treasurer J. E. Cunningham, Secretary, Mrs. P. T. Chap- 
man, Mrs. Mary Walker and J. Spieldoch, Executive Com- 

The Johnson County Red Cross fell a little short of its 
quota, 2,149, the membership reaching about 2,000. Those 
who did work, worked with a willingness unsurpassed in 
any section of this broad land of ours. The Chapter, in- 
cluding all the branches, sent in 8,000 articles, including 


1,074 pairs of socks and 526 sweaters made according to the 
directions sent out from headquarters. The Chapter paid 
for all materials used. 

Belknap Branch was organized July 13, 1917, with 
Mrs. 0. P. Martin, Chairman; Mrs. Emma Gibbons, Vice; 
Miss Prudence Anderson Secretary, Mrs. Bertha Martain, 
Treasurer, Goreville Branch August 5, 1917, with John J. 
Reed as Chairman, Mrs. Delia Calhoun, Vice, Louise Cal- 
houn, Treasurer, Lily D. Montgomery, Secretary. New 
Burnside Branch was organized November 22, 1917, with 
W. A. Williams, Chairman, J. M. Howerton, Vice, H. C. 
Laborn, Secretary, Ray Lawrence Treasurer. This branch 
had 356 members, by January 1918. Cypress Branch was 
organized November 22, 1918. Mrs. Ellen Jones, Chair- 
man, Mrs. Cora Casper, Vice, Mrs. Nannie Rose, Treasurer 
and Mrs. H. T. Evers, Secretary. Ozark organized May 6, 
1918, E. R. Steagall, Chairman, L. M. Smith Vice. H. A. 
Cox, Secretary J. T. Moore, Treasurer, Reevesville, Febru- 
ary 11, 1918, S. E. Cummins, Chairman, Frank Marberry, 
Vice, C. C. Whitworth, Secretary, Henry Moore, Treasurer. 
Buncombe Branch organized February 17, 1918, Hattie 
Nobles Chairman, Ettie Mathis, Vice, L. Hoover Secretary, 
Eva Kuykendall, Treasurer. Grantsburg Branch was or- 
ganized May 1, 1918, Louis Trovillion, Chairman, John 
Griffin, Vice, Mrs. Modglin, Treasurer, Phylis Allard, 
Secretary. Grantsburg Branch, Nunmber 2, organized the 
same date as Reeseville, Simpson Branch was organized 
June 21, 1918, James A. Whiteside, Chairman, Mrs. Nellie 
Morris, Secretary, S. B. Morris Treasurer. Route 2 organ- 
ized with 23 members, Mrs. Ada Elliot, Chairman, Mrs. 
Cora Able, Vice, Miss Lily Chitty, Secretary, Mrs. Effie 
Johns, Treasurer. West Vienna organized June 20, 1918, 
John Racy, Chairman, Essie Horsely, Vice, 0. Newton, Sec- 
retary, H. A. Brown, Treasurer. 

May 3, 1918, the membership committees appointed for 
Vianna Chapter were as follows: Ward 1, Mrs. Mattie Cant- 
well, Ward 2, Mrs. J. B. Hankins, Ward 3, W. E. Beal, E. 
C. Benson resigned as Treasurer to enlist in the army, 
December 26, 1917, and T. E. Boyt was elected to fill the 
vacancy. Miss Emma Rebman was appointed County 
Chairman of Junior Red Cross. July 18, 1917 was Red 
Cross day for Vienna Chapter for soliciting members. Com- 
mittee Isaac Hook, Captain of team for ward 1, J. E. Cun- 


ningham, Captain of team for Ward 2, L. G. Newton, Cap- 
tain of team for ward 3. 

June 9, 1918 was set apart for a patriotic day at Vienna 
a flag pole was set and a large flag raised. Many partici- 
pated in the parade with decorated automobiles, wagons and 
buggies ; the school children and members of the Red Cross 
carrying flags formed in two sections. There were also some 
good addresses. The Vienna Red Cross Chapter provided 
every soldier that left with the draft contingencies with a 
comfort kit, towel, soap, housewife completely furnished, 
till the order came from headquarters not to give out any 
more comfort kits but they continued to furnish the other 
articles. The Red Cross work rooms were first established 
in the Carniege Library of Vienna, but were later moved 
to a room on Fifth Street near the center of town. 

Mrs. Lucus Parker was county chairman for the 
Woman's Council of National Defense, Vice-Chairman, Mr. 
W. G. Jackson; Secretary and Treasurer, Miss Cornelia 
Smith. Chairman of Departments — Conservation, Mrs. W. 
H. Gillian; Child Welfare, Mrs. Maggie Hill; Courses of 
Instruction, Mrs. Ruth Chapman; Food Production, Mrs. 
John Brown ; Information, Mrs. W. Y. Smith ; Liberty Loan, 
Mrs. F. R. Wolfle; Publicity, Miss Wilma Harris; Regis- 
tration, Miss Arline Smith. 

Vienna Unit: Mrs. P. T. Chapman; Belknap Unit, Mrs. 
W. H. Gibbons. Chairman, Registration Committee for 
Womans National Defense, Goreville, Miss Lily McCor- 
mick ; Elvira, Mrs. Calvin Mathis ; Cache, Mrs. F. S. Smith ; 
Belknap, Mrs. W. H. Gibbons; Bloomfield, Mrs. George 
Mathis; Vienna, Mrs. C. M. Dorris; New Burnside, Mrs. J. 
C. B. Heaton; Simpson, Mrs. S. Morris; Grantsburg, Mrs. 
Joseph Gann. 

First Liberty Loan Campaign, County Chairman, P. 
T. Chapman, Vice; T. B. Kirley. Quota, $130,750, sub- 
scribed, $26,850. 

Second Liberty Loan August 10, 1917, P. T. Chapman, 
Chapman, Chairman; Sales committee, Ed. Boyt. F. R. 
Woelfle, J. Spieldoch; Publicity Committee, W. H. Gilliam, 
J. B. Hudgens, J. B. Suit, D. A. Burgeous, Calvin Carter, 
and Joseph Crawford; quota $87,500, raised $91,700. The 
Third Liberty Loan, campaign began April 6, 1918, P. T. 


Chapman, Chairman; Hon. W. A. Spann, Chairman of the 
committee of one hundred, quota $94,450. The amount was 
subscribed by one hundred and sixty -three people. The 
fourth Liberty Loan, P. T. Chapman, Chairman. Quota 
$190,000, raised $199,400. The fifth Liberty Loan, P. T. 
Chapman, Chairman. Quota $135,000, raised $148,100. 

Second Liberty Loan, Mrs. Louise Woefle, County 
Chairman for the Womans Liberty Loan Organization; 
Chairmen for the different townships were : Goreville, Mrs. 
Asa Foster; Tunnel Hill, Mrs. Guy Beauman; New Burn- 
side, Mrs. Arthur Williams; Elvira, Mrs. C. D. Nobles; 
Blomfield, Mrs. J. S. Plater; Simpson, Mrs. T. B. Mount; 
Belknap, Mrs. Bertha Martain; Cypress, Mrs. P. W. Rose; 
(Cache) ; Vienna, Mrs. Maggie Hill; Grantsburg, Mrs. De- 
laski Walker. 

F. R. Woelfle, County Director of Boys Working Re- 
serve, also Chairman of Committee for the sale of war sav- 
ing stamps, sold about $210,000. 

Johnson County Y. M. C. A. drive was organized No- 
vember 7, 1917. Lucas Parker was elected Chairman, W. H. 
Gilliam, Secretary. Members of the Executive Board were 
F. R. Woelfle, J. Spieldoch, Dr. R A. McCall, Charles A. 
Huffman, E. F. Throgmorton, of Vienna; Goreville, John 
Grisham, Chas. Calhoun, Thomas Bradley; Elvira, S. F. 
Elkins, Calvin Mathis, W. B. McGinnis ; Cache, John Brad- 
ley, J. C. Carter, Dr. P. W. Rose ; Belknap ; Mrs. O. P. Mar- 
tin, W. H. Gibbons, O. M. Fraim; Tunnel Hill, Mrs. Guy 
Beauman, Mrs. D. M. Cover, John M. McCuan; Bloomfield, 
J. S. Plater, T. C. Taylor, Geo. W. Mathis; Vienna, J. M. 
Brown, W. N. McCorcle, Lee Bridges; Burnside, Fred 
Heaton, H. C. Laybourn, John Howerton ; Simpson, James 
Whiteside, Fred Veach, Delbert Kerley ; Ozark, Harvey Cox. 
John W. Rushing, George Murphy ; Grantsburg, Chas. Mod- 
glin, Ezra Trovillion, John L. Grifin; Ganntown, George 
Cummins, W. A. Robins, John L. Marberry. The amount 
allotted to Johnson County for Y. M. C. A. was $2,000 and 
was oversubscribed $1,000. 

Johnson County quota for the United War Workers 
Campaign was $7,500. Lucas Parker was county Chair- 
man, Chas. J. Huffman, Secretary. The committees for the 
different townships were as follows: Goreville, W. H. 
Martin, J. J. Lily, J. L. Thornton, W. P. Gore, Henry 


Terry, A. D. Stanley, J. M. Francis, James Gibson; Bun- 
combe, Chas. Trulove, Chas. Hunsaker, W. A. Elkins, E. 
L. Raglsdale, A. J. Kuykendall, Corda Elkins, Charles 
Nobles, and William Rich; Cache, Cypress, Olin Peeler, 
Frank Penrod, Henry Lowery, F. M. Capron, Arthur Deans, 
Dr. P. W. Rose, W. Y. Davis, and W. Y. Bradley, W. J 
Worrell; Belknap W. L. Wiliams, J. A. Anderson, 0. M. 
Frain, John Herrod, Chas. Marshall, J. C. Casper, S. D. 
Peeler, W. H. Larrison; Tunnel Hill, Guy Beauman, G. R. 
Casey, E. W. Sutton, W. J. Fern, Nimrod Webb, A. G. Ben- 
son, G. H. McMahan, James Mohler, Isiah Lowery, F. P. 
Carson; Bloomfield, J. C. Taylor, Geo. W. Mathis, D. P. 
Fleming, W. L. Nipper, Peter Fitzgerald, J. N. Benson, 
Walter Stewart, John L. Whiteside; New Burnside; 
J. C. B. Heaton, U. S. Lawrence, W. A. Hobbs, 
Norman Casper, Arthur Williams, James Horn, Geo. W. 
Lauderdale, H. D. LaRue, J. B. Henken; Ozark, Geo. P. 
Harper, L. M. Smith, Frank Stone, R. F. Taylor, L. G. 
Simmons, Otto Stout, Roy Chester, Harvey Cox; Simpson, 
Dr. T. B. Kerley, T. B. Mount, H. W. Emerson, W. F. 
Veach, Fred S. Veach, Chas, Murrie, J. F. Gillespie, John 
McCuan, James A. Whiteside, W. J. Murrie; Grantsburg, 
Frank Simmons, A. T. Hazel, Ezra Trovillion, Ray Allard, 
Ed. Guimm, Chas, Modglin, James Stout, Rollie Nelson; 
Gantown, John Lindsey, Dr. Joe, Gann, J. D. Wormack, Ira, 
Farquhar, G. W. Cummins, C. C. Whitworth, John L. Mar- 
berry, J. L. Herd, F. M. Fisher; Vienna, D. W. Mathis, J. 
W. Shinn, John M. Brown, Dick Morgan, A. M. Hester. 

Federal Fuel Administrator for the county was J. 
Spielcoch, assistants, Thomas A. Bradley, and Dr. H. W. 
Walker; Federal Food Administrator for the county, P. T. 
Chapman; Deputies, Vienna, W. N. McCorcle, Grantsburg 
No. 2, C. C. Whitworth. Grantsburg No. 1, Ray Allard; 
Belknap, Joseph Crawford ; Cypress, Ray Carter ; Bun- 
combe, Chas. Hunsaker; Goreville, W. H. Martin; Tunnel 
Hill, E. W. Sutton; New Burnisde, T. S. Ballance; Ozark, 
R. F. Taylor; Blomfield, Geo. Mathis; Simpson, W. J. 

It is only just, to at least mention the willingness with 
which the citizens of our town as well as those of the coun- 
ty, entered into the world war work. It is safe to say no 
other community excelled this one in work and contribu- 
tions taking into consideration our number and financial 


resources. During the epidemic of the Spanish Influenza 
(winter of 1918-19) the situation became so desperate we 
were obliged to improvise a hospital in the Carnegie Library 
under the supervision of Reverend C. S. Tritt, Pastor of 
the M. E. Church and Chairman of the Red Cross. Nine 
patients were cared for here and only one was lost. This 
scourge took some of our best young business men as well 
as many older people. Among those who rendered invalu- 
able service during this time of stress were Miss Beulah 
Walker of this county and Miss Lola Stevers, of Grand 
Chain, 111. The citizens neglected nothing which would 
help in caring for those afflicted with this dread disease. 


Twelve men enlisted from Belknap before the registra- 
tion in the county occurred. They were Rider Harris, Rod- 
ney: N. Tate, Ralph D. Peeler, W. H. Payne, Harry, 
Griffith, William West, James C. Anderson, Newman Rus- 
sell, Jesse McCorcle, C. J. Russell, Walter Martin, Guy 

Total registration in county for service in the World 
War at the first registration, May 5, 1917, was 1,001. By 
June, 1918, 121 more had reached the draft age. September 
1918, the number of men registering between the ages of 18 
and 45 years were 1,270, total registration 2,392. As some 
had entered the service before the registration this does 
not include all the men eligible from this county. The 
Registering Board of the county appointed by the Gover- 
nor was H. A. Spann, John L. Veach, and Dr. H. W. Walker. 
The clerk for this board was E. F. Throgmorton. The 
registrars for the county appointed by the Sheriff were 
Regent A. D. Stanley; Goreville, Ebert Thulen; Cache, 
Dr. F. S. Smith Belknap, W. H. Gibbons; Tunnel 
Hill, S. H. Taylor and William Fern; Blomfield, T. C. Taylor 
Vienna No. 1 H. V. Carter, Frank Huddleson ; Vienna No. 
2. G. H. Bridges Lucas Parker; Burnside, J. M. Howerton; 
Ray Lawrence ; Ozark, J. R. Barker, Oscar Anderson ; Simp- 
son J. A. Whiteside; Grantsburg No. 1 J. T. Wormack; 
Grantsburg, No. 2, J. D. Wormack. Advisory Board for 
registrants 0. R. Morgan, C. J. Huffman, J. O. Cowan. 

The Government sent special trains throughout the 
country in the interest of the Liberty Loan Campaigns. 


One was sent to Vienna, April 19, 1918. It contained dis- 
abled aeroplanes, guns and various other implements of war 
captured from the Germans. Some returned soldiers made 
talks and it was altogether a very interesting incident for 
our little inland city. Hundreds of people came to see it 
from the surrounding country. Mr. and Mrs. J. Spieldoch 
presented a service flag to the Royal Arch Masonic Lodge 
No. 150, March 1918, on which were four stars in honor 
of Herman Frizzell, Ward and Ralph Chapman, Eugene C. 
Benson, members of the Chapter. Congressman T. S. 
Williams presented Mrs. Mary E. Chapman with a service 
flag on which were thirteen stars, in honor of her thirteen 
grandsons, soldiers of the World War, seven of whom 
served in France. Mr. and Mrs. Harris living east of 
town had three sons Clyde, Melvin, and Herman in World 
War service. Mrs. Woods, colored, of Vienna, also had 
three sons, Richard, Marvin and Lum. Pickens, who did 
their bit in the World War. 

The news reached Vienna shortly after four oclock 
A. M. November 11, that the armistice between the Entente 
and Germany had been signed. The bells began to ring, 
whistles to blow, and fire arms to boom ! boom ! ! In fact, 
they made a noise with any and everything that came 
handy. Among the first ones to start out to spread the 
news were George and John Gray. They soon picked up 
Prof. Jobe in their car and instead of Sheridan's ride it 
was the Grays and Jobe heralding the welcome news that 
war had ceased. Soon the streets were filled with people 
of the town and surounding country, all eager to satisfy 
themselves, that the news was true. Some expressed joy in 
one way, and some in another, but there could be no doubt 
that every soul was glad and every heart beat high with 
joy. Uncle Mark Hankins appeared on the scene with his 
flag and old army shotgun which had been captured from 
the Rebels in the '60s. He started out, others soon fell in 
and a parade was formed around the square. A figure of 
the Kaiser had been prepared and was drawn up on the flag 
pole. When the procession reached this point, at command, 
they shot the Kaiser full of holes, when he fell they used 
their swords on him and he was then placed in the hearse 
and carted off. The celebration was kept up most of the 
day. In the afternoon there were addresses made by Judge 
Lewis of Harrisburg and J. F. Craig of this county. C. J. 


Huffman also spoke in the interest of the United War 
Workers Campaign. 

Questionaires were sent to Mrs. Geo. Mathis of Bloom- 
field, Mrs. Bertha Martin of Belknap, J. B. Hudgens, of 
Goreville, H. C. Layborn of Burnside, Miss Laura Mount of 
Simpson, Mrs. P. W. Rose, of Cypress, after her death to 
Mrs. Geo. Mo'ak, Mrs. Campbell Allard, Grantsburg, Mrs. 
Nora Gilliam, Tunnel Hill, Miss Lava Ridenhower, Vienna, 
Calvin Mathis, Buncombe asking them to get the soldiers 
of each township to fill out the papers so that there could 
be a complete record of every man that went from Johnson 
County into the World War. They were not able to secure 
all the data requested, consequently, only the names are 
given which have been collected as carefully as possible. 
If any name has been omitted it is because no information 
could be obtained. The following is a copy of the question- 
aire: Name; Place and date of birth; Name of parents: 
Rank; Assignment; Place of training; Date and time over 
seas if any ; Wounded or killed, and what battle ; Decoration 
if any ; For what service ; Picture if possible. 

The following is a list of soldiers who were killed or 
died during the war : James E. Cummins, son of J. C. and 
Alice Cummins, was born near Bloomfield, 111., March 25, 
1885. He enlisted in the United States Army, June 25, 
1918. He was first sent to Ft. Logan, Colorado, transferred 
from there to Camp Joseph E. Johnson, Fla. He belonged 
to the 28th Company, 2nd Officers Training Regiment, died 
October 11, 1918. Was buried at Mt. Pleasant Cemetery, 
this county, October 17, 1918. 

Lieutenant Herschel C. Tritt, son of Claud S. and Mary 
Tritt, was born at Newton, 111., March 23, 1896. He en- 
listed in the United States Army, January 11, 1917. Sailed 
for overseas duty August, 1917. He received his training 
at Ft. Totten, New York and Saumeur, France. He took 
part in the battles of Chateau Thierry, and the Second 
Battle of the Marne. He was killed in action at Cherry 
Chattrereuv, France, August 19, 1918. He was 2nd Lieut, 
of Battery B. 306 Field Artillery. 

Sandy Kelly, son of I. N. and Elizabeth Kelly, enlisted 
July 29, trained at Camp Taylor. Died in camp, October, 


Lieut. Lindorf R. Kerley, was the son of Dr. T. B. 
and Mary E. Kerley. He was born at Simpson, 111., January 
27, 1889. He served as 1st Lieut, in 119 Field Artillery 
with the A. E. F. Was killed in a railroad accident near 
Orleans, France, December 5, 1918. He was buried in 
Fraternal Cemetery, Vienna, 111., January 21, 1921. 

Harvey, Gold, son of C. B. and Mary Gold, was born 
near Goreville. He belonged to Co. C. 314 Field Signal 
Battalion. Was wounded at Haumont, France, the day the 
armistice was signed, November 11, 1918. Died five days 

Ray E. Nipper, son of M. V. and Effie Nipper, was 
born at Regent, Johnson County, 111., March 2, 1892. En- 
listed in the U. S. Army, April, 1917. Went overseas 
April, 1918. Died of pneumonia, at Toul, France, Novem- 
ber 26, 1918. He belonged to Head Quarters Company, 
77th Division. 

Chester S. Jobe, son of John and Armina Jobe, was 
born at Tunnel Hill, 111., September 3, 1895. Enlisted Feb- 
ruary 22, 1918. Was sent to Camp Taylor, Ky., where he 
remained about two weeks, when he was sent overseas. He 
was wounded in action September 29, and died October 30, 
1918. He was buried in St Sever Cemetery, near Rouen, 
France. His body was sent home and buried at Reynolds- 
burg, 1921. He was a private in 119th Infantry A. E. F. 

George R. Murphy, was born near Glendale, February 
23, 1894. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. Cassia Murphy. 
He enlisted in U. S. Army, May, 1917, going to Jefferson 
Barracks, Mo. He was transferred from there to El Paso, 
Texas, then to New York City, from which he sailed, June 
17, 1917, with Pershing's Troops, possibly the first Johnson 
County son to go overseas. He was a Corporal in Head- 
quarters Company, 15th Infantry, 4th Div. A. E. F. He was 
wounded in action October 11, 1918. After two months in 
a French hospital, he was transferred to a New York 
hospital where he died, February, 1919. The body was 
brought to Simpson, for interment. 

Harry Sullins, son of Lincoln and Elizabeth (Brooks) 
Sullins, was born at Ozark, 111., April 3, 1894. Enlisted 
May 25, 1918. He was a private in Co. G 58 Infantry, 4th 
Div. He trained at Camp Gordon, Ga. Went overseas July 


18, 1918. Participated in the battles of St. Mihiel, and 
Argon Forest. Was wounded in action October, 1918. Died 
October 28, 1918. His body was sent home. 

Curtis Grissom, son of W. M. and Nettie (Farris) Gris- 
som, was born in this county, January 30, 1895. He trained 
at Mare Island and Quantico, Va. He was a private in the 
fifth Marines, 2nd Div. Was killed October 4, 1918 at 
Mount Blanc, Ridge. 


The experiences of the World War have been sad ones 
for the people of the United States. It took the flower of 
our manhood, physically speaking, and if they were not 
killed they were injured mentally, morally or physically. 
The declaration of this war came very unexpectedly, almost 
as much so as a peal of thunder out of a clear sky. Many 
soldiers went into this war half -heartily and they could not 
be blamed. It was a trying ordeal to take a man from a 
peaceful pleasant home, a lucrative position or business 
and send him across the sea to fight with and for people he 
did not know. True it was for a principle which was right 
and circumstances came about which justified it. Many in 
this county as elsewhere, volunteered, but this was decidely 
a draft war. In most cases those who had positions when 
they entered the service, found them waiting for them on 
their return, but there seemed to be a restlessness and dis- 
content among them that has barely passed away in five 
years. One thing is certain, those who served on the other 
side are not free to talk of their experiences. The prevaling 
idea, was, that war would cease in Europe after the treaty 
of Versailles. There is still turmoil, strife and hatred. 
At a glance; it looks as though, those who filled graves 
in France, and those who will finish lives maimed and dis- 
abled, have suffered and died in vain. There may come a 
better day from all this sacrifice, but it has certainly not 
dawned as yet. 






1st Contingent, Aug. 5, 1917 
McCorcle, Chaiie R., Vienna 
Harvick, Charles E., Vienna 
Kerley, Claudie X., Simpson 
Kerley, Carnie V., Simpson 
Gore, Everett L. Buncombe 

2nd Contingent, Sept. 20, 1917 
Short, Ralph, Belknap 
Chamness, Lawrence, Goreville 
Rhodes, Robert, Vienna 
Brown, Melvin, Cypress 
Shelton, Alger Lee, Grantsburg 
Penrod, Wm. Hosea, Buncombe 
Terry, Moses M., Goreville 
Harris, Clyde, Vienna 
Martin, Fred J., Vienna 
Black, Aron C, Goreville 
Stout, Wm. Earnest, Tunnel Hill 
Graham, Fred D., Belknap 
McGowan, John R., Tunnel Hill 
Kellar, James Carrol, Buncombe 
Kerley, Pleas, Simpson 
Veach, Norman E., Vienna 
Yandell, Wm., Tunnel Hill 
Simpson, Arthur G., Tunnel Hill 
Cavitt, Wm. Aug., Tunnel Hill 
Burklow, Guy C, Goreville 
Musgrave, Ervil C, Buncombe 
Taylor, Roy, Vienna 
Trout, James E., Reevesville 
Frizzell, Roy L., Burnside 
McMichiel, Ben, New Burnside 
Hogg, Guy W., Vienna 
Mathis, Alvin, Bloomfield 
Parish, Will Lee, Goreville 
Porter, Autie, Foreman 
Morris, Rosco, Vienna 
Marberry, Frank Reeseville 
Nestlerodt, Morris, Cypress 
Pritchet, Henry, Goreville 

Moses, Henry, Cypress 
Parker, Abram, Vienna 
Nesslerodt, Harris, Cypress 
Davis, Ira S., Belknap 

3rd Contingent, Oct., 1917 
Throgmorton, Josiah N., New 

Hunter, Doc A., Vienna 
Sullivan, Edgar, Goreville 
Robertson, Thomas J., Bun- 
Cavitt, Clyde, Buncombe 
Shawmeeker, Wm. W., Vienna 
Miller, James A., Belknap 
Riley, John R., Belknap 
Porter, George E., Belknap 
Lokey, Wm. A., Belknap 
Sandifer, Henry, Belknap 
Hunt, Chester R., Vienna 
Short, Edward B., Cypress 
Hart, George B., Tunnel Hill 
Grimes, Cecil C, Tunnel Hill 
Parish, Edgar, Goreville 
Kelley, Walter Lewis, Tunnel 

Johns, Ray, Tunnel Hill 
Sanders, J. Frank, Vienna 
4th Contingent, Feb. 23, 1918 
For Camp Zachary Taylor 
Belcher, Wm. Roscoe, Reeves- 
Deputy, Clarence, Vienna 
Gore, Everett, Lee, Buncombe 
Reeves, George Washington, 

Walker, Cove, Vienna 
Fairless, Andrew Jackson, 

Rikard, Wm. Wesley, Buncombe 
McCuan, Ado, Vienna 



Taylor, Ottis Franklin, Bloom- 
Crayton, Chesley Mile, Grants- 

Plater, Clem, Vienna 
Hicks, Oscar, Belknap 
Nobles, Clarence Redden, Bun- 
McDaniel, George Allen, Tunnel 

Prater, George Franklin, Bun- 
Plater, Wm. G., Vienna 
Comer, Lawrence, Grantsburg 
Stewart, Ebb Damron, Bun- 
Mahan, William, Tunnel Hill 
Stites, Andrew Jackson, New 

Phillips, John, Bloomfield 
Garrett, Lewis F., Simpson 
Cross, Ira, New Burnside 
Sharp, Chesley, Vienna 
Comer, Earl, Grantsburg 
Webb, Perceful Lee, Tunnel Hill 
May, Flodie E., Simpson 
Jobe, Chester, Tunnel Hill 

5th Contingent, April 29, 1918 
5 Men to Camp Grant, Rockford 
Kirkland, Lacy, Cypress 
Pickens, Marvin, Vienna 
Pickens, Lum, Vienna 
Pickens, Richard, Vienna 
Johnson, Marion, Grantsburg 
6th Group, April, 1918 
To Camp Dix, N. J. 
Casey, Gomer L., Tunnel Hill 
Kelly, Ned Austin, Cypress 
McCoy, James Robinson, Parker 
Murphey, Jessie, Simpson 
Tyler, Henry Edward, New 

Threet, Ivy C, Vienna R. F. D. 

Dively, Paul Franklin, Tunnel 

English, Eber Willis, Vienna 
Gray, Looney Max, Vienna 
Russell, Charles, Parker 
Shelton, Ray, Grantsburg 
Jobe, James Lewis, Bloomfield 
Steagall, Roy Osceola, Ozark 
Modglin, Loyd Wm., Grantsburg 
Modglin, Joseph Egleston, 

Huss, Henry, Belknap 
Grinnell, B. R., Buncombe 
Vineyard, Vollie O., Grantsburg 
Phelps, Jessie Otis, Grantsburg 
Rosenberg, David, Vienna 
Johnston, F. Robert, Jr., Vienna 
Underhill, Charley, Cypress 
Holmes, Herman E., Buncombe 
7th Group, May 10, 1918 
Fort Thomas, Ky. 
Jennings, James A., Simpson 
Mann, James Calvin, New Burn- 
Corbit, Wm. T., Bloomfield 

8th Group, May 24, 1918 
Sent to Jefferson Barracks, Mo. 
West, Raymond Cole, Simpson 
Ford, John Richard, Tunnel Hill 
Carter, Arthur, Vienna 
Kemp, Grover Cleveland, 

Johnson, Charley, Grantsburg 
Cavitt, Wm. Jackson, Tunnel 

Oneal, Charles Paul, Ozark 
Needham, Millard O., Grants- 
Gray, John Oliver, Vienna 
Worley, Earl Oliver, Cypress 
Whiteside, Ulis R., New Bum- 
Gurley, Calvin Andrew, Gore 



Wing, Charles E., New Burnside 
Emmerson, Clelis, Simpson 
Wise, Claud A., New Burnside 
Stevens, Franklin J., Goreville 
Black, Samuel E., Goreville 
Porter, S. F., Foreman 
Jobe, Marion Orlan, Tunnel Hill 
Burnham, John, Belknap 
Knupp, Ralph Eli, Cypress 
Askew, James A., Tunnel Hill 
Richardson, Guy Loren, Simpson 
9th Group, May 25, 1918 

To Camp Gordon, Ga. 
Musgrave, Clifford Raymond, 

Kilgore, Samuel Emmet, New 

Sullens, Harry, Ozark 
Porter, George Washington, 

Darnell, John Wm., Ozark 
Smith, James Thomas, Vienna 
Escue, Elbert Edmond, Bun- 
Stewart, Charles, Tunnel Hill 
Pritchet, Jake, Goreville 
Walker, Hiram Hubert, Gore- 
Dunn, Joseph Calvin, Cypress 
Wymore, Lannes, Vienna 
McCabe, Arthur Francis, New 

Hall, Lora C, Goreville 
Mathis, John Franklin, Cypress 
Phillips, Harvey, Bloomfield 
Grace, Fred, Goreville 
Sharp, Benj. N., Vienna 
Reynolds, Robert, Simpson 
Burnett, Fred Gould, Vienna 
Crowder, Hallie Floyd, Bun- 
Trigg, Bert R., Simpson 
Ford, Raymond Calvin, Vienna 

Comer, Bertis Nathaniel, 

Smith, Clay, Creal Springs 
Cavitt, Ladd, Ozark 
Hood, Chas. Wm., Vienna 
Whiteside, Herman Asa, Simp- 
Choat, Earl O., Simpson 
Tucker, Raymond Andrew, Cy- 
Huffman, Francis M., Vienna 
Sullins, Cecil C, Ozark 
Rushing, James C, Goreville 
Hess, Elmer Homer, Vienna 
Williams, Chas. Marlow, Grants- 
Martin, Sidney Corlis, Cypress 
Clayton, Wm. Loss, Bloomfield 
Trigg, Lon, Ozark 
Morris, Charles, New Burnside 
Burns, Chloa E., Goreville 
Hunsaker, J. Paul, Vienna 
Estes, Oscar, Reevesville 
Gray, Mid, Vienna 
Morgan, Harry O., Vienna 

10th Group, May 28, 1918 
To Fort Thomas, Ky. 
Hood, Coy E., New Burnside 
Simmons, Arlie, Tunnel Hill 
Malaer, Murray E., Goreville ' 
Lokey, Ollie E., Belknap 
White, Durwood Randall, New 

Craig, Wm. H., Goreville 
Cavitt, Robert Ray, Tunnel Hill 
Cooper, Lewis Wesley, Reevs- 

George, Alphonso O., Cypress 
Trigg, Ned, Simpson 
Boner, Ralph, Tunnel Hill 
Looney, Joseph Whitehead, 

Harris, Samuel H., Belknap 



Murphey, Earl, Ozark 
Choat, Geo. Groves, Tunnel Hill 
McGowan, Ralph, Tunnel Hill 
Kerley, Marshall R., Simpson 
Moak, Claud Ernest, Cypress 
Jack, Earnest, Goreville 
Sharp, James Albert, Simpson 
Ferrell, Ervin Wesley, Reeves- 

11th Group, June 14, 1918 
Kansas City, Mo. 
Hard, Emmet, Reevesville 
Taylor, Joseph Edward, Gan- 

Simmons, Wiley, Vienna 
Burris, Albert, Vienna 
Buford, Joseph Clyde, Cypress 
Ragsdale, Olaff, Grantsburg 
Shelton, Ira, Grantsburg 
Heaton, Wm. Herman, New 

Graves, Barney, Goreville 
Hancock, Ernest M., Goreville 
Robertson, Loyd B., Buncombe 
McCall, Oliver Kenneth, Bun- 
Parks, Ward, Tunnel Hill 

12th Group, June 14, 1918 
To Bradley Tech., Peoria, III. 

Burnett, Lewis Earl, Vienna 
Downing, Earl Ernest, Bloom- 
Taylor, Elbert, Bloomfield 

13th Contingent, June 14, 1918 
To Valparaiso, Ind. 
Veach, Clifford, Vienna 
Cavitt, George W., Buncombe 

14th Contingent, June 27, 1918 
For Camp Taylor 
Taylor, Henry, Bloomfield 
Wright, James D., Tunnel Hill 
May, Lowell, Ozark 

Gouge, Ray, Simpson 
Pea, Malrey W., Reevesville 
Emmerson, Lester Dow, Vienna 
Scott, James Roy, Simpson 
Ford, Willie, Vienna 
Johnson, Noah, Tunnel Hill 
Crockett, Glenn, Reevesville 
Rikard, Harrison, Buncombe 
Whiteside, Coy Valentine, 

Jones, David, Jr., Vienna 
Gurley, Floyd Allen, Cypress 
Hooker, Homer, Vienna 
Cook, Lester, New Burnside 
Verhines, Wm. Otto, Vienna 
Nelson, Horrace Greely, Grants- 
McHugh, Joe, Tunnel Hill 
Wallace, Moody C, Vienna 
Bundren, Jefferson B., Ozark 
Harris, Herman, Vienna 
Vaugn, Chas. H., Vienna 
Murphy, Arthur, Ozark 
Oneal, Thomas Oscar, Goreville 
Simpson, John, Ozark 
Vaughn, Claud, Tunnel Hill 
Caraker, Curtis, Boles 
Hudgin, S. Elmer, Cypress 
Sharp, Ned, Simpson 
Fort, Roy, Simpson 
Willyard, Fred, Buncombe 
Corzine, William H., Cypress 
Simmons, Guy, Tunnel Hill 
Robinson, Adolphus, Simpson 
Rendleman, John, Goreville 
Chapman, J. C, Vienna 
Holloway, Ira Burgess, Grants- 
Cox, Ben Harrison, Tunnel Hill 
Beach, Ivy, Vienna 
Stout, Gail, Buncombe 
Mills, Logan W., Vienna 
Cole, Herman, Goreville 
Perry, Ira, Goreville 



Richerson, Curtis H., Simpson 
Harner, Chas. Elmer, Bloomfield 
Jones, Leo. Everett, Buncombe 
Thomas, Wm. Franklin, Bun- 
Kincanon, John Preston, 

Dively, James Blain, Tunnel Hill 
Harris, James Bradley, Vienna 
Mathis, Jesse Edward, Grants- 
Haden, Joseph Robert, Bloom- 
Walker, Oscar Lavango, Gore- 

Colbroth, Alvin, Tunnel Hill 
Lawrence, Samuel Ray, Ozark 
Taylor, Omer H., Bloomfield 
Hunter, Virgil, Vienna 

15th Contingent, July 30, 1918 
To Syracuse, N. Y. 
Shawmeker, Everett, Vienna 
Hunter, Doc A., Vienna 
Reeves, Geo. W., Reevesville 
Brancecum, Chas. A., Bloom- 
Graig, Wm., Goreville 

16th Contingent, Aug. 1, 1918 
To Camp Taylor, Ky. 

Phelps, Chas. Newton, Grants- 

Beach, Edwin O., Vienna 
Harris, Eugene B., Vienna 
Boner, Oscar, Tunnel Hill 
Harner, Frank Audie, Bloom- 
Blades, Chancy E., Simpson 
Fair, General, Cypress 
Kelly, Sandy H., Goreville 
Barnwell, Alvin, Ozark 

17th Contingent, Aug. 3, 1918 
Camp Dodge, Iowa 
Jackson, Curtis, Vienna 
Latham, Ed., Vienna 
Williams, Lige, Cypress 
Graves, Luther Milton, Cypress 

18th Contingent, Aug. 31, 1918 
Allen, Barney, Belknap 
Hogg, Ray, Vienna 
To Camp Grant, Limited Service 

19th Contingent, Sept. 3, 1918 

Chicago Tech. 

Thornton, Everett C, Goreville 
Royster, John J., Tunnel Hill 
Lentz, Ray E., Cypress 

Chicago Tech. 
20th Contingent, Sept. 6, 1918 
For Camp Custer, Mich. 
Smith, John W r m., Tunnel Hill 
Lawrence, Thomas, New Burn- 
Short, Harry O., Belknap 
Choate, Claude Harper, Tunnel 

Phelps, Roy Olive, Grantsburg 
Carter, Homer, Cypress 
Webb, Wm. Barton, Tunnel Hill 
Kennedy, Frank M., Simpson 
Colbroth, Walter Monroe, Tun- 
nel Hill 
Hester, Marion Tulles, Vienna 
Stout, Frank, Buncombe 
Sharp, Walter, Simpson 
Trigg, Spencer, Simpson 
Murrie, Walter W., Simpson 
Walker, Sam Ward, Goreville 
Pearce, Albert Jacob, Buncombe 
Cox, Harvey Louie, Goreville 
Edwards, Herman Elmer, Bel- 
Underwood, Guy Morris, New 

Thomason, J. F., New Burnside 



Howard, Stephen Allen, Gore- 

Rentfro, Chas. Wesley, Grants- 
Whiteside, Chas. Alonzo, Bloom- 
Brooks, Ivor, Tunnel Hill 
Corzine, Cletis, Belknap 
Martin, John Clinton, Cypress 
Trigg, Joseph, Simpson 
Gurley, Jesse, Buncombe 
Comer, Charles, Grantsburg 
Lowe, Auty, Belknap 

Grisham, Fred, Goreville 
Burnham, Paul A., Belknap 
Haneline, Norman Ivy, Vienna 
Blakely, Arthur Elmer, Bun- 

21st Contingent 
Six men Chicago U 
Mathis, Ward, Vienna 
Turley, Marion, Vienna 
Dunn, Herschel, Bloomfield 
Sanders, Raymond, Vienna 
Axley, Billie, Vienna 
Jones, Tanner, Hobart 


Abenathy, Maple, Belknap 
Albright, Uriel, Vienna 
Allen, Orville, Belknap 
Ausbrooks, Noel, Vienna 
Bean, Thomas, Belknap 
Benson, Eugene C, Vienna 
Benson, Daniel, Vienna 
Brown, Harry, Belknap 
Caldwell, Harry, New Burnside 
Carleton, Buel, Vienna 
Carter, W. N., Vienna 
Cochran, Harry, Vienna 
Coleman, Ray, Goreville 
Chapman, Joe L., Vienna 
Chapman, D. W., Vienna 
Chapman, Ralph, Vienne 
Chapman, Oliver, Vienna 
Chapman, P. T., Jr., Vienna 
Cunningham, Chas. E., Vienna 
Clymore, Maurice, Vienna 
Casey, Vernie, Tunnel Hill 
Davis, Raymond, Buncombe 
Davies, Lloyd, Vienna 
Daniels, Elijah, Vienna 
Elkins, I. N., Vienna 
Edmons, Paul, Vienna 

Estes, Oscar, Reevesville 
Evers, Louie, Belknap 
Ferrell, Edgar, Parker 
Fleming, Clyde, Vienna 
Francis, James I., Goreville 
Frizzell, Herman, Vienna 
Ford, Loyd, Vienna 
Gibson, Ray, Goreville 
Glassford, George, Vienna 
Gray, Loyd, Vienna 
Grissom, Curtis, Vienna 
Griffith, Simpson, Vienna 
Hard, Henry, Reevesville 
Hard, James, Reevesville 
Hurst, Basil P., Reevesville 
Hight, Frank P., Vienna 
Hammond, John, Belknap 
Hudgens, Claud, Goreville 
Howell, William, Vienna 
Hartline, Jesse, Cypress 
Harvick, Elvin, Vienna 
Hester, Fred, Vienna 
Hundley, Robert, Vienna 
Hudleson, Frank, Vienna 
Hobbs, Orville, Parker 
Hess, Urban, Vienna 



House, Earl C, Belknap 
Harris, Melvin, Vienna 
Hess, Samuel, Vienna 
Hilburn, Earl, Vienna 
Holt, Wiley, Cypress 
Hart, Morris, Vienna 
Hood, Ray C, Goreville 
Judson, C. O. Belknap 
Kerley, Olin, Simpson 
Marshall, William, Belknap 
Looney, Harold, Vienna 
Mahl, Chas. A., Vienna 
Mason, Leo., Belknap 
Maze, Herschel, Goreville 
Marberry, Dr. Jason, Reeves- 

Mount, Wayne, Cypress 
McCall, Dr. T. E., Vienna 
McCorcle, Don, Vienna 
Mulkey, Ernest, Cypress 
McCormack, Earl N., Goreville 
Morgan, Lester, Vienna 
Marberry, Ward, Reevesville 
Martin, Walter, Belknap 
Morford, David, Belknap 
Nobles, Harry, Buncombe 
Nobles, Orin, Buncombe 
Peterson, Thomas, Goreville 
Parks, Carl H., Vienna 
Parks, Herbert, Vienna 
Parker, Donald, Vienna 
Payne, William, Belknap 
Phillips, Auty, Goreville 
Phillips, Arthur, Vienna 
Plater, Wade, Vienna 
Rosenbarger, Hal, Vienna 
Rushing, Lantha, Ozark 
Ragsdale, Olif, Grantsburg 
Rhodes, Herbert, Vienna 
Richardson, Floyd, Belknap 
Roberts, Hollis, New Burnside 
Robertson, Dr. Wayne D., Bun 


Ridenhower, Aron, Buncombe 
Rose, Claud, Buncombe 
Rose, Waldo, New Burnside 
Shaffer, Artie, Belknap 
Simpson, Arthur, Tunnel Hill 
Smith, Henry, Vienna 
Smith, Homer, Vienna 
Smith, Benjamin, Vienna 
Spieldoch, Sidney, Vienna 
Stanley, Mark, Goreville 
Stanley, Elmer C, New Burn- 

Stites, Enoch, New Burnside 
Stewart, Otto, Buncombe 
Tate, Rodney, Belknap 
Thacker, Americus, Vienna 
Threet, Ivy C, Simpson 
Tapley, Rollo, Belknap 
Thompson, Dr. Wm, Belknap 
Thacker, Chas., Vienna 
Tritt, Herschel, Vienna 
Turley, Jacob, Vienna 
Underwood, H. H., Goreville 
Watson, Ray, Vienna 
Waters, Clarence L., Bloomfleld 
Whiteaker, Dr. Hall, Vienna 
Whiteside, J. G., Bloomfield 
Whittenberg, D. W., Vienna 
Whitehead, Frank A., Tunnel 

Webb, Clifford, Tunnel Hill 
Webb, Cecil, Tunnel Hill 
Wiggins, Rollo, Goreville 
Wise, Claud, New Burnside 

S. A. T. C. 

Mathis, Ernest 
Mathis, Frank 
Nally, Ernest 



The July court of 1827, laid off the county into what 
was called election districts. The boundaries were to be 
about the same as the militia company boundaries were at 
that time. The first district was the same as Captain An- 
drew Morton's Co. Captain Barnabus Smith's with a sec- 
tion of Morton's formed the second district. Captain Wm. 
Simpson's Company made the third district and the fourth 
was that part of Captain Harvick's Company, lying north 
of the ponds and including Vienna, and that part of his 
company lying south of said ponds formed the fifth district. 
In 1826, that part of the county lying between the ponds 
and the Ohio River had been made a separate precinct, 
known as Massac, and the election was ordered held at 
William Parker's for that year. At this time the section of 
Morton's Company lying west of Big Bay was added to 
Barnabus Smith's Company to form the second district. In 
1827 the place for the election for the fifth district was to 
be held at Moses Cochran's on the Ohio River. The other 
elections were held at the places appointed for the militia 


Sympathy in this county before the Civil War was 
very much in favor of the Southern cause. Most of the 
residents were Democrats, the others Whigs, as the Repub- 
lican Party had just been born. The following is an account 
of the first Republican Convention held in Johnson County : 


The proceedings of the first Republican Convention 
held in Johnson County was published first in the Johnson 
County Inquirer, April 6, 1860 and was republished in "The 
Johnson County Journal, 1883, as follows : The Republicans 
of Johnson County, assembled in convention March 31 
1860, at the court house in Vienna, for the purpose of ap- 
pointing delegates to the state convention, with a respect- 
able and enthusiastic attendance. The house being called 
to order, motion was made that T. D. Scott act as chairman, 
A. Mather as secretary. Motion was then made that the 
chairman appoint a committee to draft resolution express- 
ing the sense of the convention. Messrs H. M. Riden- 
hower, Sr., W. T. Whitemore and G. A. Stanton were ap- 


pointed said committee. Motion was then made that G. W. 
Terrell address the convention; which he did setting forth 
the principles of the party in their true light in an able and 
eloquent manner, occupying about one and one half hours. 
The resolutions were then brought in by the committee for 
adoption which were as follows : "the Republicans of John- 
son County, in convention assembled, who are opposed to 
the policy of the present administration, to the extention 
of slavery into territory now free, to the agitation of the 
slave question in favor of equal rights and of Union of these 
states and of restoring the Republic to the principles of 
Washington, Jefferson, Madison and Clay, do Resolve that 
we affirm our adherence to the Philadelphia platform as em- 
bodying the true principles of the Republican party. Re- 
solved that we have no sympathy whatever with Abolition- 
ists, that the Harper's Ferry raid was an exhibition of the 
most reckless madness; and that the prepetrators received 
their richly merited reward, and that the disunion senti- 
ment so frequently avowed of late in Congress is the basest 
of treason. Resolved, that believing with Jefferson that 
the negro and white races equally free cannot live in the 
same government, we cordially and heartily support all 
efforts at colonization of free negroes and that with a host 
of able Republicans, we hold it to be the duty of Congress to 
purchase new or contiguous territory and to remove all 
free blacks thereto : Resolved that we cordially indorse the 
course of the Hon. G. Grow and other eminent Republicans 
vigorously urging upon Congress the necessity of granting 
every actual settler 160 acres of the public domain : Re- 
solved, that the course of Lyman Trumbull, our senator 
meets our approval/' The aforesaid resolutions were 
adopted by the convention. Motion was then made to ap- 
point delegates to the state convention. H. M. Ridenhower, 
J. W. Terrel and A. W. McGee were appointed. J. W. Ter- 
rell made a motion that in case there was but one present 
at the State convention, that he be permitted to cast the 
vote for all, which was adopted. W. T. Whitemore moved 
a vote of thanks be tendered Mr. Terrell for entertaining 
the convention which motion was adopted : after which the 
motion was made to adjourn. A. A. Mather Secretary. " 

The following is an extract from an account given in 
the same paper and dated from "Hell's Neck," an appella- 
tion given a section of the county directly west of Vienna 


and supposed to be a rough neighborhood. The writer says, 
referring to the convention : "On last Saturday there was 
an immense gathering of the "wool' (Oh, dear, what a mis- 
take I have made) woolly heads is what I intended. Early 
in the morning the roads and streets leading to the court 
house were dotted with the numbers that wanted to say and 
hear said all things that pertain to the advancement of the 
niggers and the killing of S. A. Douglas. About one o'clock 
Mr. Kirkham was requested to inform the public that the 
convention was going to convene, which he did after this 
style ; Oh, yes, all you that want to hear a black Republican 
speech and a few lies told on the Democratic party, come 
up. After a little delay, until the wool settled, the meeting 
was called to order by Mr. Ridenhower of the woolly headed 
central committee. He then refers to the appointment of 
permanent officers and committees and discusses Terrell's 
speech as follows : "Mr. Terrell went on at some length to 
illuminate the house with one of his odiferous batches of 
black wool, which has been soaking in grease for about two 
years according to his admission. He told the good brethern 
that he had been insulted before his back and behind his 
face by being called a "damned" Black Republican and 
abolitionist," but that he was glad, yes exceedingly glad 
that the time had come that he was not ashamed nor 
afraid to tell to all the world and his nine black Republican 
brethern that he was down on Douglas like a darkey on a 
roasted possum. He went on to say that Washington, Jeff- 
erson and Monroe were all advocates of the same doctrine 
that the black Republicans are at the present day and that 
Douglas instead of being a friend to his country was only 
assisting with all his mind and power to dissolve the union 
or at least that was the substance of his remarks. After 
demolishing Douglas he gave us a touch of the "Homestead 
Bill' and wanted Congress to give all the black Republicans 
of the north a home in the west, forgetting the injustice 
that it would be doing the hardy pioneer who had subdued 
these wilds and paid his money for a homestead, but he 
wants Congress to send a lot of negro worshippers among 
them to contaminate their good morals with negro equality. 
Does not any man with half an eye see the drift of the 
Homestead Bill as gotten up by the northern negro wor- 
shippers?" The writer of the article then rails against the 
Homestead bill and goes on to say" Mr. Terrell charges all 


the blood shed in Kansas to Douglas and all the things that 
have happened in the last ten years to the Democrats and 
on whose head grows the longest wool. He then sat down 
amid shouts of applause that could be heard in the remotest 
corners of the court house. The committee then rose up 
from behind a bench and presented some kind of a "revela- 
tion" which was adopted. There was something in it about 
one living Bumble Bull or Tumble Bull, I don't know which, 
but they indorsed his course at Washington. They found 
no good in Abraham's bosom, so they let him slide. The 
convention then proceeded to select delegates to the great 
wool gathering at Decatur. He said that the ones selected 
had more wool on them than any of the nine brethern pres- 
ent, Signed D. S. N. 

From this article one would get the idea that there 
were but nine Republicans at this first convention. 

John C. Freemont was the first presidential candidate 
on the Republican platform of 1856, which was avowedly 
against the spreading of slavery. It is said there were 
only two men in Johnson County who voted for Freemont 
in 1856, Merida Spencer and H. M. Ridenhower, Sr. It 
was considered a dreadful disgrace in those days, almost 
a crime to be a Republican. They were called Black Aboli- 
tionists, Negro Lovers and other Names. A black sheep 
skin was nailed on the door of John Bain's Store after 
the election to show how his neighbors regarded a man that 
would in any way be against the extension of slavery and 
apparently for the black race. It was almost natural for 
the people of this county to favor slavery, and sympathize 
with the South. When one remembers most of the old 
settlers came from the Southern states and had been raised 
with slavery. By 1860, the lines began to be very taut. 
There were more Republicans by then and official returns 
of the presidential election given in the Chicago Tribune 
of November 14, 1860 show Johnson County, Illinois gave 
Abraham Lincoln forty votes, and Stephen A. Douglas one 
thousand five hundred and sixty-three. The following 
names have been given as the men who cast their vote for 
Lincoln : John Bain, Griffith Stanton, Charles Reed, Zack 
Calhoun, George Calhoun, Stith M. Warren, H. M. Riden- 
howe, Sr., William Wood, Randolph Casey, L. L. Madden, 
W. T. Whitemore, Sr., John Whitemore, William Whitemore, 
Jr., Mills, a son-in-law to Whitemore, H. B. Wiley, Thomas 


D. Scott, Rev. 0. H. Clark, A. A. Mather, Rev. Levi Walker, 
A. J. Henry, Henry Lawrence, a Mr. Hays, William Finley, 
Thornton Mozley, Ira N. Harrell, James Shelton, Walter 
Scott, John E. Smith, a Mr. Coleman, Judge Brills, Mark 
Bain, Robert and William Lewis, J. W. Terrell, A. W. Mc- 
Gee, Robert Lewis, Jr., Nelson Martin, H. G. Harpending, 
William Jones. 

Sparks in his Illinois historcial collections gives an ex- 
tract from the "Chicago Press and Tribune," September 17, 
1858, referring to the Lincoln and Doublas debate at Jones- 
boro, September, 1858, says "Until ten o'clock on Wednes- 
day the only evidence of the third great debate in old Jones- 
boro was a procession calling itself "The Johnson County 
Delegation," consisting of two yoke of steers and a banner 
inscribed Stephen A. Douglas, turned upside down." Sev- 
eral circumstances have been given by old people of tho 
county, which will show the trent of opinion of the people 
of that time. H. M. Ridenhower, Sr., and D. C. Chapman 
voted at the same place, Goreville. As Chapman was going 
to the polls he met Ridenhower coming from there, and ask 
him if he had voted. Ridenhower said no, "They would not 
let me." Chapman asked him if he wanted to vote and he 
said he did. Chapman told him to return and he would 
see that he was allowed to vote. He told the parties they 
did not dare to prohibit a man from voting on account of 
his political opinion. Ridenhower voted for Lincoln. This 
story was given by Captain Mark Whiteaker, now ninety- 
two years old. 

Another story told by Captain Gillespie was, that Rev. 
Levi Walker, who was the M. E. Minister in charge of the 
Vienna circuit at that time voted for Lincoln and his church 
members refused to pay him for that reason. He was 
obliged to do manual labor to support his family during the 
remainder of his pastorate. Mrs. Eliza Dwyer now in her 
ninety-fourth year in speaking of these days says that Grif- 
fith Stanton cast his vote for Lincoln in Vienna and the 
people ran him out of town. He went in such a hurry that 
he left his hat. 

Mrs. Jane Pearce, widow of Garner Pearce, who lived 
near Buncombe at the time of the Civil War, says that H. 
G. Harpending a neighbor of hers voted for Lincoln in 1860. 
She also says there were a great many men who were in 
sympathy with Lincoln and his platform, but did not have 


courage to vote their convictions, since the plan of voting in 
those days was quite different from the present. Each 
voter anounced to the judges of the election for whom he 
was voting, all bystanders" within hearing knew just how 
every man voted. She further relates, the following: 
"John N. Mozley who lived at old Elvira brought the news 
from Vienna to Mrs. Pearce's neighborhood, that Ft. Sump- 
ter had been fired upon. Mozley left Vienna early in the 
morning and reached their place about eleven o'clock. " 
These must have been strenuous times and this news must 
have fallen like a pall over this broad land of ours. How 
much more quickly the World War news was circulated and 
now 1924, it would be known as quickly as the sound could 
travel from Washington. The news of Ex-President Wil- 
son's death was known here about five minutes after his 
death occurred. 

The Knights of the Golden Circle were very plentiful 
in our county. They were a secret organization sympathiz- 
ing with the south and sometimes owing to the character of 
the men belonging, did shameful and in many cases crim- 
inal acts, to the families of the Union soldiers. Captain 
Whiteaker speaking of the Knights of the Golden Circle 
said there were only five men in his neighborhood in 1861 
and 1862 that did not belongs to this society. These were 
Oliver Newbold, John Slack, Anderson Howerton, Ira Wise. 
and himself. They threatened^ hang him, but went no 
further than to call at his house late at night asking for to- 
bacco and pretending to be hunting a calf. He finally told 
them to leave and if they ever came to his home again some 
of them would stay all night, interspersing his remarks 
with a good many unmentionable terms. Later he was 
raising a company for the Union Army and accidently ran 
into a meeting of the K. G. C, at the school house. He 
went in, took the floor, made a speech and secured several 
volunteers from the crowd. There was a secret organization 
in the county to offset K. G. Cs. known as the Union League. 
William Whitemore was the founder and leader in this 
county. He lived where Cypress is now located and meet- 
ings were held at his home. Captain Whiteaker was a 
member. It is said Governor Yates sent for Mr. White- 
more and asked him to organize lodges of the Union League 
in this and other states, which he did. 

W. C. Allen relates the following story of the origin of 


Lincoln Green Post Office in the West Eden neighborhood. 
C. N. Gray came to the West Eden neighborhood, from Ken- 
tucky. He had some wealth and owned a lumber mill be- 
tween what is now Belknap and Cypress. He kept the post 
office and it was called Gray's Mill. During the war, he 
showed such decided favor to the South and its cause, that 
he became unpopular. Now that so many had sons and 
neighbors in the Union Army, sentiment had radically 
changed. To show their contempt for Gray the citizens had 
the name of the post office changed to Lincoln Green and 
moved to the home of David Deans, Sr. 

Mrs. O. P. Martin of Belknap, remembers a story that 
was told of war days in that neighborhood of a Dr. Clark 
who had come to that community from the south with his 
southern sentiments. He was so bold as to paint a copper- 
head snake on his door or was so outspoken in his belief and 
loyalty to the South that some one else painted it. At any 
rate the picture did not long remain as the house was burn- 
ed within a few days by unknown parties. A person living 
in this section who sympathized with and aided the south 
ern cause was called a Copperhead. Most people know the 
nature of a copperhead snake and can easily discern the 
opinion of those applying the name. 

Aunt Eliza Dwyer also gave as well as she could re- 
member an incident at a meeting in Vienna about 1861. 
Hon. A. J. Kuykendall, who was serving in the state Senate 
from this district as a Democrat, saw whither our nation 
was drifting and wished to define his policies. He was to 
speak at this meeting; great crowds had gathered as these 
were exciting times. There was a large flag which had 
been made by the women of the town, Mrs. Moody, the 
editor's wife, Mrs. Dwyer and others. This flag was sus- 
pended from a rope which extended from Chapman's brick 
to the court house across the north side of the square. A 
man by the name of James Cooper ran his horse up the 
square and shot a hole in the flag. What would happen to a 
man that would do such a thing in Vienna at the present 
time. After Kuykendall had made his speech, Cooper was 
convinced of the right and was the first one to enlist in the 
Union army the following morning. But sentiment was 
still against Mr. Kuykendall in many sections and not all 
won over in his own town and county. There were no rail- 
roads here at that time and people had to drive to Dongola 


to get the Illinois Central. Mr. Kuykendall was to return 
to his duties at Springfield. The news was circulated that 
they were going to mob him on the road to Dongola; his 
wife hastily dressed and went with him, thinking there 
would be no violence in the presence of a woman. Captain 
J. B. Gillespie was a witness to the following incident. 
During the time Major Kuykendall was serving in the Sen- 
ate, on one of his trips home, he came down all ready to 
return to his work at Springfield. He was met at the corner 
of west main and fifth street by a crowd of the representa- 
tive citizens of the town. They asked him what he was 
going to do when he went back to Springfield he replied, "I 
am going to vote money and men to put down this damned 
rebellion." Mr. Gillespie said, "I turned away for I thought 
they were going to disembowel him and I did not want to 
see it. ,, 

The following incident was given by Mrs. Mary Snow, 
daughter of H. M. Ridenhower, Sr. In the fall of 1860, she 
said masked men came to her father's house, called him out 
and were going to hang him because he was outspoken for 
the Union cause, an abolitionist, a teetotler and had voted 
for Lincoln; (sufficient cause for hanging in those days.) 
Mrs. Snow was told when she was older the reason they did 
not hang her father was, that he was a Mason. 

In a speech before the Historical Society of Illinois in 
1911 Bluford Wilson said "There were 3,538 drafted men 
from Illinois in the Civil War, but not one from Southern 
Illinois, which means there were 1,426 volunteers from this 
county (this number was quoted from Lusk.) Many were 
anxious to get into the fray and went to other states and en- 
listed. In 1862 the soldiers who had enlisted in the 120th 
regiment were camped for some time in the old fair grounds 
awaiting orders. When the orders came and the day of 
leaving was fixed it was said to be a most pathetic scene. 
The people came from this and neighboring counties to say 
goodbye and see them leave. Many of the people seeing 
their husbands, sons and fathers for the last time. A lady, 
now seventy years old, says she remembers the day, how 
early the people came in and how depressing it was to her, 
then a child. 

After the surrender of Lee, the men who had left their 
homes from this country and gone out at their country's 


call, returned and took up the duties of life where they had 
laid them down. Of course, many of them were depleted 
in health which they never regained. Many young men who 
had entered the war at an early age had never been out of 
the county before, and while they had encountered hard- 
ships, they had been over a great deal of territory and had 
met and mingled with eastern and southern men and ideas. 
It stirred an ambition in them that they had not had before. 
One soldier who had enlisted at the age of fifteen had been 
offered the Corporalcy of his company. He said he did 
not have sufficient education to keep the records required. 
He resolved then if he ever reached home alive he would 
have an education. He made good his resolution and was 
a teacher of this county for several years and an editor 
many more. While soldier life was rough and men of every 
kind of character marched and bunked together, there is 
something that brings out the best in some, and, of course, 
the worst in others. But they form a friendship that lasts 
through life and an army comrade is always a comrade, 
whether good or bad. Many men suffer hardships in 
prison and services and incurred diseases they were years 
overcoming; some never entirely recovered. 

Many families had lost father, son, husband, brother 
or sweetheart, some had been killed, others suffered and 
died in rebel prisons, and the feeling was very bitter to- 
wards Secessionists or any one who sympathized with them. 
Most of the returned soldiers were Republicans regardless 
of what their party affiliations had been before, and while 
a democrat was not necessarily a rebel prejudice and bitter 
feeling ran high. A Copperhead was a Northern man who 
sympathized with and aided the south during the war, and 
this name was applied to many in this county, and it cannot 
be denied in some cases justly. 

Elections were places of contention, and sometimes 
almost miniature war occured at the polls espicially if there 
had been enough liquor distributed. 

Men were not willing to have a man of opposite politi- 
cal belief on a jury where they were interested in the case; 
some would not even trade in a store if kept by one belong- 
ing to the other party. During the war there had been 
many refugees who had come into this county and adjoining 
ones of this section of the state, who were really rebels. 


One old citizen said every available place in his part of 
the county was filled with Southerners, who had come here 
to escape service in the Southern Army or the ravages of 
war. Every available house was filled, and people lived 
in barns and rail pens. There were many loyal democrats 
in the county, many who served in the war, but for years it 
was difficult for some of the boys who wore the blue to 
distinguish between a loyal democrat and a man who had 
rebelled against his government, since they voted the same 
ticket. This condition prevaled for many years but time 
and education have finally eradicated this feeling in the 
North, and most of us are willing to admit that the war is 

The period of financial readjustment was much as it 
has been since the World War. Necessities were higher 
than now in many cases. This being a country district 
crime did not reach the height it did in some communities. 
The negro problem annoyed us very little, owing to our hav- 
ing very few negro citizens among us. Many soldiers were 
disabled from exposure and wounds and unable to accomp- 
lish much in a financial way after the war, but the govern- 
ment soon began to look after them and their families who 
had been left without support. Pensions were allowed them 
and increased from time to time until with economy a man 
and wife could live on his pension. In 1898 there were 
three Civil War veterans, William Coleman, Burnside ; Wm. 
Hitchcock, Vienna and Mr. McBride, Belknap, who drew 
$72.00 per month pension. This was considered a liberal 
amount at that time, but most every man who served in the 
Civil War, receives $72.00 per month now and the widow 
of a Civil War soldier receives thirty dollars per month 
pension from the government. 

A war fund was voted in this county for the relief of 
soldiers and sailors families, in 1862. The amount for each 
township, judging from the receipts given the sheriff, was 
$330.00. It was distributed during the years 1862-63-64. 
It was levied by the county court. 


The first territorial legislature was held in Kaskaskia 
at the home of Thomas Cox, 1809. Johnson, being a part 
of Randolph County had no local representative but after 


September 14th, 1812, when we had taken on the dignity 
of a name and an organization, we were allowed one repre- 
sentative, there being five counties in the Territory, at that 
time, St. Clair, Randolph, Madison, Gallatin, and Johnson. 
There were five senators, Thomas Furguson was elected 
to the senate, and John Grammer to the assembly from this 
county, on October 9th, 10th and 12th, 1812. The next 
Territorial Legislature met at Kaskaskia, November 25, 
1812. The representatives serving in the state Legislature 
from this county from this date are given in the following 
list: 2nd and 3rd Legislature 1814-1815 Thomas Ferguson, 
Senate, Owen Evans, House; 4th Legislature, 1816, John 
Grammer, Senate, Joseph Palmer, House; 5th Legislature, 
1817-18, John Grammer, Senate, Joseph Palmer, House; 
1st State Legislature, 1818-20 Thomas Roberts, Senate, 
Isaac D. Wilcox House; 2nd Legislature, 1820-22 Milton 
Ladd, Senate, William McFatridge, House; 3rd Legislature, 
1822-24, Milton Ladd, Senate, William McFatridge, House ; 
4th Legislature, 1824-26. John Ewing Senate, John Bridges, 
House ; 5th Legislature, 1826-28, Johnson, Union, Alexander 
Counties, John Ewing, Senate, from Johnson; 6th Legisla- 
ture, 1828-30 no representative from Johnson; 7th Legisla- 
ture, 1830-32 John Grammer Senate, Joseph L. Priestly, 
House ; 8th Legislature 1832-34, John Grammer, Senate, B. 
S. Enloe, House; 9th Legislature 1834-36 John Oliver 
House; 10th Legislature, 1836-38 B. S. Enloe, House; 11th 
Legislature, 1838-40 Dr. W. J. Gibbs, Senate, James Cope- 
land, House; 12th Legislature 1840-42 Senate Dr. W. J. 
Gibbs, John Oliver, House; 13th Legislature 1842-44 A. J. 
Kuykendall, House; 14th Legislature 1844-46, A. J. Kuy- 
kendall, House; 15th Legislature 1846-48 Enoch Enloe, 
House; 16th Legislature 1848-50 W. Y. Davis, Senate, D. Y. 
Bridges, Jr., House; 17th Legislature 1850-52 A. J. Kuy- 
kendall Senate; 18th Legislature 1852-54 A. J. Kuykendall, 
Senate, D. Y. Bridges, Jr. House, 19th Legislature 1854-56 
A. J. Kuykendall, Senate; 20th Legislature 1856-58 A. J. 
Kuykendall Senate, Thomas Jones, House; 21st Legislature 
1858-60 A. J. Kuykendall, Senate, J. D. Pulley, House; 22nd 
Legislature 1860-62 A. J. Kuykendall, Senate, J. D. Pulley, 
House; 23th Legislature 1862-64 no representative; 24th 
Legislature 1864-66 W. A. Looney, House; 25th Legislature 
1866-68 no representative; 26th Legislature, 1868-70 no 
representative; 27th Legislature 1870-72 J. B. Morray, 
House; 28th Legislature 1872-74 J. L. Wymore, F. M. Mc- 


Gee House; 29th Legislature, 1874-76 Samuel Glassford, 
Senate; 30th Legislature 1876-78 Samuel Glassford, Senate; 
31st Legislature 1878-80 J. A. Carter, House, A. J. Kuy- 
kendall, Senate; 32nd Legislature 1880-82 W. A. Spann, 
House, A. J. Kuykendall, Senate; 33rd Legislature, 1882-84 
no representative; 34th Legislature W. C. Allen, House; 
35th Legislature 1884-86 A. K. Vickers, House ; 36th Legis- 
lature 1886-88 I. A. J. Parker, House; 37th through 41st 
Legislatures, 1888-1900, no representative in the House and 
P. T. Chapman, Senate; 42nd Legislature 1900-02 L. H. 
Frizzell, House, P. T. Chapman, Senate; 43rd and 44th 
Legislatures 1902-06, no representatives; 45th Legislature 
1906-08 G. W. English, House; 46th Legislature 1908-10 
G. W. English, House; 47th Legislature 1910-12 G. W. Eng- 
lish, and John Mathis, House; 48th through 51st Legisla- 
tures 1912-20 no representatives; 52nd Legislature 1920-22 
John Mathis, House. 

In 1818 when the state was organized there were free 
white males of age, 118, other white inhabitants 538, free 
colored and slaves, 24, total 678. The superintendent of the 
census added 89 giving us a total population 768, which 
was rather a small population for a county of so large an 
area at that time. When the constitution was adopted John- 
son and Franklin made one Senatorial district and each 
was allowed a representative. In 1826 Johnson with Union 
and Alexander as a Sentorial district was represented by 
Dr. B. W. Brooks, who was a resident of Union and the 
following is an extract from a speech made by him Febru- 
ary, 17, 1827, giving an account of his stewardship as a 
representative, and this has reference to Johnson County. 
He says, "I have thought it my duty to use every exertion in 
my power to curtail the expense of the government; pro- 
tect the treasury from those speculations that hitherto de- 
voured it, and adopted a rigid system of economy." He 
then speaks of some reforms he had advocated which would 
save the state $2,700 a year, but his efforts failed and the 
assembly continued to vote appropriations for building 
bridges and making roads in certain sections of the state. 
He voted against all these measures as the state treasury 
was empty, "Finally thinking it unjust that our part of the 
state should be taxed to make improvements for the other 
parts, without any equivalent, I introduced a bill making 
an appropriation of $200 for opening a state road from 
Frankfort in Franklin County through Vienna, in Johnson, 


to Wilcox warehouse, on the Ohio River, and for building a 
permanent bridge across the pond (slough)" Dr. Brooks 
had also tried to get another representative for these coun- 
ties as the three only had one representative, but it was 
opposed on the grounds that it could not be done till the 
next apportionment which would be in 1830. 

The population of Johnson County in 1820, the first 
census taken after this became a state, was; whites 843, 
slaves 14; 1830 whites 1,585, slaves 11; 1840, 3,626; 1850, 
4,115; 1860, 9,324; 1870, 11,186; 1880, 13,079; 1890, 15,013 
1900, 15,667; 1910, 14,331; 1920, 12,000. Our population 
more than doubled between 1850 and 1860 and increased un- 
til 1900. It has been decreasing slightly in the last twenty 
years. In 1850 there were 718 families in the county, 301 
farms, 9,658 acres of improved land and 524 pupils in pub- 
lic schools. 

In 1838 Johnson and Pope formed a Senatorial District. 
In 1840 Johnson was joined to Pope and Hardin. In 1848 
under the new constitution Alexander, Union, Pulaski, John- 
son, Massac, Pope, Hardin and Gallatin formed the first 
Senatorial District. This apportionment was changed 
when Alexander in 1854, was admitted to the 25th Sena- 
toria District. In 1861 Pope, Hardin, Gallatin, Saline, 
Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, Union and Johnson formed a 
Senatorial District. In 1871 about the same combination 
formed the 51st Senatorial District. In 1893 Pulaski, 
Massac, Johnson, Pope and Saline made the 51st Senatorial 
District. In 1900 Hamilton, Saline, Pope, Johnson and 
Massac were made the 51st Senatorial District. 

Johnson County has had but two Congressmen in all 
her years of existence, A. J, Kuykendall, who was elected 
in 1864 and P. T. Chapman, elected 1904. There was only 
one Congressional District in Illinois for fourteen years 
after it was admitted into the Union. In 1831 the state 
was divided into three Congressional Districts and Johnson 
County with fifteen other counties formed the 1st Congres- 
sional District. In 1843 Johnson County was placed in 
second Congressional District with thirteen others. It was 
changed to the 9th Congressional District with eighteen 
other counties in 1852. In 1860 we were in the thirteenth 
congressional district with fifteen other counties, and 
changed to different districts from time to time until 1900, 
when Johnson with Clay, Wayne, Edwards, White, Hamil- 


ton, Saline, Gallatin, Hardin, Pope and Massac were formed 
into the twenty-fourth Congressional District, which is the 
present division. 


After looking over the many old papers such as estates, 
receipts and notes, thinking they would be of interest to 
their descendants we have decided to use the following ; the 
names will show who the first settlers were. This is done 
at the risk of being tedious, but they are so interesting one 
cannot forego the opportunity to reproduce some of them. 
The oldest paper found is a receipt among the papers of 
William Lawrence which follows: "March 12, 1800, settled 
all accounts with James Worthington up to this day, due to 
said Worthington by settlement, eight dollars three shillings 
and ten pence. As witness my hand — John Musbond." An- 
other article found among his papers that does not seem 
to be connected with his estate but evidently his property, 
was a small book made of writing paper, and inscribed on 
the first page, "William Lawrence, his hand and pen, March 
27, 1803. " On the outside pages were quotations of a hymn 
and one of the psalms. The first pages of the book were 
devoted to retail liquor accounts. Judging from this, license 
issued and tax receipts, William Lawrence, was a distiller 
of this county. Then followed this account of his family. 
"A true account of the age of my family, William Lawrence, 
Senior was born December 27, 1770, Esther Worthington 
was born November 19, 1772 and were married November 
12, 1793. Children: Elizabeth, born October 18, 1794; 
Phoebe, born October 19, 1796, Benjamin born September 
19, 1798, William, Jr., January 2, 1801, John born March 4, 
1803, Nancy born January 3, 1805, Calvin born May 9, 1807 
Lucindy born March 1, 1809, Matilda born June 14, 1811, 
Polly born July 9, 1813." William Lawrence, Sr. adminis- 
tered on the estate of Samuel Worthington, and it is more 
than probable his wife Ester was the daughter of Samuel. 

One of the largest and earliest estates recorded is that 
of Nathaniel Green. Green's old ferry located on the Miss- 
issippi River was the terminus of an old road that ran 
across the southern end of the state. It is very probable 
that this ferry was established by him or some of his family, 
which resided in the western part of Johnson County which 
is now Union. 


The executors of the estate of Nathaniel Green were 
Thomas and Parish, brothers of the deceased and appointed 
by him, as his will (recorded elsewhere) directs. The per- 
sonal property sale amounted to $1,573.95. Some articles 
offered for sale that are now out of the ordinary, were two 
piggins, 50c each, these were small wooden vessels made 
with staves and hoops, one stave was left longer than the 
other for a handle, and they were usually made of cedar of 
various sizes, used for the same purpose we use pans and 
crocks today; one flax wheel, which indicates that flax was 
raised in southern Illinois at that period, $2.30; one Bible 
bought $2.12 1 /2 ; one pot, lid and hooks, $3.75, pot hooks 
are not now in use, but in those days when people cooked 
on the open fire they were very essential. These hooks were 
long pieces of iron, joined together at one end so that they 
would work freely. They had hooks on the other ends to 
lift lids, ovens and pots with out bales and handles. This 
sale shows one negro man named Richard, one negro woman 
Anna and child named Reuben, sold to Thomas Cox, for 
$770.00; to John Earthman, one negro boy named Charlie, 
$220.00. The account of Robert Tweedy for the year 1812 
shows sixty pounds of beef for a dollar and a half; the 
account of John Earthman for the same year, 81 pounds of 
cotton $2.00. How wonderfully small these prices seem com- 
pared with those of 1917 : beef, 45c per pound and cotton, 
48c per pound; an item also in John Earthman's account 
was two ferryings of himself and horse (referring to Nath- 
anial Green) $1.25 each. Daniel T. Coleman made an affi- 
davit before Joseph Palmer, J. P., that Nathanial Green 
"did sign to school to Daniel T. Coleman, on an article of the 
same date to commence on the first Monday in January, 
1812, and assigned the 25th day of November, 1811. This 
was receipted by Daniel T. Coleman, 1814. The adminis- 
trators furnished six gallons of whiskey for the sale at 
$1.50 gallon. George, James and Robert Tweedy were the 
appraisers of this estate and the sale was held on March 6, 
1812. Thomas Abernathy and Benjamin N. Conner were 
the clerks. A later appraisment was made by Jacob Hun- 
saker, Robert Tweedy, and B. F. Conner. This property 
was all live stock which no doubt had been gathered later, 
as all stock ran at large and made their living on the range. 
The bond of Thomas and Parish Green was replaced at 
$2,000. John Bradshaw and Owen Evans were the bonds- 


The estate of Bazil Borin was administered on by 
Hoseah Borin. James Hogan and Thomas Mcintosh were 
his security for a $2,000 bond, delivered James Finney, 
June 7th, 1813. The appraisers were John Bradly, Abra- 
ham Price. Total appraisment was $1,101.19. A feather 
bed is listed at $30.00, one side of leather, $1.00, the im- 
provement, $40.00, Jerry, a negro boy at $300.00, Clarice, 
a girl, $200.00, Mariah a girl, $150.00, Fannie, a girl, $100. 
In the account rendered against the estate as administrator 
is the following: "For entering four young negroes as per 
receipt, $8.00, going to Tennessee to bring back three 
negroes belonging to the estate, $38.00, for a trip to Ten- 
nessee to examine witnesses agreeable to notice from John 
Bradshaw in the suit brought by me against him for Isabel 
a negro girl, $30.00." The amount of whiskey was only 
two dollars. Russel E. Heacock, was the attorney. 

William Dorris presents an account of $125.00 dated 
April 14, 1802, a note of a little earlier date was made to 
Nimrod McTosh for $7.50, dated March 1802, signed Bazil 
Borin, Test. H. Johnson. The Borin family lived in the 
southern part of the county, now Pulaski. The Prices are 
also of that locality and descendants of both families still 
reside in that section. 

The estate of Joseph Eubanks was adjusted in 1814, 
Sally Eubanks and William Styles administered and Isaac 
D. Wilcox and David Frame were their bondsmen. The 
articles offered at this sale were about the same as at other 
sales of that date. A receipt was signed by David Shearer, 
January 3, 1812. 

There is an acknowledgement which shows this busi- 
ness was done in Massac Township, now county, Illinois 
Territory, Johnson County, "I certify that James D. Wilcox 
and William Cherry, being chosen to examine the estate of 
Joseph Eubanks deceased, was duly sworn to settle the 
estate according to the best of their skill and judgment, 
given under my hand and seal, 27th day of May, 1814, John 
Prichard, J. P." The amount of Sally Eubanks taxes on 
two horses for the years 1813-14, was $1.00 the receipt was 
signed by G. Marshall, D. S. The same, no doubt who took 
the oath against dueling. Among other papers is the fol- 
lowing order, "Miss Eubanks, please to let Mr. Cochran 
have my bed and furniture, you will oblige, yours Irvin 
Morris, March 24, 1814." The following promissory note 


has no visible connection with Sally Eubanks' business but 
was found among her papers, "On or before the 20th day 
of October next I promise to pay Moses Oliver or order 
$17.08 for value received, Kaskaskia, 20th of August, 1805, 
William Wilson." A certificate of purchase, adds other 
evidence to the fact that this county bought and sold 
slaves. "I do certify that the negro girl named Anna was 
purchased by Isaac D. Wilcox at the sale of the property of 
Joseph Eubanks, deceased. She was bid off to him as 
highest bidder at $160.00, and said Wilcox has paid for her 
and is lawfully entitled to said negro and no other person. 
Given under my hand, one of the administrators, this 9th 
day of October, 1815, William Styles." 

William Lawrence settled the estate of Samuel Worth- 
ington, 1814. Joseph Palmer and Gilbert were his securi- 
ties. A letter in connection with this estate cites the method 
of business and the rate of interest of that time, and reads 
as follows, "To William Lawrence, Cache Settlement Illinois 
Territory, by Charles Bradly, Cape Girardeau, March 9, 
1815, not until a few days since had I learned of the death 
of Samuel Worthington, and I understand that you are the 
administrator of his estate. I have a judgment against his 
estate in favor of Robert Hall, surviving partner of Waters 
and Hall, for $53.86, with interest from 17th of August, 
1806 which is $27.47, Principal and interests makes $80.32. 
This amount I authorize Charles Bradly to receive from you 
as the administrator. I have also a judgment rendered 
against Samuel Worthington in the Mullenberg circuit court 
of Kentucky, for $50 with interest from the 24th of March, 
1807, which is $24.00, which makes $74.00. The cost of 
said judgment is $25.28. The amount of said judgment 1 
give you notice as administrator. Yours with respect, 
James Evans." Judging from the accounts of William Law- 
rence Sr., and Samuel Worthington they were formally 
residents of Kentucky. 

The settlement of the estate of William Morris was a 
year later, and was in charge of Jane Morris, no doubt his 
widow. Irving Morris and Isaac Worley were her bonds- 
men. Judging from the names the location of his estate 
must have been at or near Elvira, our first county capital. 
George Smiley was one of the appraisers and Marvin Fuller 
was the J. P. Nancy Worthen took charge of her husband's 
estate whose name was James, May 3, 1815. Josiah Davis 


and Nathaniel Arnett were her securities. The personal 
property amounted to $1,000. John Byers was the J. P. 
that took the oath of the appraisers. There were a number 
of promissory notes, the following are the names of the 
signers given in order to record some more of the early 
families: Thomas and Hugh Lewis, Jesse Basco, William 
Worthen, Thomas Robard, James Swafford, Hezekiah Davis 
William Langly, Abraham and Ebeneezer Piott, Samuel and 
Jasper Butcher, Remembrance Davis, John M. Campbell, 
John Deason, Evan Thompson, Issac and W. E. Glen, W. 
Doty, Able Lee, George Creath, Drury Harrington, Isaac 
Garrett, Adam Fiffer, and Joseph Taylor. These notes were 
given for purchases at the sale. The following notice had 
been cut from a newspaper and was filed with the estate 
papers, "I will attend the proper court on the third Monday 
in July next at Vienna, Johnson County, Illinois, for the 
purpose of settling the estate of James Worthen, deceased. 
All who have demands against said estate will then and 
there present them, legally authenticated, Brownsville, June 
7th, 1821, signed William Worthen, agent for Nancy 
Worthen Administratrix. 

William Powell's estate was settled by his wife, Obed- 
ience, and was begun July 18, 1815. George and William 
Brazil with James Hawkins were her bondsmen. There 
were a few articles offered at this sale not already men- 
tioned and which would be considered out of the ordinary 
at this time : one whiskey cock, to King Fisher at 30c ; also 
1 to Squire Choat, 37V2C One sley was sold for 50c, which 
would be very cheap for a sleigh, if there was a big snow, 
but this was not that kind of a sleigh, this belonged 
to a loom and was used in weaving cloth. One broad ax 
was sold for $4.00. This is another tool not now in use in 
this county, since the timber for making hewed log houses 
has been cut and sawed into lumber to make frame ones, 
barns and fences. 

The estate of Robert Smith belonged to Massac town- 
ship, as the papers designate. The sale was held September 
11, 1815. Thomas Larrison had the business in charge, and 
James N. Fox was his security. The same man, no doubt, 
whose militia company formed Massac township when this 
county was organized. Judging from the amount of whis- 
key furnished at this sale, it was not a very large one, only 
three and a half gallons were used. Dr. Holt was Robert 
Smith's physician and his bill was $6.92, which was pre- 


sented for settlement. The deceased's land and county tax 
for the year 1815 was $2.83. The tax rate was light com- 
pared to the present rate. Another account shows the re- 
demption of a town lot in the town of Smithland, Kentucky. 
One Loom, three reels and harness for the loom sold for 
$6.00, one stew pot, $2.50, one Dutch oven, $1.50, eight 
pewter plates, $3.00, one cotton gin, 75c, two pairs of cotton 
cards, $3.00, candle molds, 37%c, more evidence of "made 
at home" goods. Judging by the articles offered, these peo- 
ple must have been very comfortably situated for a frontier 

The papers filed in the case of Howell Harrington's 
estate, states that Esther Harrington, administered, T. 
Furguson and G. V. Lusk were the bondsmen, Robert Lacey 
and Wood Lampkin were the appraisers. There are Har- 
ringtons and descendants of the family living in Massac 
and this county at the present. Caleb Messer's estate was 
handled by his wife Delphia, Owen Evans and John Spann 
signed her bond, which was filed April 28, 1814. 

William Peterson's estate was another one that came 
up for settlement in 1816. He resided in the southwestern 
part of the county in the neighborhood of West Eden, John 
Elkins and George Brazel were the appraisers ; Jane Peter- 
son and Thomas Standard had charge of the estate. Thomas 
and John Peterson were the securities. This settlement 
was made in the courts held in Elvira and some other 
names connected with the business of this estate were, 
Hezekiah West, William Westbrooks, Isaac Beggs, Thomas 
Robertson, Rix Carter, and John Stokes. There are de- 
scendants of most all these men still living in this county. 
Two accounts in the adjustment of this estate are quite 
noticable, when compared with the H. C. L. of the present. 
One is "The estate of William Peterson debtor to John 
Deans, for schooling two children, three months, cash to 
Mclntire, $5.00; paid for board for the same time, $12.00: 
same estate debtor to John Dean for raising and clothing" 
two children, Joshua, four years old, at his fathers death, 
and Lydia, two years at the same time; Joshua six years till 
he was ten years old, $10.00 per year, $60.00; Lydia, eight 
years, until she was ten years old, at the same price, $80.00. 
No doubt, old gossips wagged their heads and said at the 
time, "John Dean is getting rich off of these orphan chil- 


An administrators bond is made out and marked "Law- 
rence administrator. The bond was dated June, 1816, but it 
was never signed or rilled out. There are some accounts and 
receipts that might be of interest. Received of John Lorenz 
(Lawrence) for Esther Lorenz, all dues and demands up to 
this date, Jonesboro, April 19, 1819. Jacob Hyberger." The 
next item of interest because it appears to refer to the Peter 
Prow, who was confined for debt in our county about that 
time and referred to elsewhere, "Madam, please pay to the 
bearer two dollars and twenty-five cents, and by so doing you 
will oblige yours and soforth, James Brown. It being the 
cost accrued on an execution levied by George Hunsaker on 
the goods of Peter Prow, and this shall be your receipt for 
the same, Esther Lawrence, Admr." Wm. Lawrence debtor 
to Priest & Menfee, $50 for medicine and attendance, April 
27, 1816. An account of John Kirk for labor against the 
estate of William Lawrence, was sworn to before J. Echols, 
J. P. May, 1816. Another dated almost nine years earlier. 
August 7, 1807, to three picks and boring tools, $4.00 
(could not decipher the name.) "January 20, 1806, Sir: 
Please pay unto William Lawrence, two dollars, and this 
my order shall be your receipt for the same, James Worth- 
ington, witness, John Shaver." "February 7, 1806, re- 
ceived of Samuel Worthington, two pounds, 19 shillings and 
6 pence, debt and cost in full. The sale note of James Weir, 
by me Jesse Hurley, Constable for said county." Received 
of Samuel Worthington, 511 pounds of pork by Thomas 
Craig, for J. Weir, February 11, 1805. "Henderson, June 
1, 1808, Received of William Lawrence, seven and six pence 
which is to stand against his account at Mullenberg for 
Will and Jay Bradford, John Russell." These towns were 
in Kentucky. 

William McGowan died in 1816. Thomas Green was 
the administrator Silas Risley and Owen Evans were the 
bondsmen, a few articles out of the ordinary disposed of at 
the sale were, 1 bay mare and bell, $25.00; 4 patterns lea- 
ther shoe uppers, $1.50; 1 curry comb, 25c; 1 pair leather 
breeches, 50c; 2 coats, 50c each; to B. Revell. pack saddle, 
62i/>c; 1 pair specks, $1.62; pair saddle bags $2.78% ; 1 set 
of razors, 87c. A statement sworn to before John Weldon, 
a justice for Johnson County and witnessed by Hugh Erwin 
April 12, 1816 states that, "William McGown boarded with 
Mikel Revell from May 1, 1815, to November 7, at the rate 


of three dollars per month; for attending McGowan from 
November 7 till December 18th at which time he died, 
coffin and winding sheet, $15.00, total $30.75." 

This is given that one may see the difference in the 
price of living and dying during the above time and at the 
present day. This paper was marked I in the files of J. 
Finney, who was county clerk at the time this estate, was 

A paper executed in 1810. An account of Charles 
Murphy was presented against the estate of Phillip Shaver, 
the amount being $4.50, the following is attached to the 
account, "This day appeared Charles Murphy before me, 
John Bradshaw, one of the acting justices for said county 
and first be it solemly sworn upon the Holy Evangelist, de- 
porteh and sayeth that the above account is just and true 
as it stands, stated to the best of his knowledge and belief, 
Charles M. (X) Murphy (His mark.) Sworn and subscribed 
before me the 17th day of April, 1810, John Bradshaw, J. 
P. A bill was allowed to Esther Lawrence, widow of 
William Lawrence for board, from 1814 to 1816, showing 
Phillip Shaver's death to have been in 1816. A bill paid to 
J. B. Murry for crying the sale of Shaver, names William 
Lawrence as administrator. Among these papers is what 
appears to be a blacksmith's account. It is made out in 
English money but the writing looks very much like a per- 
son's who had learned to write German script before he 
learned to write English, and is as follows: "Wilber Law- 
rence to bells, 19 shillings, Moses Cabitt, the same 23 shill- 
ings. George Lawrence to mending and sharpening shears, 
2 shillings and 3 pence; Samuel to shoeing two horses 
round, 18 shillings. Thomas Giles to shoeing a mare around 
12 shillings, Philander Kuykendall to shoeing horse, .six 
shillings, Henry Hatten to making a set of wheel irons, 3 
shillings." There is no date on this paper but being among 
Shaver's papers and from the following extract of the 
court record, would lead one to believe that Shaver was 
German, which his name indicates. In 1819 Michael ,Shav- 
endicker of New York at September court of Johnson 
County presented a petition to said court and said, he was 
the brother of Phillip Shaver, lately of this county, whose 
estate had been administered on by William Lawrence, Sr., 
and after his death, Esther (his wife) and John Sanders, 
praying that their administration be set aside and himself 


as the legal heir be appointed. The petition was granted, 
and Richard M. Young, was the attorney. 

"At a probate court holden for the County of Johnson 
on the third Monday in the month of June, 1822, before 
James Finney, Judge of said court, John Copeland, admin- 
istrator of the estate of William Copeland deceased came 
into court and presented his accounts with said estate and 
the following sums were allowed against the said estate; 
to-wit: for money paid judge of probate for letters of ad- 
ministration and settling said estate, $7.50, to money to 
Calib. E. Isum for a coffin, $6, for crying sale, $5.50, money 
paid James Lizenby, 50c, money paid Irving Morris, sheriff, 
60c, money expended to go to Tennessee twice on business 
for estate, $34.58, for administrators percentage for col- 
lecting $19.24, Thomas Douglas' account $3.63V 2 , whole 
amount of the estate $192.54%, credits $74.54%, and 
$18.8914. It appeared to the court that there remained in 
the hands of the said John Copeland, administrator as 
aforesaid, a sum of $118.59 of said estate which he is order- 
ed to pay over to the heirs of the said William Copeland, 
deceased, in equal ratio. It appearing that there were six 
in number; to-wit; Betsy Dial, John Copeland, Martha Dial, 
Samuel Copeland, Sally Little, and Jane Hobbs to each of 
the above named legatee, the amount being $19.81 i/2- 

Richard McGinnis sale occured in 1823 and the list 
shows the high price of househould articles existing, 1 large 
kettle, $7.00, 1 small pot $2.50, 1 broken skillet $1.00, 1 
large oven, lids and hooks $3.00, pot hangers $3.00. Mrs. 
McGinnis evidently did not have a cook stove. A rifle gun 
sold for $10.00. William Barton, Jacob Willis, Lucas S. 
Gibbs and Polly Bane are among the names as purchaser. 
There is a note given to the president and directors of the 
state bank and negotiable at their branch bank at Browns- 
ville. This is some of the famous state bank paper issued 
at that time. 

The settlement of the estate of Richard Cox was begun 
November, 1824. William Cox and the widow Mary Cox 
were the executors. There are a few articles in this sale 
a little different from others mentioned in this period. One 
steel trap brought $3.05, ink stand and snuffers, 25c, lantern 
I2V2C, hackle 30c. Some names connected with the notes 
and receipts of this sale are as follows; Lancaster Cox, 
Israel Bozarith, Franklin Perry, William Fellows, Jesse 


Miles, James Harman, Richard McKenny, William Corbitt, 
James Haley, Robert Griffith, Joseph Montgomery. Henry 
Eddy was an attorney interested in the settlement of this 
estate. Willis Hancock, William McFatridge, Champion 
Anderson and William Thornton were the J. P.s in most 
cases where the oath was taken. Joseph Kuykendall, J. P. 
also took some of the acknowledgements. There is a re- 
ceipted account of Dr. Sim, presumably of Golconda, also 
a medical bill of B. W. Brooks, and William Slack. Richard 
Cox must have emigrated from North Carolina, since 
there is a note payable in North Carolina paper, also some 
notes collected by the administrator from parties living in 
that state. Another bill allowed by the court was to Mary 
and Martin Howell for*the supporting and instructing of 
six children of Richard Cox deceased, for the term of one 
year and eight months, the amount was $120.00, dated July 
21, 1826. This would give rise to the opinion that the 
widow Mary Cox, had married Martin Howell. The follow- 
ing is a letter which explains itself and is used for its 
quaintness, "Illinois Union County, August 10, 1827, Re- 
spected friend, James Finney, Esq., After my best respects 
to thee I -write these few lines to let thee know it is not con- 
venient for me to attend court according to adjournment, 
which is on the 11th instant, but that need not make any 
difference. Thee can proceed to make the settlement. I 
have nothing more to inform thee concerning the estate 
more than I wish thee to be as saving to the estate as pos- 
sible, in regard to allowing charges for raising the heirs. 
About twelve months ago I could have had them raised and 
kept on twelve months for fifty dollars and on August 21st 
I informed Martin Howell, that I could have the heirs sup- 
ported for fifty dollars and he continued to keep them. I 
merely write this for information to thee, if Martin Howell 
should put in a bill for a large charge or petition for much. 
It is not convenient for me to come for my family is not in 
a situation for me leave them. Thee can make out a bill for 
thy charges and leave with I. Morris, Esq. or receipt to 
him on it and send it to me by Thomas Musgrave, the 
bearer, and I will credit thy note with the amount after 
settling thy small account of sale, which is $139.50, if 
correct. Concerning my charge, thee may see on the small 
scrap of paper folded in this letter a memorandum of time 
spent besides collecting in and paying out. If thee wish to 
send any news back tell Thomas Musgrave to wait until 


thee can write. I wish thee to push on the collection of the 
Hancock debt as fast as possible. If it would be necessary 
for me to be at the settlement of the estate put off the 
settlement a few weeks and give me notice and I will at- 
tend. No more, only thy friend and well wisher. — William 
Cox." One paper records Mary Howell, formerly Mary Cox. 

J. H. G. Wilcox took charge of the estate of Calvin 
Austin in 1827. There is a bill to J. D. Martin as Physician. 
An advertisement printed in a Cincinnati paper as follows : 
''If any of the relatives or friends of Calvin Austin, who 
lately died at the residence of J. D. Wilcox, near Ft. Massac 
Illinois, will direct a letter to J. D. Wilcox, or leave informa- 
tion at the General Intellegence Office, Cincinnati, they can 
be made acquainted with the circumstances of his decease, 
and of some of the property and papers now in my pos- 
session. — J. D. Wilcox, near Ft. Massac." 

The sale list of this estate indicates goods belonging 
in a general store, 1 Yawl at $45.00, 2 tomahawks, 75c, 
several articles were purchased by Anderson Douglas. One 
can't help but surmise about these names, and this would 
indicate that Anderson was the husband of Elizabeth, 
Douglas whose estate comes later. The sale of tomahawks 
would show that they had Indian patrons. Many of the 
names connected with this sale are the same as those of 
many of the residents of Massac County at the present time, 
some of which are, James Herren, Cornelius Shord, Jonah 
Teague, James Lard, Amos Hale, Hartwell Hart, W. C. 
Sisk, Elisha Ellis, Carter Lathem, John A. Evers, Jacob 
Childress, John L. Henderson, Hardy Robinson, Edward 
Allen, Elija Henly, Nathan Gillespie, William White, John 
C. Johnson, Isom Clay and Thomas Roy. 

The settlement of the estate of Elizabeth Douglas oc- 
cured in 1833 and was settled through a will (see wills). 
James Copeland was the executor and Samuel Copeland 
was his bondsman. From the names one would judge that 
the said Elizabeth Douglas lived near the Ohio River, about 
the present site of Hillerman. Walter Astin, William 
Parker, whose home was appointed a voting place for 
Massac precinct a few years before) Adam Cochran 
George Brazel and Eliakin Russell were the appraisers. M. 
and Cal. Hitchcock, James and Jesse Jones, Joel Hobbs, 
Thomas Pitt, W. S. Gorden, A. D. Whitten, Thomas Har- 


rington. Some articles of sale and prices, 1 tin trumpet, 
I2V2C, 1 trivet, Sl%c f a trivet is a small iron frame with 
three legs to set near the open fire, so that hot coals could 
be put under it to boil things slowly or keep them warm, 
at present they are made of silver to put under hot dishes, 
1 meal bag and bed cord, 12V&C, a bed cord was used on 
old fashioned bed steads in lieu of slats or springs, being 
laced across the stead to support the bedding, 1 bed quilc, 
$2.50, 1 plain cherry chest, $1.00, 1 demijohn, $1.00, 1 small 
oven and lid, 75c, 1 barrel of Irish potatoes, 75c. A bill 
allowed against this estate, 'The estate of Elizabeth Doug- 
las, deceased to Mary Cochran, Dr. 1832 to a balance due 
on a cow, $5.50, to eight pounds of butter $1.00, to finding 
leather and making a pair of shoes 62 1 / / 2C State of Illinois, 
Johnson County, this day came Jesse Cochran before me 
and upon his oath says as follows, I do swear that the above 
accounts against Elizabeth Douglas are just and correct to 
the best of my knowledge and belief, given under my hand, 
Jesse Cochan, sworn to and subscribed before me this 22 
day of October, 1834, J. Copeland. J. P." Some accounts 
due the estate, Elizabeth Hitchcock, $42.06*4, Burrell An- 
derson $2,621/2, John L. Cooper $25.25, W. B. Donaghy, 

The estate of James Robertson was settled at the hands 
of Nathaniel Richardson. William Hayle, and Jesse Rich- 
ardson were the bondsmen and J. Copeland, S. G. Allen and 
James Hitchcock were the appraisers. The live stock sold 
at this sale a little higher than twenty years before. One 
lot of cord wood, supposed to be eighty-seven cords sold for 
$108.75 about a $1.25 a cord. 

The estate of William Duncan was settled in 1840. 
James P. Duncan was the administrator, William McMahan 
and Hiram Kelly the security on his bond, Hames Hayes, 
the crier at this sale, Henry Thomas and William Richy the 
clerks. Wheat sold at $1.00 per bushel, fodder, 100 bundles 
$1.00, bacon 10c per pound, 1 mattock 50c, 1 lot of flax 50c, 
1 yoke of steers $20.00, 1 gun and pouch $5.31 V2, 4 bushel 
of meal and grinding $1.00. Newcomers to the county 
whose names are connected with this estate were, William 
Duncan in account with John Bain, December 25, 1840, to 
two spelling books 37V^c, William Mounts, James Lasley, 
James Thornton, John W. Jones, William Harper, Wesley 
Branscomb, Samuel Roper, G. W. Chapman. A. Colter pub- 


lished the administrators notice in the "Illinois Republican" 
a paper published in Shawneetown. The receipt shows 
July, 1841. The following letters are with the papers of 
this estate written in a good hand writing and plain as 
though written yesterday, July 8, 1841. "Dear Sir :- Yours 
of the 5th has just come to hand and is all correct. I en- 
close you a certificate and receipt. Can you get us some 
good subscribers down there? Yours obediently, A. Coul- 
ter." The price of whiskey was 25c per half pint in 1840, 
interest rates were 12%. In 1841 Polly Carmicheal gave 
bond to administer on the estate of John Carmicheal. J. T. 
Collier, G. W. Pagget, and Samuel Limberlake were her 

Hannah Wise administered on the estate of William 
Wise in 1842. Jesse Fain, Wiley Wise and Charles Reid 
were the appraisers. 

The estate of John Finney was settled in 1843, through 
a will which is found under Wills, by William Slack, in 
1844, Judith L. Ireland administered on the estate of Alex- 
ander Ireland. Joseph Street and James M. Davidge were 
her securities. The bond was filed July 18. 1844. The ap- 
praisers were W. B. and B. S. Smith and Henry Jones. 
The following names of the signers of notes and receipts 
will give some of the citizens residing here at that time, S. 
J. Chapman, C. J. Ladd, B. F. Furlong, Joah and James Mc- 
Coy, W. J. Gibbs, W. B. Donaghy, J. S. Mabry, Reid Smoot, 
S. Short, Jr., B. S. Gray, G. Young, Thos. Gore, John Simp- 
son, N. B. Jennett, T. J. Church & Co, R. Elkins, Carter 
Lathem, Joshua Elkins and Nimrod Hazelwood. The rate 
of interest on the notes of this estate was 12%. Some 
articles in the accounts, 551 pounds of flour sold at 2c per 
pound, 120 bushels coal at 8c a bushel, 1 days gathering 
corn 50c, 1 spool thread 12%c. 

The estate of Nicholas Choat was settled 1845, with 
Benjamin Choat as administrator and Absolam Choat as 
security. The appraisers were G. W. Oglesby, Philander 
Yandell and Nathaniel Rushing. A new name or two 
occurs in this connection Milton Lucas, A. Vickers, James 
O'Neal. James Gibbs was the crier. There are a few 
articles sold not given in other sales, millstones $6.25, 1 
still $1.25, 1 improvement $27.00. This still would certainly 
bring more than a dollar and a quarter at this time, 1924. 

Items from the sale of the estate of John Shearer, 1848 


1 gray horse $20.00, 3 dry cows $18.00, 1 white sow and 
thirteen pigs $/.00, 1 shovel plow and coulter, $2.00, 1 
stump mill $1^.00, Corn 20c per busnel oats and rodder. 
100 bundles, $1.00. 

The estate of Alfred Bridges, 1852, was settled almost 
three quarters of a century ago. The appraiseis were B. 
S. Smith, D. S. Kincy and lsum Dunn. The descendants of 
these men are familiar to all at the present time. John ti. 
Bridges was the administrator. Among the papeis was a 
bond given Alfred Bridges by George Carter ana James 
Burton, signed the 8th day of November, 1839 for live 
stock. There were several receipts which date back to the 
thirties, one from Filed & Dunn dated December 1, 1834, 
one dated December, 1830, signed by Williard & Co. Ihis 
was an account collected for them from Mary McGinnis. 
Another of the same kind with the names of David Woreii 
and Reuben Stone. Some of this money was paid in United 
Sates paper number 2617. The following is 1845 paper 
signed by Frederick Turner, Millington Smith, Frederick 
and George, some 1836 paper signed by Richard Eikins, 
Elias Harell. Alfred Bridges served as a constable and 
there are some suits named with no date, Thomas Phillips 
vs. J. W. Laurens, Anson Gurley, Sr. and Jr., P. Horner, 
Wiley Mathis, Jackson Murrie, Jones and Reynolds vs. Wm. 
Bowman and Cameron. There is a certificate of election 
of Alfred Bridges to the office of constable for Vienna 
precint on the 17th day of June, 1848, D. Y. Bridges clerk. 
One other paper of honor states that "This is to certify that 
Alfred Bridges, a private in Captain Taply B. Andrew's 
Co., R. T. V. M. G. M. has served a term of five months as 
a volunteer on an expedition against the Seminole Indians. 
He carries with him the thanks and gratitude of his com- 
manding officer and merits the applause of his countrymen, 
and is hereby honorably discharged. Columbia, June 30, 
1818, signed Thomas Williamson, Col. 2nd R. T. V. M. 

The estate of Peter H. Cummins was before the court 
in 1853 and the administrator was Daniel T. Cummins. His 
widow was named Harriet. The appraisers were J. P. 
Shelton, William M. Jackson and N. Comer. Some of the 
names connected with the estate were Richard and Ben- 
jamin Thompson, George Cummins, John Harris, S. Rain- 
water, H. H. Emerson, William Williams and Thomas Rice. 
The rate of interest on notes at this date was 10 r r . 


At the sale of John C. Harrell, March 10, 1852, 1 loom 
and appendages, sold for $1.00; 1 spinning wheel sold for 
50c, 1 pair of cards, 30c, showing that the home manufac- 
ture of cloth was becoming less universal ; 1 stone hammer, 
20c; I grind stone, 20c; 1 "chist" $1.40. 

At W. H. Price's sale 1854, five hundred feet of lumber 
sold to William Perkins at 84c; 460 feet of walnut lumber 
to D. H. Bruck at $1.50 per hundred; 1 log chain and 1 ox 
yoke, $2.10, 1 carriage to Josiah Throngton $125. Some 
items from the sale of Francis M. Weaver, which occured in 
1855, 8,000 shigles at $2.30, 1 silver watch $6.55, 1 history 
of North America, $1.59. At Louis Wise's sale, 1863, 1 ox 
wagon sold for $10.00, 2 yoke of oxen sold to Samuel Glass- 
ford for $72.00, 1 barrel whiskey, a quantity of candy and 
tobacco, only brought $28.00, 1 keg of wine $5.50, 1 barrel 
of raw whiskey $15.00. 

In 1860, Dr. George Bratton received for the care of 
W. L. Gillespie $25.25. This same estate was debtor to 
John Gillespie, for board, washing, and attention through 
sickness, $20.00 per month. A promissory note found in the 
papers of Nathan Allen, a free Negro living in the western 
part of the county where some of his descendants still re- 
side, "On or before the first day of December next I promise 
to pay Nathan Allen, the sum of twelve dollars and fifty 
cents, which may be discharged in corn at the county sell- 
ing price for value received of him : Wit. my hand and seal, 
this the 19th day of August, 1846— Thomas Stokes." This 
shows corn to be a legal tender at that time, in the county. 

Some items of the sale of Henry Brinkley, 1873, 1 cook 
stove and vessel, $19.00, 30 bushel wheat at 30c per bushel, 
300 bushel corn at 40c per bushel, 2,500 pounds of salt 
pork, $125.00. During the winter of 1868, James Miller 
received ten dollars for feeding and caring for the stock 
for one month from Nancy Swales. This estate was also 
indebted to J. A. Culver, $6.00 for a coffin. 

Matthew Mathis' estate was settled in 1838, Rebecca 
and Henry Y. Mathis were the administrators. The amount 
of their bond was $3,050.00. Wilson Mathis was a signa- 
ture on a note. 

Bennett Jones' estate was settled 1841 and William B. 
Donaghy was one of the appraisers. 


Green P. Finney died in 1863, his estate was administ- 
ered on by John Slack. Rachael was his wife, children, 
William N. John M. and Gilbert. 

Susanna Borin, wife of Bazel Borin. Hoseah Borin 
was administrator of Bazel Borin's estate 1813. Children 
of Susanna were Mourning and Coleman. 

Recommendations given to these men on leaving 
their former homes, which seems to have been a custom in 
early times. State of North Carolina, Moore County: 
Where as the bearer, Jacob Harvick, has signified to us his 
intention of removing himself arid family to the frontier of 
Georgia, be it therefore known to whom it may concern, 
that the said Harvick has been a resident of the county for 
upwards of eight (indistinct). Citizen supported an irre- 
proachable character, maintained his family in honesty 
and credit, worthy to be received as a neighbor or admitted 
as a worthy character into any Christain society; he being 
a peaceable, sober and well disposed man. Given under our 
hands, this 3rd day of October, 1795." (Signatures were 
indistinct since the writing was in ink.) 

State of North Carolina, Wayne County. This is to 
certify unto all persons whom it may concern that Joel 
Harrell hath signified unto us, that he has in mind to travel 
to the westward, and we, the undersigned being well ac- 
quainted with him from his youth, do recommend him as 
a good honest citizen and hope that he may be received and 
pass as such. Given under our hand this 20th day of Au- 
gust, 1819, S. Sassee, J. P. Edward Sassee, J. P. Joshua 
Hasting, J. P. and P. J. Mustgraves, J. P. 


The first will of record in the county "In the name of 
God, Amen : I William Peterson, of Johnson County, Illinois 
Territory, being weak in body but blessed be God of sound 
mind and memory and seeing my dissolution drawing near 
do make this my last will and testament, thereby revoking 
all former wills or disposition of my earthly goods hereto- 
fore made. First I direct my body to be buried in a Chris- 
tian and decent manner and my soul I commend to God 
who gave it, in joyful hope blessed be God of a happy im- 
mortality in heaven. As to my earthy goods, God has given 
me I dispose and devise them in the following manner:- i 


direct that all my property of any kind, real or personal, be 
held and kept in the hands of and in the possession of my 
beloved wife, Mary Peterson, for her use and the support 
and education of my infant children, all except a bay filly 
with a blaze face, which I direct the trustees, I shall here- 
after mention, to give to my son Joshua, when he arrives 
at an age sufficient to manage for himself. I do hereby 
appoint my brother-in-law Hezekiah West, William Peter- 
son and Thomas Peterson trustees to take care and see that 
this my last will and testament, be carried into effect, and 
also I wish and hereby appoint them guardians to and for 
my infant children, namely Elizabeth, Joshua, and Sally, 
hereby authorizing and requiring the above mentioned trus- 
tees to attend to the requisition to this my last will and 
testament, which I do hereby sign and acknowledge before 
the trustees after the same has been read in my hearing. 
Wit:- my hand and seal, this the 22 day of February, 1815. 
William Peterson, Sr. witnesses present John C. Herbison, 
Fannie X Osborn and Nancy West. 

From some records of the court it appears this will 
was not executed as directed. In 1816 Thomas Peterson 
brought suit against Bennet Hancock and wife to be ap- 
pointed guardian for Joshua Peterson, minor or William 
Peterson, Sr. This was annulled by agrement. A summons 
for William Russell and Mary McGowan to appear as wit- 
nesses for Bennet Hancock against the heirs of William 
Peterson in 1822. An account of Bennet Hancock presented 
August 1821, shows himself as guardian, and an account 
against the estate for clothing and keeping the three chil- 
dren, Joshua, Elizabeth and Sally, three years and eight 
month at $25.00 a year $275. An order of the court shows 
John Peterson appointed guardian for Josuha, September 
term, 1820. John Peterson was appointed guardian for 
Sarah Peterson, 1819. Another instrument shows Alex- 
ander McGowan as guardian for Elizabeth, a minor of 
William Peterson, dated 1821. Bennet Hancock was ap- 
pointed guardian of Joshua Peterson 1819." 

A true copy from the original, Attorney J. Finney, 
clerk of Johnson County, "To all people to whom these 
presents shall come, I, Benjamin Mcintosh do send greet- 
ings: Know ye that, I, Benjamin Mcintosh of the county 
of Johnson and Territory of Ilinois, for and in consideration 
of the good will and affection, which I have and do bear 


toward my children:- I give to my daughter, Betsy, $5.00 
in property, I give to Unity one half dollars worth of prop- 
erty, 1 give to Ceny $2.00 worth in property, I give to Stacy 
$2.00, 1 give my son, Benjamin $2.00 worth of property, all 
to be discharged in cattle at their value. I give my beloved 
wife Frances my gray mare, saddle and briddle, and the 
improvement and my household furniture, eleven head of 
cattle and my hogs, and at my wife Frances decease the 
cattle to be given to Joshua, cattle and all other property. 
To my son Charles I give my gray horse, and all my work 
ing tools, I give John Burchfield, my sorrel mare, and I 
give William Smith one cow and one fifty dollar note on 
John Lathan and by these presents do freely give and grant 
unto those children articles mentioned. Before the signers 
of these presents, do deliver those things signed with my 
own hand forever, absolutely, without any manner of con- 
dition, in witness hereunto I have set my hand and seal, 
this the 17th day of November, A. D. 1815, signed Benjamin 
Mcintosh, signed, sealed and delivered in the presence of 
James Hamilton, Charles Claxton and William Hamilton."' 
"In the name of God Amen: I Nathanial Green, of 
Illinois Territory, Johnson County, being very sick and 
weak in body, but of perfect mind and memory, thanks be 
given unto God, calling unto mind the mortality of my body, 
and knowing that it is appointed for all men to die, do make 
and ordain this my last will and testament, that is to say 
say principally and first of all, I give and recommend my 
soul into the hand of Almighty God, that gave it, my body, 
I recommend to the earth to be buried in decent, Christian 
burial, at the discretion of my executors, nothing doubting 
but at the general resurrection, I shall receive the same 
again, by the mighty power of God, and as touching such 
earthly estate where with it has pleased God to bless me in 
this life, I give demise and dispose of the same in manner 
and form, first I give and bequeath to Mary, my dearly be- 
loved wife, a certain bay mare rising of three years old, 
also I give to my well beloved daughter, Nancy Green, a 
certain negro woman named Hannah, also the rest of my 
property to be valued and equally be divided amongst my 
loving w r ife Mary Green and my loving children, that 
is to my beloved son Maston Green, and also to my loving 
son David Green, and to my loving son William Green, and 
also to my loving daughter Elizabeth Green. I also con- 
stitute and ordain my well beloved brothers. Parish and 


Thomas Green, Executors of this my last will and testa- 
ment, witness thereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal 
this the 29th day of January, 1813. Signed, Nathanial 
Green, Test. David Coleman, Robert Tweedy, John Tweedy. 

Will of Elizabeth Douglas, "This the 27th day of June, 
1831, I being in low health, but in sound mind and memory 
I make this my last will and testament. I want Squire 
James Copeland to take my three boys Jackson, William and 
Clinton and raise them, and after my debts are paid and 
settled I give Jackson the bay mare's colt, the little sorrel, 
then I want Mr. Copeland to take the rest of my property 
and to do the best he can for my children, in the name of 
the Lord, I give the balance to J. Copeland to raise the chil- 
dren, and this is my last will and testament. Signed Eliza- 
beth Douglas, Test. Hiram Shocklea Thomas Harrington." 

State of Illinois, Johnson County, October 20, 1820, 
"In the name of God, Amen, I, Abner Cox, being in low 
circumstances in bodily health, but feeling myself in sound 
mind and memory, I do hereby make this my last will and 
testament: To my dear beloved wife, Mary Cox I give into 
her possession at this time with all property and money that 
is in my possession at this time, with all the money that is 
coming to me in North Carolina. My will is that all the 
money that I now have and the money that is coming to me 
should be given for land in this state for the use of my wife 
and children. My will is that my wife should hold the pos- 
session during her life or widowhood and at her marriage 
or death all to be equally divided amongst my children and 
wife. The two half quarters that I now have paid for of 
land lying in Union County, my will is that my son Abner 
Cox should have the two half quarters of land, besides the 
other division to him his heirs and assignees, also my will 
is that my wife should have out of the money as much of 
it as will be necessary for her to fix herself and family to 
live comfortably upon, also the money that is coming to 
me from S. J. Chapman, my will is that my wife should 
collect it as she can. I constitute and appoint my wife 
executrix to this my last will and testament, assigned Abner 
Cox, witnesses, E. Harrell, Joel Howell, and John Veach." 

Notes taken from Randolph County records at Chester 
Illinois before Johnson County was separated from it, con- 
taining names of Johnson County families. 


George Fisher name on record, 1802 ; Robert Cox name 
on record, 1805; Richard Lord vs. Isaac Cox, 1892, Moses 
Oliver vs. Leroy Elliot, 1802. 

William Elms seal on a deed, 1797, from James Dunn 
to John Edgar, Deed 1905 John Kennedy only son and heir 
to David Kennedy who entered land from Congress 1790 
on the improvement of James Taylor. (Elms is a name of 
the early Johnson County) William Dunn vs. William 
Kelly case of Treaspass brought before George Fisher and 
Samuel Cochran judges 1806. William Cochran had a 
court case, 1803; Charles B. Wilcox, 1803; Joseph Worley 
court case, 1805. 

Court record No. 25 John Price vs. James Finny 1806 
a case of treaspass amount $160.00. Robert Morris clerk, 
James Edgar sheriff, Pierre Menard, George Fisher and 
Samuel Cochran, judges. Finny recovered $7,001/2 for his 
cost and charges. Lary Oliver adminstrator of William 
Dunn, deceased, John Worley and John Murdoc connected 
with the case, 1807. William Simpson sued Hampton Pan- 
key for $300.00, 1808. James Oliver, a minor by his next 
friend John Worley vs. Primal Hayward, a case of slander. 

1809. Thomas Jones vs. Henry Jones, damage $200.00, 

1806. Thomas Elliot vs. Absalem Bradshaw, debt $50.00, 

1807. William Simpson vs. Elisha Hicks, lawsuit, 1809. 
James Finny and William Greenup administered on the 
estate of Moses Oliver, 1808. Jesse Kennedy, law suit, 

1810. King Hazel law suit, 1809. 

Grand jury September, 1809: Issac White, foreman, 
Samuel Cochran, William Simpson, John Morris, John Hib- 
bins, William Choffin, John Worley, Ephriam Bilderbeck, 
Josiah Cox, Jacob Bowerman, William Stiles, William 
Murphey, John Phelps, Thomas Griffin, Samuel Andelway, 
James Stell, Ghershom Clementson, Alexander Blair, and 
William Alexander. Cochran, Simpson, Morris, Worley, 
Cox, Stiles and Phelps are all names of families of early 
settlers of this county. 

A grand jury of Randolph County, 1808 : William Alex- 
ander, John Worley, James Henderson, William McLaugh- 
lin, John Everett, Robert Kidd, Ralph Drury, Alexander 
McNabb, John Crawford, Joseph McCourtney, Joseph Arch- 
ambeau, B. Forture, Jacob Funk, William Evere, John Dees 
and Reuben Lacy. Kidd and Lacy of Massac County fam- 


ilies. John, a free negro boy vs. Robert Patterson by his 
next friend John Edgar. James Weir vs. John Borin a 
plea of debt 1810. 


The first court of Johnson County — Proceedings of 
a special court held at the house of John Bradshaw, within 
and for the County of Johnson for the purpose of doing 
county business, on the fifteenth day of January, 1813. 
Present: The Honorable Hamlet Furguson, Jesse Griggs, 
Judges: The court having taken into consideration the 
necessity of dividing this county into townships agreeably 
to a law of this territory, authorizing the judges of the 
court of common pleas, to make such division when it ap- 
pears to them to be necessary; proceeded with an s$t off 
the townships in the following manner, to-wit : The district 
that lies at the eastern corner of this county on the Big 
Bay waters and at present known by the name of Captain 
Whiteside's Company and agreeably to the boundaries of 
said company, as laid off by a board of officers, shall be 
created into one township and called the Township of Big 
Bay. And the company of Captain Grifith's on Muddy in 
like manner and agreeably to the boundaries thereof, shall 
be called and known hereafter by the name of the Township 
of Muddy. And the company boundaries of John Bradshaw 
shall be called and known by the name of the Township of 
Center. Captain Green's Company in like manner shall 
be known by the name of Clear Creek Township. Captain 
Lamb's Company shall be known by the name of Cache. 
And Captain Fox's Company shall be known by the name 
of Massac township. Ordered that William Penny and 
Thomas Furguson be appointed overseers of the poor for 
the township of Big Bay; Clement Davis and Henry Noble 
overseers of the poor for the township of Muddy ; Owen 
Evans and John B. Murry overseers of the poor for the 
township of Center ; William Joslin and George Wolf, over- 
seers of the poor for the township of Clear Creek ; Federick 
Talbot and Joseph Kuykendall overseers of the poor for the 
township of Cache; Jonah Hibbs and John Prichard over- 
seers of the poor for the township of Massac. Ordered 
that John Damsil be appointed Constable in the township 
of Big Bay and N. Hukam in the same on his giving bond 
agreeably to law; Meeks, Constable of Muddy; Amos Bar- 
ker and Henry Giles, Constables for the township of Center. 


Jeremiah Brown Constable for the township of Clear Creek 
Andrew Kidd and James B. Johnson appointed Constables 
for the township of Massac. Ordered on motion of Susan- 
nah Borin by her attorney, Thomas C. Brown, that a scire- 
faces is issued against Hoseah Borin to appear at our next 
September term to show cause why letters of administra- 
tion granted him by the court of the counjty in vacation 
should not be repealed. Henry Giles came into court and 
prayed leave of the court for indulgence until next Septem- 
ber term to make return of his inventory and sale list of 
the estates of Samuel Giles and Thomas Winkler, which he 
was bound to do at this court as administrator of said 
estates. Ordered that leave be granted accordingly. The 
sheriff is authorized to contract with John Bradshaw or any 
other person for building a stray-pound, furnished with a 
lock and gate according to law, to be erected at the court 
house by next September. Giles Stewart produced a receipt 
from the sheriff of the county for $15.00 for a deposit for 
license to deal in merchandise agreeably to law, which the 
clerk is ordered to issue. On application of Thomas Furgu- 
son to keep a tavern where he now lives, the court ordered 
"that the clerk do give the same on his paying three dollars 
for the use of the county and one dollar for the use of the 
clerk," Thomas C. Paterson entering into bond with him 
as the law directs. Ordered that the clerk do issue a 
license to William Simpson to keep a tavern where he now 
lives on his paying to the clerk $5.00 for the use of the 
county and one for the use of the clerk. The above taverns 
are allowed to charge the following rates, whiskey 12^c 
per half quart, meals victuals, 25c, horse feed 12V&, hay 
12V&C, lodging 12Vkc. Ordered that this court be adjourned 
until court in course. Hamlet Furguson, presiding J. C. C. : 
Attorney J. Finny, Clerk. 

At the September court, 1813, J. Griggs and John B. 
Murray are the judges. Thomas and Parish Green as ex- 
ecutors of the estate of Nathaniel Green are ordered to hire 
out a negro girl, full particulars in "Customs." The other 
orders of this court are explained in other chapters also 
those of the court of January 14, 1814. At the May term 
1814, John Byers as commissioner, furnished a list of tax- 
able property of the county for the years 1813-14. The 
record does not give the amount which would be very in- 
teresting at this time, one hundred and ten years later. 


Byers was allowed two dollars per day for his work and it 
required thirty-eight days. J. Finny's bill for making the 
tax list was twenty dollars, making a total expense of $86.00 
Thomas C. Paterson is referred to in this court as sheriff; 
one Gilbert Marshall was deputized under Paterson and 
took the oath prescribed against dueling. The February 
court, 1815 allowed Owen Evans $25.00 for building a stray 
pounds, and T. C. Paterson was allowed $3.00 for keeping 
the same since November, 1813. The first will is recorded 
at this time. At the September term, 1815, Jane Morris 
was licensed to keep tavern at Elvira, the first woman to 
have a license for this business in this county. On the 
January court records of 1816 the names of the Petit Jury 
were given as follows : J. Hawkins, Charles Murphy, Bennet 
Hancock, Benjamin M. Huss, Christopher Howlin, Issac 
Worley, Adam Clapp, John Peterson, Joshua Davis, James 
Davis, Hoseah Borin and John Gore. The rate of tax was 
fixed at this time on each horse, mare, mule, or ass fifty 
cents on every bond servant or slave one hundred cents; 
on Thomas Furguson, Thomas Green and John Earthman's 
ferries eight dollars each; on Charles Bradley, William 
Smith , Hamlet Furguson, Reuben Glover, Obadiah Russell, 
Samuel Penrod. and Lewis Crane's ferries, three dollars 
each ; William Lawrence's mill on Cache, sixty cents ; quite 
a sum of revenue was realized to the county from ferries. 
Center township was divided at this time. The clerk of 
the county was ordered to furnish a list of license granted 
tavernkeepers in the county, and that the sheriff prosecute 
all persons known to violate the law retailing spirits with- 
out license. The selling of liquor was an annoyance in the 
county as early as 1816. It is still done in violation of the 
law, as the late prosecutions will show under our efficient 
mayor, Dr. Robert McCall, 1916, just one hundred years 
later. Hamlet Furguson is on the record of this court as 
sheriff. There is also a new judge or commissioner, Marvin 
Fuller. Up to this time Hamlet Furguson, Jesse Griggs, 
John B. Murry and John Bradshaw had held the courts. 

At the June court, 1816, Johnathan Ramsey was en- 
tered as an attorney having presented a license from the 
United States Judges of the Circuit Court. Another item, 
"Cyrus Butler an orphan boy was bound to T. C. Paterson." 
Ordered that a special court be held on the third Saturday 
in July next for the purpose of hearing the case of Cath- 


erine Circe in the prison bounds for debt. An appropria- 
tion was made to build a bridge across Bradshaw Creek. 
At the special term which was to be held in the interest 
of Catherine Circe. Peter Prow, who was also confined in 
jail for debt, gave notice that he would take advantage of 
the oath provided for insolvent debtors. Extract from 
special term July, 1816: Catherine Circe imprisoned for 
debt this day came into court and having filed and sub- 
scribed a schedule agreeably to law; took the oath, the 
statute provided for the relief of insolvent debtors. The 
September session, 1816, is about the same routine. 

At the November term, 1814 the Attorney General for 
the territory not appearing, the court appointed Robert Mc- 
Laughlin, to act. The case for the theft of persimmon beer 
was disposed of. Another case was Hoseah Borin vs. Brad- 
shaw in which the defendant proved that Basil Borin gave 
the negro girl in question to his daughter Mary Young. 
The proof was made by John Borin. At the June term of 
the same year at a circuit court T. C. Brown was appointed 
by Ninian Edwards Governor as prosecuting attorney for 
that district consisting of Gallatin, Edwards and Johnson 
Counties. Henry F. Delaney produced a license to practise 
in the courts of the Territory. 


Robert Henderson had James Lutes bound to him to 
learn the black smith trade January, 1814. In 1816, David 
Shearer was licensed to keep tavern on Big Bay, William 
Lawrence operated and kept tavern somewhere on Cache, 
the same year. Robert Tweedy, John Bowman and John 
McHenry were licensed to keep tavern, 1816. At the Febr- 
uary term, 1816, Fanny Doyle, James Miles, Phillip Shaver, 
Stephen Quinby, Carter Hall, Sarah Bunts, Ervin, Gran- 
ville, and Bud Morris all drew wages for guarding the jail. 
The June term the same year T. C. Paterson was allowed 
£10.00 for his services as Prosecuting Attorney. Jacob 
Wolfe was appointed guardian for the orphan children of 
George Davis to-wit: James, John, Anna, Abraham, Wil- 
'ic>m and Gecrge, all miners. Bennett Hancock was made 
guardian to Elizabeth, Sarah, and Josuha Peterson, minor 
children of William Peterson. Susannah Borin was allowed 
forty-three dollars and twenty-five cents for the care of 


Mourning and Coleman Borin, infant children of Basil 

Another record of the court of 1814 was the buying 
of wolf scalps from Charles Shearer and George Evans, for 
which they paid seventy-five cents each. 

At the January court, 1817, there were several com- 
missioners appointed to assess the property of the county 
instead of one, Irwin Morris for the township of Elvira; 
Joseph Palmer for the township of Clear Crsek ; John Whit- 
iker for Center; William Smith for Cache; Hezekiah West 
reported at this time, $1,345.07, monies collected by him as 
administrator of the estate of James Weaver, deceased. He 
asked the court to instruct how to dispose of the money, 
which the court directs he shall hold in his hands until he 
can let it out on good security, according to law. This was 
a pretty fair estate for those days. The court opened 
February 21, 1817, Russell E. Heackock was appointed as 
attorney for the court to prosecute all violations of the law 
for the purpose of regulating taverns and was allowed the 
same fees as the attorney of the District. A second order 
is made by the court for the regulation of taverns, the price 
of a meals victuals is reduced to 12 V2 cents, brandy is 18% 
cents per pint ; cognac 25 cents per pint, for keeping a horse 
twenty-four hours, with corn, and hay or fodder fifty cents. 
The rates on ferries were readjusted at this time. 

It might be of interest to name some firms doing busi- 
ness up to this time, beside those already mentioned: 
Edward Pointer, Joshua Gross, John Span, George Smiley. 
David Brock and Young, John Martin, Dukeson Givens & 
Co., Christopher Sudham, David Shearer, Levi B. Witt & 
Co., John McHenry and W. D. Fuquay, all these are re- 
corded as purchasing retail license to sell liquor. A great 
deal of the county revenue was obtained from distilleries 
at this time. "On the cash book may be found the following 
entries, William Lawrence, duties on still $20.00; Robert 
Hays, duty an spirits distilled, 264Yi gallons $66.18 ; Link- 
horn Harper, tax on 42 gallon of whiskey $11.25; John 
Whitiker, entered his still of the capacity of 75 gallons to be 
used in distilling domestic spirits for five months to begin 
23rd of March, 1817, bond given for $67.00 with Anthony 
Morgan and Robert Hargrave, security. Other distilleries 
were William Echols, John Smith, John Grammer, George 
Haygood, Elija Bryant, and Hazelwood & Darby. This in- 


eludes all the merchants and distilleries up to the time 
when the territory became a state. The name of Weir & 
Campbell appears on the court records frequently, but there 
is no record of a license having been granted them. 

The first grand jury of record is as follows: March, 
1814. Jesse Eads, foreman, Jacob Harvick, Abraham Rus- 
sell, Benjamin Mcintosh, David Wright, Jesse Cochran, 
Joseph Giles, Levi Graham, George Brazel, Henderson, 
Isiah Palmer, William Hubbs, Jacob Wolf, Peter Bitmesser, 
John Grammer John Whitiker, William Lawrence, and J. 
N. Fox. At this court Elias K. Kane was entered as an 
attorney. March, 1814, John Bradshaw is allowed $2.00 
for furnishing wood and building fires at the November 
term of court. Jacob Harvick is allowed $8.00 for wolf 

On Wednesday, June 28, 1815, the following act of Con- 
gress is recorded: "An act of Congress regulating and de- 
fining the duties of the United States Judges for the terri- 
tory of Illinois. It is allotted to Jesse B. Thomas, to pre- 
side in the first district circuit; to Wm. Sprigg to preside in 
the second circuit; and to Stanley Griswold to preside in 
the third circuit." In June of the following year Thomas 
Towles is assigned to preside in the third district court. 
On October, 1817, among the transactions of this court was 
the buying or paying premiums for wolf scalps as follows : 
James McLain, Moses Davison, Robert Hargrave, David 
Mclnturf, Willis Borin, John West, Levi Paterson, Robert 
Lott, Adam Clapp, Benjamin Darter, and Samuel Nally, 
were each allowed $2.00 a piece for scalps. Anthony Mor- 
gan $10.00 for five scalps, Samuel Penrod $4.00 for two 
scalps, Elija Wells $5.25 and William Harrington $3.00 for 
four scalps. Robert Lott seventy-five cents for one, Samuel 
Ellms, $4.00 for two scalps. 

At the July term of this year Hezekiah West is ordered 
to pay over the money belonging to the Weaver estate. At 
another court held in 1817, John, Abraham and Anna 
Davis are bound to Daniel Kimmel. These are the orphan 
children of George Davis. Patsy Clark is appointed guar- 
dian for her two children, George and William. John Wel- 
don was made guardian for the orphan children Joseph, 
Abraham, Nancy and Napoleon Collins. John Stokes was 
made guardian for William and Sally, orphans of Ezekiel 


At a court held in Elvira, Johnson County, March 6, 
1818, by Hezekiah West, John Bowman, Andrew Cochran, 
James Bain and William McFatridge the commission ap- 
pointed by the Legislature to decide on a permanent seat of 
justice for this county reported that they had met at the 
house of James Bain first Monday in February, 1818, and 
after being sworn to take in the geography of the county 
and the convenience of the people adjourned to meet on the 
fourth Monday of the same month, after gaining a perfect 
knowledge of the different situations around the center fin- 
ally determined and designated a spot for the permanent 
seat of justice for the county on the S. E. quarter of sect. 
5. township No. 13 S. R. 3 east near the northeast corner 
of the said quarter section. This report was made to the 
above court on the date given and signed by Isaac D. Wilcox 
and James Bain. The donation was made by Samuel Mc- 
Clintock, of Shawnetown, Illinois. Ty. and John W. Gore, 
George Brazel, James Simpson, Irvin Morris and William 
Thornton entered into the security of said bond in the sum 
of $5,000.00, dated March 7, 1818. The donation fixed by 
the Legislature was 20 acres but the agreement fixed by 
the court was 30 acres for the use of the county to be de- 
livered April 1, 1818. Hezekiah West and James Evans 
were made agents of the court to meet the proposition of 
McClintock. On April 10, 1818, they met as agreed 
and the town was laid out as follows: "Beginning 20 pole 
due south of McClintock's quarter (the northeast corner 
of James Bridges lot) running due west 84 pole as far as 
to embrace the west brow of a certain ridge (just beyond 
the Perkins Hotel, 7th street) thence due south (beyond the 
John Bain property, east beyond the Catholic church and 
John Clymore's residence and north to the place of begin- 
ning so as to inclose 3o acres in a rectangle, the longest 
way is to be east and west." 

Court 1818, J. Finney drew his yearly salary which 
was $30.00 as clerk of the county. The expense for hold- 
ing the election of the delegates to the Constitutional Con- 
vention were allowed at this court. Hezekiah West and 
William McFatridge were elected the first Monday in July, 
1818. The name of Vienna was given the county seat at 
the July session of court. Another item is the ordering of 
the sale of city lots in Vienna, sale to take place the third 
Monday in September, 1818. At a special term of court 


held August 15, 1818, James Bain, Andrew Cochran, Will- 
iam Simpson, T. C. Paterson and John Copeland, justices, 
the report was made that the courthouse and the building 
for the jurors were complete. They were received by the 
court and the officers of the county were orderd to move 
their offices to the new building in the town of Vienna. 

The buying of wolf scalps is the first business recorded 
of the first court held in Vienna, November, 1818. The 
premium was paid to W. Bivins. Isaac D. Wilcox applied 
and received permission to keep a tavern at his store in 
Vienna. The second court was a special one, James Bain, 
Andrew Cochran and John Copeland, justices, presided. 
Irvin Morris as sheriff, settled his accounts with the court, 
and the court approved the sale of lots at Vienna and ac- 
cepted the notes for the same. Martin Harvick is allowed 
$6.00 for acting as deputy sheriff at the late election held 
in September. James Finney was allowed a like amount as 
clerk. T. C. Paterson and Andrew Cochran received $6.00 
each for acting as judges at the same election. 

At the court held in June, 1819, Randolph Casey on 
giving bond for $150.00 paying $4.00 for the use of the 
county, $1.00 for the clerk, and giving John Peterson for 
security, was allowed to keep tavern in Vienna. Ivy Rey- 
nolds under like regulations with William Cavenough as 
security, was likewise licensed. James Jones was appointed 
treasurer for the county. A payment was ordered to George 
Brazel for building the court house and jury rooms. Irvin 
Morris as sheriff was ordered to have prepared a conven- 
ient bar and bench for the jury as well as other repairs for 
the court buildings. The county was beginning to take on 
the airs of a first class court properly housed. The court 
recommended at this term Hezekiah West, Isaac Worley, 
William McFatridge and John S. Graves to the governor 
for justices of the peace. There are two new names as 
commissioners at this time, James Crunk, and David Elms. 
September, 1819, some changes were made in townships, a 
contract was let for building a jail, a stray pound was 
ordered built in the public square, full particulars are 
found in other sections. 

At the April term, 1820, Sterling Adams was granted 
a license to vend merchandise in the county, for which he 
paid $10. The salary of the sheriff for one year, $54.70, was 
ordered paid. It compares in no way with our present 


sheriff's salary of $1,500 and $1,000 for deputy hire. 
James Bain and Joseph McCorcle were elected commis- 
sioners of the court. Joseph Kuykendal, was appointed to 
take the census for that year; James Hawkins built the 
stray pound contracted by Irvin Morris. The tavern rates 
were raised to 37V2C per meal. In 1821 Isaac D. Wilcox 
petitioned the court to establish a ferry on the Ohio River 
and also for license to keep tavern at the same place. 

Courts of 1823— Jacob Harvick is allowed $8.00 for 
wolf scalps, James Copeland as sheriff, was ordered to buy 
a guage to meet the standard of the act passed by the gen- 
eral assembly for the use of the county. Joseph McCorcle 
was appointed treasurer, to succeed H. West, who had suc- 
ceeded James Jones, John Copelsmd was appointed assessor 
for the year 1825. 

The first judges came with Ninian Edwards, and were 
called territorial judges. Jesse B. Thomas, Alexander Stew- 
art and Obidiah Jones were the first appointed. Jones and 
Stewart soon resigned and their places were filled by Stan- 
ley Griswold and William Sprigg. These three judges held 
all the courts of the territory, called Supreme or General 
courts, having concurrent jurisdiction in all cases pretain- 
ing to personal property and real estate, and exclusive 
jurisdiction in higher criminal offences and equity, and it 
was also a court of appeals. The Hon. William Sprigg 
held the courts for Johnson till the constitution of 1818 
which consisted of a supreme judge and three associates. 
The first chosen were Chief Justice Joseph Phillips, T. C. 
Brown, John Reynolds and William P. Foster associates, 
was adopted, establishing the supreme court. The 
court of Common Pleas consisted of five justices, appointed 
by the governor. They met four times a year, and had 
charge of all civil cases. The territorial law made it pos- 
sible for two or more of these justices to hold the court. 
Johnson was in the third judicial district. The provisions 
for courts were changed from time to time by the legisla- 
ture, till 1848 when the Supreme court of three judges was 
established, one to be elected from each of the three divi- 
sions of the state for nine years. Nine judicial circuits 
were also established, and each judge served six years; two 
terms of circuit court, were required held annually in each 
county. In 1877 the number of circuits were increased by 
creating thirteen circuits of three judges each. In 1879 


the circuits were increased to seventeen, and Johnson with 
Alexander, Pulaski, Massac, Pope, Union, Jackson, William- 
son and Saline, constitute the first district. The salary of 
a circuit judge is $6,500 per annum (1924). Heretofore 
it had been $3,500. Johnson County has had the honor of 
two representatives on the circuit bench, Judges 0. A. 
Harker and A. K. Vickers, the latter was also elected to the 
Supreme Court and served as Chief Justice of the state. 

First page of the court, called court of Common Pleas, 
"Illinois Territory, Johnson County, S. S. pleas before the 
Honorable Hamlet Furguson and Jesse Griggs, Judges of 
the court of Common Pleas to-wit : Henry Hatten Plaintiff 
against Henry Skinner def endant-treaspass : Be it remem- 
bered that heretofore, on the twenty-fourth day of Febru- 
ary, one thousand eight hundred and thirteen, the following 
Capias, adrespodendum, to-wit: The United States to the 
sheriff of Johnson County, greeting, you are hereby com- 
manded to take Henry Skinner, late of this county, if he 
be fond in your Baliwick and him safely keep, so that you 
have his body before our judges at our court of Common 
Pleas next to be holden for the county of Johnson at the 
House of John Bradshaw, on the second Monday of March 
next, to answer to Henry Hatton of a plea of trespass, on 
the case to the damage of the said Henry Hatten, One 
hundred dollars, as it is said, and do you have him, then, 
there. This witness, James Finney, clerk of said court for 
the county aforesaid, given under my hand and private seab 
(there being no county seal) this twenty-fourth day of Feb. 
one thousand eight hundred and thirteen, and of the Inde- 
pendence of the United States, XXXVII, J. Finney." "En- 
dorsed, which said writ had on it the following endorsement 
to-wit; this is an action on the case, no bail is required un- 
less ordered by the judges, J. Finney clerk." Which said 
writ was returned to our said court at the March term, 
1813, with the following return on it, to-wit: "Cepi corpus. 
March 6, 1813, John Bradshaw, Dept. Sheriff, twenty-five 
miles." A bond for securing the cost was filed by the plain- 
tiff in the following words and figures to-wit: "Henry 
Hatten vs. Henry Skinner in the Common Pleas of John- 
son County, March term, 1813, I do hereby enter myself 
security in the cost of the above case, agreeably to the law 
of the territory. Signed and sealed Amos B. Barker." A 
second case was Henry Hatten plaintiff, Samuel Penrod, 
defendant. The case was called covenant broken and re- 


quired bail J. B. Bailey was the bail given, and Thomas C. 
Patterson was the sheriff and signed twelve miles. The 
covenant broken was an agreement between these two men 
who had bought six saltpeter caves, each to pay equal parts, 
and each to have equal parts, the caves lying on Big Muddy 
and Cedar Creeks, Randolph (later Johnson) County. They 
were to work them in partnership, finding and working 
equal parts, each to have equal parts and to make the 
powder in the same manner, neither to quit nor sell his 
part. If he does, he loses his part. This is signed by 
Samuel Penrod and Henry Hatten. The agreement was 
dated June 15, 1811. Joseph Conway was the attorney for 
the defendant. There was some flaw in the plaintiff's suit. 
The bill of costs was clerk fees, $4.89, sheriff fees, $1.96, 
attorney's fee $2.50, total cost $9.35. Test. J. Finney 
clerk, execution issued December 24, 1814." 

A third case was John B. Bailey against Frederick 
Talbot and John Harris. Fourth case: Hoseah Borin 
against W. M. Cryder, B. M. Piatt, J. B. Murry. The total 
costs werein one case, $8.37 ; and in an other $6.72. There 
is a record of an attachment against David McElmunny in 
favor of John Greething. Other men connected with this 
case were Joseph Thompson and Levi Hughes. Greething 
rendered an account against McElmunny as follows : 100 
bushels of corn $50.00, to flat on ferry boat, $10.00, by 
articles, $10.00, 424 cwt. of pork $12.00, to one steer lent, 
$8.00, to rent $25.00. Jeptha Hardin was the attorney, cost 
of suit, $5.59. Moses Rhodes sued I. D. Wilcox for a debt 
in the July court, Rhodes paid the cost which amounted to 
$12.12. The next case H. W. Robins and John Prichard 
against I. D. Wilcox ; the plaintiff again had to pay the cost 
through mistake. John Phelps vs. Stephen Kuykendall in 
the March term 1813, for debt, Bail was required for Kuy- 
kendall's appearance in court and Walker Daniels was the 
bail. April term, 1813, is a case of Elisha Hicks vs. William 
Simpson, in which the following note is exhibited, "For 
value received I promise to pay Elisha Hicks or order, two 
likely three year old steers, to be delivered in a yoke, on or 
before the first day of October, as witness my hand and 
seal, this the 30th day of May, 1808— William Simpson." 
William Simpson, Jr., was the bail for William Simpson, 

A transcript from the records of a Kentucky court was 


Hied and read as follows: "State of Kentucky, Livingston 
County, ss. Pleas, before the Hon. Wm. Wallace, Judge of 
the Livingston Court, David Caldwell and Joshua Saxson, 
assistant judges, to-wit: Jackob Hardin, asignee of Arthur 
Morgan, who was assignee of Edward Talbot, plaintiff, 
against Stephen Kuykendall and John Phelps, defendants, 
in debt." The record further shows that a writ was issued 
against these two men on the 8th day of March, 1806, in 
said county and state. Enoch Prince, clerk of the court, 
and the writ had the following ; Peter Laren, bail ; Thomas 
Cist, sheriff. At a later court with Ninnan Edwards, after- 
ward Governor of Ilinois, presiding Judge, 1806; Jacob 
Hardin sued John Phelphs, Mujah Phelps went on the bond 
of John and in this case, Rezin Davage was the attorney. 
The cause for the case was a note to-wit: "Twelve months 
after date we or either of us, do promise to pay to Edward 
Talbot or his assignee the sum of thirty dollars and 
twenty-two and one half cents, ($30.22V2) for value re- 
ceived from him, October 15, 1803. " November term, 1813 
term opens with a case of trespass, with Henry Noble 
Plaintiff, and Samuel Simpson, defendant; H. Day as J. P. 
ordered a bond for Simpson's appearance in the sum of 
ninety-nine dollars, but his opponent, exonerated him from 
giving a bond, William Russell was the attorney for Noble. 
John Borin of Center Township was called by the court to 
answer for assault and batery against Stephen Kuyken- 
dall. J. Weaver was the foreman of the grand jury that 
brought the indictment. N. Huckison was the witness and 
William Mears was the Attorney General. The jury called 
in this case was composed of Jacob Craft, Lion Claxton, 
Andrew Clapp, Obadiah and Henry Russell, Robert Reed, 
Richard Davis, and Abraham McCowan, with other fam- 
iliar names. 

At this court, John Earthman was indicted for assault 
and battery on John W. Calvert, the same, no doubt, that 
married William Simpson Sr's. daughter. He was acquited. 
Next we have John Harris, who resided in Clear Creek 
Township, sueing John Barnhart for treaspass. This case 
seems to have run into a kind of attachment suit, Harris 
against J. Barnhart and J. B. Bailey, about a note that had 
been lost and found, and which read as follows, "November 
26, 1813, Frederick Talbot and John Barnhart agreed to 
run the Darling filly, a dark chestnut sorrel, against a 


bright bay horse, 1-year old past, for $120.00 in good horse 
flesh, if not the forfeit is $30.00. A catch to be run on the 
9th day of December, in Barnhart's paths. — John Barnhart 
Federick Talbot." The jury, was David D. Holder, Willis 
Standard, William Tripp, Charles Perrin, Joseph Smalley, 
beside others named before. The jury found for the de- 
fendants. The Weaver vs. W 7 ilcox case grew out of one of 
them saying, that the other had run off his negro girl. 
This was frequently done by dishonest parties in the days 
of slavery. They would take negroes belonging to someone 
else, take them south and sell them. The following are 
from the March term of 1814. The first is a case of the 
United States against Isaac Jerett, on complaint of Susan 
Sampson about a club ax. This was orginally tried before 
Hezekiah West, J. P. George Butler was Jerett's bail. 
Richard Stiles and John Mackej^ were witnesses. Jerette 
lived in Center Township. This is about all that would be 
interesting to any reader at the present time. The next is 
a suit of Hugh Logan against William Robinson, which is 
another long drawn out case. Hugh Logan it appears was 
versed in the art of making powder and entered into an 
agreement with William Robinson, to build a powder mill 
on the west branch of Clear Creek. Logan was to teach 
Robinson to make powder and they were to work together. 
Logan was to have five pounds of every six of powder that 
was made, and Robinson was to have one of every six. 
Logan brought suit against Robinson in the sum of $1,000, 
saying that Robinson did not work or furnish any material 
but took forcibly all the powder. Logan was given $25.00 
damages. The cost in this .case was unusually large for 
that time, clerk fees, $42.70 !/>, for witness attendance, 
$8.22, attorneys fee, $2.50, sheriff's fee $40,321/,, jury fee 

Another suit at this court was that of William Hamil- 
ton who brought suit agaist John Barnhart of Cache town- 
ship. Joseph Lawrence of the same township and Moses 
Travern for assualt and battery. Abraham Smally was 
appearance bail for John Barnhart and Henry Giles for 
Moses Travern. Thomas Giles acting as deputy sheriff, G. 
W. Moore was the principal witness. The trial discription 
of this case is a little amusing and one gathers from the 
evidence that Hamilton was drunk. They first attacked 
him. The witness says that Hamilton "whooraid" for Gen- 


eral Washington, then Barnhart placed him in a chair, so 
that he fell out, then Barnhart wanted him to drink friends, 
which Hamilton refused to do, but drank more and hur- 
rahed some more, till William Lawrence came in, and said 
it was a shame, and that he would not have such doings on 
the Sabbath day. Hamilton, from the testimony, decided 
he would go to bed. Moore took him to a house and ser 
him by the fire and went to bed. When Moore awoke, he 
heard Travern say, "For God sake, don't let him burn up," 
and pulled him out of the fire. Barnhart held a tallow 
candle to the fire and rubbed it on the said Hamilton, who 
was naked. The next morning I saw Joseph Lawrence 
tearing off Hamilton's overalls, about the seat. This is only 
part of Moore's testimony and is used to demonstrate the 
character of some of our early settlers and the part that 
the manufacture and sale of whiskey played in our early 

Weir and Craig, as merchants, brought suit in this 
county against Samuel Simpson, 1813. 

Very few women had lawsuits in those days, but Betsy 
(alias) Elizabeth, Keith sued Richard McBride, Thomas 
Green and John Tweedy, on • a writ of replevin, for one 
sorrel mare, one woman's saddle, one bed, one blanket, six 
blue edge plates, six knives and forks, one coffee pot and 
Delph dish, valued at a $130.00. She obtained a judgment 
of $200.00 then William Miller appeared as an attorney in 
the case and had the judgment set aside, because fifteen 
days had not elapsed between the time of serving the writ 
and the convening of the court. Peter Stalcup complains 
of Henry and John Earthman in a plea of covenant broken. 
Absalom Stalcup is defendant in a case of trespass. A 
case of selling whiskey without license, in less quantities 
that a quart, was brought by the people against Sarah 
Bunts, probably the first case of this kind in the county 
against a woman. James Markham was indicted for as- 
sault and batteiy on the complaint of Jesse Terry, Sr. The 
jurymen in this case not mentioned before were Joseph 
Fisher, Gilbert Noble, Joab Ratcliff, and Robert Miller. 
"Sarah Medlock vs. John Mackey, tresspass." In a case 
of a note given by Isaac D. Wilcox to Moses Rhodes, 1811 
and attested by Jesse Beak. Some of the juriors were 
Amos Howard, Samuel Wooday, George Matheny and R. 
H. Loyd. The next suit was about an order which read 


as follows: "Sir: Please pay to the bearer, Hugh Logan 
430 pounds of saltpeter, and oblige and soforth — Joseph 
French to Henry Skinner. Test. T. F. Clark." The follow- 
ing has been referred to in the county court records, Hoseah 
Borin sued John Bradshaw to recover one negro woman, a 
slave, and one negro man and child, and a slave, Abram of 
the price and value of $600.00. It appears from the records 
these slaves had belonged to Basil Borin who died in 1812, 
and Hoesah Borin, the administrator claimed that Brad- 
shaw, was detaining them fraudulently. William McDaniel, 
David Cotner, George James and John Carter are new 
names on the jury in this case, and Bradshaw was exoner- 
ated. ' Susannah Borin brings suit against Issac D. Wilcox, 
covenant broken. On examination Wilcox admits he re- 
ceived three negroes for which he was to pay $300.00. The 
new names on this jury were Richard Messer, and Ebenzer 
Killough. Through some turn by the attorney, Susannah 
lost the case and had to pay the cost. The Borins were 
rather unfortunate with their slaves. 

Another case was Elisha Spivy and Elizabeth Elkins 
vs. John Elkins. This was copied from book No. 1 of the cir- 
cuit court records for the years 1813-14. J. Finney was 
the clerk and the writing is very legible, although written 
one hundred and ten years ago. The following is copied 
from record No. 3, and begins with the May court, 1818. 
The names of the grand jurors are given first, James Bain, 
foreman, John Copeland, David Shearer, Joel Johnson, Ben- 
nett Hancock, Millington Smith, D. Simpson, Squire Choate, 
Davids Elms, Hardy Johnson, John W. Gore, John Bridges, 
James Sutten, Richard McGinnis, William McNorton, 
Wm. McFatridge, J. S. Graves, John Peterson, Adam Har- 
vick, William Gothard, and Alexander McGoawn. The fol- 
lowing are some of the cases, and jurors, but only those 
that have new names connected with them are used. 
Ezekiel Able vs. William Boner, on the jury were William 
Porter, John Jennett, Jesse Echols. Contestants, King 
Hazel vs. Luke Williams; Joshua Whittington vs. Andrew 
Kidd ; Mathew Peck vs. Thomas Furguson ; James B. Mc- 
Call vs. Furguson; Nathaniel Pope vs. J. A. Whiteside; 
John Parmer vs. Linkhorn Harper ; James Letcher vs. Hugh 
Craig; Susannah Price and Joseph Palmer vs. James 
Worth ington and Levi Hughes, T. S. Slaughter vs. Elija 
Bryant; Wm. Morrison vs. W. Hukam, Joseph Taylor vs. 


Daniel Ritter. Some new names on the petit jury were 
Jeremiah Lysemby, Benjamin Curley. Patsy Fisher and 
Owen Evans vs. R. Heacock; Mary Weaver, John Thornton 
and Hezekiah West vs. I. D. Wilcox. On the grandjury of 
October, 1819, the name of Rix Carter, John Grissum, 
Thomas Doyle, James Jones and Aaron B. Brown. The Hon. 
William Wilson held the November term in 1819. Some 
new jury names were Milton Ladd, John Grisham, John 
Oliver, and Henry Mangum. The first courts for 1820, 
there are few changes in the names of jurors and some of 
the parties bringing suit were Francis Geehan, William 
Hendry, Thomas Dial, Henry Osborn, Joseph McCorcle and 
Robert Little. Wilson, Marshall & Co., John P. Hogan and 
W. H. Ashley all had suits against I. D. Wilcox in this 
court, also Thomas Sloo, Jr. Wilcox had more lawsuits 
than any other one person in these courts, and S. J. Chap- 
man, Sr. is possibly second. The court of 1822 shows T. 
C. Brown as judge. Two new names as grand jurors, 
Thomas Duns worth, and James Sitter. (At close of this 
court, John Oliver is allowed four dollars for four days 
attendance at the last court as sheriff, and James Finney is 
allowed $30.00, his annual salary as clerk of this court, and 
$12.00 extra expenses.) The only new names as jurors at 
the April term for 1823, were Levi Casey and Reuben 
Wright. Some of those having cases were Daniel Field, 
Spencer Grogan, Lewis Vemont, John Elkins, Pennington 
Moss, Isaac Ralston, and Polly Sutten. September court, 
jurors not named before A Rice and Elias Harrell. Robert 
Lott, J. E. Willis, James White, James Brown, Richard Cox, 
Wheeler Bevins, Joshua Elkins and Sally Cooper were de- 
fendants. Irvin Morris and Lucius F. Gibbs were new 
plaintiffs. At the May term 1822, the Hon. Samuel Mc- 
Roberts was the judge. New names as jurors were John 
Henderson, W. B. Smith, Ira Hitchcock, and Mark Rentfro. 
The only new names appearing in cases were Samuel Vol- 
ner, Able Larrison and the officers of the State Bank of 
Illinois. The Hon. Richard M. Young, was presiding judge 
at the October term, 1825. One new name as juror Abra- 
ham Jobe. The names of William Slack, Robert Axley and 
Henry W. Mound appear as petit jurors. D. J. Baker was 
the circuit attorney. James Brown, James Westbrooks, 
Joseph Huddlestone, Abraham Baker are the only new 
parties in law suits. The same officers have charge of May 
term for 1826. No new names as jurors. "On the 27th 


clay of May, 1826 personally appeared before me David 
McNeely, a resident of Johnson County, aged about 72 years 
saying he enlisted for the term of three years on the 12th 
day of April, 1777, in the state of Virginia, in the company 
commanded by Capt. Adam Wallace, in the 7th regiment, 
commanded by Col. Heath, in the line of the state of Vir- 
ginia, that he continued in said corps till some time in 1779, 
when he was discharged from service in the state of North 
Carolina. He stated that his name was not on any state 
roll, that he had not applied for a pension before because 
his circumstances, although not affluent, had been easy, but 
by misfortune and sickness, he had been reduced to the 
necessity of asking a support from his country. He swore 
he was a resident of the United States on the 18th day of 
March, 1818. He stated- he had not given away his property 
in order that he may get a pension. His property con- 
sisted of one suit of wearing apparel, valued at $3.87 Yi 
Richard M. Young ordered the clerk that it be certified 
that it appeared to the satisfaction of the court that the 
said David McNeeley did serve in the Revolutionary War." 
This is not the full text but the main points in it. There 
seems to be quite a contrast in the way men look upon 
taking money from the government now and one hundred 
years ago. On the same day J. D. Simpkins, a resident of 
Johnson County appeared before the court saying he had 
enlisted for the term of three years on the 13th day of 
October, 1777, in the state of New York, in the company 
commanded by Captain John Randolph, of Col. Henry Lee's 
Light Horse, commonly called the Legion, in the line of the 
state of Virginia, in the Continental Establishment, that he 
continued to serve in said troop until the 14th day of 1781, 
when he was discharged from service. He gives his rea- 
sons for applying for a pension and subscribes to some 
other forms required. Then follows a schedule of his pos- 
sessions : four cows and calves, valued at $20.00 ; two steers, 
valued at $16.00; one lot of hogs, valued at $20.00; house 
hold furniture at the value of $30.00 ; crop of corn and 
provision on hand, $30.00. This is also sworn to before 
Richard M. Young, Judge, and the court certifies that he is 
satisfied that John G. Simpkins, did serve in the Revolution- 
ary War, and ordered that the clerk so certify. On May 
27, 1826, Samuel Gardner, a resident of Johnson County, 
applied for a certificate for a pension from the court. He 
also enlisted in New York in 1777, in the company com- 


manded by Marisus (if deciphered correct) Willis, Lieut. 
Col. of the regiment commanded by Col. Gansofort in the 
line of the state of New York, and was discharged the 4th 
day of June, 1784, in the state of New York. He has not 
applied heretofore because he was able to support himself 
by his labors. Old age and sickness reduced him to the 
necessity of asking his country's aid. Then follows the 
usual form and schedule of his property, one rifle gun, 
valued at $10.00; one hoe valued at 50c, one ax valued at 
75c. The judge ordered the clerk to certify that he was 
satisfied that Samuel Gardner did serve in the Revolution- 
ary War. From these records it appears that we had other 
Revolutionary soldiers than those whose graves have been 
marked by the D A. R. At the October term, 1826, there 
are two names on the jury list we have not had before. 
Martin Howell, and James McKee. Sidney Breese was the 
circuit attorney, having failed to attend D. J. Baker was 
appointed in his stead. John Shearer was constable. Jesse 
Fain was excused from jury duty. James and Polly Sittow 
were divorced at this court by a jury, and Polly was pro- 
hibited from marrying again for two years. Athony Ensor 
was a defendant in this court. 

At the April term, 1828, William J. Gatewood was 
District Attorney. The new jury names were William 
Parker and Solomon Stephens. The new parties to law- 
suits were William Allard and J. C Willard. At the Octo- 
ber term of this court one new name as juror, John Sims. 
The name of Amos Lacey appears connected with a lawsuit. 
At the May court, 1828, Jacob Keisler and Robert Kerley 
are new names as jurors. Pleasant L. Ward, Phillip Cor- 
bitt and Elias K. Cotton are the new contestants in law- 
suits. At the April term, 1836 the name of William Mount 
appears for the first time as a juror. Richard Elkins and 
Francis Kincannon were excused from duty. In this court 
there appears a record as follows. "This day appeared in 
open court, Washington Thompson, a man of color, and 
presented a certificate of Bennett Jones, Sheriff, of John- 
ston County, certifying that he, the said Washington, had 
been aprehended as a runaway slave or servant and com- 
mitted to the jail of said county by Ivy Reynolds an acting 
justice of the peace, in and for said county and that he had 
been dealt with according to law, and hired out from 
month to month for the space of twelve months, ending the 


26th day of December last, 1835, and that no owner had 
appeared in the said time, to claim the said Washington 
Thompson. It was ordered that the facts be and are here- 
by certified and made public, and it is hereby ordered that 
said Washington Thompson shall be deemed a free person 
unless he shall be, lawfully claimed by his proper owner or 
owners/' Elias Holmes, W. C. White, J. N Modglin, and 
David Harper were new jurors. William McGee was a 
defendant in a suit brought from Pope County. Some 
other names connected with this court were Allen Pruett, 
John Jackson. Record 1, page 30, December 1, 1811, David 
MacElmunny, debtor to John Greething. April term, 1813. 
Joseph Conway, Dept. Atty. General, a suit was brought 
by John Prichard, assignee of Hugh Logan vs. Henry Skin- 
ner, Isaac D. Wilcox was security for the cost. Accom- 
paning the declaration was an order to-wit. "Sir please 
pay the bearer Hugh Logan, four hundred and thirty-two 
pounds of saltpeter, and oblige and soforth, Joseph French 
to Henry Skinner, Test. Thomas F. Clark, July 12, 1811." 
On the back of this order was the following to-wit. "I 
do assign over the within order to John Prichard in secur- 
ity of thirty dollars to be paid on or before the first day of 
June next, April 14, 1812, Hugh Logan. The within order 
is accepted by me, Henry Skinner, July 12, 1812, Test. 
Joseph Shaw. This note shows another legal tender to be 

November term, 1814, William Daniel vs. Daniel Vin- 
cent, trespass, John Spann and Charles Murphy were secur- 
ity for the cost. July term, of court 1814, held at the 
house of John Bradshaw in the town of Elvira, Johnson 
County, Illinois. One case was Henry Buckentaff vs. 
William Simpson growing out of the following, to-wit : "On 
or before the first day of August next I promise to pay 
Henry Buckentaff two hundred and thirteen and a half 
bushels of good dry salt, delivered in good barrels at 
Shawneetown, it being for value received. As witness my 
hand this 6th day of February, 1811, William Simpson, 
Test. Daniel Head." Then follows the indorsements "I 
assign the within note to Nathan Hern, without recourse, 
July 12, 1813, Henry Buckentaff, Test. William Daniels." 
Asignment two "I assign my right of the within note to 
John Venton without recourse, July 12, 1813, Nathan Hearn 
Test William Daniels." Third assignment, "I assign my 
right of the within note to John Stilty without recourse, 


September 21, 1813, John S. Venton." Since this note had 
done duty in so many hands perhaps it would be of interest 
to know that Simpson paid Buckentaff $174.00 and the cost 
of the suit, apparently salt was also legal tender. 

At the November term, 1814, John King and Williams 
Styles are required to answer to a charge ^ of treaspass at 
the complaint of Elisha Spivy who lost his horses and these 
men found them. He accuses them of selling his horses 
and knowing they were his. The jury that was called had 
John Teddford, S. Snyder, Jacob Hunsaker and John Wood- 
land, whose names have not been copied on jury service be- 
fore. The jury allowed Spivy $50.00 damages when he had 
sued for $1,000. The next is the cape of John Sharp and 
Joshua Talbot, administrators of Frederit k Crice. They 
brought suit against Catherin Crice. It wr>s a plea of debt 
for $370,961/2 and damages $150.00. Samuel Penroa was 
her bondsman, Russell E. Heacock, attorney for Sharp and 
Talbot entered a complaint stating that the said plaintiffs 
had obtained a judgment against the said Catherine Crice 
in Butler County Court, Kentucky for the sum of $360 at 
a court held before the judge of said county, August, 1813, 
by their Atty. John Brethell, which had never been satis- 
fied. The debt was originally $700. She had promised 
frequently to pay Frederick Crice which she failed to do. 
After his death she still promised to pay his administrators, 
but failing they brought suit for $700. In the November 
term, 1814, Catherine Crice appeared at Morgantown, But- 
ler County, and says "the action ought not to be as the 
estate owes her $400 for clothing, washing and lodging the 
infant children of the deceased." At a later court held in 
June. 1815 her attorney, Delaney, filed a claim as having 
paid the debt. This case was brought before a jury in 
Johnson County, Illinois, October, 1815. The debt was 
allowed and damages was $45.00. A writ was issued 
against Catherine Crice's property. The writ was returned, 
no property found, 'I. Morris, Dept for T. Furguson.' Cath- 
erine Crice was ordered put in jail September 15, at the 
instance of John Sharp and Frederick Talbot as adminis- 
trators of the estate of Frederice Crice. 

The following year Catherine Crice took advantage of 
the law of this state for debtors as referred to in "Customs" 
Daniel Groves, at this court brought suit against John 
Borin, and Thomas Littlepage for a judgment he had ob- 


tained in the Livingston County Court, Kentucky. Christ- 
phor Thompkins was his attorney. In 1807 a writ is issued 
against Thomas and Benjamin Littlepage in Livingston 
County Court, held at Russelville, Kentucky. Armstead 
Morehead, clerk, Wiley J. Earner, Sheriff, 1808. 

These cases came to our court for the reason that many 
of our settlers came from that state. William Eastin and 
Johnathan Magnus appear as contestants in the next case. 
A writ issued against Eastin from the state of Tennessee, 
requiring him to appear at a court held in Nashville, 1812. 
The administrators of Joseph Eubank's estate sued James 
Tolly and Charles Perry for debt. At a court in 1815 we 
first have the names of John Damron, John Witt is the com- 
plainant in this case, which is called "oraton." It appears 
the suit originated through a bill of sale of property that 
John Witt had made over to Nellie Witt, his wife, and six 
infant children. The case was continued at the October 
term, but the odd feature about it is, the number of the 
Perry family that are summoned to court. Wm. Perry, Sr., 
and Jr., John, Enoch, Hiram and Solomon Perry with John 
and George Damron. There is a case in the June term, 
1816, over a note given by Isaac Wilcox in 1810 to John 
Stead. James D. Johnson bought the note, then Russel E. 
Heacock bought it, and William Osborn was security for 
the cost, James S. Dorris signed the writ as sheriff of John- 
son County. James Malcom brought a suit in the Novem- 
ber term, 1816, trespass against Jesse Terry. The Jury 
was D. T. Coleman, Foreman, John Elkins, John Spann, 
John Tedforcl, Solomon Snyder, James Abernathy, John 
Wood, Jeremiah Murry, Thomas Prichard, Jacob Hunsaker 
and William Penny. In October, 1817 Squire Allen sued 
Jesse Parker for debt. At the May term of court, 1818, 
David Usher brought suit against several men whose names 
have already been mentioned for assault and battery. 
Thomas C. Brown held the November court, 1819, Samuel 
Langdon, assignee of James Frazer, suit vs. Wilcox. This 
record extends from October, 1814, to May, 1818, but the 
names occuring in the different cases are all familiar. 

There is and old execution docket in the circuit clerks 
office giving all the cases from January 1, 1818-28. On the 
inside cover of one of these old records is a note perhaps a 
joke, as there was no date, "On demand I promise to John 
Mclntyre, five good negro boys and farm S. C." Another 


entry that seems to have no connection with this county 
is, Augustine G. S. Wright, sub-agent lor the Fever River 
Lead Mines, Dodgeville, Joe Davis County, Illinois. Then 
follows the names, Gen. H. Dodge, and Col A. G. S. 
Wright. On this docket, November term 1820, it is re- 
corded that James Finney had been indicted for A. S. B. 
not being familiar with legal abreviations, on investigation, 
it was found to mean, assault and battery. Finney being 
an officer of the court, this was quite unexpected. He 
plead guilty and was fined twelve and one half cents. 

The grand jurymen for the October court, 1829, were 
Joseph Kuykendall, Foreman, John Bain, E. W. Campbell, 
Alvin Cross, Allen Choate, Isham DePoister, William Elkins 
Frederick Graves, Abraham McGowan, James Miles, George 
Lile, John Standard, William Taylor, Thomas Gore, Mar- 
shall Hale, and Josiah Raign. The first case is against 
Daniel Chapman, the next Archibald Goodman, Elias K. 
Cotton, John P. Finney, Jesse Canady. At the April term, 

1830, the names on this jury not mentioned before were 
John Axley, James Boswell, Hardy Cooper, Molton Carter, 
Harris Hart and John Goddard, T. C. Brown was the Judge 
and H. J. Eddy the attorney. Jesse Williams, Samuel Ox- 
ford, Jacob Kiester, and Henry McHenry were the defen- 
dants in this court. The. grand jury returned with two in- 
dictments. The unfamiliar names at the October term of 
court, 1830 were, jurymen Abraham Niel, Louis Pankey. 
Thomas Moore, Nathaniel Buckmaster, Rebeca Caswe 
were defendants in cases of this court. At the April term, 

1831, the new jurymen were James Gershon, B. S. Enloe, 
and David Harper. Fannie Holmes, Lot W. Hancock and 
William Lewis and some others who have been mentioned 
had cases in this court. April term, 1832, William Rich- 
ards, Moses Shelby, are the unfair names of jurymen. 
Mathew Blackwell, Peter May and Phillip Hargrave had 
cases in this court. At the April term, 1833, Stephen and 
Mark Rentfro, James Emerson, and Jeptha Wise are un- 
familiar Jurymen. John DeWit, Robert Fortenberry, 
Henry Tolson, Robert and John Diterline. P. W. Harring- 
ton, William Mathine, Ward and Ensminger, Jacob Gram- 
mer, Charlton Fairless, John L. Coper, Timothy Hayes. 
William Peterson, Warren Grisham, Solomon Gibson, John 
Betts, Sally Temple, Nancy Dyke, Jacob Sammon, were 
either plaintiffs or defendants at this court. Also the fol- 


lowing record: 'This day William Wiggs, a soldier of the 
Revolution, by James Evans, his attorney came into court 
and presented his declaration and affidavit with certificate 
and affidavits of Hezekiah West, James Jones, Sr., Clergy- 
man, and John Sims, certifying of their knowledge regard- 
ing his service and veracity and truth in order to entiile 
him to the benefit of the act of Congress of June 7, 1832, 
which is ordered to be certified, with county seal annexed." 
His pension was allowed. The next court was November, 
1833, G. W. Youngblood is the only grand juryman not 
mentioned before." Harry, a colored man, this day came 
into court. The said Harry, by hi? attorneys, Dougherty 
and Dunn, and moved the court to restrain Owen Evans, 
his supposed master, from removing him without the juris- 
diction of the court, "which motion is continued." "This 
day A. P. Field, Esq. came into court and moved the court 
for a rule upon the sheriff of Johnson County to show cause 
why he does not return to Owen Evans the property at- 
tached (a certain negro man) which had been attached as 
the property of the said Evans, in which attachment special 
bail had been filled which motion was continued." This 
shows how late slavery was permitted in this county and 
what liberties the owners took with their slaves. 

William Rinehard, John Collier, Jacob Wolfe, John T. 
Griffin, John Beattie, Sarah Craig, John Denison, were 
other names appearing at this court. The jurymen 
whoses names have not appeared before, for the Spring- 
term of 1834, were Ishmeai Veach, James Lasley, James 
McKee, Gabriel B. Sidwell and Isaac C. Kidd. The new 
contestants in suits were Samuel Grace, Jesse Grigsby, 
Jesse Pratt, Lucindy Webber, Elizabeth Davis and Thomas 
Hart. For the November term of this year the only jury- 
men not mentioned before was James Hitchcock. Dr. B. 
W. Brooks was the only new white client. William Boni- 
face and John Bannister, were colored men, who had been 
taken up as runaway slaves and served their term out as 
the law required, presented their certificates and were de- 
clared free. The case of Harry, a man of color vs. Owen 
Evans was continued. For the April term of 1835, the 
new grand jurymen were Thomas Pitt, Benton Modglin and 
James Holt. Joseph Young is recognized as an attorney at 
this court. Henry Williams, Elias Holmes, Casper Weaver 
and William Munsun had cases in this court. Owen Evans 


was acquitted in the case of Harry, the man of color. David 
Elms, John O'Linear, Beverly B. Parker, Jesse Pratt, A. 
M. Hicklin, Thomas Hall, Christopher Kelly, D. J. Tucker, 
Allen Pruet, Martin W. Dorris, and Pleasant Meadows were 
other people interested in this court. Heretofore Thomas 
C. Brown has held all the courts from 1829 to 1835. At 
October court, 1835, the Hon. Justin Harlin, is the Judge, 
Samuel Copeland is the clerk, and Benett Jones the sheriff. 
All the names of the grand jurors are familiar. The Dis- 
trict Atorney was John Dougherty, of Jonesboro, Illinois. 
William Howard, Reuben Wilson and Abraham Baker are 
new contestants in this court, also Joseph Williams a man 
of color, who presented his certificate from Ivy Reynolds, 
Coroner of the county, as having been dealt with as the 
law required of a runaway slave, and obtained his freedom. 
One other case pretaining to the heirs of Nathaniel Sidwell. 
The early courts opened at 8 A. M. 

At the May court, 1841, Judge Walter B. Scates was in 
charge. William McNickol, N. P. Cardwell and Samuel 
Short served on the Petit Jury. At the November term, 
same year, William Bullock, Levi Rice, John Carmichael 
and Zachariah McKee are new grand jurymen. The term 
of court held May, 1842 was under Judge Scates, with W. 
J. Allen as District Attorney. This is getting down to such 
a late date as to make the records modern. The county 
records are very complete from 1840. 


At a court held in 1827 Jacob Harvick was fined fifty 
cents for assault and battery. "Ordered that John Oliver 
be paid $2.50 for attending on the court two days and fur- 
nishing wood, "November term, 1820. " At the May term 
1825, the case of the People vs. William Russell, indictment 
for giving a challenge to fight a duel. The people were 
represented by Sidney Breeze and Russell was found guilty. 
Fee bills for a suit brought by Reynolds and Gray vs. W. 
B. Ward, June 1840, justice docket, I2V2C, summons 18 :>> |.c, 
judgment 25c, execution 25c, renewing execution 25c, miles 
six at five cents, 30c serving summons 25c, total cost of 
suit, $2.11%. 

Account of Thomas C. Paterson sheriff, 1815, debtor 
to James Finney 6214c to Dr. Davis for note $6.50, to cash 


lent William Peterson, $2.12 1 / <>. Some cases recorded 
.March term, 1814 Richard McBride vs. Elizabeth Keith, 
Arthur Love vs. Joshla and John Graves, 1815; Johnathan 
Clark vs. E. Russell and wife, 1825, State Bank of Illinois 
vs. Randolph Casey and Joshua Elkins, 1825, Daniel Chap 
man vs. Jesse Canady, 1823; Washington McFatridge vs. 
John Bain 1827 ; the people vs. Pleasant Ward, 1814, Will- 
iam Easton vs. John A. Magnus, Stephen Kuykendall, late 
of Center Township, had a case in court, 1815, Chas. Meek 
vs. Adam Harvick and Jesse Allen, 1815, King Hazel vs. 
Luke Williams, 1816, Elisha Reynolds and Thomas Little 
page vs. Hannah Borin, 1816, Peggy Taylor vs. Robert H. 
Loyd, Patsy Fisher and Owen Evans, administrators vs. 
John Hays, Martha McCall vs. Levi Graham, 1817, Sus- 
annah Latham vs. Alexander Beggs, 1820, Susannah Price 
and Joseph Palmer setled with the court 1820 as adminis- 
trators of the estate of Abram Price. Thomas C. Paterson 
was allowed $10.00 for Prosecuting Attorney for the past 
year at June court, 1816. Milton Ladd was ordered to lay 
off, under the direction of George Brazil, one half of the 
whole length of section 10, township 15, range 3 east, June 
1826. In 1823 James Copeland as sheriff was ordered by 
the court to purchase one half bushel, one gallon, one quart, 
and one half pint measures to be of the gage provided by 
an act of the General Assembly of the State. David J. 
Baker was allowed $30.00 in specie or $60.00 in state paper, 
for his services as prosecuting attorney in 1825. December 
term, 1825, Richard Elkins was made guardian for Ezekiel, 
Robinson and filed bond to give him a year's schooling and 
when twenty-one to give him a horse worth $50.00 or other 
property worth that much and one good suit of clothes, of 
domestic manufacture, 1825. Jasper and Elizabeth Mount 
had children, Thomas M., Nancy J., and Mathias. These 
children chose their mother as guardian, September, 1820, 
as their father had died. One of the first divorce cases is 
found in May court, 1818, Elizabeth vs. John Elkins. 

George Smiley makes application for a permit to keep 
tavern, March 12, 1814, Dishon, Givins & Co., Thursday 
entered with me for a license to vend merchandise, J. Fin- 
ney, January 29, 1814. Weir & Craig had a lawsuit against 
Samuel Simpson in a court held in 1813, David Elms was 
made guardian for the children of William Fisher, Levi 
and Williams, 1818. April 1828, the following order from 


the court, "that a tax of one-half percent be levied on the 
following kinds of property, to-wit, on town lots, slaves, re- 
quistion and indentured negroes or mulatto servants, pleas- 
ure carriages, distillers, stock-in-trade, horses, mares, mule^ 
asses, neat cattle above three years of age, and on water 
mills with their appendages, 

Grand jurors 1808, William Alexander, John Worley, 
James Henderson and William McLaughlin, Jacob Solomans 
Christphor Lore, John Henderson and Nathaniel Sidwell. 
Walter B. Scates presided at the Spring term, 1837. Jacob 
C. Kidd, Thomas Pitt and Amos V. Lasley were new jury- 
men. New men in court were Nathaniel Mullinax, Elisha 
Cowgill, James Teagnor, J. M. Webster. Jane Hill, Admin- 
istratrix of Curtis Hill. Sam Harrison, a man of color, was 
declared free by the court under the same law that Wash- 
ington Thompson had been freed the year before. There 
were several indictments against persons for keeping a 
tippling house open on the Sabbath day, another was fined 
for playing at dice on the Sabbath at this period it would 
be called "shooting craps." Joseph Strahl, Solomon Grace, 
James Emerson, Abel Ford, Peter Yokum, John Shinall, 
Francis Marberry, were new names appearing on the 1837 
court records. In 1838, we have the same judge and 
officers. The defendants were Watts and Franklin, W. B. 
Donaghy, John Mclntire, Wiley Wise, Wiley Simmons, 
Nathan Richardson, William Hooker. At the April term, 
1839, Abram, Nathan and Reuben, men of color, were in- 
dicted for some misdemeanor. John Copeland went on 
their bail. He was the owner of at least one of them, per- 
haps all. The indictment was quashed and they were dis- 
charged. There is also a case of slander, Thomas Johnson 
and wife vs. Cornelius Vanderbilt and wife, tradition says, 
this Vanderbilt family, who had a beautiful home and 
farm on the Ohio River opposite the Grand Chain, was a 
member of the famous Vanderbilt family of New York. 
In the November term of court of this year, Levi a man of 
color, appeared before the court and claimed freedom under 
the law, which was granted. The 1840 court shows some 
names not seen before, J. W. Corbin, Peter 0,Neal, Peter 
McMahan, J. A. Rhodes, Powell Towler, and J. W. McKee. 
Jndofe Sidney Breeze held the November term of court, 1840 
with W. H. Stickney, District Attorney. Levi Gifford, J. 
B. Spotts, Henry Freeman, J. K. Cheek, are connected with 


this court. John Fisher presented his bond of $10,000 as 
sheriff, with C. C. Latham, William Fisher, Burrell Ander- 
son, Berry Sexton and W. H. Graves as bondsman. 

Copied from the fee book of J. Finney Circuit Clerk, 
John Bowman Dr., to James Finny Cash: 1814 the amount 
of my fee in the case, $13.00; 1815, Capt. Daniel T. Cole- 
man Dr., to same cash lent, $5.00; 1817, July, lent Martin 
Harvick, $5.00; October, 1817 William Garner cash lent, 
$3.80, paid. Record and copy of deed, $2.50. 1817; 
Stephen Smith Dr., to James Finny M. $1.00, 3 letter post- 
age 68V2C paid. Hoseah Borin Dr., to two certificates and 
seals at 75 cents $1.50 postage on two letters 25c each. 50 
certificates and seal 75c. Postage on letters 12 1 /2 C , 87V2C, 
Benj. F. Conner Certificate 75c postage 37i/ 2 c, $1.12V 2 , 
October, 1817, Lieutent William Townsend ten dollars. To 
postage 28, $10.28, December, 1819, lent George Smily 50c. 
John Smith letters 50c, Peter Slark Dr., for postage 37V&C, 
Robert Hargrave Certificate 75c, John F. Smith, balance on 
letters of Administration, paid $2.50, October, 1819, John 
S. Graves to cash, one time $4.00, at another $3.00, to post- 
age on letter, 25c, $7.25 ; Milton Ladd postage on two letters 
50c, John Elkins Dr. To James Finny clerk, for making 
copv of record by order of his attorney, William Russell, 
1991 words at 12i/ 2 c for every 72— $3.40% Dr. Jacob 
Roberson, by order of his attorney William Russell Dr. To 
James Finny Clerk, for copy declaration 300 w r ords 51V2C, 
James Brown Dr. for postage 1 at 25c and 1 at 18 V2, John 
Bridges 1 at 25c, Simon Price 1 at 25c, Rice Sams 1 at 18%, 
Hosean Borin 2 letters 50c. January 7, 1817, Robert Hays 
Dr. To James Finny Clerk, for making complete record in 
the case of Patsy Fisher and Owen Evans vs. John Hays, 
appraiser, $4.80. James Silton 35c, 1818, July; William 
Lawrence, for two copies of deed 87 1 / ;>c. Record 1818. 
David Elms, for certificate and seal 75c, 1819, May 26, John 
Elkins Dr. To James Finny Clerk To copy, of an indict- 
ment 68c; July Isaac, D. Wilcox Dr. for 8 certificates and 
seals at 75c $6.00, "Squire Choat" tavern license, $5.00 paid. 


Daniel T. Coleman and Lucy Craft, 1820 ; John Tweedy 
married Mary Craft some time before 1825; Martin Har- 
vick married Nancy Fisher, 1821; Naman Martin married 
Temperance West Axley, 1825; Stanton Simpson married 


Nancy Higgins, 1831 ; in 1835 licenses were issued to James 
T. Collier and Parmelia Chapman; Thomas Mercer and 
Minerva Allen; John Cooper and Betsy Harrell; James H. 
Cooper, and Jane Elliot, John Allen and Mary Sarah Mer- 
cer, Gilbert H. Padget and Amanda Chapman; John Jones 
and Esther Carter, 1839; Washington Chapman and Cyn- 
thia Jobe, 1835; John S. Copeland and Ann Ward, 1835; 
Joshua S. Copeland and Elizabeth Axley, 1835; Issac S. 
Copeland and Eleanor Gore, 1835; Alfred Copeland and 
Agnes Phillips, 1841; James Mabrey and (Mrs) Elizabeth 
Copeland, 1841 ; Alfred Copeland and Katherine Elkins, 
1844; John A. Copeland and Cynthia A. Scroggins, 1857; 
John West and Nancy Ann Allen, 1859. James A. Mecalf 
married a daughter of N. 0. Gray. The Metcalfs resided in 
that section of the county that made Pulaski. 

Judging from court records Bennett Handcock married 
Mary Peterson, widow of Wm. Peterson, who had the infant 
children, Elizabeth, Joshua and Sally, and whose will was 
written, 1815. 

James Weaver married Mary, children, James, Sophia, 
Mariah; Mary widow of James Weaver married Thornton. 


Johnson County Territory was included in St. Clair, 
at its organization in 1790. Thomas Bradley was the first 
sheriff, William St. Clair is given as sheriff the same year. 
William Biggs was appointed coroner in 1790. Randolph 
County was formed in 1795, George Fisher, sheriff, 1801 
and James Edgar, 1805. Robert Moris and James Edgar 
served as clerks of Randolph County between the years 
1806 to 1808. Pierre Menard, George Fisher and James 
Finney were appointed Judges of the court of common 
pleas for Randolph County, 1806. E. Entsminger was 
deputy sheriff in 1809. John Bradshaw and John Phelps 
were appointed Justices of Peace in 1809. James Galbreth. 
sheriff 1809. Marvin Fuller, Nathan Davis, and J. B. Mur- 
ry were appointed J. P. for Randolph County in 1810. (This 
was copied from Randolph County records.) 

The County of Johnson was organized September 14, 
1812, and the following officers were appointed by the 
Governor: Thomas C. Patterson, sheriff; Thomas Furguson, 
Nathaniel Green, Judges of the court of common pleas and 


James Finney, clerk. Jessie Griggs, who lived in the 
Murphy sboro neighborhood, was appointed a Justice for 
this county, 1812. I. Weaver, who lived in Center Town- 
ship, Thomas Griffith and John Byers, who lived in the 
section that made Jackson County in 1816, were appointed 
Justices of the Peace in 1812. Henson Day and Thomas 
Green were appointed J. P. in 1813, and John Palmer, 
coroner. Archibald McAllister, coroner, 1814, George 
Hacker, Jessie Echols and George Hunsaker were J. P. in 
1814 and in the same year James Finny was appointed 
clerk of the Supreme Court ; Gilbert Marshall was appoint- 
ed surveyor. John Earthman was coroner in 1815. Will- 
iam M. Lammison, Joshua Davis, Vance Lusk, William 
Smith, James Bain, John Bowman and Thomas Lawrence 
were appointed J. P. in 1815. W r illiam Mears was appoint- 
ed District Attorney in 1813 and Thomas C. Brown to the 
same office in 1814. John Weldon was appointed J. P. in 

1816, he lived on the west side of the county which made 
Union when it was created. 

James Weaver, Benjamin Maneer, Hosea Borin, Will- 
iam Stiles, Irvin Morris, and Andrew Cochran were ap- 
pointed Justices for the County in 1816. Vance Lusk and 
James Whiteside, T. Lammison and James Fox lived in that 
section of Johnson that later became Pope County. In 

1817, the Governor appointed John Copeland, James Crunk, 
David Elms, John Whittiker, George Brown, Joseph Palmer 
Justices. John Hargraves, who lived in Union in 1818, sur- 

Commissioners 1818; Hezekiah West, 1821, William 
McFatridge, 1820, Joseph McCorcle, 1823, John Peterson, 
John Russell, 1824, Samuel Chapman and Lancaster Cox, 
1826; David Shearer, William B. Smith, Rix Carter and 
Carter Latham; 1840, Elijah Smith and Worthington 
Gibbs, 1837 ; Ivy Reynolds, 1853 ; B. S. and W. B. Smith, 
Marvel Scroggins, 1855 ; John Shadrick and John Simmons, 
1857; Branum Worrell, John Oliver and John N. Mozley, 
1857; J. S. Toler and H. S. Lawrence 1858; William 
Barnwell, 1861; Jason B. Smith, 1866; Mark Whiteaker, 
1886; John F. Casper, 1878; W. D. Deans and R. 
Brown, 1878; John F. Casper, 1878; W. D. Deans and R. 
W. Brown, 1879; T. J. McCormick; Lewis F. Walker, 1870; 
W. Y. Davis, 1872; T. M. Cavitt, 1884; Green R. Casey, 
1893. So far this list is incomplete, but from 1914 to 1924 


the list is correct. H. 0. Cavitt, J. L. Thornton, J. C. 
Carter, H. W. Emerson, William Nobles, J. W. Rushing, N. 
J. Mozley, J. C. Chapman, J. Wormack and Thomas Bal- 

Sheriffs, dating from 1815: Hamlet Furguson, James 
Davis, Irvin Morris, John Oliver, James Copeland, Samuel 
Copeland, John Fisher, Bennett Jones, R. D. Hight, Basil 
Gray, James M. Finney, D. C. Chapman, F. C. Kirkham, 
Lorenzy D. Craig, H. C. Carson, J. N. Mozley, William 
Perkins, A. J. Gray, J. H. Carter, W. C. Allen, Mark Whit- 
teaker, L. H. Frizzell, R. R. Ridenhower, James F. White- 
head, M. A. Hankins, John L. Veach, J. P. Mathis and T. 
C. Taylor, who is the present incumbent. 

County Judges: A. J. Kuykendall, 1837; T. C. Brown, 
1878; C. N. Damron, 1879; P. T. Chapman, 1882; T. J. 
Murry, 1890; 0. R. Morgan, 1898; W. Y. Smith, 1900; W. 
A. Spann, 1906; J. F. Hight, 1914; J. 0. Cowan, 1918. 

County Clerks : James Finney was appointed 1812. No 
other name is found as clerk until Samuel Copeland's name 
appears 1834; D. Y. Bridges, 1834; I. N. Pearch, 1848; W. 
J. Gibbs, 1857; B. S. Smith, 1861; W. W. Boyt, 1873; F. M. 
Jones, 1877; J. W. Gore, 1886; W. H. Thomas, 1890; 
Thomas, M. Gore, 1894; I. L. Morgan, 1902; E. F. Throg- 
morton, 1906, and he has held the office continuously since. 

County Superintendents of Schools. The first superin- 
tendent coming under the 1855 law, was William Culver, 
J. S. Whittenberg, R. M. Fisher, Thomas G. Farris, P. T. 
Chapman, W. Y. Smith, M. T. Van Cleve, Sara J. White, 
berg, W. M. Grissom, Emma Rebman, E. W. Sutton, F. E. 

Circuit clerk: The first persons to hold this office 
were S. C. Rentfro, 1831 and John Dun, 1834. They were 
called "recorder of deeds." In 1864, J. S. Crum was elected 
J. W. Gore, 1876, J. S. Francis, 1880, F. B. Thacker, 1888, 
L. J. Smith, 1892. C. W. Mills; 1904, Grant McFatridge, 
1908, John W. Carlton, 1916. 

County Surveyor: Gilbert Marshall, 1815; Milton Ladd 
1820; L. W. Fern, 1855; H. M. Ridenhower, 1865; Joshua 
J. Scott, Charles W. McCoy, 1871; W. B. Lewis, W T . C. 
Watson, 1907; Clint Hunt, 1916. Charles Hook was the 
first county supervisor of roads, 1914; John Sharp and 
Almus Ragsdale. The latter is filling the position at pres- 
ent, 1924, John Sharp, surveyor, 1924. 


States Attorney: The first States Attorney was C. N. 
Damron, elected in 1874, A. G. Damron, 1878, Dick Fisher, 
1882; G. B. Gillespie, 1886; D. J. Cowan, 1900; T. H. 
Sheridan, 1908; H. A. Spann, 1912; 0. R. Morgan, 1916; 
C. J. Huffman, 1920; O. R. Morgan, 1924. 

Assessor and Treasurer: Blewitt Bain, 1854 and suc- 
cessively, B. S. Smith, G. P. Finney, John Slack, Joel Du- 
Bois, Owen G. Peterson, William B. Pearce, F. B. Thacker, 
John S. Bridges, T. B. Reynolds, I. N. Elkins, J. F. White- 
head, G. H. Huffman, H. V. Carter, W. F. Marberry, 
Charles Peterson and Paul E. Phelps. 


There are nine townships in Johnson County, namely 
Goreville, Elvira, Cache, Tunnel Hill, Bloomfield, Vienna, 
Burnside, Simpson and Grantsburg. 

Goreville is in the north west corner of the county and 
was settled by the Gores, Adams, Barnards, Carrol Craigs, 
Dunns, Kelleys, Newtons, Walkers, Stanleys, Ridenhowers 
and Parrishes. Madison Parrish was a Justice of the Peace 
for many years and served as an associate of the county. 
G. P. and West Sullivan were settlers of this township be- 
fore the Civil War. They were educated men and G. P. did 
what one would call a country lawyer's business, such as 
writing wills, filling out papers and justice work. His 
children were Marcellus, (called Bud) Lycurgus, Rhoda 
and Mathilda. West was a teacher, and had one daughter 
who married a Mr. Russell. The Sullivans were from the 
South and Democrats in politics and Goreville Township 
is still the stronghold of that party in our county. A few of 
the farmers living there at present are: J. M. Francis, A. 
M. Smith, W. P. Gore, J. A. Carlton, J. N. Maze, M. M. 
Pickles, D. A. Stone, John A. Vancil, Charles Patrick, J. 
H. Hudgens, Benjamin Johnson and T. C. Crawford. Gore- 
ville is the principal town. 

Elvira lies south of Goreville and borders Union Coun- 
ty on the west. The first settlers here were Worleys, Little- 
tons, Elkins, Stokes, Graves, Barnetts, Morrises, Mangums 
and a little later the Pearces, Ragsdales, Suits and Browns. 
Among the farmers of this section today are : J. K. Elkins,. 
J. B. Suit, Dr. Charles Nobles, Dr. W. P. Robertson, J. C. 
Grinnell, John W. Gocldard, F. M. Hunsaker, George John- 
son, Melvin Jones, Claude Beggs, E. L. Ragsdale, Ad and 
Sherman Smith, George M. Mozley, L. F. Poor and Charles 


Truelove. Buncombe is the main village and Pleasant 
Grove Center is situated in this township. 

Cache joins Elvira on the south and its southern 
boundary is formed by Cache river. It was settled almost 
as early as Elvira by the West. Carter, Mercer, Peterson, 
Axley, Gore and Bridges families some of whom were as 
early as 1810. The Peeler, Martin, Casper, Wilhelm fam- 
ilies came about the fifties. Cypress and Belknap are the 
main towns of this division and a few of the good farmers 
are L. A. Mulkey, J. C. Carter, J. L. Beanard, W. J. Jones, 
Frank Capron, L. S. Beggs, P. T. Chapman, J. M. Brown, 
D. C. Casper, W. 0. Peeler, Frank Penrod, Lee Moak, 
Charles Marshall and Mrs. Sabine Mason. 

Tunnel Hill is on the northern border of the county 
and just east of Goreville. It has Tunnel Hill for its main 
village, and its first settlers were Choats, Goddards, Hobbs, 
Whiteheads, Kuykendalls, Cavitts, Bradleys, McMahans and 
Mitchell Webb who was the founder of a large family. 
Andrew Kelley, a man held in high esteem by his neighbors, 
Joseph was the head of the Smith family. His children 
were William, Joseph, Isaac, Richard, Mathilda and Hiram. 
Most of these families with the Vinsons and Simmons are 
members of the church of the Latter Day Saints. When 
this church was broken up at Nauvoo, Illinois, these fam- 
ilies located in this township. They have intermarried so 
that their descendants are most all related. Other families 
settling here about the fifties, were John Ridenhower, 
Felix Boyt, Burkalows, Carsons and the D. C. Chapmans. 
Some of the present residents are G. H. McMahan, Guy 
Beauman, A. G. Benson, J. B. Cavitt, the family of the late 
A. N. Webb, Isiah Lowery, J. L. Mohler, and David 
Cover, Jr. The Centralia Fruit and Orchard Co., is located 
in this township. 

Bloomfield lies almost in the center of the county and 
was a part of Cache Township when it was organized. It 
was settled by the Caseys, Harvicks, McFatridges, Thac- 
kers, Bains, Daniel Chapman, Sr., Taylors, Finneys, Odoms 
and Petersons. Bloomfield is the name of the largest town. 
Farmers living there now are J. S. Plater, J. N. Benson, I. 
N. Davies, John Taylor, 0. W. Ruppert, George W. Mathis, 
T. F. Travis, L. J. Smith, J. M. Brown, and the Shetlers. 

Vienna lies south of Bloomfield. The families of James 
Bain, Mathew Mathis, Henry Beggs, John Oliver, James 


Jones, Samuel Chapman, James and J. L. Hogg, Jackson 
Simpson, David Shearer and Thos. Johnson were the first 
residents. A few years later came the families of Dr. Dam- 
ron, A. J. Kuykendall, Redden, Henry, Burnett, John Bain, 
Farris, Donaghy and Hight. Vienna is the seat of justice 
and the principal town of the county. It is situated in the 
northwest part, in section 5. West Vienna and Foreman 
are other villages in the township. Some of the progressive 
farmers are J. C. Johns, L. T. Farris, J. L. Lindsey, John 
Dunn, D. W. Mathis, Milo Clanahan, J. W. Shinn, A. Hook, 
R. R. Ridenhower, J. M. Farris, T. J. Cowan, Jr. H. L. 
Bridges, J. C. Chapman and A. E. McKenzie. 

Burnside is located in the north east corner of 
the county. The Harper, Choate, Lawrence, Howerton, 
Damion, Gill, Whiteaker, Burton, Ballance families were 
a few of the early settlers of this township. It is known 
as the fruit growing section and some of the residents and 
farmers are J. C. B. and J. W. Heaton, F. B. Hinds, Nor- 
man W. Casper, J. W. Choat, G. W. Murphy, J. W. Rush- 
ing, J. M. Safford, and J. R. Chester. New Burnside and 
Ozark are the villages of this township. 

Simpson is south of New Burnside and borders Pope 
County on the east, it had its first settler in 1805, William 
Simpson, from whom it took its name. Other early settlers 
were McKees, Veaches, Barnwells, Whitesides, Kerley, 
Keltners, Scotts, Simmons, Murrays and Mounts. Simpson 
is a thriving villiage of this section. Some of the farmers 
and fruit growers are : T. B. Murray, T. B. Mount, J. W. 
Reynolds, T. B. Kerley, W. H. Grissom, J. H. Taylor, C. W. 
and Otto Murrie and J. L. Thomas. 

Grantsburg corners with Massac and Pope Counties 
on the south east. Some of the first settlers here were: 
Walkers, Pors, Cummins, Marberys, Helms, J. B. Smith, 
Green B. Veach, Pleasant Rose, Sr., Grissoms, Modglins, 
Bowmans, Bains, Pearces, Fishers and Allen Jones. Wart- 
race, New Grantsburg and Ganntown are the principal 
centers and some present farmers are ; E. E. Farquahar, F. 
M. Simmons, J. D. Wormack, W. J. Miller, E. E. Morgan, 
Otis Nelson, W. F. Hight, Charles Shelton, Delaskey 
Walker, E. E. Trovillion, L. P. Morris, C. H. Gray, Pleas- 
ant Rose, W. P. Walker and John Hand. 



The towns or settlements located on the Ohio River 
within the original bounds of Johnson County were: Ft. 
Massac (see Clark's Trail), Wilkinsonville, Napoleon, Cale- 
donia, Trinity and America. 

Wilkinsonville, Reynolds says in his history written 
1825 "General Wilkinson, who was a British Governor of 
the northwest territory, appointed in 1769, built canton- 
ment Wilkinson." In the History of Union, Pulaski 
and Alexander Counties, quoted from Bradley, "General 
Wilkinson ascended the Ohio River about the close of the 
war of 1812, to the head of the Grand Chain, with a large 
body of troops, and built expensive barracks. When the 
troops were removed, it fell into decay and there is nothing 
left but graves to designate the place." Which statement 
is correct one cannot say. There is a plausible reason 
why the fort might have been built, if it had been 1806 or 
1807, as General Wilkinson of the United States Army was 
understood to be connected with Burr's conspiracy and this 
fort would have been useful if Burr's plan had carried. 

Joshua Copeland, born 1812, and whose father lived 
near the site of this old fort said, he remembered the drill 
grounds as a boy, but the buildings had all fallen into decay, 
which could hardly have happened if they had been con- 
structed in 1812. Victor Collet, a Frenchman in his "Notes 
on a Journey in North America" describes Wilkinson as 
follows: "Wilkinsonville was about half way between Ft. 
Massac and the mouth of the Ohio. It stands upon a beau- 
tiful savannah of one hundred acres sixty or seventy feet 
above the river. It is a place of little or no trade and has 
sensibly declined since it lost the patronage of a govern- 
ment garrison." 

Eli Clemson, father of James Y., was said to have 
been one of the founders of the town of Napoleon, not a 
vestige of which remains to tell where it stood. James Y. 
had a beautiful home and farm on the Ohio River just above 
old Caledonia the latter part of 1800. 

Caledonia was known as the Block House before 1817. 
There is some tradition about the remains of an ancient cir- 
cular fort or enclosure, with openings on two or more 
sides, on the site of or near old Caledonia. Those describ- 
ing it say in the early part of the 19th century there were 


large trees growing on the top of this wall, or mound, but 
if there are any remains of this fort at present they are 
invisible and no one living knows of such a place. Caledonia 
was at one time a very thriving town, being the seat of 
justice for Pulaski County, but when the county seat was 
moved to Mound City and the Big Four Railroad was built, 
Olmstead the station nearest Caledonia absorbed the popula- 

Trinity was built at the mouth of Cache River "and 
founded in 1817 by James Riddle, Henry Bechtle, Thomas 
Slough of Cincinati, and Steven and Henry Rector of St. 
Louis. Dr. William Alexander and John Dougherty were 
their agents. In 1822, several buildings were erected, a 
first class store, a warehouse, a fine dwelling and tavern, 
including a billiard room. It continued to thrive for some 
time but a greater part of it was destroyed by fire in 1831. 
Captain Webb estimated his loss at $50,000. It was finally 
abandoned about 1835. 

America was founded about 1821, a short distance 
from Trinity but was soon abandoned. But when the Big- 
Four Railroad was built the station near its site took the 
name of America. 

Tradition says the Russell settlement was located 11 or 
12 miles north of where America is now, on Cache in 1812. 
Obidiah Russell had a ferry and mill on Cache in Johnson 
County in 1816 and this was probably the Russell settle- 
ment. Hues had a mill in the county in 1816 which tradi- 
ment. Hughes had o mill in the county in 1816 which tradi- 


Elvira is only a neighborhood at present of about three 
or four farmhouses, and has not even a postoffice. It is 
situated northwest of Vienna, about ten miles, near Lick 
Creek, and the original town was settled about 1806. John 
Bradshaw and Isaac Worley were some of the early resi- 
dents. Jacob Littleton was licensed to keep tavern there in 
1818. It was made the county seat of Johnson at its organ- 
ization, 1812, and our first courts were held there. Peck 
tells us that it had thirty or forty inhabitants in 1837 and 
evidently did not lose all its population and business at the 
time the county seat was moved to Vienna. The location 
of the first court house erected there more than one hundred 


years ago can be plainly seen and the building, judging 
from the foundation was about thirty-five by twenty feet, 
built of hewed logs and had a large fireplace in each end. 
The foundation rocks for the chimneys are still in place, 
although a little ways under ground as this site is now in 
a cultivated field, but the roadway that ran through the 
town is still visible. The arch rock of one of these old 
fireplaces is used by a neighbor as a doorstep. The Daniel 
Chapman Chapter, Daughters of American Revolution of 
Vienna, have a bronze tablet to mark this old site. The 
nearby spring that supplied the residents, judges and 
lawyers, who frequented old Elvira more than a century 
ago, still sends its thirst-quenching stream, as freely to us 
now as John Bradshaw, Isaac and John Worley, Jane 
Morris, our first lady retail liquor dealer and all the eminent 
men who visited there. "Men may come and men may go, 
but it flows on forever. ,, 


This was at one time, possibly about the latter part 
of the fifties, a flourishing inland village in Burnside town- 
ship. It was one of the oldest community centers in the 
county and was first called Cross Roads. It was built on 
the farm of Wesley Reynolds, and a post office was estab- 
lished there which was kept by Mr. Reynolds, who also 
operated a large general store. The place took its name 
from the Reynolds family and the widow of T. B. Reynolds, 
son of Wesley, still resides on this farm. One of the oldest 
churches of the county is located at this place. T. J. Cook 
had a store there about 1860 and F. M. McGee another a 
little later. John Dupont operated a grain mill there and 
Charles A. McCoy was another old resident. Dr. Josiah 
Whitnel, who lived near, was the neighborhood physican, 
practicing there, throughout his professional life. The 
Reynoldsburg Masonic Lodge was organized in 1865, the 
(see Tunnel Hill.) When the Big Four Railroad 
was built the neighboring towns absorbed the business and 
population of Reynoldsburg, and there is nothing remaining 
of this once busy little place but the old church, which is 
situated on a hill with one of those wonderful views of 
which Johnson County has so many. 


Goreville has been a voting and trading place since 


before the sixties. John Gore settled there about 1850, and 
carried on a general store during his life. A postoffice was 
established soon after the Civil War and was named in 
honor of Mr. Gore. His first residence was a log house and 
is still standing although enclosed with weather boarding. 
Mr. Gore belonged to one of the oldest families of the coun- 
ty. As early as 1875 there was a store, a blacksmith shop ; 
a postoffice and two or three dwellings, all stood on the 
lett side of the road going north. Among the dwellings 
was the present residence of Mrs. Mattie Jones, (daughter 
of John Gore) and built by him. New Goreville is a short 
distance north of this old town, built in 1899 on the farms 
of Joel Hubbard and Mike Jones. Some of the founders 
were Ed. Hicks, Ebert Thulen, T. A. Bradley, J. U. S., 
Henry, John and William Terry, Isaac Simmons, Newlin 
and Hudgens. There is a tall frame building about midway 
between the site of the old village and the new. It was 
built soon after the Civil War, and is known as The Hall. 
The upper story is a Masonic hall and the lower one is 
used by different denominations for church service. J. H. 
Morphis, a Presbyterian minister says he preached there in 
1875 and that they used candles to light the church. The 
Goreville Masonic Lodge is quite an old institution and was 
first held in the upper story of the residence of Dr. Tine 
Whitnel, where Charles Calhoun now lives, directly across 
the railroad from the new town. The new village was in- 
corporated in 1900. The population then was 406, 1910, 
554; 1920, 700. It had a very destructive fire in 1907. 
Goreville has maintained a weekly newspaper for a time 
at different periods, the history of which is found under 
"The Press." The First National Bank of Goreville was 
organized in 1905, with T. A. Bradley, president, M. M. 
Pickles, Vice-President, R. A. Parks, cashier. J. B. Hud- 
gens was later made cashier and has filled this position for 
a number of years. The Citizens State Bank was opened 
there in 1917 by G. H. McMahan, with Evertt McMahan as 
cashier. John Grissom is now president, M. M. Terry, cash- 
ier. History of Goreville could scarcely be written without 
mentioning John H. Jones, as he was a resident in the 
vicinity for more than fifty years. Thomas M. Jones, a 
prominent educator of the county and a descendant of one 
of the oldest families, has been identified with the village 
in several ways, and resides in the community. At a pa- 
troitic day held at Goreville, June 5th, 1917, there was dis- 


played an old flag, which had belonged to John A. Logan's 
regiment, the 31 Illinois Volunteer. The flag was carried 
by John Burlison, who had borne it during the war. There 
is a modern brick school building where the two first years 
of high school are taught in connection with the grades. 
They have two church buildings, Methodist and Baptist, ten 
stores, two restaurants, with seven or eight brick business 
buildings, two grist mills, an elevator, a lumber yard, three 
garages, and three blacksmith shops. It is situated near 
the center of Goreville township and northwest of Vienna, 
about twelve miles, the second largest town in the count3 r . 

The Nipper and Gould, American Legion Post of Gore- 
ville, was organized in 1920. It was named in honor of Ray 
Nipper and Harvey Gould. The first commander was R. 
E. Wiggins, and M. M. Terry the first Adjutant. The 
charter members were: R. E. Wiggins, R. G. Benson, E. Y. 
Smith, M. M. Terry, J. C. Rushing, Jake and Henry Prit- 
chet, Lawrence Chamness, Iva 0. Toler, John Royster, 
Frank Stevens, Everett and Harry Thornton, Clifford Webb 
Thomas Peterson, Oscar Walker. This Post has a member- 
ship of seventeen. 


This progresive little town was named for Buncombe 
County, North Carolina, the name tradition says, was sug- 
gested by Levi Casey, a resident of the neighborhood, who 
had emigrated from that county and state. It was for 
many years an inland place with a post office, a store and 
a blacksmith shop, and the ever necessary country doctor. 
Caesar Cohn was one of the first merchants of this town, 
who later moved to Vienna. When the Chicago and Eastern 
Illinois railroad was built through the county it came 
direct to this location. Buncombe has grown into a popu- 
lation of about 400, in thirty-five years, and was incorp- 
orated into a village in 1916. It has one bank, with Calvin 
Mathis as cashier, seven merchants, two churches, a mill, 
and automobile sales store, a standard public school, with 
two years of high school and about a half mile of as fine 
hard road as one can find. It is about six miles northwest 
of Vienna and was built on the farm of W. J. Suit. W. J. 
and J. B. Suit and T. Proctor were some of the founders. 
The Buncombe mill and Elevator Co., was composed of J. 
J. Robertson, J. B. Suit, J. K. Elkins and other substantial 


farmers, who built a mill and elevator there in 1905. This 
is now owned and operated by F. S. Kuykendall (recently 
sold to a Mr. Williams.) 


Wartrace is a small inland community about six miles 
east of Vienna. It was first called Grantsburg and is still 
known as old Grantsburg. S. D. Poor was a merchant there 
for many years and was in reality its founder. W. J. Fern 
was physician there in the sixties and Dr. Lewis Walker 
was a resident physician there throughout his life where 
his widow still resides. When the Illinois Central Railroad 
was built it missed this place and the new town built on 
the railroad took the name of New Grantsburg and in look- 
ing around for a name for this place it is said to have 
taken its new name from the hanging of a horse thief by 
the farmers of that section. Soon after the w T ar a bush- 
whacker came across the river stole a horse and killed the 
owner. He was hung by a mob. The inhabitants hoped 
this would be the last trace of war in that section, and it 
was. It has about 25 inhabitants. 


Tunnel Hill is a village at the head of a short tunnel on 
the Rig Four Railroad, and was settled at the time the road 
was built. Captain J. B. Gillespie was a resident there in 
1871. Dr. N. M. Hudson and brother owned a drug store 
there and Dr. Hudson practiced medicine there about that 
time. Sylvester Whitehead and J. F. Graham were in busi- 
ness there about 1873. D. F. Beauman of the firm of Beau- 
man and Bunn located there about the same year. Dr. W. 
J. Fern was also an early resident. Abram Cover came 
there from Union County and built a flour mill some time 
in the 70\s. The Nipper family first resided at Sanborn, 
but later moved to Tunnel Hill. The Reynoldsburg Masonic 
Lodge No. 419 was organized at Cedar Creek church 1865, 
the charter members were; L. D. Fern, James Whitehead, 
Mike Emory, Josiah Whitnel and Lewis Yandell. This 
lodge was moved to Sanborn in 1875 and in the following 
year to Tunnel Hill, where it continues to thrive with a 
membership of thirty-seven. The business men of Tunnel 
Hill at present are: Robert Gilliam, D. E. Vurbel, S. H. 
Taylor. At present it has one restaurant, two churches, a 


grade school and population of about 200. It is surrounded 
by tine orchards and good farmers. 

Sanborn was a place of some business and a small 
population but has declined to two or three residences. 


New Burnside is situated in Burnside Township in the 
north east corner of the county on the Big Four Railroad. 
It was laid out in 1872 from the farms of Newell Phillips 
and Thomas McMichael, Sr, and is named in honor of Gen- 
eral Burnside of Civil War fame, who was president of the 
Cairo and Vincennes R. R. Company which constructed 
this road, and at the suggestion of Capt. Mark Whiteaker. 
The reason for the sudden development of this town was the 
discovery of coal at this place by George H. Huffman while 
digging out a spring in the year 1875. The mine was 
worked a short time by Huffman and James A. Smith, but 
later leased to Captain James A. Vial, in 1877 who worked 
the mine in paying quantities for about four or five years. 
The demand for coal in this section at that time was not 
so great as now and the usual shipments did not exceed 
twelve car loads per day, although the capacity of the mine 
was much greater. This coal was not of the highest grade, 
and after the discovery of the fine veins of coal at Harris- 
burg and the financial failure of the operator, this mine was 
abandoned, except for a little digging for local use. 

J. F. Gray built the first residence on the site of G. W. 
Lauderdale's home, the first store building and opened the 
first store. Dr. W. R. Mizell was the first physican there 
and built the second residence, where he still resides. There 
were at one time, twenty business house in Burnside 
Among the men conducting businesses then were: F. M. 
McGee, David Shearer, T. A. Edmondson, John Caldwell, 
P. W. Redden, J. B. Gillespie, Beese Trammel, Will and 
Dave Harris ; John DuPont built and operated a large flour- 
ing mill ; James W. Heaton, Sr., Joseph and Albert Dugger, 
William Donahue, F. M. Jones and Robert Branum. Thomas 
M. son of F. M. and Ann Jones was the first child born in 
the town. 

There were three churches, Methodist, Christian and 
Baptist erected in 1876, and a Catholic church built some 
time later. 


The town was at its height in 1878-9. The population 
reached 1,200 and in 1883 still had 1,000 inhabitants. TTie 
mine store did a $35,000 business in 1880. Burnside began 
to decline in 1881 and by 1907 the number of residents had 
fallen to 400. At present there is a population of about 
350, and seven stores. The first bank of the county was 
organized at this place about 1879, but was later moved to 
Vienna. There has never been any colored people in the 
town, nor a licensed saloon. In 1903, there were thirty-one 
pensioners of the Civil War, living in and near New Burn- 
side, demonstrating that this locality had few slackers dur- 
ing one of the critical periods of our country's history. 
Since its settlement there has always been some fruit grown 
around New Burnside, but it was not until 1890 that the 
orchard business began to increase and by 1905 it had be- 
come the principal business. A local in the county paper 
in 1895 says, "There is about $600 paid out every week for 
green apples at New Burnside," 

A. M. Thompson, who was sent out by the Horticul- 
tural Dept., Washington, D. C, stated in his report of 1917 
that New Burnside was the largest shipping point for early 
apples that he found in the United States. 

New Burnside Lodge A. F. and A. M. No. 772 was 
chartered in 1884 with Mark Whiteaker as Master, James 
W. Hood as Sr. Warden and James A. Smith, Jr. Warden. 
Other charter members were : W. R. Mizell, J. A. and W. H. 
Whiteaker, W. F. Morris, J F. Casper, J. F. Gray, J. M. 
Beggs, T. A. Edmondson, W. VanCleve, F. M. McGee, J. 
M. and W. L. Keltner, O. J. and R. M. Wise, W. R. Little, 
J. F. Graham, J. B. Gillespie, W. J. Haley, J. C. Cadwell, G. 
W. Smoot, D. J. Wallace, J. M. Wright, J. H. Clymoore, H. 
S. Parsons, B. Belford, W. B. Lewis, J. N. Berry, John Du- 
pont, B. F. Neeley and J. F. Blanchard. 

The I. O. O. F. Lodge No. 625 was organized 1876 with 
the following members ; James L. Furguson, D. E. Shearer, 
S. C. Bradford, Mark Whiteaker, Thomas M. Cavitt, Robert 
H. Wise, W. H. McKinney, James M. Wright, W. P. Throg- 
morton, and Amos Burns, who is the only member now 
living in Burnside. 

The Rebeckah Lodge, 121, was organized in 1883 with 
the following members : John Dupont and wife, D. C. Cope- 
land and wife, W. R. Rodman and wife, T. F. Waters and 


wife, John M. Keltner and wife, J. N. Berry and wife, 
James L. Furguson and wife and Albert Dugger and wife. 
Mrs. Dona Berry is the only one of the charter members 
retaining her membership in this lodge. It now has a 
membership of sixty-three. 

The William Lawrence Post 794, G. A. R., was organ- 
ized in May, 1900, with sixty members. In 1923 it has de- 
creased in membership to seven. F. M. Taylor, J. A. Rus- 
sell, J. J. Simpson Dr. W. R. Mizell, S. P. Snyder, William 
Killgore and H. C. Laybourn. The charter has since been 
given up. 

New Burnside has the distinction of having a resident 
who has not missed attending a Sunday School in thirty- 
two years, Mr. H. C. Laybourn. (Since died.) 


Belknap like most of the other towns of our county 
sprang up with the building of the Big Four Railroad, per- 
haps a little later than those north of it. It is situated in 
the southern extension of Cache Township and near the 
Massac and Pulaski county lines. John Shadrick, W. D. 
Deans and J. P. West were possibly the first merchants 
there, established about 1874. W. L. Williams opened a 
store there in 1876 and has no doubt been a resident and 
business man there longer than any other person. There 
were several saw mills in and near the town in its early 
settlement. George Morgan operated a saw mill there in 
1875. W. L. Williams and W. D. Deans built a flour mill in 
Belknap in 1877. Since the timber has been cleared and 
wheat is raised in such small quantities saw and flour mills 
are no longer profitable. W. P. Brown, L. L. Oglesby and 
J. C. DeWitt were business men in Belknap in 1881. James 
R. Evers was a resident there in 1889, also W. L. Currey, 
W. B. Carter and W. A. Burns. In 1900 Belknap had a pop- 
ulation of 500. O. P. Martin was the doctor for Belknap 
and the surounding country for many years. Other phy- 
scians located there, remained a short time, and moved 
elsewhere, but Dr. Martin was a part of Belknap. There 
are at present six stores, two restaurants, four churches, 
namely, Christian, Methodist, Baptist and Pentacostal ; one 
modern brick school building in which the grades and two 
years high school are taught. The present population of 
this village is 400. 


The Charcoal Chemical Co., is situated within a short 
distance of the town and operated by Berger Brothers of 


This miniature city is situated about ten miles east of 
Vienna, on the Illinois Central Railroad. It was built on 
the farm of J. M. Simpson in 1888, and took its name 
from the Simpson family which was without doubt one of 
the first to come to this county. Some of the founders of 
this thriving little place, were Thomas Veach, Dr. J. T. 
Looney Thomas W. and Frank M. Jones, Benjamin Will- 
iams, J. W. Browning, John Whiteside, John L. Mount, W. 
E. Jenkins, Dr. T. B. Kerley, L. H. and Authur Compton. 
A bank was organized in Simpson in 1910, with J. E. Can- 
as president and Charles W. Lancaster as cashier. This 
bank was sold and in 1919 the State Bank of Simpson was 
organized with T. B. and D. R. Kerley and J. W. Reynolds 
as promoters. There was a fine, small flour mill which was 
built in 1890 and operated by J. B. Kuykendall and J. F. 
Wright. It was called the Daisy Roller Mill. It burned 
1917. Simpson was incorporated as a village in 1893, and 
had a population in 1900 of 187. In 1910 it had reached 
200, and now has 171 inhabitants. They have one church, 
Baptist in denomination, one hotel, five stores, a Ford Sales 
store and garage, and J. W. Reynolds has operated a monu- 
ment factory there since 1890. 


Cypress is a neat and thriving village situated on the 
Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad, about seven miles 
southwest of Vienna, in the heart of the best farming coun- 
try in the county. It was built on a portion of J. H. 
Lowery's farm, and began to develop about 1898. Lincoln 
Green Post Office which had been established near this 
place many years ago, and was first called Gray's Mill, was 
moved to Cypress. The town probably took its name from 
the tall cypress trees that grew near it in Cache bottom. 
It was the home of William Whitemore, Sr., who was a 
prominent citizen here during the Civil War. The popula- 
tion is about 500. There are many pretty homes in Cy- 
press. They have two physicians, Dr. William Thompson 
and Dr. P. W. Rose, one bank, Farmers and Merchants 


State, which was organized in 1908. They also have a 
splendid school with a two year high school course, housed 
in a modern brick building, one lumber yard, two churches, 
two hotels, several stores and restaurants. This is the 
junction of the Joppa Branch with the main line of Chicago 
and Eastern Illinois rail road. 


Reevesville takes its name from W. and A. Reeves, who 
were first to see the possibility -of a town at this place. 
They built a box house there about 1888 and opened a dry 
goods store. They were instrumental in having the town 
platted. It was called Wellington in the beginning, but 
Reevesville being the name of the Post office, the town fin- 
ally became Reevesville too. Reeves Brothers also operated 
a saw mill there for several years In the year 1890 
it had a population of 100. It is located on the Illinois 
Central railroad in the southeast section of the county and 
is the junction of the Golconda branch with the Paducah 
Division of this railros d. 


Ozark is a small village in Burnside Township, located 
on the Illinois Central Railroad, and was founded about 
1888. Some of its first settlers and business men were F. 
M. Barnwell, M. M. Sullins, Rev. J. L. Morton was the first 
Postmaster and James Haley was the village blacksmith. 
Hopewell Baptist Church was moved there in 1891 and is 
now known as the First Baptist Church of Ozark. It is 
not incorporated and has a population of about 125. Some 
of the present merchants are Dewey McCormick, J. W. 
Harper & Son, Green Sullins, J. R. Barker, C. C. Sullins 
and Walter Keener. The Bank of Ozark was organized in 
1921 with Green Sullins, J. W. Burnett, W. S. Brim, L. M. 
Smith, Otto E. Stout, C. P. 0,Neal, R. F. Taylor, J. R. 
Barker, J. W. Rushing as promoters and J. O. Moore as 
cashier. Ozark is one of the main shipping points for fruit 
in this county, the Fruit Growers Co-Operative Warehouse 
is located here. 


This little village is one of the oldest in the county 
having been a post office as early as 1819. The first post 


master there was S. J. Chapman, who tradition says, tried 
to make it the county seat as it was near the geographical 
center of the county. Daniel Simpson kept tavern in Bloom- 
field, 1824. It was on the old Jonesboro and Golconda road, 
but it never had more than one store and a postoffice, and 
these may not have been exactly at the present location, as 
country post offices were moveable. Jonathan Waters who 
came here from North Carolina and settled on what is now 
the Bloomfield stock farm, owned by Mr. Rupert, laid out 
the town on his land soon after the Big Four Railroad was 
completed through that section. Francis Cooper kept the 
fiist store there. Hiram Woiiey erected a building and put 
in a store about 1875, which was first owned by the Grange, 
a farmers organization of the county. Worley finally took 
over the store and continued business there until his death. 
He also kept the postoffice. James Powell who was a 
chaii maker was another old resident. J. B. Morray, Jr., 
lived just west of the town on the old road. Some other 
business men were S. T. Williams, W. H. Mangum, N. G. 
Growder who kept a blacksmith shop there for many years. 
More recent merchants were W. G. Whiteside, T. C. Taylor 
and N. Davis. Some later residents were W. I. and W. D. 
Dill, W. H. Jobe, J. L. Pfleuger, resided there many years; 
P. F. Fitzgerald has also been a long time resident. There 
are about six or eight dwellings, one store, kept by W T . G. 
Whiteside, a Methodist Church, and a public school buifti- 
ing at present. The first resident physician was Dr. Wm. 
Thompson, who moved there about 1874 continuing his 
work for about twenty years. Dr. R. A. Hale who was a 
graduate of the Louisville Medical College, and of the 
Missouri Medical College at St. Louis, located there about 
1895 and practised there until his death. 


Ridenhower was a settlement on the land of H. M. 
Ridenhower, Jr., where the Belknap road crosses the Big 
Four Railroad, consisting of a store, sawmill, and a few 
residences. It was given the name of Collinsburg, but the 
state department refused to allow this name used, it being 
so much like like Collinsville. This village has long been 

Ganntown is a neighborhood center in the southeast 
part of the county with a few nearby homes, a church, a 


Masonic lodge and an Eastern Star Chapter. It took its 
name from William Gann on whose farm it is situated. 


West Vienna is a station on the C. & E. I. Railroad, 
situated about four miles west of Vienna, and is the nearest 
point from Vienna to this railroad. It is the junction 
of the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy and the Chicago and 
Eastern Illinois Railroad. They have one school, a church, 
two stores and 75 inhabitants. The post office is named 
Boles from a family by that name living there several 
years ago. The village was settled about 1899. 


Like Chicago, we were in the beginning, an Indian 
trading post, and though much older we can claim no other 
likeness to our windy metropolis. The earliest history to 
be found outside the records of Johnson County are in 
Peck's Gazetteer, published in 1837. He says, "Vienna, the 
county seat of Johnson County, is situated on the east fork 
of Cache River; contains twenty-five of thirty families and 
three stores. The main road from Golconda to Jonesboro 
and Jackson, Missouri, passes through the place." The 
story of the deed made by Samuel McClintock of Shawnee- 
town, Ilinois, and the laying off of the town on the 10th 
day of April, 1818, has been told elsewhere. The original 
plot of Vienna began on the east side with the lot now be- 
longing to James Bridges, and parallel with the bond issue 
road, it ran west to just beyond the Perkins House, south 
beyond the John Bain residence, then east and north back 
to the place of beginning, so as to include thirty acres, and 
forming a rectangle with the longest sides running east and 
west. There has been several additions since 1818. S. J. 
Chapmans being the first added in 1838, Basil Gray and S. 
J. Chapman, 1855, Copeland's 1855, Smith 1887, Simpson's 
1888, Whittenberg and Frizell's 1893, Whittenberg's 1895, 
Sheridan's 1896, there were two in 1903, Hatt's and Hess's! 
Hess's second addition, 1912. Beginning on the east and 
running north and south the streets are numbered from 
First to Tenth, the streets running east and west are named. 
The street passing south of the library is Locust. Main 
Street runs into the square which divides it, and is known 


as East and West Main. Vine street is the next on the 
north and runs the entire length of the town. The short 
street north of Vine is Washington. The next street north 
on the brow of the hill and running the length of the town 
is Green, the street just beyond Green on the northwest 
and intersecting Sixth street is College. 

Our first aldermen were James Finny, Irvin Morris, 
John W. Gore, John Copeland, and William Simpson, who 
"were appointed commissioners of the town lately laid off 
for a permanent seat of justice at the April term of court, 
1818." This county seat is situated in sections five and six, 
township 13, range 3 east, county of Johnson. At the July 
term of court of the same year this town was ordered to be 
called Vienna. Tradition says, it was named in honor of 
the daughter of William McFatridge, but William McFat- 
ridge had no daughter named Vienna. His w T ife was named 
Anna. In looking over an old family tree, this record was 
found, "Frank Hayward married Vienna Reynolds, 1841. " 
There is no other knowledge of Vienna Reynolds, but it is 
probable that if named for a person, this might have been 
the person for whom the town was named. The Reynolds 
family was an old one in the original county. It is also 
thought by some the town took its name from the Capitol 
of Austria. 

The sale of lots was advertised in the "Illinois Emmi- 
grant," published in Shawneetown, Illinois, and the follow- 
ing parties were the original purchasers : the first one sold 
was lot number 40, facing the square and running back on 
South Fifth Street, now owned by Lawrence Fern, the 
building is known as the telephone building. This lot was 
owned by Alfred Bridges in 1833. He may have been the 
first owner. He also owned lot number 2, in 1823. Others 
buying lots were Jesse Canady, James Smith, Irvin Morris 
bought lots number 18 and 40, Isaac D. Wilcox, James 
Finney, bought lot 19, but the deed was made to Joseph 
McCorcle as assignee of James Finney; James Bain's lot 
was number 25, Martin Harvick number 29, Robert Han- 
cock, John S. Graves, Randolph Casey, Squire Choat, 
Charles E. Irvin, Joseph McCorcle, Milton Ladd, Robert 
Little, John Copeland, Ivy Reynolds lot number 30 which 
was bought later by James Jones, James Hawkins, George 
Brazil, John Peterson, Samuel S. Simpson, Daniel Simp- 
son, James Jones, Isaac Gray and William McFatridge. 


As will be seen from the list, many of these men were not 
residents of the town, but as the purchase money was used 
to build and furnish the county buildings, they no doubt 
bought with the idea of helping the county. There seems to 
be no buildings standing now that were built at that time. 
The oldest houses of the town were made of logs and later 
weatherboarded. The oldest now standing is owned and 
occupied by Isaac Hook, as a residence. It was built by 
Dr. Gerry, some time around 1850, and is on the northwest 
corner of the second block from the public square on East 
Main street. The two story building recently burned, 
(1924), just across Poplar street and directly south of the 
library was a part of the residence of Dr. Gibbs and form- 
ally stood on the public library lot, which had been his 
residence property. It was built about 1840. Another old 
dwelling also built about this time by Dr. A. P. Stewart 
stands on West Vine Street, between Seventh and Eighth, 
and is now occupied by Charles J. Huffman. Ivy Reynolds, 
lived on the south side of East Vine street about midway 
between the square and the bridge that crosses the drainage 
ditch, on or near the present site of the residence of Grant 
McFatridge. Basil Gray, father of A. J. Gray, lived on 
East Vine Street about where the present residence of 
Joseph R. Woelfle now stands. Col. D. Y. Bridges, father 
of the late Elizabeth Bratton, resided on the lot where the 
home of Mrs. T. B. Powell, now stands and in about the 
same place. Capt. J. B. Gillespie who came to Vienna in 
1855 says when he came here, there were just three huoses 
on the north side of East Main Street where Farris' livery 
barn is now located, and just two on the south side of the 
street. There were only two log cabins west of Seventh 
Street and a blacksmith shop was the only building, north 
of Green and west of Sixth. 

Ivy and Rebecca Reynolds sold lot 34 to Fields & Dunn, 
1834. Daniel Fields owned lot 12 which is where Jackson 
Bros, store is now located, and lot 14 where the First 
National Bank is standing. The present home of F. R. 
Woelfle was built by Frank Hayward for a residence for 
himself, several years before the war. Hayward came here 
to visit his relatives, the Chapmans, and being a carpenter, 
constructed many of the earlier buildings of the town. On 
leaving here about 1858 for the west he sold this property 
to F. J. Chapman, son of S. J. the pioneer. Hayward also 


built the house on the corner of Sixth and West Vine, now 
owned by Mrs. Bertie Boyt, occupied by W. L. Calborn's 
poultry business. The house which stood where the C. M. 
Picken's residence is, and which was cut and moved to 
College street, making the homes of Samuel Lang, and 
Coleman Upton, was built for a home by Dr. David Whitnel, 
father of L. 0. before the Civil War, and later became the 
home of Dr. W. A. Looney. Dr. Bratton's residence was 
built 1858. The builders were Priestly, Boyt and Warder. 
Hon. A. J. Kuykendall built the house now occupied by H. 
A. Spann for a residence in 1859. These are some of the 
oldest frame buildings in the town and have been in con- 
stant use for more than three quarters of a century. The 
brick residence of John Bain, Sr., on South Fifth street was 
built in 1860 and is owned by the Bain heirs and is occupied 
as a residence by John C. Bain and W. G. Jackson. 

James Bain was the oldest citizen in the neighborhood 
of Vienna. His settling here is given more fully in another 
chapter, but an incident related by J. B. Kuykendall will 
illustrate the resourcefulness of some of our first settlers. 
Mr. Bain built a two story house on his farm just north of 
the town, with four fireplaces in it, two in the first story 
and two in the second. He made and burned the bricks 
used in these chimneys himself. He used them during his 
life time and Mr. Kuykendall bought some of them at Mr. 
Bain's sale years afterward. They did duty as bricks in a 
house Mr. Kuykendall built forty years ago, and are still 
to be seen in the foundation of this house which was de- 
stroyed by fire in 1920. Some other residences of a little 
later date were Col. Samuel Hess, who lived on the corner 
of Sixth and Green, George E. Gleener's present residence, 
Samuel Copeland, son of John the Pioneer, lived in 1850, 
where Norman Mosley now lives, also on Green street. 
There was a log house which stood on the lot at Vine and 
Eighth, where P. T. Chapman now lives, in 1851, and was 
occupied by Turner Jones, father of Mrs. Hattie Perkins. 
Some of the residents of Vienna in 1857 given by Eliza 
Dwyer were: Walker and M. E. Circuit rider; Dave 
Shearer, who did the work in the County Treasurer's office ; 
Miss Driver, a teacher ; Dr. Damron, Carter, a faith doctor ; 
Daniel Kincy; Louis Hogg; Grantum; Calvin Corbitt; 
Whitemore, hotel keeper; Lasley, Newton Pierce, merchant 
Frank Smith, and William Chapman. 


The following names were found on an old collectors 
book for Vienna, 1858; Henry Bechtle, John A. Bridges, 
Dennis Dwyer, H. J. Lasley, Hogg & Hatt, A. P. Stewart, 
W. E. Morris, Winstead Davis, Payton Culver, B. W. 
Broks' heirs, W. J. Gibbs, Robert Little, Samuel Hess, 
David Whitnel, Ashley, Kuykendall & Smith, Joseph N. 
Newton, guardian for Elmira Bridges, D. T. Kincy, John 
Wright, Leonard Morgan, H. B. Sutliff, Elizabeth Burris, 
William H. Chapman, J. B. Chapman. These advertise- 
ments taken from the Johnson County Journal, M. A. 
Smith, publisher ; will give an idea of the business men here 
in 1877 : Layers W. A. Spann, 0. A. Harker, R. M. Fisher, 
Henry B. Hardy, T. Chapman, C. N. Damron, Elijah Goss, 
N. P. John S. Crum, Real Estate; Physicans, Drs. J. M. C. 
Damron, T. R. Burris, George W. Elkins, George Bratton, 
N. J. Benson; Dentists, N. M. Gray, P. S. McKenzie; St. 
James Hotel; Boyd Steel, aker; J. W. Field, Pastor M. E. 
Church, J. F. Smith, Drygods; W. A. Mason & Norman 
Slack, Starmill ; A. R. Beard, W. E. Beal, Groceries ; Christ 
Bengert, tinner; W. E. Gleener, Nursery; C. Corbit, mer- 
chant. The following advertisements are almost ten years 
later; J. B. Chapman, H. T. Bridges, Cohn, Chapman & 
Co., Miller & Jobe, Powell & Benson, Julius Parker, J. K. 
Brown, J. B. Kuykendall, James Card, L. C. Throgmorton, 
W. I. Joiner, Hugh Wallace, Bank of Vienna, Carter & Har- 
vick, Walker and Lambert. 

Some early merchants of Vienna were Ward & En- 
sminger, 1833 ; P. L. Ward who was a member of this firm 
lived here in 1827, he may have been a merchant that early, 
Issac D. Wilcox was a merchant in 1818, Field and Dunn in 
1836. It is certain there were three merchants here in 1837 
and these may have been the three. T. J. Church was a 
merchant here some time in 1837, Daniel Field in 1841, 
Reynolds & Gray 1842, D. Y. Bridges 1844, N. B. Jenett, 
1845, John Bain 1846, Dishon & Provo, who were residents 
of Jonesboro, Illinois, had a store here under the manage- 
ment of James Hammons in 1851, Easton Morris kept a 
store in the fifties where Jackson Bros, now keep ; S. B. 
Braver, 1857 ; Pearse and Scott, 1859 ; Bridges & Chapman, 
1852, Chapman, Hess and Bridges were business men here 
in 1857 and erected the Chapman brick on the northwest 
corner of the square and Fifth street. F. J. Chapman, son 
of S. J., Col. Sam, Hess and D. Y. Bridges were the men 
composing this firm. The building was orginally three 


stories high, contained an elevator and the third story was 
used as a storage room for tobacco, of which this county, 
at that time producted a great deal. This first brick busi- 
ness house of Vienna was, and still is, a monument to those 
progressive men of that day. All the material except the 
brick had to be hauled for miles from some point on the 
river. All manufactured goods were shipped by boat to 
Golconda, Metropolis Maybry, or some other landing near, 
and transported by wagons to the town. Also all produce 
that was sent out was likewise hauled from fifteen to 
twenty-five miles to the river, Anna, or Dongola after the 
completion of The Illinois Central Railroad to Cairo. John 
McCabe built the stone foundation for this building, George 
Hosea put up the brick, and William Priestly, Joseph 
Warder, Felix Boyt and James Stockdale did the carpenter 
work. The lower story was used first by Chapman and 
Hess as a general store, Bridges having died before its com- 
pletion. C. Cohn and J. N. Poor were the next occupants, 
then followed Cohn, Poor and Chapman, after them came 
Chapman Brothers, P. T. and J. C, and D. L. The next 
occupant was the Chapman Store Co., P. T. Chapman, L. A. 
Knowles, D. W. Whittenberg, J. K. Elkins, Cass Oliver, 
J. C. Chapman, and John Sloan forming the company at 
different times. W. B. Bain bought out the Chapman Store 
Co., and did business in the building for some time. J. 
Spieldoch conducted a drygoods and clothing business there 
for about eighteen or twenty years until 1923, when he 
removed to St. Louis where he has engaged in the merchan- 
tile business. The third story was blown off this building 
in 1878, the second story was used as an amusement hall 
for many years. No doubt, the person doing business in 
Vienna for the longest period of time was John Bain. He 
having begun here in 1846, first in a log building on the 
site of the residence of W. E. Beal, later moving to the 
corner on the west side of the square and west Main Street. 
He formed a partnership with Samuel Jackson in 1861, and 
continued a general merchandise business till 1897, when 
Mr. Bain died. Mr. Jackson carried on the business till his 

The original Perkins Hotel was built by Jackson Simp- 
son^ before the Civil War. It was owned and occupied by 
L. W. Hogg as a residence in 1857. The first building was 
a two story log house, which was enclosed with lumber and 
a frame part added. William Perkins opened a hotel there 


1866. A. J. Perkins, his son bought the hotel in 1891 and 
erected the present building in 1894. This has been the 
site of a hotel for almost sixty years, and under the super- 
vision of the Perkins' family. 

Isaac D. Wilcox, was licensed to keep tavern in the 
town of Vienna, September, 1818. Randolph Casey and 
Ivy Reynolds followed the same year. These proprietors 
had to pay licenses and furnish bonds. All tavern keepers 
sold liquor in those days. Milton Ladd kept tavern in 1820, 
also S. J. Chapman, son of Daniel, the Revolutionary 
soldier. His hotel and residence was on the east side of the 
square about where the post office is now located. Other 
early landlords were, Robert Little, 1823; James Hawkins, 
Jesse R. Morris, 1827; Abraham Hendry, 1825. Some a 
little later were Louis Hogg, William Whitemore, 1. N. 
Pearce, Daniel Kincy. J. B. Chapman built the St. James 
Hotel about the last of the fifties, and operated it for sev- 
eral years. Others running this hotel later, were Mrs. 
Gibbs, Keruth, T. Chapman, Dr. P. S. McKenzie, J. F. Ben- 
ton, and L. A. Knowles. The hotel stood about where the 
Hubbs Building is now located, owned by F. M. Huffman, 
it was destroyed by fire in 1895. The Central Hotel a large 
brick building was erected on the south side of the square 
in 1894 by M. T. VanCleve and A. Harvick, and was de- 
stroyed by fire about a year later. F. J. Chapman, son of 
J. B. built a hotel on the corner of Fourth and East Vine 
about 1898 and operated it for several years. This building 
is now occupied by Lucas Parker. 

The first church gatherings of the town were held in 
the courthouse and school building. The oldest denomina- 
tion was probably presbyterian, but it seems to have lost 
its opportunity at this place, as there has been no church 
here for years. The oldest church building was a large two 
story brick, which stood where the first Baptist church now 
stands. The second story of this building was owned and 
used by the Masonic Fraternity, and was a wonderful hall 
for their purpose, being seventy feet long by forty wide. 
The first story was used by the churches, the history of 
which was taken from the "Vienna Times," 1907, is as fol- 
lows, "The Union Church with Masonic hall above was 
razed in the spring of 1907. The following was found in 
a tin box, which had been placed under the corner stone of 
the building in 1859, one silver coin, fifty cent piece, said 
to have been put in by Samuel Jackson, one Bible, five 


newspapers, a copy of the "Metropolis Weekly Sentinel" 
dated May 26, 1859, addressed to M. S. Smith (father of 
W. Y.), copy of "Jonesboro Gazettee," dated May 21, 1859, 
addressed to F. C. Kirkham, Copy of "St. Louis Observer," 
dated May 19, 1859, addressed to S. Copeland ; copy of 
Christian Times and Illinois Baptist" dated Chicago, May 
25, 1859, addressed to Samuel Hess. Copy of "Society 
Record" New York, dated December, 1858, addressed to W. 
M. Hamilton. The account of the laying of the corner 
stone follows: In the year of our Lord, 1859, fifth day of 
June, by order of the Board of Trustees, appointed by the 
citizens of Vienna viz. A. J. Kuykendall, president; S. 
Copeland, F. J. Chapman, S. Hess, A. Harvick, J. B. Chap- 
man, Secretary. This manuscript together with all deposit-? 
herewith included was placed in the corner stone of the 
Cumberland Presbyterian Church at Vienna by the hands 
of Woods M. Hamilton, minister of the Gospel of said 
church. The erection of said church under the supervision 
of George Hosea, chief architect, aided by a number of 
workman good and true." The house was erected in reality 
as a Presbyterian Church but it was with the understand- 
ing that it was to be used as a Union Church, especially as 
to the Baptist and Methodists. The lumber used in the 
construction of this building was hauled from Gray's mill 
beyond Cypress, with ox teams. The bell on it was donated 
by the merchants of Louisville, Kentucky. A great many 
if not all of our merchants, bought their goods at that time 
in that city. Hence the generousity of their business men. 
This bell is still in use on the First Baptist Church and is 
remarkable for its clear and far reaching tone. 

We have at present five churches in our village. The 
Baptist, erected their present building in 1907-08 on the 
site of the old Union Church. It was dedicated in 1909 by 
Reverend W. P. Throgmorton. They have a resident pas- 
tor. The Methodist Episcopal also has a resident pastor. 
They with the other denominations used the Union Church 
till 1896, when they built the present structure at a cost 
of $8,000. The Christian Church was built in 1871, some 
of the bricks of the first brick court house were used in its 
construction. They have no resident pastor, but maintain 
their Sunday School and young peoples organizations. The 
Catholics have a church with a non resident priest holding 
services twice a month. Their building was erected and 
dedicated in 1896. The Congregationalists had an organ- 


ization here beginning in 1893. They erected a building 
and maintained a pastor for several years, but the building 
was sold and razed in 1920. There are few members of 
the Pentocostal Church, they have a frame building which 
was built about fifteen years ago. The colored church is 
a frame building situated in the southwest part of the town, 
near the residence of Sylverster Oliver. It is Baptist in 
denomination and has been built about forty years. 

The original seat of learning for the town was built of 
logs, and was located somewhere near where the First 
Baptist Church now stands. The seats were logs split 
with the flat side up like all other schoolrooms seats at 
that time. Mrs. Elizabeth Bratton, daughter of D. Y. 
Bridges, who was born here in 1841, said she went to school 
there to David Bales, also to Barnibus Smith. She said 
there were forest trees where the home of Basil Peterson 
is now located. She remembered the trees so well because A. 
J. Gray, who was then a small boy would throw the little 
girls sunbonnets up into the branches to tease them. 

It is more than probable this was the house built in 
1825, when Vienna's first free school district was laid off. 
The second school building was frame and stood just a 
little south of the present residence of P. T. Chapman and 
on the same lot. It was built about 1852. The only names 
of teachers known that taught in this building, are Dr. J. 
B. Ray, Miss Emma Driver, Colo Toler, Mrs. Chase, Mr. and 
Mrs. Marshalk, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Warder and T. Chap- 
man. The third school house was a larger building made 
of brick located where the present city school now stands, 
built about 1866 or 1867. It was two stories with broad 
stairs in the center and four well lighted rooms with 
modern seats and desks. It served many years for the city 
schools, normal courses taught during the vacation, and 
the Teacher's Meetings. This was replaced by the present 
modern building in 1893, at a cost of $16,000. Dr. Bratton, 
was the president of the Board at the time. 

The Vienna Township High School building was begun 
in 1918. Dr. A. E. McKenzie was president of the board. 
It was supposed to cost $40,000 but owing to the high cost 
of labor and material during the war times its cost was 
a little more than $70,000, so far the only high school in the 


The first bank in Vienna was organized in 1883 by C. 
Cohn, J. N. Poor and P. T. Chapman. It was a private one 
and was known as the Bank of Vienna. Up to that time 
Bain & Jackson merchants here, had done whatever busi- 
ness of that kind that was done in the town. The bank's 
first place of business was the east side of the Chapman 
Brick. C. Cohn was president and J. N. Poor the cashier. 
They erected a banking house in 1887. C. Cohn removed 
to California to reside, Mr. Poor died in 1888, and D. W. 
Whittenberg succeeded him as cashier. This bank was 
nationalized in 1890 with a capital stock of $50,000.00 with 
P. T. Chapman president; J. Throgmorton, vice-president; 
D. W. Whittenberg, cashier and J. B. Jackson assistant 
cashier. The first board of directors of this bank was P. 
T. Chapman, C. Cohn, Josiah Throgmorton, D. W. Whitten- 
berg, T. W. Halliday, S. Whitehead, and W. L. Williams. 
They built the present modern building in 1914. Mr. Whit- 
tenberg completed a quarter of a century as cashier of this 
institution, retiring in 1915. D. W. Chapman was elected 
in his stead and with the exception of two years spent in 
France with the A. E. F. and in hospitals has continued in 
this position to the present time. The Johnson County 
Bank was moved here from New Burnside in 1890. It was 
a private one owned by J. F. Gray and A. Harvick, with 
C. H. Gray as Cashier. Mr. Harvick retired and on the 
death of J. F. Gray, his son, continued the business till 
1915, when he retired and went to California. They built 
the two story building on the corner of East Main and 
South Fourth Streets owned by H. T. Bridges and occupied 
by the Vienna Times and Dr. A. E. McKenzie. The Drovers 
State Bank was organized in 1899. A. K. Vickers, J. B. 
Kuykendall, J. H. Carter, W. T. Dwyer, F. M. Simpson, L. 
A. Knowles, J. K. Elkins and O. R. Morgan were the stock- 
holders, with A K. Vickers as president and James W. 
Gore as cashier; F. R. Woelfle succeeded Mr. Gore; J. B. 
Kuykendall followed Judge Vickers as president, T. E. 
Boyt succeeded Mr. Kuykendall. On the death of Mr. Boyt, 
Mr. Woelfle became president and holds that position at the 
present time, with G. H. Bridges as cashier. 

They opened business in their present quarters on the 
north east corner of the square and Fourth Street, 1899. 

The first mill of our neighborhood was owned by W. H. 
Price, and situated somewhere near Vienna, but the kind of 


mill it was is not known. He paid taxes on it in 1820. 
William Price also had a carding machine here, which made 
rolls of wool, in 1847, the first of its kind in this section, 
and since all cloth was made by hand, it was quite a con- 
venience. The first flour mill of interest to Vienna and 
community was the ''Star Mill" built in 1856-7 by Louis 
Hogg, Aaron Hatt, Bob Henard. It was a large mill, first 
class for its time and located on the west side of town, near 
the present residence of Mr. Amanda Curtis. This mill has 
had many operators and owners, among them, beside the 
original ones were, A. J. Kuykendall, Josiah Throgmorton, 
J. B. Kuykendall, Burton Sexton, John Wright, Mr. Taylor, 
Mr. Helter, Joshua and J. K. Elkins, Alcaney House, B. 
Lunday, Larkin Simpson, James Brown, J. W. Gore, Mr. 
Lane, Mason & Slack, Valentine Nesslerodt, and possibly 
others. It burned as usual in 1891. Walter Scott built a 
carding and grist mill on the south side of East Vine Street, 
somewhere near the site of the residence of 0. H. Rhodes, 
on east Vine Street, 1854. It was later enlarged and 
equiped at great expense for a woolen mill, and sold to 
John and Samuel Glasford. It was tried out on Saturday 
afternoon, was supplied with material and ready to begin 
making cloth on Monday morning; it was destroyed by fire 
on the Sunday night before. There was no insurance and 
a total loss of $40,000 was sustained which was a large 
amount for that period (1861) in this locality. Berton 
Sexton and John Wright built what was first known as the 
City Mill, in 1867-8. This was a large steam mill, equipped 
with first -class machinery for making flour and carding 
wool, said to be one of the best mills of its kind in Southern 
Illinois. The firm later changed to Wright, Throgmorton 
and Kuykendall. On the death of Mr. Wright and the re- 
tirement of Mr. Throgmorton, Mr. Kuykendall continued 
to run this mill for more than forty years. In the mean- 
time taking his son Guy as a partner. This mill was kept 
up to the best possible grade with new machiney from time 
to time. 

Later the name of this mill was changed to Vienna 
Roller Mill, it also perished in flames in 1910. 

John Dupont of Creal Springs erected a midget or 
small mill on the site of the Vienna Roller Mill, in 1913, 
and later sold it to Charles Mathis, who continued the ex- 
change business there until recently, when he removed to 


White County, Illinois. George E. Levings & Co., operated 
an extensive lumber mill near the Big Four Station, beginn- 
ing in 1887, selling to Josiah Throgmorton and P. T. Chap- 
man in 1891. Afterward this plant was sold to W. E. Beal, 
who continued the business as long as there was timber in 
paying quantities in this section. Isaac Hogg operated a 
saw mill just across the bridge on the highway leading 
south from 1919 untill his death in 1923. At present 
Edward Bellemy operates a small mill for grinding meal 
and poultry feed in his exchange building, the only mill left 
of all our fine mills. 

A creamery was built here in 1893 but was not a suc- 
cess, as there was not enough dairy cows in the community 
at that time to support it. A school of telegraphy was 
operated here in 1899 by Ivy B. Gray, also one in 1902 by 
Mr. Blizzard. Years ago there was a tan yard on the creek 
where the present road running south turns out of East 
Main Street. The first owner known was Joseph McCorcle 
who owned it in 1822. The old vats were there as late as 
1875. John R. Roden has a small broom factory near the 
station. The Vienna Nursery was established here in 1869 
by W. E. Galeener. F. B. Thacker was connected with Mr. 
Gleener from 1892 for about ten years. On his retirement 
from the firm G. E. Galeener, son of W. E. entered the busi- 
ness. It is both wholesale and retail and their territory ex- 
tends over most of the southern states and as far west as 
Nebraska, and Oklahoma. It is one of the most prominent 
enterprises of our community and furnishes employment 
to many families of the town, especially during the summer 
and fall season. These are all the industries the town 
affords, except almost every resident has a garden, chickens 
and some have their own cow, which might be called primi- 
tive industries. 

Our laundry is sent out of town and our ice has been 
shipped in until the spring of 1924. It is now manufac- 
tured by the Electric Light Plant Company. 

The streets of Vienna have always been a source of 
annoyance, the hills are so steep and hard to keep from 
washing. The soil is clay, very easy to wet, but rather 
quick to dry. The first sidewalks were built of wood and 
in order to get up the hills, there were many steps and 
high trestles, a level piece of walk and then some more 
steps, till one finally reached the top of the hill. At the 


corner of Fourth and East Vine Streets the walk was 
originally as high as a one story house. This was perhaps 
the highest place but steps, steps were everywhere. The 
crossings were mud until 1890, when the present brick 
ones were put in by P. T. Chapman as mayor. They are 
not perfection but are the best we ever had. In 1894, the 
city bought a rock crusher and began to rock the streets 
which improved them wonderfully. If it had been kept up 
by now our streets would have been in fair condition. 
There is no use for a town as full of rocks as Vienna, not 
to have at least rocked streets. The grades had been 
worked down from year to year until 1909, under W. C. 
Simpson, as mayor, concrete sidewalks were begun, and at 
the present time extend along all the streets and have 
added more to the appearance and convenience of the town 
than any improvement that we have been able to secure. 

The famous old lamp post and coal oil lamp were our 
portion for many years. In 1895 J. F. and W. J. Wright put 
in an electric plant. It was located on east Vine at the 
corner of Third, opposite the property of Miss Emma Reb- 
man. It was a much needed improvement. It was sold to 
J. B. Kuykendall, later to Mrs. M. N. McCartney, who 
moved the plant near the railroad station. On the Mc- 
Cartneys leaving here the management failed to keep up 
the standard and the plant was finally abandonded at quite 
a loss to its owner. We then returned to oil and smoky 
lamps till 1912, when under the regime of Noel Whitehead 
as mayor an acetylene gas plant was put in by a private 
corporation and a contract to light the town for ten years 
was made with the company. The lights were very satis- 
factory, but so few used them in their residences it made 
the cost rather high. During the war carbide went to such- 
exorbitant figures and transportation was so uncertain that 
the company was unable to secure a sufficient quantity to 
run the plant and two years before time expired they gave 
up their contract with the city. J. E. Myers put on an in- 
dustrial campaign here in 1919 and tried to raise enough 
funds to build a muncipal light plant and furnish power for 
a garment factory, but the scheme failed. In 1920 bonds 
to the amount of $15,000 were voted to put in an electric 
light plant. In the fall of 1922 an arrangement was made 
between the city and Elam and S. C. Upton to build a power 
house and furnish a lighting system, which is very satisfac- 


Our little village has had more than its share of fires 
and it is impossible to give them all. In 1884 the entire 
block burned on the south side of East Main Street be- 
tween Third and Fourth, including several good buildings 
but no brick, this was about the first big fire for us. The 
second came about ten years later. It began about where 
the First National Bank building stands on the north side 
of the square, taking everything to the corner, also the St. 
James Hotel, a business belonging to J. B. Chapman's estate 
and his late residence, the old Samuel J. Chapman dwelling 
which was one of our first hotels, to the Burket brick 
building. These latter buildings all were on Fourth Street 
and the east side of the square, and were also all frame. 
All were replaced by brick, which was really an advan- 
tage to the town. The most disastrous fire so far in our 
history occured in 1900 when a solid row of brick buildings 
on the west side of the square extending from the Fred 
Burnett building, which occupied the present site of the 
Ford Garage along Fifth Street to West Vine, were laid 
low by flames, including a fine two story brick office build- 
ing, erected by Bratton and Ridenhower, about 1890, also 
the opera house built by W. E. Beal in 1896 which was one 
of the neatest and most complete buildings of its kind in 
Southern Illinois at that time. Its loss has been realized 
more keenly than any other building of the town. These 
two buildings were never replaced, all the others were re- 
built in 1921. Jackson Brothers, H. M. and W. G., bought 
the lot on the corner of Fifth and Vine and erected an up 
to date business building where they handle hardware, 
furniture and groceries. Many other buildings have been 
burned and rebuilt at different times in our history, each 
means quite a loss. 

The present building on the corner of the square and 
East Main was built by J. H. Carter and A. Harvick, about 
1887, which replaced a very old dilapitated one and from 
its looks must have been one of the first buildings of the 
town. When excavating for this building there was a five 
franc piece found about three feet under ground, dated 
1811, indicating that a Frenchman had been here at some 
time, or at least some one that used French money. Fred 
Burnett erected a splendid two story brick building in 1887. 

The following are some advertisements referring to 
Vienna published in the "Vienna Artery" June 7, 1871: 
"Town Directory- councilman-Samuel Hess, J. S. Crum, 


J. H. Carter, J. Throgmorton, magistrate. M. F. Smith 
attorney; O. A. Marker; Treasurer, S. Jackson; clerk 
J. M. Beggs and Marshall, F. M. Carter. I. 0. 0. F. J. F. 
Benson IN. G., Joel Johnson, Sec. The Vienna Union Sab- 
bath School J. W. Wright, Superintendent; Dora ±>ain, Sec. 
Vienna Post Office Directory, Vienna to Metropolis; Tues- 
day and Friday; Vienna to Harisburg, Wednesday and 
Thursday; Vienna to Dongola, aaily except Sunday. J. JN. 
Hogg, Post Master. J. F. McCartney and &i other, lawyers, 
claim agents and real estate, Metropolis, Illinois; R. M. 
Fisher, will practice in ail the courts of Illinois, oihce over 
F. M. Jones' Store; J. M. C. Damron, M. D., office on Main 
Street, six doors below the public square ; Dr. T. R. Burns, 
Physio-Medical Physician, office at residence, Vienna, Illi- 
nois. W. A. Looney, M. D. Office one square south of the 
church; B. F. Bellemay watchmaker, Vienna, Illinois, E. 
J. Ingersoll-Jewiery, watches and clocks, Caroondale, Illi- 
nois, Wright & Co., News books and job printing; advertise- 
ments from the same paper, October 1869, Village drug 
store, by 0. G. Peterson, at Norris and Hardy's old stand; 
City Drug store, R. M. Kincy, with Bratton and Elkins, 
Dry goods, J. F. Smith; William Green, Barber and hair 
dresser; Hatt & Hardy, Contractors; A local says that J. 
B. Chapman sold $500.00 worth of goods on Saturday; 
Frank Hall, tin shop; J. Burke, family grocery and hard- 
ware; J. E. Johnson, painter; Citizens County Ticket, J. M. 
Oliver, County Judge; Associates, W. D. Deans, Joseph 
Warder, assessor and treasurer, Joel Duboise. Superinten- 
dent of Schools, Asahel Burnett, surveyor, R. A. Martin. 

Perhaps a few prices would be interesting; in 1878 
wheat was 60c and 70c per bushel ; corn 25c per bushel ; 
potatoes, 20c per bushel; chicken, $1.50 per dozen; bacon, 
6c per pound; 1 pound ham 9c; buter 12V2 per pound; eggs. 
5c per dozen; green beef, 3c and 4c per pound. An adver- 
tisement in the Johnson County Journal 1883, "Take your 
eggs to Chapman's and get 15c a dozen." 1888 "Wanted — 
A girl that can cook, salary $1.50 per week. — Mrs. J. B. 
Kuykendall." Hogs 5c gross, 1888; 1889 "Challis 8VL>c per 
yard, bustles 15c each at Chapman Brothers, 1894 wheat 
45c, eggs 10c, sugar 25 pounds for $1.00, coffee 10 pounds 
for $1.00, rice 20 pounds for $1.00; in 1897 bacon and lard 
are 8c per pound; in 1896 gingham is 5c per yard; 1900 
kid shoes sold for $1.25; in 1911 flour is $2.25 per barrel. 


Copied from Johnson County Journal, April 1865 ; We 
heard Clint Chapman say last Saturday that fifty years 
ago he was a resident of Vienna and amused himself assist- 
ing Uncle Wests Reynolds in breaking calves to ride in 
the streets. He said at this time there were but few build- 
ings here, that the court house was a small log house, the 
public square was full of stumps, logs and gulleys, and the 
citizens were supplied with water from a spring that bub- 
bled from the northwest corner of it. D. C. Chapman at 
the time of which he was speaking, was about seven years 
old, and Wesley Reynolds was a small boy. The only spring- 
that is any where near the square is under the building- 
owned by Mrs. Bertie Boyt, opposite the Perkins House and 
fronting on West Vine Street. As the buildings were so 
few and the main resident section was farther south on 
Vine Street, it is quite probable that this is the same spring. 
It is not open now, but was in 1860. Mrs. Fannie Jackson 
was married that year began keeping house in the second 
story of this building. Her husband had a store on the first 
floor, and they used water from the spring in the back room 
of this building, which is made of stone. 

In 1850 the population of Vienna was 142, but it had 
increased to 1,217 by 1900. It has been decreasing since. 
In 1910 it was 1124, 1920 it was 997. Vienna was incorp- 
orated as a village, February 27, 1837. It was incorporated 
as a city July 15, 1893. In 1889, our city had no stock law, 
but some of our citizens had feather beds, and many of our 
neighbors had hogs. One day a neighbor lady put her 
feather bed out on the back yard fence to sun and air, 
when a neighbor's hog came along and tore a hole in it. 
The old saying that, "He or she made the fur fly, was liter- 
aly true, except that it was feathers that flew instead of 
fur." Vienna adopted city government in 1893 and the 
mayors have been, J. H. Carter, W. C. Simpson, F. R. 
Woelfle, John S. Bridges, Dr. J. M. C. Damron, P. T. Chap- 
man, W. Y. Smith, W. E. Beal, L. H. Frizzell, W. E. Galee- 
ner, Noel Whitehead, R. J. Hight. Dr. R. A. McCall, N. J. 
Mozley, some of whom have served more than one term. 
Our first postmaster was Milton Ladd, then S. J. Chapman, 
Jasper Johnson, J. S. Crum, J. N. Hogg, A. Wright, F. M. 
Simpson, A. D. Hight, W. A. Spann, J. S. Bridges, T. B. 
Powell, W. H. Gilliam, Charles Clymore, J. P. Mathis. 

A Building and Loan Association was organized here 


in 1888, and was a wonderful help in building up the town 
The year 1890 was said to be the most prosperous year 
Vienna had ever known, there being at least $40,000 put in 
buildings and improvements during the year. Another 
Building and Loan Association was organized in 1921, 
which it is hoped will be as conducive to improvement. 

The following copied from an old "Johnson County 
Journal" will give an idea of some of the families living 
in Vienna at that time, "the following students made a 
grade of 80 or more in the intermediate grades of the 
Vienna Public Schools for the month of January, 1881 ; 
Suda Bratton, Flora Damron, Maggie Cole, Mary Gregory, 
Thomas Jones, Thomas (McDermot) Wiedman, Oliver 
Gregory, Etha Williams, Nancy Burns, Dolly Crum, Ida 
Carter, Harry Jackson, William Williams, John B. Jackson, 
Joseph Isreal, Edgar Bellemy, Ulysses Crum, John Bain, 
George Burns." May Copeland, teacher. 

From the above named paper 1884, "This being Leap 
Year the following young men were given as eligibles : 
James Chapman, Alex Hess, Will Graves, Will Simpson, 
Jeff Chisem, W. B. Bain, Frank Damron, Will Dwyer, 
George Gillespie, Sam Hess, Will Gilliam, Dave Harvick and 
George Latham." 

In 1894 Hon. and Mrs. Sheldon visited the family of 
L. H. Frizzell, Mrs. Sheldon was a sister of Mr. Frizzell and 
Mr. Sheldon, who was governor of South Dakota at that 
time ; he was formerly a school mate of F. M. Simpson. Mr. 
and Mrs. Simpson gave a reception and banquet in their 
honor. The guests as given in a current issue of the 
"Vienna Times" were Governor and Mrs. Sheldon, Mayor 
and Mrs. W. C. Simpson, Dr. and Mrs. N. J. Benson, Rev. 
and Mrs. J. H. Ford, Senator and Mrs. P. T. Chapman, Dr. 
and Mrs. J. T. Looney, Messrs and Mesdames L. H. Frizzell, 
W. E. Beal, Samuel Jackson, J. B. Kuykendall, George B. 
Gillespie, L. O. Whitnel, H. M. Ridenhower, W. B. Bain, F. 
R. Woelfle, J. C. Chapman, W. H. Gilliam, Lucas Parker, 
D. W. Whittenberg, William Moore, A. J. Perkins, W. Y. 
Smith, Fred Burnett, J. F. Wright, James M. Slack, J. H. 
Carter, J. S. Francis, W. T. Dwyer, J. K. Perkins; Mes- 
dames A. K. Vickers, Margaret Elkins, Sarah Poor, Delia 
Head, R. M. McCall ; Misses Ella Ford, Louise Rebman 
Margaret Cole, Francis Lonney, Eleanor McGee. Senator 
T. H. Sheridan, Prof, M. N. McCartney, Judge O. A. Har- 
ker, Messrs D. L. Chapman, T. B. Powell, C. A. Cunning- 


ham, John B. Jackson, J. E. Cunningham, Harry M. Jack- 
son and Mr. and Mrs. Whitehead, Tunnel Hill, Illinois. 

The Masonic is the oldest fraternal order in the town 
or county, having been organized in 1854. 

The preliminary meeting for the organization of a 
Masonic Lodge in Vienna was held December 1, 1853. The 
first officers were D. M. Jones, W. M., L. W. Hoggs, Sr., W. 
\. J. Kuykendall, Jr. W., W. M. Hamilton, Sr., Deacon, R. 
Moore, Jr. Deacon, A. P. Stewart, Treas., J. F. Smith, Sec, 
and D. S. Kincey, Tyler. Members and visitors during the 
first meetings were: S. Copeland, D. Y. Bridges, William 
Price, L. B. Venable; Members of Caledonia Lodge. Dr. 
Whitnel, Golconda Lodge, A. J. Hill, Metropolis Lodge, 
Calvin Beard and S. C. Toler, Jonesboro Lodge, H. C. Hac- 
ker, John Travers, J. W. Gibbs, Inscore, Cagle, N. 0. Gray, 
J. D. Edmondson. The following were elected and initiated : 
W. H. Culver, W. H. Crider, M. Scroggins, Gabriel Utley, 
J. R. McCorcle, Dr. George Bratton, James M. Finney, 
Daniel G. Standard, John T. Hogg, John N. Cornealson, 
Ephriam Davis, F. J. Chapman, Sr., W. Y. Davis, Sr. ; R. 
J. Dark and W. L. Hamilton admitted by demits, also R. 
W. Carlton. Visitors from other lodges during the year 
were John A. Logan. Shoehart, Davidge, T. H. Smith, 
Hewbank, Standard, Green B. Raum and W. K. Parrish. 
The lodge was formally instituted and officers were in- 
stalled October 31, 1854. It is number 150. They insti- 
tuted and held their first meetings in the second story of 
the residence of Frank Smith on West Vine Street, now 
owned and occupied by Mrs. Daisy Harris. Their second 
home was over the Union Church, and they now meet in 
the Powell building, where most all the fraternal orders 
meet. Vesta Lodge, I.O.O.F., 340 was organized December 
1867, I. N. Pearce, Edward Farris, John F. Benson, James 
T. Williford, Henry T. Bridges, were the charter members. 
Egyptian Chapter order of the Eastern Star was instittute 
in Vinna 1875. The charter members were Rev and Mrs. 
David Ragains, Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Kuykendal, Mr. and Mrs. 
Samuel Jackson, Mr. and Mrs. F. M. Simpson, Mr. and Mrs. 
Josiah Throgmorton, Dr. and Mrs. W. A. Looney. These 
names were not taken from a record as there is none to be 
found. But three of these members are still living and they 
gave these names. Reverend David Ragains represented 
the chapter at the first session of the Grand Chapter and 


J. B. Kuykendall was the representative in 1876. This 
chapter was dormant for some time but was reinstated in 
1897. It is number 30 showing it to be one of the oldest 
in the state. 

The Rebekahs have been a working lodge since 1887, 
the charter members were Dr. and Mrs. George Bratton, 
Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Carter, Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Simmons, 
Alice Beal, Emma Brockman, H. B. Wiley, J. S. Bridges, 
W. C. Allen, F. A. Boyt, H. M. Ridenhower, Tenny E. 
Wallace, Hattie Davis. The Knights of Phythias flourished 
here for several years under the name of Romeo Lodge, but 
has ceased to function. A modern Woodman Lodge once 
interested a number of our citizens, but it has also ceased 
to be. 


Vienna Grand Army Post No. 221, was chartered 
April 10, 1883 with John T. Mozley. Post Commander, H. 
B. Wiley, Sr. Vice, John McGee, Jr. Vice, John S. Crum, 
Quartermaster, Thomas J. Utley, Chaplain, F. A. Boyt, 
Officer of the day, A. J. Henry, Officer of the Guard ; other 
charter members were; W. C. Allen, J. H. Arnett, Frank 
Clement, J. S. Hester, F. M. Jones, Berry Johnson, I. M. 
Morgan, William M. McDaniels, T. J. McCormick, William 
Perkins, J. E. Rose, A. B. Payne, T. B. Stewart, John Stone, 
0. H. C. Stout, J. A Simpson. B. S. Turner, W. H. Thomas ; 
James Watson. This Post has had on its roster two hun- 
dred and thirty-seven names but its membership has de- 
clined until there are (1924) the following members: 
George H. Huffman, James Hester, F. B. Thacker, William 
Bouie, and M. A. Hankins. Other veterans of the county 
who have been members are J. B. Kuykendall, John L. 
Hogg, Amos Carter, William Turley, Mark Whiteaker. 

Harry Sullins Post 536, American Legion located at 
Vienna, Illinois. It was chartered January 3, 1920, with 
L. E. Burnett, Temporary Chairman and Clifford Veach, 
Temporary Secretary. The charter members were: L. E. 
Burnett, Ernest Barnwell, W. N. Carter, W. T. Corbett, 
Ward and Ralph Chapman, Clarence Deputy, S. F. Hester, 
M. T. Hester, Guy W. Hogg, E. A. Hilburn, F. M. Huffman, 
Alvin L. Mathis, J. F. Martin, Arthur Perkins, H. F. 
Rhodes, Wiley Simmons, B. N. Sharp, Clifford Veach, W. 
0. Verhines, H. A. Whiteside, J. G. Whiteside. The first 
officers were : F. M. Huffman, Commander, W. A. Verhines, 


Vice-Commander, J. G. Whiteside, Adjutant, W. T. Corbett, 
Historian, Clifford Veach, Finance Officer, D. W. Chap- 
man, Insurance Officer, Neal Carter, Sergeant at Arms, H. 
A. Whiteside, Athletic Officer, Lloyd Ford, Chaplain. The 
Legion has forty-eight members with Oliver Fisher, Com- 
mander, 1924. They meet in a hall in the second story in 
the Carter brick. There is also an auxilary of this post of 
whom Mrs. Lucas Parker is the president and Mrs. F. M. 
Huffman is the secretary. This post was named in honor 
of Harry Sullens, who was the first Johnson County soldier 
killed in battle in France. 

There has been Commercial Clubs from time to time 
for business interests and at one time a Community Club 
for the beterment of the town flourished here, but they 
were all short lived. The Vienna Womans Club has lived 
since 1897. It seems to have caught the spirit of "eternal 
vigilence." It was organized in 1897. The preliminary 
meeting was held at the home of Mrs. P. T. Chapman and 
the organization was completed at Mrs. N. J. Benson's. 
Mrs. W. A. Spann was the first president and Miss Bertie 
Boyt was the Secretary, other charter members were as 
well as can be determined Mesdames G. W. Ballance, N. J. 
Benson, L. C. Oliver, W. E. Beal, P. T. Chapman, G. B. 
Gillespie, J. T. Looney, D. W. Whittenberg, J. N. Poor, M. 
N. McCartney, L. O. Whitnel, U. C. Simpson, Misses Arista 
Frizzell, Ida Spann and Myrtle Swain. 

The club has been instrumental in bringing some very 
fine lecture courses to the town, also doing civic and charity 
work when and wherever it is needed. A lasting moument 
to their efforts is the concrete walk to the cemetry, built in 
\914, with Mrs. Lucas Parker as president of the club. The 
row of trees along the walk is also due to the club's interest, 
and the kindness of Galeener & Son nurseymen. This club 
has put forth both energy and money to secure a wagon 
yard for the farmers, which was finally accomplished in 
1920. The city bought the lot and the Woman's Club fur- 
nished it. It has interested itself in many smaller things 
beneficial to the public. They suspended club work during 
the World War, and every woman, who was a loyal club 
worker was always found at her post in war work. 

An Egyptian Club, A Rook Club, and many other clubs 
have been a part of our social activities. In 1890 we had a 
Chautauqua Circle whose members were Reverend J. G. 
Dee, John Bain, John B. Jackson, Mesdames Kate and P. T. 


Chapman, and A. K. Vickers. Mrs. Anna Dwyer and Ella 
McGee, some of whom finished this course. The Christian, 
Baptist and Methodist churches have ladies socities wnich 
meet once a week and aid the church by their work. Vienna 
has had some splendid musical bands. Vienna Cornet and 
Bengert's Brass band, were very fine bands of an earlier 
time, and the last brass band was known as Shelter's, 
which made music for us a few years ago. Much to our 
regret we have no city band at present. The Vienna Town- 
ship High School has a very good orchestra. The Mendle- 
sohn Musical Club was functioning here in 1896. Miss 
Alice Cook, now Mrs. A. E. McKenzie of Cincinnati con- 
servatory was the inspiration. Miss Ella McGee followed 
Miss Cook as teacher of music and continued the club. 
Under the direction of this club many good musicals were 
enjoyed by the public. 

Mr. C. H. Gray owned the first graphophone in the 
town in 1897, and the Gray Brothers, George, John and 
Mid established the first picture show here in 1913. 

The Daniel Chapman Chapter D. A. R. of Vienna was 
organized in November, 1909, with Mrs. P. T. Chapman, 
Regent, Mrs. Orrie Thacker, Vice-Regent, Miss Georgia 
Blanchfil, (Mrs. T. E. Gillespie), Secretary Mrs. Eva B. 
Kuykendall, Treasurer, Mrs. Eva M. Huffman, Registrar. 
Other charter members were Mesdames Etta M. Spann, 
Amanda T. Whitnel, Anna C. Williams, D. W. Whittenberg, 
Marian Chapman Greely, and Misses Althea E. Thacker and 
Cynthia E. Trammel. 

It was named in honor of Daniel Chapman. It was 
thought at that time he was the only Revolutionary soldier 
buried in Johnson County, however, since then it has been 
discovered that there are several others. 

The object of this society is to mark historic spots, 
teach and keep alive the spirit of patriotism and participate 
in all progressive movements. Any woman over eighteen 
years of age who has decendecl by blood from a person who 
aided in the establishment of the freedom of the American 
Colonies is eligible to membership, provided she can prove 
her descent. 

This chapter had the best record of service in the 
World War of any chapter in the state. The following 
relatives of members saw service in the World War: Paul 
and Clinton, sons of Estella (Chapman) Whitehead; Mid, 


brother of Misses Kate and Daisy Gray, Mrs. F. M. Huff- 
man and Anna Hankins; F. M. (Ned) Huffman, husband 
of Nelle (Gray) Huffman; Josiah and George, sons of Mrs. 
Amanda Whitnel ; Webb Trammel, brother of Mrs. Whitnel 
and Cynthia Trammel; Paul C. Raborg, husband of Marion 
Chapman (Raborg) Greely; Arthur C. son of Mrs. May 
(Copeland) Jackson, Dr. T. E. McCall, husband and Neal 
Carter, brother of Mrs. May (Carter) McCall, Wayne, son 
of Mrs. D. W T . Whitenberg; Eugene and Samuel Copeland, 
grandsons of Mrs. Margaret (Copeland) Hill; Robert, son 
of Mrs. Edith Johnson; Robert, brother of Mrs. Eva (Ben- 
son) Kuykendall; Ward and Ralph, sons of Mr. and Mrs. 
P. T. Chapman and brothers of Mrs Marian C. Greely; 
Mrs. Grace (Hess) Dodge a member of this chapter saw 
active service in France. She died from tuberculosis con- 
tracted in this service, 1924. 

The members of this chapter took government bonds 
amounting to $25,000 during the different Liberty Loan 
drives as well as subscribing liberally to the different War 
activities. It worked with the Red Cross in making War- 
supplies. A service was held in memory of the soldiers 
who lost their lives in the World War, in their honor in 
November, 1919 and ten trees were planted in the Library 
yard. Harold Looney, who had served in France, made the 
address, the schools, boy scouts and citizens assisted the 
Chapter in this ceremony. 

A flag (6x9) was presented to the Vienna Township 
High School in 1922, by the Daniel Chapman Chapter, for 
use on the school building. Most of the work done by this 
Chapter has been referred to in connection with other sub- 

There is a membership of twenty-nine with nine resi- 
dent members. 

Plans for marking the site of the first court house in 
Johnson County which was at Elvira, are complete. The 
marker will consist of a bronze tablet, properly inscribed, 
set in native stone. 

In 1910, the City purchased three and one half 
acres of ground which were added to the Fraternal Ceme- 
tereies (Odd Fellows and Masons) and placed under one 
management. This arrangement has proved highly satis- 
factory as the cemetery is exceptionally well cared for with 


J. B. Turley as Superintendent. The location is ideal and 
it is conceded to be the most beautiful cemetery in this 
section of the state. 


There are at present the following businesses conducted 
in Vienna: Two banks, First National and Drovers State; 
three dry goods stores, Pearl Taylor's, C. M. Pickens and A. 
L. Chester (managed by Mr. and Mrs. Utterbach) ; five 
groceries, Jackson Bros., who also deal in hardware, R. B. 
Coyne, Walter Smith, 0. W. Fisher and Earl Veach; a 
furniture, embalming and undertaking establishment con- 
ducted by Lucas Parker; our two druggists are L. D. Fern 
and Dr. J. D. Hart; jewelers are Douglas Harris, Larry 
Newton, also an optician and 0. E. Harvick who operates 
a wholesale jewelry, silver, fine glass and china business; 
Paul Taylor Powell runs a modern confectionery store, also 
does catering, Ernest Winchester runs another up to date 
confectionery on the east side of the square ; there are three 
restaurants conducted by C. Verhines, Lawrence Hunsaker 
and Ernest Winchester; four cream stations operated by 
Oscar Burris, Basil Gray, also Express Agent, J. 0. Beach 
and Ed. Lasley; Ed. Bellemy, feed and grain dealer; Wm. 
L. Caborn, and Lavador Johnson, poultry and the latter also 
handles feed and grain; two blacksmith shops, one run by 
Isaac Bellemy and the other by Mr. Phillips ; a meat mar- 
ket conducted by Joseph McDaniel & Son ; Charles Hacker 
& Son and James Bridges are barbers; Earl Hilburn runs 
a cleaning and pressing establishment; P. S. Sanders, A. 
Cantwell and Frank Hacker, painters and paper hangers; 
we have two garages, the Ford, owned by D. W. Chapman, 
managed by Jack Hood with Carl Bellemy as mechanic, the 
Home Motor Co., owned by Carol Cochran and Merideth 
Parker; T. C. Taylor, Automobile Dealer; a lumber yard 
operated by C. F. Hilliard; a publishing and printing house 
owned by H. T. Briges, F. C. Thomas conducts an Abstract 
office; A. E. McKenzie dentist; Jackson's Photographic 
Studio; Bridges Real Estate Agency; Elam & Upton, Ice 
and Coal; Vienna Nursery owned by G. E. Galeener; Post 
Office with J. P. Mathis as P. M. ; Ned Huffman and Dave 
Rosenberg Clothiers; harness, saddles and buggies, Henry 
Mahl; Sam and Edgar Gillespie, moving and hauling; 
Abram Parker and Frank Harcker Shoe repairing. 



Johnson County has had a checkered career. It was 
set apart with a large area more than a century ago but 
began to lose its acieage in 1816. Other counties were 
organized from Johnson County territory until 1843. While 
there is oil near us, factories surrounding us, railroads 
crossing us it seems we are left with nothing but the 
rock strewn hills and virgin soil from which to carve our 
destiny. The revenue of this county from December 1824 
to 1825 was $365.13 and the expenditures of the county for 
the same time were $379.12. Ihe revenue collected for the 
year beginning December 1922 was $222,260.21, showing 
the increase of property. The population in 1820 was 843 ; 
1830, 1,596; 1840, 3,626; 1850, 4,115; 1860, 9,324; 1870, 
11,186; 1880, 13,079; 1890, 15,013; 1900, 15,667; 1910, 
14,333; 1920,12,000, a net increased of 11,157, in one hun- 
dred years. Before the Civil War this county was a nest 
of Democrats, since that event the political sentiment of the 
county has been decidedly Republican and that is the dom- 
inant party at present. The first woman suffrage meeting 
was held here in 1892, Mrs. W. P. Brown of Belknap cir- 
culated the first petition favoring suffrage and secured 
forty names. The committee calling this meeting was Mrs. 
M. A. Jackson, the M. E. minister's wife and Mrs. R. M. 
Fisher. In less than thirty-five years women have secured 
almost equal suffrage. One hundred years ago there were 
no avenues whereby women could earn a living except to do 
house work. Now women follow any profession or business 
to which their tastes incline. This is not peculair to John- 
son County, the same conditions prevail everywhere, but 
being in "Egypt," one might think that this county had not 
found her opportunities. We have eight banks, six automo- 
bile dealers, we need more-physicians as we have only eight 
in the county in 1924. True, health is much better here 
than formerly but good physicians are a necessity in any 
community. As has been stated we are strictly agricultural 
and horticultural but business is as stable in this county, if 
not more so than most counties of the state. 

This county has automobiles, one hard road, eighteen 
miles of which is complete, electric lights in town and 
country, telephone and radio. The only modern device we 
have not attained is the flying machine. Number of farms 
in county, 1742, approximate land area 222,720 acres, all 
farm property $10,216,738— (1920.) 


We have no millionaires, but a great many of the kind 
of people, Abraham Lincoln said, "God must have loved." 
The residents of Johnson County are of a migratory dis- 
position and enjoy travel, and it is a fact that most people 
who leave here and go into business, especially professions, 
in other localities attain places of prominence. The reasons 
ascribed for this are (first) that the people are all Amer- 
ican, descending from the first settlers of the Colonies ; an- 
other is that the training which they receive here is so 
varied it enables them to adapt themselves and succeed in 
whatever undertaking they have chosen. 

This county has less ioreign population than any other 
county in the state. 

Our courts have short dockets whereas fifty years ago 
we had from one to three murder cases every circuit court, 
for this reason we have lost many of our good lawyers. 

The description given by Mr. E. D. Rummel in the 
Community Service Dept., of the "Orange Judd Farmer," 
is applicable to Johnson County. He said, "I am in the land 
of hot biscuits and fried chickens, but must add the big red 
apple. Anna, Illinois and its tributary territory are a 
splendid exemplification of what Southern Illinois is to be 
in the future. Apples, peaches and other fruit as good, if 
not better than any grown elsewhere are profitably grown 
here by those who apply business like methods. Just why 
some of our Americans are chasing over the world hunting 
for beauty spots when they have all at home that they will 
find anywhere, is not reasonably understood. It is apparent 
as Northern Illinois men come into "Egypt" that they go 
away with a new vision of the possibilities of this unde- 
veloped part of the state. They see rice and cotton grown 
successfully side by side, in the large river bottoms. They 
see corn and alfalfa grown which cannot be surpassed. 
They see fine orchards and cow peas on the uplands, beau- 
tiful timber and coupled with it all they find rich deposits of 
minerals, many of them still undiscovered, which will add 
to the wealth of this section." 

And not forgeting the riches nature has lavished upon 
us, allow us to quote from the proposed Park Areas of Illi- 
nois, published by the Friends of our native Landscape, "In 
the neighborhood of Parker and Tunnel Hill are places of 
rare beauty and scenic interest. The ride on the Big Four 
Railway from Parker to Vienna, is perhaps the most pic- 
turesque railway ride in Illinois." 



6 Gorw'/le 




Tunnel Hit/ 


3 Zoom // c 


\0 * /y 










5} o . 

MO • 



Wn^e, HUJ 


Reeves v i //« 






"Should noble ancestry induce any one to de- 
mand that the public give him recognition, or to 
determine that he will give the public something to 



Honorable W. C. Allen is a native of this county, and a son of 
John and Sarah Mercer Allen, descending from the West family. His 
paternal grandfather Nesbit Allen was an early settler of this sec- 
tion, floating down the Ohio River and landing at Trinity in its 
palmy days, and before Illinois was a state. He was also one of 
the earliest educators of this county. His children were John (2), 
who married Mary Sarah Mercer, 1835. Their children were William 
Copeland and Malissa. The latter married John Martin, and they 
left one daughter, a Mrs. Holzhouser. Minerva (2) married Thomas 
Mercer (see- West). Malinda (2) married William and Sarah (2) 
married Samuel (both see Copeland). Emma (2) married John Elkins. 
Another daughter married a Mr. Eggleston. W. C. was born 1843 
and was raised by his uncle, his parents having died when he was 
quite young. He enlisted in the Federal Army when a mere youth 
and served till the close of the Civil War, His experience during 
these years taught him a great many things and among them, that 
an education was necessary and he immediately began the task of 
acquiring one. He was a teacher of the county several years, was 
elected sheriff in 1878, and a representative of the 51st district to 
the State Legislature in 1884. He went to Washington, D. C. about 
1894 as an employee of the house of Representatives and still resides 
there. He is a strong republican, a mason and a member of the M. 
E. Church. He married Francis, (see Calhoun). Mrs. Allen died in 


Robin Axley came here, tradition says, about 1810, floating down 
the Ohio River on a boat with other immigrants. He was living here 
in 1814 as he was appointed by the court to lay out a road from 
Elvira to Willcox' warehouse on the Ohio. He lived in the West 
Eden neighborhood, and was said to be a man without an enemy, and 
noted for his charity. (See West) 

Pleasant Axley lived here in 1814 and entered land in 1818, which 
is now owned by Neal and Simms. He was another citizen of the West 
Eden neighborhood that bore an enviable reputation for good deeds. 
The citizens of this community were men whose influence and char- 
acteristics have gone down in history. Although there are few of 
their descendants living in the locality at the present the names of 
these pioneers as upright men, are familiar to all the county, and 
their children have carried their teachings to many localities in many 



Two of the Bains came to this county very early in its settle- 
ment. They were of Irish decent, living in Noith Carolina and tradi- 
tion says they were born there. They emigrated to Kentucky and 
lafer to Illinois. James, who came first was born May 4. 1782 and 
married Elizabeth Pankey who was born Sept. 28, 1792. They were 
married Sept. 10, 1807. The children were Patterson, born July 21, 
1808, W. B. born Mar. 19, 1810, Malinda, born Dec. 27, 1811; John, 
born Oct. 13, 1813; Margaret, born Sept. 3, 1815; James J., born Mar. 
10, 1817, Robert, born Jan. 5, 1819; Bluett, born Dec. 28, 1821; Isaac, 
oorn Nov. 22, 1825; Mary born Nov. 1, 1827; Elizabeth, born Jan. 
21, 1830; Martha, born Aug. 21, 1833. This was copied from their 
family Bible now in the possession of Stewart Sutliff, grandson of 
James Bain. This is the history of the family as far as it could be 
traced. Isaac (2) married Elizabeth Mathis. The children wer^ 
James Robert (3), George (3), John (3), Bluette (2) served in the 
Mexican and Civil Wars. He married Malinda Hall. The children 
were Olive (3), Rome (3), Alice (3), Sidney (3), Charles (3), Louzenia 
(3). Rome (3) married Kiziah Bramlett. Margaret (2) married Mr. 
Thacker. Their children were Elizabeth (3), who married Porter 
Bellemy and lives in Pulaski County. Elizabeth (2) married Hiram 
Sutliff. Their children were James Hiram (3), John Stewart (3). 
James H. (3) married Mary A. Turner; Fanny (4), married Pleasant 
Howell. John Stewart (3) married Zurilda Reed. The children, Hiram 
(4), William (4), Bessie (4), Arthur (4). Hiram (4) married Bertha 
Arnett. The children were Pauline (5), Haline (5), Eugene (5), 
Violine (5). William (4) married Georgia Evers. The children were 
Elizabeth (5), Nadine (5), William (5), Bessie (4) married Roscoe 
Ferguson. The children were Thomas M. (5), William S. (5), Helen 
<5), Cretia (5), Bernice (5). This family resides at Moline, Illinois. 

James Bain is given as a "settler," under that chapter. His name 
is frequently found on the records as one of the men prominent in 
the county and holding responsible positions during its development 
and must have been a man of some education and ability. 

John Bain, Sr., brother to James came a little later, 1820, from 
Hopkinsville, Ky., and settled on what is now known as the Wiley 
Marberry farm in Bloomfield township. He operated a horse mill 
for grinding corn. A grandson, F. B. Thacker, says he heard him 
say one time when boasting that he could grind thirty bushels of 
•corn in a day. John Bain, married Martha Brooks, they had Margaret 
(2), born 1805, Chas. Addison (2), Mary A. (2), born 1812, Sarah (2), 
oorn 1814, John Jr. (2) born 1818, Francis (2), born 1819, Elizabeth 
(2), Mark (2), Margaret (2) married John (see McFatridge). C. A. 
(2) married Martha Emmerson, they had Henry (3), who died in the 


Civil War; Susana (3), John (3), Abner (3), Mary (3), Charles A, 
(3), Marauda (3), Leeman (3). Susanna (3) married Henry (see 
McFatridge; John (3) married Lucy Hamilton, removed to Arkansas; 
Abner (3) married Martha Slater; removed to the State of Washing- 
ton many years ago. He reared a family in Spokane, that state, 
Mary (3) married James Rose, had Edward (4), Anna (4) and Effie 
(4), they died after reaching adult age leaving no issue. No know- 
ledge of Leeman (3); Charles A. (3) settled near Samoth, later re- 
moved to Lincoln, Ark., he married Mary Reynolds, they had William 
(4), Thomas S. (4), Clara (4) and Fannie (4). William (4) moved 
to Muskogee, Okla. Thomas S. (4) married Mamie Morford, removed 
to Ottumwa, Iowa. Maranda (3) married Frank English. John 
Bain (2) has been mentioned in business and politics but it would 
be unfair not to emphasize his modest quiet manner, and his habit 
of most always being on the right side of every question and firm 
in his convictions. Men of this character may not make a stir in the 
world but their influence is far reaching. Mr. Bain was a Republican 
for many years but in his last days was a Prohibitionists. He began 
the mercantile business near what is known as Pond, east of Vienna 
on the Simpson road, moving his store to Vienna in 1846. He ac- 
cumulated quite a little fortune for his time and community. He was 
a strong supporter and a member of the Methodist Church. He built 
the brick residence known as the Bain home on South Fifth St., 
Vienna, in 1861. His first place of business was a log house about 
where the residence of W. E. Beal now stands, but the location where 
he did business the longest is now the vacant lot on the corner of 
West Main and Fifth St., on the square. He married Winnie garrell, 
1841, she was born 1824, of pioneer stock, Elias Harrell, her father 
coming here in 1820, also from North Carolina. Mrs. Bain lived an 
exemplary Christian life, her home was the home of the itinerant 
M. E. minister. She entertained Peter Cartwright on one of his 
visits to this section of the state. She was thoughtful and very 
charitable. She was outspoken in her opinions for right living, and 
believed that every one should earn an honest one. She died at 
the ripe old age of 85. Mr. Bain died 1886. Their children were 
Frances (3), Preston (3), Sidney (3), Medora (3), William B. (3), 
John C. (3). Frances (3) married Samuel Jackson, who was a native 
of Tennessee, born 1830, and left an orphan at the age of one year. 
He was brought to Illinois by his grandparents in 1831, coming in a 
lour horse wagon. They first lived in Sangamon County, later in 
Union and Pulaski. At the age of 12 he was bound to Dr. Gerry of 
Vienna with whom he lived until he was 17. He then began business 
for himself, contracting to ride the mail from Vienna to Shawnee- 
townee, a distance of sixty miles and almost impassable roads during 


some seasons of the year. This was quite an undertaking for a 
seventeen year old boy. He put in a crop for a Mrs. Vanderbilt of 
Pulaski County, one year and received $30.00 for it, part cash. He 
went to Mississippi and worked at anything he could find to do, 
sometimes receiving 25c per day, when on the farm he would start 
to mill at three o'clock in the morning and be obliged to wait most 
all day for his grinding, parching corn for his dinner. On the spread- 
ing of cholera in the south, he decided to return to Vienna, Johnson 
County. He worked as a salesman in Vienna, Jonesboro and Anna 
was also a traveling salesman for a firm in St. Louis. In 1859 he 
returned to Vienna with a capital of $2,000 and went into business 
for himself in the building opposite the Perkins Hatel, on the west, 
where Caborn's poultry house is now located. He formed a partner- 
ship with John Bain in 1861, which continued till Mr. Bain's death. 
He was a successful business man, a progressive and influential citi- 
zen and always ready to contribut to any forward movement for the 
betterment of the community. He married first Martha Gillespie who 
died soon after, leaving one son, Samuel, who resides in Los Angeles, 
Calif. He married second Francis P. Bain. The children were 
Arthur G. (4), Cora (4), Harry (4), Winnifred (4), John B. (4) Walter 
(4), William G. (4). Arthur G. (4) married May (see Copeland) and 
lives in Houston, Texas. Cora (4) married W. C. (see Simpson), 
Walter (4) married Ethel Gilbert, lives in Pope County. Wm. G. (4) 
married Edna Balance, they have William (5), Julia (5). Harry and W. 
G. Jackson are prominent business men of Vienna, having conducted 
a grocery and hardware store on the corner of Vine and 5th Sts. for 
a number of years. John B. (4) has been engaged in the banking 
business for several years in Jonesboro and Anna. Winnifred lives 
with her mother. Preston (3) married Helen Burnett. The children 
were Winnifred (4), Maragret (4), George (4), James (4), John (4). 
Most of this family reside at Texas City, 111. Sidney A. (3) married 
O. A. Harker. The children were George (4) and attorney of Los 
Angeles, Calif. Bert (4), business man of Puryer, Tenn. Winnifred 
(4) married Frances Hewitt, a druggist of Carbondale, 111., The 
children were Frances (5), Winnifred (5), Mary Ann (5). Medora (3) 
married Walter Warder. The children were Walter (4), Winnifred 

W. B. (3) married Charlotte Pancost of Lincoln, Neb. The chil- 
dren were June (4), who is the widow of Lee Hazen and resides in 
Chicago, 111. Verner (4) enlisted in the World War and died in 1919 
as a result of flu contracted during service. John C. (3) lives in 
the old home in Vienna. Sarah (2) married Joel (see Thacker) 
Francis (2) married Wesley (see Reynolds). Elizabeth (2) married 
Wiley Fairless. The children were James (3), Wiley (3) of this coun- 


ty. Mary (2) married Walton (see Gore), Mark (2) married Matildah. 
The children were John (3), Mary (3), Charles (3). John (3) reared a 
family in Union County. Mary (3) married Mr # Howell, Charles (3) 
and one other son moved west. 

At a family gathering in 1898 at F. B. Thacker's there were four 
sisters present, members of the Bain family. Mrs. McFatridge, 93, 
Mrs. Gore, 86, Mrs. Thacker, 84 and Mrs. Reynolds 80. Their parents 
came to this county in 1820. 


George Ballance began his business career as a teacher, later 
taking up law, and has been a local attorney of this county many 
year. He is a descendant of Hall and Elvira Whiteaker, his mother 
being Ginsey (2), who married J. H. Ballence. They lived near New 
Burnside, raising their family there. The children were George W. 
(3), of Vienna, who married Julia Burton. The chilren were Edna 
(4), (see Bain); Irene (4) married C. L. Baker, resides at Decatur, 
111. Helen (4) married I. C. Maurer of Collinsville, 111. and has one 
son. Sarah (3), the second child of Ginsey, married W. A. Wood, 
The child was Ballance (4), who is a physician. They reside 
in St. Louis. Thomas (3) is a first class farmer near New Burnside, 
married Winifred Lauderdale and has four children. Dr. John W. 
(3), is a physician of Marion, 111. R. A. (3) is also a physician, re- 
siding in Oklahoma. Dr. M. W. (3) is a dentist of Marion, 111. Earl 
(3) ,the youngest is a business man of Springfield, 111. The mother, 
Mrs. Ballance was a chater member of the Burnside M. E. Church 
and Stone Fort Eastern Star Chapter, No. 31. She died in 1909. 

D. F. Beauman was born in Canada, 1827 of French parentage. 
He came to Vermont when a young man and in 1853 he came west 
and engaged in the work of helping to build the Illinois Central Rail- 
road. He was stationed at Ullin and Anna, 111. In 1861 he married 
Carrie daughter of John Corgan, of Anna. Mr. Beauman engaged in 
the mercantile business in Lick Creek, a settlement near Buncombe, 
for some time, but later came to Johnson County and settled near 
Tunnel Hill, 1873, where he continued his mercantile business, and 
began to open up the Maple Grove Stock Farm, where he later moved 
and devoted his entire time to the farm. He was a pioneer in this 
county in raising fine cattle, his herds took many premiums and 
were of the Short Horn breed. He added fruit culture to his farming 
industry, exemplifing what could be done on the Ozark ridge and 
laid the foundation of the now famous Beauman Orchard. The children 
were Mrs. Birdie Dinwiddie (2), of Stockton, Calif.; Louie (2) was a 
civil engineer and held some high postions in railroad circles in the 


west. He married Kitty Woodruff. The children were Louie (3), 
who lost his life while in training in the Aviation Corps during the 
World War. The father immediately enlisted, went to France and 
served until the signing of the Armistice. He died soon after the 
close of the war. Their daughter, Carrie (3) is the wife of Mr. 
LaFevra of Houston, Tex. Francis (3), the youngest resides with her 
mother in Berkeley, Calif. Frank (2), was a business man of Paw- 
huskie, Okla., died 1924. He married Theresa Maness. The children 
were Avis (3), Harry (2) died in young manhood. John (2) died 
while serving in the Spanish American War as a member of the 
Signal Corps and is buried at Arlington Cemetery, Virginia, where 
his nephew, Louie, is also buried. Guy (2) is one of our foremost 
orchardist, and resides on the farm. He married Cora Seitz, and 
has William (3). Maud (2) is the widow of D. R. A. Hale and resides 
at Centralia, 111. Her children are Joe (3), Caroline (3) and Robert 
(3). Madge (2), wife of Dr. H. O. Williams of Centralia; Carrie (2) 
married first Robert Porter, who died, leaving Robert (3). She 
married second J. M # Brown, of this county. Clara (2) married 
George Trammell, cashier of the First State Bank, of Mound City, 111. 


Benjamin F. Bellemy was a resident of Vienna before the Civil 
War or about that time. He served as School Trustee in 1864. He 
came here from Tennessee and raised a large family of boys. Dav^ 
the oldest served in the Civil War, was a miller here for many years 
but removed to Hillerman on the Ohio. He married Mary Haneline 
and Edward Bellemy, the Feed and Grain merchant of Vienna is their 
son. Jesse Porter married Elizabeth Reed; three children. Porter 
married Elizabeth Thacker (see James Bain). Isaac married Martha 
Lentz. The children are Mrs. Rose Grant, Frank and Walter. John 
married Alice Hogg, their daughter, Mary, married James Bridges, of 
Vienna. John and family have moved out of the county. William 
married Belle Hand. He has Mary and Arista. Alfred married Sarah 
Stublefield and they had Carl who married Norma Ragains and has 
Mertice, Robert, Virgil and Beatrice. Alfred married second Fanny 
Stublefield. Ann, the only daughter of this family, married Benjamin 
Holcombe they had several children, one of whom, Katy, married 
Wallar Wallace. Uncle Ben, as he was known repaired watches and 
clocks for this community for many years. He was a mason and a 
faithful member of the Christian church. 

James Monroe Benson was born in Sangamon County, 111., 1822. 
and came to this county from Gallatin. His characteristic of kind- 
ness and his loyality to the church is mentioned in another chapter. 


He married Celinda, daughter of William Slack and settled on a 
farm in Tunnel Hill Township where they lived most all their married 
lives of more than fifty years. 

This farm is now owned by their grandson, J. D. Benson. Their 
children were N. J. (2), who received his elementary education in 
the county schools and later graduated from the Louisville Medical 
College. He practiced his profession in this county many years; he 
also served for a time as assistant physician at the Southern Illinois 
Hospital for the Insane at Anna. He now resides in Vernon, Indiana, 
where he has a large field of work. He married Mrs. Emma (Beal) 
Cole. Margaret (2) married John Carson. The children were Maud 
(3), who married Dr. William Whitenberg. She died leaving George 
(4), who resides in Stillwater, Okla. Cora (3) married Frederick 
Nave of Franklin County, and died leaving Helen (4). Alonza G. 
(2) is a scientific farmer and fruit grower of Tunnel Hill Township. 
He married first Sidney (see Chapman) ; second Mary Rendleman. 
The children are Robert (3), Franklin (3) and Charles (3). James 
N. (2) is a farmer of Bloomfield Township and his modern residence 
situated on an eminence one and one half miles north of Vienna is 
surrounded by very beautiful views characteristic of this county, 
making it one of the most desirable locations in the community. He 
married Elizabeth (see Chapman). Their sons served in the World 
War; E. C. in the Quartmaster's Department and is a Lieutenant in 
the Reserve Corps. J. D. trained for Air service at Champaign, 111. 

Buckey Boyt came to this county with at least part of his family. 
He had a daughter who married Smith Webb of Tunnel Hill Town- 
ship. His son, Felix was born in Tennessee 1811 and married Eliza- 
beth Simmons. The children were Mary (2), who married Duke 
Smith. He operated a tan yard at Vienna for some time; later they 
emoved to Texas, with their family except their son, Andrew (3), 
who married Belle, daughter of H. T. Bridges, of this county. The 
children were Clarence (4) and Bessie (4) ; neither of whom reside in 
the county. Washington (2) married Mahala McGowan. The chil- 
dren were William (3), who lives in Missouri. Washington (2) married 
second Ann, daughter of Dr. A. P. Stewart. Mr. Boyt was circuit 
clerk of the county and he and Mrs. Boyt were both teachers. They 
removed to Missouri years ago; Allen (2) married Julia Morgan. The 
children were Julia E. (3), who married Ed. F. Morton. The children 
were James (4), who is a resident of Decatur, 111.; Mary (4) at home. 
Ed. Boyt (3) was for many years one of Vienna's most successful 
business men. He married Bertie Bratton, (see Chapman). He died 
in the prime of life. Allen (2) married second Anna Dunn. The 


children were Eva (3), who married Walter Slack. Their children are 
Tullis (4), Donald (4), Lowell (4) and Christine (4). Allen Boyt 
served in the Civil War and was a farmer living in the Morgan 
neighborhood for several years. He moved to Vienna and engaged 
in the livery business, which he conducted until he was made deputy 
sheriff. He was shot by some unknown party while preforming the 
duties of that office. Elizabeth (2) married Beverly Bradley. The 
children were Amanda (3), who married Mr. Smith of this county; 
Mollie (3) married Joseph Walker and lived in Marion, 111.; Carmelia 
(2) married John S. Crum. Their children were Dolly (3), Ulysses 
(3), (see Crum). John (2) left the county when a young man, 
marrying and settling in the west. Nancy Malvina (2) married Calvin 
Corbit. The children are Daisy (3), who married Edward Boston 
and lives in Union County. John M # (3) married Ida Gore, resides 
at Pekin, 111. Sibyl (3) married E. A. Williams (see Carter). Emma 
(2) married Thomas Hogg and their children are Lelia (3), who 
married Edward Seawright and has one child. Bessie (3) married 
Mr. McConnell; they have one child. These families live in Chicago, 
111. Winifred (3) married Guerin Blackburn and resides at Marion 
111. Felix Boyt came to this county some time before the Civil War, 
about 1850, settling in Tunnel Hill Township. He was a carpenter 
and joiner and was quite a useful citizen in the frontier country. He 
opened the farm now owned by Mrs. Royster. He was a resident of 
Vienna for thirty years, a mason and one of the charter members of 
the Christain Church of this place. His wife, Aunt Betty, as she 
was called was loved by all who knew her and lived some years 
after her husbands death. They outlived all their children and spent 
their last days in the home of Mr. and Mrs. E. F. Morton, their grand- 
children who with Ed. Boyt, a grandson made their declining yeais 
very pleasant. 

Dr. George Bratton was one of the most prominent and success- 
ful physicians who ever practised in this county. His father, James 
Bratton, was a native of Adams County, Ohio. Jacob who emigrated 
from Pennslyvania to that state, was the father of James. Dr. 
Bratton was born in Adams County, Ohio and received his primary 
education at Burlington Academy and Hillsboro College. He gradu- 
ated from the latter institution at the age of seventeen, returning to 
Burlington, he began the study of medicine under Dr. Camillus Hall. 
He attended lectures at the Western Reserve Medical College, Cleve- 
land, and later entered Starling Medical College at Columbus, Ohio, 
graduating at the age of twenty. Under the laws of Ohio he could 
not receive a medical diploma at that age. He then entered a 
medical college of Philadelphia, Pa., and graduated from that instil u- 


tion in 1853, and at once took up the practice of medicine in Vienna. 
His field of work was very large and he was recognized by the pro- 
fession as one of the leading physicians of his time. He remained 
in active practice until the year of his death, 1899. No one needing 
medical attention ever applied to Dr. Bratton in vain, no night was 
too dark, stormy or cold, for him to hurry to the lowest hovel to 
relieve suffering. Dr. Bratton was married in 1858 to Elizabeth J. 
the daughter of David Y. and Lucretia (Chapman) Bridges, belonging 
to the earliest families of this county. Mrs. Bratton died in 1919, 
leaving two daughters (see Chapman.) 

George Brazel's name was connected with the early courts and 
business interests of the county. He was given as an attorney 
here and owned land in the county, also lot No. 46 in Vienna in 1824. 
His name appears on the list of school patrons of the first free 
school district, 1825. There was a mill located somewhere in the 
western part of the county known as Brazel's Mill, but if any of his 
descendants remain in this locality, it is not known. 

The founder of this Bridges family was William of England; 
his son was Francis. James D. was the son of Francis and Henry 
T. was the son of James D. He came here when he was thirteen 
years old. He followed the trade of blacksmith and wagon maker, 
and resided in and near Vienna most all his life. He was a quiet, 
but exempliary citizen, and served as justice of the peace many years; 
was a charter member of the Odd Fellows Lodge, a mason, a republi- 
can and a Presbyterian, while this church was an active organization 
here, but later joined the Christian Church. He married Mary Carter. 
1852, who lived to be almost ninety years old. The children were 
Belle (2), who married Andrew Smith (see Boyt) ; Vesta (2) marrie<] 
Isaac Hogg and had James (3), who resides in Metropolis; James 
(2) grew up in this county, but went to Oklahoma, where he married 
and his family still reside; William (2), the youngest also went to 
Oklahoma where he married and died a young man, leaving a family. 
Harry T. (2) is a young man and has made a place for himself in 
the business world, not only of Vienna, but is known as editor and 
publisher of the Vienna Times. He worked for W. H. Gilliam as an 
assistant on this paper for several years, and at the death of Mr. 
Gilliam, bought the paper. He is issuing a first class country news- 
paper, which is appreciated by his readers. He has, like his father, 
been a justice of the peace for several years. He is a public spirited, 
wide awake citizen and lends his aid to all forward movements. He 
is especially interested in education. He married Cena Brooks, and 


their children are Mabel (3), Harry T. Jr., (3), Royce (3) Francis (3), 
Lucille (3), James (3) and Marion (3). 

From the best information, John was the name of the founder 
of the Bridges family in this county, that came here from North 
Carolina about 1810, settling on the west side of the county (settle- 
ment referred to by Peck). He followed farming and also kept a 
general store and became quite wealthy for that time. His children 
were Alfred (2) Col. D. Y. (2), John (2), Celia (2), Abbie (2). Alfred 
(2) was born 1799. He served in the Seminole War in Captain 
Andrew's Company. He owned property in Vienna and held office 
here in the early times. He married Elizabeth, who was born 1805, 
and their, children were Edith (3), Mary (3), James (3), John H. (3), 
Green (3) and Calvin (3). Edith (3) married Franklin Smith who 
was a prominent business man of Vienna for many years. They had 
no children, but their home was always open to those who needed one. 
Mary (3) married John Sanders and had children Samuel (4), Edith 
(4), Mary (4), Ann (4), Sheridan (4), William (4). Edith (4) married 
ried John Perry and had Mamie (5), Thomas (5), Herman (5). Mamie 

(5) married John Sharp of this county. Herman (5) resides in 
Philadelphia and Thomas (5) in Paragould, Ark. Samuel (4) married 
Millie Shoemaker. The children were Bertha (5), who lives in 
Peoria, 111. and William (5), who married Lena. They have two 
children and live in Arvada, Wyoming, where he is cashier of a bank. 
Mary (4) married Frank Burnett, 1879. The children were Nellie (5), 
who married George Pickard, their children are Frank (6), Phillip 

(6) and Raymond (6). Edith (5) married Dr. G. K. Farris. Mary 
(4) married second John E. Hunsaker, 1885, and their children were 
Paul (5) and Lawrence (5), married Jessie Barnett and has Paul (6). 
Ann (4) married Thomas Perry. She had Clyde (5), who married 
Ethel Batts and resides at Senneth, Mo. Mona (5) married Charles 
Bray and lives in Flint, Mich. Sadie (5) married Coke Browning 
and resides in Senneth, Mo. Sheridan (4) married Jennie Neal. The 
children ar~> Frank (5), Phillip (5), Raymond (5). William (4) mar- 
ried Ella Williams. Their children are Edith (5), who married a Mr. 
Hutchinson, of Senneth, Mo., and Loueva (5). James J. (3) married 
Eliza Gibbs; their children were Augustus (4), who married Izora 
Wise. The children were James (5), who married Mary Bellemy 
and has James (6). Charles (5) who married Ella Simmons; their 
children are Francis (6), Agustus (6), Elizabeth (6) and Charles (6). 
John H. (3) married Pop Elkins, their children were Alfred (4), 
who was accidently killed and Dallas 4, who married Anna Median. 
Green (3) married Mahala Hacker; the children were Edith (4). 
Green (3) marreid second Martha and their children were India (4), 
who married a Mr. Campbell and moved to Cincinnati, Ohio. Calvin 


(3) married Adeline Bagget; the chlidren were Anna 4, George (4), 
Frank (4), Logan (4), Alfred (4), Ida (4), Edith (4), Calvin (4) and 
Young (4). Anna (4) married Frank Ramey and had Zora (5) who 
married George Jones, and Nanny (5) who married a Mr. Mathis; 
Logan (4) married Dora (see Harvick), Alice (4) married Frank 
Dunn and lives in Metropolis, 111.; Ida (4) married Frank Simmons, 
they moved to Missouri; Edith (4) married William Birch and has 
children Ethel (4), who married Charles Burris and has Gene- 
vieve (6), Lois May (6); Alice (5) is married and resides in the 
west; Ralph (5), Earl (5), Agnes (5), married Guy Worrell. 

Col. D. Y. Bridges (2) was a prominent business man of Vienna 
from 1840 to 1857. He served in the 16th and 17th sessions of the 
State Legislature, and was a merchant here and dealt in tobacco, 
making many trips to New Orleans as did all the merchants of that 
time to market their produce. He removed from Vienna to what is 
now the H. Ragains place, having had a modern residence built on 
the site now occupied by Mr, Ragains residence. He married Lu- 
cretia (see Chapman); Abbie (2) married Thomas (see Gore); John 
(2) entered land in this county in 1830, the east l/ 2 of S. W. 1/^ of 
Section 29 township 12, range 2 East. His children were David Y. 
(3), born 1878, John (3) (Wint) Lucretia (3), Abbie (3), Malinda (3), 
Elizabeth (3), Lavina (3) and Catherine (3). David Y. (3) married 
Lucy King and they had Laura (4), who married a Mr. Baggly and 
lives in Texas, Charles (4) who married Flora, daughter of Petei 
Gore and had Mana (5), Mona (5), Charles (5). Lucretia (3) married 
Frank Henard, their children were Alice (4), Ellen (4), Carrie (4), 
Lula (4), Abbie (4), George (4) died soon after reaching manhood; 
Everet (4), William (4). Alice (4) married Dr. C. A. C. Parker, they 
had Marie (5), Eva (5), Charles (5), Edith (5), Zillah (5). Marie 
(5) married Harvey Hinkle, children Loren (6) Leland (6), Harveretl 
(6); Eva (5) married Ollie Holshouser; children Wanda (6), Hazel 
(6), Paul (6), Herald (6); Charles (5) married Ivy Peeler, children 
James M. (6), Jack (6); Edith (5) married Hammond White and had 
Mary Alice (6) ; married second Lewis Tanner. Zilla (5) married 
Russell Lee and has Karleen (6). Ellen (4) married Etheldred Jones 
(see West). William (4) married Tempy Sitters lives in Union 
County. Carrie (4) married Frank Betts and had Amel (5) ; married 
second Frank Nobles. Lula (4) married Charles Johnson. Abbie (4) 
married A. Mclntire. Everett (4) married Sarah Smith. Abbie (3) 
married James W. Gordon; they had children Berneta (4), Joseph 

(4) Etta (4) Ann (4), Mary (4), Fanny (4), John (4), Ruth (4). 
Berneta (4) married William Miles; they had Raymond (5), Lovi 

(5) Joseph (5). Etta (4) married John Adams, children Olin (5), 
Herman (5), Mabel (5), Joseph (5), Lindel (5), Allison (5), Eva (5). 


Joseph (4) married Siddie Kerley. They have Clarence (5), Homer (5) 
Ernest (5). Ann (4) married Wiley Pender; they had Rosa (5), 
James (5), Joseph (5). Mary (4) married Elsworth Adams; children 
Willis (5), Benjamin (5), Ray (5), John (5), Clarence (5). John (l) 
married Rosa Barringer, children Sibyl (5), Malby (5), Dimple (5), 
Myra (5), Georgia (5), Ralph (5). Fanny (4) married William Miles, 
they had Arlie (5) James (5), Frank (5). Ruth (4) married Thomas 
Cochran, they have Sylvia (5) and Edgar (5). Joseph Pender (5) 
married a Miss Simmons, they had Sibyl (6), James (6), Joseph (6), 
Anna (6), Baby (6). Mrs. Abbie Gordon, her daughter, Ann, grandson, 
Joseph and his wife died within ten days during the "flu" epidemic 
of 1918, leaving the five small children of Joseph Pender (5), 
(James W. Gordon married second Mrs. Mary Penrod). Malinda (3) 
married William Ragsdale and had Elizabeth (4) who married Thomas 
Isom; Grant (4) married Matilda Stokes; Samuel (4) "Bunk" married 
Agusta Keller; Rose (4) married Barney Gore; Belle (4) married 
Mr # Bishop; Elijah (4) married Josie Smith; Lily (4) married Walter 
Bishop; Dave (4) married first Daisy Murray, second Ethel Davidson; 
Willis (4) married Tillie Hogue; Elmer (4) married Cora Pearce and 
third Joyce Ussery; Oscar (4). John (3) married first Caroline Gore 
and had John D. (4), who married Mary Fane, they had Ernest (5), 
Ellen (5), Pearl (5) Dovey (5); Ida (4) married B. M. Adams, of Cache 
Township, their children were Barney (5), Almus (5) Homer (5). 
John (3) married second Sarah Ragains and they had David C. (4), 
Josephine (4), Laura (4), Narvisa (4), Suda Belle (4). David G. 
(4) married Airy McGinnis and they had Edna (5), who married 
Frank Keisler; Josephine (4) married Warner Ferguson and had 
Jewell (5); Laura (4) married Melvin Jones, (see West) Narvisa 
(4) married William Bradley and they had Gladys (5) who died in 
young womanhood; Suda B. (4) married Claude Cooper. Melvina 
(3) married Crawford (Tuck) Ragsdale; Elizabeth (3) married Robert 
Hennard; Catherine (3) married Garth Pender. Celia (2) married 
John Oliver, who served the county as treasurer in the twenties, 
and as judge in the sixties. He took an active part in public affairs 
during his entire life. They had children, William (3), Alfred (3) 
James (3), David (3), John (3), Elizabeth (3) Dorcas Jane (3). 
William (3) married Susan Short and they had Benton (4), Mariah (4), 
Nancy (4), John (4) James (4). Benton (4) married Minerva Pearce 
and they had Anna (5), who married Charles Mozley. Alice (5) 
married Mark Crowder. Mariah (4) married John Eldridge and 
removed to Texas. Nancy (4) married William Arnett and had 
Charles (5). They also moved to Texas. John (4) married Sarah 
Harvel and their children were Cora (5) who married Jeff Rogers 
and had Estelle (6). Rosa (5) married Andrew Thomas and had 


Ruby (6), Oliver (6), Frank (6) Glena (6). Lily (5) married Edward 
Bellemy. Lura (5) married George Dunn. Margaret (5) not married. 
James (3) was one of our foremost farmers living west of Vienna for 
many years. He married Avaline (see Smith), Alfred (3) married 
Marian Slack. David (3) married Tabitha Hogg and their children 
were Richard (4), who married a Miss Moore and had David (5) 
Alonzo (4) married Toby Stubblefield. Georgia Ann (4) married a 
Mr. Edwards, Samuel (4); Elizabeth (3) married Louis Wise; 
Dorcas J. (3) married Stanley Toller, children Cordelia (4) and 
George (4). Both died without issue. 


R. W. Brown came from Tennessee here in 1853. He was a 
farmer and a well known citizen in this county for many years. He 
married Mary Ann Peterson, and their children were Ellen, who 
married Green, (see Thacker) ; George, married Kate (see McFat- 
ridge); Owen, married first a Miss Reed, and they had Charles; he 
married second Ida Stanley and their children are Cecil, who married 
Elbert True of Marion, 111.; Neoma, Morris and Audry; A. I. married 
Geneva (see Whiteaker) # Reuben Brown was a brother to R. W. 
and a farmer of Elvira Township. He married Malinda Thompson 
and they had Alice (2) who married J. J. (see Robertson) ; Ursula 
(2) married Douglas Rose and has Claud (3); William (2) married 
Elizabeth Jenkins. These three families reside in Buncombe. Jeffer- 
son (3) married Kate, widow of George Brown and they had Guy 
(4), Reuben (4), Walter (4), Ray (4), Clyde (4), Ruth (4), all o: 
Massac County. Richard (2) died in California; Ruth (2) married 
J. R. Edwards and lives in Colorado. 

James Brown came to this county about 1820 from North Caro- 
lina where he was born in 1788, and settled in what is now Cache 
Township. He married Elizabeth, sister to Rix Carter, also a native 
of North Carolina. The children were Samuel T. (2), Wilson (2), 
Edward S. (2), Allen B. (2), Mary (2), Amanda (2), Ella E. (2). 
Samuel T. (2) was a farmer, born 1825, within a mile of where ho 
died, having lived in that neighborhood all his life. He married 
Amanda Dubois, and they began life together in a log cabin. Samuel 
T. was a successful farmer, a justice of the peace for thirty years, 
and a member of the M. E. Church fifty-three. Their children were 
Angeline (3), James M. (3), Joy (3), married Aliced Whitacre, Wilson 
B. (3), Mary A. (3), Samuel T. Jr., (3), John M. (3), Alonz V. (3), 
Ella E. (3), Amanda (3). Angeline (3) married Dr. P. D. (see Mul- 
key) ; James M. (3) married Viola, and Samuel T. (3) married J. 
see Smith) Samuel (3) who resides at West Vienna and John M. (3), 
who resides west of Vienna about two miles are progressive and sue- 


cessful farmers; John M. (3) married first Ellen Enos, their children 
are Edith (4), who married Oel (see Simpson) Blanch (4) married 
Orba Davidson and their son is John Billy (5); John M. (3) married 
second Leila Mackey, and their children are Waldron (4) and Vir- 
ginia (4); John M. (3) married third Mrs. Carrie (Beauman) Porter; 
Mary A # (3) married Frank (see Carter), married second James 
Enos; Wilson (2) married Cassandra Gore; Edward S. (2) married 
a Miss Thomas and they had children Mrs. Juda Missenhammer (3); 
Owen Bruner (3), Norman (3), Morgan (3), Leroy (3) and Cassandra 
(3); Allen Bainbridge (2) married Miss Sidwell and had Joseph (3), 
the artist, and Ann (3). Mary (2) married Joel Dubois, children 
James (3), Betty (3) married Dr. Owen (see Peterson); Cora (3) 
married a Mr. Bolan moved out of the county; Amanda (2) married 
D. M. Jones, children Bernice (3) married Benj. Holsnouser; Charles 
(3) married a Miss Groner; Ellen F. (2) married Frank Wilhelm 
their children were Curtis (3), Vida (3), Loren (3). 

The ancestor of the Burnetts of this county was William, a native 
of New Jersey. He emmigrated to Ohio in 1802, being one of the 
first six families to settle in Trumbull County, that state. His wife's 
name was Mary Walker. John the next in line was two years old 
when his father came West, where he was reared and married in 
1823, Harriet Merry, a native of Ohio, being the first white child 
born in Hartford Township, Trumbull County, 1801. Their children 
were Julia (2), Charles M. (2), Asahel (2), Martha (2), Frank (2), 
Mary (2), Wm. (2), Wellington (2). Asahel (2) born 1829, educated in 
the village school and also a higher school of Portage, Ohio, and be- 
gan teaching in his native state at the age of sixteen years, for which 
he received eighteen dollars a month and boarded "around." He con- 
tinued this work for a few years but decided to come to Illinois in 
]853. It appears that he was the first of his family to come here, 
and settled on the farm where he died. It is located about four 
miles east of Vienna in Bloomfield township. He farmed in the 
summer and taught school in the winter for twenty-six years and 
was County Examiner under J. S # Whittenberg. He married Didamie 
Robertson, 1854. One child, Marcus L. (3), who married Sarah 
Connelly. They had Asahel Breeze (4), Chloe (4), Sadie (4), Earl 
(4). Chloe (4) married Wiley Holt and has Gladys (5); Sadie (4) 
married Walter Sharp, and has Sylvia (5); Earl (4) married Blanco 
Rhodes. Charles M. (2) was born in 1827, and came to this county 
in 1862. He was a business man of Vienna for many years and was 
noted for his beautiful horses and his good care of them. He married 
Margaret Henry in Ohio and their children were Frank (3), Fred (3), 


Helen (3), John (3). Frank (3) married Mary Sanders (see Bridges); 
Fred (3) was born in Ohio, 1854, and was a successful business man of 
Vienna for many years. He married Betty Fields and their children 
were Cora M. (4) who married D. W. (see Chapman); Fred (4) mar- 
ried Velma Strickland and their children are Fred (5) and Margaret 
(5). Helen (3) married Preston (see Bain); John (3) married Alice 
Lambert and their children were Charles (4), Frank (4) and Ted (4). 
Mary (2) married Jesse Davis, a contractor and builder of Vienna. 
Wellington (2) was a physician of Massac County, living at New 
Columbia, 111., in the seventies. 

Three Calhoun brothers, Jacob, Zachariah and George, came to 
this county from Tennessee about 1850. Their father, George came 
from North Carolina to Tennessee in an early day. The maiden name 
of his wife was Patsy Julian, a native of Georgia. They lived on a 
farm in Tennessee most all their lives, the mother coming to this 
county when very old. They reared five sons and one daughter; 
Jacob J. (1), born about 1803, married Rebecca McCall, daughter of 
Thomas, whose wife was a Miss Gilmore, about 1825. They removed 
to this county in 1852, settling on land near Belknap. Their original 
home is now enclosed in Charles Marshall's barn. Their children 
were William (2), James F. (2), Thomas H. (2), Charles D. (2), 
George J. (2), Mary A. (2), Frances (2), Susan (2), Mary (2), Rebecca 
C. (2), Elizabeth (2). William (2) married Mary Rhodes, they had 
Samuel (3), Betty (3), Robert (3), Franklin (3), and Susan (3). This 
family removed to Arkansas. James F. (2) married Mary Helm. The 
children were Charles (3), Jacob J. (3), who married Belle Henderson. 
Cynthia (3), married David L. Stewart; Susan (3) married Isaac 
N. Evans, Thomas J. (3) and George W. (3). James F. (2) married 
second, Francis Reid and their children were Allen (3), Manorah (3), 
Martha (3), who married Polk Ballard and Lizzie (3). Thomas H. 
(2), born in Williamson County, Tennessee, 1831, married Mary Robin- 
son, their children were Alice (3) who married Pink Thornton and 
lives near Goreville. William (3) married Julia Jones. Francis (3) 
married Charles Grissom. James A. (3) married Miss Toler; Jacob 
(3) married Miss Terry; Susan E. (3) married William Furgus; 
Charles R. (3) married Delia Osborne; George B. (3) married Eva 
Campbell. Charles D. (2) married Ditha Johnson. They had Albert 
(3), who married Lizzie Cox; Sula (3), married Thomas Hurst; 
Amanda (3) married Roy Henderson; Julia (3), Frank (3) married 
Miss Jones; Samuel (3) married Spicy Burns, Josephine (3) and 
Rosa (3). George J. (2) married Martha Dunn and their children are 
Priula (3), married Mary Henderson; Edward (3) married May 


Johnson; Zachery T # (3) married Francis Mayard; he is a physician 
of Pope County; Sarah E. (3) married J. F. Gillespie; John H. (3) 
married a Miss Harper; Frank (3), Walter (3), Allen (3), no know- 
ledge. Mary A. (2) married James Robinson, their children are Hugh 
(3), Phoebe (3) married John Spicer; Sarah (3) married Mark 
Whiteaker; William (3) no knowledge; Charles (3) married May 
Cover; Francis (2) married William C. Allen and had Belle (3), who 
died in youth; Susan (2) married William Moore and had Douglas (3) 
who married Lizzie Johnson, Joseph (3), and Jeptha (3); Fannie (3) 
married John Rathar; Lizzie (3) married James Ore. Martha (2> 
married William Ring and they had William (3) married Miss Thorn- 
ton, George (3) married Miss Mulinax, Jane (3) married Millington 
(see Smith), Alice (3), Francis (3). Rebecca Cumi (2) married James 
Venable, the children were John (3), Orril (3), Lizzie (3), Thomas (3), 
this family removed to Missouri. Sarah (2) married George Lovelace 
and their children were Olis B. (3) married Sula Betts and Georgia A. 
(3). Sarah (2) married second Isaac Lovelace and had Isaac (3), 
who married Julia Bratton. Elizabeth (2) married John Murrie (2) 
and had Johin (3). Zach. (1), another brother settled in the southeast 
part of the county, 1850 and had William Hayes (3), Petaway (3), 
John (3), Mary (3), Lucy (3) and two other daughters whose names 
are not known. Lucy (3) married Dr. Young of Metropolis. Mary 
(3) married a Mr Cryder. George (1), the other brother settled in 
Elvira Township and had Joseph Julian (2), William (2), Martha (2), 
Amanda (2). Joseph J. (2) married Mary Parker, they had Julian 
(3), Heber (3), Loubeth (3). Julian (3) died in young manhood; 
Heber (3) married Doria Beggs, they have Gay (5), Edna (5), Joseph 
(5), Fay (5), Ludine (5), Fondle (5) and Robert (5). Loubeth (3) 
married Nathaniel Boomer. William (2) never married; Martha (2) 
had Ivy who married Mr. Nipper. Amanda (2) married Willis Lingle 
and resides in Union County. George (1) married second Mrs. Ann 
(Ward) Copeland. 

John W. Carlton is a son of W. B. who came to this county in 
1840 from Middle, Tennessee and was born on the Pedee River, Nortn 
Carolina. He married first Miss Hight and had one son, Dr. Lewis 
W. Carlton. After her death he married Sarah E. Throgmorton and 
had Harvey (2), Henry (2), Joseph (2), Edward (2) Ambrose (2), 
J. W. (2) Addy (2), Edward (2) married Neoma (see Farris) and is 
cashier of the first National Bank of Coulterville, 111. Ambrose (2) 
married Clara Davis who died, leaving Gretel, a young daughter, 
who also died in 1924, and Billy about ten years old. Addy (2) 
married Wirt Lindsey and has Joseph (3); J. W. (2) married Mattie 
(see Veach). He followed teaching with farming until 1916 when he 


was elected circuit clerk arid was so efficient that he was reelected 
in 1920 and again in 1924. He and family are republicans and 
estimable citizens of the county seat. 

Levi Casey came to this county in 1808 and settled in Bloom- 
field Township, near a spring, which has been known for many years 
as Casey's Spring. Himself, his wife and ten children came by ox 
cart from Tennessee. He was said to be a native of Ireland and 
was a brother of Zadoc Casey, who was at one time Lieutenant Gov- 
ernor of Illinois and presided in the Constitutional Convention ol 
1848. Levi (1) married Mary Sherrell in East Tennessee about 1780. 
Tilth- children were Polly (2), who married Squire Choate, they 
resided in Massac County many years, being the founders of the 
Choate family in that county. J. M. Choate, a prominent business 
man of Metropolis who has recently (1923) disappeared on a trip 
Irom the west, and of whom no trace can be found is a descendanc 
of theirs. Rachel (2) married Mr. Elms; Patsy (2) married a Mr. 
Clark; Belvia (2) married a Mr. Ritta; Susanna (2) married John 
Goddard; another daughter married a Mr. Goddard; and another 
daughter married a Mr. Fisher and still another, a Mr. Latham; 
Susanna (2) and John Goddard lived in Williamson County, near 
old Sulphur Springs and reared a large family, namely George W. 
(3), W. G. (3), Randolph (3) and John (3), who lives near New 
Burnside, Nancy (3) married W. J. Cavitt of Tunnel Hill; Rebecca 

(3) married Dr. Russell Williams and resided in Hamilton County; 
Rachel (3) married Obe. Rich. There were two sons in the first 
Levi Casey's family, Randolph (2) who was born in Tennessee, 1796, 
and was the fifth child, the other brother, twelve years when he 
came to this county, died at the age of eighteen. Family tradition 
says, he was the first person buried at Casey Springs Cemetery, 1816, 
which is one of the oldest buring grounds of the county. Randolph 
(2) married Mary Graves in Johnson County, 1818. Their children 
were Hiram (3), Rebecca (3), Sarah (3), Rachel (3), D. M. (3), A. 
J. (3), Green R. (3). Hiram (3) married Derinda Hightower. The 
children were George (4), Levi B. (4), Fred (4), Julia (4), Susan 

(4) and Rachel (4). Hiram (3) died in 1865 while serving in the 
120th Illinois Volunteer Infantry. Of his children, George (4) died 
in young manhood; Levi B. (4) married Angeline Norma. They had 
four sons, Randolph (5) who married Louisa Rushing; Daniel W. (5) 
married Rina Webb; Dr. W. N. E. (5) is now a resident of Tacoma, 
Wash., and Dr. Levi B. (5), who practiced medicine for many years 
in Marion, 111., and was well known in this county. Rebecca (3) 
married John G. Sparks, moved to California in 1850, later to Oregon, 
where he served as Internal Revenue Collector for that section of the 


Northwest under President Lincoln. Sarah (3) married John W. 
Howerton, (see Howerton), Rachel (3) married Green Lowery. Levi 
B. (4) and Angeline also had daughters, Mary Ann (5) who married 
Jackson Hewitt and Nancy (5) who married William R. (see Webb). 
Levi B. Casey (4) was said to be a man of commanding appearance, 
six feet, two inches tall and of a find physique. He was Captain of 
Company D., 31st Illinois Infantry, Logans regiment, and was killed 
at Vicksburg, June, 1863. He is buried at the Graves Cemetery, four 
miles north of Vienna, on the old Marion road. Randolph (2) spent 
his life as a farmer. He never went to school a day in his life and 
learned to read after he was forty years old. He became a great 
reader and was well informed on the history of this government and 
acquired a good geographical knowledge of this country and the 
world at large. He was a great student of the Bible, a republican 
and after 1860 a member of the Christian Church. D. M. Casey (3) 
son of Randalph, resides in Tallequah, Okla # , and they have four 
sons and one daughter. A. J. Casey (3) died leaving three children. 
Green R. (3) married Lucinda Perkins in 1873. Their children were 
W. R. (4) who resides in Oklahoma; F. M. (4) living near Creal 
Springs; George V. (4) of Golconda, 111.; T. L. (4) also of Oklahoma 
and Ward (4) who resides with his parents. Mrs. Alice (Casey) 
Bell (4) lives near Tunnel Hill, Minnie (Casey) Hodge (4) resides 
at Heartly, Texas; Ida (Casey) Yandell (4) resides at Carterville, 
111. There is now in the possession of Green R. Casey (3), a burr 
that was used in a hand mill and brought to this county from Ten- 
nessee by Levi Casey in 1808, also his spectacle case. Levi Casey 
died in 1842 and was buried at Metropolis. Randolph (2) removed to 
Williamson County about four years after his marriage, to a place 
called Old Sulphur Springs and resided there until 1853, when he 
returned to this county and entered land under the "bit" act. He 
first resided on the James Whitehead old place, now known as the 
Centralia Fruit Farm. He moved in 1857 to the farm where J. B. 
Cavitt now resides, living there until his death, 1874, and is buried 
at the Goddard Cemetery. Randolph Casey (2) married Manerva 
Alexander, and had one child, Mrs. R. G. Simmons (3). 

Hiram Carson was a first resident of Tunnel Hill Township. He 
served as sheriff of the county and also filled other stations of trust 
in the county and neighborhood. His widow, Nancy, now past ninety 
years old, and Frank, a son, reside on the old home place. Mrs. 
Carson was formally married to a Mr. Jackson and had a son, 
Reuben, who married Jane Simmons, and they had Cordia who 
married Joseph Murrie and Essie who married Frank Carter. Only 


three of Mrs. Carson's children are now living, beside Frank, they 

are Samuel, Jerome, who lives at Kankakee, 111., and Casey, who 

resides in California. Pleansant married Lillie Morris and died 
leaving one son and a daughter. 

Amos Carter is an old resident, coming here from Tennessee. He 
served in the Civil War and is a loyal member of the Grand Army 
Post. He still operates his farm although eighty-six years old # He 
is well preserved mentally and physically, and always appears to be 
on the sunny side of life. He married Sarah Turley and has Grant 
who married Eva Carlton, they are residents of Carbondale. James 
who married Julia Stewart died several years ago leaving a family 
his widow later married Ezekiel Ingersol of Carbondale; Miss Jennie 
is an employee of the government and resides in Washington. 

Vincent was the ancestor of the large Carter family residing in 
this county and many who have emigrated from it. He was born 
in North Carolina in 1803 and later came to Tennessee with his 
parents, where he followed farming till 1850, when with his wife and 
children he settled on a farm in Vienna Township. He married 
Elizabeth Rose in Tennessee, and their children were John (2), 
Frank (2), Mary (2), Lucy B. (2), Sabra W. (2), J. H. (2), Eliga (2), 
Tennesseee E. (2). John (2) was a farmer of this county and married 
Martha Neatherly, 1854; their children are W. H. (3), and Mary 
E. (3). W. H. (3) married Josephine Verhines. The children were 
W. H. (4), Frank (4), Martha (4), Arista (4), Dola (4), Guy (4), 
Eva (4). W. H. (4) married Emma Murrie. The children were 
Merritt (5), Ivy (5), Ethel (5). W. H. (4) married second Mrs. 
Norah (Comer) Rhodes. The children were Otto (5), Norine (5), 
Frank (4) married Essie Jackson. Martha (4) married John Dill, a 
prominent business man of Carbondale and a native of this county. 
They have John Jr. (5). Arista (4) married Lyons Randle. Dola (4) 
married Rex Cook. Frank M. (2) married Charlotta Bridges and had 
Alice (3), Elizabeth (3), Martha (3), Belle (3). Belle (3) married 
Robert Verhines and had Robert (4), Harvey (4) and Lily (4), who 
married William Keltner, he died leaving Robert (5) ; she married 
second Mr. Chitty. Elizabeth (3) married Maxwell Caudle and had 
Ira (4) and Ralph (4). Alice (3) married R. R. Ridenhower in 1882 
and had R. R. Jr. (4), who married Essie Jackson and had Kimber 
(5); married second Pearl Veach. Martha (3) married Samuel 
Jobe and had Nettie (5), who married Mr. Hopkins, of Little Rock, 
Ark. F. M. (2) married second Matilda (Fairless) Clayton and had 
Suda, (3), who married Eugene Ausbrooks of this county; he married 


third Mrs. Mary Farris and had Obie (3). Mary (2) married H. T. 
(see Bridges). Lucy (2) married James Card, 1878, who was of 
Scotch ancestry, but for two generations his family had lived in 
Ireland, where James was born in 1832. He was a blacksmith by 
trade, he was a useful and esteemed citizen of our county for many 
years. He served in the Civil War and was at Antitem 1862. He 
was a member of the Baptist Church and a Republican. They had 
Lula (3) who married Isaac Hook, children Robert (4), James (4), 
Herbert (4) and Katherine (4). Sabra W. (2) married A. D. Williams, 
a farmer of Bloomfield and had Etha (3), William (3), E. A. (3). 
Bertha (3), Elizabeth (3), G. C. (3). Etha (3) married John R. 
Parker and their children were Ada (4), who married John Beggs 
and lives in Marion. The children were Jaunita (5), Effie (5), John 
Jr., (5). Abe (4) served in the World War, where his hearing was 
badly injured. He learned shoe repairing in a vocational training 
school and now operates an electric shoe shop in Vienna. He married 
Gertrude Arnett and has Loretta (5) and Wilda (5). William (3) 
married Victoria Crowder; children, Essie (4) married Mr. Jobe; 
Fay (4) married Howard Beals. E. A. (Buck) (3) married Sibyl 
Corbitt. The children were Calvin (4), Lucy (4) who married James 
Hutchinson of Goreville and Hattie (4). G. C. (Dink) (3) married 
Edna Schagenlaugh and has one daughter. Elizabeth (3) married 
W. L. Darter. The children were Arthur (4), Coba (4). She 
married second Joshua Gray. The children were Ward (4), Nettie 
(4), Gussie (4). James H. (2) was born in Giles County, Tenn., 1844. 
He came with his parents to this county and was left an orphan at 
an early age, he was reared by his brother-in-law. H. T. Bridges, 
from whom he learned the blacksmith trade. He enlisted in the 6th 
111. Cav., at the age of 17, was wounded and discharged, he reen- 
listed in the 120 Co. K. He was the third person to enlist from this 
county and served during the remainder of the Civil War and was 
promoted to a Lieutenancy. He was elected sheriff of this county, 
1872 and to the State Legislature in 1878. On retiring from office 
he entered the mercantile business which he followed till his death. 
He was a very successful business man and took a great interest 
in the community and its betterment. He married first Eliza Card- 
well and had James H. Jr. (3) who is in business in Cairo, 111. He 
married Myrtle Hankins. They have Wallace (4), Phillip (4), June 
(4), James (4), John (4) and Elizabeth Rose (4). James H. (2) 
married second Amanda Belle (see Harvick) 1875. Tennessee E. (2) 
married Hugh Wallace, who was a blacksmith of our town, they re- 
sided here many years. They had one daughter, Maggie, who married 
J. F. Francis. They live in Springfield, 111. Eliza (2) died when a 
young woman. 



W. J. Cavitt is an old resident of Tunnel Hill Township. He 
came to this section in 1854 from Tennessee, settling first in William- 
son County but later coming to this. He married Nancy Jane God- 
dard. The children were J. B. (2), J. G. (2), W. W. (2), Susan (2) 
Mary (2), R. A. (2) and J. C. (2). J. B. (2) married Martha Johnson; 
she is the mother of seventeen children as follows: O. S. (3), J. H. 
(3), Eva (3), J. R. (3), W. J. (3), R. R. (3), Adah (3), Mary B. (3), 
Maud A. (3), S. D (3), B. A. (3), C. B. (3), Dimple (3), Helen (3), 
Minnie (3), B. F. (3), one died in infancy. J. G. (2) married first 
Mary Miles. The children were Agustus (3), Byron (3), Ramond (3), 
Oma (3), Anna (3). He married second May Laughlin and they 
have Ruth (3), W. W. (2) married Susan Vinson, second Miss Neely; 
he has Walter (3J, Groover (3), Cora (3), Siddie (3), Thomas (3), 
George (3), Clyde (3), Ruby (3), William (3). Susan (2) married 
Amos Webb, they had Pearl (3). Mary (2) married Ira Dalton; they 
had Bessie (3), Ella (3), Joseph (3), Willis (3), Jessie (3). Dr. R. A. 
(2) married Maud Martin, they have Waldo (3) and May (3). J. C. 
(2) married Minerva Webb. They have Nancy (3), Beulah (3), 
Allen (3), Daniel (3), Mary Evalins (3). 


Daniel Chapman of English ancestry was born in Westchester 
County, New York 1756 and married Lucretia Finch, also of 
New York, born in 1769. They were married 1788. He served in the 
war of the Revolution and lived in that state until about 1818, when 
he came to Southern Illinois. The children were all born in New 
York and are as follows: Elizabeth (2) born 1789, Sally (2) born 
1791, Samuel Jackson (2) born 1794, Lucretia (2) born 1796, Solomon 
(2) born 1798, Daniel (2) born 1800, Hiram (2) born 1802, Amanda 
(2) born 1804, Permelia (2) born 1806, Washington (2) born 1808, 
Warren (2) born 1810. Elizabeth (2) married David Hayward in 
Peru, N. Y., after her death he married Lucretia (2) 1813. Their 
children were William Joseph (3) born 1813, Henry Chapman (3) 
born 1815, Betsy Adeline (3) born 1817, Benjamin Franklin (3) born 
1819, Amanda Melvina (3), born 1824, Hiram Finch (3), born 1826. 
Lucretia Maria (3) born 1828, Samuel Jackson (3), born 1830, all in 
Essex County. B. F. Hayward (3) came to this county on a visit 
when a young man and married Vienna Reynolds. She died and he 
married his cousin, Elizabeth, daughter of Solomon Chapman. While 
living here he served in the Mexican War. He moved to Nebraska 
with his family about 1858. He died 1894. Lucretia (3) married Mr. 
Severance and had one son, Frank (4) who resides in Buffalo, N. Y. 
and is connected with the Buffalo Historical Society. He married 


Lena L. Hill and they have Hay ward (5), Mildred (5) and 
Edith (5). Mrs. Lucretia Severance (3) visited in this county, 
1903. A son of David and Lucretia Hayward was elected to the 
United States Senate from Nebraska about 1810, but died before he 
took his seat. Sally (2) married William Boardman Donaghy and 
had William B. (3) and Elizabeth (3). Sally (2) married second 
John Shoemaker and had one son, John Chapman (3) born 1826; 
William B # (3) married first Miss Jones; second Miss Canady an'i 
had Sarah (4), who married a Mr. Edwards and had Mary 5, who 
married William Meeks and lives near Morehouse, Mo. W. B. (3) 
married third Ann Vanderbilt and had William B. (4), born 1850. 
who married Miranda Jane Scott, born 1851; their children were 
William B. (5) born 1874, Maud (5) born 1877, Minnie (5) born 1880, 
Flora (5) born 1882, John M. (5) born 1884, Nellie M. (5) born 1887. 
W. B. (5) married Elizabeth Cruse 1903 and they had Dorothy 
Elizabeth (6) born 1904; William B. (6) born 1906; Maud (5) married 
J. P. Miller 1904 and has William Glen (6) ; Minnie (5) married 
J. R. Weirick 1905 and has Dorothy Margaret (6) born 1907, Joseph 
Ray (6) born 1907, Donaghy (6) born 1913; Flora (5) married Manuel 
Smith 1903 and has Myra (6) born 1907; John (5) married Effie C. 
Plater 1906 and they have John (6) born 1910, Joe Milton (6) born 
1913; Nell M. (5) married Roy O. Osbourn 1912. Elizabeth (3) 
married Allen Jones and had William D # (4) who removed to Salina, 
Kan. John Chapman Shoemaker (3) married Mahala Stevenson 1850, 
and had Mary Virginia (4) born 1851, Emma Ann (4) born 1855. 
Mary Virginia (4) married Joseph C. Strawn and had Virginia C. (5) 
born 1879, and John C. S. (5) born 1880; Virginia C. (5) married 
Horace Gwin; John C. S. (5) married Serena McGwin 1908 and they 
had Mary Elizabeth born 1910; Emma Ann (4) married George C. 
Pearson and had Emma Virginia (5) born 1876, John C. S. (5) born 
1878; George Albert (5) born 1879; Edith (5) born 1880. Emma V. 
(5) married Robert N. Fulton 1906 and had Mary (6) born 1908, 
Edith Newcomb (6) born 1910; Fred Harmon (6) born 1912, Alice 
Virginia (6) born 1914, Catherine (6) born 1915, John Robert (6) born 
1917; John C. S. (5) married Harriet C. Bugbee, 1906 and had John 
Shoemaker (6) born 1912 and Margaret Ann (6) born 1914, Edwin 
Albert (6) born 1917; George Albert (5) married Wilhemina Harvey, 
1909 and they had George Albert (6) born 1911; Edith (5) married 
Obie Jay Smith 1902 and had George Pearson (6) born 1904, Obie J. 
Jr. (6) born 1907. This branch of the family reside in and near 
Indianapolis, Ind. Samuel Jackson (2) married Elizabeth Jackson 
and had children Louisa (3) born 1824, Lucretia (3) born 1826, 
Ursula Agusta (3) born 182S, Franklin J. (3) born 1830, Jerome B. 
(3) born about 1832. Louisa (3) married Hiram Borin and had 


Franklin (4), Elanor (4), Samuel (4), Grant (4). Franklin (4) mar- 
ried Miss Timmons and had Mark (5), Ruth (5), and other children. 
This family lives at Caledonia, Pulaski County and belong to the 
Borin family settling there before 1813. Elanor (4) married Harry 
Mertz and had Dora (5), George (5), Elberta (5). This family lives 
in Carbondale. Grant (4) married Belle Jones of this county and had 
Martha (5) who married Dr. Harbdrecht, of Chicago, 111. Grant re- 
sides in St. Louis. Lucretia (3) married David Young Bridges and 
had Elizabeth Jane (4) born 1841, John Samuel (4) born 1843, Ursula 
(\) born 1847, Franklin Alonza (4) born 1849; Lucretia (3) married 
second David Ragains and had Lucretia (4) born 1864, Kitty (4) 
born 1867, Charles J. (4) born 1870. Elizabeth J. (4) married Dr. 
George Bratton, children Charles Meggs (5) born 1859, accidently 
killed by a train when a young man, 1880; Florence Ursula (5) born 
1871, William Harvey (5) born 1874, Agusta Alberta (5), born 1877, 
Florence Ursula (5) married Charles H. Gray and has Nellie (6) 
born 1890 who married Joseph Cannon of Los Angeles, Calif.; Harvey 

(5) married Cora Johnson and had George (6), who lives in Los 
Angeles, Calif.; Alberta (5) married Ed. Boyt 1903; John S. (4) mar- 
ried Mary Brush, they had Mary E;. (5) born 1867, Lean (5) died in 
young womanhood, Abigal L. (5) born 1878, Charles G. (5) born 1880. 
Mary E. (5) married Dr. E. J. Malone, of Sikeston, Mo. and has 
Charles L. (6), Wm. B. (6) John Raymond (6), Alberta (6). Charles L. 

(6) married Ida M. Ramsey; W. B. (6) married Ruth M. Reed and has 
William Bridges (7), Daniel Elias (7); John R. (6) married Vesta D. 
O'Brien and has Mary Ethel (7). Abigal L. (5) married John A. Davis 
and has John (6), Hal (6), and Charles (6). Charles G. (5) is married 
and resides in Chicago; Ursula (4) married Lyman Miller 1865 and 
had George D. (5) who died in young manhood; Elizabeth (5), Jose- 
phine (5), Franklin (5) and Lyda (5). Elizabeth (5) is a teacher; 
Josephine (5) is a business woman and both live in Greely, Colo. 
Franklin (5) is married and has George (6), Robert (6), Elizabeth (G), 
Josephine (6). Lyda (5) married Mr. Fitchell and has Benjamin (6), 
George (6) and lives in Denver, Colo. A. Franklin (4) married Julia 
M. Brush, they had Daniel Young (5) born, 1873, Ella Althia (5) born 
1875 is a missionary in Japan; Rollin Eugene (5) born 1878, Albert 
Franklin (5) born 1881, Charlotte (5) born 1889. Daniel Y. (5) 
married Bessie Buck and has Harry Buck (6) born 1889. Rollin E. 

(5) married Anna Brimer 1898 and has Julia Agatha (6) born 1904, 
Rollin (6) born 1906, Albert F. (6) born 1908, Venita (6) born 1910, 
Julia A. (6) married William Ashley (6). Albert F. (5) married 
Alola Howder, 1908 and has Alola May (6) born 1909, Rollin H. (6) 
born 1911, Albert F. (6) born 1914, Martin H. (6) born 1916, Donaid 

(6) born 1918. This family resides in Chicago; Charlotte E. (5) 


married Herbert C. Day, 1914 and has Virginia Elizabeth (6) born 
1916. Lucretia (4) married Henry Whittenberg and has Madge (5), 
Marion (5), Lloyd (5), Daniel (5), Franklin (4), John (5) and 
Thos. (5) marion (5) married Vada Betts, has Charles (6), Martin 
(6), Mary (6). Lloyd (5) married Ruby Betts. He died and left 
three children. Madge (5) married Ira Cox, they have several chil- 
dren and reside in Carbondale. Kitty (4) married Milford Rebman, 
a first class farmer, living three miles west of Vienna. Charles J. 

(4) married Mary Lee 1893, children Raymond (5) born 1894, Lyndal 

(5) born 1898, Daniel (5) born 1906, Marian (5) born 1914, Lyndal 
(5) married Ernest Mathis. They have Louise (6). Ursula A. (3) 
married Samuel Hess 1847 and had Jerome B. (4) born 1849, William 

(4) born 1851, died 1900; Samuel Jackson Chapman (4) born 1853 
Agusta Alberta (4) born 1856, Franklin J. (4) born 1857, Alexander 
Lyman (4) born 1860, Herbert Ross (4) born 1862, George D. (4) 
born 1864, U. S. Grant (4) born 1867, died 1897; Jerome B. (4) married 
first Josie Gillespie and had Maud (5), who married W # D. Deans and 
they had Harold (6) and Leslie (6) ; Jerome (4) married second Jane 
Shearer and had Ona (5) who married William Rhodes of Union 
County. They reside in N. M. S. J. C. (4) married Catherine West, 
they had Maud (5), Homer E. (5) born 1888, Chloe Inez (5) bom 
1890, Grace Lee (5) born 1892, Bernice L. (5) born 1894, S. J. C. Jr. 

(5) born 1897, Urban (5) born 1900. Chloe I. (5) married E. E. 
Webber of Marion, 111. Grace L. (5) married Mr. Dodge of New 
York City, died 1924; S. J. C. Jr. (5) married Wilma Harris. This 
family have most all left the county; Augusta A. (4) married H. M. 
Ridenhower Jr. and had Agusta Ursula (5) who married Raymond 
Sperry, 1907 and has Lorraine (6), Robert E. (6). Alexander L. (4) 
married Flora J. Spann 1886 and had Everett Lyman (5) born 1881, 
George Raymond (5) born 1890, Hallene (5) born 1893, Samuel 
Spann (5) born 1895, Mildred (5) born 1903. Everett L. (5) married 
Madge Wilson and lives in Harrisburgh, George R. (5) married Emma 
Lawrence and has George Raymond Jr. (6), Halene (5) married 
Ernest Williams; Mildred (5) married Monroe L. Veach and has 
Lora Josephine (6). Herbert R. (4) married Mary Hall, they had 
Nadine (5) born 1900, Marian Mario (5) born 1902, Vivian Rose (5) 
born 1904, died 1918; Lucille (5) born 1906. Nadine (5) married 
William Davis. Marian M. (5) married Frank Smith. Kranklin J. 
(3) married Elizabeth Ann Price of Caledonia 1850, they had Florence 
A. (4) 1S51; Florence A. (4) married Bassett B. Brownly 1874 and 
had Catherine (5) born 1875 who married Agustus Jennings 1S95 and 
died about 1920. They lived in Indianapolis Ind. where Mrs. Brown- 
lee still resides. Franklin J. (3) married second Mary C. Stewart, of 
Metropolis, 111., born 1836, married 1852, they had Louisa Borin (4) 


born 1854, Mary Elizabeth (4) born 1856, Samuel Jackson (4) born 
1858, Henry Clinton (4) born 1869. Louisa B. (4) married William 
H. Ashley 1871, they had William Henry (5), Edgar Chapman (5) 
Charles Horner (5) William H. (5) married Emma R. Gill 1897 and 
had Charles Edgar (6), born 1899, who married Opal Ridenhower and 
has Elizabeth. Edgar Chapman (5) married Gertrude Davis 1899, 
children, Edgar Chapman Jr. (6) born 1900; Deneen Davis (6) born 
1904, Mary Louise (6) born 1909. Charles Horner (5) married Edna 
Fisher 1900 and has William Richard (6) born 1901, who married 
Julia A. Bridges (6). Samuel Jackson (4) married Carrie Campbell, 
died 1905; Harry C. (4) married Mamie Cantwell 1900, children, 
Catherin (5) born 1901 and Elizabeth (5), residents of Chicago, 111. 
Mary E. (4) married Lafayett Putman in 1879, they had lone (5) born 
1881, Don William (5), Catherin (5), Alma Bernice (5). lone (5) 
married John Foster. This family lives in Attica, Ind. Franklin J. 
Chapman (3) moved from this county to Carbondale, 111., some time 
in the sixties and none of his family reside in the county. Jerome 
B. (3) married first Laura Russell of Massac County, they had 
Franklin Jackson (4) born 1858, Libbie Elanor (4) born 1860. Frank- 
lin J. (4) married Ruth Madden 1880, they had Franklin Jackson Jr., 
(5), Bess Madden (5). F. J. Jr. (5) married Lisa Wallace 1920. He 
is a business man of Chicago, 111.; Bess M. (5) married George E. 
Galeener, 1912, and has Edwin Chapman (6) ; Libbie E. (4) married 
William R. Wiley and had Loyd (5) born 1881, Laura Vale (5) born 
1884, Bardine R. (5) born 1887, John Jerome (5) born 1890, Carl 
Herbert (5) born 1892. Loyd (5) married Lena Hughes, children 
Blanch Lena (6) born 1903, Melbyrne Loyd (6) born 1906, Alice May 
(6) born 1910; Laura V. (5) married George H. Massey 1914, has 
Jeanne (6) ; Bardine R. (5) married H. C. McLaughlin and has Oral 
Wayne (6) born 1907, Olga Laura (6), born 1910; John Jerome (5) 
married and has Donald (6). W. R. Wiley moved from this county 
about 1884 and the family resides in Auburn Washington; 
Jerome B. (3) married second Clara (Russell) Adams 1883, they had 
Samuel Jackson (4) born 1884, Jerome B. (4) born 1890, Samuel J. 
(4) married Pearl Woodward and has Virginia (5) born 1912; Jerome 
B. (4) was accidently killed in a motorcycle accident' when a young 
man. Solomon Chapman (2) married Sarah Ann, they had Permelia 
(3), Amanda (3), George W. (3), Lucretia E. (3), Daniel (3), Wm. 
H. (3), Permelia (3) married Tipton Collier of Massac County; 
Amanda (3) married Gilbert Padget, had one or two children, one 
son lived in Chicago 1900; Amanda (3) married second Mr. Brown 
and had two children; Lucretia E. (3) married Frank Hayward; 
William H. (3) married Mary Burris, had Olive (4), Luela (4); 
William H # died at Annapolis, Maryland, while serving in the Civil 


War. Olive (4) married Mr. Alread and moved to Texas; Luela (4) 
married I. N. Davies of this county, they had Olive Gertrude (5), 
Daisy Ethel (5). James Otis (5), Goss Loyd (5). Olive Gertrude (5) 
married Frank Crowder, their children were Ruth (6), Pearl (6;, 
Ferrel (6), Halie (6), Thelma (6), Daisy E. (5) married S. H. (see 
Taylor); married second CSolumbus R. Verhines and has Thelma (6), 
Wilma (6), Dorthy (6), Davis (6), Luela (6). J. Otis (5) married 
Clate Keeler; Goss L. (5) married Mamie Wigam and has James 
Loyd (6) and Brad (6). Daniel Chapman (2) married Elizabeth Du- 
Poister, they had Daniel Clinton (3) born 1828, Sarah (3) born about 
1830, James Monroe (3) born 1832, Amanda (3) born about 1834, 
Thomas (3) born 1837, Tamberlin (3) born about 1838, Leonidas (3) 
born 1840. Daniel C. (3) married Mary Elizabeth Rose 1853, their 
children were Pleasant Thomas (4) born 1854, James Clinton (4) 
born 1856, Sidney Ann (4) born 1858, Daniel Leonidas (4) born 1861, 
Elizabeth Sherman (4) born 1865, Ida Catherine (4) born 1867, 
Estelle Belle (4) born 1874, Charles Hiram (4) born 1877. Pleasant 
T. (4) married Leorah May Copeland 1882, their children are Daniel 
Ward (5) born 1883, Marian (5) 1887, Ralph D. C. (5) born 1892. 
D. W. (5) married Cora Burnett; Marian (5) married Paul C. Raborg 
1908. She married second Major John N. Greely 1920 and has John 
Chapman (6) born 1924. Ralph (5) married Beatrice V. Copley 1920. 
James C. (4) married Celia Ann Oliver 1889 and has Oliver D. (5) 
born 1889, James Clinton (5) born 1892, Robert Edward (5), Joe L. 
(5), Mary (5), George (5), Robert E. (5) married Gladys Broadway 
1917 and has Robert (6) born 1917, Margaret D. (6) and Morris (6) 
born 1919; Sidney Ann (4) married Alonzo G. Benson 1878, they had 
Eva Alonzo (5) born 1879, Arthur Chapman (5) born 1880, John 
Sidney (5) born 1883, Mary Celinda (5) born 1885. Eva A. (5) mar 
ried A. J. Kuykendall and has Andrew Jackson (6) born 1903, Sidney 
Alonzo (6). A. J. (6) is married and lives in the east. Arthur C. (5) 
married Fay Herrin, children James (6), Sidney A. (6), Rose Mary (6) 
born 1922; John C. (5) married Albertie Lowery 1905 and has Elsie 
(6) born 1905, Paul (4) born 1910, Helen (6) born 1912; Mary C. 
(5) married first Mr. Hudgens 1905 and had Sidney (6) born 1905, 
married second O. H. Guinn and has one son. D. L. (4) married Kate 
Thomas, a native of Wales, 1889. They had Richard Daniel (5) born 
1891, who married Regna Moss and has Mary Moss (6) ; Pleasant 
Thomas Jr., (5) born 1895 married Florence Simpson they have 
Betty Ann (6). The father of these boys was called Tobe and died 
when a young man; their mother died a few years later. They botli 
served in the World War. Dick as a Lieutenant in France and Pleas 
Junior in the Transportation Department; Elizabeth (4) married J. 
N. Benson 1885 and has Eugene Chapman (5) and James Daniel (5) 


married Anna (Simmons) Verhines 1924; Estella B. (4) married Noel 
Whitehead 1893 the children are Noel Paul (5), Clinton Silvester (5), 
Mary Elizabeth (5). Noel P. (5) married Alice Chester and has John 
(6). Mary E. (5) married William Walker. Paul served in France 
as a Lieutenant in the World War. Clinton served in the Navy during 
the same war. Chas. H. (4) married Nelle Perkins 1903; they have 
Helen (5) born 1915; their daughter Harriet died in youth. Sarah 
(3) married Starling Simmons, children Richmond (4), Frank (4), 
and Mary (4). Richmond (4) married Cora Woodward. Frank (4) 
married first Delia Pruett and had Vernie (5), he married second 
Ida Bridges, several children; Mary (4) married Marshall Dunn 
L883, children Allie (5), Levi (5), May (5), Elizabeth (5). The two 
latter families live in Missouri. Amanda (3) married Samuel Damron 
about 1856, they had James M. (4) born 1857, who married Florence 
Scott and their children were Loyd (5), Noimand (5), Florence (5). 
The mother and daughters live in California. Samuel T. (4) who 
married Anna Chapman (4), they had Samuel (5). Thomas J. (3) 
married Margaret Van Meter 1857, they had Anna (4) born 1864. 
who married first Samuel T. Damron (4), second Walter Will- 
iams, they live at Ashland, 111. James M. (3) married Sarah Van 
Meter, they had Bertha (4) who married a Mr. Pool, Raymond (4) 
and James (4). This family lived near Cameron, Mo. Tamberlin 
(3) married Sarah Burk 1866 and had Tamberlin Burk (4) born 
1867, Edwin Mace (4) born 1869, Andrew Daniel (4) born 1870, Sarah 
Elizabeth (4) born 1873. Tamberlin B. (4) married Anna B. Hagler 
1892 and has Harry Laurence (5), Vera Ethel (5) born 1895, Macy 
Daniel (5) born 1896, Stella Catherine (5) born 1906. Vera Ethel 
(5) married George L. Rudolph 1915. T. B. (4) and family reside in 
Boise, Idoha. A. D. (4) married Rosa Weaver of Teras; they reside 
in that state. E. M. (4) married Daisy Blake, they have Virginia 
(5) and are residents of Clovis, N # M. Sarah E. (4) married O. A. 
Arpln, 1892 and had Sarah Josephine (5) born 1883, Tamberlin Edward 
(5) born 1884. Sarah J. (5) married F. H. Freeback 1913 they have 
three children; Tamberlin E. (5) married in 1912, has two sons, 
Sarah E. (4) died about 1921, the family lives in Elpaso, Texas. 
Leonidas Chapman (3) was born and raised in this county, was a 
soldier in the Civil War and married Sarah A. Francis, also of this 
county, they had James Monroe (4) born 1867, Mary Elizabeth (4) 
born 1868, Sarah Ann (4) born 1871, Nancy Catherine (4) born 
1872, Margaret (4) born 1875, Samuel Edmond (4) born 1877, Daniel 
Leonidas (4) born 1879, Bertha (4) born 1885. James M. (4) married 
Jennett Murlin 1893, they had Fern (5) who married Charles Johnson 
1911, they had William Gilbert (5) Carl (5), Elenor (5), Anita (5). 
Mary E. (4) married Grant Whiteside 1886, they had John Lee (5) 


born 1888, Sherman Daniel (5) born 1890, James Grant (5) born 1898. 
John L. (5) married Retta Simpson and has George (6). Sherman (5) 
married Lorene Martin and has Ralph (6) and Evalin (6). Grant 
(5) married Grace Pfluger and has Cornelia (6) and Lewis Edward 
(6); Sarah Ann (4) married John D. Gillespie 1893 and has Roy 
Francis (5) born 1895, Leon (5) born 1900. Roy F. (5) married May 
E. Laughlin 1917; Catherine (4) married Charles Kenroyer; Margaret 
(4) married Eugene Freeman and has Eugene Jr. (5) and Helen 
Reason (5); Samuel E # (4) married Florence Burson 1903; Daniel L. 
(4) married Mary E. Tender 1906, they have Lauren (5) born 1907, 
Mary V. (5) born 1910, Loyd (5) born 1913; Bertha May (4) married 
Thomas Fitzpatric 1902, Daniel Chapman (2) married second Mrs. 
Elizabeth House and had Hiram (3) who married Elizabeth Bradley. 
They removed to Missouri where they raised their family. Hiram 
(2) was an early teacher of this county died when a young man. 
Permelia Chapman (2) married Ishmael Veach, about 1822, they had 
Freelan (3), Albert (3) born 1824, Almina (3) born about 1826. 
Lucinda (3), Melissa (3), Pleasant G. (3), Mariah (3), Allen (3) 
killed at Shiloh during Civil War. Freelan (3) married Sally Chapman 
(3). James Albert (3) married Nancy Buckhanan 1846, and had 
Thomas (4), James (4), George (4); Albert (3) married second 
Laura Du Poister 1864, and had Martha (4), Mary (4) Lucinda (4), 
Amanda (4). Albert (3) married third Mrs. Matilda (Stone) Barn- 
well and had Sarah (4), Frank (4), Jennie (4), Thomas (4) married 
Jane Thomas, they had Fred (5), Bell (5). He married second 
Adeline Simpson and had Walter (5) who married Dora Farmer. 
Fred (5) married Delia Jones (see Simpson). Belle (5) married Mr. 
McGeever and had Sylvia (6), Gertrude (6). J. C. (4) married Jose- 
phine Ausbridge,. George (4) married Jane Silevan, children 
Bertha (5) married Charles Hood. Oscar (5), Gertrude (5) married 
Roy Isom, children, Roy Veach (6), Frances (6); Norman (5), Charles 
(5), Fanny (5). Martha (4) married James Meredith. Mary (4) mar- 
ried Mr. Lindsey. Lucinda (4) married Monroe Trigg and had 
Newton (5), Frank (5), May (5). Amanda (4) married Mr. Jennings 
and had two children; Sarah (4) married William Anderson and had 
Myrtle (5), Julia (5), William (5), Albert (5); Myrtle (5) married 
Everett Beggs and has children Gladys (6), Evyline (6). 
Albert (5) married Bertie Kerley. These families live in St. Louis: 
Frank Veach (4) married Ann Johnson and has Dimple (5), Roy (5), 
Clarence (5). Dimple (5) married Mr. Hurley. Clarence (5) married 
Lottie Holcomb. Frank (4) married second Mary Smart and has 
Allen (5), Olive (5), Dallas (5) Lula (5), Ethel (5) Albert (5>. 
Jennie (4) married Frank Shavitz and has Miriam (5), Ruth (5) and 
two others. Alimina (3) married J. L. Thomas, an early minister of 


this county and had John F. (4) born 1845, Frank D. (4) born 1848, 
Mary (4) born 1851, John F. (4) married Mary J. Barnwell, and they 
had William (5), Laura (5), Ella (5). Frank (4) married Ellen 
Grlanahan had Delia (5), Anna (5), Almina (5), Frank (5) and 
Hal (5). Frank (5) married Myrtle Moore of this county and is a 
business man of Vienna, 111. Mary (4) married William Jones and had 
Effie (5). Lucinda (3) married Wiley Holt and had Ishmael (4), 
Lucinda Jane (4), Ellen (4), Alice Mary (4), Ishmael (4) married 
Addie Beggs and had Wiley (5), William (5) and Charles (5). Wiley 
(5) married Chloe Burnett and has Gladys (6). Charles (5) married 
Fannie Kelly. Lucinda J. (4) married John Whiteside and has 
Minnie (5), India (5) Lula (5), John (5), James (5), Ettie (5), 
Charles (5), Coy (5), Reverdia (5). Minnie (5) married Ed. Ross and 
has Neoma (6) and Claude (6); India (5) married Otis Barnwell and 
they have Lowell (6), Ina (6), Opal (6), Clyde (6), Uel (6), Fredia 
(6), John (6), Leota (6). Lowell (6) married Lutie Mollahan. Lula 
(5) married William Gray and has Herman (6), Hazel (6), Murel (6), 
Howard (6), Kenneth (6). John (5) married Ruth Barney and has 
Catherine (6). James (5) married Delia French and has Gladys (6), 
Herbert (6), Glen (6), Lyndell (6). Ettie (5) married Walter Mc- 
Fatridge and has Loise (6), Charles (5) married Minnie Taylor and 
has Emaline (6). Coy (5) married Ela Warcheck. Ellen (4) 
married Marshall Turner and had William (5), John (5), Addie (5), 
.Mary J. (5). William (5) married Mary Kinslow .and had Walter 
(6), Ruth (6). John (5) married Jennie Kinslow and had Arthur (6) 
Addie (5) married Tobey Cress and has three children. Mary J. 
(5) married Mr. Hinkle. Alice (4) married Frank Mathis and had 
Mary (5), Benjamin (5), Alvin (5), Nora (5), Cressie (5), Charles 
(5), Fay (5). Mary (5) married Charles Kelley and had Alvin (6) 
and Benjamin (6). Both married Keislers. A. Mary (4) married John 
Davis and had Thomas (5), Everett (5), Bronzie (5), Esco (5), Alton 
(5). Melissa (3) married Hardy Holt and had Gastie (4). They 
removed to Kentucky. Pleasant G. (3) married Belle Keith and had 
Allen (4), Florence (4), John (4), Edward (4), Thomas (4). Pleasant 
G. (3) married third Amy Van Cleve and had Ray (4) and May (4). 
Allen (4) married Mattie Harvick, 1882 and had Bertha (5) and 
Ward (5). Bertha (5) married Mr. Oaker and has one son. Ward 
(5) married and died young, leaving one daughter. Florence (4) 
married T. M. Van Cleve, a teacher of Saline County and a native 
of this county, has Fredia (5), Hilda (5), Fred and Ed (5). Fredia (5) 
married Amos Pullian. Hilda (5) married Clyde Doly and has Caro- 
line (6). Ed (5) married Edna Simpson 1922 and has Thomas Edgar 
(6). John (4) married Rose Sams and has Earl (5), Delia (5), Helen 
(5), Ethel (5), Mary (5), John (5) Beatrice (5) and Lois (5). Earl 


Veach (5) married Ruth Boaz and has Rosanna (6) and Virginia (6). 
Delia (5) married Logan Williamson and has Helen Francis (6). 
Helen (5) married Everett McMahan and has Everett Lee (6), Joh.i 
Hugh (6), Earle (6). Ethel (5) married W. N. Carter and has Rose 
Mary (6) and Susanna (6). Mary (5) married George Brush. Edward 

(4) married Myrtle Burris and has Ina (5), Amy (5), Ray (5) and 
May (5) have removed from the county. Thomas (4) married and 
lives in Portland, Oregon. Mariah (3) married Frank Silevan and had 
Mary (4), Melissa (4) Ettie (4), Minnie (4). Melissa (4) married 
H. C. Chapman (3), 1890 and has Earl C. (5) born 1892, Frank S. 

(5) born 1896, Ward W. (5) born 1898, George W. (5) born 1910, 
Lawrence W. (5) born 1904, William L. (5) born 1906, H. C. Jr. (5) 
born 1908. This family lives in Sanger, Texas; Ettie (4) married 
Lawrence Woollard and has one son, Dona (5). Minnie (4) married 
Charles Mangum and Mary (4) married Charles Murrie. George W. 
Chapman (2) married Cynthia Jobe 1835 and had William (3), Luc- 
retia (3), Amanda (3), Martha A. (Polly) (3), Elizabeth (3). William 

(3) married Miss Waters (not certain) and had Clinton (4), Mary 

(4) Robert (4), who died 1884, Franklin (4), Thomas (4). Franklin 

(4) married Luella Casper of New Burnside Township and they had 
several children and removed to Oklahoma. Mary (4) married Mr. 
Spillman, had Anna (5) ; married second Mr. Stiff, three children. 
Polly (3) married Hiram H. Wise and had children T. C. (4), Frank- 
lin M. (4), William (4), George O. (4), Charles H. (4), Florence (4), 
Mary (4). Thomas C. (4) married first Mary McSparin. They had 
O. A. (5) and James T. (5). He married second Margaret Reeder, 
their children were Mollie (5), George N. (5), Donzella (5), Harry 
H. (5), Flo (5). Mollie (5) married Walter Smith. George N. (5) 
married Lula Etherton. Donzell (5) married J. B. Morray. Harry H. 

(5) married Beatrice Jones. Flo (5) married James Steagall. Frank 
M. (4) married Cora Randall. He took the name of his mother, 
Chapman, they had Ines (5), Paul (5) Ruth (5). Inez (5) 
married Dr. William Whittenburg, of Stillwater, Oklahoma, and has 
Frank Chapman (6), Sara (6). Paul (5) married and died, leaving 
one daughter in California. Ruth (5) married J. W. Taylor of Stil- 
water, Okla. George O. (4) married Esther Jones, one son, George 
M. (5). Mary (4) married A. I. Sumner and had Inez (5) who mar- 
ried Mr. Craig; Laura (5) married Mr. Norman; and Ralph (5) 
Eugene (5), Carl (5). Charles H. (4) married Emma Duty, had chil- 
dren Earnest (5), Ava (5), Jet (5). Florence M. (4) married G. S. 
Burnett, had children Iva (5), Donzella (5), Hugh (5), Frank (5), 
George (5), Calvin (5), Leota (5), Dorothy (5) and Dorris (5). 
Amanda (3) married George Graves, had children Mary (4), Margaret 
(4), Alice (4). Mary (4) married Columbus Medlin and had Grace 


(5), Webb (5). Margaret (4) married Frank Medlin and had Inez 
(5), George (5). Alice (4) married Mr. Gregg, had two children, 
Lucretia Finch (3) married Jay Van Trammell 1864, had children, 
Thomas F. (4), Amanda E. (4), Jehu (4), Cynthia J. (4), Minnie (4), 
James Webb (4). Thomas F. (4) married Bell Mofield, they have 
Jay V. (5), Clara (5), Thomas (5). Jay V. (5) married Pearl Mason 
and they have Nellie (6), Mason (6), Thomas F. (6), Lucretia (6). 
This family resides at Stonefort, 111. Amanda E. (4) married L. O. 
Whitnel and has Ella (5), Josiah (5), George Trammell (5). Ella 
(5) married George Beardsley, a prominent attorney of Kansas City, 
Mo., and has Melvill (6), Henry (6). Josiah is an attorney of East 
St. Louis, 111. George T. married Amanda Sacks and is a civil 
engineer of East St. Louis. Jehu (4) married Latta Cox and has 
Jean Elizabeth (6), Phillip Webb (6). Cynthia (4) is a teacher of 
E. St. Louis, 111. Minnie (4) married Dr. Gilbert Brewer of Stonefort, 
where they reside, and has Cynthia (5), Gray (5), Gilbert (5). J. W. 
(4) is a graduate of the Naval Academy and has reached the rank 
of Lieut. Commander in the U. S. Navy. Elizabeth (3) married 
Christopher Camden had several children all are now dead. Mack 
(4) married Belle Snyder and left several sons. Cynthia (4) married 
a Mr. McGee and left two children. Monta (4) married Mr. Lawrence 
Warren Chapman (2), from the best information, married Polly Harris 
and had William (3), who was killed at Fort Donelson 1862; Marcus 
D. Lafayette (3), Francis Theodore (3), who died in this county 1899, 
Marcus D. (3) married Ellen Read, 1860 and had Samuel Jackson (4) 
born 1861, Cora (4) born 1866, Dora (4) born 1869. Samuel J. (4) 
married Laney Darck 1895 and had Ralph W. (5), born 1896, he 
served in the World War as Yeoman in the Navy, Opal (5) born 1898 : 
John D. (5) born 1906, Charles A. (5) born 1910. Cora married 
Thomas Wallace 1884 and had James Wallar (5) born 1885, Dora (5) 
born 1888, Estelle (5) born 1890, Charles Samuel (5) born 1893, 
Moody C. (5) born 1896, Ted (5) born 1902. J. Wallar (5) married 
Kattie Holcomb 1909, and has Thomas Warren (6) 1910; Dora (5) 
married A. E. Lamerson 1910 and has Mary Estella (6), born 1911, 
they reside in Rawlins, Wyoming; Estella (5) married Agustus P. 
Huff, 1914 and has Estella Elizabeth (6) born 1917 and lives in 
Cheynne, Wyoming. Samuel J. Chapman, the pioneer came here 
about 1817 from New York State. A son of Wesley Reynolds says, 
the tradition in their family is; Ivy Reynolds, his grandfather, with 
a Mr. Chapman and his wife and a Mr. Drake built a boat in Cin- 
cinnati and floated down the Ohio in 1817, landing at what is now 
Golconda. The reason for supposing this was Samuel Chapman and 
wife, is that the other Chapmans, except Daniel, the Revolutionary 
soldier, coming here married in this county. He owned land at 


Bloomfield and was postmaster there in 1819. He also owned land 
east of the court house square in Vienna and on the left of the road 
leading to the cemetery. He kept tavern here for many years and 
was a prominent citizen of his time. He was a soldier in the War 
of 1812, serving from New York State, was wounded at Lundy's Lane 
for which he drew a pension. (For family see Chapman.) Col. D. 
Y. Bridges belonged to one of the oldest families of the county and 
was a son-in-law of Samuel J. Chapman. He was connected with 
all the movements of progress in the county and Vienna from the 
time of his manhood until his death which occured in 1857. (For 
family see Chapman.) 

D. C. Chapman was a native of this county, born 1828, a son of 
Daniel and Elizabeth (DePoister). D. C. settled in Tunnel Hill Town- 
ship in 1853, where he followed farming all his life. He was elected 
sheriff of the county twice and filled out the unexpired term of L. D. 
Craig. He was always ready to help anyone in need and his counsel 
and advice was always dependable. He was said to be a man with 
few if any, enemies. He served as a teamster in the Mexican War. 
His first farm was quite small having purchased the improvement 
from Dr. J. B. Ray, he added more from time to time, buying some 
from the government at a "bit" per acre and for some he paid $1.25 
per acre. He was a republican, and a mason. He died in 1888. For 
family (see Chapman). His widow resided on the farm for several 
years, but spent her last days in the home of her oldest son P. T. in 
Vienna, having lived there twenty years. She died in 1920, lacking 
a few days of being eighty-five years old. 

Pleasant T. Chapman was the son of D. C. and Mary (Rosei 
Chapman, and was born on the farm, eight miles north of Vienna, 
1854. He is the fourth generation of that name, descending from 
Daniel Chapman, the Revolutionary soldier. Pleas, as he is familarily 
known, received his early education in the public schools of the 
county, going to Lebanon, 111. for more advanced work, graduating 
from McKendrie College in 1876. He followed teaching for four years 
studying law in the offices of Judge H. H. Horner, of Lebanon and 
A. G. Damron of Vienna, between sessions. He was admitted to the 
bar in 1879 and immediately began the practice of law in this county, 
meanwhile he engaged in other business. He with C. Colin and J. 
N. Poor opened the first bank in Vienna in 1883. He was elected 
president when the bank was nationalized and has served in that 
capacity thirty-five years. He has at different times been interested 
in the mercantile, lumber and livery business, and for many years 
has been interested in farming and stock-raising. Mr. Chapman has 
also taken an active part in politics, and was elected Superintendent 
of schools, also county judge. In 1890 he was elected to the State 


Senate serving in that body, twelve years. In 1904 he was elected 
to represent the 24th district in Congress and was re-elected twice, 
retiring in 1911. Mr. Chapman has always been a republican in 
politics. He is a Knights Templar and thirty-second degree mason, 
belongs to the M. E. church and has served on the official board tor 
years. He married Leorah May Copeland, a native of Pulaski County. 
Their son, D. W., better known as Ward is cashier of the First 
National Bank and a business man of Vienna, 111. He volunteered 
in 1917 and served in the World War as a lieutenant in the Yankee 
or 26th Division, was wounded near Belleau Wood, France, by a 
shell, July the 11th, 1918. He recovered sufficiently to be on duty 
at Blois, France. He was severely injured in a railroad accident, 
Dec. 5, 1918, near Orleans, France and was a patient in French and 
United States hospitals until Jan., 1920. Marian, the daughter is the 
wife of Major John N. Greely of the regular army. Ralph, the youngest 
conducts an investment securities business in Chicago. He volun- 
teered for service in the World War in May, and entered the first 
training camp at Fort Sheridan. He was commissioned a Lieutenant, 
and went over seas, Sept. 1917. He served with the 5th Marines, in 
the second division for some time but was later transferred to the 
9th Infantry. Was in action at the defense of Chatteau Thierry, and 
received the Crois de Guerre for service at Veaux. He was wounded 
near Soissons on the first day of Foch's offensive, July 18, 1918. 
Ward and Ralph are both graduates of the University of Illinois; 
Marian is a graduate of Monticello Academy, Godfrey, 111. 

F. J. Chapman, born 1858, was a native of this county and sou 
of J. B. and Laura (Russell) Chapman. He was educated in the 
public schools of Vienna and the Southern Illinois Normal; engaged 
in the mercantile business in Vienna several years. After retiring 
from this he built the brick business building on the corner of 4th 
and East Vine, where he conducted a hotel a number of years. He 
also built several residences which he rented. In later years he fol- 
lowed the business of traveling salesman. He died in the prime of 
life. His widow, Ruth (Madden) is a native of this county, and has 
lived in Vienna most all her life. She resides with her daughter, 
Mrs. G. E. Galeener, is a faithful member of the M. E. Church and 
has belonged to that organization longer than any of the present 
members, except Mrs. Fanny Jackson. The son, F. J. Chapman, Jr., 
is a business man of New York City. 

J. C. Chapman, son of D. C. and Mary (Rose) Chapman begann his 
business life as a teacher, was for some time engaged in the mercan- 
tile business at Vienna, but later settled on a farm just west of the 
town. He has served the county as Commissioner and takes an active 
interest in all movements for the betterment of the farmer and com- 


munity. He married Ann Oliver (see Chapman). Their sons, Dr. 
Oliver D., James C. and Joe L. served in the World War. Joe enlisted 
in the Air service. James served several months in France and 
Oliver was a lieutenant in the Vetrinary Corps. George and Mary 
reside with their father, the mother died 1924. 

The Cochran family was one of the first families settling here 
The names found on the records are Adam, Samuel, Jesse, Moses and 
Andrew, who was a Commissioner of this county in 1821 and drew 
a salary of $82.33 for his services. There could be nothing secured 
in a definite line of these families. Carrol Cochran, the Grandison, 
Harvick family, Thomas and Milton Cochran, residents of this county 
are descendants of this family. 

John C. Clymer married Sarah, the daughter of David 
and Holly Shires, in Maury County, Tennessee, where the father of 
John C. and Joseph had moved from North Carolina. They resided 
there until 1854, when they came to this county, settling in Grants- 
burg Township. John C. was a carpenter and worked at his trade 
there a number of years, later removing to New Burnside. Their 
children were Martha (2), who married Gillford Pippins of this county 
and had Mary Francis (3) and David (3). David (2) was killed at the 
battle of Fort Donelson. John H. (2) married Virgina Garrett, whose 
mother was a daughter of Daniel Cummins. Their children weie 
Alice (3), Edward (3), Delia (3), Thomas (3), Charles (3), Walter 
(3), Holly (3). Alice (3) married John Vander Pluym; their chil- 
dren were Lilly (4), who resides with her father in Vienna. Nell (4) 
married Bluford Heatherington of Harrisburg and has James (5), 
Bluford (5), Eugene (5), Carl (5), Ralph (5) and Mary Nell (5). 
Cornelius (4) married first Beatrice Abott and had Kreigh (5) ; he 
married second Edna Holland and they have Betty Jane (5) and re- 
side in Harrisburg, 111. Winifred (4), married Dr. Robert McCall and 
their children are Virginia (5), Robbie (5), John (5), Thomas (5). 
They reside in Phoenix Arizona. Fay (4) married Hudson Hook 
and has Jack (5), Mary Alice (5), they live in Seattle, Wash. Edward 
(3) married Ida Shearer and they have Ebert (4), who is a physician 
of Oklahoma City, he married Lou Hachett, and has Clarice (5) who 
married Jay Allie, Ralph (5), Mary Louise (5) and Ruby (5). Delia 
(3) married Lucas Parker; their children are Leo (4), who married 
Cecil Hadley, and has Elaine (5). Donald (4) married Helen Arthaud 
and has Jack (5). Halloween (4) married Ralph Murray, who is a 
teacher in the schools of Oblong, 111; they have J. P. (5) and Jerry 
(5). Myra June (4), a teacher, Hilda (4) and Joe (4) in school. 


Thomas (3) married Harriet Stanley. He is a contractor and builder. 
Charles (3) not married; Walter (3) married Genevieve Harris and 
their children are Margaret (4), Hita (4); Holly (3) married James 
Hight, they have John Milton (4), Mary Louise (4) and reside in 
Tempe, Arizona; Holly (2) married James A. Smith, son of Jason B. 
and they had Eugene (3), Ethel (3), Clara (3), who married Adam 
Ballance and resides in the west. Another branch of this 'family 
whose head was Joseph came here a little later. He was a brother 
of John C, but spelled his name Clymore. He had Daniel (2), John 
(2). John (2) married Alice Redden and their children are Arthur 
(3), Charles (3), Alice (3), Martha (3). Arthur (3) married Olivia 
Morgan, they had Morris (4), Opal (4), Nora (4), Gertrude (4), 
Morgan (4). Charles (3) served as postmaster in Vienna under Presi- 
dent Wilson. He married Nellie Wymore and their children are Isabel 
(4), Charleen (4), Charles (4), Bain (4), they reside in Jacksonville, 
Fla. Alice (3) married William Hight and has Walton (4). Martha 
(3) married Edward Grinnell and resides in Los Angeles, Calif. 
Daniel (2) married Ella Allbritton and had Elmer (3), Effie (3), Pearl 
(3), Joseph (3), Annis (3), Harris (3), Jessie (3), and Adrian (3). 
Elmer (3) married Daisy Farmer. They had Bradley (4); Effie (3) 
married Mr. Fowler and has five children; Pearl (3) married Guy 
Slack, has several children and resides in Carbondale; Joseph (3) 
married Audrey Helm, one son, Joseph (4); Annis (3) married Levi 
Hand and has one son; Harris (3) married Althea Hight and has five 
children; Jessie (3) married Benjamin Farmer and has three children; 
Adrain (3) married Myrtle Carlton and has one child. 

William Copeland must have been quite old when he came to 
this county and his son, John was doubtless the head of the family. He 
was born before the Revolutionary War and he was not the oldest 
child. William Copeland, judging from his name was English. His 
grandson, Johua, said they came from the Isle of Wight and were 
Irish. James R. Evers who married a granddaughter remem- 
bers seeing old man Johnny Copeland, as he was called, and he says 
he was Irish. Be that as it may, William Copeland lived in Virginia 
in 1771 and no doubt, earlier, but whether he was born there or 
emigrated there is not known. There is a Copeland family in New 
England which came there about 1630, but whether our William Cope- 
land was connected with that family or not is not known. His 
Revolutionary War record and the settlement of his estate is given 
in other chapters. William had four daughters; two married Dials, 
one married Hobb and one married Robert Little who kept tavern in 
Vienna in 1820. There is no certain knowledge of these families 


unless David Shearer married Mattie (Copeland) Dial's daughter. 
There was a son named Samuel whom tradition says went to Missouri 
or Arkansas. John is the founder of the family tree arranged here. 
He was born in Virginia, emmigrated to Tennessee and married 
there, coming to this county in 1816. He was a farmer also an early 
teacher and held several county offices and was active in the promo- 
tion of education and the conveniences of a frontier community. He 
moved to a home on the Ohio River about 1835, which location later 
became Massac County. He died 1853. John Copeland brought six 
slaves to this county, a man, his wife and four children. Tradition 
says that the Copelands went first to Ohio and realizing they could 
not hold their slaves in that state, they came to Tennessee and later 
to Illinois, believing this would be a slave state. William Copeland's 
land warrant was number 1696 for 200 acres issued for services in 
the Virginia Continental line. This warrant was surveyed for Andrew 
Ellison as assignee in the Virginia Military district of Ohio. Three 
different patents were issued, one in 1813, another 1815 and the third 
in j 820. This warrant was issued Aug. 10, 1783. John Copeland (1) 
was born in Virginia, Sept. 30, 1775, nad grew to manhood in his 
native state. They removed to Tennessee, where he married Sarah 
Short, who was born Christmas day 1778. They came to Illinois 1816; 
their children were James (2), Sarah (2), Samuel (2) who was born 
1805, William (2), John (2), Joshua (2), born in Tennessee 1812, 
Sumner County, Isaac (2), Jane Gamble (2) born 1818, Alfred (2), 
Lousia (2). James (2) married Elizabeth. Sarah (2) married John 
L. Cooper and had James F. (3), born 1824, Juliet (3). James F. 
(3) married Mary J. Kitchell, 1846, who was born 1825. They had 
children Leora Ellen (4) born 1846, James M. (4), born 1850, Frank 
A. (4) born 1853. Leora Ellen (4) married Thomas Helm. This 
family moved to Beloit, Kansas many years ago. Juliet (4) married 
Jackson Yokum and had two sons, they lived near Grand Chain, 
Pulaski County. Samuel S. (2) married Sarah Allen and they had 
Allen (3), Perry (3), Mary (3), Samuel (3), Richard (3), James P. 
(3), Dewitt C. (3). Allen (3) married Cynthia Scroggins in 1858 and 
left one son who lived at Cheery Vale Kansas. Perry (3) married 
Sarah M. Wilcox and had several children, no history of but four of 
them, namely Jerome (4), Olive (4), Albert (4) and Otto Perry (4). 
Jerome (4) married Sarah Belle Grace and had Edytha (5), Estella 
(5), Elsie (5) and Mary Grace (5). Edytha (4) married Thomas 
Snyder and had Owal (6), and May Elsie (6). Elsie (5) married 
Arthur Britt, they have seven children and reside in Pulaski County. 
Mary Grace (5) married John Carroll of Metropolis, 111., where they 
reside. Jerome (4) married a second time and left a daughter, Mrs. 
Edward Morkert who resides in Johnston City. Olive (4) married 


Charles Wood of Joppa, and had Jack (5). Albert (4) married Anna 
Lenn. Otto P. (4) married first Anna Waller of Villa Ridge, they 
had three sons. He removed to Arkansas where he married and had 
three daughters, and was killed in an automobile accident 1923. 
Mary (3) married Alexander McClean. Samuel (3) married Miss 
Lard and had two children. Richard (3) married Nancy Washburn 
and had children Elmer (4), A. Buel (4), Charles (4), Olive (4), May 
(4), Allen (4), Carrie (4), Flo (4). Elmer E. (4) married Delia Rimer 
and their children are Ruth (5), Paul (5), Esther (5). Ruth married 
a Mr. Batson. Buel (4) married Martha McCormick and had Lam 
bert (5) and Fritchie (5). Charles (4) married Minty Fulkerson, 
children Hayward (5), Mildred (5) Ruby (5), Richard (5). Allen (4) 
married Lura Jackson and has Joseph H. (5), Margaret (5) Carl (5), 
and Raymond (5). Olive (4) married Charles Thirkeld, children, 
Albert (5) and Halfrey (5). May (4) married Aaron H. Muck and 
has Lucille (5), Majory (5) and Velma (5). Carrie L. (4) married 
J. J. Oneal. James J. (3) married first Louisa Washburn 1865 and 
they had Benjamin F. (4) who married and died leaving one son, 
James B. (5). Addie (4) who married J. M. Strike of Wichita, Kan., 
and they have Clifford S. (5) and Jennie T. (5). James P. (4) married 
second Mrs. Minnie (Boston) Brooks they have one son, John Wallace 
of Marion, 111. Dewitt C. (3) married Miss Kidd and they had children 
James (4), Gertrude (4), Harry (4), Mamie (4), Louisa (4), Delia 
(4), May (4). Samuel (2) married second Mrs. Lucinda (Simpson) 
Fisher and had Louisa (3), who married a Mr. Pierce of Baxter 
Springs, Kan. Alonzo (3) married Mary Utley (4). William (2) 
married Malinda Allen and had Benjamin F. (3) born 1836 and mar- 
ried Margaret Leek of Massac County. They had Ishmael (4), 
William F. (4) Lena (4), Mary L. (4). Ishmael (4) married Emma 
and has Esther (5), Edna (5), Lela (5) and John (5). W. F. (4) 
married Ura and has Bea (5), Egbert (5), Wilma and Warba (5), 
William (5). Lena (4) married Edward Schmidt and they have 
Bessie (5), Alvin (5), Ethel (5), Floyd (5), Earl (5), Mary Evelyn (5). 
Mary L. (4) married John Borman and they have Sophia (5) and 
Mary (5). -John (2) married Ann Ward 1835 (who was born 1812) 
in Alabama and they had John Ward (3), Sarah Ann (3), James (3), 
William P. (3). John W. (3) married Mary J. Smith and they had 
Leora May (4), who married Pleasant T. (see Chapman). Sarah Ann 
(3) married Carrol Utley and had Mary (4), who married Alonzo 
Copeland (3). Sarah A. (3) married second William Mangum and has 
two children living, William (4) who lives at West Frankfort and 
Emma Yates who lives at Walnut Ridge, Ark. James (3) married 
Addie Porter of Pulaski County and they had William (4) who mar- 
ried Nanny Bartleson, and reside in Muskogee, Okla. David (4) mar 


ried Anna Reese and they have Thomas Vandiver (5), Robert A. 
(5), Leota J. (5) Rachel A. (5), Fred R. (5) Samuel V. (5) Jefferson B. 
(5), Mary V. (5) Martha K. (5). This family resides in Blithesville 
Ark. James (3) married second Martha and had children, Bird (4), 
May (4) and several others. William P. (3) married first Ellen Bar- 
nett and they had Charles (4), who married Luella Benton and died 
leaving one son Ralph Ward (5). William (4); William P. married 
second Margaret Gandy and they had Edward (5) who married Clara 
Dench of Golconda; Elsie (4) at home and Jackson D. (4) who mar- 
ried Lora Threlkeld and they have Edward (5). Joshua (2) resided 
in Massac County, served that county as judge and was quite active 
in the affairs of his time. He married first Elizabeth, daughter of 
Robert Axley of the West Eden neighborhood, and they had Mary- 
Jane (3) born 1836, Franklin (3), Samuel L. (3), Melissa (3), Law 
rence W. (3), Joshua Allen (3). Mary J. (3) married John Wright, 
1857 and they had John Franklin (4) born 1858, William Joshua (4), 
Martha E. (4) born 1862, Melissa Adelia (4) born 1865, Clara (4). 
J. Frank (4) married Omega Woelfle and they had Effie Gertrude (5) 
who married Dr. W. A. Sim of Golconda and their children were 
Sarah Mary (6) born 1904, William F. (6) born 1907, Wright A. (6) 
born 1909. J. Fred (5) married Emma (Hight) Whiteaker and they 
have Josylin (6). J. Frank (4) married second Ivy Hardy and died 
leaving one daughter, Barbara (5). William J. (4) married first Mary 
Rinehart, they had Mary (5) who married Mr. Broyle of Los Angeles, 
California and had May (6) who married Alfred B. Spires, 1924. 
William J. Jr., (5) married Lillian Hogue 1914 and has Lillian Jane 
(5). William J. (4) married second Ethel Evers (4). Elizabeth (4) 
married W. B. Pritchett 1882 and had Vivian (5) who married Norman 
Casper of New Burnside this county and they have Elizabeth (6) and 
Priscilla (6). Adelia (5) married Charles McAlister of Cairo, 111., 
and they have Mary June (6) and William Bradley (6). Adelia (4) 
married Lee Head, 1882 and had Lelia (5) who married Thomas W. 
Johnson, 1909. Lelia died 1918 leaving Albert Sidney (6) and Helen 
Leland (6). They reside in Newport, Ark. Clara (4) married H. C. 
Lentz, 1886 and they have Junita (5) who married Dr. Crowl of 
Anna, and Frederick (5), who married Gladys Styer of Anna, and they 
had Emily Diana (6). Franklin (3) married Rella Evers and had 
Frank (4). Samuel L. (3) married Margaret Beal, 1866 and they had 
Donnie May (4) and Samuel (4). Donnie May (4) married Arthur 
G. Jackson and they have Arthur C. (5), Margaret Crary (5) and 
Samuel Marion (5). Arthur C. (5) married Marie Rosenbaum and has 
Arthur C. Jr. (6). Margaret Crary (5) married Charles Foster of 
Fort Worth, Texas and has Charles W. (6) and Jack (6). Samuel 
(4) married Julia Coleman and had Eugene (5) and Samuel (5), both 


oi whom served in the World War; Samuel (5) in the 6th Marines 
and was killed near Soisoms, France, July 19, 1918. Melissa (3) mar- 
ried John Bartleson. Mr. Bartleson is now a resident of Beloit, 
Kan. Lawrence W. (3) born 1847, married Laura Hitchcock, 1867, 
and they had Belle (4), John L. (4), Estella May (4), Ernest (4), 
Agustus (4), Tony (4), Hilda (4). Belle (4) married John Shipman 
and they have Rossie Gray (5), Ernest Rhea (5), Gladys (5), Halfred 
Lee (5), Bessie (5). Rossie G. (5) married Lillian Marlin and has 
John Marlin (6). John L. (4) married and died in Little Rock, Ark., 
1922. Samuel (4) married and died in early manhood. Estella May 
lives in the old home with Hilda. Ernest P. (4) married Mamie 
Steincamp. Agustus (4) married Nona Henderson, they had Dorthy 
May (5). Agustus (4) married second Delia Wilson, they reside at 
Little Rock, Ark. Tony (4) married Walter Moreland; Hilda (4) 
married Lester Daily, they have Dorothy (5). 

Most of this family lives in Metropolis. Joshu (2) married second 
Caroline Evers and they had Elizabeth (3), Ella (3), Mattie (3), 
Margaret (3), Charles (3), Alice (3), Sally S. (3). Elizabeth (3) 
married Thomas Starkes and they had Howard (4), who married 
Clara Taylor and has Ida Elizabeth (5). Garfield (4) married Maud 
Little and has Gwendolyn (5) and Maried (5). Roxie (4) married 
Elva Alexander and they have Clesis (5) and Charles William (5). 
Pearl (4) married Clarence Jacobs and they have Alton (5) and Irene 
(5). Alma (4) married Perry Little and has Harold (5) and Gerald 
(5). Ruth (4) married Wilburn Trumbo and has Forest (5). Susie 
(4) married Roy Barnett and has Roy Jr. (5). Ella (3) married 
William Douglas and has Eva Leota, (4), who married Charles Smith 
and has Orion G. (5), William G. (5) and Bessie Ellen (5). Aubry 
(4) married Elizabeth Bunch, has Lester (5), Roy (5), Velma May (5) 
John Fred (5) and Helen M. (5). Charles (4) married Ethel Sexton 
and has lone (5), Charles R. (5) and Homer S. (5). Claude (4) 
married Birdie Bunch and has Delphia (5), Clyde (5), Raymond (5) 
and Lillian (5). William Arthur (4) and J. Fred (4) are not married. 
Mattie (3) married first James McNanna and had Joshua (4), who 
married Clara Bivins and they have Joshua, Jr. (5). Paul (4) not 
married. Mattie (3) married second Edward Cockrel. Maggie (3) 
married William W. Clark and they have Ida (4) who married Gifford 
E. Landon and they have Naomi (5), Thelma (5) and live near Han- 
ford. Charles H. (4) married Mary G. Nelson and they have Mel- 
burn Lee (5). He served in the World War, being in France four- 
teen months, was wounded and decorated. They reside in Fresno. 
Delphia (4) married Arthur J. Platzik, who served in the United 
States Navy during the World War. They have Max W. (5), Robert 
J. (5) and reside at Taft. Mrs. Clark and her family live in Cali- 


lornia. Charles (3) married Ella Mangum and had Gladys (4) who 
married John Hottel and has Carl (5) and Iva (5). Allie (3) married 
Mitt Barnett and they have Dwight (4) who married Else Gray and 
their children are Lana (5) and Doris (5). Leslie (4), Nellie (4) 
and Caroline (4) at home. Sally S. (3) married Jesse Hawkins and 
they have Ralph (4) who married Mariah Starks and their children 
are Louis (5), Lola May (5), Bernice (5), Robert (5). May (4) is 
a teacher and makes her home with her parents. Isaac (2) 
married Elanor Gore and their children were Crynthia (J) 
born 1837, John M. (3) born 1839, Sarah E. (3) born 1842, 
Mary M. (3) born 1846, Caroline (3) born 1849. Crynthia (3) married 
A. J. Axley (see West). Crynthia J. (3) married second Samuel 
Norval, and had Mary (4) (Gussie) who married Mr. McLean and 
had Clyde (5), Clarence (5), Floyd (5) and Lawrence (5). Margaret 
(4) married Mr. Carnahan. These two families reside in Portland, 
Oregon. John M. (3) served in the Civil War, in the 14th Cav., 
from Johnson County. He married Mary A. Rutledge, niece to Ann, 
and they have Mary Iva (4) who married Oscar Deans, a native of 
this county and they have Mary Jane (5). Sarah E. (3) married W. 
H. Walker, about 1861, and removed to Kansas, 1869; they had 
Belle (4) who married Mr. Brewer, Dora (4) married Mr. Cooley; 
Arthur (4) lives in California. Mary M. (3) married H. H. Spaulding 
1866 in Kansas, where they lived many years, later moving to Port- 
land, Oregon, where she still resides (1924) and they had Addie (4^, 
Lillian B. (4), Arlett C. (4), William (4), Lawrence (4). Addie (4) 
married Mr. Hostetler and had Nellie (5) who is a trained nurse 
residing in New York City and Lou (5) who married Clarence Mar- 
row and they have Edith (6) and also reside in New York City. 
Lillian B. (4) married Alvin Giger, children Roscoe (5) who married 
Mary Neal and has Richard (6). Charlotte (5) married John Fisher 
and has Eugene (6). Arlett C. (4) married May Burchum and has 
Harold (6). William (4) married Ettie Rich and has Vida (5). 
Lawrence (4) married Bertha Pogue. Caroline (3) married A. H. 
Spaulding and had Maud (4), Elmer (4), Frank (4) George (4). 
Maud (4) married Seymore Haynes, and lives in Los Angeles, Calif., 
Ihe sons all live in the West. 

Jane Gamble (2) born 1838, married Joel Braxton Mabry born 1809 
and they had James Copeland (3), Robert Smith (3) born 1843, John 
Quincy (3) born 1845, William Duddley (3) born 1848, Sarah Rebecca 
(3) born 1855. James C. (3) married Lavinnia Sage, 1857, they had 
Susie Jane (4) born 1860, Lola May (4) born 1863, John C. (4) born 
1866. Robert S. (3) killed at Fort Donelson, 1862. John Q. (3) mar- 
ried Sarah A. Sage, 1864 and had Eula B. (4) born 1868 who married 
Frank Trunkey, 1894 and had Marjory (5) born 1896, Neil Francis 


(5) born 1899, Elizabeth (5) born 1907. John Q. (3) married second 
Sarah E. Fuller 1874 and had Maud E. (4), Estella (4), Clarence E. 
married W. B. Pritchett 1882 and had Vivian (5) who married Norman 
(4), Elmer D. (4), Robert B. (4). Maude E. (4) married John 
Mahoney, 1898 and had Harrison (5) born 1899, Aithia (5) born 1903, 
and Eva (5) born 1908. Estella M. (4) married Frederick Minney 
1907 and had Berkeley B. (5) born 1909. Clarence E. (4) married 
Laura, they had Elizabeth (5), born 1911. W. Dudley (3) 
was an M. E. minister and married Irene Dutton, 1870 and they had 
William Carrey (4) born 1871, Pearl (4) born 1883. William C. (4* 
married Bessie Mayne 1903 and had Jenett (5) born 1913, Elizabeth 
(5) born 1916. Pearl (4) married Lieut. C. Smith, married 1903. 
Sarah Rebecca (3) married P. D. Witzel 1870, and had Frank R. (4) 
born 1871 who married May Bowman 1899, Niel B. (4) who married 
Amoral Dennis and they had Valaski (5) born 1913, Suel (5) born 

Alfred (2) married Catherine Elkins 1844 and they had Sarah 
Elizabeth (3) born 1845, Charlotte Temple (3), Louise (3), Martha 
(3), Sarah E. married Frank Hitchcock, 1863 and had children Ida F 
(4) born 1874, Louis G. (4) born 1882, Myrtle (4). Ida F. (4) married 
W. J. Mathis 1894 and they have Louis (5), Virgie (5) Herbert (5), 
Nina (5), Bernice (5) and Royal (5). Lewis (5) married Madge 
Evers and has Paul (6) and Ray (6). Virgie (5) married Ralph 
White and has William (6) and James Marion (6). Myrtle (4) mar 
ried Albert Evers 1896 and they had Eunice M. (5) born 1902. Myrtle 
(4) married second John Hillie and has two children, Lewis G. (4) 
married Iona B. Reed 1901 and has Letha Vera (5) born 1903, Lewis 
Clyde (5) born 1905, Madge Lorene (5) born 1908, Francis Reed (5) 
born 1910, Milfred G. (5) born 1915. Charlotte T. (3) married James 
R. Evers 1866 and they had William F. (4) born 1866, Elizabeth C. 
(4) born 1870, John R. (4) born 1874, Rollo P. (4) born 1876, Adolph 
L. (4) born 1880, Maud L (4) born 1882, James Hallie (4) born 1889. 
William F. (4) married Mary Greer and had Donabelle (5) who mar- 
ried Ernest Smith and has Francis W. (6), Mary E. (6). William 
F. (4) married second Sally Morgan and they had Fern (5), James 
W. (5), Charles C. (5), Albert (5) and John (5). Fern (5) married 
Lee Price and had Henry T. (6) born 1913, Elizabeth C. (4) married 
Dr. A. W. Tarr, 1901. John R. (4) married Ida Burns 1894 and had 
Paul (5), Seth (5), Vivian (5), Madge (5). Seth (5) married Silva 
Snell and they have Charles R. (6) born 1916. Madge (5) married 
Louie Mathis (5), 1917 and has Paul W. (6). John R. (4) married 
second Ivo Rhymer, 1918. Rollo P. (4) married Elizabeth E. Johnson, 
1900. Adolphus L (4) married Merlia Morgan, 1920 and the have 
Rudell (5). James H. (4) married Neoma Hammond, 1906 and their 


children are Willard O. born 1908. James Hallie (4) married second 
Ettie Davis, 1917. Louise (3) married Enoch Anderson and had 
Sidney (4). Martha (3) married George Evers 1871, and had Clara 
(4), Charles (4), Ethel (4). Clara (4) married Charles Marshall of 
Belknap and they have William (5). Charles (4) married Lilly 
Williams and has Nell (5) who married Chris Weis, and Samuel (5) 
and Owen (5). Ethel (4) married W. J. Wright (4) of Dongola 
Alfred (2) married second Elizabeth Ramey and had Virginia (3) 
and Olive (3). The widow and children removed to Texas, years ago. 

Louisa (2) married Jackson Simpson (see Simpson). 

James P. Copeland, the son of Judge Samuel and Sarah Allen 
Copeland was born in Vienna, 111., 1845. He was a descendant of 
John, who came to this county in territorial days. He was educated 
in the public schools and when a mere boy, entered a newspaper 
office in Anna, 111. when only seventeen years old he enlisted in 
Company E, 60th Illinois Infantry, 1862. This regiment was attached 
to General Pope's command, and took part in the battles of Corinth, 
Lookout Mountain, Missionary Ridge, Kennesaw Mountain, Marietta, 
Peach Tree Creek, and many others. He enlisted as a private, and 
was honorably discharged as a Lieutenant at the close of the war. 
He applied himself to gain further education and a little later, again 
took up the newspaper work, which he followed for sometime in this 
county. In 1874 he went to Marion, 111., as editor of the Marion 
Monitor," one of Marion's early journals. He was also connected 
with the "Marion Leader," and other papers of that town. He re- 
tired from the newspaper work in 1901 and conducted a florist busi- 
ness for sometime before his death. Mr. Copeland was first married 
to Louisa Washburn, 1865 at Vienna, (see Copeland.) He was a 
member of the M. E. Church of Marion. He took an active interest 
in the church and all movements, for the improvement of the city 
and people where he lived and was always found at his post of duty. 
He died in the year 1914. 


Thomas J. Cowan, Sr. was born in Henry County, Tennessee, 
1823. He came to this state in 1851 and was for many years one 
of the first class farmers of Bloomfield Township. He married first 
Mary Clayton, she died leaving one daughter, who is now Mrs. Nanny 
Waters of Bloomfield. Mr. Cowan married second Mary J. (see 
Worley.) D. J. Cowan, son of Thomas J. was born in this county, 
is a graduate of the Southern Illinois Normal and Bloomington Law 
School. He began his career as a teacher in this community, later 
entering the profession of law and was twice elected States Attorney 
for this county. He established a practice in Peoria, this state, 1910, 
where he has continued as a successful member of the firm of Mans- 


field and Cowan. He married Mrs. Sarah (Duncan) Poor. Thomas 
J. Cowan, Jr., son of T. J. is a leading farmer of this county residing 
lour miles east of Vienna on the Metropolis road. For family (see 
Farris.) J. O. Cowan, another son of T. J. and a native of this 
county has been in active practice of law in Vienna since 1913. He 
is a graduate of Vienna High School and the Chicago School of Law. 
He has been twice elected to the office of County Judge, which posi- 
tion he fills at present. He resides with his mother at the county 


John S. Crum was a native of Cambria County, Pa., and was 
born Sept. 9, 1836. He received his education in his native county, 
and came with his parents to Missouri, when a young man, and in 
1858 came to Illinois. He enlisted in Company D., 31st Illinois Vol- 
unteer Infantry, Aug., 1861, commanded by Col. John A. Logan, and 
served with this regiment about a year, when he was discharged on 
account of disability, from wounds received in the battle of Ft. Donel- 
son. He returned to Vienna and was appointed Postmaster, which 
place he filled till the Fall of 1864, when he was elected circuit clerk. 
He served in this office twelve years, having been elected three suc- 
cessive terms. He also served the state as a member of the State 
Board of Equalization, and the county two terms as Commissioner 
While acting as circuit clerk he compiled a complete set of abstract 
of land titles of the county, and after his retirement from office con- 
tinued the abstract business till his death which occured 1895. Mr. 
Crum was married three times, first to Edna E. Smith of Bollingei, 
Mo. and they had Letitia (2), who married J. E. Hunsaker, Don (3), 
is their son. He married Gale Cook of Anna, 111., and they have 
Francis (4). Sherman (2) was a business man of Vienna for some- 
time. He married Lina Stubblefield, who died leaving two sons, and 
a daughter. Sherman removed a few years ago with his family to 
California. Alice C. (2) married James Looney, she died young leav- 
ing two children. Mr. Crum's next marriage was to Carmelia Boy>, 
of this county. Ulysess G. and Dolly were their children. Dolly 
married Joseph Farris and Ulysess G. married Dora Jennings. Both 
families removed to Missouri, where Ulysess and Dolly died, the 
former leaving one son. His third wife was Barbara Toppas of 
Johnson County. 


Cummins is the name of at least three families in Johnson County 
and all trace their ancestry to Kentucky, and are of Welch descent. 
Peter, Thomas, and Samuel A. were the three brothers. Peter is the 
head of one family; his children were Daniel T. (2) born in Kentucky, 
1822, Amanda (2), George (2), Samuel C. (2), Betty Ann (2), Willis 


(2), Jerry (2) and Alexander (2). Daniel T. (2) settled near Reeves- 
ville sometime in the fifties, riding horseback, to Shawneetown to 
enter his land. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Jason B. Smith, 
and their children were Mary Ann (3), Martha Jane (3), Thomas N 
(3), William F. (3), Jerry S. (3), J. Wesley (3), Jason B. (3), Lewis 
G. (3), Henry M. (3), J. P. (3). Mary Ann (3) married James (see 
Marberry). Martha Jane (3) married F. M. Fisher and their children 
were Airy (4) who married Joel McClanahan. Robert (4) is a dentist 
of Chicago. Myrtle (4) married Alfred Ridenhower. Joseph A. (4) 
married Lily Poor and is a physician of Metropolois. Ruby (4) 
married Hary Cummins and Norma (4) married Mr. Purtel. Thomas 
N. (3) married Anna Rowland. William F. (3) married Sarah 
Williams. Jerry S. (3) married Nancy Rice. J. Wesley (3) married 
Kate Key. Jason B. (3) married Emma Kirk. Louis G. (3) married 

Jennie Henry M. (3) married Maud Dickerson. J. P. (3) 

married Helen Upchurch. This branch of the Cummins family was 
an unusual one, the parents were devout Methodists and lived their 
religion in their home; Mrs. Cummins joined the church when she 
was nine years old. She has the distinction of being the mother of 
more ministers than any other woman in the county, state or United 
States, so far as is known. She has five sons who are Methodist 
ministers and all her Children are exemplary Christian citizens. This 
family held a reunion in 1907 and there were present ten children, 
thirty-five grandchildren and three great grandchildren. The mother 
and her ten children spent the night together in the old home. The 
other guests finding entertainment elsewhere. The mother and father 
have gone on years ago but the influence of their life is being broad- 
casted in many communities far from their humble home. 

Amanda (2) married Thomas Garrett and their children were 
Virginia (3) who married John H. (see Clymer). Missouri (3) mar- 
ried Wiley F. (see Marberry). John (3) married Nora Harris and 
they had William Monroe (4) who married Mary Martin, they had 
Luella (5) who married Rilley Murray. John H. (4) removed to 
Texas. George (4) married Sadie Perry. James B. (4) married 
Edrice Pippins. Edward (4) married Pearl Kerley. Lannie (4) mar- 
ried Tine Phillips. Lewis (4) married Ruby Bowman. Most of this 
family have moved out of the county. George (2) married Elvira 
Gregg, and they had George (3) who married Sula Homer and had 
Pender (4) who married Ruth Hood of Vienna; they have Mary 
Louise (5). They have recently gone as missionaries to Upper Bur- 
man, India (1923). Pearl (4), Grace (4) Ruth (4) Jennie (4). This 
family removed to the West. William (3) married Melissa Jackson. 
Samuel C. (2) married Francis Arington and their children were 
George (3) who married Alice Harris, they had Otis (4), Opie (4) 


who married Edward Nix. Debby Ann (2) married Charles Holmes. 
Willis (2) married Queen Gregg. Jerry (2) married Lizzie Gramtham 
and had Belle (3) who married William Lane; Joseph (3), Anna (3) 
who married Dr. W r oodside. Alexander (2) married Missouri Harris 
and their children were Lida (3), who married Foster. James (3) 
married Dora Chapman and had Tullis (4); he married second Dora 
Gillespie and had Eva (4) and Nell (4). 

Samuel A. Cummins was a brother to Thomas and Peter and 
came to this county from Kentucky, in company with other families, 
on a flat boat, sometime in 1845, living a while in Pope County. 
Samuel A. (1) married Lucy Ann Hard and they had Sophie (2) who 
married James Helm and lives in Samoth. Peter A. (2) resides near 
Reevesville. Deborah (2) married John Kelton of Paducah. Arminta 
(2) married Richard Boyles of Samoth. Idora (2) married Robert 
Knuckles of Metropolis. John L. (2) is a farmer of this county and 
married Sarah Griffith and their children are Ora (3), Idora Belle (3) 
Lucy Ann (3). Thomas (1) the other brother married Madaline 
Gregg, and their children were Belle (2) and Clayton (2). Belle (2) 
married Joseph Hale; they live near Bloomfield. Their children were 
Robert A. (3), May (3), Offie (3) Roscoe (3), R. A. (3) was a phy- 
sician of this county practicing in the Bloomfield community where 
he resided. He was a graduate of Barnes Medical School of St. Louis, 
Mo., and died when comparatively a young man. He married first 
Mary Cowan, who died without children; second Maud, daughter 
of D. F. Beauman. They had Joseph (4), Caroline (4), Robert (4). 
Mrs. Hale removed to Centralia, 111. May (3) married Obe Dunn and 
has Chatty (4), Eva (4), Herschel (4). Chatty (4) married J. Gurley 
and has Herbert (5). Clayton (2) married Alice Porter and they had 
Elza (3) who served in the World War and died while in training in 
Colorado. Lula (3) married Giles Taylor. John (3) married Stella 
Kincannon; Earl (3) and Arle (3). 

Charles Damron, an old resident of this county, was born in 
Kentucky, his father was Wilson Damron, who was a native of 
Virginia. Wilson was a contemporary of Daniel Boone. He later 
removed to that section of the northwest territory that made Illinois. 
He was in the employ of a fur company, and at one time made ex- 
plorations in the Yellowstone River country. He spent his last days 
near Springfield, Mo. The maiden name of his wife was McLane. 
Charles the (1) came with his parents to this state, and while 
living in Saline County, 1818, voted for the adoption of the first 
constitution. After his marriage to Mary Carson, he removed to 
Weakly County, Tenn, where he resided until 1852, when he again 


came to Illinois and settled in Tunnel Hill Township on the farm 
now owned by John Bonar, where he lived till his death, 1878. He 
was known for his good deeds. The children were J. M. C. (2), 
Saml. (2), Norval (2), James (2), Mary (2), Mexico (2), Jane (2), Dru- 
cilla (2), Almus (2). Dr. J. M. C. (2) received his early education in 
select schools of Tennessee. He began teaching in Williamson County 
this state at the age of 21, having taught in one school five successive 
terms. In the meantime reading medicine as it was called. It was 
not necessary at that time to have a diploma before one began the 
practice of medicine in this state. Dr. Damron attended Rush Medical 
College, Chicago, 1854-55, and began his medical career in Saline 
County, 1855, removing the same year to Vienna. He returned to 
Rcsh Medical, and graduated with the class of 1860. He was well 
known and a well liked physican, and traveled over the rough roads 
of this county, many years, also engaging at different times in the 
drug business. He was a mason, a member of the Presbyterian 
Church, and a Democrat in politics. He died in 1911. Dr. Damron 
(2) was born in Tennessee, 1824, married Elizabeth Buckner, 1850 
and they had one son, Leonidas (3) who is now, if living a farmer in 
Missouri. Dr. Damron (2) married second Adeline Standard 1855, 
and their children were John Franklin (3), who died about 1915, 
leaving no children, Emma (3), married Dennis Wilson of Cape 
Girardeau, Mo. and had several children, but the name of only one, 
Owna (3), is known. Mollie (3) married T. G. Johnson of this county, 
who died quite young leaving Essie (4), Eva (4) and Damron (4). 
The children with their mother moved to St. Louis, Mo. Jennie (3) 
was a resident of New York City in 1908. Lucy (3) married Clinton 
Shearer of New Buprnside, and removed to Oklahoma where she died 
1920, leaving a daughter, Mrs. E. S. Rardin (4) of Oklahoma City, 
Okla., who has Clinton (5) and Paul (5). Agusta (3) married Fred 
Tate of Hardin County, and had Lucille (4). Mr. Tate served in the 
Spanish War and died soon after its close. Agusta (2) was a resident 
of Washington, D. C. in 1909. Charles Norval (2) was born about 
1840. He began his career as a teacher, later studying law which 
profession he followed with success in this section for many yeais. 
He was at one time Circuit Attorney of this district, and traveled 
the circuit with the Judge, taking care of all the state cases. He 
later served as States Attorney of this county and also as Judge. 
He was a Lieutenant in Company K., 120th Illinois Volunteer of the 
Civil War. He married Mary, daughter of Martin Harvick, first 
settler. The family moved to San Bernardino, Calif, about 1881. The 
children were Cass (3) who died in California leaving two daughters. 
Flora (3) married Charles Dunscomb of Bethany, 111. They now re- 
side in Berkeley, Calif., where Mr. Dunscomb is owner and publisher 


of the"Berkeley Gazette." Mrs. Damron is still living and a resident 
of San Bernardino. Judge Damron died about 1815. Mexico (2) mar- 
ried John Graves and had William (3) and Mexico (3). William (3) 
married Arista Rose, has Charles (4) and resides in Ft. Collins, 
Colo. Mexico (3) married Thomas Helms and had Audrey (4) who 
married Joseph (see Clymore). 

James W. (2) was a farmer of Grantsburg Township. He was 
elected assessor and treasurer for the county serving one term. He 
removed with his family to Puxico, Mo., about 1900. He was a 
Presbyterian, a mason and a member of the Peoples Party. He 
married Sidney Rose and had Catherine (3), who married James 
Fleming and died leaving Clyde (4) who is a resident of Detroit, 
Mich. Charles P. (3) married Myrtle Swain and their children are 
Louise (4), Helen (4), and Catherine (4). This family resides at 
Fredericktown, Mo. Charles is a lawyer and has represented his 
district in the State Legislature. One son, Herschel and two daugh- 
ters, Libby and Maude of J. W. and Sidney's family, died after they 
were grown. Alumus (3) is a successful business man of Puxico, 
Mo. He married there and has two children. Samuel Damron (2) 
was a farmer and physician of Tunnel Hill Township. He married 
Amanda (see Chapman) and died when quite a young man. Drucflla 

(2) married George Worley. Mary (2) married Tamberlain Chapman. 
Jane (2) married Henry Anderson and had Drucilla (3) who married 
Thomas (see Chapman); Frank (3) married Melissa Chapman, Norve 

(3) and John (3). 

Almus G. (2) grew up and was educated in this county. He be- 
gan as a teacher, later selected law as his profession, in which he 
made a decided success. He was a man of ability and energy and 
served the county as States Attorney. His health failed and he re- 
moved with his family to San Bernardino, Calif., where he died in 
1884. He married Edith, daughter of A. J. Kuykendall. They had 
Mamie, who married and was a former resident of New York City. 
Wirt is a prominent attorney of Harrisburg, and has served that city 
as judge. 


John Elkins, tradition says, was Welch and came originally 
from Wales, settled in North Carolina and removed to Tennessee, 
and finally to Illinois about 1809, settling somewhere near the Samuel 
Glassford home. His family consisted of a wife, Elizabeth Styles 
whom he married in 1798, and seven children; one son stopped in 
Kentucky of whom there is no history. The children coming to 
this county were William (2), Richard (2), Whit (2) Amy (2), 
Fanny (2) and Joshua (2). John Elkins lived in this county several 
years and moved to Little Rock, Ark. and his daughter, Fannie (2; 


who had married John Mansfield and his youngest son, Joshua (2; 
accompanied him. He died there at the age of ninety-four. William 
Elkins (2) married Sarah Graves, a daughter of John S., who his 
grandson, George Elkins, (now ninety-nine years old) says, served in 
the Revolution from North Carolina. Their children were John ('6), 
Joshua (3), Catherine (3), George (3), Richard (3), Fed (3), Eli (3), 
Emeline (3). 

John Elkins (3) married Betsy Dooley and had Sarah (4), Emeline 
<4), Samuel (4), Frank (4). Sarah (4) married John Gould and had 
John P. (5), Charles (5), Mrs. Fred Mullins (5), Willis (5), Carl (5), 
and Mrs. Carl Reeves. Emeline (4) married John Busby and lives 
in Ball Knob, Ark. Samuel (4) married first Narcissa (Suit) Scott 
and second Ann Elkins (4). John (3) married second Margaret 
Williams and had John (4) (called Bud.) John (3) married third 
Emeline Allen. 

Joshua (3) married Acquilla Gurley, 1839 and their children were 
Catherine (4), Melissa (4), Louisa (4), Clarissa (4), George (4). 
Willis (4), Jackson (4), Isaac Newton (4). Catherine (4) married 
Richard Thomas and had Basil G. (5), Josephine (5), Rosa (5). 
Basil G. (5) married Mollie Orr. Josephine (5) married Jack Land. 
Rosa (5) married John N. Elkins, son of Hight. Melissa (4) married 
Dennis Stephens and had Marion J. (5), Charles (5) and Ella (5). 
Louisa (4) married Hiram Worley and had George (5) who married 
Miss Neibour and Vernilla (5) married Mr. Elderman and had two 
children. Both families resided in Union County. Clarissa (4) mar- 
ried Andrew Amburn and had Olive (5) who married Ambrose 
Stokes of this county. Florence (5) married Francis Thornton and 
has Lena (6) Francis (6) George (4) married Margaret Slack and 
they had Lee (5) and George L. (5). Willis A. (4) married Alice 
Lingle and has Maud (5), Fay (5), Fred (5). Maud (5) married John 
Wright and has Genevive (6); Fay (5) married Fred Wilburn and has 
Violet (6) and Lenten (6). Fred married Etta Primm. Newton (4) 
married Ellis Stokes and had Homer (5), May (5), Pearl (5), Lloyd 
(5), Newton (5). Homer (5) married Rosaliri Roberts and hard one 
daughter. May (5) married Burton Bagby and has Burton Jr. (6). 

Lloyd (5) married Evelyn and has Catherine (6). Jackson 

(4) not married. 

Catherine (3) married Alfred (see Copeland) ; George (3) born 
1825 and married first Martha Jones and had Mary (4) and James (4). 
Mary (4) married William Turley and had Lethia (5), James (5), 
Cordelia (5). Lethia (5) married B. S. Penrod and had Charles (6), 
Joshua (6), Ray (6). James (5) left the county years ago. He has 
a daughter who lives in Colorado. James (4) married Ella Taylor 
and had Pearl (5), who married first Mr. Bright and had John (6). 


Pearl (5) married second Daltou Baily and has one daughter, Mrs. 
Ed Broen of Keville, Ky. George (3) married second Martha Stewart 
and had Manzell (4), Nancy (4), Frank (4), J. Adolphus (4), Anna 
(4), Joshua (4). Nancy (4) married W. A. Stone and had Harrison 
(5), Jewel (5), Willis (5), Olin (5). Jewel (5) married Herbert King. 
Frank (4) lives at Jefferson City, Mo. Anna (4) married Samuel 
Elkins (4). Joshua (4) married Marie Martin and lives in Los Gatos, 
Calif. Manzell and J. A. (4) live on the home farm with their father. 
This county claims to have the oldest farmer in the United 
States, meaning a man who still farms and has lived on the same 
farm the longest period of time, in the person of George Elkins (3). 
He entered his land from the government and has lived and farmed 
on it continously since. Uncle George doesn't manage his farm, but 
he always has a small field of corn, potatoes and a garden, which 
he actually cultivates. He will reach the century mark if he lives 
until April 5, 1925. His faculties are wonderful except his hearing, but 
his memory is almost perfect, especially about things that happened 
a long time ago. He hitches his horse to a buggy, and drives to 
Vienna, a distance of about five miles when the weather is suitable. 
He says he was ten years old the first time he went to Vienna 
and rode on horse back, and when he was old enough to vote he came 
to town, put his head in the window of the courthouse and called out 
who he wanted to vote for. He further relates that the section of 
the town where the jail now stands was covered with forest trees 
and that he doesn't remember but one store and that was kept by John 
Dunn. He was given a trip to Aurora, Illinois, two years ago in 
honor of his being the oldest farmer of the U. S., by the Central 
Illinois Fair Association. They paid his expenses as well as those of 
his daughter Manzell who accompanied him. He was entertained at 
a private home and enjoyed his trip, especially the live stock exhibits 
of the fair. In a joking way, he said last summer he only 
lacked seventeen months of being a hundred years old and 
he was going to live that long if he could. For a number of years 
the relatives, neighbors and friends of "Uncle George," as he is 
known, far and near, go and spend the day with him on his birthday. 
They take their dinners, and as the weather is usually pleasant at 
this time of the year it is spread on the lawn. These gatherings in- 
clude visitors from many of the neighboring towns and reach the 
number of two hundred and fifty to three hundred. He looks forward 
to these occasions with a great deal of pleasure and seems to enjoy 
the meal as well as any of the guests. Uncle George has lived a loffg 
and useful life and has many friends who hope he may reach the 
goal of one hundred years. The improvements and inventions that 
have come under his span of life are manifold. 


Richard (3) married Mary Thornton and had Sarah (4), Martha 
(4), Hosea (4) and Preston (4). Sarah (4) married John Lanom. 
Martha (4) first married Choate Lanom and third Milton Penrod. 
Hosea (4) married Ellen Heilman. Preston (4) is not married but 
lives on the old homestead. Fed (3) married Abby Gurley and had 
William (4). Eli (3) married Jane Anderson and had Mary (4), Rosa 
(4), Alice (4), Cora (4), Cordie (4), and Channas (4). Mary (4) 
married first Lowery Low and second a Mr. Vandiver. Rosa (4) 
married first James Key and second Mr. McDowell. Alice (4) mar- 
ried Charles Peterson (see Reynolds.) Cora (4) married D. D. Stew- 
art. Cordia (4) married Alice Cagle and has Nell (5), Samuel F. 
(5), Everett (5). Samuel F. (5) married Althea Arnett. Channas (4) 
lives in Johnson City, 111. Emeline Elkins (3) married Jefferson 
Morris and had James (4). Whit Elkins (2) married Kizzie, sister 
to Judge John Oliver, and had John (3), Young (3), "Pop" (3) (sup- 
posed to be Martha), and Champ (3). John (3), (called Big John) 
married Catherine (see Simpson). Young (3) was killed in Vienna. 
111., when a young man. Pop (3) married John H. (see Bridges). 
Champ (3) married, died and left a daughter Ellen (4), who married 
Milton Cochran. Amy Elkins (2) married William Barton (see Smith) 
Richard Elkins (2) married Sarah Gore, and as far as is known they 
had Waton (3), who married and had Alney H. (4), who was born and 
raised in this county, and served in the 31st Illinois Volunteer. He 
married Mary Stone, born 1847, and they had John (5), Clinton (5), 
Richard (5), James (5), Samantha (5) and Harrison (5). 

Dr. George L. son of Joshua and Acquilla Elkins, was born in 
this county 1850. He acquired his primary education here and gradu- 
ated from Rush Medical College, Chicago, 1868. He practiced his 
profession in Vienna until 1879, when he was appointed physician at 
the Southern Illinois prison at Chester. He died very early in his 
career being a little more than thirty years old. He married Margaret 
Slack and they had Lee and George L. Lee is a graduate of Bloom- 
ington Normal and was a teacher in the Chicago Schools for some 
time. Her husband, C. D. Stillwell was a prominent attorney of 
Harrisburg, 111., where he served as city judge. He died 1923. George 
L., who was born and partially reared in this county is a graduate of 
Vienna High School, has large plantation interests in Porto Rico, 
making a specialty of growing and exporting grapefruit and pine- 
apple. . He also has a residence in New Hampshire, where he and his 
mother spend the hot season. Mrs. Elkins, though widowed early 
managed to give her children the very best educational advantages 
and is enjoying the fruits of her untiring efforts in their behalf. 
George L. makes a pleasant home for his mother and sister. 



Abraham and James English came from County Kerry, Ireland, 
and settled in North Carolina, during colonial days. Abraham later 
removed to South Carolina. He assisted in the establishing of the 
Independence of the colonies by furnishing a horse to a messnger 
to notify the patriots that a company of Royalists were encamped on 
the Pedee River on which he lived. Abraham's son Johnathan who 
was the grandfather of George W. was born on the Pedee River, 
North Carolina, 1812. He left the South at the time of the Seminole 
War, coming north, finally settling in Illinois, in 1846, and spent the 
rest of his days in Massac County, and died in 1891. Manuel C. the 
son of Johnthan was born in Kentucky in 1842. He served in the 
Civil War in Company B. 120th Illinois Volunteers, three years. He 
married Rebecca Smith, who was a native of Massac. Her 
maternal grandparents were Scotch on one side and Sweedish on the 
other. Americus Smith father of Mrs. English was a native of Nortn 
Carolina and a Baptist minister. He began preaching when he was 
twenty years old and kept up this good work for more than fifty 
years, and was another minister who took up arms as a Regulator in 
the interest of law and order in Massac County in 1846, having come to 
Illinois in 1814. Manuel and Rebecca settled on a farm in Johnson 
County and their children 'vere Caddie Elizabeth (2) who married 
a Mr. Barnham and left two children. Julia Victoria (2) married H. 
A. Roundtree and died in 1912, leaving two sons and five daughters. 
George W. (2) who was their second child was born in Johnson 
County in 1866, and was educated in the public schools of the county, 
Ewing College, and later entered Illinois Wesleyan, at Bloomington, 
and graduated in law in 1891. He was for a time employed as a 
teacher, but began the practice of Law in Vienna with H. M. Riden- 
hower, Jr., 1893, which he continued after Mr. Ridenhower's death in 
1896. In 1906, he was elected as a democrat to the State Legislature, 
serving three terms. He was appointed under Wilson, as an attorney 
in the Treasury at Washington, D. C. After some years of service he 
resigned and came back to Illinois locating in Centralia, following his 
profession there. He was later appointed a Federal Judge by Presi- 
dent Wilson, and the family now reside in East St. Louis, 111. Mr. 
English married Lilly, daughter of T. G. and Amanda Farris in 1894. 
Their children were Thomas Farris (3), George W. (3), Virgil Carrol 
(3), and William J. (3). Farris (3) is married has two children and 
resides in Kasi St. Louis, where he is cashier of a bank. 

Mr. and Mrs. English were residents of Vienna for many years 
where they and their family added much to the social life of the 
community. She was a devoted member of the Methodist Church 


and Mr. English assisted in its activities and support. He is a mason, 
an odd fellow, and they were both members of the Egyptian chapter 
O. E. S. number 30. 

Manuel E. and Elizabeth (Jones) Farris were Virginians, bur 
emigrated to Tennessee in the early part of the Nineteenth century. 
Their youngest son was Thomas G., born in Giles County, that state, 
1823, and when about twenty-one years old came to Union County, 
111., but later entered land in Johnson County, which is a part of the 
six hundred acres on which he lived at the time of his death. He 
brought his mother to this home where she lived many years. He 
was a first class farmer of his time and his widow and youngest son 
still resides on the farm. Thomas G. (2) married Catherine Gillespie 
and they had Stephen (3), who married Frances Helm, they had 
Loyd (4), Retta (4), Allice (4). Loyd (4) married May Jamison and 
has Marion (5) and Frances (5). Retta (4) married Thomas Duncan 
and has Helen (5) and Donald (5). Alice (4) married Byron Dunn. 
After Catherine's death, Thomas G. (2) married Amanda Gillespie 
and their children are J. F. (3), who married Mary Grissom, also 
a native of this county, their children are Dawes (4), who married 
Zona (see Simpson). Mamie (4) married H. A. Spann (see Simpson) 
and Maple (4) in school. Charles (3) married Mary Terrhanious. 
Tennie (3) married Joshua Howell (see Simpson). Nettie (3) manTed 
William Grissom and had Curtis (4), Dorthy (4) and Mildred (4). 
Nora (3) married Thomas Cowan (see Worley). Lilly (3) married 
George (see English). Neoma (3) married Edward Carlton, has 
Dale (4), Lewis (4) and Ned (4). This family resides at Coulter 
ville, 111., where Mr. Carlton is cashier of the First National Bank of 
that city. Dr. G. K. (3) married Edith Burnett. Maude (3) is the 
widow of Roscoe Walker and has Joseph (4). Ward (3) married 
Bernice McMecan. The children are Mildred (4), Dema (4), Florence 
(4). He lives on the home farm. Other members of Emanuel and 
Elizabeth's family were Ned (2) who married Elizabeth Ball and had 
Mary (3), who married Pleasant (see Rose). Minerva (3) married 
John Howell and had Claud (4). Malinda (3) married James Stout, 
their children were Edward (4) and Thomas (4). John M. (3) mar- 
ried Margaret Murrie, children Hartzel (4), Edward W. (4), Lawrence 
(4), Charles (4), Mrs. Dick Morgan (4) and Mrs. Duff Howell ""(*)■ 
Ned Farris (2) married second Mary Wilsford; children living, J. W. 
of Bloomfield and Fred. William (3) married Sarah Redden. They 
had children, Charles (4), Alonza (4), John (4), William (4), Newton 
(4), Joseph (4), Alice (4), Martha (4), Sidney (4). Most of this 
:'amily have left the county. Irene (2) married William Keith and 
their children were John (3), who married India Grissom, and had 


William (4), James (4), Lula (4), Charles (4), Mabel (4) and George 
(4), who resides in San Diego, Calif., where his mother makes her 
home. William (4) has been an employe of the War College, Wash- 
ington, D. C. for many years and reached the rank of Major during 
the World War. Irene (3) married Pleasant Veach (see Chapman). 
Thomas (3) married Mary Slack and had Ida (4), James (4), Nora 
(4), and John (4). Mary (2) married Blant Keltner and their chil- 
dren were Ned (3), Louis (3), John (3) Stephen (3) and Alice (3) 
who married Thomas C. Murrie. Most of this family are residents 
of this county. One other daughter of Manuel and Elizabeth married 
Neal Carter, Sr. 

J. F. Farris was born in this county and for years was a first 
class farmer, residing four miles east of Vienna. He moved to 
Vienna to give his children the benefit of the schools about fifteen 
years ago and engaged in the farm implement, hardware and trans- 
portation business which he has followed with success. For family 
see Farris. 


Lawrence W. Fern was a native of England, born in Derbyshire, 
Jan. 14, 1818. He came with his parents to the United States when 
only six years old, and states in his biography that they sailed from 
Liverpool, with a Captain Collins, and were sixty-nine days on the 
voyage. They lost their way in a fog, and when it cleared they found 
themselves on the coast of Nova Scotia. Mr. Fern's parents settled 
in New York State, where he received a liberal education, and was 
admitted to the bar when twenty-one years old and practiced in both 
New York and Illinois, coming to the latter state as a resident, in 
1843, although a lawyer he followed farming and teaching a greater 
part of his life. He was one of the pioneer educators of this county 
and was county surveyor in 1865. He purchased one thousand acres 
of land which was thought to be a very follish idea at that time, 
his neighbors called him land poor. He paid one dollar taxes in 
1846, and for for f y five years paid forty-five dollars a year taxes. 
His wife was Ellen Lasley, a native of Kentucky. Their children 
were W. J. (2), Andrew J. (2), a farmer of this county, Sarah E. (2), 
wife of E. H. Lemons, Missouri L. (2), wife of J. J. Whiteside, a 
merchant of Simpson, India L. (2), wife of William Simpson, Fransis 
(2), wife of Alfred Willis. Mr. Fern was a mason, a republican and 
in religion, a Missionary Baptist. He died in 1890. W. J. Fern (2) 
was born in this county in 1846. He remained on his fathers farm 
till about sixtee- years old, receiving a good education in the district 
school. He a/ierward attended College Hill Seminary and later 
graduated from Rush Medical College, Chicago, 111., when twenty-one 
years of age. He began the practice of medicine in Grantsburg, this 


county, 1868. The following year he married Sarah J., the daughter 
of S. D. and S. J. Poor. They lived five years in that community, 
two years in Vienna, and removed to Tunnel Hill, where they resided 
the remainder of their lives. He had an extensive practice and was a 
trusted physician, also owned a drug store there for many years. Dr. 
and Mrs. Fern had three children, Nora (3), who married R. S. Gil- 
liam, Lawrence D. (3) of Vienna, who is engaged in the drug business 
who married Margaret Whitehead, two sons were born to them, 
Herbert (4) and Louis (4). Herbert was drowned at New Orleans, 
La., 1924. W. J. (3) married Ada Taylor and their children are 
William, a pharmacist ,and Lucile (4), a teacher who married Mr. Mc- 
Cuan, 1924. 

Judge James Finny was a very prominent man in the early 
history of this section of the state. His name appears on the Cahokia 
records 1780., and on Randolph County records as early as 1806. He 
was the first county clerk of this county and seved till about 1830 or 
later. He was also recorder of deeds, and must have been a man of 
classical education. His writing of more than one hundred years 
ago, is neat and legible, and the records kept by him are in good 
form as long as he was in office. He was never married. David 
Finny of Pope County born 1833, says he was the grandson of Alex- 
ander Finny, a prominent educator of Virginia, who had seven sons 
eight daughters, of which his father, Norman was one, and that 
Judge James Finny was Alexander Finny's brother. James Slack, 
grandson of John Finny said Judge James Finny was his great uncle, 
which would mean that Norman was one of Alexander's sons and 
John another. R. M. Finny of Kennet, Mo., says, it has always been 
his understanding, that Alexander Finny of Virginia was his grand 
father, and gives as his father's brothers Greenville Penn (2), John 
(2), William (2), his father James M. (2), who was born 1817. 
R. M. Finny gives as his fathers sisters, Mary (Polly) (2), 
who married William Slack, Matilda (2) married David Penrod, 
another sister married a Mr. Penrod, another sister married Walton 
John Gore, still another married a Mr. Hooker. William and John 
Penrod were mentioned as buyers at the sale of the John Finny 
estate, 1837. John (2) married Sarah Reynolds and had Mary, who 
married William (see Slack). James M. (2) married Mary Ann 
Smith, born 1829 and had Matilda (3), Milinda (3), John Marshall (3;, 
Jefferson G. (3), R. M. (3), Sarah Elizabeth (3), W. B. (3), Virginia 
M. (3), and Sample Parks (3), this family has all noved out of the 
county. R. M. is a successful business man of Kennet, Mo. and is 
well known in this and his community. Sally Finny entered land in 
this county 1837 and was the mother of John Finny. 


Will of John Finny, October 24, 1836, I, John Finny, of the 
county of Johnson, being weak in body but sound mind and memory, 
do ordain and establish this to be my last will and testament, hereby 
revoking all others and I do hereby appoint Sally Finny, my mother 
to be the executrix of this, my last will and testament. This is 
my will that she will take all my family and let them live at her 
house, and that she will take all my property and spend it to rafse 
my children, and my wife must work and help to raise my children, 
and she is to have her part with them, and if there is any more than 
it takes to raise them, I want her to let them have it when they be- 
come of age. William Slack, James M. Finny and Polly Slack, wit- 
nesses. In connection with this estate is an instrument signed by 
Polly Finny, wife of John Finny in which she renounces all claim to 
her husband's property and also a notice to Mary Ann, Lucinda, and 
William Finny, heirs of John P. Finny to appear at court in 1837. The 
estate of Green P. Finny who died in 1863, was administered on by 
John Slack. Rachel is given as the wife of Greenville P. and their 
children were William M., John M. and Gilbert. 

Robert M. Fisher was born in Johnson County, 1843, and de- 
scended from William Fisher, which is among the earliest names 
found on the county record. William (1) came to this county about 
1810 from Indiana. William Fisher (2), son to the former, and the 
father of our subject was born in this county in 1816, died in the 
prime of life when R. M. was one year old. He was reared on a farm 
and attended public school occasionally, but the most of his education 
was gained outside of school, having a preference for law, he begaii 
the study of law under John F. McCartney of Massac County, and 
studied later under Judge Duff of Benton, • Franklin County. He 
opened an office in Vienna 1873, and continued to practice here till 
1895 when he left the county, going to Oklahoma. Mr. Fisher held 
office in the county, was elected County Superintendent of Johnson 
County Schools in 1^69. In 1876 he was elected to the office of 
Prosecuting Attorney and again in 1888, as a republican. He married 
first, Mary E. Fisher (see Simpson.) Mr. Fisher married second, 
Mrs. G. O. Hamilton, who was a native of Williamson County. They 
had Amy and Mildred. Amy married Charles Johnson, resides in 
Canton, Ohio. Mildred married Robert Kerr, and resides in Tulsa, 
Okla. Mr. Fisher lives at present (1924) at Long Beach, Calif. 

James S. was the son of Olmstead who was born in Virginia 
1823 and Nancy (Dorrity) Francis. He was born in Tennessee, 1852 
and came |o this county when a child with his parents. He was 


educated in the schools of the county and McKendree College, Leban- 
on, 111., followed teaching for some time, in 1880 he was elected C/r- 
cuit Clerk for the county and was later elected to serve on the State 
Board of Equalization. He then engaged in the mercantile business 
till 1897 when he was appointed to a position in the Secretary ol 
States office, Springfield, 111., which position he filled till his final 
illness. Mr. Francis married Nannie E. Hogg (see Harvick). His 
widow and family reside in Springfield, 111. 


L. H. Frizzell was a native of this county and born in Burnsido 
Township, 1852. He was reared and educated in that community, 
and on arriving at the age of manhood, set out for himself on a farm 
in Grantsburg township, where he resided until 1886, when he was 
elected sheriff of the county. He was interested in the drug business 
with T. B. Powell for several years and was elected to the Legisla- 
ture of this state as a Democrate in 1900. After this service ex- 
pired he lived for a short time in Metropolis, but returned to Vienna 
where he spent the rest of his life. He married Sidney, daughter of 
S. D. Poor, and their children are Arista (2), widow of Ernest Moore, 
who resides with her sons Len Wallen and Ernest Jr. at Caruthers- 
ville, Mo. Mattie (2) wife of Thomas Johnson, a business man of 
Cairo, 111. They have one son, Dan. Lewis (2) is a druggist and 
conducts a business at Mounds, 111. Herman (2) the youngest is a 
graduate of the Bloomington Lew school and is practicing his pro- 
fession in East St. Louis. He married Mary Hooker of Vienna and 
they have Lewis (3). 


W. E. Galeener came to this county from Union in 1869, but was 
a native of Ohio. He served in the Civil War, though not from this 
county. He lived for several years at Tunnel Hill and was the pioneer 
nurseryman of this county. Mr. Galeener was a man ot influence in 
his community and was always found on the right side of all moral 
questions. He was a republican, mason and Odd Fellow, belonged to 
the G. A. R. and took a great interest in the general welfare of the 
community and in the Methodist church of which he was a member. 
For his family (see Simpson). He married second widow of J. B. 
Chapman, with whom he lived for twenty-five years. Mr. Galeener 
died in 1921. 

George E. Galeener is a native of this county and a son of W. E. 
and India (Perkins) Galeener. He was educated in our public schools 
and the University of Illinois. He is one of our young, energetic men 
who adds knowledge to his experience as a nurseryman. He is a 
member of' the M. E. Church, a Republican and one of our dependable 
citizens. For family (see Chapman). 



Dr. Worthington J. Gibbs settled in Vienna, Johnson County, 
1830. He was born in Phildelphia, Pa., where he acquired his train- 
ing in medicine under his father who was also a physician. He 
practiced here more than twenty-five years and was well and favor- 
ably known. The work of a country doctor was a much more diffi- 
cult task in those days than at the present, owing to the primitive 
highways and the inconvenient modes of travel. He represented this 
district in the State Senate from 1838 to 1842. His home has been 
referrel to as being one of the most modern of its time and standing 
where the Carnegie Library now stands. Dr. W. J. (1) married 
Sabrina Rentfro, 1830 and their children were Worthington J. (2), 
Elizabeth B. (2), Mariah (2), J. A. Mack (2) and Sidney Breeze (2). 
W. J. (2) married Eliza Whitemore. Eliza B. (2) married James J. (see 
Bridges). Mariah S. (2) married J. F. Benson and their children were 
George (3) who married Emma McKee. Edward (3) married Minnie 
Cavitt. May (3) married John Blanchfill. Belle (3) married Frank 
Lay and had Mariah (4), Leah (4), Benson (4), and June (4). Dr. 
J. A. Mack (2) married Louisa Burkhouser and settled in Alexander 
County, near Thebes, where he practiced medicine until about two 
years ago when he removed to Cairo, 111. He died in 1924, a very 
old man leaving one son. Sidney Breeze (2) married William J. Owen 
and their children were Ida (3), June (3), Winifred (3), Myrtle (3) 
most of whom are teachers. 


Thomas L. Gillespie was born in Saulsbury, North Carolina and 
was a son of George Gillespie, who immigrated to this country in 
colonial days from Scotland. George resided on a farm near Slates- 
ville, N. C. Family tradition says, he served in the War of Indepen- 
dence as a captain in General Green's command. His wife's name 
was Allison or Ellison, also Scotch. He went from North Carolina to 
Tennessee and laid the land warrants that had been given him for his 
services in the war. He took his children with him, Thomas being 
among the number, who had been apprenticed to a hatter in Sauls- 
bury, in his youth, where he met Catherine Baird, and later married 
her. They raised a large family, two sons and nine daughters, all 
of whom had families. Three of these daughters came to Illinois 
with their father. Thomas L. who was born 1775. The three daugh- 
ters who accompanied him to this state were Elizabeth (2), who mar- 
ried James J. Hogg, they had John L. (3), Matha (3), Thomas (3), 
Frank (3), Gideon (3), Whitnel (3). John L. (3) married first 
Frances (see Walker), second Gertrude Stout they have Guy (4), 
Ray (4), Tony (4), Tenny (4), Rubby (4), WTiitnel (4). Guy (4) mar- 
ried Maud Hamilton. Ray (4) married Virgia Dotson. Matha (3) 


married Adam Harvick. Thomas (3) married Emma (see Boyt). 
Frank (3) married Emma Elkins; they had Carrie (4), Fanny (4), 
William (4), Essy (4). Carrie (4) married a Mr. Bruner of Massac 
County. Fanny (4) married Mr. Castleman of Illmo, Mo. Sarah (2) 
married John L. Hogg and had Tabitha (3) who married David (see 
Oliver). James (3), George (3) married Miss Casper. Pole (3) 
Frank (3) married Martha Cantwell. Neoma (2) married John M. 
Gillespie, nephew to Thomas L., and their children were Frank (3), 
Sarah E. (3), who married W. P. (see Walker), William (3), James 
(3), who married Kate Kuykendall, Martha (3) married Samuel Jack- 
son and left one son, Samuel (4). Catherine (3) and Amanda (3) 
married Thomas (see Farris). Frank (3) married Miss Johnson. 

Captain J. B. Gillespie is a descandent of George and a grandson 
of Thomas L. whose history is given under that name. J. B., was born 
in Tennessee, 1838. His father was George, and his mother was 
Martha Swain who belonged to the Eagle family of Arkansas. The 
parents died before J. B. was five years old, and he came to this 
county with his grandfather (Thomas L.), with whom he resided un- 
til 1855, when he came to Vienna and found employment, helping to 
build the Star Mill, at thirteen dollars per month. After this he began 
work in John Bain's store at nine dollars per month and board, later 
his wages were increased to fifteen dollars. His next job was with 
Chapman and Hess at sixteen dollars per month, where he remained 
until 1862, when he enlisted in the Union Army, serving as Lieutenant, 
he was later promoted to Captain of Company I, 120th regiment. He 
was captured at the battle of Guntown, and was taken as a prisoner to 
Macon, Ga., where he suffered all the privations and inconviences of 
a rebel prison. He was transferred from one prison to another and 
was under fire of Union guns at Charleston, S. C. He was not ex- 
changed nor released until 1865 after the fall of the Confederacy. 

After the war he followed merchandising and farming, also served 
the county as treasurer. In 1897, he was made a deputy revenue 
collector for this district, which position he filled for seventeen years, 
as long as his health would permit. He and wife are quite old and 
reside in East St. Louis. They are republican in politics, and mem- 
bers of the M. E. Church. He is a Mason. James B. (1) married 
Mary L. daughter of Col B. S. Enloe, a prominent pioneer of Massac 
County in 1862. Their children are George B. (2) who married Ettie 
Oliver and they had Alfred (3) born 1892 and killed by accident 
while in training during the World War. Marion (3) served in the 
World War as Captain, and Louis (3) is a student of law at Chicago 
University (later entered the firm of Gillespie and Gillespie). This 
family reside in Springfield, 111. F. S. Gillespie (2) married Belle 
Perkins. He was killed in a railroad accident 1898. James B. Jr. 


(2) married Rose Trapp, children Ruth (3), Emmet (3), Robert (3) 
and Rosemary (3). J. B. Jr., (2) has been Superintendent of the 
Halliday Grain Elevator at Cairo, 111., lor more than thirty years. 
W. L. (2) married Clara Huffman (see Simpson). He is yard master 
in the Illinois Central Railroad yards at Cairo, where they reside. 
Robert E. (2) married Ida Spann of this county (see Simpson). 
Robert was one of the founders of the National Bank of East St. 
Louis. He was very successful in business and died at a very useful 
time of life (1920). Fannie (2) married Lee Goodwin, a commission 
merchant of Jackson, Mo., where they reside. They have Lena C3) 
who married C. W. Henderson, and has Charles Allen (4); Helen (3), 
Walter (3), Brice (3), Frank (3), Mary (3) and Ray and Roy (3). 
Thomas E. (2) married Georgia Blanchfil of Vienna. They have 
Alice (3). He is a graduate of Vienna High and Bloomington Law 
Schools. Has practiced law several years in East St. Louis and 
recently removed to Springfield, 111., where he entered the firm of 
Gillespie and Gillespie, composed of G. B. and son, Marion. 

George B. is a son of Captain J. B. and Mary Enloe Gillespie and 
was born in this county, was educated in our public schools supple- 
mented by a course in the High School of Metropolis, 111. He entered 
upon a brief career as a teacher at the age of eighteen, teaching one 
term at Mt. Pleasant this county, he then entered the office of county 
clerk as deputy which place he filled until the death of that officer, 
when he was appointed to fill the vacancy till the time for an election, 
in the meantime reading, law during his spare time. He later entered 
the law office of A. K. Vickers where he took a regular course of 
reading with office work finally entering the Law School at Bloom- 
ington and graduating from there in 1887. In 1890 G. B. Gillespie 
and L. O. Whitnel formed a partnership under the firm name of 
Whitnel and Gillespie. This was a strong firm composed of two 
Ambitious and energetic young men, their services were sought far and 
near, their reputation and ability was such as a law firm, that they 
soon outgrew this community and sought larger and more remunera- 
tive fields. Mr. Gillespie served this county as States Attorney, elected 
1892, which office he filled with credit to himself and terror to the 
law breakers, during his residence here, he was appointed Assistant 
Attorney General of the state. He removed with his family to 
Springfield, 111., where his reputation as a lawyer is state wide. For 
family (see Gillespie) 


W. H. Gilliam came to this county over the same route that most 
of our residents did. His parents came from Virginia to Tennessee, 
where W. H. was born, 1856. His father brought his family and 
settled on a farm near New Burnside in 1860. William was then 


a small boy and was raised on the farm and educated in our public 
schools and neighboring colleges. He taught for a short time, and 
began his public career as clerk in the New Burnside postoffice. He 
served as deputy in the office of the Circuit Clerk and Sheriff of the 
County at Vienna, from 1882 till 1885, when he entered the Journalistic 
field, buying the "Weekly Times." Mr. Gilliam continued this work 
for thirty-four years. He was Postmaster under Roosevelt and Taft, 
and was a man of high ideals and held steadily to the right as he 
saw it. He had much to do with the forming of public opinion and 
was interested in education taking an active part in securing our high 
school and always lending his voice as an editor in every movement 
that was for the uplift of humanity. He was devoted to his church, 
the Baptist, a member of the I.O.O.F. He died 1919. He was married 
to Dimple perkins, who was born in Missouri, but reared in this 
county. (For family see Simpson.) 

Samuel M. Glassford was a native of Pennslyvania, born 1825. 
He came with his parents to Kentucky when eight years old, attended 
school there and remained in that state until a young man, coming 
here in 1841. Mr. Glassford followed various pursuits, working with 
Belcher Brothers sugar refiners of St. Louis, also engaged in the 
coal business of that city. In 1861 he sold his interests there and 
returned to his farm in Elvira Township, where he carried on a very 
successful farming business the remainder of his life. He also 
served in the Legislature as a State Senator', 1874-76. Mr. Glassford 
owned one of the best farms in the county, located just beyond the 
present site of West Vienna. He had more than eight hundred acres 
in one tract, and his dwelling and farm was far above the average of 
that time. He married first Elizabeth, daughter of James Jones and 
she died in 1849, later he married her sister, Juliet, and to them were 
born Josephine, who married Dr. R. M. McCall, Charles A., a farmer 
of this county and Mrs. T. E. Williams, a resident of St. Louis, Mo. 

Elizabeth Smith Goddard was born in Berry Brow, England, 1825 
and died in Vienna 1910. She was married to Joshua Smith in 
England, 1844, and came to this country with her husband, who was 
a carder by trade and had charge of the carding machine of J. B. 
Kuykendall for many years. After his death she married a Mr. God- 
dard of DuQuoin, 111. Aunt Betty as she was familiarly known, lived 
just south of town where Joshua Arnold, her grandson, now lives. 
She was loved by all who knew. Her children were Martha (2), 
Clara (2), Martha (2) married A. J. Arnold, their children were 
Mary (3), who married a Mr. Miner of Divernon, 111., Lizzie (3) who 


married John Harris and has Arnold (4) and Anna (4). Joshua (3) 
married Mary Smith and had May (4) who married Cecial Nolan. 
They have two children and reside in West Frankfort, 111. Joshua (3) 
married second Margaret McMahan. Clara (2) married R. M. Kincy. 
they had May (3) who married Dr. Hoover and resides in Apple River, 
111., Clara (3) married a Mr. Matingly and lives in Phoenix, Ariz, and 
Ada (3) married Edward (see Harvick). They reside on the Harris 
Harvick farm. 

The Goddards are an old family here, coming originally from 
South Carolina. Andrew was the ancestor, according to the best in- 
formation, of John (2) who married Susan Casey. A son, John S., 
lives in Burnside Township. William Goddard, a brother to Andrew 
had children, William E. (2) Lee F. (2), Ellen (2) who married John 
Russell, Rachel (2) who married a Mr. Hanson. John Goddard (2) 
had children William (3), Mary (3). William E. (2) had children 
G. W. (3), who married Mary J. Whiteaker, and their children are 
Anna (4), Hattie (4), Mary (4), Nellie (4), Lilly (4), Elsie (4), 
William E. (4), Guy (4), Lee (4). Metta (3) married Hugh S. 


John Gore, tradition says, was born in Georgia, and came to 
Kentucky and from there to this county in a very early day. He 
served on a petit jury here iin 1816. He is always referred to as 
John Gore and according to the best knowledge to be obtained, had 
six children, namely Thomas (2), Elenor (2), Martha (2), Walton (2), 
one daughter who married William Elkins and another who married 
Henry Jones. Thomas (2) married Abby Bridges and had Charlotte 
(3), Mary (3), Benton and Martha (3). Charlotte (3) married R. W. 
Carlton and had Martha (4) who married Al Chance, and had Dolly 
(5), Gertrude (5) married Mr. Cache, Pauline (5) married Mr. Coch- 
ran; Crynthia (4) married Charles Wright, John (4) married Minnie 
Mc Daniels, Thomas (4) married Flora Rebman (see Slack), Bud (4) 
married Mindy Hooker and had William (5), John (5), Edward (5), 
Eva (5). Eva (5) married Grant Carter. Elenor (2) married Isaac 
(see Copeland). Martha (2) "Patsy" married W. Y. Davis, an in- 
fluential man of Mt. Pisgah neighborhood, who served in the State 
Legislature about 1831, and their children were Eliza (3), Mary J. 
(3) Alexander M. (3), Martha (3), Caroline (3), Elandor (3), William 
Y. (3), Elizabeth (3), Izora (3). Mary J. (3) married Millington (see 
Smith). Elizabeth (3) married Etheldred Jones (see West. William 
Y. (3) married Althia Hawk and had Frank (4), Roxanna (4), who 
married Elmer Deans (see West). Laura May (4), Charles Ray (4), 
W. Y. (4) and Nellie (4). Frank (4) married a daughter of Isaac 
Slack. Laura May (4) married Oscar Goddard. Mrs. Davis and her 


daughter Nellie resides with her son, Frank in Oklahoma. Alexander 
M. (3) married Jennie Newton and lived in Union County. Martha (3) 
married John Mathis had one child; married second Jesse Lowery. 
Caroline (3) married William Bradley of Cypress and had Laura (4), 
John (4), Rufus (4) Lilly (4), Agustus (4), William (4), Arlett (4), 
Thomas (4). Laura (4) married Sylvester Adams and had Hosea 
(5), Dallas (5), Audry (5), Jesse (5), Carrie (5), Bessie (5). John 
(4) married Mrs. Josephine Brown and they had Geneva (5). Rufusi 
(4) married Josie Boggs and had Myrtle (5) and Roy (5). Lily (4) 
married Aurelius Jones, they have Lester (5), Curtis (5), Hobert (5), 
Pearl (5), Arnold (5). Agustus (4) married Miss Osborn and the 
children were Arthur (5), George (5), and Gilbert (5). William (4) 
married first Narvisa Bridges (see Bridges) ; married second Ruth 
Ragains, and has Louise (5), Paul (5), Vernon (5), Betty Lou (5). 
Arlett (4) married Cora Ragsdale and the children were Edna (5), 
James (5) and June Victor (5). Walton (2) entered land in section 
36, Township 12, Range 2 east, 1818. This land is now owned by 
John B. Jackson. He entered another tract in 1839 of forty acres 
in section 25, Township 12, Range 2 east. He later moved to Gore- 
ville Township. He married first Miss Finney and they had John 
W. (3), who was born 1821 and maried Mary J. Bruff and they had 
Wesley (4), James (4) born 1851, Thomas (4), Martha (4). Wesley 
(4) married Miss Walker; they reside in Champaign, 111. James W. 
(4) married Ellen F. Ridenhower and their children are Olive (5), 
Estella (5) married Harry Barkley and has Dinty (6). James (5) 
died 1924, leaving a family in Longbeach, Calif. Olive (5) married 
Clyde Webber of Galatia, 111. Thomas (4) married Mexico Parish and 
they had John (5). Thomas (4) married second Mrs. Bivins Shep- 
pard and has two sons. Martha (4) married John Jones. Walton (2) 
married second Polly Bain and their children were Wesley (3), who 
married Miss Snow, Thomas B. (3) was a physician, a graduate of 
the College of Physicians and Surgeons, St. Louis, Mo., and practiced 
in the neighborhood of Goreville for fifty years. He was born 1847 
and died 1917. He married Virginia McGeehe and their children were 
Norma (4), Addison (4), George (4), T. J. (4), Norma (4) married 
Mr. Mozeley, George W. (4) is a physician, T. J. (4) married Ger- 
trude Cowan (see Worley), Dr. T. B. (2) married second Tennie 
Haliburten and they had Charles (4) and Bertha (4). Sarah (3) 
married James M. (see Smith). Amanda (3) married Thomas Hender- 
son and had Samuel (4). Martha (3) married Thomas Ballow and 
their children were James (4), Eli (4), Mary (4), Sarah (4), John (4). 
James (4) married Josephine Grissom. Eli (4) married Markaret Walk- 
er, they had Catherine (5), Augustus (5), James (5), May (5), Anna 
(5). Catherine (5) married J. P. Hullinger. Augustus (5) married May 


Henderson. James (5) married Bertie Keenen, they have Glayds (6). 
James M. (6), Roy lee (6). May (5) married W. G. Jackson and died 
without children. Anna (5) not married. Mary A. (4) married Andrew 
Cox, had Ira (5), Verda (5), Bertha (5), Bessie (5), Evyline (5). 
Gipsy (5), Ira (5) married Madge Whittenberg (see Chapman). Veri*a 
(5) married Gertrude McCall. Bertha (5) married Almus (see Veach. 
Preston (3) the youngest, married Isabel Canady, and they had Ida 
(4), who married John Corbit, Myrtle (4) married Orbe Peterson (see 
Reynolds). Robert (4) married Miss Albright. Effie (4) and Ger- 
trude (4) at home. 

Jennie Gore was a pioneer of this county and her granddaughter, 
Mrs. R. J. Copeland says she was an aunt to Patsy Davis which would 
mean that she was a sister to John Gore. Jennie (1) married Mr. 
Peterson (judging from court records, his name was William (and had 
Joshua (2) and Lydia (2). Joshua (2) married Nancy Spence, 18315, 
and their children were William W. (3), Thomas (3), Elizabeth (3), 
born 1838, Sarah (3), Owen G. (3), Isaac (3). William W. (3) was 
a prominent man of his time and was engaged in the mercantile 
business for a number of years in this county. He married Mary 
Ann Gray (see Reynolds). Thomas (3) married Sarah Martin, Eliza 
beth (3) married Francis M. McGee, 1857. Sarah (3) married 
John Reynolds and had Amanda (4) who married Charles Barnwell. 
Owen G. grew up in the West Eden neighborhood, and served the 
county as assessor and treasurer. He married Elizabeth Dubois, and 
their children were Nora (5), Ruth (5), Nancy (5). He removed 
with his children to Texas. Isaac (3) was an M. E. minister who 
died a young man. Lydia (2) married William (see West). Jennie 
Gore (1) married second John Deans and their children were W. D. 
(2) born 1826, Mary A. (2), Eliza (2), Dolly (2), Elizabeth (2). W. 
D.' (2) married Mary Axley (see West). W. D. (2) married second 
Mrs. Jane (Peeler) Axley and they had children Molly (3), who mar- 
ried George Rilley. Ida (3) married L. R. Brady, W. D. (3) married 
Maud Hess (see Chapman), Oscar (3) married Ivy (see Copeland). 
Charles (3) married Sidney Rose, and resides on the Golconda and 
Vienna road in Grantsburg township. Mary A. (2) married William 
Carter (see West). Eliza (2) married Owen Peterson (whose first 
wife was a Mercer) and had Elizabeth (3) who married Robert Nor- 
val, and Ellen (3) who married John Culver. Eliza (2) married 
second William Norval and had Josephine (3). Dolly (2) married 
James Barton and the children were Alice (3) who married John 
Reynolds, Stephen (3) who married Adeline Beggs and Lilly (3) 
who married Thomas Barnwell. Elizabeth (2) married Mr. Smith 
and had one son. Elizabeth (2) married second Mr. Washburn, chil- 
dren Louisa (3) who married James (see Copeland) Nancy (3) mar- 


ried Richard (see Copeland). Elizabeth (2) married third Henry 
Hardy and had children Jedediah (3) and Lydia (3) who married 
Clark Axley. Following i'rom Court Records. One John W. Gore mar- 
ried Helen, died 1853. He owned land near the present home or 
Grant Carlton on the Goreville road. He had children, Cassandra J. 
who married Wilson Brown (2), Lydia Ann who married Linsfield 
Shardick, two minor children Josiah P. and Jacob F. Edward Dooly 
was their guardian and Barnett Gore signed the bond of Helen. 
Josiah P. Gore born 1839 was a resident of this county and 
was a son of John F. and Elizabeth (Penrod) Gore, also residents 
here. The parents of John F. were Thomas and Lydia Gore who 
were very early settlers of Union County. Josiah P. married Nancy 
E. Wilhelm and had children Elizabeth, Barnett, Otto, Josiah, Cass- 
andra, Peter, Margaret, Rosetta. Caroline Gore called "Sisy" was a 
native of this county and married first John Bridges and had John 
and Ida. She married second, a Mr. Chapman and moved from this 
county. Daniel Gore is the founder of one branch of the Gore family 
If Jennie was a sister of John, it is quite probable that John W. 
belonged to the family of Daniel. That would place Jennie, John 
and possibly Daniel in the same generation. 

Joshua Gore died in 1820. Jeremiah Lisenby and George Brazel 
were the appraisers of his estate. John W. Gore, the administrator. 
The following is an account against the estate of Joshua Gore: 
"one quarter schooling, $2.50; to repairing old plow share and making 
a coulter $3.75 Hezikiah West," John Bridges took the acknowledge- 
ment. Joshua Gore's will, "to-wit: That a certain bay horse then 
four years old be given to his son James after his death, and that 
a certain colt, one year old last spring should in like manner be 
given to his son, William, and the deponent further states that they 
were present and heard that testator pronounce the said words and 
that they believe him to be at that time of sound mind and that he 
•did at the same time desire that such was his will, or words to that 
•effect. Signed and sworn to, November 14, 1820, John W. Gore, 
Eleanor Gore." 

John Gore cried the sale of William Peterson, Sr., he put in a 
bill which was allowed, September, 1816. James Hawkins, John and 
Thomas Peterson were the attests. Signed, John Gore. 

Some of this is tradition, some parts of it have been copied 
from the court records, but not enough data could be gathered tc 
trace the family from one direct line. 

J. F. Gray was born in this county in 1837. He was a son of 
James, who was a brother to Basil, one of the early residents of 


Vienna. Mi. Gray was at one time a partner with I. N. Pearce in the 
mercantile business in Vienna, he also helped to build the present 
courthouse. He went to New Burnside when it was founded and 
started the first bank in the county, known as the Johnson County 
Bank, also engaged in the dry goods business. When Burnside be- 
gan to decline he came to Vienna, continuing in the banking business 
till his death 1896, under the firm of J. F. Gray & Son. He married 
Sue H. Wilson of Kentucky and had two children, Nellie, who mar- 
ried Dr. Boyt of Paducah, and died shortly after. Charles H. married 
Suda Brat ton (see Chapman). He operated the bank for a number 
of years after his father's death, but retired and now lives on a 
farm six miles east of Vienna during the summer. They also have 
a resident in Vienna which they occupy during the winter months. 

Alexander J. Gray was a prominent citizen of this county, he 
served the county as sheriff twice, was a soldier of the Civil War in 
the 6th Cavalry, Republican in politics, died 1924. (For family see 
Smith and Reynolds). He belonged to one of the oldest families of 
Revolutionary War from North Carolina. His son Mid served in the 
World War. 


J. F. Graham was born in Marshal County, Tennessee, 1823. 
Family tradition says his grandfather William Graham, served six 
years in the Revolutionary War. His father James served in the 
war of 1812 and also in the Seminole war, and died in this county 
J. F. served this county as circuit clerk, was enrolling officer for 
the militia during the Civil War, for this county, and internal revenue 
collector for this district. He was a resident of New Burnside and 
a member of the Christian Church. He married E. A. Brummet, 1852. 
Their children are Mrs. J. S. King, now a resident of Laramie, Wyo. 
William C. of California and Mrs. Frank White, a resident of New 
Burnside, 111. 


William M. Jr., son of William M. Grissom, a farmer and early 
settler of Grantsburg township, was born in this county 1872 and 
educated in the public schools and Southern Illinois Normal. He 
was a teacher and farmer, also served the county as Superintendent 
of Schools. He married Nettie (see Farris). Their son, Curtis was 
killed in France while serving with the A. E. F. Mr. and Mrs. 
Grissom, with their daughters, Dorothy and Mildred reside in Cali- 


O. A. Harker was, for several years, a resident of this county, 
he was born in Wayne County, Ind., 1846, and was educated in the 
schools of Wheaton, 111. He enlisted in Company D, 67th Illinofe 


Infantry at the age of sixteen years, serving till the close of the war. 
He entered McKrendree College at Labnon, 111., graduating in 1866. 
He came to Viennia the following year as a teacher, edited the 
"Vienna Herald" for a short time and was admitted to the bar in 
1869. He practiced law in this county for about ten years, serving 
the county as judge one term. He was appointed to the Circuit 
bench by Governor S. M. Cullom, 1878 and was later elected and 
served on the first Circuit bench until 1903, when he was appointed 
Dean of the Law School of the University of Illinois, which place he 
filled till recently he has been appointed attorney for that institution. 
He married Sidney A. (see Bain). They removed to Carbondale about 
1778, later making their residence in Champaign where they still 
reside. Judge Harker is a member of the G. A. R. and I. O. O. F. 
the Fraternities Phi Delta Phi and Theta Kappa. He and wife have 
long been members of the M. E. Church and are republican in politics. 

Two brothers, William and James Harper, came to this county 
in 1833 and settled near what is now Reynoldsburg. They were 
good farmers, also took a great interest in church and morality. 
James being a Methodist preacher. William Harper (1) married a 
Miss Morris and had Goves (2) who married Sarah Douglas, removed 
to White County; James (2) married Rebecca Rushing and removed 
to Arkansas in 1872. William Dean (2) married Fannie Kuykendall 
and had James G. (3), Joseph W. (3), George Perry (3), Sarah (3), 
Rosa (3), Lydia (3), Mary Alice (3). James G. (3) married Hulda 
Belle Pitman; children were Harry (4), William (4), Elizabeth (4) 
who married Samuel Choat, Charles (4). Joseph W. (3) married 
Rachel Casey. They had George P. (4), John L. (4), James (4), Lee 
(4), Guy (4), Frank (4). George Perry (3) married Rebecca Russell 
and their children are Fannie (4), Ira and Orlin (4), Herschel (4) 
Sarah (3) married W. R. Hammons, a Methodist minister. Rosa (3) 
married West Jobe. Lydia (3) married Ira Covert. Mary Alice (3) 
married Joe Hammond. James 1, married Rhoda (Jackson) Perkins, 
mother of Captain William Perkins. James and Rhoda had Anna 
(2), who married Charles Burnett and they had Ethel (3), who mar- 
ried Marshall Steel and had Anna Louise (4), Burnett (4), Charles 
(4), Marshall (4). Sally (2) married John Ragin; the children were 
Joseph (2), John (2), Daniel (2); Jessie (2) married third Elizabeth 
Hicks and raised a family in this county; Polly (2) married Richy 
Oliver; Cynthnia and Rhoda (2) never married. 

Jacob Harvick's Revolutionary War record is found under that 
head. He was born in Pennslyvania in 1752, and was a resident of 


North Carolina when the Revolutionary War broke out and removed 
from Moore County that state to Georgia in 1795 as a recommendation 
from the citizens of Monroe county now in the possession of Mrs. 
T. E. McCall his great grand daughter will show and reads as follows * 
"State of North Carolina, County of Moore, Wheras the bearer, Jacob 
Harvick has signified to us his intention of removing himself to the 
frontiers of Georgia, be it therefore known to whom it may concern, 
that the said Harvick has been a resident of the county for upwards 
of eight (indistinct) * * * * citizen supported an irreproachable 
character, maintained his family in honesty and credit, worthy to be 
received as a neighbor or admitted as a worthy character into any 
Christian society; he being a peaceable, sober and ,well disposed 
man. Given under our hands, this 3rd day of October 1795." (Signa* 
tures were blurred). Just what time he came to this county is not 
definitely known but his son, Martin was a lieutenant in the Militia 
here 1812. He was no doubt of German descent as the name is 
spelled Harwick or Harvick. He settled on the farm now owned by 
Charles Taylor in Bloomfield Township. He must have been rather 
vigorous for a man of seventy-five as he was fined for assault and 
battery in this county in 1827. His wife's given name was Catherine 
He died 1833. Tradition says he and wife died about the same time 
from measles, and are buried in the Johnson Cemetery east of Vienna. 
His grave was marked as a Revolutionary soldier by the Daniel 
Chapman Chapter D. A. R. 1912. Martin Harvick, a son entered the 
land now owned by John Sanders and P. T. Chapman being a part 
owner of the farm just east of the drainage ditch and the home farm 
of Sanders. 

Adam, another son entered land in 1818 now owned by W. J. 
Brown and N. E. Leonard in Bloomfield Township. His name ap- 
pears on the court records for several years afterwards, but no 
other history of him or family can be traced. Martin Harvick served 
in many responsible positions in the county as the records reveal. 
He held office in the militia and was captain of a militia district. 
"The bounds lying north of the waters of Cache and known as the 
Ponds." He was known as Captain Harvick. His granddaughter, 
Mrs. Mary Harvick Damron says his wife, Nancy Fisher was a 
hall sister to Jack Fisher who married Lucinda Simpson, Sally who 
married a Mr. Fields and Rachel who married Hight Green. They 
were supposed to be the children of King Fisher. A lawsuit on the 
docket shows Nancy and Martin Harvick among the heirs who brought 
a suit against King Fisher's estate. 

The children of Jacob Harvick (1) and Catherine were Martin 
(2), Adam (,2) Amanda (2) and two other daughters. Martin Har- 
vick (2) married Nancy Fisher and had children Elizabeth (3), born 


1822, Granville (3), born 1823, Grandison (3), born 1825, Adam (3), 
born 1827, Harrison (3) born 1829, Sarah Adeline (3), born 1831. this 
far copied from family Bible). Rebecca (3), Amanda (3), Mary (3), 
John L. (3), born 1837. Elizabeth (3) never married. 

Granville (3) married Mary Hogg and they had John (4), Cynthia 
(4), both died in youth. 

Grandison (3) married Minerva Cochran and they had Laura 
Jane (4), Otis E. (4), Ann (4), Frank (4), Nell (4). Laura J. (4) mar- 
ried James Mathis and they had Grace (5), Ora (5), Goldie (5), 
Francis (5), and Agnes (5). Grace (5) married Victor Boudreau. 
Agnes (5) married George Cheery and has Laura Jane (6). James 
• Mathis with his daughter, Francis is a resident of Vienna, 111. Frank 

(4) married Alice Yow, he died a few years after and left Charles 
(5). Ann (4) married William Newton and has Larry (5) who mar 
ried Maud Beals and they have Christine (6) and Marie Louise (6) 
Otis (4) married Margaret Lehman. Nell (4) married Fred Edmonds 
and they have Antonette (5), Paul (5), Fred (5) and live in Spring- 
field, Mo. 

Adam (3) married first Martha Hogg, second Amanda Burris and 
had one son, who died in youth; and third Elizabeth Alexander. Adam 
became a very rich man for this county, and having no direct heirs, 
in his old age, he willed his property to Samuel Carter, a grand 
nephew. After Adam's death the other heirs contested the will and 
secured part of his estate. 

Harrison (3) married Catherine Clay and they had two daughters, 
Mary C. (4) who married Valetine Nestlerodt and had James (5), 
Maud (5), Downey (5), Essie (5), Andrew (5), Morris (5), Harrison 

(5) and Fannie (5). James (5) married Dulcia and had four children, 
Maud (5) married George Carter and had Erma (6), Georgia (6), 

Francis (6). Andrew (5) married Catherine and moved out 

of the county. Essie (5) married Carl Cackley and has three children. 
Morris (5) married Dorris Johnson. Harrison (5) married Fay 
Carter. Fannie (5) married and lives at Mayfield, Kentucky. Most 
of this family live at Cypress, this county. Amanda Belle (4) mar- 
ried James H. Carter and has Frances (5), Samuel (5), Lucy May 
(5), Harry (5), Frank (5). Fannie (5) married Charles M. Pickens 
who is a leading merchant of Vienna and a native of the county. 
They have Helen (6) and Frances (6). Samuel (5) married Myrtle 
Hight who died leaving Myrtle (6) who married John Peck and they 
have Penelope (7). Samuel (5) married second Viola Hight and has 
Mary (6) who married Dr. John Mour and has John (7). Samuel Jr. 

(6) resides at home. All this family live at Tempe, Ariz. Lucy May 
(5) married Dr. T. E. McCall, a native of this county, a graduate of 
Rush Medical College, Chicago, who practiced in this county sue- 


cessfully for years. They removed to Phoenix, Arizona, about 
1919, where he continues his profession. Harry (5) who is employed 
in the revenue department of the Danville district married Daisy 
Huffman and has Rudell (6) and Harry (6). Frank (5) married Mabel 
Galeener and has Harold (6), Mary Belle (6), Frank, Jr., (6). Frank 
is a physician of San Diego, Calif. Neal (5) the youngest resides in 
Vienna, married Ethel Veach (see Chapman). 

Harrison (3) married second Frances Utley and they had David 
(4), Mattie (4), Alice (4), Edward (4) and George (4). David (4) 
married Lois Albritten and had Thurman (5), Ewing (5), Elvin (5). 
George (5) and Loren (5) who married Mabel Mathis. Mattie (4) 
married Allen Veach (see Chapman). Alice (4) married Agusta 
Parker and has Gladys (5), Beatrice (5), Francis (5), Georgia (5). 
They live in Los Angeles, Calif. Edward (4) married Ada Kincey 
and has Francis (5) who married Buell Carlton. Martha (5), Edna 
(5), Clara Belle (5), Harrison (5). George (4) married Lilly Sutliff. 

Sarah Adeline (3) married Mr. Elms and had John F. (4) who 
married Mrs. Melissa (Scott) Jenkins. Rebecca (3) married James 
Hogg and they had John (4), Nanie (4), Pole (4), William (4), Emma 
(4), Edward (4), Horry (4), Harry (4), Mary (4), Maud (4). John 
(4) was a resident of St. Louis, Mo., many years. Nanie (4) married 
J. S. Francis and had Edward (5), Charles (5), Hal (5), Harvey (5), 
Fay (5), George (5). Edward (5) married Margaret Wallace of this 
county. Fay (5) married Henry Bengle of Springfield, 111. and has 
Francis (6). Mr. Francis moved with his family to Springfield, 111. 
about 1898, where his widow and children now reside. Emma (4) 
married a Mr. Bankston. Mary (4) married Mr. Jones. Rev. Hogg 
removed to Bethney, 111. years ago, and none of this family lives in 
the county. Amanda (3) married A. J. Henry. Mary (3) married 
C. N. Damron and had Cass (4) who married in California and died 
in early manhood leaving three daughters. Flora (4) married Charles 
Dunscomb of Bethney, 111. and they removed to California where he 
owns and publishes the "Berkeley Gazette" and is quite an influential 
man in his state. Mrs. C. N. Damron and Mrs. Amanda Henry grand 
daughters of Jacob, the revolutionary soldier reside in San Bernardino, 

Amanda Harvick (2) married Joel Johnson, one of the earliest 
settlers of this county, they resided east of Vienna on a farm on 
which the Johnson Cemetery is now located. His name appears 
quite often on the early records; he served on a jury here in 1814. 
They had Margaret, (Peggy) (3), Louisa (3), Joel (3), John C. (3). 
Peggy (3) married Henry Cook Howell and had John (4), Joseph H. 
(4), Jennie (4), George (4), James (4), William (4), Amanda (4), 
Pleasant (4), Samuel (4), Mary (4), Bell (4), Artaborn (4), Agustus 


(4). Joseph (4) married Belle Cummins and had Walter (5), and 
Carl (5). Jennie (4) married Sterling Hollaway and had Marlow 
(5), Holly (5), Alvin (5), John (5), George (4) married Sarah 
Shelton and had Floy (5), Joseph (5), Ernest (5). They reside in 
Massac County. James (4) married Lula Abbott, and had Daisy (5) 
who married Melvin Harris and they had Wilma (6), Marie (6), 
Douglas (6), Esther (6), Donald (6). Wilma (6) married S. J. C. 
Hess; Marie (6) married Robert Veach and has Roberta (7) and 
Mary Lou (7). Douglas (6) married Bertie Shelter and has Majorie 
Lee (7). Amanda (4) married Henry Philips. Pleasant (4) married 
Fannie Sutliff and removed to Canada. Samuel (4) married Ida Cagel 
and has Orville (6). Mary (4) married Douglas Helm and has Roy 
(5), Lloyd (5), Herbert (5), Verna May (5). Roy (5) married Mabel 
Moore and has Robert (6), Mary (6). Herbert (5) married Louise 
Leonard. Belle (4) married Dr. John Wymore and had Lannus (5) 
and Mabel (5) who married Ralph Shelton and has John (6). Belle 
(4) married second Isaac Debman and has Velva (5). Artaborn (4; 
married Ann Cagle and has Erma (5), Elba (5) and Frieda (5). 
Agustus (4) married Laura Bruce and has Dalmads (5). 

John C. (3) married Melissa Johnson (3) and had William (4). 
Louisa (3) married Thomas Harrington, children Jane A. (4) mar- 
ried John James Walker. Benjamin H. removed to Ohio. Mary A. 
(4) married D. C. Huckelberry, had Ida (5), Ira (5), Charles (5). 
Ida (5) married M. N. McCartney and has Marcia May (6) who mar- 
ried Sidney Howell, they have Sidney Jr. (7) and reside in New York 
state. Alabeth (6) is a teacher in New York State. Mary A. (4) 
married second Commodore Friganza of Mound City, 111. They had 
Willis (5). Martha A. (4) married Edward Conner of Metropolis, 111. 
Joseph (4) and Ellen (4) never married. No knowledge of Frank (4) 
Joel (3) married Miss Simmons, children Sidney (4), Mary (4), and 
Ann (4) who married Frank Gillespie, they had Franklin (5), Dora 
(5), Arminta (5). This family removed to Williamson County. Mrs. 
Mary Damron, now living, says her father, Martin Harvick had three 
sisters, one married Jesse Canady, another Sabert Choat. The names 
of these men appear on the early county records but no further knowl- 
edge could be obtained of the families. 

James W. Heaton was born in Kentucky 1832. Came to this 
county in 1863, settling in Burnside Township. He dealt in tobacco 
which was one of our staples at that time, but as only a few made 
fortunes at that business he later settled down to farming. In this 
he was quite successful. He opened up a large farm and built the 
present home of Norman Casper. He married Laurinda J. Lindsey, 


had children J. C. B. and J. W. who are the pioneer apple growers 
of this county and also reside in New Burnside. Another son, N. T. 
and two daughters, Elmiretta and Effie live in California. "Uncle 
Jim" as he was familarily called was a devout member of the Baptist 
Church and an uncompromising prohibitionist. He was charitable, 
conscientious and was always ready to defend his position on any 
married Alice Mathis, they had Fred, Roy and Jeanette. Fred married 
Maud Trovillion; their children are Alice, Pauline, Robby, Fred and 
Samuel; J. C. B. married second Delia Hawkins; W. J. Heaton 
married Ella Whitnel and they have Lindorf, Herman and Clara. The 
Heaton brothers are very famous as fruit growers and have taken 
prizes at every exposition in the United States in the last twenty-five 
years, as well as Paris, France. Their orchards are wonderful and one 
is well paid for a visit to them. They have exemplified the adaptabil- 
ity of the Ozarks for orchards and have set the pace which is being 
followed not only in this neighborhood but in many parts of this and 
adjoining counties. 

There seems to be two branches of the Helm family, both coming 
from Tennessee. Whether they sprang from the same ancestor or 
not is not known. Thomas Helm was the head of one of these families 
coming here when his son, Robert A. was a youth. The latter was 
a member of Smith's Battery of Light Artillery, attached to the 6th 
Illinois Cavalry and gave his life for his country during the Civil 
War. The father of Thomas Helm, tradition says, was a soldier of the 
Revolutionary, serving from Virginia and lost his life at the battle oi 
Guilford Courthouse. His family followed the trend of immigration 
and came to Tennessee, and Thomas Helm Jr., continued from there 
to Johnson County. He married a Miss Cowden and their children 
were Robert A. (2), Leroy (2) and Elizabeth (2), who married Lee 
Walker. This family lives in the southeastern section of the county. 
Robert A. (2) married Mary J. daughter of Thomas Rice, who came 
originally from North Carolina. They had one son, Senator D. W. 
Helm, who is a native of this County and the only surviving member 
of this family. He was reared and educated here, graduated from 
Southern Illinois Normal, also the Wesleyan Law School of Bloom- 
ington, 111. and located in Metropolis. He served Massac as States 
Attorney three terms and has represented this district in the State 
Senate several times. He was chairman of the investigating com- 
mittee to determine whether William Lorimer had been legally elected 
to the United States Senate, which was known as the Helm Committee. 
He was a member of the law firm of Courtney and Helm. Senator 
Helm married Mary, daughter of Henry C. Howell. (For family see 


Rev. J. N. Hogg was born in Marshall County, Tennessee, 1830 
and came tothis coumy with his parents John and Elizabeth (Wolfe), 
when about five years old. The other children were Matildah (2), 
who married W. H. Gage. Louisa (2) married J. R. McCorcle, Susan 
(2) married J. F. Holt. Nancy (2) married Calvin Pearce, they had 
Susan (3) who married James M. (see Price). Mary E. (2) married 
first G. B. Harvick, second James Slack. She says her father was 
a soldier in the Indian War and her grandfather was a soldier in th-3 
Revolutionary war. Rev. J. N. (2) married Rebecca (see Harvick). 
He was reared in this county and entered the ministry of the Presby- 
terian Church and preached for many years, removing from here with 
his family to Bethany, 111., about middle life. There is a large fam- 
ily by the name of Hogg, properly spelled Hogue in this county be- 
side those given, all the same family, but different branches. This 
family must have come here later than most of the families given as 
their name is not found on the earliest records. 

James Hood came to this county from Tennessee about the time 
of the Civil War. He was a native of North Carolina and married 
Mary Buie. He settled near Mt. Pisgah neighborhood. Their chil- 
dren were Robert (2), Daniel (2), Washington (2), Gilford (2), Nel- 
son (2), Samuel and Elizabeth (2), Sarah (2), Isabelle (3), Telitha (2). 
Robert (2) married Amanda Ferguson, they had Ann (3), Frank (3), 
Mary (3), John (3). Ann (3) married M. M. Wilkersoh, children 
Charles (4), Cora (4), Frank (4), Mary (4), Nellie (4), James (4). 
Frank (3) married Zora (see Bridges). Mary (3) married George 
Jones, children Herbert (4), Maud (4), Edna (4). Maud (4) married 
Paul (see Phelps). Daniel (2) married Margaret Davis, they had 
Charles (3), who is our present Coroner; William (3), Hillery (3), 
Washington (2) married Martha Sexton, they had Jennie (3) who 
married John Martin. He married second Victoria Maxey, children 
Fred (3), Harry (3). Fred (3) married Blanch Boyt of Mound City, 
where they reside. Harry married Tate Dougherty. He served Alex- 
ander County as Judge. Gilford (2) was a soldier of the Civil War. 
He married first Amanda Niblock, they had Lily, who married J. C. 
Kearney; he married second Adaline (see Whittenberg). Mathew (2) 
married Kate Adams, children John (3), Ester (3), Ellen (3), Florence 
(3). Samuel (2) married Caroline Jones, children Gussie (3), George 
(3). Ella (3), Laura (3), Josey (3), Frank (3), James (3). Elizabeth 
(2) married William Lowery. Nelson (2) never married. Sarah (2) 
married Jesse Fain. Isabelle (2) married Edward Dooley. Telitha 
(2) married James Furguson, children Matildah (3), Dona (3), James 


(3), John (3). Robert Hood (2) lived to be ninty-one years old, 
farmed in the south western part of the county all his life. He was 
a Mason, I. O. O. F. and a republican. 


Just what lime the Howells came to this county is not known. 
Tradition says the father was a resident of Kentucky and decided 
when an old man to move to Missouri. On their journey the father 
died in this county and the mother and family concluded to make this 
their home. That they were among the early pioneers is evident by 
their intermarriage with the old families. The brothers and sisters 
were, Henry Cook (2), who married Peggy Johnson (see Harvick). 
Samuel (2) married Jane (see Simpson). A. D. (2) married Dulcina 
Poor, and had Thomas M. (3), James (3), Samuel P. (3), Hissouri (3) 
married Lewis (see Walker). James (2) married Sarah Rentfro. 
Joseph (2) married Jane Rentfro. Brilla An n(2) married Joshua 
(see Simpson). Elizabeth (2) married Mr. Emerson. Jane (2) mar- 
ried Mr. Rentfro. 


The Howertons of this county are descendants from Benjamin 
F. Howerton, a native of Virginia, whose father it is said was a 
Colonel in the Revolutionary War. John W. was a son of Benjamin 
and was born in Tennessee, 1821. He married Sarah Casey (3), 
daughter of Randolph and settled near what is now New Burnside, 
1842. They had Randolph who married Eliza McCuan. John married 
Missouri Boozer, Rebecca married Allison Clark. Elizabeth mar- 
ried John Taylor. Ruth married George Boozer and Sarah married 
James Allen. Paul of New Burnside and Mrs. Minnie Holaway are 
children of John. John and Randolph were teachers of this county. 
John is a resident of New Burnside and does the legal business of that 


Christian Hoffman the founder of the Hoffman family in the 
United States was a native of the province of Hesse, Germany, and 
was the father of five sons, one of whom, John, was indentured to 
pay the passage of his father's family to America. They settled in 
Alamance County, North Carolina which joined Guilford County. John 
Hoffman built a mill on Back Creek, Alamance County. He married 
a Miss Ingle. He died about 1836. Their children were George, 
Daniel, Christian, John, Jacob, Henry and David. George married 
Eliza Shoffner and they had nine children one of whom was Hillery 
who married Siloma Clapp. George H. Huffman was a native of 
Gilford County, North Carolina and a son of Hillary and Siloma. His 
father moved to western Tennessee and on account of his union 


sympathies, removed from there to Johnson County, 1860. Of a family 
of several children all have left the county, except George H.. A 
brother resides at Grand Tower, this state and a sister Mrs. Alice 
Meredith lives in Lincoln, Nebraska. Mr. Huffman enlisted in the 
Civil War under Captain Perkins in the 14th Illinois Cavalry, which 
belonged to Sherman's Army. Their campaign was mainly in Tennes- 
see and Georgia, they were also on that famous march to the sea. 
He was a prisoner for eight months in the historical Andersonville, 
Libbny and other prisons, but was finally taken to Goldsboro, North 
Carolina, where he escaped. In 1922 he visited his old home in com- 
pany with a son and daughter and also the neighborhood of his last 
imprisonment, and showed them the route of his escape. They met 
the families of the people who had helped him in getting away. Those 
who actually assisted him to escape have died or moved away. He 
was secreted by Lazarus Pearson, a quaker, for seven days, an dthis 
good man gave him his exemption papers for which he had paid the 
Confederacy $500.00. Mr. Huffman's companion in escape was Henry 
Preston. The quaker gave him his son-in-law's papers and accom- 
panied by Mr. Pearson's two daughters, they passed the Confederate 
lines with safety. At the close of the war, Mr. Huffman returned to 
this county and engaged in such persuits as blacksmithing, farming 
stock raising and occasionally operating a saw mill. He was unfort- 
unate in losing one arm in an accident may years ago, while engaged 
in the latter business. He was our county treasurer for four years. 
Recently he retired from active business. He and family are mem- 
bers of the Methodist Church of Vienna where they have resided for 
some time. He is also a devoted member of the G. A. R. Post there 
being very few left at the present time. He married Mary, daughter 
of Thomas Jones, a member of one of the old families of the county. 
Hoffman is the correct way of spelling the name and is still used 
by the families residing in the original location, but the families of 
this county spell the name with a u. 

Charles J. is a son of George H. and Mary (Jones) Huffman. He 
is a native of this county and was educated in the schools of this 
and Massac Counties. He served as deputy Post Master under W. 
H. Gilliam lor some time and took up the study of law. He spent 
one year in the Law Department of the University of Illinois and on 
going to Washington, D. C. as secretary to P. T. Chapman he entered 
George Washington University and graduated from the law depart- 
ment of that school, 1907. Since then he has maintained an office in 
Vienna and practiced his profession in this and other courts. He 
was elected States Attorney for the county 1920. He is a mason and 


a K. of P. He and wife are Republicans, members of the Methodist 
Church and Egyptian Chapter number thirty O. E. S. (see Simpson). 
F. M. Huffman is also a son of the above named parents. He 
served abroad with the 47th Inf., 4th Div., was commissioned Lieut- 
enant in the 51st Inf., 6th Div., was overseas 11 months. He is one 
of Vienna's energetic and progressive business men, conducts a 
Gents Furnishing store and also owns quite a good deal of reai 
estate. He is a mason, a republican, a member of the Methodist 
Church and active in the American Legion Post of Vienna. He mar- 
ried Nellie Gray, (see Simpson). 

Luther F. Jacobs was a native of West Fork Hundred, Sussex 
County, Del., born 1832, a son of Stansberry and Henrietta (White). 
Mr. Jacobs was a well educated man and taught in this county many 
years and also followed farming and fruit growing. He served in 
Co. H., 31st 111. He married Francis Short and they settled in tne 
part of the county known as the "Neck" where they raised their 
family, namely Charles, Ettie, Alice, George, B. K. and Bertha. 

Jasper was a son of Peter and Sarah (Harell) Johnson, born 
In this county. He was a teacher in the fifties and was Postmaster 
in Vienna in 1861. He served in the 31st Illinois Regiment during the 
Civil War. He removed to Chicago after the war where he reared his 
family. (For family see Simpson). 


Etheldred Jones was among the earliest settlers of this county; 
he was of Scotch ancerstry, but whether a native of Scotland or North 
Carolina is not known. He came from North Carolina to Tennessee 
and from there to this county. He had children Mary (2), Susan (2), 
Clara (2), William T. (2) John (2), Lorena (2). Mary (2) maried 
John Wise; Susan (2) married Rayford Pearce, Clara (2) married 
Newton Pearce. William T. (2) married Eliza (see Carter). John 
(2) married Jane Smith. Lorena (2) married Have Davidson. 

James Jones was born in Tennessee in 1779, and there seems to 
be no history farther back than that date. He settled on what is 
now a part of the Oliver farm. The exact date is not known, but 
he lived there in 1825. This farm is located about two miles west 
of Vienna and now owned by J. C. Chapman and G. B. Gillespie 
(1924). James (1) had a son by his first marriage, Henry (2), born 
1793, who tradition says, settled near the present site of Goreville and 
is the ancestor of Thomas M. James of that neighborhood. James (1) 
married second, Elizabeth White and their children were James (2) 


born 1801; Bennett (2) born 1804; Andrew J. (2) born 1809; Miltou 
(2) born 1810; William (2) born 1812 John (2) born 1813; Polly (2) 
born 1815; Thomas (2) born 1817; Harvey (2) born 1819; Susanna 
Ann (2) born 1820; Patsy (2) born 1823; Lucinda (2)" born 1825; 
Juliet (2) born 1830; Elizabeth (2) born 1831. Bennett Jones (2) 
was sheriff of this county many years ago. Susan Jones (2) married 
Samuel Jobe (see Simpson). Patsy (2) married William (see Simp- 
son). Elizabeth (2) married Samuel Glassford, after her death he 
married Juliet (2) (see Glassford). Thomas (2) married Amanda 
(see Simpson). He was prominent in the business affairs of 
the county, was appointed drainage commissioner of this county in 
1852 and served in the State Legislature from this county from 1856 
to 1858. He lived in Simpson Township. Family tradition says Will- 
iam removed to Missouri in the neighborhood of Lebanon, no history 
of this family. 

Thomas Kerley, the ancestor of the family in this county, was 
a native of North Carolina and of Irish descent. He came the usual 
route, living a while in Tennessee and then on to Illinois, in 1840. He 
settled in Pope County and later came to what is known as "Flat- 
wood" in Simpson Township. He married Miss Meredith in Tennes- 
see, whom the biographer of Dr. T. B. Kerley says, raised a family 
of fourteen children and at her death had one hundred and thirty-six 
descendants. James L. Kerley (2) born in Tennessee in 1836 was onc- 
of these children. He was a progressive and substantial farmer of 
his neighborhood and married Mary J. McKee, who had Sarah Cath- 
erine (3), Joseph A. (3), Thomas B. (3) Allen (3), Gilbert (3), and 
Hattie (3) who married a Mr. Ditterline. James L. (2) married 
Susan McKee, second and they had Hillis (3). Dr. T. B. (3) was 
raised on a farm and began the study of medicine under Dr. J. H. 
Simminons, of Simpson. He later graduated from the college ol 
Physicians and Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa, 1888, and has practiced 
in Simpson and vicinity continuously since. He also is interested in 
farming and was one of the founders of the Simpson bank. He 
married Mary E. Simmons and the children are Granville L. (3), 
who is a physician of Denver, Colorado; Lindorf L. (3) was a gradu- 
ate of the Bloomington Law School of this state, and began practice 
in Chicago, moving his practice later to Denver, Colorado. He en- 
listed in the World War, was commissioned Lieutentant, served in 
France and was killed in a railroad wreck near Orleans, France, 
December 5, 1918. His remains were brought to the United States 
in 1921, and interred in the Fraternal Cemetery, Vienna, 111. Delbert 
R. (3) is cashier of the First Bank of Simpson. He married Dimple 
Simpson, and their children are Homor (4), Maurice Lindorf (4) 


Orlin R. (3) a resident of Simpson, married Mary Cowan and they 
have Thomas Granville (4). 

Quillin T. Kerley is head ot another branch of this family in the 
county. He came here in 1852 and married Elizabeth R. Simmons. 
After her death he married Fannie Shirk. They had Rebecca (2) ; 
James (2), Jerome (2), Robert (2), Dilard (2), Quillin A. (2). 


Hon. A. J. Kuykendall was a prominent man in the medievial 
days of Johnson County. He descended from a Holland family who 
came to North Carolina in Colonial times. Joseph, his father was a 
native of that state but moved to Kentucky with his brother's family 
in an early day. Joseph married Mary Taylor of Kentucky and re- 
sided there till 1815 when he set out with his family to the Territory 
of Illinois. It was while enroute to Johnson County that Andrew J. 
was born 1815 in what is now Hardin County. The father settled on 
a farm near the present site of Sanborn. 

The white inhabitants were very few in Illinois at that time and 
most of them were in the southern part of the state. Deer, bear and 
other wild game were plentiful. The opportunities for an education 
were very meager and A. J. could claim only a course of three 
months schooling. He applied himself to study and began teaching 
small children. He continued his self education along the line of 
law and was admitted to the bar, when he began the practice of 
law in Vienna, about 1845. Early in his business career he took 
active interest in politics and served in the State Legislature in both 
House and Senate, several sessions, having been elected first in 1842. 
He had been a Democrat in politics supporting Douglas in 1860, but. 
when the Civil War broke out and Governor Yates called a special 
session of the Legislature, he declared himself in favor of the pre- 
servation of the Union, and voted for men and money to put down 
the rebellion. On his return home he assisted in raising a regiment, 
which became the famous 31st Illinois Volunteer Infantry, with John 
A. Logan as Colonel and A. J. Kuykendall as Major. He later resigned 
his commission and was elected to Congress from this district, which 
was then the thirteenth, 1864. Mr. Kuykendall was successful in 
his legal profession but was also fond of farming, and devoted much 
of his time to that business, and stock raising, in his later years. He 
served the county as prosecuting attorney and judge and was a help- 
ful concillor in many movements for the progress of our county and 
owned interests in different businesses in the town. He owned and 
operated the Star Mill; built the large dwelling on the brow of the 
hill on West Main Street, known as the Blanchfill Place. He later 
built a handsome residence just south of town where he spent his 


decling years. He married Cynthia (see Simpson). Joseph Kuy 
kendall, the pioneer had James (2), Andrew J. (2), and a daughter 
who married a Mr. Smith and removed from the county. Joseph 
married second a Miss Cooper and their children were Joseph (2), 
Mrs. James Peterson (2), Mrs. H. Taylor (2), Mrs. Hood (2), Fannie 
(2), who married Dean Harper and Mrs. Giles Taylor (2). (See 

J. B. Kuykendall is a native of this county and a son of Majoi 
A. J. and Cynthia (Simpson) Kuykendall. He was born near Tunnel 
Hill in 1842, and enlisted in Company D., 31st Illinois Volunteer, 1861, 
when very young. He served as adjutant of his regment with the 
army of the Tennessee, and took part in the battles of Belmont.. 
Jackson and the sieges and capture of Vicksburg. He was later 
placed with Shermans command and honorably discharged as a lieut- 
enant in 1864. He began soon after the war as a merchant in 
Vienna, but later entered the milling business, which he followed 
more than fifty years. He is at this writing a very active man of 
eighty-two years. He retired several years ago when his mill was de- 
stroyed by fire, from a very successful career. He is a Mason, 
a republican, and he and wife are members of the M. E. Church. 
For family (see Simpson). 


Milton Ladd was prominent in public affairs in our early history. 
He was said to be a minister, but his denomination is not known. 
He was commissioned to survey land at different times by the county. 
His mother was the daughter of Elisha Reynolds. The only othei 
knowledge of his family is that he had a daughter, Nancy, born in 
this county, 1824. She married J. M. Davdige in 1840, a lawyer 
reared in Louisville, Kentucky, and who resided in Vienna a short 
time, prior to 1843, but removed to Pulaski County, near what is 
now Olmstead. His father was Razin Davdige, also a lawyer of 
Kentucky. The mother of the Drs. Whitnel who came to this county 
from Kentucky, was a Ladd, but it is not known if they were con- 
nected with this family. Another daughter of Milton Ladd married 
Jackson Simpson, when he was past middle life. 

Reverend Reuben Wilson Laughlin was born 1831 in Caldwell 
County, Kentucky and came with his parents to Johnson County 
when six years old. He was converted when only seven years of 
age, and when sixteen he received a clearer vision of what it meant 
to be a Christian, which profession he followed his long and examp- 
lary life. He united with the M. E. Church and was licensed to 
preach at Old Reynoldsburgh 1854. Rev. E. Joy was the presiding 


elder. Father Laughliii, as he was known, served twenty-three differ- 
ent charges and often filled the pulpit after he was superannuated. He 
was the oldest member of the Southern Illinois Conference, at his 
death. He married Nancy Triplett who was born in South Carolina, 
1829. They lived together sixty-six years, and died on the same 
day, Jan. 25, 1917, at Vienna, 111. Their children were E. J. who 
resides in Max, Neb., G. E. lives at Malvern, Iowa, Mrs. P. E. Curlee 
resides at Pine Bluff, Ark. Mrs. May, wife of John F. Cavitt resides 
at Tunnel Hill and has Ruth. Rev. and Mrs. Laughlin reared their 
granddaughter, Gail, who married Alonzo Ramey and resides in 
Vienna, 111. 

The Lawrences are an old and large family of New Burnside 
community. They came here before the war. Henry, Newton and 
William were brothers. Two of the second generation were Frank 
who married Miss Morray, a daughter of Captain J. B. and Lem as 
he was known who married Phoebe Dalton. Dave, Ray and Frank 
are of the younger generation still. Some of the second generation 
served in the Civil War. The family lines could not be traced out. 
They were influential and widely known citizens. The Grand Army 
Post at New Burnside was named in honor of William Lawrence. 


H. C. Laybourn was a native of Ohio, moved to Burnside in 
1889. He served in Co. A., 66th Ohio in the Army of the Potomac 
and was wounded at Peach Tree Creek in 1864. He was the corre- 
spondent for the county newspaper from New Burnside for many 
years, was a great Sunday School worker and held office in the 
Johnson County Sunday School Association twenty-five years. He 
married (first) Sarah L. White of Ohio, they had Albertie, who mar- 
ried T. J. Matthews, and Dr. C. W. Laybourn who was for many 
years connected with the Haley Eye Infirmary of Centralia, 111., but 
is now a resident of California. He married (second) Julia Lambert, 
and had one daughter, Mrs. George W. Shelton of Leadford, 111. He 
died 1923. 


Honorable W. A. Looney was a prominent physician of Vienna 
who was born in Henry County, Tennessee in 1831. His father W. 
E. was born in North Carolina and was a son of Samuel, who it is 
believed, was a native of Ireland, emigrating to this country from 
the Isle of Man. The parents of W. A. moved to Mississippi where 
his father died when he was two years old. His mother returned 
to Tennessee, later married David T. Whitnel and removed to Ken- 


tucky. She was a well educated woman and during her widowhood 
taught school and Dr. Looney received his first lesson from his 
mother. He came to Illinois, 1855, teaching school in Williamson 
County, to earn money to further his medical education. He graduated 
from Rush Medical College, Chicago, 1865, but began his career as a 
physician in Williamson County, 1857. In 1861 he raised the Urst 
company of soldiers from Williamson County, which became Com- 
pany C. of the 31st Illinois. He was elected Captain of this company, 
and was severely wounded at the battle of Belmont, but he rejoined 
his company in time for the siege of Corinth, but was soon after 
discharged on account of disability. He came to Vienna 1862 and 
in 1864 was elected to the Legislature. He voted for War Governor 
Yates for United States Senator. Dr. Looney's practice in this 
county extended over a large territory and he gave many years of 
helpful service to his community. He married Rachel Caldwell of 
Kentucky, 1856 and had J. E. (2) a merchant of Tishomingo, Okla., 
who married Mollie Ausbrooks of this county, they have William 
(3), Grace (3) and Jessie (3). William and Jessie live with their 
families in Tishomingo and Grace married a Mr. Ide and resides in 
St. Paul, Minn. Dr. J. T. (2), a physician of Tishomingo married 
Fannie Jones of this county (see Simpson). Fannie E. (2) married 
J. E. Cunningham of Vienna, and has Charles E. (3), a business man 
of Oklahoma City, Okla. and Robert (3) a student of the Vienna High 
School. Dr. W. A. (1) married second Mariah (Oliver) Slack and 
third Fannie E. Whitehead, 1886, they had Esther (2) who married 
I. W. Dill and resides in Carbondale. Joseph W. (2) married Norma 
Veach and is a business man of Detroit, Mich. Harold (2) is in the 
real estate business at Carbondale and resides there with his mother. 
Dr. W. A. Looney was a member of the M. E. Church and a most 
helpful one. He was a mason and a member of fhe G. A. R. Post 
at Vienna. He died 1903. 

Nancy Spence was born in Tennessee, 1818, and came to Union 
County with her parents when a small child. She first married 
Joshua Peterson (see Gore) 1833 and came to West Eden neighbor- 
hood to make her home. After the death of Mr. Peterson she mar- 
ried Locklin L. Madden an Indianian by birth and a teacher by pro- 
fession. Her only child by Mr. Madden to reach the adult age was 
Ruth who married Frank J. (see Chapman). Aunty Madden came 
to Vienna as a resident before the seventies. She was a woman of 
courage and high ideals and was a devoted member of the M. E. 
Church having been christened by Peter Cartwright. She lived many 
years in the shadow of the church and rarely missed a church service. 


Henry Mahl is a native of Germany but has lived in this county 
since childhood. He has been employed in and kept a harness shop 
here for years, succeeding his step-father, Charles Knopp and has 
been in business probably longer than any other merchant here at 
the present. He is a genial and obliging citizen. He married Matildah 
Linberg, a native of Sweeden; they have Charles, Helen and 
Edward. Dr. Charles Mahl served in the World War and is a gradu- 
ate of Vienna High School and the Chicago Veterinary School and 
practices his profession in this and adjoining counties. He married 
Lilian Rosenbarger. Helen is a graduate of the Vienna Township 
High School and the Southern Illinois University and was a teacher 
for several years. She married Curtis Stover a verteran of the 
World War and by profession a mining Engineer; they have James 
and reside in Miami, Oklahoma. Edward is a graduate of the Town- 
ship High School and makes his home with his parents. 

Henry L. Mangum was born in North Carolina 1814, and cam^ 
to this county very early in its history, settling on a farm in Elvira 
Township, where he spent the remainder of his life. He first married 
Elizabeth Barnett, 1832, who was a native of Tennessee. His children 
were William (2), who was a Presbyterian minister, preaching in this 
county many years. He married first Jane Standard and had Eliza- 
beth (3), Belle (3), who married Mr. Pulley and lives at Stone Fort, 
111. William (2) married second Sarah (Copeland) Utley and their 
children were Alice (3), William (3), Charles (3) and Minnie (3). 
George W. (2); Andrew J. (2) born 1836 married Alice Casper, and 
they raised a family in this county; a son, Elsworth (3), resided at 
Wayside, a settlement in Elvira Township; H. Y. (2) was a native 
of this county and served in the 31st Illinois Volunteer during the 
Civil War. He later fitted himself for a physician and located with 
his family in Massac County, where he practiced many years. He 
married Elmira Jobe and their children were William (3), who mar- 
ried Lucretia Smith. He is a physician of Bridgeport, Illinois and 
served as Captain with the A. E. F. in France. Ella (3) married 
Charles (see Copeland). Other children of Henry and Elizabeth 
were Thomas S. (2), Basil G. (2), John W. (2), Henry F. (2), Eliza- 
beth (2), Martha (2). H. L. Mangum married second Mrs. Regina 
Barringer, and their children were Otis O. (2), Belle (2), Charles 
(2), Lilly (2). Martha (2) married James M. (see Taylor). 

Wililam Marberry came to this county from Alabama some time 
before the Civil War. He lived here many years and was ninety- 


eight when he died having been born about 1823. He was noted for 
his marksmanship, enjoyed hunting and killed squirrels after he was 
ninety-two years of age. A man of fine character and influence. He 
married Drucilla Daniels and their children were Wiley (2), born 
1847, James (2), William (2) (called Bud), John L. (2), Tennie (2), 
Wiley F. (2) was a prominent Methodist and influential man and was 
serving the county as Assessor and Treasurer at the time of his 
•death. He served in the Civil War in Company K of the Kentucky 
Cavalry. He resided on a farm near Reevesville until his election, 
when he moved to Vienna. He married Missouri Garett 1866 and 
their children were Amanda (3), who married Charles Stevenson and 
had issue, Florence (4) who married Ed. Doughterty, Ethel (4), mar 
ried Wendel Cummins, May (4) married Dr. Robert Marshall. Grant 
(3) married Laura Reed, they had Carrie (4), who married Edward 
Hubbard, Clara (4) married Looney Gray, Alma (4) married Alfred 
Radlof. Charles (3) married Luia Ryan, they had Minnett (4), 
Jeannett (4) and lives in Oklahoma. Franklin (3) married Ruth Mc 
Call. Ivy (3) married Mabel Hodge. Jennie (3) married Henry Mc- 
Clanahan. Bertha (3) married Dr. William Thompson of Cypress, 
111., and they have William Glen (4), Berneta May (4) and Mary Sou 
(4). Tenny (3) at home. James* (2) reared his family in the neigh- 
borhood where he was born, was a good farmer, always active and 
interested in the church and any movement that was for the good of 
the community. He married Mary Ann Cummins and their children 
were William T. (3), who married Myrtle Brewer; J. Oscar (3) mar- 
ried Florence Edmiston, is a teacher, residing in Rockford, 111., Eliza- 
beth (3) married George A. Dunn, a Methodist minister of Vandalia, 
111. Daniel (3) married Myrtle Parker she died leaving James 
(4), Catherine (4). C. W. married Jeannet Austin. Maud (3) at home. 
Ruth (3) married B. N. Beane; Ethel (3) married F. P. Nixon; Harry 
L. (3) married Ila Morgan, resides in Carbondale, 111.; Jason M. (3) 
married Edna Cowling, is a resident dentist also of Carbondale. James 
Marberry moved to Massac County several years ago, residing in 
Metropolis. William (2) (Bud) married Caroline Harmon, and their 
children were Anna (3), John (3), Leonard (3), Frank (3), Adah 
(3), Ward (3). Anna (3) married Albert Cagle, children William (4), 
Eva (4); John (3) married Margaret Gifford, children Leonard (4). 
Violet (4); Leonard (3) married Buelah Lindsey; Frank (3) married 
Birdie Robins; Ward (3) married Minnie Shinn; Ada (3) at home. 
John (3) married second Olive Tune; William (2) was a farmer of 
this county living here all his life and was esteemed by all who 
knew him. He died in 1923. Tennie (2) married W. J. Reed; John 
L. (2) married Emma Glass and their children are Lucas (3), who 
married Lelia Beetel; Ray (3), Paul (3) married Bessie Wormack, 


Frank (3) and Nellie (3); John L. is a prosperous and dependable 
citizen of this county and resides on the home farm. 


Honorable J. Mathis was a teacher of this county for several 
years, served as deputy sheriff one term and represented this 
district in the. State Legislature twice. He was assistant cashier of the 
First National Bank during the World War and was appointed post- 
master under President Harding. He was born on a farm in Bloom- 
field township, 1867 and was the son of Robert D. and Lucinda 
(Fairless) Mathis. The first one known of this family was John. 
His son was also named John and was a native of Virginia, but 
emigrated to Kentucky and while a resident of Trigg County, that 
state married Brown and came to Randolph County, 111., in 1846. 
William Mathis was a son of John, who migrated to Johnson County 
in 1849, with his wife who was Cinthia Scott and four children. They 
brought their wordly possessions in a cart drawn by oxen, and took 
up government land in Bloomfield Township, where he spent the 
remainder of his life. Their children were Robert D. (2), Elizabth 
E. (2), John B. (2), Margaret A. (2), Robert D. (2) was born in 
Kentucky in 1836, being thirteen years old when his parents brought 
him here. His wife Lucinda, was a daughter of Robert and Mahala 
(Buchanan) Fairless of Gallatin County, 111. Their children were 
John B. (3), George W. (3), Alonzo F. (3) and Lilly J. (3). John P. (3) 
married Elizabeth Whiteaker and their children are Evelyn (4) and 
Kathryn (4); George W. (3) is a farmer residing in Bloomfield and 
married Minnie Morray and their children are Gussie (4), who mar- 
ried Earl Downing, Alvin (4), who served in France with the A. 
E. F. and is a student of medicine at the Illinois University. Cath- 
erine (4) married Guy Davis; Mabel (4) married Lorin Harvick; 
Archie (4) is a student at the University of Illinois; George (4), 
Wayne (4), John H. (4), Marjory (4) and Geneva (4). Alonzo F. (3) 
is a farmer of this county and resides in Vienna. He married Sadie, 
daughter of C. L. and Catherine Westman. Their children are Ward 
(4), who married Gladys Shettler and they have Ward J. (5), James 
J. (5); May (4) married Fred Sloan; Robert (4), Frank (4), Helen 
(4), Westman (4) and Marshall (4); Lilly (3) married W. A. Elkins, 
they had James R. (4), Clarence (4) and Robert (4). 

Wiley Mathis, the first, came from North Carolina, lived a while 
in Tennessee and from there to Illinois, just what time is not known 
but from early records of the county he lived here in 1835. He set- 
tled in the section of the county east and perhaps a little south of 
Vienna. His wife's given name was Lucretia. Their children were 
Wiley (2), Richard (2), Jane (2), Amanda (2), Mary (2). Wiley (2) 


married Caroline Flynn, they had Ferdinand (3), Abraham (3), 
Richard (3), Thomas (3), Amanda (3), Harriet (3), Minerva (3), 
Sidney (3). Ferdinand (3) married Rebecca Clay, their children were 
Calvin (4), who married Etta Simmons and has Lowand A. (5) ; Alonzo 
(4) married Alice Reed; Oma (4) married Claud Hogue and has 
Marie (5), Clement (5), Violet (5), Helen (5), Claud (5), Alton (5); 
Izora (4) married George Menly and has Edna (5); Alfred (4) not 
married; Nellie (4) married Joseph Elkins and has Genevive (5), 
Raymond (5), Hannah (5); Loyd (4) married May Robinson and has 
Loyd (5), Joseph (5), Evyline (5), James Ferdinand (5); Abraham 
(3) married Winifred Legate. They have Fred (4), Joseph (4), Dora 
(4), Charles (4), Clarence (4), and Samuel (4); Thomas (3) married 
Cora Farmer. They had Horace (4), Fred (4) Myrtle (4), Elizabeth 
(4), Paul (4); Richard (3) married Julia Farmer, they had Wiley (4). 
Daniel (4), Nonnie (4), Lydia (4), Clifton (4), Julia (4); Sidney (3) 
married Frank Fisher. They had Eunice (4), Minnie (4); Amanda 
(3) married first Mr. Stephens, second Mr. Parrody; Harriett (3) mar- 
ried John Kelly; Minerva (3) married Mr. Barnett and had Gussie (4); 
Richard (2) married Matilda Morris, they had Susan (3), Elizabeth 
(3), Mahala (3), Alice (3), Isabell (3), James (3), Calvin (3), Gran- 
ville (3), D. W. (3). Elizabeth (3) married James Hogg, they had 
Edward (4), Curtis (4), Otis (4), Claud (4), Daisy (4), Matilda (4). 
Edward (4) is an M. E. minister belonging to the Southern Illinois 
Conference. He married Miss Galagah and has Charles (5), Laura 
(5), Ola (5); Curtis (4) married Lula Penn, they had Truman (5); 
Otis (4) married Dora Mohler, they have Cyril (5), Gertrude (5), 
Illma (5), Edgar (5); Claud (4) married Oma (4) (see Mathis); 
Daisy (4) married Thomas Watson and has Dorothy (5), Gertrude (5), 
Thomas (5) ; Matildah (4) married Willis Ragsdale and has Ralph 
(5), Gathel (5), Rheba (5); Alice (3) married J. C. B. Heaton, they 
had Fred (4), Roy (4); Mahala never married; Isabell (3) not mar 
ried; James (3) married Laura Jane (see Harvick) ; Granville (3) 
married; Calvin (3) married Elizabeth Pearce; D. W. (3) mar- 
ried Alice Hankins, ehtir children are Clifford (4), Ralph (4). 
Morris (4) Kate (4), Ernest (4), Frank (4), Thelma (4), Alice F. (4). 
Ralph (4) married Mary Ragains, they had Harriet (5); Morris (4) 
married Eunice Pancoast; Kate (4) married John Rhodes and has 
John Jr. (5); Ernest (4) is an M. E. minister; he married Lyndall 
(see Chapman). The other children are at home. Susan (3) 
married Addison Gillespie, they had Samuel (4), Paralee (4), Dora 
(4). Samuel (4) married Rosa (see Veach) ; Dora (4) married James 
(see Cummins). Jane (2) married Jackson Rose; Mary (2) married 
Mathew Rose, children Sarah (3), Henry (3) Franklin (3), Dudley 


(3); Amanda (2), Sarah (2). One of the two latter married a Mr. 


Charles W. Mills is a native of this county. His father Elihu 
came here from Tennessee, 1847 and settled in the southeast part of 
the county. Elihu married Mary Huston and their children were 
Margaret who married a Mr. Dixon; P. N. and Albert W. who are 
larmers of Grantsburg Township; Otto is a teacher and also farms 
on the old homestead; Charles W. has served as circuit clerk of this 
county, and is a resident and business man of Vienna. He married 
Flora Luna and they have Mary, Louis, Geneva, Charles and Alpha 


Modglin is a prominent family of Simpson and Grantsburg Town- 
ships. The founder was Benton, who was born in Wilson County, 
Tenn., and came here at an early day and secured government land. 
He married Martha Haley also a native of Tennessee. Their children 
were Pleasant, Nancy, Martha, Joseph, William, Benton, and James 
F. William married Rachel E. Simmons, a native of Missouri in 
1853. Her father was Lewis, also an early settler here; he was a 
native of Tennessee but came to this county in 1836, settling in 
Simpson Township. The children of William and Rachel were Nancy 
J. who married W. J. Miller; Sarah C. married A. B. Howell; Fannie 
B .married W. B. Bivens; Ida M. married Leonard Whitesides. Joseph 
Modglin, whose wife was Edna had children Rodah E. who married 
T. J. (see Murray); one daughter married a Mr. Broadway; George 
resides at Creal Springs; Charles resides in this county. 

William Moore began his life work on a farm but removed to 
Vienna many years ago, and entered the business world. Having been 
left and orphan at an early age, he was handicapped in a way for 
lack of education, but has made quiet a success in business. He 
began in a small way and has been engaged in many different occupa- 
tions, grocer, drygoods merchant, farmer and stock raiser, and at 
present operates a large farm just west of Vienna. He married 
Nanny J. Boardman, they had Ernest (2), who married Arista Frizzel 
and died when a very young man, leaving two sons, Len Wallen and 
Ernest Jr.; Myrtle (2) married F. C. Thomas, who is an abstractor 
of land titles and is one of Vienna's substantial citizens. 

The Morgans were a large family who came originally from Vir- 
ginia to Tennessee and on to Illinois during the Civil War. The 


father of the family in this county was Pleasant M. (1), who lived 
in Tennessee, his children were Thomas (2) who married Nancy Dale 
children, Wm. R. (3), Albert (3), Emmerson (3), Emma (3), Geo. (3), 
Isaac (3), all have families and reside in Massac and Johnson Coun- 
ties. B. R. Morgan (2) was a prosperous farmer of Vienna Township. 
He married Jalia Lemon and their children were Pleasant (3), Francis 
(3), (Coo), Orlando (3), Alice (3), Richard (3), Thomas (3), Olivia 
(3); Orlando Morgan (3) is an attorney and has been a resident of 
Vienna since early manhood, beginning his career as a lawyer at 
this place. He is well and favorably known throughout the county, 
having been elected twice to the office of States Attorney, and also 
to that of county judge. He married Addie, daughter of Rev Green 
Smith ,of Massac County. She was known for her loyality to her 
church, the Baptist, her usefulness to the community and her love 
able disposition. She died 1923 leaving Elizabeth (4), who married 
E. Davis of Sedalia, Mo.; Benjamin (4) a student at the University 
of Illinois. Thomas (3) is a physician and after following his pro- 
fession several years at Goreville, removed to Humbolt, 111., where ne 
continues his practice. He married Charlotte Ricinger, of Massac 
County. Julia (2) married Allen (see Boyt). Alexander (2) married 
Elizabeth Sexton. Jessie (2) married Paradee Lassiter and they had 
Minnie (3), who married Curtis Robey. Jesse (2) married second 
Samirimus Carlton and had Nellie (3) who married Elmer BrowD 
Ellen (2) married William Winchester and had James (3), who mar- 
ried Maud Donaghy, Robert (3) married Omega Redden, and their 
children are Ernest (4), who married Genia Leach and has Alice 
Margaret (5); Bernard (4) married Walter Smith, who is a grocer of 
Vienna and they have Grover (5); Lester (4) and Ann May (4). 
Frank (2) had no family, and one son, Isaac (2) never came to this 

Captain James B. Morray was born in Hardin County near Rosi- 
clair 1821, he came to this county some time before the Civil War and 
settled in Simpson Township. He raised a troop of Cavalry in his 
neighborhood which became Company B of the Sixth Cavalry and 
was made its captain. He served as an officer in this troop until 
February 1864, when he was honorably discharged. He married 
Izzarilda Wyatc 1842, they had children Amanda (2) married Frank 
Lawrence, they had Rilda (3), Looney (3), Eliza (3), Joseph (3). 
She married second John Thomas and had Alma (3); Nancy (2) mar- 
ried Levi Lay, they had Elizabeth (3), Mary (3), Robert (3), Sherman 
(3), and William (3); Joseph B. (2) married Gussie Hailey, children 
Minnie (3), Gussie (3). Minnie (3) married George (see Mathis), 
Gussie (3) married Mr. Willis of Harrisburg; Joseph B. (2) married 


second Ola Whittenberg, children Ralph (3) who married Halloween 
(see Parker) and Ulala (3) ; Joseph B. (2) married third Damie Fort, 
children Frank (3), Floyd (3), Joseph (3), Mark (3). Robert (2) 
married Mary Whitehead, children Lula (3), Effie (3), John B. (3), 
Claud (3), Bessie (3), Wm. (3). Sarah 2() married John C. Ross, chil- 
dren Martha (3), Ernest (3), Elizabeth (3), Robert (3), J. B. (3), 
J. R. (3), Laue (3). Jane (2) married Marsh Howell, children Joseph 
A. (3), Rilda (3), Minnie (3), Dora (3), Robert (3), Bertha (3), 
Charles (3), Mary (3). Celinda (2) married John M. Grissom, chil- 
dren Olga (3), Rilla (3), J. B. (3), Jennie (3), Myrtie (3), Lutta (3), 
Roy (3). Olga (3) married William Bradley, children Eulalia (4), 
Wyoma (4); Rilla (3) married Alonzo Watters; J. B. (3) married 
Nora Bradley, children Sibyl (4), Paul (4), Ned (4), Eunice (4), 
John (4), Genevia (4), Quinton (4); Jennie (3) married Harry Murrie, 
children Marvin (4), Victor (4), Golda (4); Myrtie (3) married Elza 
Whitmer and has Harry DeWayne (4); Lutta (3) married William 
Westman and has Grissom (4), Juanita (4), Wyoma (4), Roberta (4). 
James (2) married Theodocia Frizzell, they had Thomas (3), Gussie 
(3), Eva (3), John (3), Clara (3), Celinda (3), Blain (3). James (2) 

married second May , children Earl (3), Celia (3), Julia (3), 

Eunice (3), Myra (3). Martha (2) married Frank Johnson, children 
William (3), Charles (3). 

Irvin Morris was an early settler and served the county as sheriff. 
At one time he lived where William Nobles farm is now located. His 
children were James F., Harriet, who married Mr. Dooley, Melissa, 
married J. Billingsly, Cynthia E., Mary Elvira, William E. These 
names were obtained from the settlement of his estate dated 1857, 
witnesses; George Elkins, Samuel Copeland and James R. Dooly. 
William E. married Mary Kuykendall (see Simpson). 

Elder James L. Morton was born in Prince Edward County, Vir- 
ginia, 1809. He came to this county from Kentucky, 1861, settling 
near New Burnside. He was a Baptist minister, preached seventy- 
four years, reaching the age of ninety-five. Elder Morton was a tee- 
totaler from the age of fourteen. He owned and operated the first 
threshing machine in Burnside community. He married first 
Eliza Hill, and they had three children, Ed. F., James K. and Mrs. 
\V. W. Reeves; second Mrs. Nancy (Tramell) Joiner, and their chil- 
dren were Hugh, who is a Baptist minister, Samuel who resides in 
Texas, Charles of this county, Fred of the United States Army, 
Hattie of Hammond, Indiana and Mathew. 



John Norman Mozley was the founder of that family in this 
county. He was born in Tennessee in 1816 and resided some time in 
Kentucky, coming to this county about 1842. He married first Agnes 
Galloway and their children were John T. (2), Archibald (2), James 
(2), Lucy (2), Margaret (2), and Sarah (2). He was a farmer, served 
as sheriff of the county, and in his later years was a business man 
of Vienna and died in 1904. John T. (2) was a captain in the Civil 
War ,a farmer, and resided in Grantsburg township. He married 
Margaret (see Worley). Archibald (2) was born in Kentucky in 1839. 
He resided in Elvira township, this county, and was a successful 
farmer for many years. He married Francis Shelton. Their children 
were Dr. J. M. (3) of Johnston City, Norman A. (3) who removed to 
Missouri where he was a prominent citizen and served in Congress 
from that state. He died recently (1923). Archible (2) married 
second Rosie George and they had Charles (3), George E. (3), 
Eugene (3) Mary (3). Charles (3) married Anna Oliver, they had 
Oliver (4), Ollie (4), Aline (4), Lois (4); George E. (3) married 
Arista, daughter of Oliver Ragsdale, and they have Archie (4), 
Georgia (4). This family Mary (3) and the mother are residents of 
Elvira township. Eugene (3) is a teacher and married Opal Mathis. 

James Mozley (2) served in the Civil War and died during or 
soon after its close. Lucy (2) and Margaret (2) married brothers 
named Burkhead and removed to Massac County. Sarah (2) mar- 
ried Mr. Helm, and resides in the southeast part of the county, they 
had Francis who married Stephen, (see Farris). N. J. Mozely (3; 
son of John T. (2) was a successful farmer and cattle raiser in 
Grantsburg township for a number of years. He is a citizen of 
Vienna, retiring from the farm sometime ago. He has served the 
county as commissioner and was an efficient and careful officer. He 
is at present serving as Deputy Game Warden of the State. 

Dr. Robert Marion McCall was a son of Robert and Mary (Dawson) 
McCall, and was born in the state of Mississippi. His father was a 
native of Tennessee. A farmer and Christian minister of this county 
for many years, coming about 1860. R. M. was the oldest son and 
can remember some of the vicissitudes of Union sympathisers, living 
within the borders of the Confederacy. Many families were compelled 
to leave their home and property, which was confiscated or destroyed 
by guerrillas of both Union and Confederates. R. M. and his father 
succeeded in saving two thousand pounds of cotton, which they mar- 
keted at Memphis, Tenn., at one dollar per pound, and this was all 
they saved out of a large plantation, a number of slaves and a large 


amount of other personal property. Early in the year 1865 the father 
'•ame with his family to Illinois and settled five miles northwest of 
Vienna. R. M. was partly educated in his native state. After coming 
to this state, he attended the public school and later taught in 
Williamson County. He married Josephine Glassford, 1868, and began 
the life of a farmer, cultivating his farm in the summer and teaching 
in the winter, until 1871. He had always had a strong desire to be 
a physician and at this time began to fit himself for the profession, 
attending first a course of lectures at Ohio Medical College, in Cin- 
cinnati. He practiced for a while in Union County, but returned for 
further study at the University of Louisville, where he graduated in 
medicine. He began his practice in Marion, Williamson County, but 
later moved to Buncombe, this county, where he lived fourteen years, 
afterward moving to Vienna where he continued with a large and 
lucrative practice for several years. Deciding he would like the 
west he moved to Oklahoma, where he remaind a short tim. He 
came back to Vienna, practiced here a short time, and moved to 
Metropolis, where he and his wife still reside. They reared a family 
in Johnson County, Samuel (3) the oldest, married Martha, daughter 
of Oliver and Sarah Ragsdale, they had Oliver (4), Marian (4), Thomas 
(4), Samuel (4). He died when quite a young man, at West Vienna. 
Dr. T. E. (3) followed his father as a physician, and resides in the 
west. Elizabeth (3) is the wife of Jackson Brown a druggist, of 
Phoenix, Arizona. Ada (3) was a teacher for several years and is 
now the wife of Charles Bill, who served the state of Kansas as 
Auditor and now resides at Garden City, that state. Eugean. (3) is 
a druggist and Dr. Robert (3) a dentist, both of Phoenix, Ariz. 
William (3) is a dentist of Metropolis, Gertrude (3) married Verdie 
Cox and died 1920. James (3) the youngest is a successful farmer 
and the very efficient farm adviser of this county. He married 
Luella Harris of Oklahoma, and they have Helen (4), Robert (4), 
Mary (4), Josephine and Luella (4). 

Other children of Robert (1) and Mary were William (2), who 
died in Young manhood and D. M. who married first Mary Win- 
chester, she died soon after and he married Mary Stout, their children 
are Mary (3), Ruth (3), Robert (3), Lily (3), George (3). Mary (3) 
married Newton Murrie and had two scjqs; she married second J. C. 
Grinnel of Buncombe community. Ruth married Frank (see Mar- 


M. N. McCartney is a native of Massac County. He came here 
as principal of the first high school of the county, 1895, where he 
taught several years. After leaving here he taught in other schools 
for some time, finally returning in 1920 to take charge of the Vienna 


Township High School. Professor McCartney is a graduate of Hol- 
brook Normal University of Ohio; he also has a number of credits 
from Columbia University, N. Y. and has been prominent in educa- 
tional work all his life. His father, John F. was a native of Scotland 
and an early educator of this section. M. N. McCartney married Ida 
Huckleberry, (see Harvick 1895). She is also a teacher of ability hav- 
ing followed that profession since early girlhood. She has also had 
training in Columbia University. Their daughters, Marcia May and 
Alice Elizabeth are graduates of Cornell University, New York State. 


Joseph was the head of the McCorkle family in this county. He 
came here about 1818 from Virginia. The maiden name of his wife 
was Randolph. He entered land and settled east and a little south of 
Vienna about one and one half miles. He owned a tanyard here in 
the twenties, and later had a mill. His children were John R. (2), 
who was born 1825 on the home farm and resided there all of his 
life, which was eighty-nine years. He married Louisa J. Hogg and 
they had Joseph W. (3) who married Margaret Lundy and their chil- 
dren were Pansy (4) who married a Mr. Brown and resides in one 
of the Dakotas; Donald (4) lives at Anna, and Margaret (4) lives 
with her sister in the west. William N. (3) married first Mary Red- 
den, and they had Lula (4) who married Oliver Fisher, a business 
man of Vienna, and they have William (5). Sadie (4) married Oscar 
M. Wiesenbaum and resides in California. Charles (4) not married 
W. N. (3) married second Gertrude (Verhines) Hundley. They have 
Helen (4). J. F. (3) married Martha (see Veach). John R. (2) mar- 
ried second Mrs. R. N. Shirley and their children are Mrs. May 
Anderson of Chicago, and Mrs. Adolph Baur of Kankakee. Amanda 
(2) married William (see Price). Nicinda (2) married Preston (see 
McFatridge). Lorina (2) married Robert Hight and their children 
were Frank (3) and Alonzo (3). 

J. P. McEvoy, the author, was reared in our county where his 
mother still resides. She is not unknown to fame, at least locally, as 
an orchardist of Burnside Township. J. P. has made a name for 
himself through the writing of "The Potters." He is acknowledged 
by critics as the man with his hand on the American pulse and his eye 
on the average American. He observes everything from an unlaced 
shoe to the flicker of an eye lid. He writes not by the page but by the 
yard-length. He turns out greeting cards, couplets for birthday 
wishes, humorous notes, comic editorials, serious magazine articles, 
vaudeville sketches and plays. He has said "Merry Christmas" 
oftener and to more people than any man living. He makes copy 


out ot anything that comes to his hand the stray remark, the 
ponderous sermon, the street car conductor's gibe, the cash girl's 
slang, everything. We as a community are proud to have contributed 
to his childhood bringing up, but like all our famous men, as soon 
as they attain fame they seek new centers of activity. 


William McFatridge settled in this county about 1810, eight miles 
east of Vienna. He was said to be of Irish descent and from the 
best information to be obtained, came originally from North Carolina. 
He was quite prominent in the official affairs of the county in its 
infancy, served as justice of the peace in 1818, was a delegate to 
the first constitutional convention and also served in the States 
Legislature. His estate was settled by Ivy Reynolds, 1840. There is 
a chancery suit on record in that year in which his wife, Nancy, 
with John, George Washington, Sarah, Mary and Micheal Hale, 
Margaret and Ezekiel Choat, Nancy and Simon Jones, Matilda and 
Richard Riddle, were given as defendants and are supposed to be 
the widow and children of William McFatridge. Traditions says, 
Washington McFatridge removed from this county many years ago 
and there is no further knowledge of him. Ezekiel Choat lived in 
Burnside Township, 1828 and left many descendants in that section, 
but there can be no authentic data except the above as to his family 
relations, and no knowledge of any of this family except John (2), 
who married Margaret Bain and they had Preston (3), he married 
Nicenda McCorcle and had John Henry (4), Margaret (4), Joseph 
Brooks (4), Grant (4), Kate (4), Norma (4), Robert (4). John Henry 
(4) married Susanna Bain and had John (5), Ruth (5) and Abner (5). 
John (5) not married. Abner (5) married Miss Taylor. Ruth (5) 
married Charles King and has three children. Margaret (4) married 
Franklin Murrie and had Emma (5), Daisy (5), Margaret (5), May (5). 
Emma (5) married W. H. (see Carter). Daisy (5) married Dave 
Ragsdale and left one daughter, Velma (6). May (5) married Arthur 
Throgmorton and has Robert (6), Marguerite (6), and Arthur Jr. (6). 
Margaret (5) married Earl D. (see Veach). Joseph B. (4) married 
Nancy Mount and they have Bertha (5) who married Mr. Foy. Charles 
(5), Walter (5) married Etta (see Whiteside); Ola (5) married Earl 
Simpson. Grant (4) married Letha Simmons. Kate (4) married 
George Brown, one child, Lula (5) who married Oscar (see Simpson). 
Kate (4) married second Jefferson (see Reuben Brown) and had 
Guy (5), Reuben (5), Ray (5), Walter (5), Clyde (5), Ruth (5). 
Norma (4) married James P. (see Simpson). 



F. M. McGee was born in Graves County, Ky., in 1833 and was 
brought to Illinois when a child. The father, Benjamin F. was a 
native of Sumner County, Tenn., his father, James, came to this 
country from the southern part of Scotland, his wife was of Irish 
ancestry. They came early to the colonies and settled first near 
Charlestown, S. C. and later came to Tenn., where he died. Benjamin 
F. was married in Tennessee to Nancy Armstrong, they moved from 
Tennessee to Kentucky and later to Illinois, settling in that part of 
Johnson County which is now Pulaski County, which at that time 
was the most improved section in the state. Benjamin F. drew up 
the petition to make Pulaski a separate county. Francis was one ol 
a family of twelve children all of whom reached maturity. He at- 
tended subscription schools in the community, also a school at Center- 
7ille, Iowa. He worked on a farm until grown, was a flat boatman. 
on the river, this was a common and lucrative business in pioneer 
days. Men had timber cut into cord wood and logs and loaded it on 
fiat boats, floated it down the Ohio to the Mississippi and thence to 
New Orleans where there was a ready sale for the wood for fuel and 
the logs for lumber. Francis was a man of varied occupations, a 
farmer, a teacher and at one time peddler for a Jew for which he 
received $7 per month, also a merchant at Caledonia, 111. In the 
spring of 1865 he started a mercantile business at Reynoldsburg, this 
county. While living there he was elected to the State Legislature. 
He moved his business to New Burnside in 1875 and continued it 
there until his death which occurred in 1896. He was a Mason and 
a Methodist, He married Mrs. Elizabeth (Peterson) Weaver and had 
Ardana, William, Ella and Benjamin F. Ardana married Dr. W. R. 
Littell and had one son, Guy who lives in Chicago; William died 
leaving no family, Ella never married, and Benjamin F. married and 
has one child, Elizabeth, he is a prominent business man of New 
York City. 


Mr. and Mrs. D. Newton are old residents of this county living 
in Goreville Township. The Newton homestead was entered from 
the government in 1842. Mr. and Mrs. Newton have been married 
fifty years and have reared five sons namely Charles J., James W. 
George F., E. M. and O. A. These sons have families and are all 
residents of this county. 


John B. Nobles was one of the successful pioneer farmers of 
Elvira Township. He married and had Nancy who married James 
Harpending, they had one son, Mancil. Mr. Nobles married second 
Elizabeth Brown (sister to R. W. and Reuben) they had William, 


Fiank and Charles. William married Martha Cowan (see Worley). 
Frank married Elizabeth (see Pearce). Charles married Cora Redden, 
they have Clarence who is a graduate of the University of Illinois and 
a teacher in an agricultural college at Blacksburg, Va. Charles is a 
first class farmer and an influential citizen of Buncombe community. 
He and wife are members of the M. E. Church. 

(Pressly J. O'Bannon alias Judge T. C. Brown) 

Some time in the early seventies, a man, woman and child came 
to Vienna and settled down to make a home together apparently with 
very little to begin with. They were recognized by neighbors ana 
friends as Mr. T. C. Brown and family. He applied himself to work 
of different kinds to procure a living. It was soon discovered that he 
was a man of ability and he was elected Police Magistrate and to 
some minor offices of the village. Being and educated man and con- 
ducting himself with propriety and good judgement, he made many 
Friends in the village and county. He acquired some property and 
was a citizen and officially (County Judge) in good standing in the 
county. Early in the spring of 1879 a messenger from the Masonic Man- 
ual Life Insurance Company came here looking for Pressley J. O'Ban- 
non who had disappeared from the town of Leavensworth, Crawford 
County, Ind., seven years before. O'Bannon was about 34 years old 
when he disappeared. A lawyer by profession, interested some in poli- 
tics and was Township Trustee. Where he resided he had a wile and 
two sons and a some of property. Up to within a few months before 
his leaving he had borne a splendid character and was supposedly 
happy in his family life. A short time before, however, he began 
drinking. He left his home, Fredonnia, Ind., one evening to 
attend a meeting of his Masonic lodge at Levensworth, a town nearby, 
conduct. He entered the lodge room intoxicated, so the story goes, 
and asked a stay of proceedings which was granted. He staggered 
out of the room and was seen no more. His horse was found tied 
in an unused stable a few days afterward, but no trace of the rider. 
A rumor was current that he had boarded an Ohio River steamboat on 
that fateful night and had been seen to leave it at Evansville, Ind. 
He seems to have lost track of himself for several days and when he 
came to himself he was sawing wood for a man in Southern Illinois. 
He decided never to return home thinking his family would be better 
off without him. He picked up a woman and child and wandered into 
Vienna and would probably have lived here many years as he had 
the last seven if he had not had a policy in the above mentioned in- 
surance company. His family mourned him as dead. His wife ad 


ministered on his estate and applied for the money due on her hus- 
band's policy. It seems she could not prove his death and they could 
not prove he was living but they continued to postpone the payment 
as long as they could and a short time before the seven years had 
expired a letter was received by the Postmaster at Leavensworth, 
Ind., from Dr. N. S. Hudson, a druggist of Tunnel Hill, 111., who had 
served under O'Bannon in the army, asking if he would like to know 
the whereabouts of P. J. O'Bannon. The company sent a man in 
question. O'Bannon told thhis man he had never been married to the 
woman he was living with and the understanding between them was 
that she would accept what he had to give and that he might leave 
at any time. 

He immediately returned to his father's home at Alton, Ind., 
where his two sons were. His father was overjoyed and while his 
wife was willing to forgive his absence, she was not willing to for- 
give the Mrs. Judge Brown and applied for a divorce. Any further 
knowledge of these parties is hidden by time and distance, but since 
truth is stranger than fiction, no doubt, the story ended with ample 
punishment for the transgressor. (A statement was given out thai 
Brown as Judge had assessed a heavy fine on Dr. Hudson for selling 
liquor unlawfully and stung by this act Hudson sought revenge by 
reporting him. The court records show the case dismissed and no 
fine had been assessed.) 


Reverend I. A. J. Parker came to this county about the close of 
the Civil War from Mississippi having served in that war as a Lieut- 
enant in the Federal Army. He taught in this county many years 
and was also a minister of the Christian Church. He understood 
music and frequently taught community singing in various neighbor- 
hoods. He represented this district in the Legislature as a Demo- 
crat, 1888-90. He married Jennie Clary, also of Mississippi. Their 
children are Addison (2), who is a physician of Dongola, Illinois (for 
family see Henard) ; Lucas (2) is a prominent business man of 
Vienna. He married Delia (see Clymer) ; Agustus (2) married Alice 
(see Harvick) and resides in California; Willis A. (2) fitted himself 
for a minister, graduated at Harvard and was connected with the 
Columbia University of New York as student and teacher. He fol- 
lowed the work of the ministry for some time, but later took up Com- 
munity Service work. Myrtle (2) married Daniel (see Marberry). 
Ethel (2) is the wife of Rev Sears of the Christian Church and has 
one son, Parker (3). Beverly (2) is also a minister of the same 
denomination and resides in Kansas; Lilly (2) has been an invalid for 
many years, regardless of this handicap, she is a great influence for 
good and devoted to church work, which she carries on through her 


friends. Mrs. Parker is very active at the age of eight-six and rarely 
misses a service at her church, the Christian. 


McKinny Pearce, tradition says, was born in England. On coming 
to America, he settled first in North Carolina, but later moved to 
Maury County, Tennessee, where he followed teaching and farming, 
using slave labor to work his farm. His son Arthur with his wife 
and four children came to Illinois, settling first in Union County, 
1823, but about ten years later removed to Johnson. His wife was 
Elizabeth Bissell, and their children were William (2), Stokely (2), 
Isaac N. (2), Rayford (2), Garner (2), Mary (2) and Elizabeth (2). 
Issac N. (2) served the county as clerk several times residing in 
Vienna. He married Clara, a sister of Turner Jones and they had 
Bazil (3) who married Betty Cheek; Emma (3), married Calvin 
Mathls; Frank (3) married Miss Baker; Jennie (3), married a Mr. 
Ray and had Harold (4), Clara (4); Albert (3), resides in Texas, 
where he married and has Chester (4) and Alice (4); John (3) mar- 
ried Georgia Magnor and had Harry (4). Rayford (2) was a farmer 
of this county and married Susan Jones, sister to Turner. They had 
William (3), Mary (3), who married a Mr. Rentfro and Clara (3). 
Garner (2) born in 1829, entered land in Elvira township, near 
what is now the village of Buncombe, 1852, where he lived and farmed 
throughout his life. He added to his, at first, small farm, built a good 
dwelling and was above the average farmer of his neighborhood. He 
married Eliza J. Canady and their children were Bundy (3), Mary 
E. (3) and Eliza (3). Bundy (3) married Amanda Ragsdale and their 
children are Blain (4), Albert (4), Earl (4). Blain (4) married Bessie 
Miller and has two children Marshall and Carl (5) ; Albert (4) mar- 
ried Iris Rude and their children are Glen (5) and Ruth (5). Eliza 
(3) married Frank Nobles and their children are Bessie (4), Harry 
(4), Oran (4). Bessie (4) married Caleb Montgomery and has Harry 
(5) and May (5). Harry (4) is a resident of Washington and married 
in that state. Bundy (3) is one of the substantial farmers of Elvira 
Township and lives neighbor to his mother who has lived at her pres- 
ent home for sixty-eight years, having gone there as a bride. She re- 
members the notches on the trees near her home which indicated a 
public road and was no doubt the old road leading from Golconda to 
Jonesboro. Mrs. Pearce came to this county with her parents when 
twelve years old and attended a school taught by Branum Worrell, 
grandfather to our present County Superintendent of Schools. Wil- 
liam (2) was a Baptist minister and labored many years in this coun- 
ty for the moral and spiritual welfare of its citizens. 


The Peeler family came to this county a little later than the 
Wests, Axleys, Martins and Mercers, but settled in the same neighbor- 
hood. There were three brothers who came from North Carolina, 
John was born 1810, and his wife, born 1809, in that state. They 
came here 1860, and their children were William D. (2), Sarah (2) and 
Mary (2). W. D. (2) was born in North Carolina, 1839. He was a suc- 
cessful farmer of Lincoln Green for many years, served in the Civil 
War, and was an influential man of his time. He married Catherine E. 
Bishop, who still resides on the home place. They had Samuel D. (3), 
Olin (3), Francis (3). Samuel D. (3) was one of the progressive men of 
this county. His farm was known as the Cypress Live Stock farm, in 
acreage, production and equipment was equaled, if at all, by few. 
Mr. Peeler served the county as commissioner and was for years an 
efficient member of the Cache Drainage Commission. Owing to ill 
health he retired from the farm and business. He married Mary D. 
Rees and has Ralph (4). Olin (3) is also one of the foremost farmers 
of that neighborhood. He married Flora Sowers, and they had Roscoe 
(4), Lola (4), Luther (4), Lena (4). Roscoe is a graduate of the 
Chicago College of Veterinary Surgery. Lola (4) married Ella Pen- 
rod; Luther (4) married Violet Capron; Lena (4) married Olin 
Hunter. Francis (3) married Thomas Wilhelm and they have Floyd 
(4) who married a Miss Cook, Ora (4) is a teacher of this county. 
Mr. Wilhelm is another good farmer of the above neighborhood. 
These farms and residences show progress and a desire for the best 
in country home life. Sarah (2) married Benjamin Bishop and their 
children were Frank (3) who married Miss Adams, Mary (3) married 
William Newton, children Thomas (4), Joseph (4), John (4), Lena (4), 
Phoebe (4), Ethel (4). Mary (2) married Carrol Axley and had 
Sarah Olive (3), who married Finley Bean and their children are 
Eva (4), Oma (4), married Dow Drake and has Cecil (5) and Olive 
(5); Thomas (4) married Vida Coke; Eva (4) with Ruth (4) and 
Paul (4) are at home. Abraham Peeler was another of the brothers, 
but the date of his coming is not known. He had children Eva 
Levisa (2), Calvin (2), Louisa (2), Adam (2), Sarah (2), Jane (2), 
Julia (2) Frank (2). Eva Levisa (2) married Whitson File; Calvin 
(2) married Nancy Evers. Louisa (2) married Emmerson Mercer. 
Sarah (2) married Terry Axley. Julia (2) married John Shadrick 
and their daughter Delia married Calvin Dewitt, and resides in 
Anna, 111. Jane (2) married James Axley and had John (3), who 
married Nancy, daughter of Emmerson Mercer, Ellen (3), married 
William Lizenbeck. Clark (3) married Lydia Hardy. Jane (2) mar- 
ried second W. D. Deans (see Gore). Adam (2) married Martha 
Whitnel, and they had Frank (3) who lives in Anna, 111. Frank (2) 


married Mary Jones. Jacob a third brother came here in 1848, but lat- 
er removed to Union County. His wife was Margaret Richey, and they 
had Richey D. (2), Pleasant (2), Joyce (2). Richey D. (2) was a 
substantial farmer of this county for many years and married Amanda 
Burns, they had Otto (3), Lenna I. (3), Cora M. (3), Alta (3), Flora 
(3), Floyd (3), Inez (3). Joyce (2) married Miss Niblock. 

Penrods are an old family of this section many of whom reside in 
Union County. Samuel Penrod owned a ferry on the Mississippi in 
the very first years of the settlement of this county. They were 
connected with the Finney family, pioneers, and Unity Smith born in 
Virginia 1750, married James Allen Penrod, they had a son, Millington 
which would cause one to think Unity was a sister of Millington 
Smith, the first. Unity died in Union County, 1844. Not enough in- 
formation could be obtained to arrange a family tree. 

Captain William Perkins was born in 1819 in Kentucky. His 
mother being a widow his opportunity for an education was limited. 
He started out to make his own way at the age of nineteen. On 
coming to Illinois he worked on a farm for twenty-five cents per day. 
After his marriage, by farming and working for others, he accumu- 
lated enough to buy a farm two miles east of Vienna. He later sold 
the farm and turned his attention to milling in partnership with A. 
J. Kuykendall. When the Civil War came on he assisted in raising a 
company which was incorporated in the fourteenth cavalry, and was 
made Captain of Company G. He served four years, and took part 
in many battles. He was seriously wounded in an engagement near 
Macon, Ga., and taken to a farm house. When he recovered suf- 
ficiently to be out on crutches, he was sent to Andersonville prison. 
Within a few months he was exchanged and was soon discharged 
on account of his disability. In 1866 he bought what has been known 
since as the Perkins house and operated it as a hotel as long as he 
lived. He was elected sheriff in 1868. He married Eliaz, 1840 (see 
Simpson). Captain Perkins died 1892. 


Peterson, Mercers and Axleys are very closely connected with 
the West family, and so little definite history can be obtained 
that it seems well to place them together. Tradition says the Peter- 
sons came first to Illinois, from the South by way of Tennessee. 
Some of them moved back to their old home, but later returned to 
this county. The first record of the Peterson family is a will that was 
made in 1815 by William Peterson and is shown in Wills. His wife was 


Mary, and he refers to Joshua as a child. He also refers to Hezekiah 
West as his brother-in-law. His wife would have been Osborn or 
West, leaving the inference that William Peterson came from Soutli 
Carolina, from which state the Wests came. He further speaks of 
William and Thomas Peterson, they may have been brothers or they 
both may have been grown sons. There is also a John Peterson con- 
nected with this family. There would be at least two Williams, 
Thomas and John Peterson of the same period. Thomas is the only 
one whose descendants have materialized in this book although there 
are numerous people of that name in the county and presumably all 
of the same family. Thomas (1) married Lucy, one branch of the 
family says Arbor, the other says Yarberry. He lived in Arkansas, 
when his son Owen was born 1812. The children of Thomas and 
Lucy were Owen (2), James (2), Richard (2), Polly (2). Tradition 
says he returned to this county about 1835. Owen (2) married Mercer 
and his descendants are found in the West family. James Peterson 

(2) was one of the founders of the M. E. Church at Mt. Pleasant, 
Bloomfield Township, where he raised a family. His children were 
T. G. (3). Joshua (3), James (3), Polly (3), Louisa (3), William J. 
(3).T. G. (3), married M. J. Seay; Joshua (3) lives in Missouri; James 

(3) lives in Oklahoma; Louisa (3) married Ira Coats and also lives in 
Oklahoma; William M. (3) married Elizabeth Taylor, he is a retired 
minister and lives at Creal Springs. Their children are John F. (4) 
who married Lola Maler; James A. (4) married Myrtle Powles. 
Charles L. (4) married Phoebe Lewis; Otto (4) married Pearl Oliver; 
Clyde (4) married Olive Smith; Fred (4) married Mamie Oliver; 
Daisy (4) married S. A. Mathews, Pearl (4) married John Ragsdale. 
Most of this family reside in Williamson County, except Charles L. 
who is an M. E. Minister of Southerin Illinois Conference and is now 
located at Mt. Vernon, 111. 

Richard Mercer was said to be a native of Wales; he married a 
daughter of Hezekiah West and was the head of the Mercer family 
in this county. The Axleys came here about the same time as the 
West family. Robert, the head of one family, floated down the Ohio 
River on a flat boat. P. W. and Robert Axley were living in the 
county in 1814. P. W. had three daughters; one resides in Denver, 
one in Kansas City and one in Dongola. He settled the farm where 
the Charles Stone Quarry is now located. The name of Roberts first 
wife is not known. He had Isaac (2), Elijah (2) and Elizabeth (2). 
Isaac and Elijah married Mercers and are found in the West family; 
Elizabeth married Joshua Copeland and is found under Copeland. 
Robert Axley settled the farm now known as the Whitnel place in 
West Eden community. 



Paul E. Phelps is a native of Johnson County. His lather was 
Charles YY. who was born in North Carolina in 1832. Bradley Phelps 
was his grand father and in later life a teacher of Saline County. 
Charles W. came to the West Eden community as an associate of 
James Bell in the timber business and married Amanda (Smith) Mc- 
Cluskey whose father, Robert Smith was a Methodist minister and a 
fine singer. They had one son, Paul. E. who was left an orphan at 
three years of age. He received his primary education in the public 
schools and his higher course at the S. I. N. U. and has been a teacher 
for twenty-one years. He was elected assessor and treasurer of the 
county in 1922. He married Maude Jones and has one son, Lowell, 
who is a student in the Vienna Township High School. Mr. Phelps 
and wife are members of the M. E. Church and the order of Eastern 


The Poor family came here from Tennessee in 1834. The father 
died soon after they arrived, leaving the mother in a new country 
with five children, namely S. D. (2), Washington (2), Sena (2), Nancy 
(2), Benjamin (2), S. D. married Sarah J. Mount and was a successful 
bussiness man and the founder of Old Grantsburg, now Wartrace. He 
was a well known man of his community and a staunch Presbyterian. 
They had Jane (3), who married Dr. W. J. (see Fern); Elizabeth (3) 
married Garrett Simmons, a prominent merchant of Metropolis, 111., 
and their children are Ethel (4) and Roy (4); Sidney (3) married 
L. H. (see Frizzell) ; J. N. (3) married Sarah Duncan and their chil- 
dren were Mamie (4) who married a Mr. Loghas, of Constaninople, 
Turkey, they have Newton Montford (5) and reside at present in 
Berlin, Germany. Grace Newton (4) married Benjamin Watson and 
they have one son and reside in New York City. Dora (3) lives in 
Metropolis, 111. Washington (2) married the widow of Captain Frank- 
lin and was a farmer of this county. No knowledge of the daughters, 
Sena (2) and Nancy (2). B. F. (2) married Mary J. Simmons, one 
son, L. F. (3) who is a first-class farmer and a resident of West 
Vienna; he married Agusta Grissom, the children are Bertha (4) WTio 
married Addison (see Smith), Mrs. Cleve Sloan (4) and Mrs. Fisher, 
wife of Dr. J. A. Fisher. The last two families reside in Metropolis. 

Thomas B. Powell's family came here about Civil War times. He 
and a sister, who married Mr. Rendleman, were left orphans at an 
early age. Thomas lived in the home of Maj. A. J. Kuykendall when 
a boy and when old enough began working in a drug store for Dr. 
Damron where he learned to be a first class Pharmacist. He later 


entered business for himself which he carried on successfully. Social- 
ly he was an I. O. O. F., a mason and he and wife were members of 
the Christian church and the democratic party. He had few, if any. 
enemies, died 1924. He married first Rosa (see Johnson) ; second 
Vinnie Hartwell of Marion; they had two sons, Hartewell and Paul 
T. Hartwell was accidently killed while hunting and Paul T. is a 
young and active business man of Vienna, for family (see Price). 
Mrs. Powell still resides in Vienna where she devotes her time to 
music, church, family and friends. 

William H. Price came here from Tennessee in 1840 and settled 
east of Vienna on the farm now owned by J. M. Price. He married 
Amanda McCorcle and they had Joseph (2), James M. (2), Emma (2), 
Abby (2). Joseph (2) left this county years ago. James M. (2) re- 
sides on the old home farm, he married Sula Pearce and their chil- 
dren are Harry (3), James (3), Emma (3) who married Dr. Huff, 
Amanda (3), Walter (3), Joseph (3), Charles (3) and Flossie (3). 
Harry (3) married Francis Felts, and had Violet (4) who married 
P .T. Powell; James (3) married Miss Miller and removed to Indiana; 
Walter (3) married Ethel Lindrum and is a druggist of Cypress; 
Joseph (3) married Mabel Burris and has Bert (4) and Helen (4); 
Charles (3) married Ethel Mackey and is a teacher; Flossie (3) mar- 
ried Mid Gray and resides in Detroit, Mich. 

Smith Redden was the founder of that family in this county 
coming here about 1860 from Tennessee, he married Martha Davis 
of that state and their children were Randolph (2) who married Dora 
Mathis; they had Onedia (3) who married Robert Winchester (see 
Morgan); Otto (3) married Effie Verhines and has Thelma (4) and 
Ralph (4). Otto married second Phoebe Bridges and has John (4), 
Dick married Oma Shoemaker. Sarah (2) married William H. (see 
Farris). Alice (2) married John Clymore (see Clymer). Martha (2) 
married John Dunn, children Herbert, who married Sussie Shelton; 
Lelia married Hartsell Farris. Blake married Bell McMeakin; Cora 
married Fred Willard; Brooksie married Merrit Howell, Ward married 
Carie Webb; Bryon married Alice Farris; Charles (2) removed to 
Arkansas; Tenny (2) married J. W. Shinn, children, William (3) 
married Mable Barber; Ola (3) married Dr. Joseph Gann, Edward 
(3) married Marian; Minnie (3) married Ward Marberry; Davis (3) 
Ray (3) and Lura (3); Morgan (2) married Ula Carson; Mary (2) 
married W. N. (see McCorcle) ; Cora (2) married Charles (see Nobles) 
Minnie (2) not married. 


Dr. A. P. Reese was a native of Tennessee and practiced medicine 
in Belknap and vicinity for several years. His wife was Jane Krews, 
of Jackson County. Their son Samuel H. was a druggist in this 
county for more than a quarter of a century, and is following the same 
business in Murphysboro. He married Eila Hartman of this county 
(see West). Mary D., daughter of Dr. Reese married S. D. Peeler. 
Mrs Peeler is the only member of Dr. Reese's family remaining in the 
county. Mrs. T. E. Williamson resides in St. Louis, Mo. and Mrs. J. D. 
Copeland, another daughter in Blythsville, Arkansas. 

W. L. Reid was a pioneer Methodist having been a member of the 
church fifty years. He lived near New Burnside, and his home was 
the home of the itinerant minister. He was born in Tennessee in 
]826 and was a resident of this county forty-two years. He married 
Sarah Robinson. Their children were Rev. J. Y. Reid, Mrs. W. P. 
Cole, and Mrs. C. M. Parsons, both of whom reside in Pope County. 
Three brothers also of this county, namely, Charles T. of Samoth, 
James M. and George W. of Burnside. 

Elisha Reynolds was a revolutionary soldier serving from North 
Carolina and was born in 1754. He enlisted 1777, pensioned 1832, 
died 1836. It is believed he was never in this county, but the fol- 
lowing is found on our court records of 1816, "Elisha Reynolds and 
Thomas Littlepage vs. Hannah Borin." Of course, this may not have 
been the father of Ivy, who came here in 1817. Elisha's wife was 
Judith Edings and their children were Sarah, John, Ellis, Nancy, 
Polly, Mary and Ivy. One of these daughters married Milton Ladd's 
father. Ivy Reynolds, the first settler, his grandson John Reynolds 
says, came from North Carolina to the Northwest and with a Mr. 
Chapman, his wife, and a Mr. Drake built a boat and floated down the 
Ohio River from Cincinnati, landing at what is now Golconda. Chap- 
man, his wife and Drake came directly to Vienna, while Reynolds 
delayed some little time, finally coming to Vienna. He entered forty 
acres of land on the west side of the original plot of Vienna. The 
northeast corner, being about the corner of Green and Sixth Streets. 
His name is frequently found on the first records as a business and in- 
fluential man of the community. Ivy (1) married Rebecca Canada, 
presumably a sister to Jesse, who was another early resident. She 
is buried in the old city cemetery, commonly known as the Hess 
graveyard, where her gravestone may still be seen. Their children 
were Wesley (2) and Mary Ann (2). Wesley (2) married Sidney 


(see Simpson). He married second Frances Bain. Thomas Reynolds 
(3) ,son of Wesley was raised on a farm at Reynoldsburg, served the 
county as assessor and treasurer, was a successful farmer and a well 
known man of the county. He died 1907. (For family see Simpson). 
Mary Ann (2) married Basil Gray. They had Ivy (3), Alexander J. 
(3), Mary A. (3), Wesley (3) and Thomas (3). Ivy (3) married 
Elizabeth Jones (see Simpson). Alexander J. (3) married Arista 
Caldwell; they had James (4) who married Margaret Austin; their 
children are Arista (5), Looney (5) married (see Marberry), James 
(5), Ted (5), Charles (5), Elizabeth (5). Alexander J. (3) married 
second Izora Oliver (see Smith). 

Mary A. (3) married W. W. Peterson; their children were Basil 
(4), who resides in Vienna and is the present city clerk; Olive (4) 
married James Cole; Charles (4) married Alice Elkins, their children 
are Orb (5) who married Myrtle Gore and they have Paul and Polly 
(6). Olive M. (5) is a teacher. Thomas Gray (3) married Minnie 
Hayden and moved to Missouri- 
Ivy Reynolds (1) married second Caroline Angela. The children 
were Elisha (2), Ivy (2), Francis (2), John (2) and Bowen (2). Elisha 

(2) married Nancy Traverstead, and their children are Mrs. Otto 
Palmer (3), Ivy (3) J. W. (3), Mrs. J. J. Wright (3), Mrs. Frank 
Jones (3), Mrs. J. Worth (3), Ivy Reynolds (3) is a farmer of this 
county living near Simpson. He married Florence Robertson. Their 
children are Nellie (4), Cordia (4), Loyd (4), Floyd (4), Guy (4), 
Imogene (4) and J. W. (4). J. W. Reynolds (3) is a leading business 
man of this county residing at Simpson, 111., where he conducts a 
monument factory- He married first Mollie Rushing and their chil- 
dren were Herbert (4), John Pleasant (4), Chester Ross (4). J. W. 

(3) married second Mary E. Mount and the children are Helen (4), 
Margaret (4). Herbert (4) married Ruby Hood and is a business man 
of Herrin, 111. They have Charles Wesley (5) and William Howard 
(5). John Pleasant (4) married Jewell Elkins and has John Pleasant 
Jr. (5). 

Rentfro is an old family of this county, being found on the earliest 
records. The wife of Dr. Gibbs was a Rentfro, and they were married 
in 1830. William S. Rentfro is as far back as can be traced. He 
married Ruthie and settled on the old Rentfro farm in 1852. Their 
children were Stephen C, Francis A., Thomas J., Rufus J., Hannah 
B., Sarah J., and Elizabeth. The names of some of their grandchil- 
dren are W. A. Robbins, G. B., Joseph and Isaac Rentfro. One of the 
Rentfro daughters married Mr. Fitch, one son C. S. Fitch is a pros- 
perous farmer, and resides on the old home farm in the eastern part 
of the county. Elizabeth Rentfro married R. W. Fitch, who was a 


native of Tennessee, his father, Anderson Fitch, emigrating from 
North Carolina. R. W. came to this county about 1861, their children 
were William, Anderson, Charles, Artabron, John Milton, Minnie 
Belle, Joseph, Franklin, Rachel, Bertie, Francis, Ora and Lilly. 

The founder of the Ridenhower family in this country was born 
and married in Germany, coming to America in Colonial times. His 
son, John was born in North Carolina and was the father of Aaron, 
who was the father of Harris M. Senior. The wife of Aaron Ridenhow- 
- r was Caroline Miller, also a native of North Carolina. H. M. Riden- 
hower Sr. was born in 1824 and was only ten years old when his 
father died, making it necessary for him to assist in the support of 
the family. When fifteen years old, he worked on a farm for three 
dollars per month and board, except during harvest, when wages 
were twenty-five cents a day. He began school at the age of seven, 
but after his father's death, was obliged to give up school until he 
was eighteen. He then applied himself to books and was soon able 
to teach. Mr. Ridenhower lived in North Carolina till 1846. The 
failure of crops in that section and the strong tide of emmigration to 
the west influenced him to the extent that he set out with his wife, 
one child, and Mr. Miller, his father-in-law and family to the great 
prarie state, making the entire journey by team. He lived in Union 
County and taught there till 1855, when he removed to Johnson, 
where he continued teaching there till 1855, when he removed to 
Johnson, where he continued teaching till 1860. That yar the Demo- 
crats by an oversight had failed to nominate a corner. The Repub- 
licans nominated Mr. Ridenhower, and through a quiet cam- 
paign elected him, although there were but forty republican votes cast 
in the county. The sheriff of the county died and Mr. Ridenhower, 
under the law became sheriff. He was a personal friend of Abraham 
Lincoln and was appointed internal revenue collector for Johnson and 
Union Counties under him. He was a champion of the Whig party 
in its time, was always a strong antislavery man, and had some try- 
ing experiences in this county during the Civil War. He voted for 
Freemont in 1856, and Lincoln in 1860. He was a well educated and 
an influential man. He died in 1869. He married Levina Miller, a 
native of North Carolina, and they reared nine children. Otto L. (2), 
Penina (2) married a Mr. Howell, E. K. (2) married Orpha Blackmail 
and removed to Hico, Texas, where his family still reside. He died 
1923. Mary A. (2) is the widow of W. A. Snow, and their children 
are Tennyson (3) who resides with his family in Logansport, Ind., 
Loyd (3) married Anna Margrave. They have Daniel (4), Marjory (4) 
and reside on the Snow farm. Herman (3) is married and lives in 


Fulton, Ky. Bernard (3) married Coleman Parker and lives in Winter- 
haven, Florida. They have John Hamilton (4). Harris M. Jr. (2) 
married Agusta Hess (see Chapman); married second Nettie Beaupre 
Carrie L. (2) was a teacher of the county for several years married 
J. L. Mount and died without children. Addie M. (2) is teh wife 
of A. M. Berry, a farmer of Saline County. Rob Roy (2) lives a short 
distance east of Vienna. He married Alice Carter and they have 
one son, Rob Roy, Jr., (3) who married Essie Jackson. They had 
Kimber (4). Rob Roy (2) married second Miss Cannon of Saline. Rob 
Roy (3) married second Pearl Veach. Fleta (2) married James Gibson 
of Goreville Township, their children were Ray (3) who served in the 
World War and died soon after from the effects of his service. Ber- 
nice (3) married Young Thornton and had Lorene (4), James (4); sh3 
married second a Mr. Esque. 

Harris M. Ridenhower Jr., was born in Union County, Jan. 23, 
1855. He was the son of H. M. Ridenhower whose biography 
appears above. Harris M. received his education in this county 
and the Southern Illinois Normal at Carbondal. He began teaching 
when only sixteen years old and taught and attended school alter- 
nately till 1878 when he was admitted to the bar and began the 
practice of law in Vienna. He served as States Attorney, elected 
1884. He began early to buy land, and had he lived would no doubt 
have been the largest real estate holder in the county. He was a 
Republican, as his father before him, an I. O. O. F., had quite a 
taste for literature, and owned a splendid collection of books. He died 
when but a young man. He was first married to Augusta A. (see 
Hess). Mr. Ridenhower married second, Nettie L. Beaupre, 1890, 
of Metropolis, 111., a daughter of Wm. D. and Mary Beaupre. Their 
children were Ruby, married Ralph Cherry of Washington, D. C and 
died 1922; Leva is assistant cashier of the First National Bank of 
Vienna, 111, Jappy married Howard Schroeder of Centralia, 111., and 
has Howard Jr. Harris married J. L. Dodd of Elrado, 111., children 
Louise, and J. L. Jr. 

J. J. Robertson was the son of Mrs. James Green (by a former 
husband), of Elvira township. He was a teacher in the county for 
many years, as well as a progressive farmer. He acquired a large 
tract of land on Lick Creek and developed it into a comfortable home 
and productive farm. He married Alice Brown and their children 
are Maud, a teacher. Wayne is a graduate of the Chicago School of 
Veterinary Surgery practicing at Buncombe. He married Lula 
Walker. Birdie married Walter Grinnell who is a teacher in Evans 
ville, Ind. Loyd and Jewel are also teachers making their home with 


their mother. Mure, the youngest died in 1922; Mr. Robertson died 

Russell was a prominent name in the primitive history of our 
county Abraham entered land here in 1819, which is now owned by 
R. F. Hayden, Thacker and Dundas.